PROTON design clay model at Proton Power of 1

PROTON design had a few demonstrations at the Proton Power of 1 event, ranging from sketches to producing clay models, all right in front of you, their live audience at the Proton Power of 1 event which concluded today.

This is a mystery finished product, which is just a design concept, but I must say it’s not bad on the eyes. Could some design cues from this clay model be present in future Proton models? What do you think of this design? Share your thoughts in the comments below! :)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• future perdana?

• kimi_ on Mar 19, 2012 at 4:58 am

I thought it is a honda civic front in thhe first pic !!!

• future saga… i’m not a fan comparing looks of car but this 1 definitely got the side proportions of mazda 2 or ford fiesta sedan… 1 weird thing though both those car got the proportions as they were hatchback converts… so wonder if there is a hatchback version of this hiding in proton studio somewhere… new savvy anyone?

• Revisiting this 10 years later, there are similarities between this clay model and the 2016 Perdana
      – Shape of Proton wings element on front grill
      – C-pillar window and 2.5 box design
      – Chrome surround around side windows
      – Headlamp component arrangement of projector on the outside and reflector on the inside
      – fake exhaust tips on rear bumper
      – shark fin antenna

Proton and Honda didn’t officially announce their partnership until many months after this article was published, towards the end of 2012.

The wheels on the clay model did make it to production with the 2018 Preve.

• Why does this clay model look so much better than that P3 what what… and the overall proportion is great..

• kimi_ on Mar 19, 2012 at 5:08 am

GOSH, the front is SO HONDA CIVIC INSPIRED

especially the front grille shape
      http://paultan.org/2009/03/19/new-honda-civic-facelift-launched-in-malaysia/

• Peter on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:01 pm

Deja-vu of Tuah concept car … (sigh)
      The concept design looks really nice … really. The concern is how it’ll turn out in production.
      I think this’s a Perdana replacement model.

• audi??

• udasalleh on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:07 am

I dunno bout anyone else… but the clay model design looks way much better than the real thing… a bit Opel + BMW-esque… much more European stylings.

• Just like the Tuah concept…the final product will look different

• this is like a rip off of mazda 6, hyundai elantra, kia forte and honda accord

• Wow everything wanna compare to other car brands and says it’s a rip off. >__>

• What I can see just Mazda6, you have a good eye..

• P1, rip every design you want, I don’t care. Just make a nice and well mix design… and sack azlano.

• Seriously on Mar 19, 2012 at 10:32 am

Every design is based or inspired by something that is already out there, so don’t be surprise if you see something that it is similar in design cues. That’s simply how it is, get use to it.

• aloya on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:13 am

backside like 5series

• likehondanotsomuch on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:13 am

thats interesting,,,BMW but resemblence.

• khairulx19a on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:14 am

what coming after this?? how they invent the wheel design???

• jsooz on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:14 am

front looks honda-ish…got potential to be a hybrid?

• finish product? lol.. finishED product..

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari'sCousin on Mar 19, 2012 at 10:25 am

yep…agree with you! Grammar, grammar….

• finishing product im supposed..

• soundsfishy on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:39 pm

i guess it’s no longer in market or simply couldn’t take off

• Singo on Mar 19, 2012 at 2:33 pm

singkatan yg biasa bg org yg terlibat dalam dunia automotif..Jepun punya term ni…ada macam2 lagi…Finish Goods, NG(No Good), Spring Back/Spring Go, Wrinkle, Crack, Deform dan macam2 lagi..sbb ni dlm engineering, bukan kelas bahasa..

• nebula87 on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:16 am

this is wat we call “innovation and creative” design…unlike last few post…=.= saga hatchback??!!! , savvy sedan??!!…

• tetek on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:16 am

Yeah nice design… And Proton will change the design again (if they are really gonna make this car) just like the Tuah concept and the P3-21A and disappoint everyone

• surprisingly, this mock-up looks good! doesn’t matter if it is inspired by other cars’ designs, as long as we can get decent-looking cars and decent quality! come on Proton…Y U NO FOLLOW YOUR CLAY MODELS??? start improving! 20-odd years alr. surely it’s high time to come out with a car we can REALLY be proud of..???

