BMW F30 3-Series launched – 335i, 328i, 320d

The sixth-generation BMW 3 Series was revealed to the media this morning at the Mines Convention Centre. Codenamed F30, the latest compact sports sedan from Munich is available in three variants here – 335i, 328i and 320d.

The two petrol powered units can be had in ‘Luxury’ or ‘Sport’ trim lines. ‘Modern’ is not offered here, and the 320d gets no such choice, appearing quite basic in spec compared to its petrol siblings.

The trim lines are being introduced for the first time in the F30, which made its market debut in Europe just last month – good job to BMW Group Malaysia for introducing it so soon after! Sport and Luxury trims feature different lower front bumper designs and 18-inch wheel designs, among other details.

The Sport Line car’s kidney grille, window frame and and tailpipe trim are finished in gloss black, as opposed to chrome for Luxury. There’s also a small badge on the fenders that spells out the trim. The red car you see here is obviously the Sport.

Inside, Sport Line comes with sports seats, sports steering wheel, red stitching (steering and seats) and red accents on the dash – the latter is repeated on the key fob, quite a cool touch. There are also additional rings on the two dials.

Luxury Line features a “selection of classic colours”, chrome accents and wood trim. Many will opt for visually aggressive Sport, but I personally find Luxury very handsome in its own way, like a mini F10. Click here and here for hi-res galleries of the Sport Line and Luxury Line.

Moving on, under the 335i’s hood is BMW’s award winning TwinPower Turbo 3.0L inline-six with 306 hp and 400 Nm, good enough to propel the saloon to a 0-100 km/h time of just 5.5 seconds. Unlike before, this is the only six-cylinder unit available in a new all-turbo engine range.

Like the six-pot, the 328i’s 2.0L four-cylinder engine has twin-scroll turbo, direct injection and Valvetronic. It makes 245 hp and 350 Nm of torque, and is not much slower with a century sprint time of 6.1 seconds. That’s eight tenths faster than a Golf GTI, mind you.

The 320d is a great all rounder, marrying 184 hp/380 Nm output and 0-100 km/h in 7.6 seconds to a claimed fuel consumption figure of just 4.5 litres per 100 km. All self-shifting F30s use an eight-speed automatic gearbox.

Another new feature is ECO PRO mode, which can be activated from the “Driving Experience Control” button. Doing so reduces engine power delivery, air con output and non essential electric comfort functions to deliver up to 20% extra fuel savings. The savings can be seen as “bonus kilometres” added to the car’s range, so you can pat yourself on the back. Auto Start/Stop is also standard across the range. It can be switched off, if you wish.

BMW ConnectedDrive has been upgraded to include BMW ConnectedDrive Apps, an interface system which integrates the car’s Video Playback and iPod Plug-In functions to allow direct access to web radio, Facebook and Twitter directly through the on-board Control Display. This is enabled on the 328i and 335i.

The range topper adds on HUD and Variable Sport Steering that changes steering ratio based on angle.

The F30 range starts from RM268,800 for the 320d, moving on to RM309,800 for the 328i. The range topping 335i will set you back RM488,800. All prices are on the road, without insurance, but with BMW Service + Repair Inclusive.

Like how BMW Malaysia always does it, the initial batch of around 450 cars will be CBU imported units. It will take around three months from now for the CKD programme to start. The locally assembled units should be more competitively priced, with more kit for the money, but CKD prices have not been finalised as we type.

Click here to read our comprehensive test drive report of the new 3 Series from Spain.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Statistician on Mar 22, 2012 at 4:22 pm

Nanti kena bakar olih orang gila pulak

• Lim Kopi on Mar 22, 2012 at 5:51 pm

GREAT CAR ….

But I’d still say ….. LONG LIVE VOLKSWAGEN!!!! :)

• Gabla on Mar 22, 2012 at 7:58 pm

Volkswagen is like Proton in Germany. Literally means people’s car. Even Audi is still a class lower compared to BMW & Daimler.

• Serious? try talking to a few germans before making this statement. VW is positioned in such a way where a car brand will represent the VW brand in every category.

• Gabla on Mar 23, 2012 at 7:09 am

I lived in Germany,driving a German car and have german friends, some are even working for Porsche, Audi, VW, Daimler and BMW. Only in Malaysia VW is viewed as high class, else where Passat is a german version of Camry.

Audi is the brand that competes against BMW and Daimler. In Germany Audi is considered in a class lower because of FWD and platform sharing with VW. The germans took pride of their engineering so Audi’s approach is considered as taking short cuts in Germany.

• The Truth of the Matter on Mar 23, 2012 at 9:46 am

I can confirm this. In Europe, VW is just a normal car. Only in Malaysia, people think they are happening driving one. Its like driving a Renault or a Ford Focus. Most VW owners in Malaysia just shock sendiri.

• Kokoi on Mar 23, 2012 at 10:11 am

You lived in germany, have german friends? Looks like very odd statement.

• Ppl who drive the BMW or Merc also shock sendiri lah haha go to Singapore or Germany see…use as Taxi :(

http://youtu.be/EoK3wLihs7w

Too bad VW in Europe is still a good brand :P

• Gabla on Mar 23, 2012 at 7:21 pm

Why it’s an odd statement? I lived there for a few years, now back in Malaysia. I also still keep in touch with my german friends and can speak fluent german.

• focus tdci on Mar 23, 2012 at 8:47 pm

you must excuse kokoi, his england not tall enough, his german worse and he worships at the altar of proton which is supposed to be the people’s car of malaysia but instead of vorsprung durch technik, like Audi, they use the “tidak apa lah” philosophy of engineeering.

• Even in malaysia i nvr view Passat has high class. I just view them as Camry competitor with slightly better spec n equipment. Tats all. Btw, VW is not as prestige as bmw merc or audi.

• Kokoi on Mar 23, 2012 at 10:09 am

Who cares?

