Toyota GT86 – UK specifications and price tags revealed

While the Toyota GT86 have yet to reach our shores, let’s see what the people in the UK will be getting. It looks like the English will start to see the GT86 from the July 1 with orders for it is being taken now. It also means that the price as well as the specs are revealed – it starts from £24,995 for a manual up to £26,495 for an automatic.

The GT86 runs with a 2.0 litre boxer engine mounted under the bonnet and move forward from the rear. The 6 speed automatic will come with paddle shifters. Torque-sensing limited slip differential comes standard with the GT86. Exterior features include rear spoiler, 17” alloy wheels, chrome-finished dual exhaust tailpipes and a signature “T”-mesh grille – the motif is repeated in the shape of the rear foglight, which is set between the tailpipes. Other features include bi-xenon HID headlights, LED daytime running lights, front foglights, and electric folding wing mirrors. Seven colours to choose from – black metallic, blue metallic, dark red metallic, orange metallic and pearl pearlescent.

Inside, the GT86 UK version will get sport seats, aluminium pedals, and red stitching around black leather trim are on the steering, gear knob and parking brake. Black cloth upholstery comes standard but customers can opt for the black leather with red Alcantara and additional red leather styling on door grilles, steering wheel, gear knob and parking brake. The option list also includes heaters for the front seats.

In terms of snazzy gadgets, the GT86 will be kitted with Smart Entry system, dual-zone air conditioning, auto-dimming rear view mirror, cruise control, hill-start assist, scuff plates and the Toyota Touch touchscreen control system that is hooked up to the six-speaker audio system with Bluetooth and USB. Or, customers can upgrade the multimedia system to the Toyota Touch and Go with sat-nav, speed and safety camera warnings, on-board connection to Google Local Search and other subscribed services that streams live parking availability, fuel price information and local weather forecasts.

The GT86 will have three driving modes that alter the VSC stability control system. Seven airbags, including one for the driver’s knee, will come with the GT86.

Remember that the standard specs GT86 might be different when it reaches here. At least we now know the GT86s that the Brits will be driving come mid-year.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• RedBeanBun on Apr 02, 2012 at 9:15 am

So Protong front and back feel…hahahaha!!

it wont sell well…the design is so 90s…

• theanswer on Apr 02, 2012 at 9:29 am

depends on ur own perception on sell well. because this is a sports car..not a daily driven car. remember 370z..tht one also looks retro.

• haters gtfo on Apr 02, 2012 at 9:32 am

i sense jealousy

• i sense lameness in relating this with Protong.

yeah, all cars with 2 head lights, 2 tail lights resemble the Mini, Chevy and TATA too… what else did i miss? =)

• _xXx_ on Apr 02, 2012 at 10:50 am

one of the similarities that I can see between GT86 and protong cars is – both have 4 wheels.

• To RedBeanBun

Whats problem and whats relation this GT86 with proton?

• I had totally no idea what in the world that gives you a hint about this car being related to Proton. Perhaps we could all expect a more fantastic answer from you in the future such as suggesting Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X copied Proton Inspira’s design and styling.

• You compare this car with a brand known for its lack of ingenuity. Bravo genius.

• Mohd Arrif on Apr 02, 2012 at 9:16 am

it will cost u RM260k

• Noted that the price is included VAT…lets see later how much sell in Malaysia included Tax…anyway just cant understand why Toyota & Subaru release exact same model..

• theanswer on Apr 02, 2012 at 9:32 am

i wonder that too. especially this is not a daily car. for different country maybe..but still subaru is uncommon with majority of household.

• but i just review autoforum in US and they make a pool to choose between BRZ, GT86 and dont mind if any..the result 8k+ chose for Subaru…4k toyota and 4k dont mind…

• hway de Cruz on Apr 02, 2012 at 9:41 am

special price for m’sians, RM1,600,000.67 , include tax for inflating air in the tyres, one psi cost u RM25,000, very special price oledi

• _xXx_ on Apr 02, 2012 at 9:29 am

must buy!!!! Dec21 IS approaching……

• mnazri.tan on Apr 02, 2012 at 10:05 am

Dollar to Dollar perspective….anyone earning 2k to 3k a month would easily afford it here in malaysia…hahahha…cool aite to imagine what could we have afford ….