• Crowny supplier don’t have tools to make the parts.. LOL..

Seriously, show some transparency on it. Show us which company is a big fat bastard.

• you too should have proof when u said the company as crony…u oso dont show transperancy give detail la

• The words came out of DSZ mouth, “Not P1 has bad design/engineering but the supplier giving bad parts and bad delivery.”

You go ask DSZ lor.. I no fren of his.

• Ash Menon on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:16 am

Hang on, you’re telling me we have designers that can come up with something that looks like THAT (and yes, I know they lifted various parts from other cars, but every car company does it, and let’s face it, not all of them manage to bring it together nicely), and we still get stuff like the new Proton’s rear fascia? NOW I’m pissed.

• rapidshifter on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:20 am

that what designers do…. but decision to produce not up to them.. go figure…

• it would be nice if its launch betwen now – 2015, would be outdated if beyond that

• GTR 2.0 on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:20 am

Nice rear lamp :) Got the WOW factor… If and only if they can produce exactly like that.

• claymation on Mar 19, 2012 at 2:01 am

seriously? i think rear lamp is butt ugly. reminds me of savvy somehow

• clutch basah on Mar 19, 2012 at 7:45 am

Front and side was quite nice, simple, subtle and very LEXUS/TOYOTAish.
      The rear part was so KIA resemblance, Cadenza or K7 to be exact. Check this out:
      http://toyonda.deviantart.com/art/2012-NEW-Kia-K7-PREVIEW-rear-151324366

But don’t think it was intentional by Proton designers due to current design trend (following Korean now LOL). If you’ve notice bimmer 5 series also followed the same design and plenty other makers.
      How I wish it was P321A’s.

• Jolly_idiot on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:23 am

Look like it has a low roofline for rear passenger. Please to repeat the same junk2 mistake!

• Actually my mum’s rear headroom of her gen2 is better than the rear headroom of the Civic those hybrid models from Japanese makes.

• shawal on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:26 am

nice rear, front is a lil sober, the front looks too much like a civic, make it a more aggressive front like a dodge charger

• luffykewl on Mar 19, 2012 at 2:04 am

i didn’t think they are taking the design from civic..
      all i can see is mazda6 headlight shape with some LED, combined with exora bold front grill..
      and i do think the grill design is what they call it Proton’s DNA..
      correct me if i’m wrong.

• jongos on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:31 am

nice. why can’t proton make car with design exactly like this one?

• The design looks fantastic. I hope proton can actually produce this model without altering the design. The design of the P3 looks disastrous compared to its concept version ‘Tuah’ especially the rear lamps.

• alexHTthis on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:39 am

Nice front end design, BUT sorry Proton. Like almost everything you have come up with since the Gen 2 , All your cars (Persona SE and Exora aside) have extremly ugly rear. This one seems to have a BMW 5GT or a Audi A7 (both cursed with ugly ass) rear end with a pseudo-Audi Q7 rear light . Why must the rear window curved up not down like the MB CLS, makes the car look fat on the rear .
    PS: Take tips from Mercedes-benz CLS or Hyundai Sonata rear end next time :)

• Gen2..

• Pororo on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:03 am

Next Perdana maybe??? They should change the Banana V6.. too outdated lah….

• Pororo on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:04 am

The rim design of the model really2 resemblance to Sonata and Tucson rim…

• Bryan Ng on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:09 am

Honestly, they should have used this design for the new P3-21A.

• Nicholas Ng on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:19 am

I’m glad to see that our Proton is making improvements on designs. I hope they will also improve on quality and fuel efficiency. Keep up the good work Proton. Only then you’ll gain trust from the rakyat.

