VIDEOS: Proton releases set of P3-21A teaser clips

We showcased this full teaser video earlier by manually recording it from a TV screen at the event itself, but now we’re procured the full HD 1080P versions of the individual teaser clips, which Proton has uploaded online.

UPDATE: We’ve condensed all eight videos into a single continuous video, which we’ve embedded above, to make for easier viewing. If you want to view each video individually, you can find them after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Arrian on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:07 pm

Dont sceptical to the brand and logo. Just to say that it worth to have one.

• Good and nice Teaser but real thing is very different story…Myvi can do the same thing :)

• Statistician on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:56 pm

There have removed the terrible scene earlier. Look at the link below at timing
        -1.33 and -1.28

http://paultan.org/2012/03/14/video-proton-p3-21a-full-teaser-video-at-power-of-1/

The whole dashboard sink inside when the driver press the START/STOP button. Committed to be better ? Do not make me laugh !

• inderaloka on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:14 am

MyVi are not comparable with P321A.

• meet_the_zonan on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:35 am

I think we need a two different car now, myvi for city car and this p3-21a for long distant car for balik kampung.. just a win win situation..

• biggbro on Mar 14, 2012 at 7:28 pm

even how many ads of this kind proton released, I find it very hard to believe and trust them…if their car is indeed this good, open up the playing field and compete as a real men do as there is no need to hide behind mummy dearest

• Drive it to believe….. :-)

• rally_fan on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:12 am

biggbro, in many ways, the playing field is already open. cars from japan (perodua) and korea (kia) already have “national car status” and their owners already benefit from the same tax breaks as proton, likewise cars coming from ASEAN already enjoy a lower tax structure..

the proof is in Proton’s market share.. from 70% 10 years ago to less than 30% today. im afraid you can’t use that Proton is protected argument anymore.

• Loneranger on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:25 pm

what to do..this kind of basher doent even care to read…

• go naza1 on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:00 pm

spot on bro, they even suck at the marketing slogan.

proton, drive it to believe it is sheet.

• harris murad on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:45 am

bloody well said bro!!!
      slap a bmw logo on the car or in this typical malaysian’s case; toyota or honda’s logo, they’ll drool like hell even if the interior looks exactly like tupperware containers

go ahead and bash all u want here bashers, cause im bloody sure you guys dont even have the cohones to show your face.being anon with ridiculuos nicks berani laa u c*nts

• daamz on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:13 am

Honestly, it show signifcant improvment by Proton. But P1 knew, malaysian feel down about P1 are becoz of 2 reason, Quality and After Sales service. Its look like this car may achieve a standard set by malaysian ppl, but 75K+/- tag price for the beginning of new era surely make ppl doubt to buy High End P1-321A. RM75k+/- hi end to malaysian, then how they can compete in Asia and international market. This RM75k close price to Honda Civic FD (without bla bla tax, duty watsover). How p1? Sell it cheap to non-citizen? haha…

• Even Jean Alesi said “I beli”

• wowww …nice car

• Why not Shumacher….. i dunno who this guy who drive the car…. or call lim chong wei or other local hero such safee salleh to test drive……… he he….good aspiration…

• an651 on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:00 am

Macha, Jean Alesi was an F1 driver from 1989-2001, raced against legendary Senna, Schumacher, Mika & the list going on & on. He was driver for Ferrari along with Alain Prost. He raced > 200 Grand Prix races, secured 32 podium finishes & one victory under his belt. During his career in F1 he was hired by Tyrell, Ferrari, Benetton, Sauber Petronas, Prost & Jordan. Post F1 he raced in DTM for 5 years; with Mercedes AMG machines, & participate in LeMans 24 hour races using Ferrari & Porsche machines. Apart from that he is a wine connoisseur.
        What do you have bro? Hate to say this but… have u ever driven cars he drove?

• harris murad on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:53 am

an651, these fella say things from their butt they dont give a damn about anything else laa so no need to explain to them. senna? u mention that name i bet hes got senai or sh*t in his mind.
          kesian.
          after this u will see they are going to ask ‘why no andre vilas boas or tiger woods aaa’?

• HONDAcity12 on Mar 16, 2012 at 5:11 pm

uiiii… lazat mamat tu kene , bro, nice2…

• SpeakUp on Mar 15, 2012 at 4:31 am

Khai … you are so ignorant. Maybe too young la … dunno Jean Alesi … ROFL!

