Proton Prevé – test drive vehicle a sign of arrival soon?

Well, it looks like the wait for the Proton Prevé is almost over, if the photos seen on funtasticko are right – the ‘test drive’ stickers and the phone number at the rear cannot hint it any clearer.

What is set to be certain is the name, Prevé. It means ‘to prove’ in Spanish; just in case you don’t already know. Incidentally, I googled up its pronunciation and it is said as ‘preev’ and not ‘preff’ or ‘perve’. Let’s say it right the first time, shall we?

In any case, we’ve already compiled a whole encyclopedia on the topic – from the leaked spec sheet to videos – and you only have to key in ‘Proton Preve’ in our handy search box. Or, just click here.

So, all that’s missing from the jigsaw is the official price and when it’s going to be launched.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Proton Perv’e much better

• best Proton ever.

spec. proton best ever
      design. also proton best ever
      price. competitively and good pricing not like Hyundai Elantra
      NVH/ ride and handling. also i heard best proton ever

congrate to Proton team. i put my money on it. insyaallah. just want to test drive 1st and then make final decission. booked alrealy

• firefish on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:11 am

me too!
        Cheers…

• Kampung on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:14 am

Me three!
          Cheers….

• noname on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:46 am

Me four!
            Cheers…

• Me Maggi!
            Cheers…
            Congrat to those who booked… Looking fwd for this car quality issue… Hopefully 85% problem free…

• SHERRY on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:50 pm

I HAD TRY IT. GOOD FOR MONEY. ESPECIALLY PROTON PREVE PREMIUM. BEST…

• nazgul on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:16 am

best proton ever? hope not…best proton to date? yes…

• eLLEN on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:45 am

Keep my finger cross!! Just hope, Proton fly…

Not some bad news, window leaking, gear jam this and that..

• Avenger Osiris on Apr 05, 2012 at 11:46 am

flying without wings
            ^_^

• loveit on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:56 am

agreed…Proton should thriving for better in the future..

• Nick.C on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:15 am

Reliability how? Will the door handle and rubber seal fall off, fire wall leak water, radio buttons stop working and clock spring go cookoo after 2 years?

I will admit, the spec are epic and mighty tempting. Then of course I have to stop myself and remind myself that Protons make sexy cars that are also maintainable nightmares that don’t last, as relefcte

Call me when their acceptable defect rate is lowered from 200ppm to 5ppm.

• Kampung on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:16 am

Never knew proton got cookoo clock on their dashboard..

• Nick.C on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:35 am

http://paultan.org/2010/10/08/proton-gen-2-and-satria-neo-owners-proton-safety-recall-exercise-for-clock-spring/

The Gen.2 I was driving has the same problem (Horn would randomly honk then stop working all together, radio volume would go up or down when i turn the steering). When I sent to authorised proton workshop they said the problem was clock spring, but because I did not buy H.Line model, i am not covered under recall.

After that i got rid of the car and bought a Honda.

• e-tique on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:15 pm

honda salesman detected here…

• armandd on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:13 pm

no doubt he’s hondah salesman…

• autojohndoe on Apr 04, 2012 at 6:03 pm

kakakaka…

why dont you post Honda also got recall for power window risk of catching fire…

• david on Apr 05, 2012 at 1:53 pm

I drove Proton for many years. Like many of us would agreed that to maintain it never seems to end. I change my car too by getting a Honda. I will never buy Malaysian car again!!

• bro this is 2012 already. why you still worry about 2002 models defect? even you got many defects 10 years ago

• Nick.C on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:47 am

No offence lah, I too want proton to succeed. My family has had a long history of driving Protons. My dad had the original Saga, Iswara, Perdana, and Gen.2. My mother had Knight Aeroback, then a Proton Cares.

I myself had another Gen.2, and ALL of them (except the Cares) turned out to be lemons. Each time we got a new one, we thought, OK, lets give one more chance, this one might be better… and you know what?

For 20+ years proton has failed time and time again, so you have to forgive me when I demand proof that this Proton is indeed better before I buy another one.

