Proton Makeover: the Satria GTI goes back to Hafiz

The rework on the fourth Proton VIP Makeover vehicle has been completed, and Hafiz Mohd Hashim’s Satria GTI was handed back to him at the Power of 1 event at Bukit Jalil yesterday.

The 2001 model year hatch has been repainted in a Lotus Racing Green shade, and besides the usual reupholstering of the interior, the R3 boys have added in some extra bits.

On the engine front, the engine now features retuned cam timing, and the R3 lads have ported the cylinder head. The ECU has also been remapped, and other mechanicals include the addition of a new carbon-fibre air intake box, a new exhaust system and a coilover suspension system from Hot Bits, built to R3’s Stage 3 specification.

The car also gets new slotted and grooved brake rotors right through, replete with performance brake pads, with Momo steering wheel and R3 wheels wrapped with Bridgestone RE002 rubbers completing the job sheet.

Hafiz officially received his car back from Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin at the event. We caught up with him later in the evening, and he was pretty chuffed by the rework, to say the least.

His Satria GTI now joins a 1992 Saga, a 1994 Wira and a 1996 Iswara Aeroback as the makeover specials.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kuriang on Mar 15, 2012 at 4:16 pm

bumper lip, mmmmm…

• drooooooll…. mr hafiz is one lucky man

• Crasher on Mar 15, 2012 at 4:37 pm

Stay to the original design with some extra modifications, like it!

• j.clarkson on Mar 15, 2012 at 4:40 pm

AWESOME…!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• DeaconFrost on Mar 15, 2012 at 4:40 pm

R3 team must have their project timeline slashed for this particular car: look at the bumper gaps.

• Gavin on Mar 15, 2012 at 4:44 pm

Most awesome one out of all, good luck keeping it from getting pinched

• ZenZarray on Mar 15, 2012 at 4:48 pm

actually…anyone noticed why the car have a radio communication in the car?? Just wondering. . .
    http://paultan.org/2012/03/15/my-proton-makeover-the-satria-gti-goes-back-to-hafiz/p1340621/

• @8250rpm on Mar 15, 2012 at 5:06 pm

That for amateur radio use or pirate use (non license holder) in different frequency. He’s GTi club member so it may also b for club outing/drive use while convoying…
      That’s an icom unit btw….

• WUA770 on Mar 15, 2012 at 4:50 pm

bertuahnya badan. good job proton.

• noname on Mar 15, 2012 at 4:50 pm

nicely done..!

• I must day.. Hes lucky.. I hope he’ll be extra carefull in the future.. With all those mod and momo steering, surely will bring many unwanted attention.

• Ninja on Mar 15, 2012 at 4:54 pm

To all Proton bashers,
    The new dawn of precision engineered car is here now in the form of P3-21A. Those Japs and Korean owner choontois are left in the twilight. I hope I’m not insulting you Japs and Korean car owners by saying, you guys are still in a state of denial. Drive to Believe It!

We should appreciate P1 for their dedication over the year, the result is here now. If not, keep your mouth shut and pergi jauh-jauh kat Gebeng and drive your Jappos and Krappos. Not forgetting you P2 owners too – how could still drive a piece of shit on wheels?

Saludos!!! Asta ta la Vista!!!

• rescuer on Mar 15, 2012 at 5:08 pm

You will not say the same thing if you are in my seat, watching too many deaths involving Proton cars in road traffic accidents all this years.

• caprico on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:55 pm

Death will come to you too no matter what car you are driving; 5 Star or no star… Don’t worry.

• Eyesore on Mar 16, 2012 at 11:43 am

So? I’ve a lot of deaths on the road this year involving very expensive imported car with suppopsedly 5 star rating… seen hoda civic fatal accident, BMW, Mercedes etc…. what your eye got filter aaa? can only see proton car’s accident?

• Eyesore on Mar 16, 2012 at 11:44 am

So? I’ve seen a lot of deaths on the road this year involving very expensive imported car with suppopsedly 5 star rating… seen hoda civic fatal accident, BMW, Mercedes etc…. what your eye got filter aaa? can only see proton car’s accident?

• of course there’s a lot death happen in Proton cars in Malaysia, it’s the same reason why there’s a lot Malay died in car accident in Malaysia. Majority of car here in Malaysia is Proton. And majority of people here in Malaysia is Malay. If BMW is the majority car here in Malaysia, the same thing will happen mah. Common sense la bro.

• You are performing a behavior that’s well known as “U tak suka u keluar.”

And seriously, that kind of behavior doesn’t help on what you so call “Drive to Believe It!”

