Proton Invention and Innovation cars at Power of 1 event

Remember the funny cars created by Proton employees we showed you back in 2010? I remember it clearly, not just because it was one of my first few assignments for this website, but also because of the wacky cars – some were very impressive considering the (lack of) time and resources, but some were just plain crazy in a facepalm way.

So when we spotted some weird cars among the more relevant and expected displays at the Proton Power of 1 event, we had to check them out. These are the third-generation of “Invention and Innovation” vehicles created for an in-house inter-department contest where staff come up with “concept cars”.

They look much better than the previous generation of cars, there are less “out of the world” types around, and the execution is also quite impressive on some units.

Perhaps they’re also no longer limited to the Proton parts bin – our Fiesta-owning Anthony Lim spotted his car’s headlights on an entry!

Forget the Subaru-nosed Saga and check out the orange “Saga Coupe” in the gallery – would a cheap, great driving coupe for the masses work in Malaysia? There’s also a Ferrari red hatchback that doesn’t look a world away from actual production cars.

I’m also quite amused by the “yellow shark,” and that big orange “coupe crossover” could, with better execution, be a concept car.

Enjoy browsing! Dear armchair judge, please also “vote” for your favourite “concept car” in the comments section below :)

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• lol so colourful

• Obama on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:48 am

Sorry to say that all of these are pathetic. Even any design undergrad can do better than these.

• Osama on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:19 pm

Apa bodoh kau ni Obama!? Tak baca ke kat atas tu, aku tolong qoute bagi kau bace, ‘These are the third-generation of “Invention and Innovation” vehicles created for an in-house inter-department contest where staff come up with “concept cars”.’

• Loneranger on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:22 pm

dia tak reti baca kot…tau bash jerk….

anyway kalau ada nama PROTON sumer jadi buruk…cuba la kalau keter tu brand lain…sah2 org puji mcm nak rak ….typical Msian thinking….

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:46 pm

Kalo Kereta cam ni, Ferrari, RR, Bentley pun gui kutuk, benda le ni ?

• iqtidar on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:57 pm

the job they did was impressive, but u can deny the fact those things look fugly. well except for this.
        http://paultan.org/2012/03/15/proton-invention-and-innovation-cars-at-power-of-1-event/p1340578/

• yeah,agree with you.the design is acceptable and look ‘civilised’,unlike other cars.

• lan87 on Mar 15, 2012 at 6:12 pm

true2… this looks good for a hatch… the rear and front looks nice… better than the savvy… thumbs up to the designer who made this…

• tiadaid on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:29 pm

They should make this the SRM – Savvy Replacement Model. Probably the cheapest to develop Proton car ever.

• Invented by proton staff? No wonder Proton at this sorry state for so long.

• aku sokong ko osama.. walaupun aku anti giler dengan proton (disebabkan pengalaman2 lepas), tapi aku memang respect giler dengan staf2 proton yang buat bende2 ni… dia ingat semua orang senang2 bleh design kete kot…

• lets see how you would do it bro.. gather all ur resources, and do it in a constrained timeframe.. lets see how the result would be. upload ur pics, and let us all at paultan comment on it… i dare u bro…

• they did this in a VERY SHORT time + using existing/aftermarket parts + limited resources. no wonder lol.

• show us an example pls…
      the real design by undergrad student..not the clay model ya!

• Abuya on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:02 pm

Sorry to say that u always pathetic when give a comment for P1 no matter how much P1 do

• Haji Ismail Ibrahim on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:55 am

Thus far, Proton already had i) hatch back ii) saloon iii) MPV iv)vans etc
    what is now needed by the massess i) SUV and ii) stationwagen

• thebosssedangbercakap on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:02 pm

lol…even those workshops in sunway could done a better job.

• I see an Impreza there.. oh wait.

• MY-Guy on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:21 pm

Proton proton.. Even with concept cars your interior disappoints.. get a bit creative for god sakes !!

• the orange one not bad..the shape look like the megane rs..maybe if the tone of the colour is change, it can look stunning..

• mystvearn on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:47 pm

Agree. I wouldn’t mind actually that orange satria coupe makeover.

• shahzad on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:25 pm

Wow, most of them are shocking….we really to find some decent designers or is it due to technological limits at proton…

• Bro all of this car create by operator and technician at proton. not design by designer. this is for competition.

• wilson on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:31 pm

Doesn’t matter how all these dressing made the car look. It’s the quality that is the real put off.

Even imagining getting one of these, what quality issues we need to bear with? Power window, engine problem, suspension problem etc…

until that image changes, Proton is still a – on hold for me.