• the_edge on Apr 02, 2012 at 12:41 pm

what so big will the gomen lose if we malaysia can enjoy the same price equivalence after GE13?…

• BN=barang naik on Apr 02, 2012 at 9:39 am

0-100 in 6 sec!..not bad..can tapau BMW 528 m sport!…wakakaka

• Dont think the gt86 will be officially introduce here. Btw, cant quite fathom how toyota manage to make the beauty FT86 concept into the much uglier GT86, a feat usually associated with proton.

• how come the boxer engine can escape the emission regulation? afaik the boxer produce high co2 not to mention high fc

• umw will never bring this in,instead we will get yet another limited edition vios…lol

• Director on Apr 02, 2012 at 10:03 am

uncle car..

• Since it could b a threat to poton and p2 sales, they will tax this until the cows come home…unless you doing cow biz then you can buy..

• amarku17 on Apr 02, 2012 at 10:09 am

Should put this engine and tranny into camry model E & G 2012.

• blackbox on Apr 02, 2012 at 10:09 am

Finally Toyota stop making boring car.
    I doubt that Malaysia Toyota dealer will bring in this car, since it is not justify for them to train their service center to deal with boxer engine for these small quantity users.
    Lets wait for another 2 to 3 years, for those AP king to bring in some recond car with “unbelievable” low mileage GT86.

• lancermania on Apr 02, 2012 at 5:25 pm

well, it will be coming to Malaysia soon~

• 123GO on Apr 02, 2012 at 5:39 pm

They bringing this here ~~~ brochure actually is inside somewhere is the hq … this 86 will launch after the the camry in june ….

• the problem when buying recond car is some of them tempted the car’s mileage..

• Yui Misaki on Apr 02, 2012 at 10:28 am

Amazing!! A road and track proven cup chassis Megane rs250 is retailed at £23k.
    Kinda steep for a 2.0l Toyota don’t you think?

• Same car costs 25k – 30k USD in US.

Generally Jap cars are higher priced in UK than their own european cars. UK prices should not be used to benchmark the Japanese car prices for Malaysia.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Apr 02, 2012 at 10:47 am

Chris Ng, since when did UK start selling LHD cars?

• Chris Ng (Member) on Apr 02, 2012 at 1:36 pm

I know, you’re referring to the pictures. But these pictures are all the media services have with them. Unless someone in the UK is willing to share some GT86 showroom pictures with us… :)

• *Raise hand*

sorry noob question here… whats a LHD cars? O.o

• Danny on Apr 02, 2012 at 10:48 am

I wonder how much the selling price here? As long as the price is not sky-high, definitely sell well!

• laluan sehala on Apr 02, 2012 at 10:55 am

what’s not needed:

1) Smart Entry system, – what’s wrong with a simple key and remote?
    2) dual-zone air conditioning, – it’s supposed to be an ‘affordable’ sports car. not a premium sports car.
    3) auto-dimming rear view mirror, – what’s wrong with flipping the lever? lower cost, lower weight, less electronics better.
    4) cruise control, – real drivers don’t need this. less electronics better
    5) hill-start assist, – again, real drivers don’t need this. less electronics better. less things to go wrong.
    6) scuff plates – it’s not important
    7) Toyota Touch touchscreen control system that is hooked up to the six-speaker audio system with Bluetooth and USB.

the main thing is, to reduce as much of the unnecessary items to make it pure and affordable. that is the spirit of this model, that should be the objective.

• Chris on Apr 02, 2012 at 7:13 pm

Exactly.

I was confused about all the bells and whistles…

Maybe we’ll see a BRZ spec-c?

• droll on Apr 02, 2012 at 10:57 am

mid 20,000 pounds is about the price of a decently specced golf gti. so i’m expecting the gt86 to cost in the region of rm200k when it arrives in malaysia. minus a few of the optional items and it might magically fall into the MPS price range.

• I think this car will cost more towards VW Scirocco prices because don’t forget, Malaysia imposes additional taxes on cars with 2 doors.

Therefore, I think RM240k – RM250k

• Same car is selling for 25k – 30K USD in US. Generally Japanese cars sells for a lot higher in UK. This is not a good benchmark to determine the car’s price in Malaysia.