• pacifictuna on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:47 am

hire local hero will only help sell locally. Alesi is a well known F1 driver and he’s with Lotus so why not? and i personally think a 80’s through 90’s F1 driver is a hero as they race in ‘bull’ as compared to a ‘race horse’ of modern F1.

• ahaks on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:23 pm

proton very lousy.

just say

Proton, Drive to believe.

Drive it to believe it like some kampung boy english la.

car, passed.
    english, er…..

• kuriang on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:54 pm

i’m like it because i’m kampung boy..

• lizzam on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:56 pm

“Drive it to believe it like some kampung boy english la.”

– I’m sorry but your English is unintelligible.

• PERODUANJING on Mar 14, 2012 at 7:00 pm

haha pity you…your english broken like a babi

• ahaks on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:23 pm

proton, drive to believe

vs

proton,
        drive it to believe it.

choose

• drive to believe =/= drive it to believe it

• The tagline itself is an admission by Proton at how bad their products were..

• jsooz on Mar 14, 2012 at 10:08 pm

how ironic…the a pot calling a kettle black

• harris murad on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:58 am

another pity c*nt.
      sure graduated with top class english degree one with his classy comment!
      ‘ahaks’?
      nick yourself kahak (pleghm) la better

• Just show me the image and how much the price, warranty period and KM and interest rate will do, final product quality remain unknow.

• soundsfishy on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:30 pm

the driver is trying very hard to prove something..just look at his facial expression while driving

• not_a_fish on Mar 14, 2012 at 6:22 pm

The driver? proving something? you really don’t know much about the world of motorsport for sure.

• amirzaheenminhaj on Mar 14, 2012 at 7:04 pm

that is jean alesi!!!

that is his face driving a f1 car…

• tun tansari on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:34 pm

looks so much better quality inside now, cheers, this should be the way

• carnoisseur on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:35 pm

hmmm interesting to see the real thing soon

• KFTANG on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:37 pm

Is this Proton P3-21A model a replacement for the Proton Persona? When will it be named?

• darkness on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:37 pm

wah ..proton really change… nice job..

• chempaka on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:38 pm

quite ok for a local car though i don’t like the design back of the car

• Anand on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:40 pm

Awesome car..Im actually speechless…For this price ranging from 62K-75K, vios dugong can tapau and throw to scrap..

• fadzly on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:41 pm

this teaser is dedicated to basher.
    u must drive it to believe..

• ahaks on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:22 pm

bro, drive to believe.

not drive it to believe it.

• Toyota salesman on Mar 14, 2012 at 10:33 pm

Exactly, drive it and you will know………it is a Potong

• Arrian on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:07 am

hello toyota salesman, i,m driving a vios and proud to have it, even the fact is i’m overpaid for a such “not so called a good car” but i have never complain and downgrade the other makers/models. It is your choice and you have to bear it. I would say this new proton model much much more better in specs and value for money. Believe me, your potential clients would run away in very nearest time. You may start to say bye bye to your lucrative pay and you deserve it.

• my mom just bought Forte on Jan 2012 this year.. this car surely got those all Forte’s features except that Forte didnt got the touch screen. so is it a waste or not?. ):

• looks like a beemer + vw to me

• rosdi on Mar 14, 2012 at 6:36 pm

Forte engine mana ada power macam ni… haha.. makan asap lah

• if compared with Forte 1.6 yes it has less power, but since this is a forced induction motor which provides the power of a 2 liter, then the comparison should be against the Forte 2.0. Claimed 0-100 km/h for Forte 2.0 is 9.8 secs and handling is pretty good. Can this Proton perform better with better reliability? shall wait for the review.

• tokmoh on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:33 pm

There’s always Low Yat if you want touchscreen GPS. For around RM700, you can get garmin, papago, reputable brands for GPS.

• This GPS is a Bosch unit, as used in Jaguar
        wanna compare it to papago…?

• taboogen on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:47 pm

wait after 6month for staff purchase.. yehaaaaaaa

• David on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:52 pm

:) As usual, TESTDRIVE will determine the rest of the car, in-terms of QC & Performance.. :)

• just shut up and take my money…~~

• cam.shaft on Mar 14, 2012 at 6:00 pm

Jean Alessi’s body language is classic… says that he believes but his head shook in disbelief…

but the car does look promising…

//CaM.ShAfT

• A4paper on Mar 14, 2012 at 6:17 pm

Haa.. Will get one for the wife… I like

• AN INTERRIOR BETTER THEN FORTE….