• akupunya on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:05 pm

that’s why the tagline for preve is “Drive it to believe it”….. dare to lingkup..

• none taken bro,and you also dun need to apologize. i understand some of us have their fair share of the story but nowadays proton model quality have improved. i myself is one of the satisfied saga flx owner. but if you didn’t confident buying a proton, theres other car makers out there and nowadays their price are competitive summore

• punai on Apr 03, 2012 at 6:35 pm

OK lah Nick.C, Don’t buy lah this time.. Wait for feedback from otherslah… After one year if the f.back fr customer is good considerlah to book one.
            I also owe 3 model of proton Iswara a/b, wira and persona. so far no problem. Wira so far no problem but already trade in to get persona. Now my persona travel every day 100km because I always visit my customer. After 4 years still in good condition. Iswara a/b is 95 model I still hold and my son dirve it to. The reason I still hold because mantainance cost low.
            The beauty of my Iswara a/b is their dash board not vibrate from day one till today and the colour of light front and rear still mantain the same from day one. Compare to my college Kia 2003, the light become dull and dash board shaking badly

• You might have nightmare experience driving proton car but my gen2 still in good condition even though my mileage now almost 175000km. So I’m still looking forward to see what proton preve can offer.

• Momo,
            Nick has a right to feel that way. PROTON is now going through a massive consumer confidence issue, as a result of quality issues from the previous management. When buying a car is mostly the second most expensive acquisition for most of us, people tend to be picky. Bad experiences can really hurt a carmaker.

My handle, NAP, stands for neveraproton, after a massive issue with my 2 month old Perdana V6 in 2005. It was the proverbial straw that broke the camel’s back, as it was the worse problem I have had with a PROTON. But I have had issues with them from my PROTON CARES, whose fuel tank fell off (in 1993/4), and various other issues, including of course the power window. I was a very famous figure at EON service centers after the fuel tank calamity. I still gave PROTON a chance (mostly due to price issues).

But when the flagship model fails, you kind of think, hey, something is wrong. After that I went for a gray Japanese import. Today, with better finances as I move up the ladder, I opt for continental.

A carmaker’s dream is to have an owner upgrade from within the brand, but when you fail, again and again, you have to win the confidence again.

I must say however that they seem to be doing things better now. I am hopeful that this will be the case with the Preve. Right now, I think if they can improve as well on their interior plastics, I may reconsider PROTON as a second or third car.

Both Tengku Mahaleel and Datuk Sri Syed Zainal knows of nap, and how when I created the handle I vowed only to buy a PROTON again when they start winning international awards (Reader’s Digest not included), and gets a good rating from Top Gear. It may be some time yet, but I think they are getting there….

• wlighter on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:50 am

5 out of 5 million is 0.000001%

you must be dreaming dude… you show me one car manufacturer that can promise 0.000001% of defects

• Nick.C on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:44 pm

What are you talking about? Toyotas defect rate is 9ppm and Honda is 6ppm. This is from the Malaysian Automotive Components Parts Manufacturers Association. You can also google this info.

If you do the math, the average car has about 30,000 parts down to the last screw, clip and ring. Protons defect rate of 200ppm means that there is 1 defect in every 5000 parts.

If you average it out, each proton delivered would have 6 defective parts in it. You just pray that those 6 parts arn’t something major, like break cable or ECU, which sadly has been the case.

• Hilmi on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:38 am

@Nick.C … the one we looking should be DPU (defect per unit), not ppm since ppm might be misleading, due to different part numbers per car.

here i found the Proton DPU that i talking about:

http://cdn1.paultan.org/image/power-window-04-784×600.jpg

The number that i recall from my memory before little bit off, but the key fact is there. Proton successfully improve from 8 defect/ car (year 2006, Mahaleel era) to 0.26 defect per car (2011). This is much-much better than 6 defect / car that you said.

As reference, Toyota DPU is 0.1+ and Perodua 0.2+. Proton already close to Perodua quality but to catch Toyota, Proton still need to work much harder.