• littlefire on Mar 15, 2012 at 5:28 pm

Hahaha.. Dont even have direct injection engine or road selling hybrid / electric car already so happy de… :P

• torque on Mar 15, 2012 at 6:39 pm

A choontois will always be a choontois! Sorry but since you have the balls to throw the first stone, at least let me return the favor. Proton as I have ALWAYS point out has a long way to go…now if you r blind to see that, can’t say anything. I work in car line…when you r in the automotive industry, 1st rule…don’t mix any politics especially if u r the manufacturer. Business…yeah maybe but when u actually producing cars…NO! Passion n determination is the key…that’s why you r making a fool out of yourself thinking that Proton is (CURRENTLY?) on par with the Japs n Koreans!

Proton has to work VERY VERY hard to get there n I wish them the best of luck…a long way but later is better than never. A good car maker should n could sell their product by its reputation, not begging the Bank Negara to give it some leniency in order to sell its cars Ninja!!

• littlefire on Mar 16, 2012 at 8:34 am

Yup, agree on your point. Proton should not have stop here and happy with it! People already have lots of technology in their garange, while we r only happy about this CFE engine…

There is a long way to go, even the basic turbo diesel engine also dont have which is the main selling engine in Europe nowadays!

If Proton already so advance, ask Miti to open up the market and fight fairly laa! Be a man P1 & P2 and not always hide behind G support?!?

• Ninja says: …

Sorry still cant beat Korean and Japanese…Korean served worldwide and everyday is improving.Japan is the best selling car and making high performance and good quality car ! Potong can only compared with Perodua that’s all.

• SamuelSchick on Mar 15, 2012 at 5:01 pm

skunk2 intake manifold. Fake or Ori?

• too bad the owner didnt request from R3 team some airbags.

• theanswer on Mar 15, 2012 at 5:10 pm

superb! got engine upgrade too. damm~

• tERBAEK!!

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Mar 15, 2012 at 5:32 pm

At Last Proton done a good make over with upgrade.

• Izrin on Mar 15, 2012 at 6:04 pm

VERY nicely done….i like it alot…

but its unfortunate to see that a company like proton and especially the R3 department using fake stuff which in this case is the Skunk2 Intake Manifold.

individuals i understand..but a big corporation…no.

• how to differentiate between ori and fake skunk2 intake manifold? can u teach me?

• Izrin on Mar 16, 2012 at 1:05 am

u can view it here
        http://cms.skunk2.com/id/467/Pro-Series-Intake-Manifold-Clone-Alert/

point #2 is the easiest tell tale.. and from the quality of the black paint oso can pretty much tell its fake.

anyway…Grexer is right…n im wrong.. the intake manifold is fake… but proton n R3 werent the ones that put it in. it was in the car during the handover.

• Sean Lim on Mar 15, 2012 at 6:24 pm

ILLEGAL NUMBER PLATE AGAIN!!!
    PROTON BOLEH!!!

• what the big fuss sampai u need to caps lock your comment? it is not like his engine or anything is illegal. it just the number plate for god sake, can change it at ahbeng shop etc.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Mar 16, 2012 at 11:49 am

biarlah dia pakai illegal plate, aiyo u damn jujur for what sia? dont tell me you have never broke the speed limit in highway?

• noname on Mar 16, 2012 at 1:47 pm

so what? cannot change later kah? proton give FREE already full makeover

• GRexer on Mar 15, 2012 at 6:30 pm

The Skunk2 Intake might had already been there when the car was sent in. Without any before and after detailed photos, it’s hard to judge. Nice battery relocation kit in the trunk though. Looks really professional.

• Izrin on Mar 16, 2012 at 1:06 am

ur right…based on this picture: http://paultan.org/2012/02/28/proton-vip-makeover-work-in-progress-pics-of-hafizs-gti/satria-mpm-3-860×548/

and also the handover video…the S2 IM was in the car already.

my bad for acusing proton. & R3

• hadzwan on Mar 15, 2012 at 7:31 pm

tremendous!

• originals on Mar 15, 2012 at 7:35 pm

durian runtuh!!!

• inderaloka on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:10 pm

Hafiz is really a lucky man while Proton (specifically R3 team) has really done a very good good job! Love it!

• shawal on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:36 pm

Proton! plz makeover my savvy! or take it back and pay the rest of my loan!

• DArkerMarker on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:51 pm

rear diffuser….failed!

• Well, Hafiz Mohd Hashim may have gotten his ride back, but here’s the second in the series of exclusive videos Proton decided to come up with for the particular makeover – strange that the video series hasn’t completed its run, given that the rework is complete!

