Proton chairman Datuk Seri Mohd Nadzmi resigns – who will DRB-HICOM’s replacement be?

Proton chairman Datuk Seri Mohd Nadzmi resigns – who will DRB-HICOM’s replacement be?Proton announced today to Bursa Malaysia the resignation of Khazanah-appointed chairman Datuk Seri Mohd Nadzmi Mohd Salleh, as per the terms and conditions set by the share sale and purchase agreement signed between DRB-HICOM and Khazanah Nasional Berhad earlier this year.

DRB-HICOM has yet to announce who will replace him – we expect this to be known in about two weeks time as revealed by Datuk Seri Khamil Jamil this week.

To shed some light onto the timeline of what has happened so far – DRB-HICOM started off with zero shares in Proton. When it entered into agreement with Khazanah Nasional to purchase its 42.74% stake in Proton, it also scooped up some shares on the public market which gave it an initial 7.27% stake.

An EGM was held this week and DRB-HICOM shareholers approved the purchase. The sale will now go ahead and with the initial share purchase combined with the Khazanah shares, DRB-HICOM will end up with 50.01% of Proton shares.

All of this also triggers a mandatory general offer, where DRB-HICOM will offer to buy up all remaining Proton shares on the market; DRB-HICOM would probably end up with more than 50.01% because of that. If the percentage of shares on the open market falls to under 25%, Bursa may require Proton to delist, unless convinced that there are sufficient shares on the open market to maintain a liquid market.

In a notice by Maybank Investment Bank to Proton’s board today, it was made known that if DRB-HICOM ends up with more than 75% of Proton shares, it does not intend to maintain listing status of Proton and thus will not take any special steps to address the public shareholding spread shortfall in order to keep Proton listed.

So as it stands, we might just end up with our national carmaker being a private company. If DRB-HICOM really wants to clean Proton up and turn it around, I suppose what better way for it to do so without constant questioning from public eyes.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• another way to sweep the waste under the rug or should i say smoke screen?? nice try..still proton need the invisible gov magical wand to survive

• Hugo Andore on Mar 19, 2012 at 10:09 am

How come every company that were managed by bumiputras / cronies goes bust and suffer massive losses? It makes you wonder eh?

• MesheToujours on Mar 17, 2012 at 12:07 am

Ehem Ehem…

back to the Tengku era…

• Alexandra on Mar 17, 2012 at 12:23 am

yeah!

• Ayecaramba! on Mar 17, 2012 at 2:52 am

Why do I feel sad that Mahaleel may be coming back. Sad that Nadzmi is going away. Although I didn’t really like him, I have to say he did quite a few good things to turn Proton slightly better.

• Sparta on Mar 17, 2012 at 6:46 pm

Failed – Turn Mitsubishi Lancer into stupid Inspira like a piece of plastic that gone wrong.

• anjez on Mar 18, 2012 at 4:43 pm

i agree but still the stupid malaysians buy them then who to blame.useless BN feeding the malays like no body business.

• private company it is…good job DRB-HICOM

• Alexandra on Mar 17, 2012 at 12:14 am

about time

• alldisc on Mar 17, 2012 at 12:15 am

it sounds more like requested to leave, aint it?

dato sri nadzmi salleh was teaming up with syed zainal abidin in a bid to buy khazanah shares (bidding against DRB), and so that made the case even stronger.

DRB is secured in a way that, part of the agreement for the purchase of shares was they have the right to appoint their own respective management team

anyway, nothing good came from nadzmi salleh. his success was merely at the peak of time when malaysians were facing with either buying a proton or nothing at all.

• ILoveMalaysia on Apr 05, 2012 at 7:45 am

Please guys if you can enlighten me,

I don’t know what is his contribution to our country which gives him the privilleges and title. To me he is just a figure of cronies. He has been leading Proton=FLUNK and BAM also FLUNK. Yes I am a Malay. However we are the selected few who experience not only studying but also working and living in Germany. I think our country needs to look more in the German-Euro way of doing things, enough of the UK and American too-much-banking-politics-short-term-thinking. There are many Malaysian out here who are far more qualified than these figures but the leadership just keep failing to determine them. To me Mohd. Nadzmi is one of the sheer failure of our country!! PERIOD.

