Ford Focus – third-gen makes ASEAN debut

[UPDATE: New photos from displays at Bangkok Motor Show added, and further notes expanded in the story.]

Ford is set to unveil its third-generation Focus for the ASEAN market later this morning at the 33rd Bangkok International Motor Show, and the C-segment offering will arrive in both sedan and five-door hatch forms when it makes its market debut in mid-year.

Ahead of its debut, the C346 Focus was previewed to the media yesterday in downtown Bangkok, with an Ingot Silver version of the sedan being showcased – the car looks good in the metal and has significant presence, to say the least.

From a design perspective, it looks cleaner and better integrated than the outgoing C307’s four-door form, from nose to tail. The tail end especially – shaped by Australian designer Todd Willing – hangs together more organically.

The car will go on sale in the region’s markets with two engine choices, and while there are no EcoBoost mills in sight just yet, the new normally-aspirated Duratec 2.0 litre Ti-VCT GDi engine should hold the line quite ably, Ford believes.

For starters, it’s not a slouch in terms of output – the lump offers almost 20% more power than the outgoing Focus’ 2.0 litre Duratec, with 170 PS and 200 Nm of torque for figures. It’ll be partnered to a six-speed, dual dry-clutch PowerShift transmission, replete with paddle shifters.

The second powertrain is the Duratec 1.6-litre Ti-VCT engine, no stranger to Fiesta owners, which serves up 125 PS and 159 Nm, matched with either the six-speed Ford PowerShift transmission or a five-speed iB5 manual gearbox. Malaysia is set to get only the 2.0 variant form, according to the SDAC people we spoke to at the launch.

Two trim levels abound for the new car, these being a high-series Titanium+ as well as a Sport+ variant – among the more notable distinguishing features between both the lines is the inclusion of a Safety Pack in the higher-specification model.

Plenty of features to be found in this one, starting with the Active Grille Shutter system – this one uses vents to automatically control airflow through the grille to the cooling system and engine, to significantly reduce drag and help reduce the car’s wind noise at speed, while contributing to improved fuel efficiency.

Elsewhere, the list also includes Active Park Assist, which offers totally hands-free parallel parking capability, an Active City Stop collision-mitigation system as well as Blind Spot Information System (BLIS), which Volvo owners will find quite familiar.

There’s also Smart Keyless Entry, which locks or unlocks the door when the driver grabs the door handle, and push button start ignition, and Ford is also playing up the car’s SYNC connectivity package, which provides hands-free, voice-activated in-car connectivity. From voice calls and reading and replying SMS to music playback, it’s all here with this one.

You can access music via voice command, with search command functions for artist, album, track or genre. As for SMS, a message can be read out in voice to you, and you can select an appropriate quick reply from a toggle list of determined responses, or simply call the sender back via phone. There’s even conference call ability on this one, if you’re into that sort of thing.

The system is a progression of that found in the Fiesta’s (it’s not based on the same architecture), and a short sampling of its workings through a static display dashboard at the preview shows it to be a significant jump – it’s inherently smoother in operation, and the interface’s logic is superior.

For one, the phonebook access now reads names as is from the phone, at least from the Google Nexus One’s directory – the Fiesta system lists last names first, so John Doe becomes Doe John; the Focus interface stacks it right.

The kit list also includes dual-zone electronic air-conditioning, rain-sensing wipers, automatic headlamps, cruise control, powered sunroof and an auto-dimming rear view mirror, among other things.

Passive safety features include driver and front passenger airbags, side front airbags and segment-exclusive side curtain airbags for front- and rear-seat occupants. Meanwhile, the Electronic Stability Program incorporates Emergency Brake Assist, Hill Launch Assist and Anti-Lock Brake System, which includes Electronic Brakeforce Distribution.

In terms of ride and handling, NVH levels have been reduced and driving dynamics improved by the increased stiffness of the body structure, which is 30% more rigid than the C307. And the car will also feature Torque Vectoring Control fitted as standard equipment.

