Honda Jazz Hybrid launched – Insight powertrain, RM94.8k

UPDATE: Launch gallery and detail shots added

After months of speculation, the Honda Jazz Hybrid is now officially launched. The green car was unveiled to the media at a very green location, FRIM in Kepong, minutes ago. Sharing the 1.3L Integrated Motor Assist (IMA) powertrain with the Insight we’re familiar with, the Jazz Hybrid is priced at RM94,800 OTR including insurance.

The Jazz Hybrid made its world debut at Paris 2010. Honda has managed to integrate the 1.3 litre i-VTEC engine + IMA powertrain from the Insight into the B-segment body of the Jazz, famous for its space and brilliant packaging. The claimed fuel consumption figure is 21.3 km/l in the European cycle.

Apparently, the engine, motor, battery and Intelligent Power Unit (IPU) goes into the Jazz without affecting practicality – the Jazz’s multi-folding Magic Seats are retained, as is a boot volume of 300 litres, or 846 litres with the rear seats folded. The IPU tucks in beneath the boot floor, so there’s no spare tyre in the car, but a tyre repair kit.

Among the hybrid features are the ECON driving mode and Eco Assist function. Also standard are six airbags, Hill Start Assist, Multi Info Display and Charge Assist Indicator. Available in five colours – Fresh Lime Metallic, Alabaster Silver Metallic, Milano Red, Crystal Black Pearl and Tafetta White – the car is priced at RM94,800. The battery comes with a five-year or 140,000 km warranty, the same as the Insight and CR-Z’s.

More details and an in-depth look into the Jazz Hybrid will be coming your way soon, in a special interview with Shingo Nagamine, Large Project Leader of the Jazz Hybrid.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• honda salesman on Mar 15, 2012 at 5:59 pm

Nice to see it’s still cost 30% more expensive here despite tax exemption compare to the rest of the world.

Malaysia Boleh! Honda Boleh!

• later all those kiasu hyundai or kia haters will say still cheaper than those useless junks la.

• Despite it prices at 95k, im still willing to pay for it. I feel sad though… I could probably blame those who keep saying im willing to buy at 85k because when the pricing manager hears the news saying that consumers are willing to buy at 85k, he wouldn’t set at 85k, he will take advantage of us and set at higher price. @$#!$!!

• john doe on Mar 16, 2012 at 12:21 am

i want the rear lamp only. to replace my stock jazz rear lamp. hope its not THAT expensive

• Toyota Altis on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:06 am

I will also change my booking to Toyota Altis 1.6.

Only a few thousand more expensive but much more powerful and bigger in size.

• omanjedi on Mar 16, 2012 at 4:05 pm

Its seems both T & H are manipulating the MY market as we are not used to CHEAP IMPORT CAR anymore. Although the duty is set to 0% – they will mark up comprehensively to satisfy their pockets…………where’s your integrity Malaysian Clone Japs?

• Nurul on Mar 27, 2012 at 12:34 pm

ya laa… where’s the integrity? hiya……still I love the car, with a what if, of course! mendrammm…..om tat sat…..hybrid satu mari…..atok boleh!!!

• seancorr on Mar 15, 2012 at 6:02 pm

Hmmm more airbags in the car which is good but the price is an epic phail.

• mangata on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:05 pm

ya i know but seriously prius c interior sucksss prefer jazz futuristic interior design

• Vader on Mar 16, 2012 at 7:27 am

Wanna ask that, previously all the honda SA bash the prius c so teruk and claim that the jazz hybrid is a long way better and the price just RM85k.. now the price is RM10k more expensive!!!
        Since the price is fixed, now change direction to bash on the interior pula.. ??

• OMG…with this price, but no 7 air bags….no push start button..& not a full hybrid system…Overpriced ….

• Emm…not cheap, was thinking it would be 85k.

• David D on Mar 15, 2012 at 6:25 pm

Well, at least the Jazz Hybrid is much better looking than the Prius C, that i can’t deny, but then, you know lah, if the Jazz is 85k, Prius C sales will hit rock bottom, and you know who will complain to the max.

That said, it’s good to see 6 airbags in this compared to the standard Thai-made Jazz, yet much, much cheaper thanks to exemptions. BUT, where’s the stability control?????

• mickuFit on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:50 pm

there is a VSA button there near the ECO buttonn

• Estimosis on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:46 pm

T & H are playing cartel now. None of them goes under 85k for 1.3 hybrid. Only T&H fanboys will buys such cars

• Couldnt agree any more….they should price it 85k, it been a year old already and technology lack behind prius c.

Will get the prius c, the old prius still working great till now. Honda hybrid have some sort of problem especially the civic hybrid. The battery will kaput.

Prius C more advance technology plus hybrid synergy drive…..unlike honda parallel hybrid…i can drive ev mode if back home late from party, wont wake up my neigbours…..nice. The prius c also more aerodynamic and better nvh than honda.

• proton wira on Mar 15, 2012 at 7:50 pm

Overpriced!
        better wait for P3-21A.
        RM75,500 with so many “i believe” thingy.

i want to believe it too.. haha.

hm..imho, if T&H keep doing like this to their customer, one day resale value of their product will go south!
        75.5k… way to kill all those 2nd hand value of Vios/City.

• driver on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:28 pm

bro, p321a is not a hybrid car..

• maybe he dont understand what is the differences between hybrid car and normal car..let him with his protong world..hahaha

• Leong Teong Malam on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:50 pm

potong…potong…potonglah saja…

• Of cos la P3 is not hybrid car. But all of people talk about “kadar penjimatan” dan penggunaan minyak jugak.

P3 : 75 5000
          Jazz hybrid : rm 94 800

94 800 – 75 500 : 19 300
          1liter petrol : rm1.9
          rm19300: 10158liter
          0.23liter per km
          10158liter : 44165km.

if talk about environment, yess agree hybrid better but if about “penjimatan”. xperlu la kot. ni kereta xde cukai lagi. ada cukai xtau la berapa plak harga sebiji keta ni.

