Toyota boosting Prius c production to meet strong demand

The Prius c has been a hit for Toyota, and the company can’t make enough of them. Toyota is shipping just 6,000 units of the compact hybrid to North America per month, which is not enough to satisfy demand, but that number is set to grow by mid 2012. The Prius c went on sale domestically in December last year, and hits US showrooms this month.

Supply constraints and soaring domestic market demand is keeping supplies low for the rest of the world. In Japan, the small car known as Aqua has racked up a big backlog of 120,000 orders. The rising yen (against USD) is also affecting profit margins for US sales, so it makes sense for Toyota to focus on fulfilling local orders.

The Prius c is exclusively made in Iwate, northern Japan, at a plant run by Toyota affiliate Kanto Auto Works Ltd. Kanto president Tetsuo Hattori revealed that the company is currently working on rolling out more units of the small Prius.

Besides improving efficiency that will increase overall capacity, the plant will gradually shift production of the JDM Toyota Ractis to a sister plant in Higashifuji from May. The freed up capacity will be used to make more Aquas.

Kanto’s Iwate plant makes about 30,000 units of the Prius c units a month. The annual rate of 360k units is already up from the originally planned 240k units, and it accounts for 80% of total plant output. Besides the Prius c and Ractis, the facility also produces the Toyota ist (called Urban Cruiser in UK and Scion xD in USA), Belta (we’re very familiar with this, the Vios) and the Blade hatchback.

The Prius c was launched in Malaysia last month, click here to read our launch report.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Yea, they better boost it since Honda screwed it up so bad.

• samlyn on Mar 21, 2012 at 3:19 pm

Agreed :) Honda Malaysia screw up the Honda Jazz potential owner :)

• Honda Power on Mar 21, 2012 at 11:10 pm

The only one who screwed up is you who bash Honda. If you don’t like Honda, you don’t have to bash The Power Of Dreams. Juz go n book your Moving Forward Toyota Prius C, if you can afford to buy it. Ha ha! Boo!

• paparadzi on Mar 21, 2012 at 1:26 pm

How long is the waiting period for the Prius c here in Malaysia?

• Car Driver on Mar 21, 2012 at 1:42 pm

It ‘s only a hit in US because @ 19,000USD about RM65,000 it is cheap and with better accessories.

It will not be @ RM97,000 here in bolehland.

• bobdbilder on Mar 21, 2012 at 3:29 pm

Its sold by Borneo Motors in Singapore from SGD 112,488. Price was correct as of last week. I don’t know whether COE is included. Didn’t see it in the fine print.

• keringkontang on Mar 21, 2012 at 4:44 pm

Tak ada modal lain ka, compare with singapore . Singapore got no space to park cars but……. they got MRT , so cheap so convenient….can go coast to coast within 1 hour. here you wait 1 hr for the bus to arrive. Their people earn 5 times more.

There is absolutely no reason to price cars so high in this country, it’s robbery. Let’s vote the robbers out. Proton is no longer national car. it is owned by an individual. we should demand our rights to buy cars at international prices…..like before proton came into the picture.

• paparadzi on Mar 21, 2012 at 4:38 pm

It is a hit in the US because it cost USD 19 000, get 50 miles to the gallon and gasoline is USD 4.50 a gallon nowadays.

Here in Bolehland it cost RM 97 000, which is about USD 31 500, and petrol is RM 1.90 per liter or USD 2.35 per US gallon.

• “if u buy any hybrid / pure electric cars, u r indirectly supporting the business demands of Lynas”
    How leh???

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 21, 2012 at 2:39 pm

Then you better don’t buy Smart Phone, LCD TV, Computer as well.

How many time we need to educate these idiot that Hybrid Car do not need those radioactive rare earth metal produce by Lynas.

Stupid ! i repeat 1 more time Hybrid Car use Dysprosium & Neodymium.

Not Thorium 232 which is radioactive & use for Nuclear Fuel.

What happen to our education system ?

• blackbox on Mar 21, 2012 at 3:52 pm

If I’m not mistaken Thorium is the by product of the rare earth production. Metal Hydride is the alloy of rare earth and hybrid car use Ni-MH battery like most of our AA size rechargeable battery. Handphone battery use Li-ion.
        If you are interested you may read this link,
        http://www.lynascorp.com/application.asp?category_id=1&page_id=10&app_id=3

BTW Stop Lynas Save Malaysia!!!