• eims @ gold on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:38 pm

vote for orang coupe crossover :)

• japfans on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:40 pm

Wow…. really “poke eye”, they should label it “Power 1 Poke Eye Auto Show”
    Super ugly designs and dare to display. Don’t know what is Malu….

• OMG….macam kereta cartoon…

• artworks on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:44 pm

crz???

• Sparta on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:49 pm

Proton created many rubbishes non are practical and marketable. That explained why they are in bad shape now.

• turbo.vtec on Mar 15, 2012 at 3:46 pm

“rubbishes”? wow nice grammar man. i’m amazed..not. i wonder..if you’re are talking about Proton’s road going cars..well..they’re are there on the road carrying people and stuffs.. so..tell me again which part of it is not practical and marketable? i really hope that you’re not actually talking about above CONCEPT cars.. which of course if you’re able to read properly..which i pretty much doubt..build for in-house competition and not production cars. U seem good at explaining things. Oh and last time I checked..sports/super/hyper cars are not practical and marketable too.. and bad shape? how bad is that bad? do explain that please. lol.

• last picture, yang colour orange tu cantik!

• Whynot on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:52 pm

This is one of many that P1 should learn and listen to the guys that designed them with full heart and loves. Malaysian naturally loves good looking cars and are eager to see that one day P1 would make their dream come true. We had Lotus engineering but not really put full use of it in especially the outlook design. Just look that the Koreans. They are advancing in the outlook design and is battling with the old boys from Japan. Avante or Elantra has its name nailed in North America best car of the year for no simple reason. But most says that the exterior outlooks feature is simply too beautiful to be named best in its category. Believe me P1 must change for the best to sell good to the people that supported them and still now! We don’t pay double taxes for nothing. This is not really good for the government to burden the people anymore!

• WTF is tat?

• Abuya on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:09 pm

That is a car

• child.of.eden on Mar 15, 2012 at 4:03 pm

I suppose the real question is WTF are those? not “tat”. but for a retard I must congratulate U for at least spelling WTF right. now let me put it so even a retard like U can understand. those are CONCEPT cars created by Proton employees for a in-house inter-department competition. I’m impressed U have the ability to read but lack the ability to understand. Next time ask more intelligently or I’ll have to come back and educate U more.

• bmpower on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:11 pm

It’s good practice for their staff btw.

• policeman on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:14 pm

I saw “AL” on the orange car number plate and I lost interest.

• That is the team name that design the car. each team were provided with Std Saga and some cash to work with after office hour.

• VoidDance on Mar 15, 2012 at 4:50 pm

Really great idea. Hopefully one day Proton people can come out with design contest a’la Toyota’s own employees design contest which able to came out with groundbreaking designs and technologies.

• They supposed should use to make the model from Clay like what BMW and other company do.

• VoidDance on Mar 15, 2012 at 4:42 pm

Err… that what the design department is doing right now. These on the other hand, like giving your kids lego and tell them to have blast. They are not designers, they’re normal worker, maybe some account clerks getting bored with all the reds in the book.

• powder1 on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:30 pm

haha…subaru impreza clone…slightly better than 2010 creations but still lame.

• Ex ah beng on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:34 pm

all these are typical AH BENG car.

Ah beng’s mentality.

No wonder so many ah beng’s car out there are originally protatong.

• optimus on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:36 pm

omg…transformers has landed!

• Gforce on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:38 pm

WTF is that?

• soundsfishy on Mar 15, 2012 at 1:47 pm

erkk nak muntah!! macam cupcakes

• Seriously on Mar 15, 2012 at 2:04 pm

I see the fruits of where our money goes to fuel our nation’s innovation and creativity. Now, mind showing this off to the world? Let’s just see what they have to say.

• nighttrain on Mar 15, 2012 at 2:04 pm

What’s with the haters here? The examples here are created by staff la.. not the guys at the design studio. For fun only using parts fron a bin. IMHO they did a good job too. I like the megane lookalike and the yellow shark. Nice job guys. That’s a wake up call for the designers..

• soundsfishy on Mar 15, 2012 at 2:12 pm

the world could be a better place if these not showing to public eyes

• VoidDance on Mar 15, 2012 at 4:38 pm

This world would be a better place if you can take something like this on a lighter note, have fun with life.

There is nothing wrong with it.

• Loneranger on Mar 15, 2012 at 2:44 pm

what to do..they juz dun understand what is the article all about….

• Amende on Mar 15, 2012 at 2:49 pm

Thats what I dont understand about us Malaysians, even for a guy like me who doesnt adore Proton can understand what these mostly fugly concept cars are built for. These are not official-built concept car from Proton (the company) for God’s sake people – READ!

