Nissan “Can you feel electricity in the air?” teaser goes up on its website – is the electric-powered LEAF arriving?

A teaser graphic has gone up on the local Nissan website, with a ‘Can you feel electricity in the air?” tagline being the only thing mentioned, and also that whatever is due to happen is just but five days away.

Chances are it’s the nod to the arrival of the electrically-powered Nissan LEAF, one of the models slated for introduction here this year. Don’t get too excited though, even if this is the case, because the EV isn’t going to be commercially available just yet, as indicated by an earlier report on its planned arrival.

In it, Edaran Tan Chong Motor stated that it will be running a pilot program for the LEAF, in which the vehicle will be used to promote public awareness and be involved in experimental drives with Government bodies, the media as well public audiences. So, you might get to sit in one, but you can’t take it home just yet.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• malaysia’s registered LEAF with WWJ7xxxx plate is charging at TC HQ daily since last week, using a special volt transformer.

fyi, there are 10uts imported by tc.

• yea…few months back when i passed by segambut factory i saw few trailers loaded full of Leafs..its ad here months back

• Jason on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:06 pm

Here come the revolutionary vehicle!!! :D

• I don’t care about the Leaf. When is the Juke coming?!!

• clutch basah on Mar 16, 2012 at 4:02 pm

Saw one Juke in Nissan Taman Melati last week, dunno if it was a show unit though.
      Must say it look radical in the metal

• Indonesia already have this Juke. Comes with 1.5 CVT engine for about IDR 243.8 Million which translates to RM82k..

http://www.nissan.co.id/id/web/models/JUKE/home/hpage.htm

• Sinkalingam on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:35 pm

@eng : How did you know there’s 10 units here in Malaysia?

@Jiun: Not relevant, please read the title

• Sorry lah Nissan Leaf will cost arm and leg lah
    http://www.batfa.com/newcar-nissanleaf.htm
    Price plus shipping and marine insurance: USD$56,500 + USD$900 + USD$120 = USD$57,520.00
    USD$57,520.00 = RM173,279.00 ???
    Nahhh…must add hidden duties too RM15K so total price RM188,279.00…

Bravo NAP let others have high price hybrid car except for Protongkat have time to re-adjust its hybrid soon…Bravo NAP bravo…

• i would say: yes, it costs around there

• Learn Ping on Apr 06, 2012 at 1:11 pm

OMG! So expensive. I was thinking to switch to electric for my daily commute since public charging station is not common in Malacca yet. But, with the price at RM180K+, then no way a normal salary man can afford that.

Are they plan to sell many, or just for rich Malaysian? But Malaysia plans to cut 40% of CO2 emission by 2020 (compared to 2005), and how are we going to do that? If we don’t electrify our cars, I don’t think we can achieve that target at all.

• Sorry lah Nissan Leaf will cost arm and leg lah
    http://www.batfa.com/newcar-nissanleaf.htm
    Price plus shipping and marine insurance: USD$56,500 + USD$900 + USD$120 = USD$57,520.00
    USD$57,520.00 = RM173,279.00 ???
    Nahhh…must add hidden duties too RM15K so total price RM188,279.00…

Bravo NAP let others have high price hybrid car except for Protongkat have time to re-adjust its hybrid price soon…Bravo NAP bravo…

• Saw one running around at PJ areas this week. Specifically, Sect. 14 area.

• Nissan fan boy on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:47 pm

Wah~how you know got 10 units?

• Nissan fan boy on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:48 pm

how you know got 10 units?

• no point having a plug electric car if the electricity tariffs are going to be increased after the election.

• Eugene on Mar 17, 2012 at 3:25 pm

How about fuel cost increase after election? Dont you think electric is better?

• Nissan Altima hybrid ??????????????

• oko028 on Mar 16, 2012 at 6:42 pm

Juke ler? all new latio ler? TC pls dont alway delay to bring in new models…you have to be up to market !!!!

• drMpower on Mar 16, 2012 at 7:16 pm

i got electricity feel all the time.
    intensified when theres girls in bikini around
    if u do flux distribution simulation u might get to see the lines so much coming out of area just below my belly

these guys like good stuff cheap. how possible is that?
    name me one super feel good activity without u got to spend a penny apart of masturbation?

• adrian on Mar 16, 2012 at 9:04 pm

Last 2 days ago I saw the LEAF at LDP. Opposite my road. But I can see it using normal number plate. Taught it was the pilot program. It would be nice if LEAF available at here too.

• Carl Wong on Mar 16, 2012 at 9:43 pm

Here comes the first all electric car in our country………..!!!!

• Eugene on Mar 17, 2012 at 3:23 pm

The 1st EV in Msia is from Proton Saga follow by Mitsubishi, I-MieV and only recently, Nissan Leaf.,

• Carl Wong on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:42 am

I mean the first mass produced electric car that people can actually buy and drive it home, hopefully………

• Lancruzerz on Mar 20, 2012 at 6:17 pm

Hello dudes, don’t try to show off who knows what here, jus read the following post:

http://paultan.org/2011/10/25/mitsubishi-i-miev-becomes-first-ev-to-be-registered-in-the-country-vehicle-to-be-used-to-promote-ev-awareness/

• Ecoman on Mar 16, 2012 at 10:53 pm

Omg Nissan Leaf is in Msia??! Is gonna be awesome!!!!!

• How to charge? =)

• Use electricity lah. It can be charge by using public charging station or just plug-in into any 3-pin plug at home or office.

• Lancruzerz on Mar 20, 2012 at 6:18 pm

but i saw the car being charged at TC showroom using the industrial plug, so how to charge at home or office?

• sean zx10 on Mar 20, 2012 at 8:19 pm

Up to date la deii..u go to putrajaya and see those charging stations. Go to putrajaya corp, ministry of finance…go to MITI jalan duta KL when u r paying your income tax.

• Shiang on Mar 18, 2012 at 11:14 pm

Sweet.

• heavy maintenance cable/plug to an independent power point.