• Kampung on Mar 21, 2012 at 4:20 pm

Thorium itselt is not that dangerous. They need to bombard them with uranium to be nuclear plant fuel. If u count all things from earth belly is dangerous, might as well stop petronas from digging their fuel out.

Im no supporter of any political party but the lynas issue is highly politicize. Its a safe (and profitable) business with control in place. Damn those battery manufacturer emits more hazardous substances (lead, reagents, active chemicals) compared to lynas.

• littlefire on Mar 21, 2012 at 4:44 pm

Say that to Bukit Merah residents and c what they will tell u the same thing the G promise them long time ago…

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/192610

• snaz1 go on Mar 21, 2012 at 4:59 pm

do you have a bachelors degree in what you’re saying?

in internet age, we cant be bs by you, and i’m fairly certain we have at least a degree, so you can save your tricks. maybe a primary school or secondary school kid will be conned.

look at japan tsunami, the radiation is still happening!!!

there is a million way to make money, like….less corruption and buy less ferrari for the minister!!!!!

• Kampung on Mar 23, 2012 at 10:30 am

Worked in a Nuclear related organisation. TR, NIR, leak test etc u name it.

Certified Radiation safety officer. Check Thorium exposure (mSv) please.
            Thats why i clearly spell in my above comment, ‘with control in place’.

All radioactive material is dangerous without control in place. But with control, it can be used, even injected into human body as tracer (to detect stroke, blood vessel blockage, etc).

What happen in Bukit Merah is due to lack of control. Heck, even if u release spent chemical, solvent or oil (not even radioactive), all will die. Fish, people, rodent, plant…

So go out and asked from the people really know indepth on the issue, rather than surf around politic blogs. U gain nothing reading politic blogs. [Car blogs not included ;) ]

• blackbox on Mar 21, 2012 at 5:04 pm

Thorium emitting alpha particle while decaying, the alpha radiation emitted cannot penetrate human skin meaning owning and handling small amounts of thorium, such as a gas mantle, is considered safe. Exposure to an aerosol of thorium can lead to increased risk of cancers of the lung, pancreas, and blood, as lungs and other internal organs can be penetrated by alpha radiation. Exposure to thorium internally leads to increased risk of liver diseases.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thorium

And you say Thorium is not dangerous? The air that Kuantan people breath, the water that Selangor state might get from Pahang state, the sea food that you eat might from Kuantan too.

With internet you can easily learn new knowledge, you can also easily spreading false information. Please use it wisely.

• To be fair thorium232 in naturally occuring is safe due to very2 low concentration…but in high concentration it is more radioactive….since it has boiling/melting point of 4788/1842 celcius it is hard for us to be expose to thorium in aerosol form…in simple word it is solid in atmosphere..well if any waste product which contaminate water is dangerous….

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 21, 2012 at 4:42 pm

Another Stupid pretend to be smart.

As i said the dangerous compound in rare earth is Thorium 232 & Uranium 235 & 238.

Yes just like you Smart Phone, LCD TV, Tablets & Computer you are using to post your comment, Hybrid car uses rare earth metal but not the radioactive type.

So if you really want walk the talk, stop using all those stuff i mentioned, or else don’t try to be a Hypocrite (saving malaysia without sacrificing you high tech gadget)

I don’t support Radioactive waste disposal in our country but i do not try to Holier-than-thou either.

• snaz1 go on Mar 21, 2012 at 5:09 pm

yes, because you kill a cat yesterday doesnt mean you can start killing PEOPLE today1!!!!

2 wrong doesnt make 1 right.

yes, his father is criminal, his mother is criminal, so he must be a criminal?? you crazy??

so i use laptop and handphone so i must support lynas?

stop your BE ENd twisting culture here.

yes, you carried a xxx organ, so doesnt that make you a xxx offender?

grow up, and stop confusing ppl.

you eat meat right? so you can start killing ppl? only vegan is holy? u sicko

• Calling ppl stupid doesn’t make you smart okay?

blackbox didn’t mention anything regarding on boycotting hybrids or etc. There is 1 thing that I see from his message, that is “Stop Lynas Save Malaysia!!!”

Read and understand before you start labelling ppl.

