Interview with Shingo Nagamine, Large Project Leader of the Honda Jazz Hybrid

Chronologically, this interview happened yesterday, but Honda had kindly asked us to keep mum about it until the launch of the Jazz Hybrid took place.

So here is it, the brain-picking session with Shingo Nagamine, the Large Project Leader of the Honda Jazz Hybrid. We asked him about the Jazz Hybrid, how it compares to the current petrol model and how does the battery fare in our climate. Enjoy.

With the battery, how much heavier is the Jazz Hybrid compared to the standard Jazz?

It is about 70 kg heavier.

Won’t that jeopardise the efficiency of the Jazz Hybrid? More weight usually requires more effort to run, does it not?

The Jazz Hybrid features better aerodynamics as well as low resistance tyres and low drag brake calipers to negate the weight increase. The low drag calipers are only fitted to the rear.

Can you elaborate further on the aerodynamic improvements to the Hybrid? I see that the grille and the front bumper are different.

The bumper is made sharper, especially on the sides, and we have closed most of the holes and smoothed them over, so that more air flows around the car rather than into the car. The grille, which is larger, also directs more air over the bonnet. In short, the only holes that we have left open are the necessary ones. The resulting improvement in aerodynamics is 3%.

What about fuel efficiency? From the slide, you’ve quoted a consumption of 21.3 km/l. In what cycle was the fuel consumption tested?

The Jazz Hybrid has 25% to 30% better fuel efficiency compared to the petrol-engine version. As for the fuel consumption, it was tested using the Euro ECE 101 cycle.

What about the chassis? Has anything been changed to accomodate the additional weight of the IMA and the battery?

Yes. We have made the rear axle beam stronger and stiffer. Plus, we have increased the damping and spring rate for the front and rear suspension. Handling performance is not compromised though.

Traditionally, the spare tyre is placed underneath the floorboard of the boot area, which is now totally being occupied by the battery.

The Jazz Hybrid does not come with a spare tyre. Instead, it comes with an emergency puncture kit as a substitute. You can find it on the right side of the boot.

These days, floods are frequently plaguing Malaysia. Is there any worry that floodwater will damage the battery?

Since the battery is placed within the car, it is protected from the water; hence it will not cause any problem. However, if water level reaches higher than the chassis, then there is a possibility that the water might seep into the battery and damage it. In any case, should the water get in, the battery will automatically shut down to prevent any electrical shocks.

What about heat and humidity? Will it affect the battery adversely?

There is a vent that takes in air from the car. It will be drawn in by a fan placed in the vent, closer to the battery. As for humidity, we have tested the Jazz Hybrid extensively in Thailand, which has about the same climate in Malaysia, and found no problems.

The recent launch of a hybrid car from a close competitor has made hybrids even more accessible to the public. How is the Jazz Hybrid different?

The Jazz is already known for its easy handling, large luggage space and smart storage solutions in a compact body. The hybrid engine adds more fuel efficiency features that will further enhance the daily usability of the Jazz, which means added value for our customers.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• yh Inc. on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:39 pm

It’s IMA! I don’t think it’s a real hybrid car, it just assist! Fuel Consumtion still high compare with Toyota hybrid. It only runs ECON mode instead of Toyota’s full battery mode with “0” RPM!

• driver on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:53 am

Exactly! And it’s waayyy overpriced!
      Now, Honda’s too much!

• Its still hybrid..there are 2 system work together to make sure the car running in efficient ways. Than how do you classified EMAS..hybrid? Electric?..the engine does not help in running the car at all but electric motor..the engine use to charging battery

• in battery mode there will be rpm since there is motor….proton oso can get 0 rpm when not start the engine

• dude IMA oso can run on all electric mode la,at low speed cruising the petrol engine will cut off.and ur toyota all electric mode is oni 2.5km,at speeds below 40-45kmph.pergi pasar pun tak boleh.if dunno dun simple condemn

• netcat on Mar 16, 2012 at 12:01 am

What happen to the <90k price? This car is way over priced… better get a Prius c.. aiyo.. no spare tyre..