These are built by the staffs for fun’s sake la, inter-department contest sort of thing like that! Like in some offices la where your boss wants everybody to come up with something to cheer everyone up while at the same time injects some creativity work into it by asking all depts to do a poster la, this la that la. UNDERSTAND OR NOT?

If you want to bash, bash the clay models la, those ones are made by their r&d staffs.

• Seriously on Mar 15, 2012 at 4:36 pm

Then they should just keep it to the staff / internally. Just imagine what a laughing stock this to the rest of the world. If Proton’s ever gonna build any reputable international presence, they shouldnt irresponsibly let any tom, dick or harry throw on some mix and match “concept” to the PUBLIC.

What? You didnt think this is going to get circulated? And do you really believe people are going to simply take it as some ‘inter-dept” rubbish without falling back to the PROTON brand? “For the staff” “For fun” or whatever the reason is, is besides the point, it’s about carrying a certain brand image that Proton wants to portray. And I sure damn know what that is now.

The same reason why, (I believe) other auto makers don’t show off half made cut & paste jobs by their employees from the (obviously) non-creative department. Because, this is would be exactly the results they get if they let the ‘accounting team’ try to do car designs.

Great, now more and more people who are design illiterate are going to think they have a flare for CONCEPT CAR DESIGN.

• lauyiachia on Mar 15, 2012 at 2:13 pm

I am scared….kereta Potong on display (befitting the name of employer)

• this is designed by their own staffs minus the design department I believe (banned because it is their speciality it is considered unfair). If an assembly worker did this then this is amazing.

• soundsfishy on Mar 15, 2012 at 2:21 pm

these cars should be kept for proton’s family day.. not for an event where the whole world is watching

• Ash Menon on Mar 15, 2012 at 2:22 pm

I’m actually pretty impressed with the work. Considering the fact that it’s basically chop-shop resources they were given (the Cobra uses an Exora lamp cluster turned sideways as a rear light cluster!), it’s good work. The dark orange, yellow, and firetruck red hatch in particular show a lot of promise. Don’t look at them as finished concepts, but as starting points on the drawing board. Kudos to Proton for providing the platform for something like this to happen.

• James on Mar 15, 2012 at 2:45 pm

i can feel all the proton staff in here defending their works.. lol.. well if you cant do it well dont bother doing it at all .. cause it all looks like it came out from the dustbin.. what a shame.. there was no originality at all.

• wisethinking on Mar 15, 2012 at 5:57 pm

can you do it ? nope you cant..

• saleh on Mar 16, 2012 at 11:02 pm

no originality? of course la..
      they were built with parts from cars that are already in the market.

• Rulered on Mar 15, 2012 at 2:51 pm

Guys, before embarassing yourselves futher, let me echo some of the comments already given. This is just a show from an interdepartmental contest probably with little or no financial assistance at all and limited time on Proton cars already in the market. Maybe they just want to appreciate the participants by allowing them to show their work here. No need to be over critical here.

• Loneranger on Mar 15, 2012 at 4:39 pm

i believe PT shld have this blog in 3 additional languages. BM, Mandarin and Tamil so that Msian will understand what is the article all about.

again, this the by product of 1 page per year per Msian read.

read the headline, look at the pix and then str8 away jump to conclusion….:)

these guys are the one shld be called pathetic not the Proton staff (i repeat and read well…PROTON STAFF not PROTON DESIGNERS) who come out with all the designs above.

but some of the design are not bad really and some of it really bad (what do u expect, it was not design by proper designer)

• Ha Gnih on Mar 15, 2012 at 3:09 pm

I do not really know how to put this but from the look of things, most of the ‘concept’ here are very kampung-looking. Sorry to say this but we expect better and more solid designs from Proton considering the millions or billions pumped in to fuel it’s productivity.

• amonrei on Mar 15, 2012 at 3:34 pm

Er sorry to say but most of the cars are pretty… ugly.

But of course these are all just for fun “normal staff” design thingy.

If their design staff came up with these, i really don’t know what to say.

• gepochai on Mar 15, 2012 at 3:42 pm

what a sad, horrible attempt to show off their lame ass design and modding skills …
    its fugly beyond anything i’ve seen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• tok-kok on Mar 15, 2012 at 3:45 pm

Is this what P1’s engineers been doing for the past year?

Waste of human resources and money.

No wonder P1 reports RM52 million loss in Q3 FY 2010/11

Please close shop lah!! so that the so called rakyat can enjoy good quality imports at a reasonable price.

• something on Mar 15, 2012 at 5:12 pm

seriously…u only know how to bash..read first..want me to teach ka?

