BTCC to start the season with an all turbo-charged grid

For the first time ever, the 2012 BTCC season will literally be a turbo-charged season. All cars will be come armed with a turbocharged 2.0 litre engine. More than half of the cars are built to the championship’s full ‘Next Generation Touring Car’ (NGTC) regulations. The remaining are current S2000-based race machines equipped with turbo engines built to NGTC specifications.

The season will feature cars from – in alphabetical order – Audi, BMW, Ford, Honda, MG, Proton, Toyota, Vauxhall and VW. 14 teams will race this year, which flags off from Brands Hatch in Kent on the weekend of March 31 and April 1. The race then continues at nine tracks around the UK.

In case you did not already know, there will be two Proton Persona’s competing under the banner of Welch Motorsport, an independent race team. If you want to catch all the action, but don’t have a satellite TV subscription, you can do so online. ITV will be simulcasting the race on their website.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• normal_user on Mar 20, 2012 at 4:40 pm

The NeoS2000 is proven to be competent judging from its performance in SWRC and APRC. Though I didn’t doubt the Persona’s capability, I believe the Neo weighs much lower and has better handling than Persona’s.

Last time the Waja BTCC (Petronas team) didn’t do well. Hopefully next time they will bring in the modified P3-21A race car.

• wonder why didnt they chosed proton neo instead…
      i guess they had their reason :)

• alldisc on Mar 21, 2012 at 9:53 am

it is touring car championship.. basically the cars are all 4 door saloon/hatchbacks or even estates

the intention is to find who can make the best and fastest family car around a track.

• Let’s see how the new era of turbo honda will fair against the rest. VTEC was great but that’s all in the past.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Mar 20, 2012 at 6:22 pm

Please tell me why a loss-making car company can continue to sponsor racing? How many cars did Proton sell in UK last year?

• Correct me if im wrong, but the team runs on private fund and not supported by Proton. The Brits just love Persona chassis so is Proton on the wrong side if someone loves the car and take it to a race?

• VeeDub on Mar 20, 2012 at 7:48 pm

oit baca betul2 la,jgn asyik nak bash ja!

• sfssd on Mar 20, 2012 at 8:46 pm

dia dah malu dah tu, takpe2….

• rally_fan on Mar 21, 2012 at 8:55 am

Please read before commenting less you incur the wrath of other users.

“there will be two Proton Persona’s competing under the banner of Welch Motorsport, an independent race team.”

• Jon DJ on Mar 20, 2012 at 8:27 pm

“Siput”-charged?! I reckon it will be super fast but still thinks that it cant beat the BTCC’s Class of 1994-96 cars.

• Jolly_idiot on Mar 20, 2012 at 9:00 pm

Campro turbo on btcc? Tak takut letup engine?

But if proton not using proton engine just like no spirit in the car.

NeoS2000 is great but with renault engine. So the heart of a car belongs to others.

• can’t say so….the s2000 neo is using the modified waja 1.8 engine…though it’s not the cam pro…

• Eyesore on Mar 21, 2012 at 10:00 am

Umm if u care to search… they already running in the last year BTCC… and NO.. the engine has not letup yet…. satisfy bro?

• Unforgiven on Mar 20, 2012 at 10:02 pm

Which car are you gonna support?

Tun M and the PM sons will never or ever proud of driving xx, you should know what they enjoy driving.

Your 9 years car installment is for them to enjoy German, Italian made carsss.
    Every car you buy will end up with some free money in the related parties pockets.

Please be honest and be good if you are not one of them.

• yah..bcoz u already on other side that y

• Eyesore on Mar 21, 2012 at 10:04 am

Of coz la.. money u use to buy will end up in someone else pocket… if not where will it end up? the drain? And if not mistaken P1 was founded to cater for middle class ppl who cannot afford to own an imported cars.. same goes to P2…. So tell me, what is wrong if Tun M who obviously not a middle class person does not drive a proton?If you dare go ask him whether he is proud of proton, the answer would definitely be ‘YES’…

• Unforgiven on Mar 21, 2012 at 2:33 pm

The only thing more shocking than the truth are the lies people tell to cover it up…

• ahmadjohnson on Mar 21, 2012 at 7:34 am

Go Proton !!

• samsam on Mar 21, 2012 at 1:06 pm

why not just appreciate the builder skills, leave the badge aside la, plus they are privateer not r3 or proton..