• Caruser on Mar 14, 2012 at 7:06 pm

I have owned the old Saga, Wira and Waja previously and they all disappoint me big time. But I am willing to give this P3-21A a chance. However as Proton says it, I am going to test drive it before I believe in Proton cars again. Last chance for you to impress me Proton!

• Mohd J on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:47 pm

Every single Proton you have bought has failed you and you STILL want to buy another one I salute you true Malaysian

• CK200H on Mar 15, 2012 at 10:15 am

It reminds me of my customer, they had purchased 4 china lasers and works like shit. Last month, they trade in the old laser with tin kosong price and get in another new china laser. The new laser just broke down after 2 weeks again.

you must be a die hard fan of Proton.

• biggbro on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:06 pm

this is the reason proton survives till now, coz we r too willing to forgive and forget…you gotta slap em hard on the as*, only then proton will wake up and produce the goods

• papa rich on Mar 14, 2012 at 7:08 pm

eager to see it live, touch it , drive it …
    looks very clean ,
    next part , — the performance , the reliability , the handling and feels……
    PROTON , please before release this car make sure this car very reliable to clean those basher…. ;)

• just launch it la.. and show us what you can do, let media review it kao kao while put Forte or Elantra beside for media to compare… then we believe it… :^)

• skypark on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:53 pm

they’ll launch it very soon..just be patient bro…
      now let their marketing guys doing their work before it is launch…

• seancorr on Mar 14, 2012 at 7:35 pm

Looks impressive. Now the rest have to follow suite by offering much more kit into their model spec list WITHOUT HIKING THE PRICE. Good luck to the rest of the manufacturers especially the Japanese ones.

Now all Proton needs to do is work on the after sales service (professional service technicians and advisors pls) and their parts reliability & durability. Solve this and we’re ready to take on the rest of the world. Oh yeah and please be consistent with the designs too. No more Arena and Juara pls!

• Brazbuz on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:31 pm

Possibly…… I hope Japanese car brand should add more features inside their car to compete with Korean and local brand. Keep it up proton committed to be better…

• i think that now Proton is heading the right way…
    maybe we should give them a chance…

i think as malaysian, everybody had their share of bad experience with proton cars…

• SagaBLMPurple on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:38 pm

Wow…interesting with all the negative and positive feedback…This post should be for those who are interested with proton…for those who doesn’t, why bother reading this post…u negative bastard… :p

• Rulered on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:42 pm

Is it me or is the rear signal light seems a bit misaligned. Otherwise on paper, looks like a good car and I hope I’m right.

• harris murad on Mar 15, 2012 at 2:05 am

this i got to agree.they really should do something with it lah.
      come on protonnn, yeahhh!!!:D

• Quickly launch it already! Many are waiting!

• My previous car was a Nov 2007 Hi-Line persona, a good car without any problem or breakdown,drove till i sold it after 175,000km in 3 year , and yes modded a lil abit with hot-bit extractor ,stabilizer bar and adjustable suspension. The handling is superb and very stable at high speed , can’t even beat my current Accord CP2 except in term of power and tork. I still believe this P3-21A will be great car . I mean sub 80k with stability control and 4 airbag, it make vios and city just a basic car . My wife own a 2009 City, so i know Honda too had many problem , so did my 2.4 Accord .I still miss the car and it driving dynamic . Yes Proton After sale is suck big time compare to Honda SC but there some that were very good if you can find one .Can wait to test drive and feel it

• mmouse on Mar 14, 2012 at 9:07 pm

its time to trade in my farking accent. i believed.

• Sedan Suck on Mar 14, 2012 at 9:08 pm

It’s hard to believe…..let see. Anyways, sedan still suck. Yo! Proton, please add SUV in your pipeline.

• Anwar on Mar 14, 2012 at 9:22 pm

Based on what we see, it looks impressive. I do hope the real car will impress more, especially after test drive.

About the name, if R3 is called Artiga, then this one may be called Peetiga.

• P3 vs Ceed vs Elantra vs Civic vs Altis vs Sylphy comparo, anyone?

I guess, Proton P3-21A will beat some cars?

• CrabStick on Mar 14, 2012 at 9:43 pm

I’m not gonna judge this car (or any car for that matter) based on a teaser.. I see many people here trying to compare this to Forte and wondering whether it’s better than Korean cars etc. now that’s the problem Proton should address, Proton should stop playing catch up with Korean or Japs instead should produce the next big thing… because if you don’t… cars like Forte will only improve from where they are now.. then what? play catch up again? Proton has the ability… it’s a matter of whether they REALLY WANT OR NOT, let’s hope this car is one of first steps towards that! :)

• runabout on Mar 14, 2012 at 9:51 pm

Why am I seeing the followings in the video titled “ABS, EBD and ESC”?