• Jolly_idiot on Mar 16, 2012 at 12:45 am

Sindiri hantam sindiri.

If customer got 100k with me. Which sud i choose? Insight @98k? Or jazz @94.8k?

Wait! There’s prius c @97k!

• driver on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:57 am

Further questions should be like:
      “Jazz’s hybrid concept is using electric motor to assist, while Prius’s concept enables the car to run solely on battery. So why it is so expansive as compared to Prius? “

• Ei Wei on Mar 16, 2012 at 7:37 am

Take a Persona, then you have RM50.000 left for petrol (27.777 liter)

• with this price i better get insight back loh!!!

• Fukuoka on Mar 16, 2012 at 8:13 am

Here in Japan, Honda brand is merely no. 3 behind Toyota and Nissan. The sales of Honda models is well beaten by Toyota in all segment, with only one exception; Honda Fit (aka Jazz). With the recent introduction of hybrid model of Fit/Jazz, Honda is vying to conquer the compact hybrid market and Toyota responded through Aqua (aka Prius C).

Since the price difference of both models in Japan is about 6%, then the Jazz hybrid should be priced somewhere at RM91k, using the same proportion. But Honda is certainly not no. 3 in Malaysia, therefore 95k should not be a surprise. Honda takes the advantage, we have to pay for the brand.

• vtec200k on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:03 pm

agree, honda like to put it at premium-price style, from city, civic, accord even freed, people always felt overprice.

jazz interior is so much superior to prius c, just that it loss out at fuel consumption . . . for 97k and 95k, it makes the consumer having a very difficult choice, if you said you want jazz hybrid, people say you should buy prius c, but when you buy prius c, then they say why dont you add on 3k to insight? worth much better . . .

if it priced near to city’s range, it will affect city’s sales . . . end up 95k, damn smart . . .
      by the way, honda ”won” the slogan cheapest hybrid, yet again . . .

• samlyn on Mar 16, 2012 at 8:40 am

If price, as resume….RM 87k.

I won’t request my deposit back :)

• alldisc on Mar 16, 2012 at 8:45 am

look at the chief engineer’s face… i see there is frustration for not being able to land a job with toyota…..

• perodua on Mar 16, 2012 at 9:11 am

Now honda so called hybrid maybe closer to the toyota hybrid synergy but after this I see no match because Toyota next generation (Plug in or Prius V) is a breakthrough with the model could travel 25 km (15.5 miles) on electricity alone. This helps to enable the car to average 2.1 l/100 km (134.5 mpg UK) with CO2 emissions of 49 g/km. Hybrid technology gap between honda & toyota is getting larger

• Insight kaki on Mar 16, 2012 at 1:11 pm

Well sorry to burst your bubble but there are already plug in jazz ev prototypes running around…range 200+km on a full charge in 3 hours.

• perodua on Mar 16, 2012 at 1:46 pm

Prius plug in fully charge in 90 minutes….I’m sorry to disappoint you. 200km+ range? Where else can you go? Keep trying to give more advantage point from Honda. 200km+ prototype only, by the time they make it to public, toyota sure got more advance technology. I’m not impressed la…..

• seriously? on Mar 16, 2012 at 9:12 am

seriously? jazz? that model is outdated already. give a new model with hybrid la.

• for 90k, i wish to get a real sports car .
    90k spent to get an economical car is simply non economical with high installment.
    no automotive excitement.

but no issue for higher income. money no object.

• As tested by autocar, the polo bluemotion is more frugal & powerful compared to jazz hybrid

• samsam on Mar 16, 2012 at 12:01 pm

just wait for another 5 days -> http://www.nissan.com.my/

• kamaji on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:19 pm

What hybrid what fuel saving, I’ll call this rob the Indian then feed the American….that is save some fuel then pay the bank more.

• Lightning69 on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:27 pm

Nissan hybrid coming?

• omanjedi on Mar 16, 2012 at 6:11 pm

He looks like Sharir Samad……I’m not convinced