GALLERY: Live shots of the VW Passat CC R-Line 3.6 V6

We spent our weekend in Pekan, Pahang to witness the unveiling of the CKD Volkswagen Passat, and also caught an interesting sideshow featuring VW’s R cars. Last week, Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia announced the availability of the R performance range in Malaysia, starting with the Golf R and Passat CC R-Line. We gave you a live gallery of the hot Golf yesterday, so let’s look at the big engined Passat CC today.

The Passat CC R-Line comes in with a big capacity 3.6 litre V6 engine with 300 PS and 350 Nm between 2,400 and 5,300 rpm. With six-pot firepower, the sleek sedan is actually faster than the Golf R to 100 km/h, by a tenth – 5.6 seconds versus 5.7.

Like the hot hatch, the flagship Passat CC also comes with a six-speed DSG, 4MOTION AWD and Adaptive Chassis Control (DCC). From the outside, you can spot the R-Line by its 18-inch “Mallory” wheels, panoramic tilting glass roof and R badges at the base of the A pillars. Bi-xenon and bending lights are also standard. It’s all very subtle.

Inside, the top dog CC is enhanced with aluminium front scuff plates with the R logo, sports seats finished in Nappa leather, a flat-bottomed multifunction steering wheel, brushed aluminium inserts and an auto-dimming rear-view mirror.

Also on the kit list are Climatronic with dual-zone control, DYNAUDIO 600-watt “Confidence” sound system with 10 speakers, keyless entry and start, electronic parking brake with hill hold and auto hold, Park Distance Control with Rear Assist reverse camera and the RNS510 touch screen stereo with integrated sat nav.

The Passat CC R-Line is priced at RM373,888. Choose from nine colours – Urano Grey, Candy White, Night Blue, Reflex Silver, Light Brown, Iron Grey, Deep Black, Mocca Anthracite and Icelandic Grey. Want the style but not the engine? The Passat CC 2.0 TSI (210 PS/280 Nm) is priced from RM254,888 to RM269,888.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Bobob on Mar 15, 2012 at 4:36 pm

Disappointed that this Passat CC is not the facelifted model with the new tail lights… Otherwise, cool features..

• For me this is the best looking sedan or coupe VW ever built and i don’t think the facelift model is better looking than this but is still not bad tot the new rear lights r pretty cool and better looking than the old one,only the front is too plan !

• DAFAQ on Mar 15, 2012 at 4:38 pm

The appearance of this car is like never gonna be outdated. It’s good to own one if you have deep pocket.

• kenot on Mar 15, 2012 at 4:58 pm

mak aii..passat CC always sexy!!

• tun tansari on Mar 15, 2012 at 5:04 pm

I tot the new cc got the F/L version in europe? why this CCR still use the old rear lgihts n no LED in front?

• Dr Mamak on Mar 15, 2012 at 5:19 pm

Design looks dated already. i’d wait for me F30 M Sport.

• oomph on Mar 15, 2012 at 6:27 pm

hate the taillights. hideous.

• the dashboard is neat and tidy
    it reminds me p321a’s

• ChrisLai75 on Mar 16, 2012 at 9:09 am

thereis only 1 problem with this car, price!

• k_man on Mar 16, 2012 at 12:10 pm

it should at least be equipped with 19in rims

• CClover on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:38 pm

Fast leopard covered with white wolf skin….but RM373K w/o insurance?…got to sweat easily 1K litres to save that money.. !!