• Rear reminds me of the Kia Cadenza a.k.a K9. Love the headlights anyway.

• Jason on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:22 am

Proton! Y U NO USE THIS CLAY MODEL DESIGN TO P3!!!!!!!!

• unnon on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:26 am

Face lift for p3-21a!! hope it will be.. n i’m so sure proton sale will be up by a lot. nice clay project design..

i think proton do have all these creative design.. but when they see at the cost, they have to change the original design to cut the cost..

keep moving forward proton. ^^

• Milton on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:28 am

This design is nicer than the actual production version

• alldisc on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:14 pm

it is because designer have different thinking, stylist different thoughts.. manufacturing side again must alter this and that.. or else wrong design if want to remove radiator must remove engine first.

and then there is this cost factor by the decision maker… if cost of LED lamps too high… go for conventional

• i say, lets build it!

• Kangkang Tonggeng on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:37 am

Would be great if they produced this to replace their Gen2 and Persona models. Its about time though for these models to be replaced too.

• Syazwan007 on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:44 am

I asked one of the design staffs at the event, this clay was actually one of the rejected design for the new proton because they wanted a safe and long lasting design.. This car looks good, but will it be so after 5 years? Radical designs tend to age faster.. So lets not condemn proton for rejecting this design because they think in the long run and no base on current trends.. Keep up the good work proton, make malaysia proud..

• DRB should fire that person who decides ASAP. Have they lost their mind? Looking nice is NOT radical, looking boring is NOT safe.. at all.

• kerambitlaut on Mar 20, 2012 at 12:40 pm

They did market research. Their decision based on facts and figures. They have collaboration with design consultant. They have information. They DID their job. I wonder what happen to this country if everyone is expert in all fields and demand a person to be fired just because of his personal view.

• jongos on Mar 19, 2012 at 8:50 am

if then, i wonder how they think.. this is considered as a neat design, not that radical.

• Of course they want a long lasting design. Otherwise how to sell that car for another 20 years?

• It looks better than the current P321a. But that is still to be seen as we don’t know how many original % will be lost through conversion like how Tuah ended up like the current. :S

It’s not bad of a model, the tail lamp should be a little bit higher or slimmer. Others just look perfect.. Btw, I don’t think this is a radical design, it actually resembles kia’s fluid sculpture concepts. Which, admit it la, it looks stunning, prettier than most japs.

• The Enthusiast on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:50 am

I agree with you. VW design team have the same principle. That’s why their cars are still good looking over time although not much of their cars’ design have changed. Honestly Proton’s design changes varily from one model to another and to another generation. It’s prime time for Proton to be more mature in terms of design and stick to their guns. Better yet, come up with a signature global look in the likes of Merc and BMW so that everyone will know how a Proton looks like.

• GTR 2.0 on Mar 19, 2012 at 2:18 pm

Agreed. They also should stick with the same name for each model; Saga, Persona and Perdana for sedan. Waja for the new SUV, just in case.

• to me that’s just a bad excuse. Radical can be good if you stick to the same design language in the future – just like what Kia, Hyundai and Mazda are doing. Even BMW changed their design language a few years ago and it turned out well for the Company.

With a new look you can define a new and fresh design language that will be the basis for upcoming models. How to be innovative if you don’t take risks and try something new? Proton is nearing its 20th year in existence, its high time they think out of the box.

• PakAbu on Mar 19, 2012 at 10:26 am

Maybe it was rejected because …. if you look at the boot lid lines… the boot can’t be opened !?

Just kidding. :mrgreen:

It’s a clay model….

• driver on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:57 am

The front bumper resembles Gen-2.

I would prefer a continuation from the bottom line of the headlamp to the grill-air intake opening, instead of having the “pointy” edge touching the headlamp.

• Razor on Mar 19, 2012 at 2:07 am

Side SHoulder line, Rear tail lights and rims sebijik Forte

• critic_A on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:22 am

sebijik kepala otak ko la! i wonder how its look like forte’s rear light if compare side by side u dumb fool!