The reason ? Well this Proton is infested with useless, lazy goons (the majority) that’s why always half past six jobs. Car remake complete but the videos on the remake is half way ….typical Malaysia Inc or the GLCs which are again infested with useless, lazy goons (the majority) who are there because of some privilege or connection not by merit or smartest. Feel sorry for this country ….

• caprico on Mar 16, 2012 at 12:04 am

That’s because their goons are overloaded with work.. They need people like you. Will you join them? Where are you from? Sing? or Indo?

• the-imp on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:29 pm

will they do the Tiara?

• Super White on Mar 16, 2012 at 11:41 am

Proton will throw hands in the air and then give Savvy to the owner.

Owner will be happy to get rid of that shit. Proton will be happy there’s 1 less shit on the road to remind them of the shit that happened.

• ae101 on Mar 16, 2012 at 12:36 am

It would be nicer if they put the similar red color like Neo R3.

• awg1031 on Mar 16, 2012 at 8:24 am

i’m jelly……demm~

• Now after Malay, Indian customers when the other folks turn?

Maybe next Protongkat better select car owners from Orang Asli, Mindanao, Suluk, Peranakan Nyonya…be fair lah…

• hardcore basher la u…that also u want to make an issue issit?

• albag on Mar 16, 2012 at 9:07 am

once again… the number plate is legal??? JPJ wont mind???

• Nissan on Mar 16, 2012 at 10:59 am

where is the yellow stripes?

• william chang on Mar 16, 2012 at 11:00 am

Nicely Done……GREATTT JOB

• Nissan on Mar 16, 2012 at 12:15 pm

OMG. They put their baby in the car while they open the door for other people to “admire” the interior? Won’t they be more caring & considerate? Won’t they afraid their baby being sunburned & suffocated? or they want to give her/him suntanned?

• albag on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:32 pm

for your information, actually it’s the baby’s request to stay in the car and absorb the aura and smell of the car interior.

• Great makeover!

I do’t get one thing though.

R3 painted the Green from Lotus Racing. As far as I know, there is no more Lotus Racing and that Green colour scheme belongs to Tony’s Caterham F1. Proton is involved in Renault Lotus which is Black and Gold.

Can someone help me on this, I’m blur. Thanks.

• Bayang Putih on Mar 17, 2012 at 12:44 am

fuiyooo….. stage 3 beb! stage 3……. stage 3 tu apeke bendenye? ape yg R3 tune? nampak mcm R3 tune kete tu punye suspension geometry, siap pasang camber plate kat depan lg tu. boleh bawa race dah kete nie.

ps: jgn dibuatnye si tuan empunye kete gatai tgn ubah setting camber plate tu sudah! FWD x bole tukar segala geometry angle byk sgt, yg dh R3 buat elok2 sedap terus jd x sedap. dah lah camber plate tu berat kat KPA, kalau RWD NAK BAWA DRIFT xpelah ubah KPA byk2 sikit.

• c99LE on Mar 17, 2012 at 10:58 am

saya ada proton wira 1.8DOHC Limited Edition tahun 1996. kira abg kepada putra dan GTi…biler la plak proton nak amik keta saya dan buat mcm nie…kira rare item jugak nie…heheh…

• zainal abidin on Mar 17, 2012 at 2:00 pm

Personally I’m VERY IMPRESSED WITH R3’s work. Stripped to the bare chassis…PHEEEWWWW !!! Just like ‘come out from the production line’. I wonder if they do other makes besides Proton? I own a FORD LASER 1.6 TX3 1987 still in good running condition with original engine and gearbox. I just wonder how much it’ll cost for a makeover for this car ?

• Julian on Mar 23, 2012 at 4:05 pm

I would loved to get my SGTI a free makeover too….

• asyraf on May 10, 2012 at 11:11 pm

kereta idaman aku sebenarnya nissan gtr, tp d sebabkan msih blum brkemampuan aku ingt nk pkai putra mlangnya kereta tu takada org yg nk jual, akhirnya aku buat kputusan utk pkai satria gti ni. law ad sesiapa yg nk jual bole lah bg tau aku k,

• nur nazam shah on Oct 30, 2012 at 4:48 pm

my fav car

• ismail on Jan 08, 2013 at 12:06 pm

boleh x sy nak dapatkan kod untuk warna cat kereta ini…

• ahmad on Nov 21, 2013 at 9:38 am

BRO DA dapat ke kod colour satria gti…leh kongsi x..sy tgah cr gak

• Where can get the intake box?anyone sell?