• how can those ppl relating japan nuclear to this….omg…..talking bout radioactive…..i bet they all don’t use a phone don’t use computer….don’t even watch tv……these ppl…..if you aren’t the engineer…then pls read more…..i’m a engineer by the way…

• blackbox on Mar 21, 2012 at 5:52 pm

Please read http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thorium, before post.
            In nature, virtually all thorium is found as thorium-232.

The problem is, in nature Thorium are distributing evenly and buried underground or bond with rock or soil. What rare earth plant doing is producing it in mass concentration (even it is a byproduct).

I agree with you that hybrid car use the rare earth metal which is not radio active, but in order to produce the rare earth metal you generate radioactive waste or byproduct.

Hand phone, LCD, rechargeable battery, energy saving bulb and etc that I use require rare earth metal but added up together still not equal to the quantity use by 1 unit hybrid car. Hybrid car claim to be the “biggest user of rare earths of any object in the world.” If we have the alternative, then why use hybrid car. With the similar performance, I believe modern diesel car FC should be comparable to hybrid.

BTW, I don’t mind to have an open discussion, but what is the point to be so rude? If you not agree with one opinion just write yours and supporting with facts no point to insult people. I’m not smart, so do you. But I know how to respect people.

• aliphatic on Mar 21, 2012 at 8:23 pm

I agree with Kampung fella,
          I used to work with a rare earth company. Producing magnet for various use, we were producing magnet from rare earth. I cant disclose the rare earth here (it may scare some of shah alam folks), however i had checked using a tool called SURVEY meter, this rare earth in its own form is stable, without enhancing process it does not emit any radioactive or “activity” in radiation term. Literally, radioactivity is less or similar or background radiation (generate from the area itself).

I do not have any experience checking the rare earth use in Lynas, but fellas.. you should know that even our concrete is generating radioactive called “Radon”. In US Radon is measured and controlled however not in Malaysia. We are highly politicize by both Pakatan and Rulling, i just hope we are not skeptical and blindly fooled.

I do believe, Lynas is how government is testing on its future policy for Radioactive material, you should know we are running out of fossil fuel and the price is hiking overtime, thus cheap & by clean system is highly needed. We are blessed with less destruction from Nature,that is why we should venture into this radioactive utilization but first, the human preparation is a must. In the end we could harvest nuclear technology for greater good.

Btw, im an environmental tech degree holder.. and exposed to Radioactive Protection and not politically driven in this LYNAS issue.

• originals on Mar 22, 2012 at 7:53 am

bro, how u know fossil fuel is running out? you check in google or you go dig an oil well?

do they have a meter to check, like how we can know how much fuel we have in our car? mother earth told you that?

u wanna harvest nuclear? if japan failed to contain the nuclear waste, what makes you think your country man can do it? you wanna import foreign worker to work in your nuclear plant? because you know your own ppl are way to lazy and cannot be trusted to even service a car.

lynas is for corruption. if its so good, why australian dont want it in their home?

go google rare earth pollution.

we have intel here we have intel in USA, so intel is good enough.

and using mobile phone doesnt mean anything. i ate chicken meat yesterday doesnt mean i have to support you killing a man for its flesh today.,

• Kampung on Mar 23, 2012 at 11:02 am

Its not geographically economical to run RE breakdown near mount Weld. They want to venture in China initially, but China government try to play clever (they have their capacity) and control the movement of RE.

End up LAMP project in Malaysia. Lynas may thought we’re stupid but we ought to do the business if it safe (1st priority) and profitable (2nd).

• blackbox on Mar 21, 2012 at 4:09 pm

FYI,

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Monazit_opening_acid.gif

• Right Hand Drive on Mar 21, 2012 at 5:29 pm

Cool it bro. No body is stupid. All of us are born equal.

• in that case you dun use battery, so get off from your laptop and mobile phone. really follow dog fart. think you dun even know whats rare earth.

• snaz1 go on Mar 21, 2012 at 3:39 pm

running dawg for lynas. shame on you

• blackbox on Mar 21, 2012 at 4:06 pm

Please kindly compare the size of the battery of our laptop and mobile phone to the battery that use by hybrid car.

Read this from, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_Prius

“Battery pack from the second generation Prius
        A sealed 38-module nickel metal hydride (NiMH) battery pack providing 273.6 volts, 6.5 A·h capacity and weighing 53.3 kg (118 lb)[80] is supplied by Japan’s Panasonic EV Energy Co. They are normally charged to 40–60% of maximum capacity to prolong battery life as well as provide a reserve for regenerative braking. Each battery pack uses 10–15 kg (22–33 lb) of lanthanum, and each Prius electric motor contains 1 kg (2 lb) of neodymium; production of the car is described as “the biggest user of rare earths of any object in the world.”[81]”

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Mar 21, 2012 at 4:56 pm

Do you know that every car with Cat Coverter uses Rare Earth metal.