• Hilmi on Apr 03, 2012 at 5:46 pm

I’m quite sure, there is presentation slide by Proton in Paultan that show current proton defect/car approx 1 defect / 10 cars. I’m not usre whwrw u got 200ppm, but indeed remember in Mahaleel era, approx 10 defect / car. Your source must be outdated.

• snaz1 go on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:57 pm

top up a bit, buy real proton car.

proton inspira.

proton is always about mitsubishi.

without mitsubishi, there is no legacy dy.

so, get a proton inspira although its a bit pricey then prevert.

lancer/inspira = wira=saga.

• QUATTRO on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:43 pm

tak sabar nak test drive!!!!

• Gabla on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:55 am

The car would look stunning in the elegant brown colour (Exora Bold). I think that it would look more premium in that colour.

• cynical on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:48 am

Proton Pervert much better

• I tot it is pronounce Pervert

• Front looks sad…

• points about pronunciation and language of orginin in your blog post contradicts official statement from proton http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2012/4/4/nation/20120404132129&sec=nation

• wah, i like this car design, hope proton car doing well in test drive, we will wait for it

• spiderman on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:29 am

your taste is very tasteful…. for the tasteless.

you can’t be serious on the design? Yes, design is a subjective thing but this preve design is bland and boring. not exactly ugly, but not beautiful either. just below average.

I give it a D+

• daamz on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:56 am

For me design is not bad at all. The most important thing is price, quality and aftersale service. Look at Dugong, transformer Honda or even Civic 2012, most of the cars are not depend to the design to attract customer. It is more on overall performance of car and service.

• Darenz on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:22 am

I drive the CFE Exora. Just hope that the CVT and the engine program and tuning will be better. The CFE Exora program tuning not so perfect.

• oligopoli on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:21 am

i think exora CFE should be tuned as it is, and not comparable this Preve (car vs MPV). nonetheless, everything (and everybody) subjected to improvement, so this Preve

• daamz on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:37 pm

P1 need more time. I know it sound a bit annoying for anti P1, but in reality – Rebuilding process is not within 1-5 years. It usually takes longer than expected especially for P1 as their main market is only in Malaysia. My opinion is the rebuilding process towards profit was Inspira where obviously they saw how P2 doing with Daihatsu. Even though the sales of Inspira look not as good as their expectation, but hope they will learn something about that and keep improving over next project. P1 is not like hyundai where they got huge domestic market. i’m positive one day they will make a lot profit and hope it’ll benefit us and make malaysian proud.

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Apr 03, 2012 at 6:39 pm

Well, so far the FC result for EXORA CFE to date is way out of figure as what P1 claimed. Never had a chance to lower the FC less then 9.4L/100km on standard driving as stated by P1 (7.8L/100km @ 90km\h).

Currently already booked for 1 warranty claim for a/c ventilation switch.

By next week, to check an issue of loud sound in engine bay when hitting a Bump and to check engine tuning to reduce FC.

• Well for about 80k at least its more exiting to look at (and drive) than say a Vios Dugong

• Costwise on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:18 pm

It would be a tough act for Preve to overthrow Dugong Vios. With better pricing, mind you its not due to manufacturing scale & efficiency, Preve need to be jaguh kampung first, before competing overseas.

• Shahrul on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:21 am

You are exaggerating because you’re a Jeremy Clarkson wannabe. It is their best design so far.

• cynical on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:50 am

I totally agree. The design is just plain boring

• Dear Mr Spiderman,
        I think you’re boring too. Always shown up same movie at tv.
        You oso talk very slowly… boring to see.

• Vader on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:35 am

Did someone mentioned in the press said that this car may delay 3 weeks for the launch but still will make it at end of Mar???
      Now already Apr… launch period also cannot commit???

• Syazwan on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:03 pm

They said waiting for PM Najib to launch. Due to tight schedule, that’s why postponed. . Lame. =.=

• Gabla on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:28 pm

Najib cannot launch, let Anwar launch then. We don’t care who the fark launch the car, I don’t cast a vote based on launching a Proton model.