• witchy on Mar 17, 2012 at 12:15 am

Since it’s gonna become a private company, will the taxes for cars be cut? Don’t tell me the G is gonna put taxes to protect a PRIVATE company?

• Aman Shah on Mar 17, 2012 at 12:19 am

hey witchy, since when Gov put taxes just to protect cars? that is ur limited knowledge who assume like that only. Tax has to be put to reduce money from going out of contry. Singapore car price is way more than Malaysia, but provided they have sufficient public transport

• witchy on Mar 17, 2012 at 12:58 am

Please read up before showing your extremely limited knowledge about Proton and the taxes implemented to protect it when it started.

• I dont want to explain anymore bout car tax in malaysia…people dont want to understand how it work..even people who said they very familiar with tax oso fail to differentiate bet company tax n car related tax in annual financial statement..as far as i know there is no car related tax in financial statement in all car maker or distributor inc proton in malaysia…

• Unforgiven on Mar 17, 2012 at 10:45 pm

Please be honest and tell us where are those tax money, ended up in who’s pocket? Please be good if you are not one of them. It’s unforgiven.

• anjez on Mar 18, 2012 at 4:47 pm

those money ends up into mahathir’s pocket.for him to turn his son into pm soon.some on mahathir everyone knows that youare trying to make your son as pm.

• ted downy on Mar 17, 2012 at 1:08 am

Aman Shah,
        Your naive and very limited knowledge should not qualify you to touch any computer or use any toilet on your own without parental guidance . :)
        How a car (I do not want to name any) that cost $80k-$100k OTR in Malaysia, cost only $40K-$50K in Langkawi ? If it is not Tax protected , then what is it ? To use Singapore as example is even more stupid ..they are trying to control the number of car on the road.

I thought the question asked by witchy is a noble one because it will enable everyone in this country (that includes you) to afford a cheaper car with much less loan needed, they do not need to be indebted just because they wanted a different car other than proton. If you cannot provide a more decent idea for intellectual argument , then stop pouring cold water over others ..

• MoFaz on Mar 17, 2012 at 3:29 am

1. car market in Malaysia is not really big but it’s not small to be neglected. 600,000 cars sold every year and if each is RM30k without tax, that’s RM18bil flowing out of the country. that is not a small amount, the same amount Gov spent their budget on fuel subsidies every year. imagine if each car costs RM60k, the money outflow simply doubled to RM36bil every year!!
          2. to reduce foreign product dependencies, gov introduce local products. car could be the most expensive imported product that you would ever buy. so it make sense that Gov aiming to reduce the outflow by reducing the source from outside and produce it locally. remember, Malaysia never ban imports of car, but Thai did that in their early stage of automobile industry. Korea and Japan was ‘there’ also. only 5% of cars in Korea are imported. I believe the percentage in Japan could be even lower than Korea.
          3. so, Proton was established to reduce the imports and reducing the money outflow, which really help keeping Malaysia’s trade balance in ‘surplus’ since 20 years ago. in order to make sure Proton would be able to ‘help’ the nation, higher tax was imposed on foreign cars. tax help proton to help the nation. and the tax is being used as fuel subsidy too. the tax has been reduced from time to time, and currently we have to pay the same tax if we buy Proton cars too!
          4. without proton, i don’t think the tax will be much lower than current rate. i think, the only ‘possible’ way to reduce car tax is by reducing or removing fuel subsidy. car tax is low in US, UK, and Australia because they don’t have fuel subsidies. but you must also be aware that fuel tax in UK and Australia is very high! fuel tax in UK is 170%!!.
          5. imposing tax for imported cars will affect those who refuse to support local products or those in high income bracket who could afford luxury items. but removing fuel subsidies (for now) would affect everyone including those who can’t even afford to buy a motorcycle. food stuffs will be more expensive, including milk powders for babies.
          6. i don’t think the rich are making so much noise about car import tax. I believe the majority are those from low or middle income group who can’t afford to buy but they simply blaming other factors rather than themselves.

