SPIED: Infiniti M35h Hybrid being tested by JPJ!

Here’s something interesting spotted by reader Faisal Muthalib, who was traveling down the PLUS highway from Nilai to Seremban. The SLR wielding eagle eye snapped some high-res images of an Infiniti M (known as Nissan Fuga in Japan) being tested by JPJ. However, this is no normal M – the M35h bootlid badge tells us that this is the hybrid version of Infiniti’s 5-Series/Lexus GS rival!

The Infiniti brand was launched in October last year, when Tan Chong revealed the Infiniti Center in KL along with four models – the FX and EX crossovers, the G Coupe and the M saloon. The RM425k M37 is powered by a 3.7L VVEL V6 engine with 320 hp and 360 Nm. Paired to a seven-speed automatic, the muscular looking RWD saloon does 0-100 km/h in just 6.2 seconds.

The M35h is billed as a “driver’s hybrid”, and like Porsche’s Panamera Hybrid and BMW’s ActiveHybrid series, performance is key. Nissan’s luxury brand asks you to “forget your prejudices about hybrids” which is easy, since the system combines a 306 PS 3.5L V6 with a 68 PS electric motor powered by lithium-ion batteries.

Infiniti says that the M35h can reach 100 km/h on electric power alone. 0-100 km/h? 5.5 seconds, seven tenths faster than the bigger petrol engined M. Makes sense, if you’re seduced by the M and want to be different. Should be coming soon, hence this spotting.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• wow!! now japanese car interface getting better and better
    well done nissan

• nissan fuga??

• anti-Porsche on Mar 26, 2012 at 5:12 pm

Why must JPJ have a go at any and every new model in the market? What do they do during these test drives? I see they merely thrash the sh*t out of the poor cars. They claim to have a Formula 3 driver as a test driver. Do we need such “expertise” in driving the nuts out of the cars? The cars have been thoroughly tested prior to release. Journos have gone through them. Can JPJ do better?

• mohsin on Mar 26, 2012 at 5:16 pm

Go Green

• May I know what are the main purposes JPJ test drives these new models which are arriving at our shores? What are they testing for? Safety?

• F Fiesta on Mar 26, 2012 at 7:18 pm

Just for fun, typical law enforcement Malaysia. Hope PR will change the policy

• luffykewl on Mar 26, 2012 at 7:22 pm

testing good car on Malaysia’s bad road condition.. lol~

• driver on Mar 26, 2012 at 10:40 pm

I’ve always been wondering the same question. What are they’s testing by just using their butts? Bet the ‘buttometer’ is very sensitive huh.. LOL

• The Saint on Mar 27, 2012 at 5:37 pm

This is agood point. JPJ test include safety, handling and homologation, that’s what I know but not entirely sure. It will good a have an article/review on what/whatnot JPJ test for new cars to be Malaysian road worthy in this blog. Paul and team, is this possible? Is JPJ allowed to share what do they test?

• auto-guy-but-not-quite on Mar 26, 2012 at 5:29 pm

i see SV driving it… hahaha

• Major T-roll on Mar 26, 2012 at 6:00 pm

Anyone with good math skills can give a rough estimate of the price after discount for Hybrid models?

• Major T-roll on Mar 26, 2012 at 7:24 pm

Now how in the hell could that get a thumbs down?

• i don’t think this model is entitled for the tax redemption incentive. its a 3.5L

• Nissan on Mar 27, 2012 at 11:20 am

i think all infiniti here come with 3.7L engine & it’s competing with the Lexus hybrid. Maybe there will be a hybrid on EX or the FX series.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 26, 2012 at 7:48 pm

no hybrid exemption also. a bit pointless.

• this is for gov official car for cabinet members?…replacing old perdana v6

• droll on Mar 26, 2012 at 8:06 pm

i don’t think this car qualifies for the hybrid tax discount. it has an engine > 2litres.

yes?

• this car using parallel hybrid system.
    all toyota fan boys condemn this car oso la.what u all waiting for.
    Always say honda not good ma.

• Car Driver on Mar 27, 2012 at 2:21 am

The JPJ are there to make it difficult for the car to pass roadworthiness test.
    $ will make it easier.

• bobdbilder on Mar 27, 2012 at 4:57 pm

Uh isn’t it way too much? Doesn’t it make the whole ‘go green’ thing a joke? If you own and drive this car, what statement are you trying to make? My 3.5l V6 is greener than yours? I mean come on, have we lost our senses? Apparently not enough.

• 4g63tdsm on Mar 28, 2012 at 7:51 am

Nope…but this v6 is a lot faster than most v6 sedans.

This is taking a leaf from BMW.

Seriously, this thing scoots to 100 almost as quickly as the 370z. In …a large 4 door saloon!

• bobdbilder on Mar 28, 2012 at 7:19 pm

Nobody in Malaysia who owns a 3liter 4 door saloon car drives it fast. Nobody. If a Nissan lover wants to drive fast he buys a coupe. This is an American Nissan. Its made for senseless people by senseless people. They buy it for prestige. They buy it to make them look good. They buy it for the quantity of dead cows that make up the comfy seats.

I have no doubt it can be driven fast. But will the owners? Let’s wait for the price and specs and then we’ll see.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Mar 27, 2012 at 5:07 pm

An alternative to the BMW 535i or E300, but with hybrid fuel economy…but then again, those who can afford this car probably isn’t paying for the cost of the fuel.

• CD Chua CSL on Mar 28, 2012 at 1:19 am

These will be the future cars for minister minister. Hope my boss Najis will give me one also…..Pls vote me in next GE so that i can be re-elected to the parliment.

Thank you all.