Proton P3-21A build-up process Day 5: Fabric Seats

Well, the Proton Power of 1 event has come to an end, and so has the five-day build up process, where Proton teased us different parts of the upcoming P3-21A sedan. It didn’t exactly end up being a complete build up, as you can see from today’s photos, with the last piece of item teased being the seats.

These seats are wrapped with fabric, as indicated by the leaked spec sheet. We expect an SE variant in the future to introduce leather seats as well. The rear bench has two headrests and a fold-down arm rest which integrates two cupholders, which is convenient.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• syntium5000 on Mar 18, 2012 at 10:49 pm

nice review Paul..BTW it should b Day 5 in ur title…

:-)

• go naza1 on Mar 19, 2012 at 10:37 am

kudos to proton for launching a car with rear seats!!!!

i’m so proud of proton, go proton, go!!!

let me guess, tmr is front seat??? oh my gawd….i’m thrilled!!!!

• ntah.. on Mar 19, 2012 at 2:06 pm

if you really want to see the real thing, just search it in google.. i’m pretty sure that there are a lot of leaked image on the internet.. jeez.. banyak bebel mcm pussies..

• Obama on Mar 19, 2012 at 10:45 am

anti-climax post

• Arrian on Mar 19, 2012 at 2:26 pm

anti-climax but you still read i and give a comment..means you still interested in

however, i agree with you, proton is playing with time…it is not necessarily getting people more excited to know but will less “kick” and boring, fed-up etc. It may marketing strategy but it is bad marketing strategy. I fell little bit disapointed when clay models only shown (well, i do not know when it going to launch) beside all dilapidated and obsolete models (except new exora). Has nothing to loud by proton. To compare with VW show last year, simple but more interesting.

• Soon to launch…and the date also bit concern with PRU13.
          Sure PM to rasmi the model….wait jer ok.

• burung on Mar 18, 2012 at 10:54 pm

err, did you mean “has come to an end”? instead of “has come to an event”?

• sudonano on Mar 18, 2012 at 10:58 pm

So, is that all? Any clues on the launch date?

• Pissed off from proton on Mar 18, 2012 at 11:03 pm

You know something Proton! I booked this car since march 14. but now im planning to go for another brand even if you dont refund my RM500. i dont care. you proton people are acting as if you are the first company to create a car. WTF, its only a car. why so much teasers, at the end of the day you are not teasing people to buy you are teasing them to scold you and go home. beleive me if elantra avante launches b4 you then your car is dead meat. anyway if you still have blood in your viens you should luanch by this week regardless having no big boss, or else we might start thinking that you only have a few pieces manufactured till now and your not brave enough to say our launch will be next 6 months. over and out

• really or not u book adi? *ismellbluffing*

• Statistician on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:41 am

Sebenarnya dia orang tak mampu deliver sebelum Raya. Tapi takut customers beli brand yang lain sebum Raya. Itu sebabnya tease here and tease there to make sure you hold your Ford purchase and wait for this crap. Pandai betul diaorang

• F Fiesta on Mar 18, 2012 at 11:39 pm

Hey how about you book for Ford Fiesta more reliable car and more awesome than Proton P3… though Proton P3 bigger than Ford Fiesta but remember that Ford Fiesta especially the sport one has nice design well balance ride and handling.

You won’t regret getting Fiesta even Fiesta could beat Forte easily.

• driver on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:43 am

Hmm.. bro, isn’t this too obvious from a salesman? Maybe it’s just me.. LOL!

• Bob Vettel on Mar 19, 2012 at 7:07 am

Ford was just as guilty as Proton was when they launched the Fiesta – I remembered they brought a Singapore spec car to show at Sunway Pyramid in March – only in November launch!

What’s even more pointless is the fact that the car’s already available in the UK for a while, so why even bother with teasers?