• alldisc on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:26 pm

actual reason is a problem with the new CFE engine, especially noise upon starting. happening to exora bold and need to be addressed first.

go check exora forums.

• oligopoli on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:32 pm

yeah, i joined the forum months ago. a number of exora affected. basically few issues with exora regarding the engine and transmission. mine excluded. syukur. but still, proton need to be better than they are now

• Hilmi on Apr 03, 2012 at 5:34 pm

I’m driving Exora CFE now, and there is no noise upon starting. The car response exceed my expectation, and i can feel the power surge start from 1600 RPM vs 2000 RPM and most of city driving is smooth and require < 2000RPM. I believe the one that complaint about starting is the 1st batch (jan/feb batch), because i heard from forum something about VVT overtightened and solve now.

• koreanboy on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:18 am

why its reminds me of forte and neo bumpers!

• gtx460 on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:24 am

i still dislike the rear lamp, others details are still something interesting to be explore with

• Jufri on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:25 am

by looking at the spelling, shouldn’t the name sound “puh-rare-vay”? note that the second E is accented.

• Zig-zag on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:17 am

It should be “preh-vay”, two syllables. Not three.

• Preve? on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:53 am

“Preh-Vay” is the french pronunciation, but I don’t think the spanish pronunciation will be much different… One thing is sure that it could no way be pronounced as “Puh-Rare-Vay”. I speak French and read Spanish.

• It should be pervert

• i think we are not to discuss further on whether it’s french or spanish…

i speak both language, but we can hardly find an english speaking or malay speaking people pronounce it correctly.

i’d say english will still play major role, and they’ll pronounce it ‘pri-vay’.

well, i have no idea what P1 think tank is thinking about – for a ‘global model’, they shoud opt for better name.

even here it’s something that confuse us…

• fauzi on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:58 pm

just google it..spanish..put preve..then spell..easy..

• Preve? on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:10 pm

It’s funny that your name is my birthday! And we both understand French and Spanish…. hahaha.

• I don’t know why but when I look at these pictures, I find Preve is actually a cute car! And it looks very Proton-ish! At least, we can tell Preve is one of the Proton cars and it still retains its identity. Nevertheless, Preve looks quite good in that maroon colour.

• alldisc on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:30 pm

remove the emblems and put in on display in any other part of the world… no one will recognise this car as a proton.

i dont feel proton is there yet – i mean, having a car that people know its a proton.

unlike audi for example, or a ferrari. or a lotus. just not yet.

• mystvearn on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:28 am

The red colour helps masks the rear lights design. Looks kind of good in this colour.

On another note: Whoever keeps supplying info to funtastico design DSZ may sack the guy for giving away company secrets.

Second note: Paul, you need to provide tons of upload bandwidth when this car launch. Sure this site will get tons of traffic :P

• Enjin Dekat on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:53 am

I agree. too much leaked info from insider. Not good. not good.
      The management should take seriously about those irresponsible informers.

• Nick.C on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:40 am

These leaks are obviously deliberate, designed to drum up excitement and buzz preceding a product launch… Get the mat motors excited, then they will “WOW” their non car savvy friends with their “insider info”. Can’t you tell when you are being used as a marketing tool?

• mystvearn on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:54 pm

I am not sure if it is a publicity stunt.

The yellow preve and the internal powerpoint presentation screenshot was not meant to be shown off to people. The powerpoint presentation has now been removed.

Well, after the blue preve screenshot, and the leak brochure, then only TV3 had that “preview” but by then most netizens who are interested in the car knows how it looks like. Also the silver commercial car with the dude trying to block the full view did not help. Note to proton, want to make advert of a secret car, do it inside the test track away from normal prying eyes :P

Thats it, my mind is made up. That red colour as it masks the rear light design. I’m sure the design will be taken in sooner or later

• who knows, maybe it’s the management idea to leak out the info as their marketing strategy..

• Alpha on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:29 am

I thought the pronunciation is “pre-vay”?