***xpercaya malaysian safety? you hidup kurun ke berapa? kalau dah bawa keta mcm pelesit, naik ferrari pon boleh mati. Ada kereta bagi jaminan kompem takkan kemalangan dan kompem xmati?..bawa keta pon laju mengalahkan dlm litar, bkn setakat bahaya pada diri sendiri, org loin pon boleh kena jugak.

• Henry Ford the XII on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:17 pm

Bro,

That 0.23L/km is FC figure for which car?

If Jazz Hybrid:
            21.3 km/L = 0.047L/km = 4.7L/100km
            If P3-21A (which I think you should use this in your calculation if your argument is to support the Proton):
            6.5L/100km = 0.065L/km = 15.4km/L

That 0.23L/km = 23L/km (Bugatti pun not as thirsty as this, no?)

So if you wanna say that the saving on the car price can be translated to extra mileage that the cheaper P3-21A will enjoy, then that “extra miles” would be:
            10,158L x 15.4km/L = 156,433km!

But personally, to make a comparison between these 2, I would do a Life Cycle Cost analysis in which the simplest one is something like this

Assumptions:
            – Annual mileage is 30,000km
            – Maintenance and other costs are similar between those 2
            – Fuel cost is kept constant throughout the ownership period (RM1.90/L)
            – Disposal (i.e. final residual value) is not considered

You can set a fixed ownership period, say 5 years and compare which has the lowest cost
            For car price + fuel cost over 5 years:
            P3-21A = RM94,006
            Jazz = RM108,180

Interestingly, it would take about 18 years for both cars to have similar ownership cost.

Conclusion: It’s up to you guys to buy which car hehehe ? (tepuk dada or kepala, tanya selera or dompet!)

• Frank S on Mar 21, 2012 at 10:39 pm

yup…better to pay that extra for tax rather than an over priced supposedly tax-free Honda…at least with tax govt gives fuel subsidy…instead Honda will bag that extra cash back to Japan…

• polaris on May 23, 2012 at 9:22 am

the R&D and cost of the hybrid is higher compared to standard jazz, 11,605pounds for a jazz and 16,500pounds for a hybrid in the UK. Are you saying you would rather pay more RM10XK for a jazz than RM95K for a hybrid? In doing so you are paying more tax for a low tech car (paying more getting less). Also either standard jazz or hybrid you are still getting the fuel subsidy.

I am currently undecisive on getting a hybrid, fearing low resale value and higher maintenance in the long run. Resale value is very much connected to public perception, generally people have a negative perception on hybrid saying the that battery cost a bomb, this will cause most to shy away from a second hand hybrid meaning a drop in resale value. I believe unlike standard car where outside mechanic can solve alot of the problem for a lot less. You need to bring the hybrid to an authorised dealer which is generally cost around 50% more to fix the same problem. I just change a cooling fan on my 06 Civic, SA price RM7++, outside mechanic RM220.

• mickuFit on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:52 pm

definitely ur a Toyota Salesman if u asked me!

• Frank S on Mar 23, 2012 at 12:17 pm

You are wrong mate…

I am just a regular consumer…no interest in any automotive manufacturer…

• Boycotting this crap. Not worth the price.

Booked the car when the Honda SA says it will be less than RM85,000 OTR. Will be getting my deposit back!

• alldisc on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:14 pm

disappointng to learn that this jazz hybrid is closely priced to prius C, but it still wins on exterior looks and especially… the dashboard.

• Good decision. If more consumers think like you, the price would be lower…

• samlyn on Mar 16, 2012 at 9:09 am

I’ll called the Honda SA to cancel my booking.
        Will test drive the Prius C next week.

Toyato SA ………confirm can test next week.

2.2k is worth the Full Hybird and 2 years lower fuel cost.

If 85k to 87k …..parralle Hybird is ok….

For the price 10k……it’s would take 5-10years in fuel consumption .

Shown Honda …..Malaysian not buying at RM 94.8k .

• Emm…not cheap, was thinking it would be 85k…

• vee_duble_vey on Mar 15, 2012 at 6:03 pm

sigh…i was hoping for it to be priced below RM90k, or RM85k as rumoured before…at this price, I suppose Toyota Prius C is a better buy…

• Emm…not cheap, was thinking it would be 85k….,

• alldisc on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:16 pm

at 85k, the city will suffer in sales.. already struggling to beat vios sales fo the past 6 years.

• Add 2 k, can get Prius C aldy… HONDA JAZZ HYBRID gotta hard sell aldy !

• theanswer on Mar 15, 2012 at 6:20 pm

even normal jazz hard to sell..hahaha. overpriced. but the 6 airbag is good. hopefully after this accord can offer more airbags. kedekut!

• disappointed with the price

• budleee on Mar 15, 2012 at 6:09 pm

whoa..

jazz hybrid vs prius C..

let the bashing begins… muahaha

although i would prefer a factual, less bias comparative review from Paul Tan..

can?

• Exp lo

• khairibad on Mar 15, 2012 at 6:17 pm

Only RM4k different from insight?

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 15, 2012 at 6:19 pm

Don’t buy if you think it’s expensive, wait for your Korean Junkyard to come out with Cheap Skate Hybrid.

But if you think price is reasonable for reputable brand, pack with great safety features & super fuel efficiency then go ahead !

• kantoi on Mar 15, 2012 at 6:31 pm

Hmm, Honda salesman spotted!! seriously, get a life, this is a review on Honda Jazz launching, not on Korean-Jap comparison….can’t you read?

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 15, 2012 at 7:00 pm

Do i care ?

Thre is plenty of Korean Junkyard Car Salesman here ! Opps one just “kantoi” !

• aioooo! a lot of ppl cancel order lah! mana boleh cari makan? anyway, this is 1/2 cooked hybrid, the prius c is the better hybrid. and no, i’m not a toyota sales person….:D

• Kampung on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:52 pm

This half cooked hybrid will still function if the battery KO. Your better hybrid prius c will be stranded by roadside if battery KO.