• lol…90% of comment comparing this model with other brand…i am proud of these young Malaysian car designer, our own people..rather than hire other guy to design their car (KIA if i not mistaken la ;D )

• Yes, of course it good that it’s our own ppl but please do mind that they should hire COMPETENT ppl. And KIA hired competent 1s, regardless of nationality (and they manage to turn their concepts into production without big modifications).

• It is better for these young talented people to join other companies that produce a larger range of models at a faster rate. Over here in proton they would just be wasting their potential as concepts remain as concepts and and model changes/replacement takes a life time. Basically after the p321a, they will be only making clay concepts aimlessly…knowing they will not go into production in the near future. all because proton does not have the resources to churn out new models quickly. It is best for these talented people to join a company where they can really grow and see their work bearing fruit. We can still be proud if our fellow Malaysian were to design a Kia model or VW etc.

• shahzad on Mar 19, 2012 at 3:25 am

nice looking car…finally a design that appeals :)

• Future design of proton cars,at least their is effort to make such beautiful cars.salute proton,this cars is nothing to compare to other cars as it stands for itself in it’s own class.

• zahmer on Mar 19, 2012 at 6:28 am

Great design on clay but how real when transform in production line

• Why o WHY???? Proton should build the car out of this clay model. =(

• ericT on Mar 19, 2012 at 6:50 am

i thought it was a Honda Civic after i saw the first picture

• msian on Mar 19, 2012 at 7:07 am

niceeeeee!proton please put cars like this into production!

• PetrolLeg on Mar 19, 2012 at 7:30 am

Thumbs up! Sleek design, great engine, drvibg pleasure, good quality and durability is one of a few factors to a great car.

• Ariffshah on Mar 19, 2012 at 7:56 am

Par excellent…please come out with this exact design!!!!!

• no good. the feeling is like looking at new civic. i’m not saying both have same design etc..just the feeling when how i look at it.

• BadBET on Mar 19, 2012 at 8:12 am

lovely… make it as perdana replacement

• cupin on Mar 19, 2012 at 8:25 am

shut up n take my money… :p

• Ughh! It’s Savvy mutated into sedan!

Design mentality 15 years backward lah…looks like an old elantra…Ughhh!

Is that the best Protongkat can think of?

Can’t wait for Jeremy Clarkson embarrass that new P3-21A (PERIA) at Top Gear in front of 300 million global viewers…easily one of the all-time funniest car joke ever…

• lol this guy still got interest in looking at Proton cars. Well done proton

• khairulx19a on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:38 pm

seriously savvy???, i c no resemblance n dude u have some serious issue…..

• wolfsburg on Mar 19, 2012 at 8:33 am

A Hyundai wannabe?

• Whynot on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:34 pm

Not actually, but a better design of a sedan with a modified Proton Exora front bumper and one of the BMW back lamp is more like it!

• vroom on Mar 19, 2012 at 8:34 am

side window reminds of hyundai avante from side view…should be more muscular looks from side as per Inspira or jetta looks from side. THe rear is looks nice but the taillight shud to be fine tune on the shape to make it impressed. The front is nice design ..just the matter to make the light smoke grey type and led fog & DRL..

Hope the CFE engine will combine with DSG gbox this time…real life

• Vj the Rat on Mar 19, 2012 at 8:38 am

Ya, nice copy of the Forte…wait, is proton rebadging Kias soon? Maybe this design was rejected after Naza lost the bid to Drb…

• Sniper on Mar 19, 2012 at 8:55 am

Proton only good in producing clay model but not real car. What a shame.

• Rulered on Mar 19, 2012 at 8:56 am

Not only Proton, other car manufacturer’s initial clay design isn’t the same as the final product, it’s just we aren’t aware about it.

• this design looks nicer compared to the p32-1a.. sportier and looks ‘more expensive’.. my two cents.. i wish you good luck proton..