• harris murad on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:07 am

Thats why laa!
      If its supposed to be pronounced ‘preev’, then why the apostrophe ‘e’ in the first place?
      Confusing…

• everp on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:30 am

Malaysian’s so high class can pronounce such name meh? Wonder how the kampung folks will call it?

• wheeler on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:30 am

Orang kampung now can pronounce even scirocco, what is preve to them, haiah!

• Kampung on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:27 am

We call it ‘proton prebet’.

Even though prebet, we pretty sure it will pound all C segment car in the market.

• zachary gibson on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:02 pm

it would probably be Proton Perabih..

• BoLiao on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:34 am

Why put a Boombastic name that no one knows how to pronounce. Back side design a bit too busy. Clean lines should do better…

• oligopoli on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:35 am

i prefer Persona 2012. proton should maintain Persona name, like what VW done with Golf, only MK is changing

• harris murad on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:01 pm

super like
        they really should consider maintaining legacy.
        persona, saga, exora – the superb trio (to me at least)
        it is very basic actually, just look at the legends i.e. civic, corolla, and of 3series etc
        but maybe they have another reason for the new name, change of direction maybe? as it involves a global model.

• review2!

• wow! the red-fire PREVE is stunning!! bye2 forte & city! :D

• kantoi on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:11 am

Errr, are you blind? The design is still way behind the Forte, Elantra or even City but can beat Dugong though. Not too sure about the reliability though

• put the Kia or Honda logo on it and u will say “oh my gosh! What a beautiful car!”

• kantoi on Apr 03, 2012 at 5:12 pm

LOL, I am talking about purely design and nothing to do with badge or branding. So shallow mentality, anyone who has eye can see the design still lagging behind and are not up to today’s standard.

• then give me reasons why it’s not up-to-date design when it got almost the same design as forte & city, Mr. “Not-So-Shallow” mentality? i’m talking about typical Malaysian whom admire ugly(ok not so beautiful) conti but hates beautiful local car. even foreigners are praising this car like hell yet u a Malaysian talks rubbish. u mad bro?

• Jebat binti Rosmah on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:09 pm

Hmmm, weird… same design? this sound copycat to me. Proton fanboy admit protons is copying others design.

• Kantoi on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:31 pm

well, for one, I never say that conti car are beautiful so don’t simply put words into my mouth, I am just saying this Preve or Pervert car’s design suck big time, it is like a copy paste car with no originality and passion. Btw, which “foreigners” are praising this car, may I know? Banglas or indons that can’t even afford a motorcycle? Can you show me some proof of some acclaimed or even less acclaimed foreign automotive critics that praise this car? Looks like someone else is talking rubbish and simply pluck info from thin air. I am a Malaysian but this does not means I must support Malaysian’s product even it suck big time, right?

• http://www.caradvice.com.au/166003/proton-preve-small-sedan-revealed/

enough? u want me to quote the comments? u better read it urself. btw don’t even insult indons or banglas c0z that’s just what u think, they might become even richer than u when they go back to their country.

• well jebat the son of rosmah, i mentioned ALMOST the same design not same design. and it doesn’t necessary means copying others. by ur understanding, city or forte are copying each other i presume?

• kantoi on Apr 04, 2012 at 10:17 am

Errr..are you d**b? Most of those comment are obviously from the Proton fanboys who are obviously from Malaysia herself and are not foreigners as you claim. What I want is a solid comment from the acclaimed or even less acclaimed foreign automotive critics that this car’s design looks great. Btw, I did not insult the Banglas or Indons, I am just stating the fact that they are foreigners and most of them can’t afford a motorcycle here, and of course to them the Pervert car looks great.

• unnon on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:42 am

can’t wait to test drive it

• Najib Bin Rojak Binti CD Chua Rosmah on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:43 am

Boringggggg……..!!

• Specs r impressive…design wise…fail..no appeal…at all…at least from my point of view…

• driver on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:21 am

the rear doesn’t look that bad from this picture. looking forward for test drive report.. thanks guys.