• ex-audianer on Mar 23, 2012 at 11:01 am

Audi is not lower class than BMW and merc la. Even though they are still behind BMW and merc in terms of sales, but they are catching up and target to be no 1 by 2018. Even Porsche shared the same platform with audi and vw. Can u consider Porsche a lower class too?

PS: I lived in Germany too for 5 years and worked for Audi before.

• Gabla on Mar 24, 2012 at 7:27 am

People there do not view Audi at the same level as Daimler & BMW. They put Audi higher than Lexus and others but like I said before, front wheel drive & other commonizations with VW is considered as cutting corners in the engineering.

Since you worked at Audi, the majority of your german friends must be Audi’s employees…

• Obama on Mar 23, 2012 at 11:10 am

Owning a luxury car is stereotyped as a prestige level of one in our society, we can’t deny that. Only rich man can afford RM450k car and that’s why no point we keep comparing how cheap it’s in U.S or Germany.

You afford you buy, can’t afford work your ass off.

• coolcar on Mar 24, 2012 at 5:22 pm

daimler in europe is taxi lar

• GoodDriver on May 22, 2012 at 9:20 am

This is quite true actually.
          I happen to test drive the 328i yesterday while waiting for my friend at Auto Bavaria. The spec sheet that SA showed me only comparing BMW vs Audi vs MBenz.
          VW was not in the list..
          When i asked the SA why, she said it’s bcoz VW was not at a level to compete with the 3 others. (meaning VW’s level is slightly lower)

• Come on Potong is still far away is compared to VW ! in Germany VW = Potong yes but is the high quality and affordable global brand ! Audi is lower class than the BMW?! since they r the same class Merc,Audi ! u think that BMW is super luxury maybe u never meet any Maybach or Royce Roll b4 ! Bentley compared to BMW = Audi compared to Potong lolx

• Murga on Mar 24, 2012 at 12:46 am

Heh hate to break it to u,”i” but the truth is your dream car audi and bentley share quite a few parts with humble volkswagens. A1 is just a dressed up polo, A3 use golf platform, even the bentley engine is from VW Touraeg lol.

Now say what you want about BMW but at least when driving it you won’t pass a “lower” brand car that has the same platform, engine or switches for a fraction of what u paid for your “prestige” brand.

And why want to insult Proton? To feel better izzit? Those earlier fellas just telling the truth that owning VW in Europe is similar prestige to owning Proton here, as in just normal car lah. No shame in that, unless you think VW is something so special? “VW high quality and affordable global brand” lol u sound like a bad advert

• VW is high quality and affordable global brand.

VW is not cheap…as people car but some ppl still cant afford it so that’s cool.

Bentley and Audi r premium brand.

It’s true.

• Murga on Mar 24, 2012 at 11:19 pm

premium brands using VW parts. But its ok becuz “VW is high quality and affordable brand”. Keep repeating the fanboy mantra lol. VW Group thanks you for confirming their marketing is working.

• Btw i’m a fan of Honda but i must admit that VW is the good car that’s all :) without VW i think German fanboys cant enjoy German engineering coz not everyone can afford the Porsche,BMW,Merc or Audi…VW is the same level as the T & H or whatever…but the tech,performance,safety,save fuel and the quality r extra for you.

• VW group don’t ever care about me or u this small potato for saying the good or bad things about them…VW group must thanks for itself for making the good cars and improve Germany economy…

• Gabla on Mar 24, 2012 at 7:15 am

Read the history, VW was an idea by Hitler to have cars for the people, sounds familiar right?

• These days some people still cant afford a people car. a people brand is not cheap anymore.

• Misai on Mar 25, 2012 at 10:32 am

No matter it is VW, PROTON, MERC, BMW or PERODUA….

IF these car can provide an outstanding performance in terms of quality, reliability, efficiency, design, power & safety. And i will call it a good car :)
        Do not bias on any brands or country made..

• Porsche C2S fan on Mar 22, 2012 at 5:51 pm

Paying RM309,000 for a 2.0 litre car does not make sense. Does not matter whether its prestige or not, a 2 litre car cannot command such a high price. The E90 2 litre was so much cheaper, how come this is far more expensive?

• Alpha on Mar 22, 2012 at 6:56 pm

Then,explain all this.

SLK200 (1.8L,460k)
        E200/E250 (both 1.8L,380k-405k)
        Audi TT (2.0L,355k)
        Audi A6 (2.0L,345k)
        Audi A5 (2.0L,400k)
        ,etc,etc.

A car’s value shouldn’t be judged by it’s engine displacement,bro.

• Fender on Mar 22, 2012 at 7:02 pm

it is 2 liter with a turbo.. the VW golf is only 1.4L also with turbo but how much does it cost compared to, say a 1.5L city? use your brain before commenting please, otherwise you make yourself look like an idiot.

• Porsche C2S Fan on Mar 22, 2012 at 9:33 pm

I was refering to the 2.5 (325i) and the current 2.0 unit. With lower cc, the tax should be lower, thus cheaper prices than the previous E90 models. Pls try to use your brain, otherwise, you pulak look kike an idiot.

• waterman on Mar 23, 2012 at 12:33 am

is simple.. the world auto trend is not moving down to smaller displacement and turbo charged it to have the similar output with higher displacement like before.
            therefore now they judging the price based on the horse power they able to produce but not displacement.

higher displacement car easily generate more CO2 then lower displacement car. petrol is running out, the lower CO2 the better it is.

• anjez on Mar 22, 2012 at 9:07 pm

its simple………..
        to protect proton and make mahathir richer.apa ini pun you tak faham ke?
        once his son becomes the PM you all had it la…better be prepared to buy cow cars.

• lovescars on Mar 22, 2012 at 10:38 pm

Porsche fan … Don’t be dumb. My E90 325 is 309k. This new car, the 328 costs the same and is SO much better. Use some brains ok. You prob can’t afford such a car hence you do not know the price comparisons.

• bla bla bla..
          btw bmw malaysia really brave bringing in the diesel to malaysia..
          considering our diesel quality..
          btw the diesel one is the best bet…
          new owner need to buy filter to avoid long term damage..