• dorah on Mar 17, 2012 at 11:07 am

Obviously you’re still young son, if you were here before Proton came about, the price was on par with overseas. I’d rather pay full price, or more even, for petrol instead of an artificially inflated price for cars any time, as I’d still save more overall. Do the maths yourself.

If Proton’s quality was close to or on par with foreign products, Malaysian would have supported it 100% from the get go. We’re proud of Proton, but believe that there’s still much more room to grow.

• MoFaz on Mar 17, 2012 at 12:38 pm

you think that you’re older than me, but how old are you? are you old and wise or you’re just old?
            car import tax was raised more than 15 year before proton exist to encourage CKD assembly in Malaysia, and yes it was raised again after Proton exist to encourage or ‘force’ people to buy local products. the same exact move was done by Japan, Korea and Thailand!
            now you get 0% import tax for cars from Thailand and pay the same 75% excise duty as you would have to pay if you buy Proton cars too.
            Waja is less than RM40k if there’s no tax on Proton cars.
            how come a Prius which costs RM70k in US costs RM130k here when there’s 0% import and excise duty for hybrid cars in Malaysia? Do the maths yourself.

• bongek on Mar 17, 2012 at 2:58 pm

older, but no vision to handle the country

• MrDDR on Mar 17, 2012 at 3:01 pm

Hybrid 0% tax why still expansive..Some more warranty also less than other country. Spec also less (CRZ dont even have built in GPS). If no proton price will go down?? hah.. See the reality..Who got most of my money when i buy FD2. Gov or Honda??

• PetrolLeg on Mar 18, 2012 at 10:41 pm

Quote “we are proud of Proton, but…..much more room to grow”, probably the statement of the century, how many years have they been in this industry? And yet they are still playing football with their hands in their own field. Go figure! Though they are trying but still…..the question they should ask for those once Proton owners, will they go back? Unless another damn wave of tax raise that makes it impossible to own even a Korea car then people have no choice but buy them like what happen in 90s where proton became ‘no choice people’s car’.

• feel good on Mar 17, 2012 at 11:59 am

Totally agree with u! sometimes people dont see it because they think they good enough and arrogant.. blame and complain all the time! pftt!

• Unforgiven on Mar 17, 2012 at 12:21 pm

Where do you think those tax money will go? It’s mainly for the very rich to enjoy, else Tun won’t still be there.

One simple example is getting properties in oversees, please be real to yourself.

Proton may also need to be on par with Toyota or VW to fight in this global markets. Please be honest.

• Sparta on Mar 17, 2012 at 6:49 pm

Goes to feed UMNOputra, UMNOputri and BNelites to ensure BN secured another simple majority in the coming GE.

• brian on Mar 18, 2012 at 6:47 pm

As long as the cars is produced here, there is no outflow of money, whatever it is Toyota vios, Honda city, Toyota avanza or whatsoever. You think all of the Toyota car or Honda car is coming from Japan. No most of them is coming from our neighboring country like Toyota vios and Honda city from Thailand and most recently Honda brio and Mitsubishi mirage also from Thailand.. Toyota avanza and inova is coming from Indonesia. There is so much especially pick-up truck and mpv coming from our neighboring country. I bet nobody know.

• MoFaz on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:48 am

believe me, the money outflow will still happen even if they build the car here. the car could be coming from Thai or our own bolehland, but most of the profit went back to Japan! some parts are still coming from overseas too. for perodua, the entire engine is coming from Japan!
            even proton cars have some ‘outflow’.. for the weather and road testing, crash test in international lab, parts which no local companies has expertise like CVT and Turbo for CFE… only it is very minimal in Proton.

• Unforgiven on Mar 19, 2012 at 10:42 am

Last time, the out flow probably to Japan, now with Proton, where its the out flow?

Please be honest if you are clean.

The out flow now is to Japan + pocket, so it should be German or Italian, etc.

Last time car its cheap, so out flow to Japan a little, and we have more money.
            Now, so called 9 years instalment, plus out flow to Japan, German, Italy, etc.