• syafeeq on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:01 am

Reminds me of a Peugeot somehow.

It looks in trend at the moment, meaning if it ever makes production, it will already be dated…

• tricycle on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:01 am

If it was up to me, I prefer the Clay Model design rather than the Actual Model. But maybe due to the cost or design constraint, Proton has to come up with the Actual Model.

The Actual Model is just Acceptable in terms of design.

• eims @ gold on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:07 am

proton improved in terms of design.

• DewaSemut on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:22 am

P3-21A = Waja replacement
    This car = Persona/ Gen2 replacement

• totally agree with you.. kick inspira out, it is a rebadged anyway..

• Azahari on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:23 am

As long as if they build it wider that the clay model poportion i think it will still look nice in the real world. The key is to build it WIDE. I hope proton will not reject this model. It is not too dramatic like the E60 or Sonata. I the design looks matured like the F10 or E30. Nothing wrong to resembling on other famous brands. Many other big brands also doing the same thing what.

• infront look likes mazda6,at the back it looks like chevy cruze,but its smaller

• Wafa Nokman on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:38 am

A good Perdana replacement…

• ~Jvipers2~ on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:41 am

Cool design~
    Would be great if its the Perdana replacement..
    Plonk in a good turbo/sc V6 and all the industries goodies and it’ll give the Camry/Accord/Sonata a good run for their money.. :P

• c14man on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:41 am

nice design.. how come this designs dont make it to production?
    overall design in feels european.
    back is BMW-ish. front is Audi-ish.
    but overall very nice looking.
    hope quality can improve also. =)

• c14man on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:43 am

i see 2 rows of LED in headlamp.
    DRL and eyebrow? or just signal indicator?

• The Enthusiast on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:52 am

You got to admit, on a quick glance, this looks like a Civic. The saving grace is that it’s a rejected design.

• STormy on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:52 am

Why use the sharkfin design? Latter BMW sue for copyright infringement. Really lack of originality. Tail light resembled Citroen ds line also.

• Supertram on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:54 am

gen2 body difrent front end n rear end, so proton now always gonna do this type of lowrear roof body?

how bout come up with full sedan design next? stop using gen2 “template”

• Kerambit Laut on Mar 20, 2012 at 1:08 pm

they will be using the same “template” many times because it is very expensive to design a new platform.

• more often than not the designs are nice but wont make it to production lines because the local vendors cannot manufacture or charge a bomb for the new design moulds. such a shame really because the company is controlled by the vendors because they say what can and cannot be produced. if the Company is free to choose international vendors i bet you’ll see a lot of nicer designs and quality on the roads.

• I agree.. And those who can produce what they can’t is being cut off from the offer. :/

If P1 means it then they should have cut ties with those who can’t deliver.

• concept always look better than the production.

• Johnny on Mar 19, 2012 at 10:22 am

Proton, please turn clay into reality!

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari'sCousin on Mar 19, 2012 at 10:28 am

Proton, go ahead and produce this model to replace the Persona n Gen2 at one go!!

• Seriously on Mar 19, 2012 at 10:38 am

This should have been the only concept design shown, not those “for fun” “inter-dept” rubbish which you and everyone else here knows will just end up in the trash at the end of the day.

• Whynot on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:43 pm

Must say. I am worry that this could happen too. And that is why 1Malaysian is not happy with P1 all this while. Is either the design decision maker at P1 is not listening to us or there is a big problem with the design department for all this while. This really sucks!

• back look like KIA , front look like Camry

• 1Malaysia on Mar 19, 2012 at 11:35 am

Gen.3 CFE ? or Perdana.2 CFE?

• pekan on Mar 19, 2012 at 11:36 am

PROTON

Y U NO MAKE THIS MODEL!?

• March on Mar 19, 2012 at 2:14 pm

IMPOSSIBRUUUUUU!!!!

haha JK :)

Well regardless of what ppl say… i still think its great that proton’s improving their design…

all the best Proton!!!

