Proton Prevé app – more proof of the P3-21A’s name?

Here’s more proof that the upcoming Proton P3-21A will be called the Proton Prevé – reader Mustaqim dropped us a note pointing to this App Shopper link showcasing a Proton Prevé iOS app. The Proton Prevé app appears to be an augmented reality marketing tool and the App Shopper listing includes a few screenshots of the app, however when we tried to look for it on the App Store it was nowhere to be found.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• originals on Mar 29, 2012 at 8:46 pm

the body design copy so much from inspira/lancer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

copycat !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• WOW proton preve nice looks but rear view ok meh??Got any real pics??

• armandd on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:42 pm

I don’t see it that way.

• x sama pun. mcm BMW/ Volvo S60 ada la. tp tetap nampak cam identiti sendiri

• 3rd class mentality btul bro nih!haha

• froggy the anti typical minded on Mar 29, 2012 at 10:43 pm

bro , nowadays this car segment always look alike laa…
      ex.. forte=civic=elantra=cruze , why dont u call them all copycat ? its an INNOVATION
      but i barely see lancer design on this car bro .. which part ,
      tell me, but before that wear your glasses ya,,
      **one more thing, your car four stoke right ? it made by the german,.. then other car maker follow the same , also called copy-cat ?
      but the inspira i agreed it’s a copy from lancer , (with cheaper price) ..

• have to agree with you.. cars nowadays look alike and i don’t see any harm in that..
        want to buy, you buy and dun want to, hey got many option in market right.. people, please do not insult people intelligent by saying bad things towards their effort.. tq

• aisamuddin on Mar 29, 2012 at 11:01 pm

what the F is wrong with malaysians?im sure that if the badge were T or H there wudnt be any prob.

• confused on Mar 30, 2012 at 7:40 am

Ypu must be new here.

People also bash if T and H revealed boring endless facelift and utter disgust model such as Vios and new Civic also. So, win-win.

• Yui Misaki on Mar 30, 2012 at 7:52 am

Nothing wrong with them, they are just Malaysians.

• jepun on Mar 29, 2012 at 11:10 pm

You are right, Proton engineers might have picked up discarded drawings from the dustbins when they do those “lawatan sambil belajar” to mitsubishi factory in japan . The car does have a strange shitty look, like a plagiarised model. Anybody else notice how stupid the car looks?

• Yui Misaki on Mar 30, 2012 at 7:50 am

We all know how stupid you look. :D

• haha…this kind of person just know to shitting everywhere and put the blame to others. u should know the procedure and then learn to comment la bro. dont just judge by the look of result when you dun know how they do it.

if u are so awesome please make one model using ‘gabus hijau’ and plaster it. eventhough i am working for japan automotive, i respect proton since they are good player in our country…

• like always.. if got just 1 similarity, proton will be call COPYCAT.. if non-malaysian company got even big similarity, nothing will be said about it.. typical malaysia..

• froggy the anti typical minded on Mar 29, 2012 at 11:54 pm

well ,,
        lets give some example for this typical minded yeah ,…
        http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthread.php?4741758-Obscure-rebadged-cars
        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Badge_engineering

rebadge happen with 2 big car company
        ford and mazda.. eg ford telstar = mazda capella
        VW and toyota eg . VW taro = toyota hilux
        try google this , all the same .. merc also do rebadge , Volkswagen LT, Dodge Sprinter Mercedes-Benz Sprinter ,,
        bro “original ”
        please reply ,, eager to see your comment …

• Prismo on Mar 30, 2012 at 7:41 am

Your body very much look like my body.. Oh boy… u are copying my body… COPYCAT!!!

• Too expensive for this car !

• Tiguan on Mar 29, 2012 at 8:54 pm

I don’t know why but I prefer “Persona” more than “Preve” as the name for P3-21A

• nighttrain on Mar 29, 2012 at 8:59 pm

can’t find it… the app store got nothin’.. ADiOS is developer 58megs?

• nighttrain on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:03 pm

mid section is like lexus IS250, which is a good thing… aw c’mon don’t thumb me down!