• 26,495.00 GBP = 129,551.84 MYR
    British Pound Malaysian Ringgit
    1 GBP = 4.88967 MYR 1 MYR = 0.204513 GBP

i wonder how much it will cost in Bolehland after tax

• yah..and average fresh grad engineer in UK earned monthly GBP2.5k = MYR12,224.18
      definitely fresh grad in UK afford to buy this car there…even a Recond R8 if they come to Malaysia..
      but we’re in Malaysia earned about GBP511.29 = MYR2,500 in Malaysia, still can’t afford to buy that car even if it’s bring in to Malaysia without any TAX implement…hahaaa…unless it cost MYR26,495.00 in Malaysia :) so i think it’s not all about tax to be blame..but inflation in our country make the caused..low income – high living cost.

• Mr Wancer on Apr 02, 2012 at 8:34 pm

Have you calculated the insurance costs? Insurance in UK it self gonna be not affordable to most people. Do you even have the cash if it was priced @ RM25k? The car loan itself is already more than 6% in UK.

Yes, you may buy 90’s sport cars for less than 1 GBP. However the insurance depending on lots of condition gonna be very expensive…

Just by simply comparing the price of the cars between two countries without calculating other factors just sums up how ‘simple’ malaysian’s mentality.

• Their insurance is depends on age, safety of the car and not like our insurance in malaysia is totally based on cars it self…its not about malaysian mentality…but we’ve been overcharge in all way..AP, Tax, the car it self, Road Tax, Insurance…but have you consider their road tax price..? there’s definitely have pro & cons even in their country…but for us…what’s is our pro beside the cons of RoadTax, AP, Tax and etc..? How heavenly they able to bough a car with a 6.0CC with cheaper price…but in Malaysia, are you enough affordable to bought a 6.0CC car even if the car priced @ RM50k? so im not trying to compare without any based, but just back to the reality…

• narnia on Apr 02, 2012 at 5:25 pm

just multiply by 2 or 3 times u will get bolehland price

if price below rm200k i will buy one :P

• Jerry on Apr 02, 2012 at 11:33 am

FYI…First shipment of Suabru BRZs have arrived in Singapore. Prices on the road is SGD$181,800.

http://i1140.photobucket.com/albums/n580/webaids/Pichost/2012/72589e2b.jpg

• Hyundai Del La Junk on Apr 02, 2012 at 12:17 pm

The Return of the Hachi Roku, Toyota is back in business.

• Just call-up my Toyota Salesman to confirmed , the FT86 will be sale in Malaysia soon, Pricing will be around 210K but yet open for booking ! Is that true ?

• Yes i called my friend to confirm too a month a go…he say launching tgt with camry

• reyust on Apr 02, 2012 at 12:54 pm

the front look like hyundai coupe

• Myvi side aircon vent FTW (sarcasm only). But before this when it was still a concept, it looks better. :( (let’s don’t compare toyota to proton k, 1 is a giant while the other is peanut)

• Just call-up my Toyota Salesman to confirmed , the FT86 will be sale in Malaysia soon, Pricing will be around 210K but yet open for booking !

Anyone can verify how true is this ? :)

• confused on Apr 02, 2012 at 1:13 pm

This Toyota surely is a masterpiece.. Later if UMWT brings it in, expect it to be the lowest spec with less acc package and priced ridiculously high..

• harris murad on Apr 02, 2012 at 1:14 pm

based on the photos, the exterior is quite a bummer, i think..
    i am so sorry, no disrespect meant.
    just look at it, kinda lack of ‘oommphhh’ i would say.

no it is not ugly but remember the 350z when it first came out many years ago?
    or the s2000, or even the mk4 Supra in the 90s for that matter.
    those are what we call ‘head-turning’ designs!.
    imho lah..:|

*mampus gua kena bash lepas ni

• it will still turn heads … even though the design is so-so due to it’s pricetag

• fadzilkpopcars on Apr 02, 2012 at 1:36 pm

gov and umw has agreed to sell it from RM239,888 for MT and RM249,888 for AT. both CBU from NIppon.

• amouse on Apr 02, 2012 at 2:23 pm

ill get the megane250 RS anytime over this..