Neodymium is not radioactive ! Dumbo.

So you mean those million of Samsung Galaxy S2, Galaxy Note, Galaxy tab, Samsung Smart TV, Thousand & Thousand of Hyundai Sonata Hybrid, KIA Optima Hybrid sold yearly doesn’t use rare earth metal ?

How about million & million of energy saving bulb in our house ?

If this is a Korean Hybrid i am sure you will just keep quiet.

• what to do….they read any scientific term then trying to act small….those phone contributing to highest pollution i must say…and acting so green huh?cycle your bic la………drive car with….

• originals on Mar 22, 2012 at 7:48 am

those that supports are running brainless dawg for lynas.

mobile phone is a necessity. all those electronics is a necessity WITHOUT any alternative.

Why on earth you smart ppl wanna drive a hybrid at twice the price of myvi?? if u wanna save fuel, you buy ONE myvi. and drive carefully.

WE HAVE fossil fuel burning car and you can go diesel if you want.

Why you all FAILED to understand hybrid car is not needed and the rare earth consumption is not needed BECAUSE we have diesel car and all the k cars here like viva,myvi ( saga owner pls shut up, you car is higher FC, not because i hated your car).

WHY WANNA TWIST the fact that we DO NOT NEED rare earth to use in a car?? why you wanna learn from japan which has NO PETROL at all??????

Talk about rare earth, stop using google, pls call those who is in contact/using/researching the actual item. you research from google then you can get all the information?

you get your degree by googling? you can get your phd by googling? pls call up someone that really know something and ask.

and let me tell you, if gomen agree to put lynas in putrajaya, then i will say ok, pls build it. or build it in damansara(near minister house) alright??

• The summary of all this mumbling is dont support hybrid car n ev car? But wat bout petroleum extraction.. oso plague with radiation(NORM) mostly Ra-226 in water during extraction. Wat bout their catalytic process that use rare earth…where the waste go? Burning coal for electricity oso produce 100 time radiation than nuclear power plant! Uranium n thorium become concentrated..

• originals on Mar 22, 2012 at 10:24 pm

u are a ret@rd.

give me one alternative of petroleum.

no right?

so you are here to show that you are not intelligent.

electric car? wait…..petroleum for automotive is not the highest pollution source. wait….u are stupid……

do u have alternative for cat converter? no right? see i told u , u are stupid.

yea, burning coal is more pollution, will u die with coal? no…..but radiation leaking will make you die. see i told you, you are stupid

again ,u are running dawg….u open your mouth to let me critic.

ok, let me rephrase
            1. no replacement for petroleum, so digging oil will cause pollution, but no choice.
            2. cat converter also no alternative, so, no choice.
            3. hybrid car got alternative, we call it diesel car.
            4. you are not smart, you come here to let me shoot. you are lynas running dawg…..

• papa rich mama shop on Mar 21, 2012 at 1:57 pm

best busy city car ever ,,
    buy it for less $$ per month if u drive alot.

• I test drove the car on the weekend and was disappointed. The interior is very cheap and feels draggy when driven.

• hway de Cruz on Mar 21, 2012 at 2:26 pm

yes, the interior plastic is horrible.. not expected of the price range. other than that, the technology offered is a plus sign for the eco friendly stuff. but we as drivers r in the interior all the time, to be surrounded by cheap plastic, not willing to part my money for this car. makes me feel so el-cheapo

• papa rich mama shop on Mar 21, 2012 at 6:40 pm

i agree that this car feel el-cheapo bla3…
        but at least it can last longer,
        all those money focus on the car’s heart,
        well this is a economical hybrid car,
        want luxury + hybrid , buy the lexus … leather everywhere here and there,
        the price will be = google it urself , lalalala~~~~

• snaza go on Mar 21, 2012 at 2:35 pm

yea….like driving myvi only.

