Chevrolet Colorado launched – 2.5L and 2.8L from RM90k

Naza Quest officially launched the Chevrolet Colorado pick-up truck yesterday night. The Colorado, which is made by GM in Rayong, Thailand, rolls in with two engine options (2.5L and 2.8L Duramax diesels) and two gearbox choices (5 M/T and 6 A/T). Only the double cab is available, and only in 4X4.

The three variant range starts with the 2.5 LT manual. This common-rail diesel unit makes 150 hp and 350 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm, good enough to push the two-tonne truck from 0-100 km/h in 12.2 seconds. No automatic transmission option for the 2.5 litre engine – for a self shifting Colorado, one has to look at the 2.8L engine.

The 2.8L Duramax engine pushes out 180 hp and 440 Nm of twist from 2,000 rpm in the 2.8 LT manual. This one does the century sprint in 11.4 seconds.

The 2.8 LTZ automatic is the range topper, and the sole variant with an automatic transmission, which is a six-speeder with Shiftronic. The engine is not identical to the 2.8 manual’s – unlike the other two, this one is fitted with a variable geometry turbo. Power remains at 180 hp, but torque is bumped up to 470 Nm, the highest torque figure for a pick-up truck in Malaysia for now. 0-100 km/h is done in 10.2 seconds.

Spec wise, the LTZ trim of the 2.8 auto brings 17-inch alloys with 255/65 rubber (245/70 R16 for the rest), projector headlamps, power folding wing mirrors, fog lamp chrome garnish, LED tail lamps, roof rails, side steps, chrome gear knob, six-way powered driver’s seat, cruise control, auto door lock, buttons and leather on the steering and climate control. The latter is presented in a donut-style ring, while manual air-con continues with a three-dial layout.

Standard equipment across the board includes a USB/Bluetooth factory stereo, Driver Information Center, dual-airbags, ABS, EBD and Brake Assist. The 2.8 auto adds on ESP and a list of acronyms. They are Panic Brake Assist (PBA), Hydraulic Brake Fade Assist (HBFA), Cornering Brake Control (CBC) and Traction Control System (TCS).

The Colorado is priced from RM90,267 for the 2.5 manual. The 2.8 manual goes for RM96,008 while the 2.8 auto will set you back RM106,008. All prices are OTR without insurance. Note that the outdoor pics in the gallery feature non-standard equipment for demo purposes.

We’ve driven the Colorado already – click here for a test drive report and full gallery.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• likehondanotsomuch on Mar 30, 2012 at 1:31 am

cool power,the cheapest way to enjoy powerful vehicle in malaysia.

• Vader on Mar 30, 2012 at 7:44 am

this car look good!
      if the chevrolet provide more service center then will be great!!!

• RON97 on Mar 30, 2012 at 11:48 am

such a waste… pickup are built for americans, bcoz they think it looks macho.
        that’s what people at east malaysia try to be – jungle cowboy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 40
        • BorneO on Mar 30, 2012 at 3:02 pm

Bro, it’s not that the east msians choose to be a jungle cowboy, things are very much different over here…road network sucks/ non existent and very few in between, count yourself lucky that all the oil/ gas and timber money from east msia ends up to prosper west msians!! So i suggest you use that small brain of yours to actually think before posting a generalised damning statements that you cant even comprehend in the first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
          • hanna on Feb 20, 2014 at 8:50 pm

Right. I need the openback truck to transport many items between my workplaces. Am I a cowboy.

• Julian Mickey Niun on Dec 06, 2018 at 10:25 pm

saya tinggal atas pokok balak, ada lif, semua kreta saya parking dalam gua yg dijaga oleh badak sumbu & gorila
            Im the Buffalo Boy

• Payne on Mar 30, 2012 at 6:03 pm

that’s exactly how the mindset of the west malaysian fler think about us. “JUNGLE PEOPLE”. And i take the “jungle cowboy” as a new additional mockery to us. U people never at least be grateful that u get almost all of our state natural resources especially the oil & gas. we never expect u to thank us but at least BE GRATEFUL. Not that we want to be like the yankee or cowboy whatsoever, it’s because ur beloved umno/bn clown. they made us like this. come here and see our road. u’ll never see a highway down here. i know u intention.. deep in ur heart says, Sabahan & Sarawakian want to be exactly like American because of our religion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
          • nobody on Mar 31, 2012 at 8:52 pm

One guy is indifferent. The other two joined the first guy of being indifferent as well.
            RON97 – You are a bit harsh on ‘cowboy’ term thing. Road over there are generally really bad. Not that they don’t have money, just that the leader over there plunder all the money allocated for road building for their own use. Repairing 100km an old road took years to complete. (I am talking based on my own observation, mind you).
            But Payne and Borneo – you should look, observe and learn too. Not listening to words from others. I live in Semenanjung, and you know what – I pay for every single meter of road I use. Housing area road – I paid local assessment tax (cukai pintu). Major road – I 100% use tolled highway. That’s right! North, East, South, West bound – ALL require me to go through toll booth. Where’s the money from so called O&G from your state in the road I am going through everyday? NIL. Your log natural resource belongs to the state – if you really2 macho, and brave, please go ask your CM. RON97 is guilty of being ignorant, both of you are none the better! Grow up, work hard, and accept that nothing will change if you don’t clean the mess back home!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
        • Hadi1975 on Apr 01, 2012 at 6:05 pm

Katak bawah tempurung…..