• mickuFit on Mar 15, 2012 at 10:05 pm

wut?? prius C cant operate if batt kongg??!

• Jolly_idiot on Mar 16, 2012 at 12:55 am

Prius can work wiithout battery la. Do research b4 toking kok

• Prius cant start if Hybrid battery kongg la bodoh.Honda’s IMA system still can

• One of the Honda salesman told me Honda will bring in a lower spec Jazz Hybrid that will be priced lower and that this 95K one is the high spec version.

• that salesman must be very desperate
      if so, what will be the lower spec like? jazz hybrid without battery? lol

• vee_duble_vey on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:15 pm

i think 85k is the price when honda assembles the jazz hybrid in the future…sigh

• Eco my arse, use so much batteries. So much energy goes to producing these batteries. These are rare earth material! Motors + batteries feed Lynas! Stop Lynas! Save Malaysia!

• but honestly the interior is much better than prius C. just sad about the price

• Maserati on Mar 15, 2012 at 6:40 pm

Prius C is still the better fuel saver. Honda not even close in this.But honda handlingand solidness better.

But still better than buying a KIA- KILLED IN ACTION

• i_swear on Mar 16, 2012 at 8:43 am

Sometimes I suspect that you have brain damaged as you like kids that like to called people names as you said but angry when people said your nicknames.

For example:-
      “Toyol-ta Prius C actually is Aqua in Japan. Aqua(Ah Qua) in chinese is transvestite, 1/2 Myvi (male) and then 1/2 dunno wat car (female). That y the name never aqua, so it called Tiu-C so can Lansi (pun intended) in Malaysia”

“Hon-duhhh handling very dull-duh and solidness is duh…. ”

So when i said like that you sure flame or rage quit. Next time try to be more constructive on your comment as you called other brand junk and it can be same with your God Brand Name Car.

Duhh…

• Haha.. i still remember when i mention that this Jazz would be around RM90K i got so many thumbs down.. and now Honda priced it at 95k.. Only day dreaming that Honda will price it lower than the Prius C..

• wait the sec.. i know that bumper.. it’s the honda city.. don’t get me wrong.. it’s not bad…

• Power8003 on Mar 15, 2012 at 6:55 pm

This price is not acceptable. Do you all remember the CBU unit of the normal Jazz was only 110k. Remember CBU. the tax is 100% – 300%. Now tax free only cheaper by 15k. This is a complete ripe off by Honda and Our Government. I definately would not buy this car. Super dupe over price.

• adie dali on Mar 15, 2012 at 6:57 pm

i wanttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt!!!!! but diff color plz

• DAFAQ on Mar 15, 2012 at 7:00 pm

Greedy Honda. U r losing customers.

• zoom zoom zooeeii on Mar 15, 2012 at 7:01 pm

not my expected price range, sorry… this is not the deal i want to sign

• Honda Power on Mar 15, 2012 at 7:02 pm

Honda Malaysia did price the Honda Jazz hybrid RM2,200 lower than Toyota Prius C.
    Now it’s the cheapest hybrid car in Malaysia.

• arcana on Mar 15, 2012 at 7:14 pm

Wah only RM2k difference between T&H. Toyota has the upper hand in terms of kit and powertrain this time. This jazz wont sell so ez like insight.

• starsky on Mar 15, 2012 at 7:18 pm

who would buy this “assisted hybrid” when “full real hybrid” is only 2k more?

• dreaming of maserati on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:23 pm

but the full real hybrid comes with a 3rd world interior worse than kancil!!

bette stick to vios!

• yh Inc. on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:31 pm

Well said! It’s hardly see the people know about the different between Honda hybrid and Toyota hybrid. What a hybrid crap that Honda produced!

• I’m angry with the price. Thank you!

• Agreed….Expensive la…..

• samlyn on Mar 16, 2012 at 9:18 am

Do not support Honda Jazz Hybird.

Let’s we united . Give Honda Malaysia managent a
        Blow in the Ass.

RM 94.800.00

Day Light Robbery

• OMG…normal lah..Honda car always sell higher price ….not satisfy, dont buy it…..

• Greedy Honda malaysia! I’ll take my deposit back! Toyota Synergy hybrid at 2.2k more only, way more advanced tech than Honda parallel hybrid.

• All potential buyers should hold off purchase of the jazz hybrid and let te stocks sit in the showroom, Honda malaysia will surely sit up and listen. Greedy greedy

• mickuFit on Mar 15, 2012 at 10:11 pm

daws, u got ‘toyota salesman’ written on your forehead…btter clean it out dude,

• proton wira on Mar 15, 2012 at 7:36 pm

Overpriced!
    better wait for P3-21A.
    RM75,500 with so many “i believe” thingy.

i want to believe it too.. haha.

hm..imho, if T&H keep doing like this to their customer, one day resale value of their product will go south!
    75.5k… ways to kill all those 2nd hand value of Vios/City.

• Stanley on Mar 15, 2012 at 7:48 pm

Truly dissapointed with the price, just top up rm2k can buy prius c which is 1.5cc n more fuel saver

• shahzad on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:05 pm

damn the price is a major turn off….wonder how much they are selling it in other parts of the world :(

• NAR2645 on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:11 pm

Rather disappointed about the price. Was hoping it to be around RM85K

• why in a sudden , most of them prefer prius c . ha ha ! prius c is world hot item in japan so that is not a mistake to get a prius c . even id jazz sold at $85 , i still prefer prius c.
    way to go , prius c

• tiadaid on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:26 pm

With no excise duty & 10% sales tax, still no car maker wants to lower their prices to UK/US level.

So whoever asking for no taxes for cars should dream on about wanting cheap cars without taxes!

• tokmoh on Mar 16, 2012 at 9:34 am

They’re a joke. When cars expensive, complaint tax. When cheap (well, sort of), complaint 2nd hand value.

Same story wit proton-vw. Last time when deal didn’t work, complain cannot get golf gti rm100k. Then recent rumor rebadge polo <rm70k, complain 2nd hand value la, ask dun rebadge golf, proton goin backward la.