The system behaves like a limited-slip differential to constantly balance distribution of torque between the driven front wheels, which results in reduced understeer, improved traction and better turn-in. The company pointed out that in terms of agility, precision and – most noticeably – comfort, the new car strips the C307.

The Focus is set to begin scale production at the company’s new US$450 million manufacturing facility in Rayong in mid year, and the production will supply nine markets, in the ASEAN region as well as other countries. As for Malaysia, expect the car to arrive in the third-quarter, around September.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• T4VR-Ralph on Mar 27, 2012 at 10:12 am

not bringing in the 3-cylinder 1 litre Turbo (125hp)?
    UK are getting those.. with 6 speed tranny summore..

http://www.ford.co.uk/FordFleet/NewsAndReviews/FordForBusiness/2012/February/Focus-EcoBoost-Engine

• Ford Owner on Mar 27, 2012 at 4:40 pm

They are too scared or NOT allowed to bring in the 1 litre eco boost cause the prices would be so low then. They will be forced to sell the car below Rm90k.

Nobody would even buy the Inspira then. This is so sad. People want economy and low cc and we are denied this. All to protect Proton.

• You don’t justify car price by how many cc their engine is… And fyi, the 1litre ecoboost is equivalent (or more) to a 1.6L engine, which is still ok if it is at around 100k (mind that this rivals Civics and Altis area, not your City nor Vios)

Speechless if they really thought so..

• nowadays C segment car cannot be popular with 1.6L , at least in malaysia, just see its rivals, altis, civic, forte, mostly 1.8-2.0. 1.6L for this car is like suicide unless a turbo one.

• Ford Owner on Mar 27, 2012 at 9:15 pm

In Malaysia, for CBU models, your cc (generally) determines the tax and duties, ultimately, the car price. Btw, look at the BMW 523i and 520i, the latter is cheaper because the tax and duties are lower for a 2000cc as opposed to the 523i’s 2500cc

• Ford Owner on Mar 27, 2012 at 8:56 pm

Also, where is the new Ford Escape? We have been stuck with this old outdated looking Escape for so long whilst the world has moved forward with newer versions and engines.

So, when is the 2013 Ford Escape being sold? Already US selling it, how come so long for us to get it?

• kadajawi on Mar 30, 2012 at 1:04 am

I totally disagree. Most car buyers here think the higher the cc, the better. Do they even know about turbos?

Anyway, driving a turbo can be difficult at times. Like the TSI engines… it hardly moves when you are just getting going… and you should be doing a kick down to keep up with the car in front. But you know if you kick down, suddenly the turbo will kick in, and you will kiss the car in front. A NA engine is easier to handle (though less fun, and ultimately less economic).

• Andrew on Mar 27, 2012 at 5:15 pm

The new Elantra, They want to sell it for RM$75,000 and below. The government is still taking mnths to deliberate on it cause they know it will wipe Proton out. People in Malaysia are conned by the government who fixes car prices to protect Proton. Sime Darby, despite being government, got no telur to demand the initial low pricing they want to give the public. Wait and see, the price will be RM$85,000 or RM$95,000

How long government want to protect PRoton. 30 years already, should be on your feet to stand on your own to compete. All Malaysians are being cheated not just by high car tax but government insisting that every car manufacturer must adhere to government pricing ie only government can fix the price of every car.

• By your reasoning, Elantra cant be sold too low. But what about the same price as Forte? If Hyundai Elantra with inokom badge price much higher than the Forte still the same reason?

• The new Elantra’s delay was not due to the pricing approval. And the distributor never intended to price it at RM75,000. You can find out why if you look closely enough in the news.

• Darren on Mar 28, 2012 at 2:01 pm

Feis, we are proud of you at MITI. You will soon be promoted.

• Thank you Boss. I think minister want to see you now….. :-)

• I am confused. Now is still gov protecting Proton or DRB?

• Abdul Wahub on Jun 11, 2012 at 2:16 pm

Protectionism is everywhere lah. Not just in Malaysia. US, UK also protect their critical industries.

