Final 2 My Proton Makeover cars revealed: Saga, Satria

The My Proton Makeover programme’s last two makeover vehicles have been announced, and they are a 2001 Satria belonging to Amirul Azim Mohd Hussain and a 1991 Saga owned by Lee Koon Gaik.

For 36 year-old IT consultant Amirul, his devotion to his Satria is obvious – it has been his one and only car, serving him through his bachelor days, into his marriage and now fatherhood, 11 years on.

While she has had a different experience with her car, 54 year-old home maker Lee shares the same sentimental values towards her Saga, a gift from her husband 20 years ago. The car has been her loyal and trustworthy workhorse and companion, helping her see her sons to school, college and their early working life.

A one-car owner, Lee believes that her Saga is the car of a lifetime, having even declined the government’s voluntary scrapping incentive for a new Proton in 2009.

“With my Saga, I do not need any other car,” said Lee proudly, when handing it in for the makeover. “Even with the common wear and tear over the past 20 years, I am still able to rely on it to get me around – and I’m happy to be able to treat it to a little pampering with this wonderful makeover opportunity.”

The two cars, essentially the fifth and sixth vehicles in the programme, will each receive a new breath of life as they enter the R3 workshop for a period of refurbishment. Tengku Djan Ley, head of engineering at the R3 unit, said that the team has their work cut out for them for the finale of this programme.

“The two cars have served their owners well, and are in need of major refurbishment. However, to keep on schedule, as much as the team is enjoying themselves revamping these old cars, they will be pushing themselves to ensure these cars get the best treatment and are delivered on time to their owners.” he said.

“As both owners utilise their cars daily with their families, our focus will be to make certain that the cars perform with greater reliability, efficiency and safety, and that they will stay on the road for a long while to come,” he added.

When completed, the 1991 Saga and 2001 Satria will join Fadly Hisham Roplay’s 1992 Saga, Sashideran Radha Krishnan’s 1994 Wira, Norzamzarini Mohd Bajuri’s 1996 Iswara Aeroback and Hafiz Mohd Hashim’s 2001 Satria GTI as the six makeover specials.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• wanzy on Apr 02, 2012 at 4:26 pm

I was hoping that they would make-over a Proton Tiara, because that would be really interesting. Or maybe a Proton Iswara :)

• kevin lee on Apr 02, 2012 at 4:27 pm

why no tiara?

• Fariady Winarta on Apr 02, 2012 at 4:28 pm

Please, don’t send any more email……

• peter_pj on Apr 02, 2012 at 4:31 pm

Don’t really think WCJ1140 deserves to win it though – the poor car looks like it has never received any care or love at all by its owner. Kinda reminds of Ginger (from the novel Black Beauty).

• I think it is cheaper to give them a new car. coz after the make over, the only thing that is original is the key… all must be replaced.

• Alpha on Apr 02, 2012 at 8:48 pm

Haha,who knows,it might not be rust or anythg.Might be some form of modern art.Haha!!

• RedBeanBun on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:11 am

it shows that she is living in a condition that the luxury to remain a car is excessive…please be kind and considerate to all people whom might not even have the luxury to repaint a car, but happy to just have a car to drive..

• focus tdci on Apr 04, 2012 at 12:09 am

sheesh it does not cost that much to put a coat of wax on the car, does it? cheap preventative waxing or polish goes a long way in keeping your car looking good and avoiding an expensive new paint job.

• jumba on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:32 am

silly lad, seriously have no idea what does poor means. u think everyone can afford everything u can afford??

• Kelvin Tee on May 17, 2012 at 2:57 pm

Jumba, bro: Like.

Some people have to realize that not every person is rich.

• body mivec tuh agak2 dier tukar standard balik ke? huhu tak sabar nk tgk

• ala..i was hoping r3 would select juara, arena or tiara…anyway congrats to the both owner.

