VIDEO: Proton P3-21A full teaser video at Power of 1

Well, it’s all happening here at Bukit Jalil where the P3-21A is concerned. Aside from the car doing the handling prowess showcase earlier (the car will be doing the same run daily) there was a full teaser video on the car. We had the teaser video up earlier, but that was a short clip – here’s the full one.

You still don’t see the full vehicle, but lots of the hints and glimpses of elements, which includes folding side mirrors which auto unfold once the car gets to 5 km/h, speed-sensing auto door locks, a manual door lock button on the central console, an auto-dimming rearview mirror and follow-me home lights.

The first Proton with side airbags (which means it has four in total) will also feature a seven-speed Protronic gearbox with paddle shifters (presumably in the upmarket variant), an engine start/stop button, electronic brake force distribution and electronic stability control, among other things.

The tagline for the car is “Drive it to believe it” – guess you’ll be able to soon.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• dzulx on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:12 pm

“a manual door lock button on the central console”

Location a bit weird… any particular reason??

• Kaiyo on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:49 pm

It’s a good feature.
      Example if my wife is nursing my 8 month old daughter on her lap, she can lock/ unlock the doors easily without the hassle of reaching the master lock (driver’s door side) when I’m going out to buy something or for toilet break.

• the same feature in BMW also, it is very convenient for the passenger..:)

• Aroma on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:13 pm

Are they going to name this car p321a ? If not why not naming the car with it’s real name. Probably somebody thinks this sound sophisticated but damn childish in my point opinion. And can proton change it’s stupid tiger logo ? Hire a proper designer and get an international logo please

• dzulx on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:17 pm

Every proton launching I got so excited for no particular reason..

But when go showroom to see.. always disappointed.. .. mainly because crappy interior….

I suspect I will get disappointed also this time..but let see

• Statistician on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:23 pm

Please go and see yourself at -1.33 and -1.28 . When the driver press the start/stop button, the whole dashboard plastic sink inside. BULLshoot Proton quality! Who is the vendor for this piece of plastic ?

• Kerambit Laut on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:21 pm

Uhh I know. They will say it is to absorb the impact during collision.

• Statistician on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:10 pm

The video editor pun satu madam. Benda madam ini janganlah letak dalam video promo !

• Jonjo on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:35 pm

well done….can’t wait to test drive to believe it myself….. :D

• Jonjo on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:37 pm

well done …..can’t to test drive to believe it myself

• imeanwheni on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:39 pm

Long time waiting for this..Lots of goodies there.. more then i expected… but need to see wit my own eye.. sadly, kereta wa baru 3 thn, xboleh lego lagi la.. haih!

• Its looks promising…..features at par with european standard…..to me its way better than what Produa is offering or even Toyota & Honda in our local market.

• jenny ping on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:07 pm

wow!!

• Drive it to believe it?

No thanks.

Got duit don’t waste it.

• proton md on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:05 pm

after this model, proton had no more to offer. it will be a last model for proton.

• ismail saad on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:08 pm

aku suka dgn proton.. tapi SA proton byk yg berlagak.. dari zaman gen 2 sehingga persona keluar, bila minta test drive mesti diaorg xlayan.. mcmana nak ‘to believe it’..

patut belajar dgn volkswagen..2 minggu lepas singgah di volkswagen showroom.. mula-mula sampai di pintu kedai, apa yg SA volkswagen buat adalah terus keluarkan kunci kereta tanpa diminta..start enjin golf tsi..dan offer untuk test drive..

• jonathan on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:52 pm

never encountered such problems before… test driven Inspira & Exora Bold without much hassle.. I guess not all SA are like that

• mllui on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:42 pm

sa mana tu? aku pergi sa proton waktu senja pun diorg layan. offer aku test drive lagi

• Dato Seri on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:00 pm

Is it? I have bad xperience with volkswagen in jln anpang. I went there in one weekend with my kid. Wear tshirt and short pants. The sales advisor did not bother to entertain us not even a single greeting from them. At that time there was only 2 customers including myself and 3 sales advisor on duty. Thats why i dont even bother to buy vw or go to their showroom. Unlike merc & bmw i got treated & welcomed well even if i wear tshirt and short pants.
      To sales advisor/salesman – Dont judge a book by its cover. I may only wear tshirt & short pants (on weekends) but i got more money than you think…….
      Fyi, i got 2 merc, 2 bmw, 1 porsche & 1 proton in my stable….

• sprint on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:15 pm

anthony n everyone at paultan..please comment on its 0-100kmh sprint once u get to review. thanks! :)

• tommyyeoh on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:22 pm

Dont have so high expectations on this model. As usual proton will say blah blah but at the end the quality standard is so low and cheapskate. After 20 years in the industry they are still behind the koreans and the chinese are fast catching up give them another 2 years and proton can only sell their cars locally with nap protection.

Proton just cannot sell the volume to have economies of scale to be a global producers to proton management just face the facts better off just sell the manufacturing off while its still valuable once the major producers set up their base somewhere else then tnajung malim will be a white elephant.

• iammalaysian on Mar 15, 2012 at 2:19 am

We’ve heard so many comment like what you have commented……I think this has made proton come this far to fullfill their customers comment and request, but my only question is what if proton are able to fullfill all your above request, comment, complaint and etc, will you buy proton (in this case p3-21a)?

• Ninja on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:36 pm

To all readers here who bashed Proton, I believe your time of in-mature Proton bashing is over. Proton has impressed big time here and I believe this is the best car money can buy for now. The Japs and the Korean are nowhere close to this awesome new Proton model. Unless the Japs and Korean can response positively to reward their loyal Malaysian slaves to their brand with high spec car with reasonable price soon, it makes the Japs and Korean cars crappies a mere ‘kereta lembu’, just looks good on the outside and empty with no soul in the inside, just like a prostitute. So to all those Japs and Korean slave car owners here, sweet dreams. You’ll never beat the performance of this P3-1A. Rest in Peace!

Syabas Proton. I just booked one and am paying full in cash!!!

• Jonjo on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:23 pm

Perhaps you should change your name from ninja to Silat lagenda….hhehe basher will be basher they won’t surrender until gov remove the protection or to see proton die of.

• Hopes are high on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:36 pm

Really?

• sure its same like previous proton launching….tin milo…lol

• appu2 on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:54 pm

sure worth to buy

• Anyone still remember the Waja which is supposed to be Asia’s answer to BMW?

• If you and your family engaged in the business of the noodle stall, even if the noodles are not good compare with others, I think what would you tell people that quality still acceptable right?

• tokmoh on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:24 pm

That mini heart attack at 1:47…