Because you are giving free money to certain parties to buy BMW.

your 9 years instalmentits to buy an Inspira which is more expensive than polygonal

• Unforgiven on Mar 19, 2012 at 2:43 pm

The out flow is for certain parties to buy BMW, Brabus, etc. that’s part of your 9 years loan. Not forgetting Inspira is always more expensive than original Lancer (Langkawi).

Please be good and do the right thing if you are not one of them, for the future generation.

• want to knoe on Mar 17, 2012 at 8:20 am

ted downy,
          may i know wat car in mainland 80k to 100k & its only cost 40K-50K in Langkawi

• alldisc on Mar 17, 2012 at 9:37 am

singapore cars are actually cheaper than malaysia but as they have a limited space, ppl have to bid to and get a certificate of entitlement just to own and drive a car for everyday use. The COE is the one making the car prices high there, and it is not a form of tax.

Just 1 good example when it comes to Malaysia car taxes.
          a new jaguar XJ Limousine cost RM1.1 million in in KL but only 425K in langkawi.

That is our tax structures, including import tax for CBU, excise duties and standard sales tax in order to protect the locally assembled national cars.

yeah, i am still proud of them but the penalties on us are just plain high.

• MoFaz on Mar 17, 2012 at 12:23 pm

dude, the excise and ARF alone is 120% in singapore lah! not even include COE yet, which currently at 500% of Toyota Vios open market value.

• Aman shah on Mar 17, 2012 at 2:42 pm

hey ted downy,

u r the one who unqualified to touch ur computer. im not comparing to sgpore. i just give an example that certain policy reacts towards decision. like i dont know that singapore want to control they car on the road. stupid downy. tht is very obvious
          u r comparing langkawi which is so boring than semenanjung Malaysia. why do u think langkawi introduce free tax? think about it first…dont just compare Apple with Orange. Gov wants to promote tourism and langkawi suits that, thats why the tax is free. that is why it is being implemented be cause just one out of others. all nak ikut situ habes la duit, mana mau cari? cehhh

• MrDDR on Mar 17, 2012 at 2:53 pm

Name me one car range 80-100k peninsular but langkawi 40-50k only.

• Ayecaramba! on Mar 17, 2012 at 2:56 am

Government pay you one ar?

• anjez on Mar 17, 2012 at 3:34 pm

so you support siapa here?proton or BN?
        both also useless.Singapore is small country smaller than negeri sembilan so easy to manage.Malaysia was spoit by mahathir with his rasuah and crony policy
        if not malaysia will be beter than singapore.till tday from police force to university entrace all cronism and rasuah that included PROTON and BN.
        from 1986 till 2012 all useless models some models i see the 1st generation saga still running but used as transporting chicken to market.soon in 20 years time the new p321a user/buyer will used it for the same reason.
        thaniah malaysia and mahathir for his achievement.

• Life like that on Mar 17, 2012 at 1:38 am

As of now Proton can only survive with gov’t protection. So the high taxes for foreign brand car will remain. And don’t forget DRB-HICOM is also a GLC, so no changes on that aspect. Our only hope is for Proton to improve and at least we can get to buy a more reliable proton car in the not too distant future…..yes, still hoping even after 25 yrs.

• RedBeanBun on Mar 17, 2012 at 8:09 am

the game plan is simple, instead of direct tax earn by G, there will be NO tax, BUT..the extra earning is going to DRB!!!

the tax revenue is taken away now, and going to DRB! have not anyone realized that? did Protong reduce any price? NO!! so where are the taxes revenue go??

its cronies game now, all $$ goes to them in all this selling of Khazanah!!

• alldisc on Mar 17, 2012 at 9:51 am

the govt has only 5.39% shares in DRB – it hardly qualifies as GLC but rather just a place to invest by Khazanah Nasional.