Just for the sake of a few people who want cheaper cars, you can’t expect the government to kill thousand of jobs. Same with the crop farming industries in USA, and everywhere else.

There is more to life than cheap material goods.

• mikey on Jun 11, 2012 at 9:33 pm

I still don’t understand why some people think protecting Proton is such a good idea. They think Proton generates thousands of jobs. They have forgotten why Toyota, Ford, Honda etc etc have set up factories in THAILAND and INDONESIA. Those would have created MILLIONS of jobs for Malaysia. Malaysia was the country they wanted to set up the factories. If you find out how many cars Thailand exports a year versus how many Protons we export, you will realize Malaysia has lost out big time.

• Lim Kopi on Mar 29, 2012 at 1:58 am

WTF ?? they are only bringing in those outdated DURATEC engines??

Stupid SDAC …

Focus has the potential to be the BEST SELLER given the right specs… ie with ECOBOOST ….

and NOT …. the obsolete DURATEC.

Good luck with sales then !!

• artworks on Jun 08, 2012 at 2:51 pm

this engine is same as US spec, 2.0 GDi direct injection. not a outdated duratec

• ben yap on Mar 27, 2012 at 10:14 am

Nice car! unfortunately in Malaysia Ford is under rated. it is a very good car especially the ones with Ecoboost.

• mat rempitz on Mar 27, 2012 at 12:03 pm

no doubt it is a nice car, but most of the people including me are put off by the distributor. None other than Sime Darby ladies and gentleman. a company that record billions of revenue but only millions of profit. Inefficient. Enough said. Poor after sales service and long waiting period.

Ford and Hyundai, please set up your own dealership. You’d be better off.

• Well, they can’t, due to bumi collaboration reasons.. You know how it goes..

• Out of Luck on Mar 27, 2012 at 3:05 pm

Absolutely agreed with mat rempitz regarding SDAC doing injustice to such a nice car. In the article, this car has awesome features but when it comes to Malaysia later, surely some of the features will go missing: such as no Smart Keyless Entry, no Active Park Assist, reduced number of airbags etc while the selling price remained the same as the full featured car. If not for SDAC, this is truly an awesome car. Looking forwards to see it on the roads in Malaysia and owning it if sold without some features crippled.

• kadajawi on Mar 29, 2012 at 1:29 am

The Fiesta sedan has got 7 airbags… that’s as good as it gets in a Fiesta. :) Only the sport trades in the airbags for a silly bodykit. 7 airbags at a for a B segment sedan decent price point (compared to the Japs).

People don’t buy it though, so it seems their life doesn’t matter to them… –> manufacturers will give less airbags again/won’t give more (see Toyota…).

• totally agreed

• Ford Focus Man on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:22 am

I have a Ford Focus 2010. My side mirror kena langgar motorcycle. Ford took 3 months just to replace my side mirror.

Yes, 3 months. I can understand if its an odd part but the side mirror is the most common part to kena langgar in Malaysia. Nearly everybody has got their side mirror knocked by a motorcycle. I have to idea why Ford does not stock it, especially common parts.

The same thing happened to my Honda. My side mirror kena langgar motorcycle. Honda took 2 hours to replace the whole part, including fixing, labour etc.

So, now you know why people buy Honda. 2 hours vs 3 months. I wish all those enthuasiatic Ford Fiesta buyers thinking they are getting excellent after sales service.

• after sales service very important !!! NAZA too ….is a common item n low in cost n yet dont keep stock. really no passion in operating the business. i am sure is just only here. as all units here are also avail internationally

• serious ? but the all new ford focus real cutting design – better than Elantra. but after sales serive how uh ? never own ford

• napster on Jun 04, 2012 at 8:07 am

Remps,
        For the nine-month period that ended in March, Sime Darby’s earnings rose 30% to RM3.051bil from RM2.352bil same quarter last year. Their target this year is RM3.3bil. It ain’t millions as you said. Perhaps you should consider buying their stock.

• wow…2.0 NA with 170ps & 200nm…..

