Sexy Lexus LF-LC Concept has 50% chance at production

Remember the sexy red Lexus LF-LC concept we were raving about earlier in the year? The Detroit showstar went on to bag this year’s EyesOn Design Award for best concept car at Detroit, and most commentators were also generous in their praise. The bosses at Toyota has heard the chorus of good reception, and the LF-LC now stands a chance at making production!

“A decision has not been taken. But we’re now up to a 50% chance from a 0% one. Every top Toyota Motor Company manager is aware of the great reception it has received and now we’re talking about how we can do it and fit it into the product plan,” Lexus product planning chief Karl Schlicht told Autocar UK at Geneva.

Schlicht, who will be product planning head at Toyota and Lexus Europe from next month, said that the idea for such a dramatic Lexus production car would have been binned by Toyota top brass if not for the concept car, which was designed by the Calty Design Centre in America. The folks at sunny California were “let loose” and only had one brief – it must be a 2+2 coupe.

“The only parameter was size. We wanted the designers to create excitement. We’d never get it built from a product planning point of view on paper, but people have seen the concept and fallen in love with it. Dealers have gone crazy for it as well,” Schlicht added.

Click here to view our previous post and full gallery of the LF-LC.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Misai on Mar 26, 2012 at 2:24 pm

wow she is sexy & hope it stay below 350k

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 26, 2012 at 2:37 pm

This is not Cheap Korean Junk Sport Wannabe, you want below 350K get Cheap Genesis.

• Vader on Mar 26, 2012 at 3:52 pm

r u sick? why everything link to Korean car?
        and u r not afford for the “cheap” Genesis too!!!

• catdog on Mar 26, 2012 at 2:26 pm

sexy? no pblm..good 4 ur eye, d only pblm not good 4 ur pocket :)

• toroto on Mar 26, 2012 at 3:04 pm

Predator face. Alien vs Predator anyone?

• Just me on Mar 26, 2012 at 3:49 pm

Front is like some sexy lady is crying, probably after being rape by our gomen! But I think still a nice design.

• beef stew on Mar 26, 2012 at 6:51 pm

NEW SUPRA NOWWWW PLSS TOYOTA

• chicken nugget1 on Mar 26, 2012 at 6:52 pm

NEW SUPRAA NOWWWWW TOYOTAA

• droll on Mar 26, 2012 at 8:07 pm

how to increase the 50% to 100%?? beautiful car! i hope they keep a lot of the external features in the production version.

• likehondanotsomuch on Mar 26, 2012 at 9:54 pm

nice to see toyota taking this approach,hope it goes in to production.

• likehondanotsomuch on Mar 26, 2012 at 9:55 pm

nice to see toyota taking this approach,hope it will goes to production.

• Ash Menon on Mar 28, 2012 at 1:24 am

Agreed. Toyota might have finally realized it needs to do something interesting before it kills its customers with boredom.

I think the reason this design came out so beautifully is because none of the designers ever thought in his wildest dreams that it might go into production. That’s a brilliant stroke of luck for everyone, IMO.