• elantra on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:04 pm

only funny ppl buy p3-21a

persona all the way.

turbo spoil,u cry

• Haishhh…go tell mercs cgi, new bmw, and vw about spoilt turbo..see how they will bluff u dude!

• The word Preve actually originates from Kelantan…by definition it is the act of somebody from outside Kelantan who come into Kelantan and eat ‘ kuih tahi itik’ dipped in Budu. That is Preve.

• Tergolek on Mar 29, 2012 at 11:53 pm

Old chinese people won’t buy this car. Mercedes they pronounce “maaslik”, Sime Darby they pronounce “slebi”, Perve will be pronounced “pariah”

• Sepot Reem on Mar 30, 2012 at 1:11 pm

What so great about Kelantan huh? that word originally from Spain la bro. You should think outside Kelantan, not just out of the box.

• spain??no lah…that word from kutub utara!!
        apa hal la nak sebok sangat drp mana word tu dtg??

• agree with u bro. already ckeck in google translate…the word came from spanish i think… refer to spanish dictionary the means is ‘prove’.. dunt know the real mean. need to be await for official launch. any way gud job for all proton team esp our malaysian people and all my fren over there. bravo dude…

• justanothermalaysian on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:09 pm

Quite a weird sounding name right? Is it from a french word? It’d be interesting watching then trying to market it ..

• anjez on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:28 pm

so sad that they decided to name this crap as PREVE….
    supposed to name it as MAHATHIR since he invented PROTON in 1985 and conned the rakyat for years.
    since the car outlook looks like his senile face….prton must name it as PROTON MAHATHIR.

• BENSON11 on Mar 29, 2012 at 10:38 pm

What a lame comment, copycat here and their. It so common now. Here one of the example, lancer gt rear light copycat from alfa romeo 159. nah so boring about this issue

• tercirit on Mar 29, 2012 at 10:51 pm

Useless shit! They call this a car. Looks like dog-puke. 70k for this unsightedly heap of recycled industrial waste? You gotta be kidding.Could be the last proton ever built…….once anwar ibrahim shuts Proton down after he wins the election. What a glorious day will that be.

Thinking of buying,…..wipe that ugly thought off your brain cells. This goner gonna devalue faster than orang utan’s faecal matter dropping from the tree tops of sepilok . It’ll make you a pauper. You’ll look more dignified on a benggali bicycle.

• thelonely on Mar 30, 2012 at 8:00 am

that is called freedom of choice my friend. can’t call them stupid if they like it.

• mencirit on Mar 30, 2012 at 8:59 am

Your Anwar will not shut P1 but he’ll make the Preve@P3-21A ‘butt’ better…come to papa!

• un-cirit on Mar 30, 2012 at 10:14 am

gunakan hak utk BERFIKIR
      sebelum guna hak utk BERSUARA

• nahhh..u prefer kancil lampu kotak right? then letak nama mira..eeeeee tak maluuu!

• eva31s on Mar 29, 2012 at 10:57 pm

how to pronounce it again Prevé (Pre vel or Pre vent) ???

• Proton Preve Club on Mar 29, 2012 at 10:59 pm

Nice name hope this is nice car too.. :)

• The apps remove :(

• Me Again on Mar 29, 2012 at 11:17 pm

android more popular thy should make one for android platform as well…

• Proton Perv??

• bmpower on Mar 29, 2012 at 11:33 pm

I do believe.. the car is very good. (exceot rear design). all over it’s package is superbly good.

however.. it’s the name will make this proton fail!…. how the h3ll sad is that?

remember how they make a joke about ‘savvy’ name in that famous tv series?

soon… not even they, but our local P2 and T fanatic will make jokes with this name too.

Perve………… wthf….. is there’s no any others good name instead of something sound as bad as this??? perv3t? seriously eh.. no other choice?

I even do believe.. some of potential buyer now… don’t want to buy it because of it’s name!