• Copy of a Hyundai Elantra and a rear Forte

• Whynot on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:11 pm

How everyone wish P1-23A would look something like this! But then again we would have to wait another boring year to see the reality. Better hurry up P1. Because lots of 1Malaysian still buying Toyota and Perodua. This model is definitely can made head turns!

• autojohndoe on Mar 19, 2012 at 3:28 pm

wah… you got to know new model arr??

P1-23A….

all this while, we only know P3-21A… hoho

• soundsfishy on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:50 pm

look at the final photo, someone still concern on the power window..

• msabu on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:31 pm

proton ni model yg canteek pada clay design shj,bila lancarkn hampehh..back 2 step behind

• Slump Dog Billionaire on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:41 pm

Looks like P1 is on a good roll now. Those Japs and Koreans car are far behind. I pity those Japs and Korean car owners. You pay a hefty sum to buy the car and when you sell, the price is so low. I wonder if these owners could change their mind and be smart. How can you be that stupid to tolerate this? As for the P2 cars – only pelesit and rempit will buy these cars.

Bravo P1 – you P3-21A is a gem. I can’t wait for the launch. I will be the first to buy your car as I plan to sell my lousy Forte.

• khairulx19a on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:42 pm

can they replace this car head and rear lamp with the latest lotus exige headlamp and rear lamp and change the design a little, i think i gonna be awesome

• Veelzedub on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:53 pm

Looks nice but needs to be a little bit longer. Currently, the rear doors look too small and disproportionate

• Norman on Mar 19, 2012 at 2:21 pm

I dun give a hoot about clay but please proton it’s time to make Neo,Perdana replacement and a new Suv with fresh new engines.The most important factor is to make b-line and m-line affordable to rakyat ie 1.3 ranging from 30-38k.Those h-line and r3 tuned should sell below 70k then ppl will change their perception about proton.Dun be too stingy with accessories as most customers only care about gadget in the car and not the engine alone.In Singapore there was times when Hyundai and Kia outclass Toyota and Honda in sales chart terms for their bold sales tactic.Simple I rather buy a Kia forte 1.6 with free 16 inch rims,built in gps and DVD,Branded leathers and free 5x service for 60k rather than take a basic Thailand Toyota Altis for 58k!

• hold on buying P321a, this concept has similar side profile to P321a. perhaps this will be the facelift version.

• can someone tells me what does vendor mean? why the production lines are different from clay model..

• CarDriver on Mar 19, 2012 at 3:13 pm

it’s just because the logo is ‘Proton’, then everyone complaining…
    let say the logo is other brands??
    but still i see lots of Proton cars on the road…

nothing is perfect

• Perdana replacement on Mar 19, 2012 at 4:01 pm

Good design! Hope this clay model will go into production. I personally think this clay model can be the replacement model for Perdana instead of rebadging other models. Good work by Proton design! Keep up the good work!

• Protonlotusiast on Mar 19, 2012 at 5:57 pm

nope..when this clay revealed..no more chance 2 see into a real car..

• Pramanathan on Mar 19, 2012 at 5:20 pm

Gen-2 new model….haha…….!!! far more better than the P3-21A Tuah

• Grandpatrucker on Mar 19, 2012 at 6:49 pm

Ini baru cantekkkk

• policeman on Mar 19, 2012 at 7:12 pm

Too small.

• Proton has called the new P321A a moving sculpture. There is so much hype created by Proton. Yes, the car looks quite current with features that are again current to be competitive. The issue is, their product lifecycle is too long. Yes, in the next 1 year, the new Forte will be out. Thats how fast the Koreans are moving. Can Proton churn out new and replacement models at the speed of the Japanese and Koreans? The answer is no, they simply do not have the resources.