• Bob Vettel on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:34 pm

His name is tok-kok, what do you expect? He can only tok-kok!

• Cowboy on Mar 15, 2012 at 3:54 pm

Hi, P1 please take me to design your car, I can do better than that,,,

• vroom on Mar 15, 2012 at 4:02 pm

cantek siot…

• PakAbu on Mar 15, 2012 at 4:06 pm

It seems most people just browse but don’t read :roll:

• Malaysians are so creative, but ask yourselves frankly, will you buy one if the models with these design were actually put on sale?

• VoidDance on Mar 15, 2012 at 4:58 pm

I think Proton took the idea from Toyota. One day hopefully they can be as creative as the Japs.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=voDsHvoLbV0#!

• something on Mar 15, 2012 at 5:09 pm

somehow some of the keyboard warriors bashing here and there seems to have a little bit of problem reading thoroughly before commenting..just plain stupid..facepalm..

• everybody need their fifteen minutes of fame. Even a keyboard warrior.

• bonbon on Mar 15, 2012 at 6:09 pm

dont waste your time here…go to another paultan article lahh…

• DewaSemut on Mar 15, 2012 at 6:23 pm

The big orange “coupe crossover” got potential to be further developed as concept car… :)

I see lots of commenter here get rather confused by believing that these are Proton “concept cars” developed by P1 designers… read carefully laa bro… :P.. ask to use clay modelling laa.. apa laa… aiyoo….

This is “suka-suka” cheap budgeted internal competition among P1 staffs laa… which I am pretty sure designers from Design n R&D departments are not allowed to enter… :)… Other companies may go for company’s sports tournament, create new product competition for their staffs, P1 goes for car design competition.. what is so difficult to understand that??? heehehee… :)

It could be one of the objective is to find hidden talent within the company.

• shawal on Mar 15, 2012 at 7:24 pm

eeww…

• Think on Mar 15, 2012 at 7:35 pm

Its just design, not even prototyping. Use the proper software and just send to the dept. in Proton that does the body work.
    This is not Sekolah Menengah Science Fair la pls, LOL

FACEPALM X 99999999…….oo

• nebula87 on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:13 pm

all like a bunch of poo poo…=.=

i’m so glad that i get to buy a proton that its design is none of the above…

i hope its a fail invention…please…dont roll these models to sale…=.=

• buduk on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:22 pm

the red Saga hatchback is awesome !

• These Protons look like kereta “Potong”…
    I guess Proton don’t have much invention or concept to show nowadays..luckily this is not some kind of an internation motor show..

• Mza2068 on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:40 pm

Hope the power window works…

• noname on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:03 pm

ADUHHHH….buruknyaaaa…
    Tolong lah jangan pamer kereta-kereta begini time show begini…
    Memalukanlah…..tolonglahhh….
    Satu dunia tgk pulak tu….adussss..

• All looked very Ah Beng looking…if this is the talents coming out from Proton then habis laa..

• Canon on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:05 pm

Kids can even design a better car than this!! Memalukan bangsa dan negara saja..pui

• gtx460 on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:18 pm

well, seems interesting though but in my opinion if they are to bring forth the cars from their inter-department design competition to the public, they should have brought only the best amongst all, i.e the winner (top 3? for example) to give credit for their work instead of bringing all of the cars -.-”

Doing like this; Yes it can and will damage the name of the Proton and give bad impression to the public, i.e “stupid bashers who failed to read and straight forwardly post comments”. moreover, these picture is up on the internet,the world can see these and yeah further tarnishing the brand.

However, i do find that this is a good practise done by the proton (3 years already right? based on the comments here) to keep their workers happy and productive (i guess) as maybe some of the people of the assembly line or their clerk love to do hands on job with cars well that is their chance and they done it pretty well, especially the orange, red and crz-look alike yellow cars. kudos to them =D

owh for those bashers, you does not require a degree in design or automotive engineering to work as clerk or assembly man at proton so yeah, the design does suck but still give them the credit for their idea. It seems like common sense is rare amongst Malaysian. Maybe it takes forever for retards to develop their brain i guess?

• gtx460 on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:23 pm

well, seems interesting though but in my opinion if they are to bring forth the cars from their inter-department design competition to the public, they should have brought only the best amongst all, i.e the winner (top 3? for example) to give credit for their work instead of bringing all of the cars -.-”

Doing like this; Yes it can and will damage the name of the Proton and give bad impression to the public, i.e “stupid bashers who failed to read and straight forwardly post comments”. moreover, these picture is up on the internet,the world can see these and yeah further tarnishing the brand.