0:02 to 0:03 Front quarter panel is misaligned with bumper
    0:05 to 0:07 Front quarter panel is misaligned with door and protruding out of underrunning panel

• jimmyc on Mar 14, 2012 at 10:05 pm

lots of new stuff from proton. lots of chance for things to go wrong. let the guinea pigs hv a go first.

• libralcl on Mar 14, 2012 at 10:09 pm

I am sure go and touch, feels, test to determine whether it is a good car. But after sales services is good or not, to me it is still below average. Proton still needs to bring up their sales and service reputation. Hope this car will help on the sales and bring along the services quality. Btw, I won’t judge car by the brand but by testing it myself.

• jimmy on Mar 15, 2012 at 7:55 am

well it’s same for p2 also , their after sales services is so so also , my alza got whole bunch of issues , but their sc never want to resolve it or have no knowledge to resolve the problem .
      they never update you the progress of the spare parts arrival , it might take you few months until they call you up ( or never call you again )

• wong ah yat on Mar 14, 2012 at 10:10 pm

Hi Mitsu, you kena screw by P1 again, they just used you to buy time for this GLOBAL CAR, btw, P1 how many countries are gonna buy this car? It this your final stroke before turn turtle? It is very simple, those that bought Jap never buy My again, those that buy European never buy Jap again…

• asd asd on Mar 15, 2012 at 3:19 am

not entirely true..

• Arrian on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:17 am

you are right. i’m driving non proton/perodua car and mpv but thinking seriously to change my current jap MPV to exora CFE.

• true. quite a number revert to P1/P2 for their second car after getting the Japs/Contis.

• drMpower on Mar 14, 2012 at 10:13 pm

really exciting but proton must brace themselves if these teasers dont fit with the real model delivered yo customers
    start stops are easy but kudos for them to get one with it
    day running lights are okay a bit abeng but nevermind

the seats, esp the back one, a bit too vertical i think
    they should put one two level mechanisms to lean it bit more. dont worry this is easily done.
    and here we go. SEVEN SPEED paddle shifting.

i almost blurt out my filet o fish when first saw the word SEVEN speedprotronic whatever. because as far as i know proton dont say much about gearbox thing. so this is not seven speed gearbox, m i correct? or if not i will vomit the next bite filet o fish.

i presume they just adjust the ratio etc etc. right?

• it’s a virtual 7 speed….which i think will be it’s achilles’ heel. A proper 6 speed gearbox would be better to extract the best out of the engine.

• doubt on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:06 pm

drMpower,

Pls elaborate further because I am considering this car. The horse power match the Camry, C class and 3 series and the 7 speed gear system definitely beats the rest.

1. Is the turbocharge system reliable ? How about fuel consumption ?
      2. I do not understand your doubt on the gear ratio. Of course 7 speed means 7 different ratio right ?

Thank you

• Which model of the C-Class or 3 series and Camry are you referring to? You mentioned horsepower..I believe the entry level c class, ie C200 has 184 bhp and E90 320i has 156. Forte 2.0 is 154. How does this Proton with 130+ bhp match them? if you’re referring to torque, yes it may match the campy 2.0, BMW 320i (E90) and Kia forte 2.0.

The 7 speed transmission is a virtual one. It uses cvt hence it’s different from a regular gearbox which I think is a downside. A normal 6 speed gearbox will be able to extract better performance from the engine, however the focus here is fuel efficiency, therefore I think the decision was to go with cvt gearbox? On the other hand Proton does not have a 5 speed or 6 speed transmission at their disposal, hence the cvt, since they are already using it for the Saga.

• doubt on Mar 15, 2012 at 6:26 pm

I learnt that the horse power of p321a is 156.

• Not certain but from leaked specs info on the net, it is 140 PS or approximately 138 bhp. Then again this isn’t official.

• driver on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:43 pm

I thought the rumours are saying that it’ll be using CVT.. or is it not?
    Now P1, please improve your aftersale services!

• ask top gear to test drive. then, we’ll believe it :)

• You want to ask TOPGEAR to test drive….Clarkson and his stupid remarks no body bothers about what he think la. This brit only say good things about british made car. He very bias clown……he is not the right person to evaluate a car. Give him a Range Rover or Jaguar or Zonda a million dollar car and he can say good things about it.