Haters gonna hate. Keep complaining cars in oder countries so cheap, how hard can it be to just hop in an airplane and enjoy life there?

• look like many is disapointed with the price instead of technology whereby prius c is actually better than honda jazz. wake up all the buyer. in real fact of life it is prius c the best

• so i believe eveyone here now know that prius c is better value for money .
    down you go jazz hybrid.

• ahmad on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:30 pm

i will cancel my order also and go for prius c

• ahmad on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:32 pm

how to sell 3000 unit a year while prius c is better and people only target of 2500 unit a year. shame of u -lah jazz hybrid

• BeemerFreak on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:12 pm

maybe 300 a year…..i will go for insight if i want a Honda…….

• should be sale at RM85K,stupid honda malaysia.

• mister potato on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:38 pm

no one should buy this car.. get a prius C and save the price difference in petrol savings in a few months! booooooooooo!!!!!

• Insight kaki on Mar 15, 2012 at 10:08 pm

Dude, in Msia owning a hybrid is not about saving $$$$ well at least not while we are paying “subsidized” fuel prices. Personally after seeing this Jazz launch price no regrets in getting the Insight for the wifey as a city car. We have recently viewed the Prius C and sady it would not fit a large sized baby stroller and related paraphenelia when moving with kids. Something the little Insight swallows with ease. Almost a yr into ownership no issues with H. Their after sales even shames auto bavaria and cycle n carriage, both whom I also frequent for my other rides.

• shit!!!govm!!!higher tax!!!!!

• taboogen on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:49 pm

there is only 1 person smiling in the picture… they know the faith already…. it will be a rare speciment indeed.

• khairul anuar on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:54 pm

Huh!!! Penipu!! Janji harga lingkungan RM70k. Esok nak claim booking fees.

• Kampung on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:15 pm

So many comment saying this is less hybrid than prius c. Prius c is more advance, better system, technological breakthrough etc..

U can change your handphone every year coz the technology keep advancing while the phone only cost RM1K-2K. When your hi-end phone hang, software corrupt, IC malfunction, u didnt even have to bother for repair. Just throw and buy new.

The situation is different when it comes to car. Especially those who planning to pay 7 to 9 years loan (well after the warranty expires). This jazz could be less advance but its a good start for us (and our foremen) to familiarize with hybrid technology. It has a same engine layout as conventional cars, only addition of electric motor in the flywheel and a battery at the back.

prius c system, nobody dares to touch it (beside toyota service center, and it cost… u know). Lets face it. Malaysia is yet an advance country.

• _xXx_ on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:26 pm

Cannot understand u ppl. In 1999, Honda Civic was sold at 126k, keta kosong and full of crappy local accessories. It was not even qualified to be called EK but dunno-what. BUT it was sold like hot cake. Now, 13 years laters (ringgit shrunk 2 folds), Jepun mari CBU Hybrid Jazz sold at 95k n u guys bising2….

• Honda Power on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:33 pm

If you don’t like Jazz hybrid, please stop bashing and buy Prius C hybrid. U people only know how to bash Honda. I am sure 90% of you Honda bashers can’t even afford to drive Honda. All you can afford to drive are Proton and Perodua cars. Enough said!

• vee_duble_vey on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:31 pm

i drive honda city and was excited to hear that this jazz hybrid will be coming to malaysia…i thought that maybe i can get the car for my wife…however, at RM94.8k, this car is way overpriced, dare i say…it should be priced around RM85k only at most…sigh

• MetalMic on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:28 am

Karma dude, karma…people that drive proton and perodua most probably has more cash than your loan debts

• 5 years battery warranty…is it expensive to replace the battery after 5 years?

• hatetoyota & honda on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:55 pm

Honda will loose a lot of customer by giving this kind of pricing. This really show that Honda & Toyota just care about making money. No taxes, but they still over priced their cars

Quality wise…Kia & Hyundai have exceeded them. With many awards won by Kia & Hyundai in US/UK, they really put pressure on H &T. People will show Honda & Toyota how the consumer power works. Unless those rich people are willing to buy anything from toyota or honda, T & H, will soon submit to consumer power.

Even the rich are buying Beemers, Merc even VW nowadays. Let this be a lesson to T &H to give a fair price to their cars.

• Camry no 1 at US
      Altis no 1 at US
      U are lucky Vios they not selling it there, but still no 1 in asia.
      Vios also very canggih spec at Thailand and China, but not in malaysia only,
      so dont talk2 about Kia & Hyundai here, their engine is sucks.
      go and read it at www.kiafortesucks.com

• Going to kiafortesucks to read how they suck? That’s like going to toyotasucksevenharder.com (if it exist) to read bias comments about them. And fyi, Camry and Altis got no.1 becoz they have a very competitive pricing and not stripped down spec cars.. A value car will always be what sane people buy, they don’t just buy it for the badges (unlike here, unfortunately). Amazed at how you don’t do a better analysis.

• I’m currently using 2009 jazz n with this kind of prize i think we malaysian is being cheated by T&H and i think the best we have left only Pug/Citroen come on guys support european marque in ur next purchase

• kimi's fan on Mar 15, 2012 at 10:27 pm

hermm….expensive for me

• acura on Mar 15, 2012 at 10:30 pm

in term of practicality and design wise, Jazz win over prius C..

• Pricey hybrid on Mar 15, 2012 at 10:41 pm

Hey, guys and gals. The selling price is called ‘Govt Approved Selling Price’. I don’t think they will approve them if the price is so close to our national cars, especially 1 is launching around the corner.

• Fongozic on Mar 15, 2012 at 10:46 pm

Just now evening went to Honda showroom and tested the car …
    Power Not bad and it come with 10air bag ( 4 side air bag) but the price really abit too high. Rather pay 5k more for insight.