• farghmee on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:53 am

aduyai bro..beragak agak la sket nk jd promoter tu.

u ckp fiesta bagus, u dh tried ka ini p321a?

kalu blum, mmg u bluff la man.

i xpercaya org2 bluffing nih..hahaha

• samsam on Mar 19, 2012 at 10:32 am

my family got both Fiesta, the first car i drive is the Fiesta S, yes handling best stiffer suspension but i couldnt drive it 7days a week. if living in city basic Fiesta should be ok but its just a transportation it doesnt give u a fun feeling.

if got Ford Fiesta salesman/owner here, pls tell me why my family Fiesta S steering rack failed twice and now the third got sound d. hope im not the only one =]

• mustafa on Mar 19, 2012 at 11:07 am

Fiesta? the sound of the rear door closing really put me off…so tin sardin sounding….really poor…..

• harris murad on Mar 18, 2012 at 11:47 pm

have to kinda agree with you bro on this but nevertheless be patient lah ya?
      sikittt je lagi (i hope), wont be that long by now.
      im sure they are trying very hard to rectify whatever thats wrong to make sure the end product is great/meet people’s expectation..
      come on PROTON!!!
      we want to BELIEVE!!

• Whhooo?.. Calm down tiger!

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Mar 18, 2012 at 11:53 pm

Hehehehehehehe….. They’ve told you on the day you book your ‘said’ P3. But now youre jumping here and there mumbling…..

If youre not satisfied with the arrangement with Proton, just file your case with Consumer Department. The form just cost you RM5 only.

No point for you to shout in PT. It will just show how stupid you are in handling a sure win case.

What a waste…….!!!!

• sabar la bro

• MoFaz on Mar 18, 2012 at 11:56 pm

i find this comment unbelievable… you booked and now deciding to cancel it after a mere 4 days? hahaha..
      why do you book it if you can’t wait? after just 4 days?… we all have been waiting for this ‘global’ car for years!

• Dude what’s the heartache all about? go to other car manufacturers then. You hate Proton because of the teasers? That shows the teasers are working. You can’t even hold your balls waiting for it. Chillax. Worth it to be patience a bit. You got nothing to lose man.

• Proton still not learning the lesson …..which “Savvy ” vs ” My-Vi” launching past few years back….after a week late …..now still repeating the same strategy. Wake up lah….not like late 90’s Proton anymore…

• Ah Tan on Mar 20, 2012 at 9:06 am

Regardless of the launch date,if you like a specific model,i think you should be willing to wait for it. Unless, you have a 50 – 50 feeling about it and there is obviously a better model coming in your way.

• tok-kok on Mar 18, 2012 at 11:33 pm

hopefully this car can sell lah.. not just in Malaysia, overseas as well..

Will Proton send a unit to Jeremy Clarkson for review??

• JC’s review is biased… bt then it is just his personal view… n TGear is not really a factual show… it was more towards entertainment/fun show…

• shawal on Mar 18, 2012 at 11:41 pm

awww… wuz hoping fer black leather seats..

• bReaL on Mar 18, 2012 at 11:41 pm

holy cow its a seat!!! way to go proton…keep it up!!

• From the picture it looks smaller than my waja even tho the spec show bigger in difference. Im not sure what engineer means its bigger than waja, perhaps from the spec. Waja also feels roomier than inspira in the rear seat.

• MoFaz on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:02 am

waja is boxy.. boxy cars tend to get bigger cabin space compared to err.. non-boxy shape. haha.
      i have waja and my sis have persona, even though waja and persona are quite close in size, waja feel bigger in cabin. but boot size for persona is really bigger than waja, and no annoying metal arm intruding into the boot space too! i hate to see that they have the metal arm on this P3-21A / Preve…

• Proton on Mar 18, 2012 at 11:54 pm

knowing proton they probably will say tak apa. u cancelled ur booking

but i like ur comment.”they acting as they are the first comp to create a car”

• Got isofix or not?

• civicEK on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:33 am

got bro.