There was so much of hype created when the waja and gen 2 was launched..because it was designed in-house and were good enough to grace any roads in the world. They were supposedly a global car. Was it the case? no. Simply because the world is moving at a much faster pace..and so is the competition.

Now the Koreans are there and they are making cars like mobile phones. The forte was launched in 2009 and the replacement model is already under testing. Those days a new model comes out in maybe 5 years or more, but the Koreans have changed the playing field..so much so the Japs are on their toes trying to keep up with their pace.

Basically this new Proton will be dated in the next 1-2 years because of the speed of competition. Looking at the trend the replacement for the P321A will be in 5-6 years.
    If Proton is unable to keep pace with the competition, the only other logical choice into beef up their resources to stay competitive by merging with a stronger company.

We can look at the product life cycle of each and every Proton car. How are they going to survive at this rate? We cannot only be looking at the new P321A and say proton is up there with the rest. There is much to be done. proton has to look at it’s overall business strategy. Perhaps people in Proton realize this and want to make a change, but when politicians still influence key decisions for their own gains, it will surely lead to failure. No point bringing patriotism in, we all want our national car to do well globally but we also have to be practical and do what’s right for it’s long term survival.

• DArkerMarker on Mar 19, 2012 at 8:08 pm

the door mirror sudah jatuh oredi ker??

• tok-kok on Mar 19, 2012 at 8:47 pm

Front look like Civic
    Back side look like Chevy Cruze

Proton C-Cruz maybe??

• wong ah yat on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:12 pm

The back looks like Audi Q5, but everybody must have missed one small detail, it says “Finish Product” on plate, so this is as good as it gets, it is a RC (remote control) car from Proton, with 6 channels (RC followers would know) control….wa ka ka

• Looks nice and clean cut. Maybe the next aeroback (2 and half box) Proton.

• ahmadfaris93 on Mar 19, 2012 at 10:05 pm

Looks a bit like the Pug 508 . Potentially the new Perdana. Make it fast please. Perdana is waaaaay too old. It is needed to be changed.

• nabildaim on Mar 19, 2012 at 11:52 pm

i know we have top designers and talented engineers in Proton…why is Proton reluctant to produce this kind of design??? what stopping Proton?

• critic_A on Mar 20, 2012 at 9:03 am

cos of rakyat! this kinda design sure exp and no buddy wana buy an over price proton~ and thats a fact

• STormy on Mar 20, 2012 at 12:00 am

@mr critic_a, how do you know what car I m driving?
    Can’t you take constructive feedback on the clay model? Typical bodohland mentality.

• GT Driver on Mar 20, 2012 at 3:56 pm

Wah.. we got P3-21Awhatever replacement already??

• adilzz on Mar 20, 2012 at 11:34 pm

the grils…looks like accord

• Jerry on Mar 21, 2012 at 11:28 am

First of all, to the eyes of a layman, the design conveys a relatively modern and successful look.

But the professionals might suggest that the stance is not quite up to the mark while some of the cut lines around the rear bumpers are incorugorous, rather haphazard in fact, and the large expanse of bare area between the taillamps might takes time getting use to.

All in all, in comparison with the 21A which was penned by Guigario, the latter seems like a more accomplished, professional effort.

• JeremyNg on Mar 23, 2012 at 11:43 am

Now this look like proper car ………. I hope they produce it exactly the same !!!!

• aMoei on Apr 04, 2012 at 12:03 am

Why Hendra look poyo infront of clay model.. hehe

• Bunga putih on Dec 01, 2012 at 12:49 pm

tempat letak number plat tu letak la dekat bonnet kereta baru nampak cantik,nie letak number plat dekat bumper kereta I feel like is not suitable.

• haffiz on Dec 07, 2012 at 3:58 am

this car like hyundai sonata and mybe hyundai elantra

• faiz jalal on Feb 09, 2013 at 8:38 pm

this is more exclusife then before. but, if proton want to make much better model they must have a young design car from malaysia, and try to make a new tecnology for car.