• Paul Tan on Mar 22, 2012 at 11:01 pm

There’s a whole bunch of happy 320d and 520d owners at the BMW Club Malaysia forums, some who have had their car for years, and no one reported any problems with their diesel engine, or had to buy any filter to avoid long term damage. This week, I’ve officially had my 520d for 1 year, and I too do not have any problems with my engine.

• BeemerFreak on Mar 22, 2012 at 11:08 pm

Very good one Paul…. really must teach these people who dont own a diesel car a good lesson in efficiency.Btw my 320d is a year and half old, also no problems and there is no replacement for torque

• Jolly_idiot on Mar 22, 2012 at 11:39 pm

Does your engine sounds rougher than before? And what is your mileage?

• Paul Tan on Mar 22, 2012 at 11:47 pm

22,000km now. Engine sounds exactly the same, still nice and smooth and TORQUEY!

• tishaban on Mar 23, 2012 at 1:04 am

I’m at 52k km on my 320d, car is as responsive as it was new with zero mechanical problems.

Unless you own a diesel I think I’ll let the diesel owners like Paul and me who actually drive and pay money for diesel make the comments.

• Paul Tan on Mar 23, 2012 at 1:09 am

We also have a 2011 Hyundai Santa Fe 2.2 turbodiesel, the one that makes 200 PS and 442Nm. No problems with it either.

• focus tdci on Mar 23, 2012 at 8:50 pm

520d FTW!

• Alpha on Mar 22, 2012 at 11:26 pm

If our diesel quality is that bad,who’d be dumb enough to bring in any other diesel cars??And like Paul said,BMW brought in 320d and 520d since the previous model.If they’re bringing in the 320d again,means the sale and customer feedback are good la.

Your comment means that you never did any research before commenting.

• my mum use our X1 20d for nearly 1 and the half years, and still no problem with the car.. no filter require, no extra things.. plus, we drove our car since we travel alot from JB,KL Penang and Also Padang Besa(thailand’s Padang Besa), the KM reach 30k ++ now, and still in gud condition..

• Diesel particle filter (maintenance-free)

Check this in your brochure…this is pre-installed into your diesel car!

• Just me on Mar 23, 2012 at 2:01 pm

BMW or any diesel engine auto company will not be dump enough to bring in diesel engine without actually test our diesel in the car.

• Porsche C2S fan on Mar 22, 2012 at 11:46 pm

sure you can afford or you some troll wannabe? Finish school first lah small boy.

• SpeakUp on Mar 23, 2012 at 12:28 am

I can’t afford … I already own it. So please la … if you really can afford, you would have done your homework on the pricing. But you did not because you cannot afford it.

• The Truth of the Matter on Mar 23, 2012 at 9:43 am

Usually people can afford won’t talk like you. they won’t demean or put down another person who cannot afford the same car. Like a schoolboy arguing, “I can afford, you cannot”, “my fathers car bigger than yours”….

Aiyoo, grow up lah

• “My father’s car bigger than yours”…. hahaha damn farnie…

• Richard on Mar 23, 2012 at 1:57 pm

Small boy, once you grow up and become mature, you will learn not to talk like this. Not everyone is fortunate to be rich.

• Richard on Mar 23, 2012 at 1:51 pm

So sad lah. Adults normally don’t imply that another person with different purchasing power can or cannot afford something. Each of us are different. Some earn more, some earn less. Only a primary school child will compare what he has with his peers and undermine the other if he or she cannot afford it. A person who is an adult does not talk like you.

• BMW F10 Owner on Mar 26, 2012 at 2:42 pm

Will this F30 breakdown so often like the F10? My F10 breaksdown so often that I am in Glenmarie on average once in every 4 weeks. The AAM tow truck drivers know me by my first name already. Malu lah Malaysian quality. CKD got no standard lah.cause I have friends with CBU models overseas and they have zero problems. I regret paying so much of moeny for so much of problems in my life. My next car will be a Japanese.

• mercedes-salesman-hohoho on Mar 26, 2012 at 2:53 pm

With breakdowns so often, I’m surprised you’re not screaming all the time at bmwclubmalaysia.com, or anywhere else on the internet, I wonder why you only suddenly talk here… convenient isn’t it?

• Statistician on Mar 22, 2012 at 4:32 pm

My friend who work in the US as a researchers has just got himself a 300 horse power SLK Class Roadster at USD 55k. This piece of tin kosong F 30 is selling for RM 300k ? Only nuts will buy !

• damdam on Mar 22, 2012 at 5:06 pm

did u compare his salary to us too? tats so sad

• Statistician on Mar 22, 2012 at 10:29 pm

Fact : 3 series in Malaysia is driven 2 category of people

1. rich man wife or kids

2 wannabe who are not loaded but want to show off. Salary man who finance their car with 9 years loan or small businessman eagerly show off to their peers.

Trust me truly loaded man only drive 5 / 7 series or a Camry.

Sorry for those who feel offended but I know too much of these people :)

• Alpha on Mar 22, 2012 at 11:39 pm

Your number 2 sounds quite biased.I reckon you have some sort of bitter memories with those in your number 2.Not to say that you’re wrong,but there should be a number 3.People who can afford 5 or 7 series,but don’t want too big of a car.I too,know a lot of people like this.

For number 2 again,I have to say I know a lot of people who are owners of small but successful businesses and they chose to trade in their locally made cars with a BMW or any other executive brands.And I ask you,what is wrong with that??They made their money,and wishes to splurge a little.When they asked me,I said,”Go on,do it.You deserves getting a car for yourself considering all you’ve done”.It’s normal to splurge a bit when you’ve managed to achieve something.

I’d say even you would do it if you’re in their shoes.Do note that I did say “small but successful businesses”.What wrong with spending 300k on a car when you’ve finally made more than double or triple of that amount.To me,that’s a way to encourage our own self to make even more money afterwards.

If what I said offended any of you,then I humbly apologize beforehand.

Cheers.