• bosan korang ni…tak habis habis borak pasal tax..semua orang bayar 26% macam aku ke? dah dah lah tu..borak something i don’t know la pulak

• orang biasa on Mar 17, 2012 at 11:09 pm

Nampak sgt x tau info, tp nak bg comment…. hahahahahaha… der, pls check 1st… btul ke DRB-HICOM tu GLC…. jgn bg nmpak sgt yg diri tu x tau sngaaaat..

• Life like that on Mar 18, 2012 at 11:15 pm

Ok. To make it clearer to you what I mean, the GLC change to ‘GLC’. If you still don’t get it, try Etika Strategi Sdn Bhd.

• PetrolLeg on Mar 18, 2012 at 10:35 pm

You wait long long, tax cut? One of the main source of revenue, think about how much money they loose if tax cut for cars, low income earners who are exempted from tax cannot escape when they buy new cars. Tax are in and we pay extra interest on top of the tax. The same like we eat crabs that the restaurant weights together with the shell or durian together with the skin. If the day you can buy durian at their nett weight without the skin or shell probably you’ll see a tax cut! Sorry for the sarcasm, I’m just another frustrated tax payer of all sorts!

• nabill on Mar 17, 2012 at 12:41 am

hope thy wont kick DSZ out…

• Who become P1 chairman is not important. The important is the P1 culture to be change.

• sean ZX10 on Mar 17, 2012 at 1:14 am

it’s all Mahathir’s game. He wants to put a puppet inside. Nadzmi was a puppet but recently turned to Pinocchio. PKR please check Mahathir. Old witch

• salambangi on Mar 17, 2012 at 11:47 am

Shut up Sean Connery. Your days as James Bond are over.

• sean ZX10 on Mar 18, 2012 at 12:45 pm

even me knows when to quit..tell that to your beloved corrupted old witch.

• Say NO to Tengku Mahaleel for next chairman!

• MoFaz on Mar 17, 2012 at 3:42 am

Tg Mahaleel was the one who tried to bring Proton forwards by producing their very first own designed cars Waja, followed by Gen2, Savvy and Neo… he was also the one who appointed TUV to audit the vendors and Proton’s own production line to ensure that they adhere to a high standard.
      he tried but he couldn’t succeed because Proton is not his ‘own’ company, so his action might be overruled by the shareholders.

• alldisc on Mar 17, 2012 at 10:05 pm

wasnt it mahathir’s idea for proton to built own car instead of rebadge?

mahaleel was the one brought proton through the wrong path.. by approving to produce cars with poor driveability (poor low end torque delivery, snappy auto transmission gearshift) and cabin ergonomics (no glovebox, poor pwr window switch location).

• Tg Mahaleel was a wise guy actually, he tried to do many things to advance Proton but he failed because of politics. DSZ also cannot do much during Tun Abdullah’s time.

but he also had crazy stupid ideas. so no. lol.

• GTR 2.0 on Mar 17, 2012 at 10:25 pm

Say NO to Tg Mahaleel.Say YES to DSZ. Yup, TM is the one that introduce the waja, but he’s to arrogant to admit that waja got problem. Why not Datuk Khamil be the chairman and let DSZ as MD for now. Agreed?

• _xXx_ on Mar 18, 2012 at 9:06 am

oh yeah u reminded me Asis’s answer to BMW. Still can’t figure out which part of the trash looks like a BMW till now…

• Docno on Mar 17, 2012 at 1:37 am

I did not take economy subject at school

• bongek on Mar 17, 2012 at 9:00 am

me too, so when i read this….so i try to find a point that i can relate with proton power window problem….but when i read ur comment, then i realize it was economy article … :(

• car lover on Mar 17, 2012 at 1:45 am

Proton should not to be created…it a failed project

• MoFaz on Mar 17, 2012 at 3:33 am

never try, never know…
      maybe your mom shouldn’t give birth to you or let you live, if somebody told your mom that you will fail someday…?

• bongek on Mar 17, 2012 at 3:00 pm

hi car lover, u are a failed project. should we ‘close’ u? ur give a chance for you to improve and survive?

• sape ntah on Mar 17, 2012 at 6:47 am

i hope that Arif guy could make it.. pls keep DSZ and new ceo as long it is aint Tg Mahaleel..