• MoFaz on Mar 30, 2012 at 1:45 am

probably what you believe is wrong.
      what is Myvi, Alza, Exora, Forte, Avante, Vios, Altis, Sylphy and many other car model name means? they’re also very foreign to our BM or english language but still people buy them. some potential buyers already place their booking even without test drive and while the name is still P3-21A
      PRE.. and PER.. definitely sounds different. unless, did you failed english oral test?

• Kia K5 on Mar 30, 2012 at 9:24 am

I totally agree. History has taught us a lesson that names can predict the future of the product.

Nissan Bluebird (Lam Chiao) – failed to sell in numbers

Alfa Romeo 164 (Yat Lou Sei) – no nid to say la. They eventually changed it to 168 for certain markets.

Nissan Cefiro (Sei Fei Lou) – Nissan, nissan…

Nissan Latio (Fellatio) – It’s a Lah Show, I repeat, it’s a Lah Show. My ass!

Nissan Teana (Tian ah!) – Mandarin expression used to complain to Heaven when things go wrong.

Proton Perdana (Potong Banana) – Ini paling best ni…

Proton Preve (Proton Pervy)

• Vader on Mar 30, 2012 at 3:50 pm

Your comment shown how childish you are.
        If one’s product is good with right price, sure customer will buy it but not care about the name..
        As refer to your statement, if “4” refer to ‘die”, then iphone4 no one dare to buy it at all! Does it make sense?

• steamer on Mar 30, 2012 at 9:49 pm

why only refer to chinese language?
        other people dont buy car ah?
        like harith iskander said in his joke :
        “kenape tak Melayu,Cine,India dan lain2??”

• Ash Menon on Apr 01, 2012 at 4:12 pm

Don’t forget the Laputa. That one was classic.

• RaceRosakRepair on Apr 04, 2012 at 4:06 pm

& Don’t forget :-

Nissan Sylphy = Nissan Siflis

my oh my

• bmpower on Mar 29, 2012 at 11:39 pm

If you all think it’s just me..

all proton from any of their management level.. can GO GOOGLE for a keyword = “proton pervert”…. there’s already many jokes about that .

Is that good for marketing? THINK AGAIN!

change the name and emblem surely cheaper cost rather than ruin it all and make it EPIC FAIL!

• car look nice enough for me but Preve. is it a french wannabe car? did they ran out of malay words in the kamus dewan? you would think that after that epic fail of name-your-proton contest they would do better picking a good name on their own. sigh! if you don’t remember last contest where they specifically says no flower names but end up picking Exora as the winning entry.

• sensible citizen on Mar 29, 2012 at 11:59 pm

Whatever said, I am sure the people in Proton worked hard on this project.
    Well done and keep it up.
    Take each comment from a positive point.
    One day, Malaysian will be proud of their national car.

• CC IK on Mar 30, 2012 at 12:03 am

the most anticipated things in this blog which I personally follow, is the comment from reader when any proton article issued.. ahahahaa, very funny, some are damn true, some very cliche proton-bashing…

I think PaulTan.org should run an article which shows a good VW or Lexus new car to be disguised as “new proton car”; so, we can somehow objectively gauge readers comment quality.. LOL…

• chicken nugget1 on Mar 30, 2012 at 12:14 am

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHA

• danedz on Mar 30, 2012 at 12:53 am

why don’t they just stick to old name like Waja,Gen2,Wira,etc…as a 2nd generation model..?

• common proton, proton preve??? what a name lah
    baru ada keta baek skit da nk pakai nama plik2 arghh baru ja nk bli

• apa yang peliknya..itu english word..da vocab ko hancus…mmg la ko kata pelik bhai..

• proud to be malaysian on Mar 30, 2012 at 1:12 am

proton might not produce the best car but at least theyre improving. yes, they screwed up with tiara, juara, savvy, power windows, 1st batch campro bla3 but if we are sincere enough to evaluate, we know that theyre working hard to improve. critiques are good but bashing without facts really reflect the intellectual level of a person.

• Vj the Rat on Mar 30, 2012 at 1:15 am

Pre-what? I don’t buy anything i can’t pronounce. Why can’t the name be something lame like Proton Harimau or Proton Cerdik? That should appeal to the target market, no?