• Statistician on Mar 23, 2012 at 9:21 am

True I have really bitter memories on the category 2 bunch of people. 3 bad memories all together where I cannot get my collection on time.

Payment on their car is always on time but when I asked back money, keep delay and delay and delay. This is call leant by experience.

I would say that BMW is really successful is marketing their product. Easy payment, free services, trade in. And BMW knows consumer behavior very well and able to create the kind of desire among the wannabe

• Jeff Lim on Mar 23, 2012 at 11:48 am

Add 3 more category:

3) Retirees/Empty Nestor who loves driving & finds 5/7 too big.
            4) Midlife crisis folks (40 to 50 y/old)
            5) LOYAL 3-series supporter. My neighbour “climb” up the ranks. E30 318i => E36 318i => E46 325i => E90 325i. I’m very sure he’ll get this F30.

• a Camry? Pity you.

• There’s lot of 5er owners out there with big rims shod with chap ayam tyres. Oh… Those are trully loaded people? I wonder…e

• Loaded man drives CAMRY !!!

Congratulation Mr Statistician, you have just won ‘joke of the year award’ !!!

• dreaming of maserati on Mar 23, 2012 at 10:06 pm

more like wannabes drive camry!!
            the really loaded man drives a vios TRD!
            nuff said!

• wat bout researcher at thai? Indo?india?korea? Sing?taipei?phili?viet?hk?china?most of asia? Whole africa? CIS? Some east europe? Russia? South american researcher?

• Winsomelosesome on Mar 22, 2012 at 5:49 pm

…and he/ she have to pay USD3.86-4.29 per gallon(depends on where he/she stays) for 300hp car.

• Turboman!!! on Mar 22, 2012 at 9:54 pm

Ahh, This topic again. But anyway since somebody started it. Why not?

Try to calculate how many gallons of fuel she has to burn to recoup the difference in the price of the car.

The 300hp roadster won’t cost less than RM500k in Malaysia brand new. ( Ball park probably > 600K )

Go ahead and make that calculation.

And mind you, her salary is in USD, not Ringgit.

• Winsomelosesome on Mar 22, 2012 at 11:56 pm

No doubt, car is relatively cheap in the US, no issues there, it’s the fossil fuel price the main burden there, the opposite to bolehland. Of course if one is rich it doesn’t matter which country they are in, they would probably can afford it either way.

• K Tan on Mar 23, 2012 at 10:32 am

1 gallon = 3.8 litres i.e. around USD 1.10 per liter vs RM 1.90/litre in MY. Dollar for dollar, fuel is still cheaper in the US.

• TurboMan!!! on Mar 23, 2012 at 3:00 pm

Exactly!!!

• Fuyiopo on Mar 23, 2012 at 3:17 pm

Well…..In malaysia if you own a BMW, your ignition coil went kuku, you can always go to a workshop to get it fixed for 50% of the price from auto bavaria.

In canada or us, you have to get it fixed by the authorised dealer and that will ahem, kill you. All the parts are from the dealer and their labor fee is very high.

So in msia, low running cost but high initial pay. In us, HIGH running cost but low initial pay. Which one is better? I personally will go for malaysian style.

But still, if gomen can reduce the import taxes, it will be better for all of us.

• lol what?
            There’s warranty + extended warranty plus plus plus. Downpayment for 3 series level is like 10k usd. Then 1.4k every month for ONLY 3 years.

There’s so much spare cash after, sell and buy a new car and eliminate running cost altogether if ur really that shrewd.

Sorry, if anyone claims that owning a BMW in US/EU is costlier than Malaysia, they need to shoot themselves in the foot.

• RM55k do u think u can get a good car if other than proton/ perodua ?
      r u driving a RM55k Merz/ bemeer with just 170hp in M’sia?
      i hate our gov as still breast feeding proton and ap king…
      and those rich who wanna drive premium car has no choice but not stupid!

• anjez on Mar 22, 2012 at 9:09 pm

yes I agree with you but when I condem proton my article not published.if its the truth then say it loud la what for want to hide?

• Bullish on Mar 23, 2012 at 1:34 am

Lets vote them out……this time i think we got fighting chance.

• If u like to compared RM to the USD then u’r a genius ! USA is a bigger country and everybody need a car plus their petrol is more expensive ! M’sia car is expensive but Singapore or Denmark r more expensive to own a car !

• armandd on Mar 22, 2012 at 8:00 pm

Instead of giving comments about the technical aspects of the car, the performance, the model history and so on, almost every post in Paultan blog is tainted with comments expressing their discontent and anguish about car tax, car price, average salary in Malaysia etc.

• Alpha on Mar 22, 2012 at 11:58 pm

You’re right.All this kind of comments are starting to get annoying.It seems like an automotive blog now has become some kind of politic related blog.I’d really love to have some intelligent comments here that doesn’t talk about the price of the car or how cheap the car is outside of our country or the likes of all that.

Let’s hope people will come to their senses and FINALLY,talks about the awesomeness or the sucky-ness of the car.

• focus tdci on Mar 23, 2012 at 9:00 pm

what to do dr m made the car industry political when he gave birth to proton.

• MCdog on Mar 23, 2012 at 9:16 am

Then paultan’s comment really reflect what Malaysian want
        – not overpriced car or not fairly priced car.

Government have enough revenue to cover its expenditure without taxing on car, both minimizing the corruption level and use brain to do work will do.

• coz msians know nuts about cars much less a just launched BMW bah. most are too shy to go to bmw showroom to have a look or even sit in the car even less for a test drive so how to tell you anything technical about the car.

• I like nuts on Mar 22, 2012 at 8:16 pm

My friend who also works in the US as a researcher goes to work by train and bus. Saves on car maintenance, insurance and gasoline. And probably contributing a small part to lower pollution from car exhaust fumes. Come to think of it, your friend is also nuts to pay USD55k for a ‘tin kosong’ with a broken roof. And it only sits two. He isn’t very bright is he?