• sedapnya on Mar 17, 2012 at 12:12 pm

i dunno why people ask for DSZ to stay on as CEO? he has never made any profits for Proton, and as the new owners have spend $$billions to buy the company, they have every right to hire somebody else to make money & recover their costs, or else the new guy will also lose his job. And if Proton continue to bleed big money over the next 5 years, DRB will also collapse……… so what’s so great about DSZ…. he’s just an employee like you and me and everybody else.

• Kucau on Mar 17, 2012 at 1:12 pm

U hav no idea what he did to the company and to turn around a company like proton need time !

• panglima on Mar 18, 2012 at 5:10 pm

You know what, those babies are actually from sales marketing dept or those who complain for low salary/low bonus..they can’t ‘see’ what DSZ has done to help turned around proton…they’re TEE-M era a$$ kisser..they don’t know nothing about development cost, supporting industry, manufacturing yet with their half-a$$ effort they’re demanding incentives that are not proportional the company revenue, profit, cash balance, loan commitment etc

• Grandpatrucker on Mar 17, 2012 at 7:27 am

Proton please create something new. I will be proud to drive a Malaysian own truck as nice as Dodge Ram or Ford F150. Bring in a very talented and a very proactive person. Built and sell a vehicles for your customers smile not your own smile.

• RedBeanBun on Mar 17, 2012 at 8:05 am

expected when you try to win over your current boss before…

but this only apply to here, where we dont value based on talent, but relationship…

i bash protong, but i think he is trying to bring Protong to the right direction, but too bad, with DRB, its going to be rebadge and rebadge.

go ahead and buy the P3A, and it has no future in Protong long term plan.

• Statistician on Mar 17, 2012 at 8:11 am

He was drawing tens of thousands org ringgit a month and bringing Proton to no where after o many years. He should go earlier

• zacharyygibson on Mar 17, 2012 at 8:19 am

Just put me in the chairman seat… I’ll turn the company around in five years

• bongek on Mar 17, 2012 at 3:01 pm

a good CEO don’t waste time give a comment here…he read and analyze . yes, i am not CEO and not MD …i am normal people

• If DRB-HICOM really wants to clean Proton up and turn it around, I suppose what better way for it to do so without constant questioning from public eyes.”

Really?

DRB-HICOM itself funded by Khazanah duit rakyat for so long donkey years already….from left to right pocket Kronies…main silap mata for public eyes lah…

• yippi33 on Mar 17, 2012 at 2:55 pm

really??show us the fact la…not just talk empty only..how much is it did they fund??show us the figures starting from the donkey years that you have claimed…

• How many percent khazanah share?

• Failing statement from the car lover…

• Deprived on Mar 17, 2012 at 10:13 am

Hope it means they gonna shut down the god damned company soon.

• Deprived on Mar 17, 2012 at 10:18 am

Mahathir loves pretty boys……tengku mahaleel , danny bahar. Nadzmi putting on weight, so he has to go. Is this guy mahathir for real. He should bring on ugly shits like robert kuok , tony fernandez etc then proton will be ok

• who should be the next 1?

• Ash Menon on Mar 17, 2012 at 10:45 am

I suppose there really is no quick fix to the perception that we have of Proton. Before this we complain that it’s being propped up by the government using our tax money, and now when they’re going private we suspect cronyism.

• Sparta on Mar 17, 2012 at 11:10 am

Proton car is like a heavy rock. Just test drive you can feel that the engine is a piece of rock, heavy, lousy and interior all smell, look, finish like a fking plastic, cheap, cheap, cheap.

• hway de Cruz on Mar 17, 2012 at 11:27 am

scratch my back n i’ll scratch yours…. typical bolehland style lah

• proton car also hav to pay tax ma..try google for actual price of proton car

• If u google bout kastam proton car price u will get non….but u can find bout all car in malaya r been tax with excise tax

• anjez on Mar 17, 2012 at 3:26 pm

tax is paid for proton cars to support the bumiputeras to buy better quality foreign cars.this was the mad ex-pm mahathir’s dream.inventing proton is a disaster to non-bumiputeras in malaysia.bloody useless BN ruled goverment con the rakyat for years with their stupid cheap quality cars.The mahathir mamak still got the cheek to tell that proton was invented for poor people.then how came is son loves porsche?love your fathers proton la better.