• Arrian on Mar 19, 2012 at 3:22 pm

sorry just to ask, you refer to the P3 or to vios J? Vios J does not have eventhought it priced at 73K, some more no airbag, have to use fingers to adjust the side mirror and if it was hit by motorcycle, you have to stop at side to adjust them again, no fog light eventhough it is cheap, no intermittent wiper, steel crap rim, lousy seat bla, bla ,bla…

• Jolly_idiot on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:16 am

No big deal. Getting bored looking at it. Frankly speaking, the design look easily outdated compare to other brand. If proton still don’t launch it, it’ll start loosing potential customer since so many other brand comes with better design and carries similar price tag.

• Rajesh Koothrappali on Mar 19, 2012 at 2:01 am

Sorry to say but most Proton’s seats are hard and shapeless! My 2002 Waja 1.6X leather seats are flat and does not provide any support or makes my body all lenguh on long distance. Sat in the Exora, same thing.. flat seats. Don’t proton study human body ergonomics? My 1993 Proton Iswara 1.5i A original fabric seat is still the best and its got a killer aircond! Waja vents does not work! (as well as everything else). I hope this car is not just an empty promises like what the PM is promising to the rakyat. Remember, I bought an Asian BMW, this new Proton Espire is Asia’s Audi.

• samsam on Mar 19, 2012 at 10:37 am

“”My 1993 Proton Iswara 1.5i A original fabric seat is still the best and its got a killer aircond!””

may i know whats killer aircond? you mean cooler?

• freaking cold that could kill, that’s why it is called “killer aircond”

• Rajesh Koothrappali on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:50 pm

Yes, the original Proton Saga has got one of the best air cond for our weather! It is so cold and immediate. When you open the door, you can feel the instant coolness. Look at all the taxi drivers, don’t they look happy? Judos to the engineers that is responsible for the original Saga!

• theanswer on Mar 19, 2012 at 11:01 am

but saga blm seat is good. u should try drive a myvi..then u know. hahaha

• I want SE version…make front bumper juz like exora bold!!

• inderaloka on Mar 19, 2012 at 8:16 am

Lambat lagi nak launch, baru siap pasang tempat duduk. :-)

• That’s it? Day 7 suppose to be Power Window unit display right?

Why not show the Power window unit in detail to convince us it wont rosak again? Oh ya solved the problem by giving LifeTime warranty…

Well that’s how Protongkat show ordinary car stuffs but shout it loud as 10th wonder of the world. Pathetic syok sendiri.

Whoever wasted their RM500 from their BR1M sedekah to book the P3-21A (PERIA) must be so ashamed now buried their head in sand like ostrich…

• Eyesore on Mar 19, 2012 at 11:41 am

ko buta ke ape? kan ade power window display kat area tuh? tak nampak ke ape? nampak sgt tak pegi situ… komen je lebih..

• yippi33 on Mar 19, 2012 at 8:30 pm

tsk..tsk..pathetic basher…whos gonna bury his shame head in the sand now..hahaha..

• ProtonKia on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:27 am

After they put in the rear seat in the skeleton, i don’t see any better spacing the rear seat, i just a bit similar to Saga BLM spacing, further on the skeleton, i don’t feel it bigger look bigger than CIVIC, ALTIS or Forte. May be the haven’t put on all of the front/read bumper and the rim yets. Hopefully the size and the spacing look promising.

• Ash Menon on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:34 am

What? This is ridiculous, they should have unveiled the car on the last day, no? Or at least finished the damn model. Every person who was paying attention to that model was expecting it to be finished on the last day, and I bet some even came back on multiple days to watch the progress. Whoever planned this portion of the event management needs to have his head examined. With a jackhammer.

• this teasing from Proton has gone a tad too far and instead of getting excited, i’m already starting to lose my interest on this car… Come on, how can a fabric seat gets people excited over a car? Are you guys from Proton really serious about this marketing sh*t?

:)
    I’d love to support Proton and in fact, the first few teasers really got me excited and I really can’t wait to see this new model and get the full details, in fact i am already starting to consider getting this car as my 2nd vehicle but then, this is really anti-climax when you keep on teasing and teasing and then don’t let people feel the excitement, I am totally fine with the sneak peek in a black box kinda thing, and masking the car with beautiful wallpaper type of design and so on, but there’s always a limit on how far you can go to create excitement to people and if you do this for far too long, the excitement will turn into frustration!