• droll on Mar 27, 2012 at 10:25 am

wow! ford is really getting serious!! some very nice equipment list.

• Aroma on Mar 27, 2012 at 10:34 am

Turbocharged it and the Amerrican can challenge the 3 series

• Vader on Mar 27, 2012 at 10:57 am

i do believe many of us wish for an eco-boost engine here!

• ya, wish got Ecoboost and don’t reduce specs. I would like to know whether parts are expensive and will after sales service be improved after hearing the horror stories.. is it cost effective to own a ford? drawn by the technology but don’t know why here not many want but ford.

• Ordinaryguy on Mar 27, 2012 at 11:10 am

In my opinion buying the Focus now is a bit risky as Ford may decide to offer the Car with a 1.6 litre Ecoboost engine in a very near future. This will of course translates into dramatic drop in your car’s resale value. The 2.0 liter Duratec is NOT know to be fuel efficient either :(

• Wait for the 1.0 ecoboost…lower road tax wt nice low down torque

• yes that would be ideal.n fit it in the hatchback focus.awesome!!!

• Darren on Mar 28, 2012 at 2:04 pm

Just don’t buy the 2.0 car. People should demand the 1.0 car. Eventually, they will be forced to bring it in if NOBODY buys the 2.0 Focus

• YeapyEvo on Mar 27, 2012 at 11:37 am

C’mon Ford, bring in the 1L Ecoboost version!

• ahmadfaris93 on Mar 27, 2012 at 11:38 am

Bring in the hatch !

• yourMoMmy on Mar 27, 2012 at 11:46 am

extremely messy center console design….DISLIKES !!!

• Looks like a bigger version of Fiesta sedan, which is not a good thing look-wise.

• Slump Dog Billionaire on Mar 27, 2012 at 12:09 pm

Anthony, is Ford Malaysia going to bring in the 2.0 GDI in replacement of the current TDCI? The TDCI is an awesome diesel pot, hope the GDI will be it’s comparable replacement here.

• Out of Luck on Mar 27, 2012 at 3:10 pm

Couldn’t agree more. One of the main reason why I love Focus so much is because of the TDCI engine. While I can live with the loss of steering feedback due to the use of electrical steering in the new Focus, I don’t think I’ll ever accept the loss of TDCI engine. Furthermore, today’s Star newspaper seems to indicate that our subsidized RON95 petrol won’t remained at the current price for long due to escalating world oil prices, or at least until after general election.

• GDI is petrol direct injection while TDCI is turbodiesel…..no resemblance

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 27, 2012 at 5:15 pm

There won’t be a diesel for the C346 just yet. Philippines production of the C307 continues, which means the TDCi continues on for a few more months before the run-out of its production.

• Focused on Mar 27, 2012 at 12:17 pm

Let’s see…..in the US this car is USD 15,640, retail price.
    Hmmmm, 1 USD= 3.07 Ringgit.
    So the car should be selling in Kuala Lumpur at ……… 15,640 * 3.07 = RM 48,014.80 . Cheaper than a Proton Persona!

Unfortunately, this car is controlled by another govt crony, Sime Darby, which is renowned for high-pricing stuff ,eg BMW , SJMC medical bills, Sime Properties houses etc.

I bet they’ll whack it up to 150k and expect malaysians to be suckered AS USUAL. But let’s teach them a lesson , let’s change this govenment this coming election. Let them know that we are fools but NOT THAT BIG A FOOL!

• Dude, I don’t think the prices of all things you mentioned will go down to suit your wishful thinking if you change the government. Economy is not easy like that.

Nice try. Work harder.

• skyjuice on Mar 27, 2012 at 8:07 pm

we work so hard to get something that’s not justified with our work..
        where’s the logic?
        why paying extra just to feed some cronies’ belly?
        Do you guys feel 100k etc car that you bought worth the price?
        Hell no..

• Lookit, if you cut the prices of cars into half so you can afford your dream car then what will happen to people that bought the same car as you at double the price? You can’t just go and change just like that.