• Unforgiven on Mar 17, 2012 at 4:30 pm

Most bumi putra also ended up with local cars, only the cronies are driving expensive cars.

Those high taxes on cars are going into their pockets, to buy luxury goods, imported stuff, diamonds, condo overseas, etc.

You will only be seeing the very poor and extremely rich bumi around.

• Sparta on Mar 17, 2012 at 6:45 pm

Those who disagreed with you are UMNOputras and UMNOputris. Putrajaya staff who are brainwashed to listen party, obey party, and ignore non Malaysia.

• saw a young bumi (less than 30) driving aston martin in JW Marriot hotel with a young bumi chic (less than 20)..

• Unforgiven on Mar 19, 2012 at 7:46 am

We are able to see BMW, 7 series, Brabus on the road. who is the driver?

• What’s the new name for this P3-21A?

Hmmm since Protongkat always using vegetable/agriculture name like Baja, Banana, Sawi so maybe P3-21A real name is PERIA! Another sayor name!

Oh yes that’s it Protongkat Peria!

Taste bitter, ugly look, good for ulam, repel mosquito after you eat it (make your blood bitter…??) Ha Ha Ha!

Protongkat PERIA! Taste bitter, drive it!

• If DRB turned Proton to private limited then we should liberate the auto sector and adjusted fuel prices according to open market to decide. if government still reluctant to forgo huge and excessive tax in the sector.

You can’t do like Malaysia; follow the good from global economies but maintain the worse from Third Worls practices.

• Tony Fernandes should buy DRB-HICOm….problem solved

• wong ah yat on Mar 17, 2012 at 7:22 pm

Since this 321 (can’t they think of a code which is more sophisticated, I suppose the original code was 123) is a global car to compete with the world, it is about time they take away the unfair duties for imported cars and let the competition begin! We are OK with global market petrol price, the excise duty is too much compare to saving in cheap petrol (but lousy diesel)… please do a sum and wake up malaysian…

• tokmoh on Mar 17, 2012 at 7:25 pm

I was told way back then, while we were rich with natural resources, we were poor due to manipulation of international market. 1997 crisis was most recent in most of our memories, when the ringgit was manipulated. Literally overnight, USD1 = RM2 became RM4. You can get the idea how manipulation caused us to become the biggest loser. Presumably, must’ve happened to oil, rubber, palm oil, etc natural resources we are rich of, and being taken advantage.

So DrM didn’t want this kinda bs anymore. It’s better for us to control our destiny. Thus, setup of Proton, DRB, hicom, RRIM (rubber), bought over of Guthrie, Sime Darby (palm oil), Petronas, banning of trading ringgit offshore (though IIANM, this ban had been lifted?) etc. Sounds like a good plan back then.

But the plan was not perfect, budget deficit was always a threat. During Pak Lah’s time, many didn’t see much development, and due to his personal habit too, earned the nickname dolah kaki tidor. But he did manage to reduce the deficit.

Then, 2008 credit crunch. Budget deficit grew back again, but it shrunk last year, and looks good to shrink more this year.

With that in mind, it is virtually impossible to expect tax will be reduced. It’s like you maxed out your credit card, and tried to justify with the bank to reduce your debt because your debt is too damn high.

So today we suffered because we walked our own path. We never get to know if we were left to be manipulated and potentially lose more, or become successful like Thailand’s automotive industry. What’s done is done.

Nadzmi resign? Sure or not? Timing is too good to believe he did it voluntarily… if you know what I mean.

http://www.tradingeconomics.com/malaysia/government-budget

• kodomocat on Mar 17, 2012 at 8:30 pm

wow this car blog comments turning it into a Economics study blog ROFL…. cakap semua pandai ya…keyboard warriors all over lol…

• nighttrain on Mar 17, 2012 at 11:24 pm

whassup bro… why is it a big problem for you. I’m getting a wealth of info here from the smart ones. You jealous you’re not as smart?