• Simon on Mar 30, 2012 at 1:35 am

Why not call the P3-21A as PEZIA.. haha

• F Fiesta on Mar 30, 2012 at 2:28 am

Name CHEAP, car CHEAP, brand CHEAP.

To be safe buy Ford Fiesta name,car, brand all Good. 8)

• kesiannnnnnnnnn…x boleh carik makan ke skrng???tukat jual proton la bang..hahahahahah

• F Fiesta on Mar 30, 2012 at 9:38 pm

Lol, compare with this Proton Pervert, Ford Fiesta has known to the world as the best car in 2010…

What this Proton Preve has proof? Nothing plus with hanky panky to launch I suggest Proton should stop their production. They thought Preve car is Bugatti Veyron… so lame~

• haha…this one just salesman to promote their car due problematic of fiesta. fuel cap also can be problem. power window also fiesta problem. i know it since user of fiesta told me… what a shame for ford. anyway ford already bankrupt before, so maybe can consider they just newborn again…. haha

• Akina on Apr 01, 2012 at 9:16 am

Lol lol lol…hahahah…u can’t admit preve is much better than ur fiesta rite? Compare on paper already know prve is much better.as everyone can imagine, u r so afraid ur sales will be less due tu preve. Only brainless ppl wiil choose small fiesta jst due to ford logo.waht a pity. Or may u r not fieata salesman, but an owner who feel so regret having tin kosong fiesta. Perhps u only afford to ger base line fiesta..hahah

• Rokok John on Mar 30, 2012 at 7:07 am

I really hate this crap looking car. All of my families, neighbors and my whole friends hate it too. It really looks like shit. Very disappointed. Not attractive at all. Please do better than this PROTON. Let see how many proton dealers or supporters by the thumb down here. Hehehe!!

• Joe may on Mar 30, 2012 at 7:22 am

Do not like the name. Difficult for most people to pronounce it.

• They should name it like proton perkasa,tuah,karisma,keris or whatever word gotta be with our roots, since it will be globalised,global people should know one of our sentence in bahasa. the named also carry the identity from where it was, proton should change,i think for a better cause

• This Proton P3-21A is an important project for Proton…and the product from what we see up to now is quite good and handsome…BUT…pity the name…no other nicer name ka?

• Drive It Like A Pervert? LOL!

Drive it to believe it?
    No thanks lah…Ada duit better save it!

• Top Gear with 300 million viewers…and 300 million laughters viewing PREVE jokes by Jeremy Clarkson…biggest simultaneous laugh in the world…boleh masuk buku record Guiness lah HAH HAHAHA

• eims @ gold on Mar 30, 2012 at 8:37 am

i dont realy agree with the name preve.. whats the meaning of it? most people dont know.

in term of meaning & in term of pronunciation ,

‘pre’ usually refer to something which is earlier. not the final.

privi . priv. sounds like the name will be the main point for basher .huhu.. especially jeremy clarkson.

who suggested this name to proton? kekeke

• snaz1 go on Mar 30, 2012 at 8:57 am

proton pervert.

proton sagu.

sagu boleh letak mivec ( Saga BLM)

• optimus on Mar 30, 2012 at 9:07 am

dunno rite or wrong
    http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/prev%C3%A9
    http://www.thefreedictionary.com/Preve

• normal_user on Mar 30, 2012 at 10:00 am

That app surely doesnt come from proton. It must be some fans out there who invented that.

Come on, iPad/iPhone technology is more capable than processing the poorly rendered 3D models shown above. Probably the name ‘Preve’ is also invented by the same fan who created this app.

Just look at the font that makes up the ‘Proton’ word printed on the brochure… its not supposed to be Arial.

• Supa Hiro on Mar 30, 2012 at 11:06 am

The Spanish name suit the prestige of the car. It’s the ‘Car for Champions’ for the following reasons:
    1. Spain is the best football team in the world. World Cup and Euro champion
    2. Nadal is the best tennis player
    3. Barcelona will be for a long time the undisputed club champions
    4. Spain has the most gorgeous looking women
    5. Alonso was a former F1 champion
    6. Tour de France and Giro Italia champion is from Spain.