That is exactly the same feeling when people are buying a new car and you promise 1 week delivery but if you postpone it to 4 weeks or so, people will get frustrated and might just cancel the order, and buy other cars instead…

gosh!

I am no marketing expert, but I am just sharing my feeling as an end consumer…

• Supertram on Mar 19, 2012 at 10:02 am

so how showing a NOT complete car tease people to buy ?

heres an idea! how bout , i dunno.. show the full car?

• hilmy81 on Mar 19, 2012 at 10:03 am

For those with higher than normal expectation of what a car should be, don’t bother waiting for the Proton, honestly it is good but you have to come to terms with what it actually is. For those with bigger demands and expectations, start counting the days for the car on Paultan top banner to be officially launched.

• real inspira on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:40 pm

bought inspira, and dont need to wait for this local slow thingy

• ong chin aun on Mar 19, 2012 at 10:59 am

Disappointed used the Gen. 2 old campro engine. Why not with CPS in the basic model with Manual tranmission. ? What is the main problem in delaying the launch ? To tell the true, lot of people are expecting the new Elentra 2012 . It is very impressive and stylist plus new technologies. Only to compare the prices .

• lazyf on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:15 pm

its using an IAFM+ engine…
      not the old Gen2 old campro engine…

• tm_guy on Mar 19, 2012 at 3:33 pm

we can’t use CPS engine anymore due to:
      1. old 16 bit ECU configuration
      2. old design of Catalytic Converter (cant meet with Euro 4 emission level)
      3. CPS engine could get 150Nm at 4400rpm, IAFM+ with 32 bit ECU 150Nm at 4000rpm.

So u still wanna choose CPS ka?

• Gegary on Mar 19, 2012 at 11:09 am

That’s OK and all. But can we see a build-up of the POWER WINDOWS & POWER WINDOW SWITCHES?

• darksoul on Mar 19, 2012 at 11:11 am

huh i wish i’am there for the whole process; stack my tripod & dslr. Doing timelapse until its done. hahaha i wish!!!

• ini lagi bessssssttt dari mivi extreme laa sangat tuh…haha

• mustafa on Mar 19, 2012 at 11:20 am

hahaha….all those who slammed P1 for not showing the final product is actually the one who can’t wait to see the P3….you slammed p1 for this hahahaha…..bad publicity (to those who have no patient) is better than no publicity at all….hahahaha…

• if the premium comes with leather seat, you already have my money!
    but if i need wait till SE just for leather seats… then thats kinda lame.

• kahkahkah on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:29 pm

it seems feista owner being threatened by coming soon p321a..soon feista will be difficult to trade-in as happened to cruze owner…pity them..dont shout here..wrong place beb..

• dzulx on Mar 19, 2012 at 12:54 pm

I think they overdone the teaser..
    Be careful as potential buyer may get fed-up…

• KELETAKUEI on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:03 pm

Forget about getting new CEO…….put Mahathir in charge. See whether he can do the job or not…….. instead of giving all kinds of excuses. Advising is easy, form five boy can do.

• Ononimos on Mar 19, 2012 at 5:10 pm

“Advising is easy, form five boy can do.”

Funny.. Are you talking about yourself here??

• KELETAKUEI on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:58 pm

sorry bang……i only form three….pmr this year……any advice ah?

• KELETAKUEI on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:04 pm

Where they got the fabric ha? Kamdar?

• QUATTRO on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:28 pm

laaa> tak boleh tgk yg dah siap lg…

• tyrespare on Mar 19, 2012 at 5:01 pm

advertising is more extravaganzing than the real one..that’s proton from what i know..

• Dollah kol on Mar 19, 2012 at 10:08 pm

Proton is always like that. Manipulates those lower income people who cannot afford to buy imported cars which are much better in terms of quallity and reputation. Wait and see whether what Proton P3 is as promised. Don’t be another victim of Proton failures.

• Abang beca on Mar 20, 2012 at 3:12 pm

Another tin milo to be born

• Once complete build up……………. i think the model already out.