• protonisback on Apr 02, 2012 at 5:24 pm

the saga has never seen a lick of new paint in 20 years my god, how do people claim to love a item and then not even maintain the paint work so much so it has deteriorated. In my opinion the car was just chosen as a way to balance the quota and get this makeover program over with.

• Yui Misaki on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:35 am

Show some respect man not everything is about race and politics. I think you are a racist to be thinking that way.
      To some a re-painting job is a huge sum. She manages to keep the car running for 20 years. That shows her affection and it’s good enough for me.

• hopefully they’ll put driver airbags this time around eh?

• Ben Yap on Apr 02, 2012 at 5:55 pm

The Saga WCJ 1140 is really not well-kept. Look at the paint! The owner might just get the make over and later sell it for a higher price.

Even if the owner keeps the car after the makeover, in 2-3 years time, she’ll be back to “My Proton Makeover Season 2” with the same peeling paint condition.

• Gosh look at the condition of the Saga. Well we all understand it’s an old car but look atbthe paint. I doubt the owner even washes the car. That’s something very basic in car care. I think there are many more deserving people out there. I’ve certainly seen Sagas such as this in much better condition. I think those in charge of shortlisting the vehicles for this programme should also consider the general condition of the vehicle. That itself will say a lot about the owner.

• Please, I hope no 1 in malaysia have to bear the pain of driving a 11 year old car because of failed economy transformation. Everything inflates but only salary stay the same. God bless Malaysia.

• wanmi16 on Apr 02, 2012 at 6:15 pm

congratulations!!!
    envy envy dengki dengki :p

• elantra on Apr 02, 2012 at 7:18 pm

yawn, durian runtuh……

• pacifictuna on Apr 02, 2012 at 7:26 pm

thought a tiara would be interesting in this makeover. also, a sporty putra will be an interesting ride as well……

• Carsmetics on Apr 02, 2012 at 7:53 pm

I have to agree with some of the posters who are giving WCJ 1140 a tough time. Granted, keeping a car in good shape gets expensive… but keeping a car in decent shape isn’t that hard — physically, mentally, or financially.

I would have liked to have seen some one else get a car makeover. Ya know, like some one who won’t let this generous opportunity go to waste.

• hey potong..where is car from Sarawak and Sabah?

• tenine on Apr 02, 2012 at 9:00 pm

Why not Tiara or Juara?

• samad on Apr 02, 2012 at 11:33 pm

Cukuplah !!
    Biar kereta2x ni R.I.P sajalah!!
    These long term and loyal customers should be offered a
    brand new car at a special discount as a reward for their loyalty instead.

• RedBeanBun on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:08 am

i almost can bet the SAGA (hatch back?) owner will be the most happy one among all looking at the condition, regardless how the makeover, she will be glad…but please, dont give auntie a striking color la like those oranges, purple…a normally pearl white will do it good :)

• PERVERT on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:23 am

NO NEED MAKEOVER……TIMBANG KATI, BAKAR OR MAKE INTO ARTIFICIAL REEF.
    PROTON= SIAL CAR

• MrSunday on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:17 am

Seriously, are u even Malaysian?

• Only Malaysian would bash P1 like this as only Malaysian are forced to buy P1 or P2.

So, the answer is YES, he is an authentic Malaysian. LOL

• MrSunday on Apr 03, 2012 at 6:52 pm

Forced? Wow. U’re definately not a Malaysian. Do come visit Malaysia. We welcome u. :)

• Wow.. u sure are born in a crowny family. Good for you. :) Me, i am just a poor but financially sensible rakyat who is only able to afford P1 or P2. Yea, i call tat as forced as I don’t have other choice. Well maybe, buy a kapcai? Lol.

• MrSunday on Apr 04, 2012 at 10:37 am

LoL.. Dude, u urself owned p1 or p2, driving it to work, driving it for balik kampung, but u still bashing it? Get a life..u’re not forced to buy p1 or p2. It’s just they are the best car u can get with ur current salary. And there is nothing wrong with that. U shud be grateful that u have a car instead of kapcai. Like people say, ukur baju di badan sendiri.