• Fongozic on Mar 15, 2012 at 10:48 pm

Maybe is gov want them add the extra 4 airbag cost it higher than what we expect
    And no moon roof :(

• Carl Wong on Mar 15, 2012 at 10:49 pm

Beautiful, it’s still the cheapest Honda and Hybrid in our country nonetheless. For me Honda’s quality is better than Toyota and others. And their designs look futuristic and young. People who drive Hondas have a young heart :].

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 15, 2012 at 10:50 pm

disappointing price

• GRRRRR on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:00 pm

Blame it on the government policy to protect Proton. I believe Honda Malaysia want to price it below 90k but then P321-A is just around the corner to be launched. MITI will not approved Jazz pricing to be too competitive to Proton. Looking at P321-A will all the “believe” specs, I must say it is mouth watering at sub 80k. But then I want a compact car not that segment.

I can see disappointment of my Honda sales person today about the price tag when I visited Honda showroom to view the car. He said Thai version will be priced lower by few K but then you will loose the paddle shift and perhaps some air bags. No way Jose !

I’m considering to get my booking fee refund. Hunt for alternative now …

• Moshi moshi on Mar 16, 2012 at 7:33 am

As i know MITI does not dictate the price on cars anymore

• Bongcs on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:12 pm

Haiz….why fight here and there.

• vansgoh on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:13 pm

if the price is 85K… i think most of the 1 year old petrol jazz owner will try to exchange to this…

• Maserati on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:24 pm

I cant understand 99% of the people here complaining about the price ,but 99% of them had no intention to buy the car in the first place.So stop complaining about the price and collecting back your deposit bullshit stories.Cause we all know that u dint place a deposit and you are just bullcrapping here.

If 95k is expensive for you,then I think you cannot afford to buy a new car! Cuz 85k and 95k is not a huge difference! Its not like if its 85k,you will buy the car.

• GRRRRR on Mar 16, 2012 at 12:44 am

Perhaps you are among those who can afford ……Maserati die cast !

• mirror on Mar 16, 2012 at 12:46 am

I can’t understand certain group of people here.

Everytime when people complaining about a certain car model, these “group” tends to think the complainers “cannot afford” to buy.

Sometimes, you too complaining about your wife to your friends, but that doesn’t mean that you “don’t love” your wife.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 16, 2012 at 10:07 am

Good One !

You see that the problem most of them can’t afford even if it is 80K, with those budget they can only get a Cheap Skate Rebadged Korean Junkyard Car, which they feel malu to drive one, so the only thing they can do is make nonsense comment expensive lah, mahal lah, day light robbery lah, i mean how can it be expensive & day light robbery if they never bought one ? Not that this is rice, water, bread, petrol or electric which you can’t live without it.

I anticipate this would be a hot selling car like, Insight, Prius, Prius C & CRZ.

• what car you own then? potong? shut up la noob hai.

• vee_duble_vey on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:23 pm

Why are you holding a grudge against Korean-made cars? Did you use to own one and have bad experience with it?

• mirror on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:42 pm

What craziness makes you think that others will feel ashamed driving a cheaper pricing car?

Unless you’re a person who will actually feel ashamed in doing so. And somehow, will buy a heavily taxed (expensive pricing) car at all costs (*even you could only barely afford), all this just to make yourself feels good.

Yes, I do agree, for a certain kind of people, driving an expensive car does make them feels good about themselves (high self esteem). But bare in mind, this is just “shiok sendiri” feeling, it does not make ONE face look more handsome. ONE face will still be the same.

So please do realize that there are people who buy a car by looking at the value for “their own” money kind of car.

• LOL @ all the Honda fanboys and Prius haters out there. I predicted 95k spot-on, got 20 thumbs down and lots of hating and flaming. Where is your 85k car? Go Power of Dream!

• JeremyNg on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:40 pm

without some of the tax still need RM95k !!! WTF

• witchy on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:42 pm

Extremely disappointed in the price, considering the “exempted tax” for hybrid cars. Even with the sales tax the car should have been priced around RM80k, when comparing to Japan. Honda ripping the consumers a new one.

• Dodol Boy on Mar 16, 2012 at 12:27 am

I was planning to buy one provided the price is around 85k. Now I might need to consider other options such as 2nd hand cars.

• SS 316 on Mar 16, 2012 at 1:19 am

Motor Journalist !!! Please say the truth nothing but the truth. If the Car is expensive, say so and don’t mislead us, we are only common people.

Honda Malaysia, You are Blood Sucker………

• Unforgiven on Mar 16, 2012 at 9:30 am

The blood sucker is the Malaysia G policies.

The CBU cars from Japan are very cheap if we do not need to give free money to the relevant parties.

• civicEK on Mar 16, 2012 at 1:21 am

if 89k also ok but 95k is overprice..

• samlyn on Mar 16, 2012 at 9:42 am

If less than 90k. I will retain my booking.

As I told the Honda SA.

Too bad lo….94.8k

Called the Honda SA……..cancel the booking.

He felt very down. Many booking been cancel .

• Lightning69 on Mar 17, 2012 at 1:38 pm

This is exactly what people need to do. Send Honda a loud and clear message that we will not support you for trying to rip us off.

• I was planing to get one if the price was RM85K. But at RM95K its too far off my expectation for a 1.3assisted hybrid when the normal jazz 1.5 is only at RM110k. Where is the logic ? Also the Prius C at RM97K is full of plastics. It takes so much from the environment to produce thier batteries, what about its battery waste treatment.

Its all overpriced and packaged in the name of environment. Are you guys nuts?

As for the P321-A, you can trust it on Proton to give you another substandard product just tro keep their incompetent auto component makers afloat. The guys at Deloyd were responsible for the defective power windows which gave Proton a irrevocable negative image, yet Deloyd is still its vendor. Proton buyers suffered, the country suffered from this incompetencies. Why? Who gained from it? Asked the vendors and staff at Proton whom profited ? Champoin Proton and continue to suffer and complain endlessly ?

Look at the man in the mirror !