All I can say give Proton & DSZ a break I think this Proton will a success if CQ is up to mark. Like any other car manufacturer a new models tends to have minor problems thats why we have recALLS……EVEN BMW OR MERC OR LEXUS HAVE RECALLS

JUST MY 1 CENT OPINION

• rexis on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:24 am

Hopefully when the lady stripped naked, people won’t lose interest…

From outside looks quite nice.

• SpeakUp on Mar 15, 2012 at 4:36 am

Steering wheel like Honda … climate controls like Lancer … paddle shift and 7 speed like Toyota … front like Kia … this is a HYBRID! Must see it in the flesh and drive it to see how successful Proton has been with this. They thrown the challenge. That is a great direction by the ad agency. Its a challenge to the people and MANY will go try it for sure! Let’s hope its well priced and gives great value for money.

• Costwise on Mar 15, 2012 at 7:37 am

Proton at it again…give them your hard earn money and try out your luck one more time. But, the stack is raised, it will cost you more this time.

At 70k or so, in many country, you can get a C segment car with brand you already believe in…good track record for years.

Unfortunately for many, with the artificial pricing in Malaysian car market, Proton is perceived as good value initially. So…new car smell, 10min test drive, bigger size & lots of electronic will sway many to believe it.

Good luck to buyer and Proton…I would let other own it for 2 years, then decide for myself.

• SpeakUp on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:27 am

You think BMW is any better? New models ALWAYS have problems. The current F10 already showing signs of problems.

• megpan on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:09 am

any specs sheets so far?

• inderaloka on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:45 am

Auto rain and light sensors, spacious cabin space, touch screen GPS and smart info display, ABS, EBD, ESC, 7-Speed Protronic paddle-shifters, LED running lights, push-start button an not to mention it equipped with 1.6L Fuel Efficient Turbo Charged Engine, this car has a lot of features. Oh come on, just admit it. It is irresistible!

• Now i’m think to sell my 2010 fd for this car… hahaha owh no!!!

• Follow the Leaders on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:54 am

If the 13 Royals & the Agong see it fit to be driven in this car, then I’ll buy it. After all the PM & the Emperor of Japan is driven in a Lexus. The German Chancellor in a Benz. The US President also in an American car. Why our Royals are driven in Maybachs, Benzs and whatnot?

• must price below 72999, then can sapu dugong’s sibling – 207 fans…

• It’s great that Proton is launching this car with lots of interesting features. Now the Koreans and Jap makes will launch theirs with better standard features at competitive pricing. Maybe touch screen gps will be a standard issue. End of the day…the people will gain. Malaysians will get better value for money. More will be able to own imported cars. Thank you Proton!

• go naza1 on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:59 pm

buy this if you cannot afford inspira

proton, drive it to believe it is sheet.

• I have Gen 2 1.3 which is 7 years old. I have no trouble with it Engine – No problem only the timing belt. Brake – only change the brake lining. Tyre – Worn out after 5 years. + general servicing. Except under power going up hill.

• Go Proton.
    Despite complaint and negative perspective by other Malaysian but as of me, I always positive. As a Malaysian, I would highly support our local product and looking forward towards this model to see how far Proton has progressed to stay up in the market.

• holla on Mar 16, 2012 at 10:20 am

This car name is PREVE’ (taken from spanish word)

huhu..weird..

• Driver10 on Mar 16, 2012 at 1:08 pm

Good job Proton.. but at the end of the day.. plastic will be plastic. Lets see how long those sophisticated features last! ECU controlling all those features reliable?? Paddle shifters system is the same quality as the lancer / civic?? Don’t think so cos we will be paying a much cheaper price than those cars. Fair play to proton.. they need to be competitive hence the attractive features.. but buyers need to be smart. Think… all that for 70k odd… its gonna be short term joy! Have fun with it.. for those who r gonna book.

• DewaSemut on Mar 23, 2012 at 9:44 pm

jua mahal tak boleh… Jual murah pun tak boleh??? Honda & Toyota reap damn huge profit margin you know! Not because they spend so much on quality parts… Some of their vendors are Prroton vendors as well….

• potongsucksbigtime on Mar 18, 2012 at 2:14 pm

another chance?
    Proton almost went into insolvency after sucking rakyat $$ for more than 20 years!!!
    20 years of poor quality and lives lost due to poor safety standards and billions of RMs lost for Lotus and corruptions.

Sold to DRB when they realize it is just one of the many failed projects.

Another chance? think ppl … where are your brains?