• SUV99 on Feb 09, 2013 at 11:16 pm

yeah!!!{100%agree}
          dont talk about ‘waste’ if u dont know anything about it,grandpa.

• Sean Lim on Mar 30, 2012 at 1:55 am

You are here finally! Really mucho look!
    Wondering who will bring Dodge Brand to Malaysia. Dodge Ram looks good too!

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Mar 30, 2012 at 6:59 pm

The Road Tax itself would kill you imagine 3.7ltr, 4.7ltr, 5.7ltr & 6.7 ltr Road tax cost RM 5-18K, not forgeting you would never find a parking lot able to fit in this GIANT.

Love this truck but after looking at the distributor, eggh… forget about it, better get Isuzu.

• noname on Mar 30, 2012 at 2:55 am

chevrolet rebadge the isuzu d-max or vice versa? btw good lookin truck

• Aris Tee on Mar 30, 2012 at 10:52 am

Actually the Isuzu D-Max and the Chevy Colorado share the same genes. Kinda like how there is a Ford Fiesta and Mazda 2. Even the current D-Max has it’s Colorado version. You can see Thai ones running around :)

• froggy the anti typical minded on Mar 30, 2012 at 2:58 am

nice spec + engine for this price ..

• dpmy05 on Mar 30, 2012 at 9:14 am

Looks good but end of the day still come to after sales service and availability of spare parts after the warranty period.

• Gear lever too forward. Not comfortable to use like
    my current Dmax.

• Grandpa Trucker on Mar 30, 2012 at 6:31 am

I love it. I want it. Cheapest. Nice spec. Everything’s great. Wow!!

• albag on Mar 30, 2012 at 7:59 am

a handsome truck… hope this will boost the sales of chevy coz i really seldom see any chevy around here…

• Lukeskywalker on Mar 30, 2012 at 8:10 am

good launched. Chevy is known and perception for TOUGH. Should able to challenge Hilux

• littlefire on Mar 30, 2012 at 8:35 am

Wow.. Nice especially the safety spec.. Trucks also need to upgrade their safety spec like ESP & TRC, as a lot of Hilux & 4X4 always overturn when heavy down pour.. :P

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 30, 2012 at 10:27 am

Safety yes.

but Pickup drivers need to know that a typical truck don’t drive the same as a car. With no weight on the back and stiff rear suspension, these can be really tail happy in the wet.

Drive too fast into a fast bend and an get surprised mid – corner causing you to brake hard and you’d be very very intimate with the armco barrier.

• Too bad GM pull out from Protongkat tie-up…

Otherwise this Colorado (rugged place name) rebadged as Protongkat BatangBerjuntai…(also sounds rugged name what…)

• BeemerFreak on Mar 30, 2012 at 9:24 am

Really cool looking car, but cant understand why an electric seat is needed in a truck

• HChan on Mar 30, 2012 at 9:25 am

It’s a rebadge of Isuzu D-Max. I’ll definately wait for the D-Max.

• Jeffrey Ng on Mar 30, 2012 at 9:52 am

Initial comparision …..Ford Ranger 2012 will beat the Corolado….no fight lah.. cabin features still the same old school, Ford Ranger ada voice control, dual air con for front passanger, best electric Locker for rear diff… and lectric point for the cargo truck…

• Ongtk on Mar 30, 2012 at 10:15 am

Hi Danny, appreciate if you also show photos of the back seats and foot well area in your review as I believe that is one area that counts too in arriving at a purchase decision; especially if the truck is to be use mainly for leisure.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 30, 2012 at 11:26 am

Do you mean this launch report or the test drive review? I have a pic of the rear seats here:

http://paultan.org/2012/03/30/chevrolet-colorado-launched-2-5l-and-2-8l-from-rm90k/dsc_0131b-4/

As for the test drive report from Thailand, we were only given the extended cab version to test, but I did manage to sneak into what was then a pre-production double cab:

http://paultan.org/2011/11/12/chevrolet-colorado-test-drive-report-from-chiang-rai/p1050168b/

• Jeremy Clarkson on Mar 30, 2012 at 10:32 am

reasonable price, I would buy this rather thna hilux

• silver on Mar 30, 2012 at 10:41 am

one of the best looking pickup in a while, would lvoe to own. but parts wuld be expensive and hard to come by when this car gets older…

• why do all the pick-up trucks have to be monsters? how about something more compact and a little retro, like those modded, low-slung trucks you see in Astro’s Kings of Restoration?