• Everyday on Apr 04, 2012 at 11:25 am

Can only afford P1 or P2? Dats becoz u only opt for new cars and not 2nd hand cars.. There are choices…

• Najib Bin Rojak Binti CD Chua Rosmah on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:46 am

Sibeh Boringg…..!! Tak habis habis Make Over…!!!!
    Move forward and just design new car lar Proton!!!

shame!

• Najib Bin Rojak Binti CD Chua Rosmah on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:49 am

Still wasting time to a WCJ! Proton are movingggggg way backward……………!

Shame! Really…..

• bobdbilder on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:52 am

There is NOTHING backwards in giving back to society. This woman has the most honourable job of all; being a mother and seeing her children through from school to college to working. How many of us have the luxury of making sure our children are duly taken care of. How many of us can be proud to say that we have done our best to our children? This woman can hold her head high knowing she did.

“The hand that rocks the cradle shall be the hand that rule the world.”

• focus tdci on Apr 04, 2012 at 12:13 am

so p1 should give her a new car, it would be cheaper than refurbishing her old clunker and better for the environment too since the new p1 models are supposedly more efficient and less polluting, no?!

• i am a tiara owner b4... on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:50 am

y no juara, arena or tiara…. i knw that tiara hard to get sport rim… i am a tiara owner b4… total pay for that car coz 60k… time to sell 3k only…. wtf…. i knw that tiara car i dieting… hard to see otr now… btw lucky aunty n uncle…. wish i like to see that car in hardcore pink

• Hugo Andore on Apr 03, 2012 at 3:03 am

“Lee believes her Saga is the car of a LIFETIME”

This sentence made my day

• Apalalu on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:19 am

Why not waja n perdana?

• waste of time ,money and effort.if they had used this much time doing R&D the Preve wouldnt be so fugly

• Mou Mou Ren on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:44 am

Only in West Malaysia kah??? East Malaysia ler.. Always do those program at West Malaysia. Better don sell ur car at here lah……….

• aizat63 on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:51 am

WCJ1140 tu dah boleh jadi tukun tu.. hehe

• zainal abidin on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:53 am

He he he…. but after the rebuilt @ make over by R3, this car will be almost like new car from the production plant and even better because it will be hand built… I f I were the owner i’d myself be beaming ear to ear because i’d be getting it for FREE. No need for any very fancy this and that modification and most importantly no need to buy new car with all the installment hassle. What the R3 guys have done are just awesome.

• Everyday on Apr 04, 2012 at 11:34 am

Aunty just want to go to pasar la.. no need for fancy fancy and vroom vroom.. haha

• waters on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:38 am

So, how would I go about joining this program? I have a terribly beat-up Iswara dying for a makeover

• vlite on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:24 am

Haters’s going to hate.

• watchman on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:26 am

Proton can goes kaput and fold up and the only people who care are various parts supplier who only supply to Proton and never bother to build a foreign market for their products, the whiny Proton car dealers who expect the govt to compensate them for lost sales and of course, Mahathir. go die now..

• _xXx_ on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:56 pm

Auntie, time to get car dealers there to bid….and proceed to a nearby Toyota showroom.

• Alvin on Apr 03, 2012 at 3:41 pm

Why no tiara and perdana?

• _xXx_ on Apr 03, 2012 at 6:39 pm

juz found out this WCJ actually worths <RM1000….lol

So RM1000/1000kg = RM1/kg = junk price….

• ky Huen on Jun 04, 2014 at 5:04 pm

would like to see a Makeover for honda integra _ model zc 1

• Siang on Aug 12, 2019 at 12:10 pm

Is it possible to send car for similar makeover ?

Anyone knows ?

My car: 1999 Proton Iswara Aeroback
    Engine stil in good condition and no plan to change car.