However, i do find that this is a good practise done by the proton (3 years already right? based on the comments here) to keep their workers happy and productive (i guess) as maybe some of the people of the assembly line or their clerk love to do hands on job with cars well that is their chance and they done it pretty well, especially the orange, red and crz-look alike yellow cars. kudos to them =D

owh for those bashers, you does not require a degree in design or automotive engineering to work as clerk or assembly man at proton so yeah, the design does suck but still give them the credit for their idea. Do you like it if somebody bash you like hell for something that you do for fun? It seems like common sense is rare amongst Malaysian. Maybe it takes forever for retards to develop their brain i guess?

• Dr Mamak on Mar 16, 2012 at 12:12 am

Waste of time and resources, just to syiok sendiri only.

• Jeremy Clarkson Top gear UK on Mar 16, 2012 at 12:51 am

R.U.B.B.I.S.H
    all rubbish ,
    not practical
    not aerodynamic
    no sense of art …
    sorry proton, just eager to see P3-21A …

• All looks like modified car. not concept car.

• All look like modified car. not concept car.

• anjez on Mar 16, 2012 at 1:02 am

oh yes i like the red one it looks like mahathir’s face
    lets name it proton mahathir

• bestbeast on Mar 16, 2012 at 1:15 am

ni sorang lagi bangang tak reti pikir…nama je pandai baca english…. comment macam budak tadika…tak paham maksud….dah berpuluh orang explained pun bengap lagi….dah la tak respek hasil kerja orang lain..biarpun benda tu hanya guna part sedia ada.. ia tak masuk dalam kos pembangunan kete baru…

• Think on Mar 16, 2012 at 5:23 am

The title should be “Franken-auto-stein, how to create a monster”
    LOL

I thought it was a inter-department contest by “Kedai Modifikasi & Mekanik Kereta Sunway (KeMeKS) Sdn Bhd”

I don’t get it. The people who produced these cars were just clerks huh? Then how did they even put these cars together in the first place?
    Were they given a budget to go to potong kereta shops and get parts and then given access to welding machines?
    Were they then trained by KeMeKS staff to put the parts together?
    Haha

A clerk can’t do all that.
    So was it actually a guided exercise by Proton engineers?

If it was, then its a joke. At least give your staff access to the proper tools and resources, instead of promoting potong kereta-car modification workshop-ism.
    Proton staff of all people should be given the opportunity to understand and take part in the true processes of creating a car, not just the body which happens to be only one part of a car.

As you can see from the cars on display, they have been “designed” and put together nonetheless. And this requires EFFORT.
    Misplaced EFFORT in my view!

Just because its inter-department, does not mean it can’t be done “professionally”.
    Come on you’re a car manufacturer !

I hope I’m wrong, but it looks like we can see the “shortcut” mentality of Proton, even in an exercise like this.

The joke is at least KeMeKS is profitable!

But to be fair, we cannot compare the two because Proton is an NPO.
    Proton doesn’t make a profit and runs on charity given by the tax-payers and rakyat of Malaysia.

• nighttrain on Mar 16, 2012 at 11:10 pm

these would be the guys on production line, electricians, welders from the factory floor. Your hatred is pure pollution.

• Think on Mar 18, 2012 at 10:05 pm

Nighttrain,

Hatred and having standards are two different things.

Its an inter-department contest, that means the whole of Proton takes part.

Your lack of critical thinking is purely destructive.

• razordous on Mar 17, 2012 at 4:29 pm

I think, what if they put the car is designed by BMW or Ferrari or maybe Honda or Toyota, dare to say ugly?
    Or perhaps, maybe due to past experience with proton cars and that is why some people think bad about Proton car.
    Within short time period to design the concept car, can you guys out there that think bad about the design come out with a brilliant design?
    Some people judge with a brand even though their imported design and quality is almost identical with our own design.
    If you are good Malaysia citizen, please contribute ideas and not just letting others to say bad things about our cars
    Especially those who were school here in Malaysia, study in Malaysia and then Malaysia government even pay money for you guys to study overseas and this is how you pay to your own country?Criticize your own country?
    Come on, don’t just let criticize, but give some positive feedbacks and show that you are the good one.

• Regina Shwartz on Apr 07, 2012 at 7:36 am

I vote for the Orange coupe crossover thing… it looks almost like a Lexus Ct200h

• This orange crz-ish car is awesome.
    http://paultan.org/2012/03/15/proton-invention-and-innovation-cars-at-power-of-1-event/innovation13/

STOP. Look at the picture and blur things a bit.
    Fix the proportion, balance the size and lil bit of curve touch up here and there…
    It’s a beautiful design cue from this ugly put-up concept.
    Kudos for the team.