• Just me on Mar 22, 2012 at 9:56 pm

This is call hobby, something that you are willing to spent as long as you can afford. By the way, proton is under 100K.

• I agree with Statistician.

At least around my environment, what he has mentioned is true. The COO of my company has a Porsche but he drives a Camry to work for commute.. this fellow we’re talking here has a USD 10million apartment in Hong Kong.

Then the C level executives that works in the same office building, 2 brothers, 1 is driving a 5 series GT, another 1 a 7 series.

I’m not making these up, guy is spot on…

HOWEVER, M3 IS IN A DIFFERENT CATEGORY!!

Cheers.

• hway de Cruz on Mar 22, 2012 at 4:34 pm

ah, the ultimate driving machine…. might as well wait for CKD, cheaper price. gomen shud abolish ridiculous excise duties n insane taxes. just add a GST 4%, that would be the total taxes ever to be paid.

• i think they cannot abolish but reduce within period of time might be posible…maybe eg reducing 5% per year…abolish is just like that is crazy….eg if they abolish tomolo…wat happen buyer today n 5yrs before that buy car cost 100k… become 20k in 1 nite…it pain in the ass as compare to if reduce to 95k rite n continue reduce with time..it might happy firstime buyer but not majority who buy the same car within car life cycle prior to total abolish in 1 nite….n the gov might need to raise other tax in 1 nite too or sudden stop of subsidy of fuel…domino effect will take place…food price become higher, public trans become costlier, even higher increase in properties in development due to high logistic cost, increase more org miskin due to unable to pay rent, food etc..n bla bla

• I like nuts on Mar 22, 2012 at 8:25 pm

Kzm, we might as well wait for the cows to come home. The duties and taxes from automobile business is such a lucrative income for our government, it is virtually impossible for them to do away with it. Just like AP’s are to parallel importers. Even with a change of government, do not expect this to go away unless some other taxes are introduced in exchange. Disappointing reality for most of us who are dependant on cars for work but that’s the way it is.

• d driver on Mar 22, 2012 at 8:29 pm

Give us real world car price, we can pay real ouworld petrol price. Too much misue of our money, imagine rear cattle get condos in kl n spore, wah….i dun wan much, rear sheep i get condo in trafargal square enuf lor

• Unforgiven on Mar 22, 2012 at 9:56 pm

Tax is acceptable but not the AP thingy or free money to the pocket for cronies.

I don’t mind to loose over rm100k for my car now, as long as the future generation won’t have to go through those protectionism system.

It’s better to be good now rather than later.

• xavier lert on Mar 22, 2012 at 4:41 pm

310k for 328 and 500k for 335…argh!.. i need more money

• banana spirit on Mar 22, 2012 at 4:46 pm

hopefully the ckd model is bit the cheaper… but how cheap can it get?

• Based on VW Passat…only less by 10%..

• lovescars on Mar 22, 2012 at 10:41 pm

No more than 15k, that is the magical number automotive manufacturers use locally. Thereabouts to maximize profits.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 22, 2012 at 4:55 pm

any pics of 320d interior?

• old one more beautiful

• CKD will most likely maintain price but with better spec.

• isuzuki on Mar 22, 2012 at 5:08 pm

Was it discussed before why BMW can sell its oli burner in Malaysia while others can’t (maybe except Ford TDCi, Renault Kangoo, and of course those pickup-trucks)?

• khairulx19a on Mar 22, 2012 at 5:25 pm

for those who like to compare the price of the car here and other country please, i love that the car in malaysia to be cheap like UK or US, but u must consider other factor else, if u want cheap car better get rid subsidy or face the worst terrible jam in malaysia

• BeemerFreak on Mar 22, 2012 at 9:01 pm

Haha there is something called an age limiter factor….As practiced in Singapore using the COE system…..kill car tax, but implement that cars must be changed every 10 years or else road tax and insurance go up 1000%. that way we would have cars giving clean emissions while controlling numbers.

• nas-T on Mar 22, 2012 at 11:04 pm

Nanti bising pulak cakap kerajaan zalim.

• BeemerFreak on Mar 23, 2012 at 1:17 am

Kalau kenderaan awam dikendali dgn baik tidak ada org akan berbising. Entah kenapa kita perlu kenderaan sendiri? Sememangnya semua salah kerajaan tidak memberi kenderaan awam tg boleh dipercayai.

Have we ever seen singaporeans complain that they cannot afford a vehicle? The government there has made sure that a car is a luxury not a necessity unlike us.

• alamak on Mar 23, 2012 at 1:45 am

Well say, totally agree, our Transportation system is worse
            easy say is money matter as answer : toll system
            Acting Petaling Jaya South UMNO chief Raja Datuk Hanipuddin Raja Datuk Nong Chik said the residents had to spend an average of RM500 monthly on the toll.

even toll also a issue, Klang valley too much toll la

• Jonjo on Mar 23, 2012 at 10:48 am

i do not want to keep buying or paying for a car which eventually I can’t own them. In singapore people are actually don’t buy but instead rent a car. They have to do that because their country is small. Japan is another story.

• chuakz on Mar 22, 2012 at 5:28 pm

disappointed if the specs for 320d is really lousy…hoping the CKD will be better spec’d

• imho….. always a fan of 3er but this time 5 series looks so much better.

• nothing fancy on the interior… not to mention the ugly exterior!!!

only the engine is great, but the price is terrible… lol

for RM300k++, u have lot of great choices!!!

• alamak on Mar 22, 2012 at 7:47 pm

ya option house,haha
      never depreciate …..if this next five year, you see as now day E60 on the ROAD!!!

• ahmadfaris93 on Mar 22, 2012 at 5:41 pm

quite pricey. GG ah . Hopefully the CKD’s price will be competitive enough with the C-class

• That 335i Sports Line is so sexy in red!

• what a pity, BMWs had 2 things going for them

1 – Hydraulic steering
    2 – Straight 6 engine

IMO opening themselves up to competition from audi is their biggest mistake ever

• There is still 1 thing that Audi doesn’t have. RWD on the A4 (it’s either FWD or AWD).

