VIDEO: Android-powered Clarion Mirage shows its talent

Last week, we were in Penang for the world debut of the Clarion Mirage ICE system. What’s special about the Mirage is that it’s the first Android-based full automotive grade car stereo in the market. ‘Full automotive grade’ means OEM-grade, and Clarion is targeting car manufacturers and assemblers for now, before stating retail sales in Q4 this year.

Conceived and developed at Clarion Malaysia in Penang, the Mirage is equipped with a 6.5-inch LCD hooked up to Android’s touch-screen graphical user interface (GUI). It runs Android 2.2 Froyo, but customised for a car platform. As with an Android smartphone, the “appatunities” are limitless with the Mirage.

VIDEO: Android-powered Clarion Mirage shows its talent

We’ve already explained what it can do in our launch report, complete with full gallery, but here’s a video to show you what’s possible. Like the Mirage, these stereo girls are proof that barangan buatan Malaysia can be very good :)

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• TRUE, those chicks soo hot, n make me hotter.. =P

• hot chick’s

• Androidian on Apr 02, 2012 at 3:48 pm

I like the girl more….

• Wisdom on Apr 02, 2012 at 3:53 pm

Hey girl on the center, bend slightly more can? Got a lot abang here to see..
    Clarion good. DB clarion even better..

• bijan on Apr 02, 2012 at 4:03 pm

tagline..

CLARION…choose your position!..hehe

• Zig-zag on Apr 02, 2012 at 4:10 pm

Did anyone else notice the lag during the Angry Birds main screen (the bird flying across the screen? The touch response was generally not that good either, I hope the finalised product gets a bump up in processor & RAM.

The girl on the right is just begging to be taken from behind.. :D

• snaz1 go on Apr 02, 2012 at 4:20 pm

those girls stole the thunder, lol.

• I bought overhead monitor VT1010B, video excellent but casing is crap. Not up to standard, easily crack and plastic become sticky…the chinese made model far better!

• UntitleD on Apr 02, 2012 at 4:44 pm

Something v did last year with galaxy tab running 2.3.3 now running 4.0.3
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dkpDHH4uwcc
    Tab to multimedia dock then run a RCA cable to amp.

• bend more please!

• shawal on Apr 02, 2012 at 4:58 pm

takes too much of your concentration off the road , i just need 5 big buttons to scroll thru hitz, mix, track, fly and red fm….. whichever ones thats playing music,

• Seriously on Apr 02, 2012 at 5:03 pm

Let see how many are going to talk about the girls they cannot get.

• Wisdom on Apr 02, 2012 at 5:45 pm

Gotten mine but u know, we never had enough though they taste the same.

• I guess Danny boy here knows how to turn on ‘the players’ over here! :D That Android is slow as heck! I bet the hardware is from 2008, can even see the system halt for a while.

• catdog on Apr 02, 2012 at 5:19 pm

YEp! buatan Malaysia vy good! hhaha

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Apr 02, 2012 at 6:25 pm

these sort of girls used to be hot. but these days it seems there are too much of this kind as they really all do look alike.

• lan87 on Apr 02, 2012 at 6:36 pm

yeah… the title is right on… i see a lot true talents here…
    a lot of potential too ;)

• angry birds look laggy

• Grandpa Trucker on Apr 02, 2012 at 7:16 pm

Gulp!! Malaysian made are sure damn good.

• amatku17 on Apr 02, 2012 at 7:16 pm

Good product speak for itself, don’t need hot chick to make the point!

• Marvin Lee on Apr 02, 2012 at 7:22 pm

Not impressive at all, just showing applications instead of what the stereo hardware can do.
    What’s the difference of having another Android tablet stick to your HU?
    I was expecting something more powerful.
    At least show la, can link with reverse camera, or even GPS maps.
    You might never know if it’s those cheapo Android tablets in a plastic frame with Clarion logo and startup with Clarion screen.

• Abuya on Apr 02, 2012 at 7:26 pm

Oh baby….. come to papa. Hehehehe

Apasal pakai keta smart plak? Kontot, kecik. Pakai la fortuner ke, merc…

• DArkerMarker on Apr 02, 2012 at 8:21 pm

instead of youtube link, can we have behind-the-scene of the photoshoot with the chicks??

hehehehe

• Ustaz Alim on Apr 02, 2012 at 9:21 pm

Those girls, especially on the right is challenging my faith. Reminds me of Akon’s song ‘Smack That…..’

• dreaming of maserati on Apr 02, 2012 at 9:46 pm

threesome anyone?

• Gokul on Apr 02, 2012 at 10:28 pm

“Perempuan chantek mana pun, berak busuk jugak’ ~ P.Ramlee (Pendekar Bujang Lapok)..

• kuriang on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:28 am

guys, play your angry bird now! tha girls waiting..

• paparadzi on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:47 am

Just wonder how does the unit get its internet connectivity. A sim card? That means a new dedicated account.

• I’m pretty sure as with wifi-tablets, it can just use the wifi-hotspot feature found on many android smartphones. the concern is the internet coverage of the said phones when driving places, especially on the highway.

I am concerned about the lag and I don’t see a reverse camera and GPS feature. Google’s Navigation cannot pakai in our country.

• Right Hand Drive on Apr 03, 2012 at 6:59 pm

What does 3 slutty girls got to do with a car player? Buy a Clarion get free girl?

• from the way the screen response, its just like the cheap tablet that are selling under local brands…i think this is below 1ghz spec…someone should design the screen that could be tilt to the right of left for easy typing..

• wow very kangkang!!

• what they are showing is one app at a time.. wait till they run multiple apps or do multitasking such as running GPS and then running another music app at the same time. i am quite sure it will lag or even hang. I have seen taiwanese car audio companies try to do this last year and all failed miserably. and those who actually got it working properly was super expensive, over RM3k. might as well buy an Ipad for RM1500 and then have a regular car head unit with GPS. at least you know it is the master of its functions.