It makes more sense to say oil prices will be better adjusted / subsidized rather than asking for car or house prices to be drastically brought down if we change the government.

• 4agze on Mar 27, 2012 at 2:02 pm

so you think car will be cheaper after PR topple current gov?

• kekuda on Mar 27, 2012 at 2:23 pm

I think you forgot transportation cost (and also fuel price comparison)

• Out of Luck on Mar 27, 2012 at 3:23 pm

I don’t think SDAC will be foolish enough to price at RM150k. It’ll still remained around RM115k-120k for 2.0 NA petrol and RM125k-135k for TDCI but probably with less features. Pricing it at RM150k will just kill this car because it means going head to head with T&H C-segment cars (Malaysian all time favourite cars) and also the value for money D-segment Korean cars. Heck, at that price I’ll might as well buy Toyota Prius!

• fraz006 on Mar 27, 2012 at 4:01 pm

sure a 15k usd?

• rapidshifter on Mar 27, 2012 at 5:32 pm

USD15k is the price range… with manual gearbox and less accessories i.e the most basic sedan focus… insurance would be at USD1119.

• woahh…chill dude, you’re being so furious with that caps lock

• Wisdom on Mar 27, 2012 at 4:51 pm

Change the government and this Focus can be yours for RM48K. Hmm. Interesting.

Thousands if not million Malaysian out there are in car debt; 5, 7 and even 9 years. And value is not everything u see. Billions of ringgit worth depreciation will happen overnight. Suddenly your car which could worth 80K (and still on loan) plunge to 10K or so. I doubt anybody can tolerate that.

I dont care which government in charge, but please, prevent such overnight changes. Yes we can say whatever we want (0 tax bla bla), but the reality sometimes further adrift than your wet dreams.

• Focused on Mar 27, 2012 at 10:12 pm

I am only saying that “thou shalt not pay RM3 for things that everybody pays RM1”.

If you voted the goverment in,……. you can also vote them out.The choice is yours. There are fighters and the are those who give up and submit.I personally …..refuse to submit..

• Wisdom on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:36 am

One way or another, all of us is a fighter. Give up and submit only applies to those on suicide.
          Change the government and car prices all slash to kancil level is ideal.

U know in the US car is cheap. But did u know how many of them living uneasy due to pending payment to IRS?

And, u’ll be surprised those countries with cheap car prices record the highest rate of homeless. Effective governing?

• amirad on Mar 27, 2012 at 1:00 pm

Ya. Better wait for the eco boost. If the car ain’t selling as it should be, for sure Ford will bring in the Ecoboost. At least VW brings in their full model range. All TSI and DSG equipped to the hilt. My favourite combo would be the 1.6 eco boost and manual transmission. Now customers really spoilt for choice.

• kadajawi on Mar 30, 2012 at 1:00 am

Haiya, in Malaysia most buyers will say “but it’s only a 1.6… I’d rather take the 1.8 Toyota (NA). Only us enthusiasts know about what a turbo can do to an engine (while still remaining practical and usable).

• No turbo no sale. We must prove it to ford. No buy until there’s turbo!

• Well,…how Proton Persona/Waja (R) going to compete with this kind of features….Active Park Assist, an Active City Stop collision-mitigation system as well as Blind Spot Information System (BLIS),Torque Vectoring….7 air bags and ect. Belum launch lagi suda kalah…….Proton should come out with a model with all these gadget…..than call it a global car…..

• just look at price , focus is much expensive and p3 is not a full C segment car, it is in B-C segment, it should be compared to fiesta, which is suda kalah, even with its voice command control , which is USELESS

• Apalalu on Mar 27, 2012 at 3:32 pm

2.0? Why not the 1.6 ecoboost with 180hp? Come on Ford msia, you have done well
    with Fiesta, new ranger is a gem, mondeo n s-max offers excellent value for money.
    Dont screw up again with Focus mk3 as you did with Focus mk2.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Mar 27, 2012 at 3:43 pm

Anthony, can you please take nicer pictures? Can’t see the rear properly, no idea of interior size…wake up maan…

• Major T-roll on Mar 27, 2012 at 4:51 pm

Maybe you should ask NICELY

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 27, 2012 at 5:12 pm

There was no access to the interior, mate.