• Car Driver on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:51 am

Hybrid Jazz,Prius C,Insight and Prius are nonsense in Malaysia.
    Already tax removed and priced so much expensive.
    Why Need so much air bags.
    Dont be fooled by the petrol you can save.
    You will never save back compare to normal petrol cars which is much cheaper.
    The heavier car and expensive maintenance and the danger of floods and the poor storage capacity is just aint worth it..
    I am not a Toyota fanboy. Neither am I a Toyota car salesman but I think the Vios E
    series @ 79K is a much better bet. $15 k cheaper and better power and boot space.

• proton wira on Mar 18, 2012 at 8:53 pm

79k? outdated already.
      better spend 75.5k for full spec P3-21A.

“i believe”

• comment on Mar 16, 2012 at 4:06 am

paultan, where is your bmw news?

• cybertron on Mar 16, 2012 at 4:18 am

it is no brainer that i would pick the insight

• mastermind on Mar 16, 2012 at 6:04 am

PR says if their win fuel pricel will drop to RM1….ooooo non sense to PR supporter buy the crapped car….and for B-end supporters better u buying it ok….hahaha….why should we buying if Pakatan Says like that…haiya……..RM1 only oil ma…..say no to hybrid ma….

• alfred on Mar 16, 2012 at 7:05 am

a real disappoint price @ $95k.let see how many order does this jazz hybrid will get.

• any more new hybrid is coming round the corner ? of cheaper brand …

• OilChange on Mar 16, 2012 at 7:45 am

and how much is the battery again?

my fellow fren, bought an insight. she is 40 something, teaching in UIAM. She so proud of her car. she drove from her house in sg pusu to UIA. full tank pf petrol will last for 2-3 weeks because she only uses that car for work.

fed up with her rm90 for 3 weeks. I asked her about the battery. did she know that the battery will cost her a fortune?

she panicked and called the salesman.

she cried, blaming the salesman not telling her about the battery…

i left the scene , went to hunt for south african chicks around the college … left her in despair. She never speak about her car ever since.

• Henry Ford the XII on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:25 pm

@went to hunt for south african chicks around the college

Once you go black, you’ll never go back huh? Hehehe…

• Stanley on Mar 16, 2012 at 8:56 pm

The petrol money u save is more than the battery cost and hybrid is quiet when u driving. Battery price will reduce when more hybrid in the market soon but petrol price sure increase from time to time.

• Calvin Foo on Mar 16, 2012 at 8:22 am

Okay, 95k obviously I’ll keep for a mini car like this.

What about the new City facelift?

• Really Jazz Hybrid such a zero duty hybrid car? Lets check:

“the Jazz Hybrid is priced at RM94,800 OTR including insurance”

Hmm the Jazz Hybrid price from Japan:
    http://www.batfa.com/newcar-honda_fit_hybrid.htm
    Price plus shipping and marine insurance: USD$24,000 + USD$900 + USD$120 = USD$25,020.00
    USD$25,020.00 = RM75,372.75 (ex-Japan price)
    Compare with local Malaysia price OTR = RM94,800.00

Price difference: RM94,800.00 – RM75,372.75 = RM19,427.50 !

Still got extra hidden cost tax crap??? Zero duty hybrid car huh?

• blame useless and rubbish and scammer and blood sucker honda malaysia for that la.

• NameWee 2.0 on Mar 16, 2012 at 12:44 pm

Sales Tax 10%… insurance+ road tax…..transportation RM500…wholesale margin…dealer margin… sudah calculate? Anyhow…its business laa…musti mau untung maaa…tapi jangan mau untung potong leher lah Honda…Toyota….

• omanjedi on Mar 16, 2012 at 4:16 pm

the JAP cars price stated is already the SELLING PRICE there (which inclusive of the profit of course)…I’m not sure if Honda Malaysia is stupid enough to buy from Honda JPN at this price. The cost only be more or less half of that published rate – USD 13 apx

• vee_duble_vey on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:16 pm

don’t forget the cost of AP…

• Loneranger on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:37 pm

only now u know the Japs have been sucking all ur money?

no tax also but still can;t get the price that most Msian think that they can get eventhough tax are not imposed to imported car.

dream on friends. IF they close down what u all called protected entity by Govt which is not anymore (if u READ, THAT car maker is now privatized company and yet they are bound to TAX) u will not get cheap car imported car. the reason y is bcoz the Japs know we Msian crazy bout their car no matter how bad it is…selling at any price also people will by due to BADGE carried by the car.

and all the Japs car maker now have to create new game plan so that all their hoax all this while can be covered and as usual we Msian will buy all their reason coz it a JAPS company.

*all the currency exchange that u based on for calculating car prices eksewhere is day to day rate. companies have their own way on calculating exchange rates so that they will not fall to RED in their sales report if they use normal rates that we use.

• when is the joker elantra? still not yet launched until today… LOL

• _xXx_ on Mar 16, 2012 at 8:45 am

Do a root cause analysis u will realize that the root of the problem (high price, 95k) is again, due to…..protection of certain makes.

• Ah Weng on Mar 16, 2012 at 9:03 am

accept the fact that you cant afford a honda. your green myvi will at some angles look like the jazz hybrid, so dont whine about how your current salary cant support your wannabe Honda lifestyle. Ruined my friday morning trying to read the comments about the jazz hybrid. one fella say enuf la, the whole freaking thread saying the same shit. i get your point so move on

• honda going down the proton path. selling cars like city, insight, old jazz and new jazz hybrid, crz. all within 100k price range

city…………. RM90494
    freed……….RM113494
    insight…….RM99800
    old jazz……RM109814
    jazz hybrid.RM94800
    crz…………..RM115014
    civic 1.8…..RM119995

• carnoisseur on Mar 16, 2012 at 9:18 am

Honda should have just sold it at RM85k or less . for this price I would still pay more for the insight . i think Honda got the strategy wrong !Pricing is too close for comfort!

• Calvin Foo on Mar 16, 2012 at 10:24 am

Honda Malaysia is killing itself by selling something competiting itself. Price too close to Insight, and too small for the price.