You just have to learn to leave the past alone. Hydraulic steering will be a thing in the past (they’ll find someway to compensate the lost feeling) and straight 6 is so not eco sensible. Not happy? Get the E90.

• BeemerFreak on Mar 22, 2012 at 11:03 pm

agreed, in pure driving feel and experience nothing in this class comes close to the BMW 3 series be it from the E21 of 1975 or the F30 of today.

BMW has never been exposed, and never will be, cause there is no replacement for the Ultimate Driving Machine.

• Timothy Dalton on Mar 22, 2012 at 6:03 pm

Beautiful. Pretty reasonably priced too!
    Will soon grab one for Weekend driving….
    Thanks Danny.

• blackbox on Mar 22, 2012 at 6:10 pm

4.5l/100km for 320d is a very impressive figure.

• deftones on Mar 22, 2012 at 6:40 pm

oh man, the 320d has only 1 small tail pipe..that looks sissy…

• kadajawi on Mar 23, 2012 at 11:46 pm

Who cares? You can’t even see the tail pipe on my car, and I like it that way. Performance shouldn’t be visible. Especially if you have none.

The 320d seems like the most sensible of them all. Performance should be more than good enough, the fuel consumption is extremely low, and the price is also the lowest of them all. Of course I’d rather have the 335d…

• BMW Malaysia on Mar 22, 2012 at 6:38 pm

Dont’t worry, people will buy, the upper middle class wil buy one, if not, lose face. You can take that to the bank. Commentators on some blog don’t count for crap when it comes to upper middle class purchasing power. Say all you want lah… hahaha.

• Vodka on Mar 22, 2012 at 6:41 pm

They should have shod the 335i sports trim with a better tyre option. Pireli P7 Cinturato is not a max performance tyre.

• Johnny on Mar 22, 2012 at 6:49 pm

Very nice and all…but not worth the money.

• dreaming of maserati on Mar 22, 2012 at 6:49 pm

I’ll take my TRD Vios anytime!!!

• You should change your name to “dreaming of becoming the ultimate toyota salesman in the world”.

• Turboman!!! on Mar 22, 2012 at 9:48 pm

Dude.

Just go away!!!

• mdprima on Mar 22, 2012 at 7:13 pm

.. simply the best as ‘driver’s car’. arrogant on their pricing but good design n good driving there. I cld have sworn that sexy red one makes ‘grrrrr” sounds at me..lol…

• Supertram on Mar 22, 2012 at 7:19 pm

any 320d interior pics? anyhoo.. i kinda prefer the lowest cheapest spec 320d front end.. simple n less hectic foglamp design..

• oko028 on Mar 22, 2012 at 7:19 pm

Although C-Class design are old – the new facelift one still looks nicer than F30…

• BeemerFreak on Mar 22, 2012 at 10:03 pm

Haha beauty is in the eye of the beholder….better to keep these comments to yourself cos everyone have different definition of beauty.

• lovescars on Mar 22, 2012 at 10:43 pm

C class has great comfort but take to a B road the C class cannot compare with the BMW. That is a fact. It’s like comparing an Accord with a Camry. Both have their own strengths …

• john f kennedy on Mar 22, 2012 at 7:53 pm

the e90 looks nicer and sportier i guess :)

• SpeakUp on Mar 22, 2012 at 8:39 pm

Lovely car and very lovely price. When this car reaches the secondary market, my E90 325 M sport is a dead duck!

• Unforgiven on Mar 22, 2012 at 8:41 pm

Shall we quickly change the G? How much is the piece of AP or similar paper cost? How much is the car if we remove the ‘free money in the pocket’ paper/system?

Let’s pray in the morning to have a better future. Please be good and do the right thing if you are not one of them.

• paul ogawa on Mar 22, 2012 at 8:46 pm

I’ll take P3-21A anytime!!!

• you said it just because u cant afford this BMW..after all ur p321a will be loan for 9year hahahaha

• anjez on Mar 22, 2012 at 9:01 pm

As long as proton and mahathir is around no one can actually really afford to buy one of these unless you are a politician,robber.con-man,ex-PM
    I love to have one of this model but the price is so high and everage salaried guy cant afford to buy one.Thank you mahathir for depriving our luxury by inventing your proton which is ailing and need to be closed soon.banyak terima kasih kepada tun mahathir aka apa nama minister.

• BringItOn320d on Mar 23, 2012 at 2:43 am

Hi

BMW is a luxury brand. Their pricing structure in any country is not meant for average salaried guy to own it.

Even in the USA, average salaried guy still cant afford a BMW. They drive Honda, Kia, GM brand etc.

Have you been or live in the USA before? If you have you’ll know that not everybody drive a BMW/Merc/Audi.

That been said i like my e90 interior better than F30. Although the new 328i performance looks so good on paper. i wonder how does it perform in 80-120kmh acceleration test? Is it faster than my 320d Power Kitted?

• I have lived in many countries before, yes including US. all the so called luxury cars by BMW and Mercs are within the reach for a bigger chunk of the society there compared to here. The only reason y u dont see to many so called luxury cars in these country is their attitude towards car and life overall. Nobody really cares if u drive a BMW or Merc unless you are passionate about cars. Its not a symbol of status except for few. Sadly its not the same for Asians. Cars are a major reflection of where you are in the hierachy of society and the car makers are aware of that and they take advantageof it. Even if the taxes are lowered it will stil be wexpensive. Just look at the hybrid cars compared to the ones sold in the western world. \\

DUN THINK YOU NEED TO LIVE IN A COUNTRY TO KNOW EVERYTHING ABOUT IT. THERE IS ALWAYS WWW & FRIENDS N RELATIVES TO TELL U ABOUT IT.

• Jason on Mar 23, 2012 at 11:55 am

very true, people can afford it doesn’t mean they will buy it. why would you spend $50,000 to buy a BMW or Mercedes when you can buy a Camry or similar cars at $25,000?