• bobdbilder on Mar 18, 2012 at 2:27 pm

Everything that happens to the world around you centers around economics. You will probably understand that when you hit your 40s. But the knowledge how it affects lives will forever change you. The best subject to start with is about Petro Dollars and how Nixon unpegged the dollar to the gold standard.

Its populist policies that drive financial decisions. Governments who place importance of staying in power against economic fundamentals eventually will be under economic pressure every year. The bubble bursts when fundamentals cannot support policies. Balance is a forgotten word.

Keeping sovereign debts high with increase in deficit is not a good sign. Not when GDP is only around 4 to 5%. The general feeling among the population is that we are safe. Spending is therefore higher which is required. But where does the spending go? Imported food and products. This is again buoyed by the feel good nature of the population. If the population was to understand that there is still a food crisis and we need to bolster that supply, that we will be an energy importer in a few months time; we would think otherwise. But no, feeling good is a populist policy.

• Busybody on Mar 17, 2012 at 11:14 pm

Whoever, it not going to make any good changes

• Jolly_idiot on Mar 17, 2012 at 11:34 pm

Let me save proton. I’ll be their new orang kerusi.

Thumb me upside down

• nabill on Mar 18, 2012 at 12:47 am

plz get a foriegner with a totally diferent perspective from local ceo’s…we need diferent experiences and opinions and diferent set of solutions from the once we have…some one who is known to turn tings around….

• Norman on Mar 18, 2012 at 9:58 am

I’m a singaporean and owns 1 Proton Exora 1 Proton Saga BLM 1 VW polo 1.2 TSI and 1 Honda CB400 hyper Vtec 3.What I can say from 2008 proton did got slight improvement compared to previously.Proton need someone who can really fine tune the company

• messi on Mar 18, 2012 at 10:00 am

we wait n see.

• Drebar on Mar 18, 2012 at 3:20 pm

Proton should hire new Designer, not new Chairman or CEO or delivery boys.

The fault is not about management but design problem.

How to sell ugly products, betol tak?

Proton with design hebat macam Kia, Hyundai then slowly sales increase, profit naik and bring even better and beautiful cars.

This simple solution Proton cannot think of it kah?

• DArkerMarker on Mar 18, 2012 at 9:12 pm

I dont care who is sitting at the top at proton,

but please design and produce a good car la, proton…

and

please stop being a pampered baby. You are toooooooo blardy old oredi. –shame–

• Transformer on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:04 am

Need Proton to improve design and get something stylish in future? Hard to imagine how they can do. Even nowdays Proton can request to purcharse China parts to cost down car bom cost. Proton do not know about quality equals to money too. How are we expect for improvement? Why some ppl rather to buy cars like toyota and honda even though they are more expensive? Its about quality they are willing to pay. Reduce car bom cost? Hv you seen any Proton cars selling cheaper? No!

• Abdul123 on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:20 am

Proton is a failure. Dr M ego is too big to

admit it.

• Norman on Mar 19, 2012 at 2:01 pm

What proton need is sales tactic and their cars need enhancement.Says a b-line with at least single airbag while m-line with leather seats,upgrade rims 2 airbags and built in gps/audio and for top of the line with at least 4 airbags,Branded rims,built in DVD/gps,reverse cam with reasonable prices.Currently they’re stingy about accessories and the service centre sucks big time.They can learn from Hyundai and Kia which offer more bold design and accessories.i can give one good examples,For a 1.6 sedan b-line with 15 inch cap rims,M-line with 16 alloy and 17 for h-line so that car enthusiast will give a thought into buying.They also should consider R3 tuned cars with slight modification that sell under 55k for 1.3 and 80k for 1.6 and not sub 100k for r3 Neo which is absurd with just 145hp/168nm Cps engine.Unless its a twin turbo or supercharged then it’s diff story.If Proton really need to survive they should consider this suggestions and not cited cost as an excuse.

• paul tan aje lah jadi chairman =))