• This pickup don’t look good in photos. I checked out the
    actual thing at their showroom and it look much better
    especially the one in white. Why they chose almost white leather
    for interior is beyond me. Still prefer the Ford with 6 speed
    manual. These new generation pickup are huge.

• gan9494 on Mar 30, 2012 at 1:10 pm

I like the brown one with the rims and stuff, I am guessing that’s just to diplay possible accessories out there? Do they sell the parts or it’s a suggestion?

• claxxion on Mar 30, 2012 at 3:13 pm

Danny, I was there yesterday at the launch and I saw you! :D

I was lucky to be invited for the launch, as one of the finalists of the slogan contest. The Colorado in white looks exceptionally clean and beautiful. Interior space is generous too. The centre console is what love the most.

• fadzilkpopcars on Mar 30, 2012 at 3:51 pm

hey bro RONDDY

“such a waste… pickup are built for americans, bcoz they think it looks macho.
    that’s what people at east malaysia try to be – jungle cowboy.”

this statement of yours show your zero knowledge when it comes east malaysian high usage of pickup truck.

simple logic:
    diesel engine means it can have low fuel consumption and high milage to drive to rural area and they dont have nice big RnR along the way just like PLUS

high torque means u can stuff bulky things like gas cylinder,petrol gallon, rice,sugar generator , people etc. etc and still the pickup can climb stiff hill slop with no problem.

in event accident happen such rolling into deep ravine, head on collision with timber lorry etc, 50% chances you can still survive due to hard body structure.

did i mention the highway pan borneo is actually a stretch of trunk kampung road with very little maintenance done except during general erection time?

so i dont think your new and shiny lexus, accord, camry or even 3 series and c class can survive for 5 years without any major damage due to road condition in east malaysia

• Danny, in your opinion, which latest pickup offerings will you prefer? The new Ford Ranger or this new Colorado?

I believe you guys had already driven both so you should be the best person to answer this question. Thanks

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 30, 2012 at 5:56 pm

We will do a proper shootout when the time comes :)

• moto-moto on Mar 30, 2012 at 6:15 pm

my opinion is ford ranger hi rider looks better :)

• loveme on Mar 31, 2012 at 3:16 am

so chevy has this…will ford bring in their f150…?

• Guys, FYI. New Ford Ranger launch delayed again to June. Salesman kata tak cukup kereta dah…… Also, the 3.2 Wildtrak for those belum booking, waiting list may end up 12 bulan. Maybe Chevy can fill the void for those who cannot wait.

• pelams on Apr 01, 2012 at 5:41 pm

colorado no 2.5 auto? i cant bear traffic jam these days.. :(

• Fadiman76 on Jun 03, 2013 at 10:53 pm

Well, i m already test all 4×4 in at rough ride at my place in Sibu, Sarawak and based on my result only 3 car were really though and one of it is chervy colorado….

• Flymyv on Jul 05, 2013 at 1:22 am

I live in East malaysia. Love this pickup exterior compared with Hilux. Price 2.5cc both the same but…comparation of the 2..
    Hilux 2.5G VS Colorado 2.5LT VS Colorado 2.8LT

1)Road Tax 1 year:
    – Hilux 2.5G = RM 230.20
    – Colorado 2.5LT = RM 498.50
    – Colorado 2.8LT = RM 800.00
    2)Registration/Inspection/Handling fee:
    – Hilux = RM 60.00
    – Colorado = RM 500.00
    3) Colorado maintenance schedule price.
    5,000 km = free
    15,000 km = 2.5LT : RM 467.40. 2.8LT = RM 409.60
    30,000 km = 2.5LT : RM 689.50 2.8LT = RM 631.70
    45,000 km = 2.5LT : RM 797.00 2.8LT = RM 739.20
    60,000 km = 2.5LT : RM 467.40 2.8LT = RM 409.60
    4) All 2013 Hilux included with intercooler; Colorado Nil.
    5) Colorado 2.5LT & 2.8LT side steps is optionals.

Hope that help…

• Dr. M on Feb 14, 2014 at 11:10 pm

This is good but if you want something at sub-RM100k, go for Mitsubishi Triton VGT 2.5L or Nissan Navara 2.5L.

• Hasre on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:13 pm

I already use colorado 2.8 almost 3 year. Colorado better than Ranger Triton Nazara and hilux that i can tell u all.
    Crazy Safe fuel. I know Colorado roadtax more expensive but better than 3.0 Hilux and Triton.
    I have speed my Colorodo Max 196 with confident without thing or thing at kargo areaat back.
    For sevice i never have problem…i have do it my seft at local workshop only, price are same with Dmax and Frointer Nissan.
    My passenger/parent at back also can relax and sleep nicely at back seat for long journey.