• American on Mar 23, 2012 at 7:45 pm

BULLSHIT !!! We American also look at car as social status, BMW and Mercedes are for the rich and Camry is for salesman and average mom.
          Yes, our new car is less expensive than Malaysia, but our used car value is also much less than Malaysia, in the end the amount of depreciation is about the same for both countries.
          If we were rich, definitely we will go for BMW or Mercedes, but if could not afford, we will not find excuses like ‘I am rich but I settle for Camry’.

• Asian Mat Salleh on Mar 24, 2012 at 11:51 am

Very true. You hit the nail on its head. Having lived overseas for many years, I can confirm one thing, Mat Salleh, even though some maybe multimillionaires, they will just buy a simple Ford Focus and be content with it. Mat Salleh don’t look at how big your house is or what car you drive. That is a very Asian thing. Its only in Asia that the car is a status symbol. It is prevalent in Hong Kong, China, Malaysia, SIngapore etc.

That is why luxury car makers are targetting the Asian mindset. Malaysians especially. Some tak ada duit also, will take loans up to the neck just to buy a BMW just to “keep up with the Jones” ie to show his fellow neighbour that he or she has “made it”. He can even sacrifice good food and education for his children just to show he has got a BMW in his Porch.

Btw, 90% of BMW buyers in Malaysia are not rich. The remainder 10% are genuinely rich ie the aristrocats, CEOs, businessman etc. Most of the 90% actually buy it with loans and spend a huge proportion of their pay just to service the loans with the main aim of their car being a status symbol ie to show people that they “sudah capai” or “made it”

So don’t be fooled in Malaysia. The real rich people are the ones driving the Camry’s and Honda Accords with access cash in their bank accounts. Go and ask the BMW owner if their kid gets kidnapped whether they have even RM20,000 cash to give the kidnapper, he will tell you he needs a few days to come out with the money!

• Real Mat Salleh on Mar 24, 2012 at 5:38 pm

Another poor Asian try to justify he can only own a Camry.

Look at your statement, one can realised how stupit and jealous your are with the BMW owners.

Did you realise USA is the world biggest BMW sales country, look at how big their house compare to ours, you are talking nonsense that “Mat Salleh don’t look at how big your house is or what car you drive”. Your statement about “That is why luxury car makers are targetting the Asian mindset” is damn silly.

And you say “He can even sacrifice good food and education for his children just to show he has got a BMW in his Porch”
            Oh my god, you are seriously in mental disorder, I strongly recommend you to see a psychiatrist.

• dreaming of maserati on Mar 26, 2012 at 12:10 am

Times have changed and nowadays ppl ( wannabes) think driving a camry is like driving an e-class. 90% of camry buyers are nothing but empty vessels trying to show off. but got no money / little money in bank one. but if you drive past one, you can see how arrogant n grand is the driver’s facial expression. I even seen many banglas driving camry before with that grand face.

Prices of the german marques have climbed to unreacheable and illogical levels to most wannabes so they end up settling for a camry but act like they are driving an s-class. they frequently hog 2 lanes in the highway and drive at 60kmh, double park everywhere like all the roads belong to their grandfather, and like to swerve to your lane n jam brake in front of you all the time.

• Ya lo, even dr m sons don’t dare touch proton, some even drive Bugatti veyron which is vw brand so should have some bits in common with a polo gti ? Lol

• shawal on Mar 22, 2012 at 9:33 pm

voted the best car in the world by autocar.co.uk ….
    hmmm ….need to work harder….

• The F30 has an angry and arrogant face…it looks good tho…

• interior looks like p321a

• can guess who is thumbing up this guy comment..hahahahahaha the loser who booked the p321a without waiting it to launch officially

• BeemerFreak on Mar 22, 2012 at 10:10 pm

If Sime Darby could match the old price of the 320d or even lower, this would be another hit.

• BMW always shout performance in their marketing but they performed like crap in F1 previously… Mercedes done well but still humble in their road car

• Mercedes market is for Ah Pek, so need to humble in their marketing.

• kadajawi on Mar 23, 2012 at 11:42 pm

Who cares, really? The BMWs are faster and better handling on the road. The ones you can actually buy. That is what matters. When Mercedes releases performance models they are backbreaking hard (so that they are useless in the real world), but only go sideways, slowly. Great fun I’m sure, but performance… not so much.

• Hugo Andore on Mar 23, 2012 at 12:23 am

The only good thing that comes out from this launch is E90 cars will become cheaper in the second hand market.

Not many people can afford to pay 309K for a car. F30 is awesome though. Will keep an eye for it after 5 years.

• Jeff Lim on Mar 23, 2012 at 12:02 pm

Agree with you. Am also buying the F30 320d. In 5 years time…

• TurboMan!!! on Mar 23, 2012 at 2:54 pm

I wouldnt take any of the F30 built in 2012 and 2013.

Wait for all the bugs to be resolved first after the fiasco with 2005 E90s and 2011 F10s.

• Lukeskywalker on Mar 24, 2012 at 12:05 am

isnt it the same when E46 is running, and says buy E90 5 years later?

• tishaban on Mar 23, 2012 at 1:13 am

I’m surprised that the 328i looks so plain. I was expecting the high res full color LED display at the tachometer and speedometer ala the F10 at least, not just a carryover from the E90.

Will have to book a time at the dealer to really try it out, can’t really judge from the pictures.

• tricycle on Mar 23, 2012 at 9:14 am

Fexpensive for a 3 series, might as well get a F10 520d pay extra 20-30k more. Get more on social status.

Exterior is a bit so so.

Interior improvement over the e90.

Still a bit unreasonable on the price.

• tmsoo on Mar 23, 2012 at 9:59 am

I would choose the 320d, for the value. Diesel or Petrol nowadays are not so important.
    4.5L per 100km. Diesel now are selling RM1.80 per liter.

• TurboMan!!! on Mar 24, 2012 at 1:47 am

Doubt it. Ppl are getting around 7 – 8l/100km real world consumption. That torque is too intoxicating. You end up tekan everywhere you go and that hurts fuel consumption.

