GALLERY: BMW 3-Series lineage display at the F30 launch

At the F30 3-Series launch last week, BMW put on display the rich lineage that the sixth-generation car has, just like what they did for the F10 5-Series launch some years back. The previous generations and history of the BMW 3-Series also appeared in full page ads in local dailies.

On display at the Mines Convention Centre were all five previous generations of the sports sedan. The first 3-Series (E21) made its debut back in 1975, followed by the replacement E30 that we still see on the road today. Speaking of that, our Harvinder will be parting with his beautiful E30 Coupe very soon, with a heavy heart. Don’t worry bro, we will be there for you!

The 1990s saw the introduction of the E36 3-Series, which was significantly larger than the 3er of the 80s. The modern era continued with the curvy E46, before the baton was passed to the E90 that came out in 2005. Fast forward seven years, and we have a new chapter.

Also invited to the family party was the BMW 2002, which was part of the Neue Klasse models that propelled BMW on to the world stage, cementing the Munich firm’s reputation as a maker of sporty cars. The 2002 was the precursor to the 3-Series.

Click here to read about the rich heritage of the BMW 3-Series. Not as titillating as the one posted by colleague Anthony earlier, but I hope you enjoy this gallery nonetheless :)

Continue reading to check out the full gallery.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• gangully on Mar 30, 2012 at 3:54 pm

i see you did not have any pics of the e90… is it because its just the last gen or just because you are not a fan? :)

• Kia K5 on Mar 30, 2012 at 5:14 pm

gangully, I’d like some of what you’re smoking too. The E90 is in quite a few of the shots. Look carefully again after the effects of the weed has worn off :)

• gangully on Mar 30, 2012 at 6:04 pm

oops… my apologies… it’s my computer not loading all pics properly…

• Jonathan Lee on Mar 30, 2012 at 4:10 pm

It’s a shame BMW Malaysia couldn’t get all of the 3 Series models on display completely stock.

• Actually the lineage not complete something missing lah…

Year 2000 3-Series special edition aka. Asian BMW…mana pergi lar…hmmm

• Gabla on Mar 30, 2012 at 6:43 pm

Dear Danny,

If you have the connections, please cover the world wide recall of BMW 5 and 6 Series. Will Auto Bavaria be involved with the recall activities?

http://www.autocar.co.uk/News/NewsArticle/AllCars/261990/

I’m directly affected as I own a 2004 E60 impotted from the UK. Thanks.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 31, 2012 at 3:57 am

are these really the best e36’s and e46’s out there? they look badly ah-bengfied to me

• blackrythms on Mar 31, 2012 at 7:32 am

my heart stays with e46

• Thanks for the pics of the 2002, it was my dream car when I was a teenager. I still can remember that most drove around with the front bumper removed. Looked really cool at it’s time:

http://www.flyingrubberracing.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/pete2.jpg

Unfortunately I never had the chance to own one by myself, as second hand 2002’s had a casualty rate of nearly 99.9% due to ‘sporty’ driving. Either the cars were wrecked in accidents (the 2002 was difficult to drive, especially on wet roads) or the engines were ruined by too high rpm’s.