• BeemerFreak on Mar 27, 2012 at 10:00 pm

You so desperate to find out then make a trip to singapore this weekend, they have it there, you could even test drive it. wake up maaaan

• Wisdom on Mar 27, 2012 at 4:54 pm

Texting while driving?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 27, 2012 at 5:18 pm

An SMS can be read out to you in voice form, and you can toggle a suitable choice of selectable quick responses, or call the sender back.

• Ash Menon on Jun 09, 2012 at 9:27 pm

Bit awkward to receive a message like “If you know what I mean semicolon closed parenthesis”.

Especially if you’re not alone in the car.

• Asean market debut? but the hatchback version is already on sale in Singapore.

• BeemerFreak on Mar 27, 2012 at 8:51 pm

both version, sedan and hatch already on sale in singapore. the best part is Sime Darby is the dealer there, operating under the name of Vantage Automobiles, dont understand why cant they give their home market the better deal first.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 28, 2012 at 12:39 am

ben, that’s how it goes – media representation from Thailand, Indonesia, Philippines and Malaysia. Singapore wasn’t there.

• F Fiesta on Mar 27, 2012 at 5:27 pm

Much nicer than Kia K5

• Maserati on Mar 27, 2012 at 5:51 pm

This is definately better than any korean junk outt there. But still lags behind the japs and germans. Even the steering wheel also wanna copy Latest honda civic

• =-='' on May 20, 2012 at 6:55 pm

u go comment on everything from hyundai page to this page and say korean is junk =-=”

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 27, 2012 at 6:52 pm

Pity.

No hatch, no TDCI, no Ecoboost?

Good car, this….too bad they basically left out almost everything that made Ford even palatable here.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 28, 2012 at 12:00 am

Five-door hatch, yes. No TDCi just yet. EcoBoost, anyone’s guess when.

• Caruser on Mar 27, 2012 at 8:12 pm

Handsome car la. But with a NA 2.0L engine, its road tax will be higher than a 508 and Passat. Me thinks the selling price will be between $115K to $120.

• Just because it was with FORD badge, everyone praise how good and pretty it is.

If it was PROTON sure all will bash like no tomorrow.

• Annecy on Mar 27, 2012 at 11:23 pm

Ford is almost synonymous with quality and value for money these days. Whereas Proton has been plagued with all sorts of problems relating the vehicles they produce and the company itself. I rest my case. And please don’t call me a “Ford salesman” or anything stupid like that because I stated the facts.

• tiadaid on Mar 28, 2012 at 7:23 pm

You’ve never heard of the Ford Pinto then – also known as a DEATHTRAP.

• Annecy on Mar 29, 2012 at 8:52 pm

What’s your point? All companies have at some point produced flops. And most of the time, they actually make an effort to rectify them ( recalls, etc.), unlike Proton who’s had power window problems for years before finally recently admitting the problem existed and offered that replacement for life scheme thing. I don’t see any “The all new 2012 Ford Pinto” adverts anywhere.

• kadajawi on Mar 30, 2012 at 12:58 am

It’s not pretty. The last one was. But the triangular air vents… god are they ugly. What were they thinking? If it is any good I shall hopefully see on Sunday, I have rented one, but of course I could end up driving a Hyundai instead. :(

• How come the car sudah accident kah? The 3 pics show the driver door different color from the fender and rear door???

• Better buy new Proton P321A…but with these few redesigns lah:
    http://tinypic.com/r/35hmgzl/5

• a P321A ? Ford don’t laugh lolx

• your redesign of the rear lights make the car more acceptable, more cohesive in design. the original looks really disjointed.