To get below 5l/100km. You have to drive at 80kmh on cruise control without the ac and probably on EURO 4 diesel.

Not the best way to drive your Ultimate driving machine and not many drivers have the restraint to do that.

• got people comparing bmw to vw……please la….

vw has made the word german obscene…..

bm rules man……

• seancorr on Mar 23, 2012 at 12:12 pm

IMHO the price is expensive and the cars are carrying lesser spec than their overseas brothers. If I’m not mistaken only the 335i has HUD?? Shouldn’t the 328i have that too?

I hope all models come with iDrive because BMW said from this generation onwards all 3 series have iDrive as standard.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 23, 2012 at 1:42 pm

a real pity the Modern line wasn’t launched. that’s my favourite actually. oh well hope there’s a chance for it and the m-sport varaints when it gets ckd

• Kampung on Mar 23, 2012 at 3:07 pm

Too much BMW and Merc in Malaysia. Boring.

And this one looks cheaper.

• Dr Mamak on Mar 23, 2012 at 6:16 pm

Can’t wait for ckd 328 M Sport come sept.

• Best 328 so far compare to all the previous. Let alone its horsepower or torque output. The money save a year on road tax can spare for an annual local traveling, and I bet that in normal driving condition, this 328 drink less fuel than the good old N52 or N53.

• TurboMan!!! on Mar 24, 2012 at 1:39 am

Im sure you have never driven any N52 equipped cars long enough to appreciate the 6 cyl engines.

• JoonSuh on Mar 23, 2012 at 11:58 pm

RM269k getting the lowest spec among 3 models, kind of disappointed with the price getting such a low spec, gonna stick to facelift C-class. mind reconsider with CKD if price competitively.

• steventan on Mar 24, 2012 at 1:33 am

Save your breath debating abt the price,looks etc
    cos ALL 450 CBU units sold out !!
    Wait list until the CKD units come into production.!!
    :)

• And yet people like me still try hard to justify that “I only own a Camry but I am loaded”.

• burung on Mar 24, 2012 at 9:15 pm

Yep.

While the working-class complaining about its price, condemning about its tax (as if they pay tax a lot, I pay 26k-a-year income tax), the SUPER RICH/RICH just tapau all CKDs finish without even thinking of its fuel consumption, road-taxes & insurance.

Cool guys. If it’s NOT for u, it’s NOT for you. Just pray, E90 price drop to $70k, E46 drop to $30k, we tapau those SECOND-HANDS ok?

• Statistician on Mar 25, 2012 at 4:48 pm

Hi M3 and burung,

Trust me folks, not by the rich and super rich, all 3ers are finally tapau by the wannabes with 5 to 9 years loan. Some are lucky to have a rich daddy and hubby so they can boast.

Let me paraphrase again what i said: rich and super rich only owns E class and 5 series and above, not C class or 3 series. And for Camry, not all Camry are driven by the rich BUT a lot of rich likes Camry. Of course they is a lot of ‘Soh Chai’ are still driving a Camry with a 5 to 9 years loan.

Both of you better change your nick because your comments really look genetically stupid. Especially the salaryman paying 26 ringgit malaysian linggit income tax :)

• Halo, u have to change ur perception. Who says rich n super rich will oni own 5ser or E class? My uncle is rich. I bet he is richer than most of u.. But he climbs up d rank of 3 series n loves 3 series alot. From e46 318i to e90 320i. N now planning to buy d new F30. So u cant justify ur idea with ir own scope of view. Look wider out boy. I admit they do have some wannabes that buy with 9 yrs loans. 5 yrs loan aint wannabes. They r just smart not to fork out so much initial cash. N can still earn from it by putting d loan amt to FD to earn interest.. Lol…

• “ukur baju di badan sendiri”
    kalau belum mampu, bersabar la dahulu :)
    btw nice car!..mm but the back kinda similar with f10..correct me if i’m wrong ya

• coolcar on Mar 24, 2012 at 5:21 pm

yawn………….boring

• Personally i think 335i is way cheaper compared to previous gen. N 328i is prices reasonably even its a 2 litre engine but can smoke GTI in no time. Lol. For me n thise 3 series enthusiats. The launching if thus car is awesome. I will definitely buy 335 i compared to f10 528i.

• The new design from F series BMW took a bit more time in getting used to, like the new 5 series, i really feel that it’s a good design that last.

• test driven the car 320d. I must say, i like the new one rather than E90

• ahbeng on Mar 30, 2012 at 2:17 am

Normally, what would be the resale price for new ckd BMW after 2 years? 15-20% drop??

Thinking to try f30 320d or 328i.
    Need to know what is the lost when wanna sale it after 2 years.

Hopefully you can tell, please. Thanks.

• pl4y3r122 on Mar 30, 2012 at 8:39 pm

Not bad BMW maintained de price for F30 328i CBU..
    E90 325i Msport CKD was sold for de same price as F30 328i CBU 309k.
    So when de CKD model F30 328i comes out should be cheaper by 15k max.:))

Heard de F30 323i model comin end of de year n Msport model for both F30 323i n 328 comin next year oni.. :(((

De Msport model sure will be a hit.. de car luks awesome.. yeahh.. :)

• Danny,

Any info about SKD unit for 320d?
    Regards.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Apr 13, 2012 at 12:53 pm

It’s on the way. BMW Malaysia will announce in due course

• zar reiki on Jun 22, 2012 at 4:40 pm

Guys…kindly surf the www.jdpower.com. It is an independent survey body esp on car buyers satisfaction and respond about their cars. Check out your favourite cars ratings. Hope this will help for new car buyers. Surf and happy reading…:)

• VW HAS DIFERENT CATEGORIES, WE CANNOT COMPARE A POLO TO A BMW 328, BUT WE COULD COMPARE A TOUAREG TO AN X5, AND THE TOUAREG WOULD BE THE WINNER IN ALL ASPECTS. VW ALL THE WAY………