• Bob_B78 on Mar 16, 2012 at 10:19 am

Frankly speaking……
    Hybrids are not cheaper than normal petrol car.
    Simple calculation will tell u that the amount of petrol money saved will be used to replace the batteries after the battery warranty ends.
    Yes, you still can drive with batteries kaput but with loss of performance & increased FC
    Furthermore, u cant sell a battery kaput hybrid car without a massive loss

• Linda L on Mar 16, 2012 at 10:22 am

Such a let down on the pricing. Bad strategy by Honda as all it’s worth only around RM85K.

If it is the higher range (moon roof and leather seats), RM94800 can be considered ‘reasonable’.

I was just this near ‘____’ of buying this car.
    Called the poor salesman to claim back my booking fees!

• better buy Proton Legend than Jazz Hybrid……. :-)

• No Spare Tyres on Mar 16, 2012 at 10:57 am

No Spare Tyres??? Are you serious Honda???

• samsam on Mar 16, 2012 at 11:37 am

im wondering whats the tyre repair kit..

• rosli on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:40 pm

Mane boleh tak de tayar spare…PANCIT tepi highway susah weh…

• got tyre repair kit la dungu

• beruk33 on Mar 27, 2012 at 11:12 pm

it really amazes me the so hard sell response. i wonder if the tyre repair kit can repair all sorts of puncture…come everybody let’s learn to repair puncture tyre. hehe.

• Supa Hiro on Mar 16, 2012 at 12:13 pm

This is my expert take on rating of recent cars:

P1 P3-21A: The best car value money can buy.
    Jappos: Only slaves to T&H will buy. Rest in peace!
    Krappos: This is just a gimmick. Looks good in the outside, inside like jamban.
    P2: Piece of shit on wheels.

For those who pretend to be environmental friendly and buy a hybrid, I suggest you to relocate your home to Gebeng and drive your hybrid there!!!

• rosli on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:32 pm

Jazz- nice dashboard
    But 1.3cc for rm 94800

Prius – got ev mode.. .when battery full charge can drive it without engine start
    1.5cc for rm97k

Ini mcm bikin pening kepala mau pilih….

• rosli on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:38 pm

Jazz- nice dashboard
    But 1.3cc for rm 94800
    Prius – got ev mode.. .when battery full charge can drive it without engine start
    1.5cc for rm97k
    Ini mcm bikin pening kepala mau pilih….

• Packers on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:11 pm

Paul,

Please do a comparison Jazz Hybrid vs Prius c.

• lauyiachia on Mar 16, 2012 at 4:11 pm

Honda just killed many would-be buyers who were anxiously considering between Prius C and Jazz Hybrid…..

• civicEK on Mar 16, 2012 at 5:08 pm

the money u save from d petrol will be use later to buy new battery, LOL! :D

• Stanley on Mar 16, 2012 at 9:30 pm

Petrol increase from time to time bro…

• Stanley on Mar 16, 2012 at 9:40 pm

Price of petrol increase from time to time bro… Lets say 1 month u save rm250 for petrol, a year you save rm3k. Lets say 6 yrs only you change battery, you save rm18k for petrol. Lets say la battery rm10k ( by tat time im sure less than tat). You still save rm8k! You even save more if the petrol price increase every year. On top of tat, hybrid car is quiet.

• Frank S on Mar 21, 2012 at 10:34 pm

IMA battery fails much earlier…much earlier…this is not Prius.

• rosli on Mar 17, 2012 at 8:38 am

Jazz – signal left side, wiper right side..aku kekok mcmnie.
    Also tak de spare tyre…KALU TYRE WALL KOYAK MACAM MANE.

• Guys five door cars are not cheap to bring in la,even with tax exemption.Compared to smaller prius c,i dun think the jazz is that overpriced.just go have a look

• jackko on Mar 17, 2012 at 1:49 pm

Looks like majority people also complaining about the Jazz Hybrid price. I have the same feeling too. But since I test drive the car, I’ve change my mind. First of all, the steering is so light, handling fantastic. Suspension & sound proof much more improved if compared to City & Civic. Pick-up are responsive due to electric motor support, & the most important point is…..I feel so spacious inside the car, that’s why I can have a comfort driving experience. Normally always people hate to drive everyday, me too. If you test drive Honda Jazz Hybrid, you will know what is “The Joy of Diving”

• NAR2645 on Mar 17, 2012 at 6:41 pm

Just saw the Jazz hybrid at Sri Sutera JB just now. Car looks impressive, the salesman told me it has got 8 airbags, and also got paddle shift, which is not found in Insight. When I told him the readers of Paulan.org generally feel the car is overpriced, he does not seem to agree. But just realized that there is no spare tyre, as the space is occupied by the battery. Really need to think twice before deciding to buy….

• NAR2645 on Mar 18, 2012 at 7:23 am

The Honda website on Jazz Hybrid is full of mis-information. Examples are, wrong pricing of 109,813.50 this must be the original intended price.

Then if you go to overview page, it mentioned Jazz Hybrid as 1.5 litre,hatchback, but actual fact it is 1.3 litre, same as Insight.

Finally, if you compare Jazz Hyrid with other vehicles, you will notice the displacement of 1497, which is supposed for the non-hybrid Jazz.

What has happen to the PDCA cycle for Honda Malaysia?

• NAR2645 on Mar 18, 2012 at 6:25 pm

All mistakes have been corrected by Honda. Someone must have informed them after reading the comments. Honda could have done better if they have proper proof reading before publishing.

• Lightning69 on Mar 18, 2012 at 10:26 am

Salemans sure say its not expensive. Ask him to buy one lah.

• NAR2645 on Mar 18, 2012 at 5:38 pm

The salesman is actually driving CRZ, which he parked at the adjacent block. The waiting period is 2-3 months if order now.

• lauyiachia on Mar 18, 2012 at 2:36 pm

Ford Fiesta may look attractive after all…

• Ougees on Mar 18, 2012 at 8:57 pm

If only Honda can put in DVD,Navigation unit and Moon + Sun roof then people will stop complaining on the price. i hope Honda will listen and they will make more money from overwhelm booking.