• i wan ecoboost… boring na

• cyberbanana on Mar 27, 2012 at 9:50 pm

sime darby should consider selling the manual version, there is seriously a lack of any good cars with manual transmission in this price range

• gracke on Mar 27, 2012 at 11:13 pm

OMG…..!!!!! It’s hopeless, why isn’t the 1.6 & 2.0 Ecooobooooost, only these performance turbo engines can match with brilliant ford chassis and its unique rear suspension, and bringing back the ford sales.

• Lukeskywalker on Mar 27, 2012 at 11:41 pm

outside looks very cool….inside…too muscular..

• Hoping for the Focus ST Wagon to come to our shores.

• gracke on Mar 28, 2012 at 10:34 am

Ecooobooost also not available, will they bring the ST here. At least bring one CBU model Ford Focus ST!!!! WoW…….!!! really gorgeous….

• teelim on Mar 28, 2012 at 1:24 am

such a large area in the dashboard but only a puny screen *facepalm*

luckily everything else looks pretty good.

• Car Driver on Mar 28, 2012 at 6:07 am

We want 1.6 Ford Ecoboost .. Why not bring in Cheaper Cars that Malaysian Want.? Save Petrol Subsidies as well

• optimus on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:13 am

now the focus sedan looks proportionately better than previous generation

• Dr Mamak on Mar 28, 2012 at 10:01 am

That 2 triangular holes upfront and mish mash interior just didn’t work for me.

• Simon Templer@ Seman Tempe on Mar 28, 2012 at 8:44 pm

Yes , the front air skirting area of the new focus looks like Star War -Dat Vader’s mouth piece. I hope it doesn’t sound like Dat Vader.
      I always wonder , even among popular brands, there is always some punks in the design outfit that spoil what would have been an almost pleasing wholesome product design. Look at BMW’s X 1, X3 or the new Proton Tuah back side or Mazda Sedan puny little wheels, not to mention all the silly hybrid designs , something is just not right . It doesn’t jive.
      I suppose , the same goes to human features . Sometime we got attracted at the cute front and miss the hind part until it is too late.By the time you realise it it is not easy to trade in just like that. . By then no amount of Ubat Kuat Lelaki or Kopi Jantan can eco-boost your unresponsive torque , Turbo lag, gear hunting in the wet or dry clutch,
      traction control coming in too early , all sort of problems .
      He,he,he , have a nice evening guys.

• dudeeee hybrid design with steep rear is the most efficient for the airflow. you dont want your prius to have a baaad fc for having a good rear with less aerodynamic like this hatch focus.

• Galaxy on Mar 28, 2012 at 10:08 am

Bring also the diesel engine here. We demand it

• ahmadfaris93 on Mar 28, 2012 at 1:30 pm

By September this car would be ‘old’ .

• how come asean version comes with puny display screen on the middle and big blank spot on the dash suppose for lcd display. aiyoh,,,,, we don’t deserve it

• Felix on Jun 08, 2012 at 4:24 pm

SD treat Malaysian like junk metal car buyer…no wonder can’t beat UMW@Toyota on selling quantity!!!
    Results speak..

• Sam Loo on Jun 09, 2012 at 8:02 am

How is the RV of Ford Focus?

• Jack Leong on Jun 11, 2012 at 10:44 am

No to Sime Darby subsidiaries… They are riding on Ford’s and Hyundai’s success but even with those, they flopped on their sales and service. *facepalm*

• mikey on Jun 11, 2012 at 9:37 pm

Will be nice to have turbo diesel but can we use our low grade diesel on these cars? The gov doesn’t seem keen to improve the quality of diesel in the country. After all, all policies are meant to protect a local company who has no diesel engine capabilities

• prashnan on Jul 03, 2012 at 4:21 pm

bro’….just dont buy now…..wait till ford brings 1st promotion and then wait for 2nd promotion…still dont buy…that will take atleast…1 year plus…then “wallaa” ecoboost 1.6l…..then serbu….!!! all the ford showroom….

• Hidayat on Jul 11, 2012 at 3:21 pm

there is no such thing protecting proton…this is all about excise duty. More than 5 bil collected every year from this. Proton is there to become the scapegoat only. With not more tha 100 mil profit yearly, how much can this benefited the gov.