Renault Megane RS 250 Cup Special Edition launched – only 10 units in a limited run, RM245k

Ah, yet along comes another special edition, and this one is of that perennial fave, the Renault Megane RS 250. The Megane RS 250 Cup Special Edition, to give the variant its full moniker, was launched yesterday evening at the newly-opened Renault flagship showroom in Petaling Jaya.

It’s a limited run of 10 units, this one, and unveiled by Williams F1 drivers Bruno Senna and Valtteri Bottas, no less. Using the highly acclaimed Megane RS 250 Cup as a base, selected enhancements were made to the exterior and interior to give the vehicle an added level of desirability, not to mention exclusivity.

No changes to the RS 250’s powertrain output, which means that the 2.0 litre turbo mill offers the familiar 250 hp and 340 Nm in the way of figures. The new list starts with the exterior shade – the SE comes only in Glacier White, with metallic gray accents in the front and rear diffuser providing highlight contrasts.

Also new are 19-inch alloy wheels, with the open design helping to show off the track-proven Brembo brake system in a very visual manner. Inside, the cabin retains that familiar RS 250 charm, but now features elements of the GT Pack as standard, which means that leather upholstered Recaro seats and a panoramic glass roof get plonked in.

Each car comes with a serial numbered stainless steel plaque, personally signed by a Williams F1 Driver for that special touch. To commemorate the launch of the Special Edition, the first three Special Edition customers were invited to personally receive the signed plaques from the Williams drivers.

Features include that found on the base car, so track-ready equipment such as the Performance Hub, Mechanical LSD, RS monitor and Cup Chassis are standard fare. As for the price, the Special Edition goes for 15 grand more than the stock RS 250 Cup, at RM 245,000, on-the-road without insurance.

We’ve of course spent a fair bit of time with the base RS 250 Cup, with a full test drive as well as track time, and even a stint to see if it cuts the cloth as a daily driver.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• teelim on Mar 23, 2012 at 2:53 am

Nice!

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 23, 2012 at 3:31 am

which is better.. this or the 86/BRZ?

• carazy on Mar 23, 2012 at 9:11 am

Definitely BRZ, rear wheel drive!!

• theanswer on Mar 23, 2012 at 9:44 am

hard to tell. different layout. but this car really deny the myth of inferior torsion beam suspension and numb eps system.

• teelim on Mar 24, 2012 at 1:44 am

if you can/know how to drive a RWD car at and beyond its limit, then I think the 86/BRZ would be better.

But the Megane would definitely be easier to get used to. Also, the turbocharged engine gives more usable power at low engine speeds (more beneficial for everyday use)

• yh Inc. on Mar 23, 2012 at 9:04 am

I really doubt Renault car can be sell well here!

• theanswer on Mar 23, 2012 at 9:45 am

renault should sell regular daily car then we can judge their sales number.

• Just me on Mar 23, 2012 at 10:06 am

Ranault is a good car, better handling than the VW. I saw in youtube, even the little Clio RS with normal aspirated engine can beat VW GTI, Sciricco, and some other turbo power engine.

• paparadzi on Mar 23, 2012 at 10:14 am

With only 10 unit limit, I think this could be sold out by now.

• carazy on Mar 23, 2012 at 9:10 am

stick shift.. yeahh:)

• Davis on Mar 23, 2012 at 10:16 am

Ya, only 100 units but end up sending to Ah Chow Workshop with the rest of my protons, kia and hyundai cars.

• Kampung on Mar 23, 2012 at 11:43 am

Singed plaque by their F1 driver Senna or Bottas?
    They’re yet to proof they can be champion. Not that valuable i would say. I can get Alex Yoong to sign allover my car but is it that unique? (remember he spun out most of the time?)

• Speedy Gonzalaes on Mar 23, 2012 at 12:11 pm

I just wanted to share a funny story with all you readers. I own a Megane. Last month when I was driving back from Ipoh to Mont Kiara, a pelesit aka rempit driving a Myvi and a choontoi driving a Forte tried to be road bullies with me. They were tail gating and tried to overtake me abruptly. I was patience for sometime but could not no more. I ‘tekan minyak’ and left the pelesit and chootoi in dust. Damn I was fast. Both of them tried to keep up with me but they couldn’t. The Forte choontoi lost control of his crappy car and hit the pelesit’s MyVi. LOL!

Shame on you MyVi and Forte owners. Be courteous on the road please. Moral of the story “Sepandai-pandai tupai melompat. akhirnya jatuh ke tanah juga”.

Saludos!

• Jeff Lim on Mar 23, 2012 at 2:59 pm

WUP 250 is that you? There’s a Yellow Renaultsport Megane Cup 250 staying near my house in Sect 17 PJ. Every 2 days I spotted this car…

• Speedy Gonzalaes on Mar 23, 2012 at 3:05 pm

Hey Jeff, you ought to know better not to reveal other peoples car registration number in a public blog.

• TurboMyvi on Mar 23, 2012 at 4:17 pm

Are you saying all Myvi and forte owners are road bully ? Maybe you are driving like Ah pek so they try to over take you..la I think thats the reason they tail gate you rite ?

• whysoserious on Mar 23, 2012 at 4:38 pm

all myvi drivers are sucks!! they love to cucuk every single thing on the road..even a BIG lorry..dumbass..

• Hammerclaw69 on Mar 24, 2012 at 12:56 am

Not ALL myvi la brader.. even a BIG lorry cucuk other car la

• TurboMan!!! on Mar 24, 2012 at 1:26 am

Im sure there are tons of nice and courteous myvi drivers around, but i generally find most of them to be rather aggressive drivers. Some are downright reckless cutting in and out of traffic.

Looks like im not alone in this.

• Not only Myvi some VW GTI or whatever TSI owners r the same lolx

• I have had MyVis following me at 180km/h turning corners. Salute them for their steel balls.

• Supa Hiro on Mar 23, 2012 at 4:26 pm

TurboMyvi, what I’m saying is MyVi owners are pelesit + rempit, and yes they are road bullies. I’m sure some readers here will agree with me.

• Mentari-o-korea on Mar 23, 2012 at 3:12 pm

Expensive, next!!!

• DArkerMarker on Mar 23, 2012 at 3:46 pm

expansive?

there are many rich papa or business man out there….

245k is loose change for the rich ppl…

• Moral of the story is …should you see a Megane dont cucuk2 la waste of time …it’s too fast haha …