Kimi Raikkonen aiming for Sepang podium this weekend

Returning ex-champion Kimi Raikkonen was in the thick of the midfield battle last weekend in Australia, eventually scoring some points with seventh place. But the Finn is in a confident mood, and is looking to compete higher up in Sepang this weekend. He’s thinking of the podium!

“The car feels very good. In the race I was stuck in traffic a lot so it didn’t show so much, and who knows what might have happened if we had a better grid slot. There is a lot of speed in the car. As long as qualifying goes well we could be fighting for podiums. There’s much more to come. We’re learning about the car all the time and the last race didn’t really give us a chance to use its full potential. Hopefully Malaysia will be a bit more straightforward,” Kimi said.

“We’ll be trying to improve our performance in Malaysia. We don’t know how the car will behave there but it’s been good everywhere so hopefully it’ll be the same there. You still need a good car [at Sepang] and that looks to be what we have. Hopefully we’ll have a smoother weekend than we did in Australia with no mistakes,” he added.

Kimi’s team mate Romain Grosjean, who started third on the Melbourne grid but crashed out, is similarly pleased with the Lotus E20. “The car was working very well in Australia. There are always small improvements you can make but there’s nothing major I could point to right now. The car is performing very well,” said the Frenchman.

Lotus will be one of three teams with Malaysian links on the grid in Sepang. The others are Tony Fernandes’ Caterham F1 and the Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kimi the boss

• bx19gt on Mar 20, 2012 at 4:39 pm

love to see somone other than the drivers from Red Bull or McLaren on the podium

• Schumi can wat…he no.1
      Kimi can..he oso no.1
      Ferrari F1team can….is no.1
      I support Caterham F1 oso

• blackbox on Mar 20, 2012 at 5:06 pm

Kimi definitely can make it to the podium.

Fly Iceman!

• JeremyNg on Mar 20, 2012 at 9:28 pm

Kimi pls enjoy the blue flag again !!!

• tiger on Mar 20, 2012 at 10:17 pm

like the helmet tho..

• Alamak on Mar 20, 2012 at 11:34 pm

His helmet design has a protection rune featured on all his helmets

Go kimi !!

• AnwarBrahim on Mar 20, 2012 at 11:51 pm

Pooorahhh…. kimi just kidding.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 21, 2012 at 2:22 am

eventhough i don’t like renault/lotus/whatever you call them. you simply must love raikkonen.

• daamz on Mar 21, 2012 at 8:15 am

Kimi, I’m always you big fan! Vy excited to see how you perform last weekend. So less error during race but then you have to avoid same mistake during qualifying session. Lotus/renault car very fast as it was 2nd fastest behind Mclaren during last qualifying session (Q3) drove by Grosjean. Saw alot hope in Grosjean too. Both driver making F1 comeback and that was 1st race after comeback! It was decent performance. Grosjean with 3rd fastest, while Kimi finish in 7th in actual race. You guys should be in top 3 teams once the season finished! gud luck!