• papa rich mama shop on Mar 21, 2012 at 7:08 pm

your myvi I always saw accident when taking a corner,,
        and then , luckily your myvi been rebadge and the price is cheaper,
        imagine if prius c rebadge price will be around 75k-80k+
        better than your rubbish 6 speakers myvi ,
        auntie’s car..
        then,, this car engine top 5 WORLD best engine of the year ,, your myvi ?
        nahhhh…
        lots to compare, do more googling yeahh…

• Cant complains more…in other countries u pay 97k+ u can get the soft touch plastic but here 97k+ u can only get the ugly interior and the cheap hard plastic ! in US or whatever 97k can get a Lexus CT200H maybe 2…here just a Toyota.

• Good product sells by itself…

Which means that Protongkat EMASs already selling at negative 120,000 units and counting…

• Director on Mar 21, 2012 at 4:32 pm

For me, the only valid, premium hybrid in the market is Prius and Insight. Prius C and Jazz hybrid kinda cheap, stripped down model to get more market. What use multiple airbags if the sheet metal itself so thin and the body so small.

Prius and Insight have better build quality and feel premium. Though the Prius selling price is unjustifiable.

• oblong on Mar 22, 2012 at 9:05 am

Msian ‘premium’ market also got Lexus CT200H and Panamera S Hybrid hehehe

• FinancialGuru on Mar 21, 2012 at 4:33 pm

To the Americans , they can pay for the Prius with 4 month salary…..to the malaysian they can do the same by selling off 2 of their kidneys.

Malaysians are quite ‘patriotic”, they still smile after getting robbed and beaten to pulp.

• kerelbort on Mar 21, 2012 at 5:18 pm

FinancialGuru should include the state tax and federal tax that they need to pay before paying up their Prius…

anyhoo, in US is the price ‘start from’ or that is all inclusive?

internet should be use diligently

• drooo on Mar 21, 2012 at 9:55 pm

STATE TAX? FINANCIALTAX? You earn more you pay more tax in the US. Not like here , belum apa-apa kena tax sudah masuk dalam harga kereta. Tax lebih tinggi dari harga asal kereta sometimes. And people take car loan to actually pay tax!

• dreaming of maserati on Mar 21, 2012 at 4:38 pm

the most fuel efficient car money can buy today!

• loveit on Mar 21, 2012 at 6:03 pm

I shocked to see Prius C interior is like a concept car from the early 90’s. why can’t make it more like original Prius.

• Leong Teong Malam on Mar 21, 2012 at 9:16 pm

bcoz u want cheap.go for prius or ct200 then u will know the originality

pay more get more,pay less get less…pay nothing get nothing..nothing is free and free is nothing ~John Dwole

• loveit on Mar 22, 2012 at 8:44 am

I don’t think paying 90k++ is less …at least give us a decent look dash design not old-future look

well honda did it well in its insight why can’t toyota..

• Trenebaumics on Mar 21, 2012 at 7:10 pm

Support LYNAS!!! then you get cheap price hybrid car’s battery?? do they?? hahahahaha….

• alpha999 on Mar 21, 2012 at 11:52 pm

bashers will always be bashers without ending satisfaction.

want high quality, soft touch plastic and button at low price ? suck it up, dream on. THis is Malaysia and YOU BASHERS HERE ARE NO BORN YESTERDAY.

same jokers have been bashing vios for years, YET, top non-national model every year.

its not that u jokers cant afford it, but because aint worth the cash. so get a viva, myvi or saga, stop whining because u bashers just tiny weenie bunch that dont CARRY WEIGHT to the sale statistics, PERIOD!!!!!

• mkhor7 on Mar 22, 2012 at 8:09 pm

Most bashers would have loved to drive expensive cars MB, Lambo, Beem, Audi, …instead of being seen in Myvi, Ploton, THN models, but can only dream about it. Opinions and comments are cheap, no weight.

If you can afford it, splash your money, and make it go around… Petrol bills, resale value, green, hybrid… are not of concern with these buyers. For the rest of most people, their luxury are change HP, get ipad, eat in upscale places…..Next to a place to sleep and nest, getting wheels are big ticket items.

Spend, spend, spend, enjoy, be happy … later hopefully no regret :-(

Prius C is top in its class. If you are not shopping for this class of vehicle, don’t enter this class domain, stay out. Go cuci mata in Pavillion.

• haha, how true about your comment mkhor07, it just a different ppl who can afford a prius c and the one who can’t afford, so they will always complain and complain. Well, instead of complaining that the car overpriced or not nice, why dun u just think of how to make more money and change your life.