• Kokopai on Apr 02, 2012 at 2:27 pm

just wondering, the 6AT – is it still using TC?

• Abdul123 on Apr 02, 2012 at 2:53 pm

Everybody should vote Pakatan for cheaper cars.

• i thought the brochure leaked already.
    http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=3581259532146
    http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=3581260332166

will they’ve an HSD version to get duty free benefit like CR-Z?

• Nankai Tsunami on Apr 02, 2012 at 3:41 pm

GT86
    GT=Grand Touring.
    mainly competes with nissan 370Z, peugeot RCZ, Renault Laguna Coupe, BMW 120i Coupe, Hyundai Genesis, etc.

• another thing that we need to remember about this car is… it is not about power at all. if you read the reports, it is all about the handling and that’s what toyota set out to build, a sweet handling car that does not need too much power to enjoy.

so, comparing its performance with regards to raw output with it’s so-called direct competitors will not be in the interest of this model. it is about handling which even an esteemed uk car mag said came very close to matching the very potent cayman s.

• Talk about road & handling, got any Lotus input or not?

• don’t think they have but i guess the car is good enough for the auto journalists to compare it to a cayman, which is also one of the best handling porsche around.

there are many good handling cars out there that make do without lotus’s input though.

• Please bring the Toyota GT86 in Malaysia!

• ToyoCan on Apr 02, 2012 at 4:42 pm

Nissan 370 is more than RM350k I wonder how much this car will be ? Anything above Rm230k is tough, Renault Megane 250 is much better even the Scirocco is better.

• Unforgiven on Apr 02, 2012 at 7:48 pm

£26,495 is not cheap at all, entry level Mercedes Benz the new SLK is only from £29,980.00.

• tok-kok on Apr 02, 2012 at 8:12 pm

RM249,888 for the AT model in Malaysia?
    I cannot afford to change my current car to GT-86 lah..

But I can vote for change Gomen :P

• can be less than 200k as cars from japang are exempted from import duty, only excise 90%…

• armandd on Apr 02, 2012 at 10:08 pm

Judging from 99% of the comments here, it’s just sad that most Malaysians don’t appreciate the handling qualities that this car offers…

• Harrykok on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:20 pm

Well how you know it handles well my friend ? Driven one before ?

• armandd on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:23 pm

Have you ever heard about ‘car reviews’?

• antonio lanci on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:30 pm

Top Gear or Fifth Gear?
          others are biase towards car manufacturer/sponsor.

• NEVER expect greedy UMWT to price this car cheap, The cheapest auto is 2,361,905.00 JPY = 87,640.24 MYR. While ‘economy version’ like no-frills AirAsia starting at 1,895,238.00 JPY = 70,331.93 MYR.

GT variant Auto ‘mere’ 2,733,333.00 JPY = 101,436.64 MYR. THe prices mentioned were price without consumption tax and definitely the CIF must be cheaper than this retail price.

THUS, we can see how greedy our GLCs UMWT when they decided to launch this coupe.

• driver on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:13 am

it reminds me of old celica somehow…

• nighttrain on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:20 am

Great handling! Must create it’s own series for trackday.. GT86 series at Sepang trackday, beautiful.. if enough motorheads are willing to buy lah, otherwise it’ll be just another babe magnet at teh tarik stalls..

• Jerry on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:29 am

Alright, so this news entry is about the 86. But if you are visiting Singapore today or tomorrow, Motor Image is having a launch party at Central Mall in Clark Quay at 4pm 4 April. I do plan to check it out firsthand the BRZ and see for myself in the driving seat… :)

• Toyota GT86 chases Porsche Boxter while Subaru BrZ fights Porsche Cayman S

• amonrei on Apr 04, 2012 at 2:20 pm

Confirm 300k when it reach here. :<

• Maserati on Apr 09, 2012 at 9:00 pm

I will take this anytime over any korean junk

• KLuk KLuk Clan on May 19, 2012 at 8:23 pm

Look like Supra with new facelift to me.

• John Doe on May 31, 2012 at 2:13 am

I dont understand.. can somebody explain please.

This car is about 25,000 USD which is about 75,000 MYR. Right?

How on earth did the price reach 250,000 MYR? Dont tell me the tax for this car is 175,000 MYR. This is plain stupid.