Facts about the car:
    1. It’s a global car. If Malaysian can appreciate this, then go to hell!!
    2. Spec wise – top notch miles away from Japs and Koreaks
    3. Precision engineering
    4. Value for money. For all those rempit readers here who only owns a kapchai, now you could afford a decent car
    5. Very good FC – 6.6L/100km. Comparable with VW and Audi.
    6. 4G enabled

I rest my case.

• The devil is reborn in the shape of a car. This shit is the only reason why we have to pay so much for our bmw’s , honda’s , toyota’s etc. People , curse this devil until it catches fire and explodes.

• proton, 30 years old, still want to hisap puting, and we have to fork out hell of a lot of money to subsidise their tepung susu and the many wet nurses required to keep this oversized monster baby happy.
    come on lah. cut the crap already. if you can’t stand on your own two feet after all the money we have had to fork out over three decades for your well-being, then it’s time to do the honorable thing. think japanese code of honour.

• actually they try to go global.. but based on many comments here I think the selection of name is failed.. and it’s too late for proton to change to something more favorable.. perhaps just maintain the Persona..

• chua kai voon on Mar 30, 2012 at 12:01 pm

proton perve better :)

• azlan on Mar 30, 2012 at 12:24 pm

mcm ade org dlm nk jatuhkan proton je letak nama ntah ape2..nama2 bahasa malaysia dh leh nak pakai ke untuk nama kereta nasional..aduyaiiiii

• pitiful malaysian. give no support of our own product and engineering. some even insult and laugh. No appreciation for their effort. Pity. Is this is the way to become developed country? Still hoping for other country technology? The world will looked down on us. You laugh their effort but actually you laugh on yourself. Typical some malaysian, laugh if they failed but proud when they did it. Shame on you. Think easy to build something? Then do your own stuff, build a company better than the proton or something equivalent. I challenge u, can u do that if said proton is crap. talk easy then try it

• Seriously on Mar 30, 2012 at 7:03 pm

Yeah, pityful. Pity that Malaysian have to put up with this bullsh*t of a car brand just so that we can get taxed so damn much for cars which are better and supposedly cheaper within that same category. I pity that they have to also support some illusionary car value peg, which obviously you have been fooled into. If the taxes were reduced tomorrow, let’s see if you’ll be still running to buy a Proton. Walk your talk too man. What? you think there is only one way to be a ‘developed country’? Malaysia’s probably good at other industries, and we support that proudly BUT with automotives? I doubt that. Don’t take my word for it… review history.

• looki on Apr 01, 2012 at 5:54 pm

do your own stuff? walk your talk? talk cock & bull lah, lu ni. please la, kawan, jangan cakap mcm bebudak. proton is manufacturing cars on their own, issit? gomen started the company ok? give protection and subsidy… how much and how many years already? they relied on mitsubishi tech for how long?

fact is proton came out abt the same time as the korean carmakers. orang korea dah leaps and bounds ahead of us. the world is watching the korean carmakers and brands. proton? still jaguh kampung. butt of jokes of the top gear guys. and we know if the gomen removed the 3 decades-old protection and make the car market a level playing field tomorrow, where we pay the same for cars as most of the world, proton will bungkus.

• bmpower on Mar 30, 2012 at 2:49 pm

I do support the proton… I appreciate their very good effert.. think like this :

“Even proton supporter and fan also bash ONLY THE NAME”..

they praise the car, the build, the technologies, the effort and so on.
    EXCEPT THE NAME.

what that’s mean?

we don’t have to use local language even malay word?
    just use generic name BUT NOT something can be related or nearly with a phase sound suxs like this..

I don’t want people to call me driving a prevert car!
    Is this last choice? or no manly or macho or better word around eh?

• “Think easy to build something?” – Uin

Yes very very easy

As easy as solving power window problem

Can’t solve it, just slap Lifetime warranty and walla voila problem solved

Yes yes very easy Protongkat mentality ke arah Global car! HAH HA HA WOOHHOOHHHHHHHOOOOOHHH

Screw you PREVE
    PREVE-Parts Repair…Eiiiii…Very Expensive!