• Stanley on Mar 18, 2012 at 9:19 pm

Just test drive the car and it’s really impressive no matter external or interior. In terms of handling, very light. Test drive prius c, of course more powerful but interior out of expectation, easily get dirty and scretch marks due to the light colour

• sequid on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:53 am

just get the test drive this afternoon….,
    I think its realy nice for my wife but not for me…
    And trust me this car is not match for a guy like us…
    For the nice little car and 1.3 hybrid machine…
    Just proceed the loan for my loving wife…he,he

• NAR2645 on Mar 21, 2012 at 6:48 pm

Strongly agree that Jazz is more suitable for the weaker sex. For man, Insight seems to be the better choice, if you are aiming a hybrid car.

• Test drove both Jazz and Prius “C”rap and decided to go for the Jazz. It’s just a nice city car to drive and interior quality is so much better compared to the prius C. Anyway, can’t wait till I get it.

• Frank S on Mar 21, 2012 at 12:50 pm

This car is a piece of junk….refrain from booking one…especially if you know Honda is going to wash their hands when the IMA battery fails…remember everyone, this Honda uses the same crappy hybrid engine as the HCH and Insight, which everyone knows is not durable….be very careful…

• JacobKing on Apr 06, 2012 at 10:16 pm

Frank S, you are a piece of crap by making stupid comment. Does your Proton dealer care about your damage gear box if it fails after warranty period ? Why bother about the battery if you do not know much about durability of hybrid system.
      I am not supporting Honda as I bought my wife a Prius. I think both are good car. I pity you so much Frank, dont just know how to talk cock.

• Frank S on Apr 09, 2012 at 4:42 pm

Jacob,

By the sound of things you are a peasant that just scored some money…if your Prius battery fails on your wife, I would like to see you keeping your mouth shut.

Two things:
        1) Is the hybrid battery an integral part of the car or not?
        2) What constitutes the warranty if the battery is classed as a wear and tear product?

I would say that with both questions, it is the advertisement. Proton does not say that their gearbox last longer than the standard warranty. But I guess with your little narrow mind, it will be too hard for you to comprehend what I am saying.

Good luck with your resale value :)

• A test drive confirm everything. Tested both prius c and Jazz hybrid. I dont care what type of hybrid u guys said but being in Jazz is so much better compared to prius c. I cant look at the cheap interior of prius c everyday and the engine in prius c is louder especially when slowing the car down.

Dont just read the spec. I’ve tested them both for me Jazz is better..

• ChutneyJL on Apr 13, 2012 at 10:45 am

Just booked my Honda Jazz in Taffeta white, expected to have it in mid May…. I don’t really care bout the performance, lol….From a lady’s point of view, the breaking point of me choosing Jazz over Prius C is of course the sleek and stylish design ….Prius C ‘s dashboard is just way too squarish and dull..I guess the sound system for Honda ‘s car is so much better….

Just my thought, no bias : )

• i own a vios and intended to change to hybrid car. i test drive prius c and jazz hybrid. frankly speaking, jazz hybrid is much more better in terms of interior design and joy of driving. prius c engine gets noisy when the battery is charging compare to jazz which is more smoother and quite.

• Hmm… Looks nice. Should I get one?! :)

• new hybrid owner on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:24 am

I just got my new jazz hybrid this month.
    I have 3 comments:

1) The rear for lamp only lights up on the right side. Honda claims it is designed that way.

2) The actual spoiler looks nothing like their brochure or website from Honda Malaysia. I feel cheated.

3) Metallic paint quality is quite bad. Easy scratched and paint peels off if hit by small pebbles while driving (my old kembara paint got better quality).

• Dirtrun on Jul 21, 2012 at 1:33 pm

Hi,

My wife got de jazz hybrid for almost 2 mths now..
    Even thou’ I am a weekend driver and coming from a myvi, this car has the best of both worlds.. I mean, if you get a real scorcher of a car , there is no denying its fuel consumption and we normally happily pay for it cause of the enjoyment we get using all that ‘power’ but in this instance, you can have ‘power’ when you want it and great fuel consumption too , all with a press of a button.. Of course this is not an all out track car but for what its tiny 1.3 motor[+ IMA] can do is remarkable indeed .. at least in an urban context..
    I think if you were to use for highway drives most of the time, its best to look elsewhere..
    Fuel consumption is ard 14-15 km/ltr for 98% urban choked Penang roads and that includes hilly stretches..

• Chris on Sep 10, 2012 at 3:16 pm

Typical Malaysians… Complain complain complain

I am an owner of Jazz Hybrid since July

I bought Jazz cos its a functional car with roomy cabin and ultra sit.

Like the looks.

Not overly concerned with fuel consumption
    I also hope cars could be cheaper but considering all the circumstances we face here, I can own a full spec honda hybrid under 100k

Only thing i did was to upgrade the ICE and add reverse camera.

Its cheap to maintainn too

• New Jazz Owner on Jan 18, 2013 at 10:54 pm

Hi all….does anyone of you out there knows that for the month of December 2012, Honda M’sia gave RM5,190 (insurance +road tax) + 1,000 discount? So Jazz CBU model actually cost RM88K!

• proud jazz owner.. on Jan 20, 2013 at 12:03 pm

i am a new owner of cbu version jazz hybrid,one of the last few units in malaysia..otr price around 94.8k..i got rm6.5k discount..total is rm88.3k only for a new,cbu full specs honda jazz hybrid..n since i use my old insurance,i pay 1k less..so rm87.3k only..;)

• Finding jazz CBU on May 07, 2013 at 9:07 pm

Hi,does any of you guys know where can I find CBU jazz white colour??pls do let me know..thanks

• Paul Tan on May 07, 2013 at 10:44 pm

http://www.oto.my/car-for-sale/54900/used-2006-honda-jazz-1.5-a-selangor