• luffykewl on Mar 31, 2012 at 8:58 pm

proton power window dah takde problem dah sekarang..
      itu pasal la proton berani bagi lifetime warranty..
      ape daa benda simple mcmtu pon takleh fikir sendiri..

• Pantun PREVE:
    Drive it to believe it
    Drive like a pervert
    Duit simpan don’t waste it
    Don’t bother no regret!

• amirad on Mar 30, 2012 at 4:16 pm

To end all these disputes about names, why not just use numbers or alphabets. Eg. Proton 1,2,3, etc series or Proton A,B,C, etc class. Sounds familiar eh!

• Seriously on Mar 30, 2012 at 6:44 pm

It’s definitely going to be named Preve. But, really? After all that boasting about Malaysia you go and choose a spanish name? How original. It just proves time and time again that Proton has such inconsistent directions.

• steamer on Mar 30, 2012 at 8:53 pm

what’s the meaning of the name?
    sure got some nice explanation about the name..
    a bit hard to pronounce the name among malaysians..
    soon some would call Pervert, some would call PREBET..

• Dr Mamak on Mar 30, 2012 at 9:53 pm

Power windows working?

• nothing wrong with malaysians. It is because of P, T and H have to be expensive. Thats why P is very much hated!

• It is because of P, T and H have to be so expensive. That is why everybody hates P. No matter what they make it will not be able to match T or H!

• Dean's list on Mar 31, 2012 at 1:49 am

Since the car targeted at global market, theres no reason not to use such french word. Try to be supportive for once. Whats wrong with you whos not comfortable with proton? My dad drive a waja,new myvi and kembara. Waja got few techs issues so does the kembara but both cars still moving tremendously. Agree that fits and fittings sucks, but their improving on it on this new preve. Jean alesi believes on it, as a frenchmen, we as a malaysian, for once try to believe in our own product!

• looki on Apr 01, 2012 at 5:45 pm

ya, right. support local products is a fine idea but don’t make the local product the cheapest among the most expensive cars in the country (and in the world too). it’s not like you don’t know what protectionism is doing to the cost of cars in this country. our earnings can’t compare with what ppl in the developed world make but we pay higher-than-international prices for all cars.

proton is a joke in the international market. when they sell em in britain, for example, they give the full specs, plus give international crash ratings. and they dump them at prices that make malaysian car buyers look like fools. keep your patriotism in check, mate, we’ll support local cars when the price is in line with international market and we are not ransomed into paying a fortune for a jap, korean, european or american car.

• syntium5000 on Mar 31, 2012 at 2:46 am

new leak image

http://funtastickodesign.files.wordpress.com/2012/03/preve-3rd-quarter-side.jpg

http://funtastickodesign.files.wordpress.com/2012/03/preve-rear.jpg

• mariff8 on Mar 31, 2012 at 7:25 am

You wont see it at AppStore unless you change your ID country to US..it wont appear it Malaysia App Store..

• Quattro on Mar 31, 2012 at 10:52 am

Proton “lambat” > org lain dah lancar mcm 2 model taraf word class> proton bile lagi nak lancar> ade defect pade engine ker…..

• ONESiX on Mar 31, 2012 at 3:06 pm

Or maybe PRevE only for Hybrid version of P321A. Sebab 2 model Hybrid proton menggunakan ( ev ) di hujung namanya seperti REev and EV..and the sound of PREVE pon bunyi macam nak sama dengan 2 model elektrik tersebut,..

• bestYet on Mar 31, 2012 at 8:57 pm

from the leaked picture..its almost certain that it will be call PREVE’ …hmm best of luck Proton, wanted to own one yet its not on my priority list yet…next year maybe…..

• farhan on Apr 01, 2012 at 2:37 pm

Arena kereta got hi res pics of red chili preve. 5×114 pcd,same as forte. Put forte 17 rims would be perfecto absoluto faboloso preve!!