• Syazwan on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:32 am

I love it..!

• catshavefur on Apr 03, 2012 at 3:16 am

I speak Spanish and there are so many wrongs here. The root verb ‘to prove’ is ‘demonstrar’ in Spanish. Proof is prueba and proven is probado.

Preve (no accented ‘e’) means to provide for.

Prevé is the infinitive form of prever, which means ‘to expect’ or ‘to predict’. By itself it’s likely to mean the third-person singular present indicative form of prever, e.g. él prevé – ‘he expected’.

Also, it is not pronounced ‘preev’. In Spanish the last ‘e’ is always pronounced as an additional syllable, whether ‘e’ or ‘é’. Therefore it is pronounced exactly as it is spelt.

Therefore i don’t think proton was thinking of Spanish when naming the car.

It might be French though.

• moondrops on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:00 am

how about Latin?

• Preve? on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:59 am

I speak French, there’s no such word/ verb in French language. Sad to say that the guy who created the name is a total dumbass, just like those housing developers who like to put a ” D’ ” in front of all their properties name, it’s really funny to see that, try to be high class but failed so miserably.

• ninjajackbeta on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:30 am

if you are a local who speaks french, i have no issue, but i hate bloody French, their country, culture, language, people, bloody pigs!!! The worst scums of the entire universe!!!

• alldisc on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:48 pm

i speak malay.

there is no such word. he he he…

• what about portuguese?

• Rulered on Apr 03, 2012 at 5:14 am

Just curious, why Spanish? Is Proton going to introduce this in Spanish speaking countries? South America perhaps.

• blue-traveler on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:17 am

You could be right. You just jog my brain. 6 or 7years ago I attained a relative’s wedding party in Singapore. Lots of “big shot” business mans/ladies from both side of the river were there. Then, I didn’t know that the Singapore tiny resort island have such exclusive and private hotel/resort side. This is before the casino even begin. In between the the signing ceremony and dinner, (which btw was official by a Sinagpore mp, how the parents got hold of him i don’t know, he stay for only 3 course of the meal before leaving, manage to meet him.) I digress. Anyway, the bride and bridegroom introduce me to a young business man/ son of a (powerful, so says the groom) Mexico ruling elite MP. (and here i thought that they are fully democratic) In the chat the topic turn to cars and he with the family business blessing was looking to import much needed cheap cars for their nation low income people. (read politics in play) And his has read up on our proton as with other cars, and was interested. Since most cars cannot operate at the high altitude, he was looking to set up a partnership/ refitting factory. Now this deal is way way beyond what we can do. It is down right, top to bottom a political business deal. I can’t do it even if i want to. Lucky I spot a Malaysian big shot business man with political influence whom i know and so do all Malaysian as he is off and on in the papers since Dr.M time till now N. time., walking towards me with my father. I introduce them and wash my hand off it. They were talking even after the dinner. Since then i have heard noting. I have since met the Mexican only 9 times then, all in Singapore. I wonder who rejected who. For I personally know that his car business has started. Guess have to ask Mofaz here since he seems to “knows-all -the-truth” about proton and the Malaysia car industries. I swear the above event happened, No i will NOT paste any pictures on it. More than half are all big shot people with parties influence on both side of the river, and I have business on both side.

Just think about it.

• Please comment about the headroom and seat height when review the car. I hope it can accommodate people over 180cm comfortably.

• If it’s a Waja replacement, then it should be called a Waja. The thing I don’t understand about Proton is the naming of their models. Every new model comes with a new name. There is no real model line and no legacy, with the exception of the Saga.

It gives the impression that every model has failed, so it’s time to retire the name.

• DewaSemut on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:56 am

100% agree with you… Waja is certainly not a failed product and its legacy should be continued alongside Saga, Satria and Persona.. At least for domestic market, if Proton is still itching to give it a new name…

• Agree. I was thinking of the same thing and have always asked why there is no continuation of certain model name like most other car manufactures.

• Shahrul on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:32 am

I disagree. Even Toyota abandons Corona while Corolla is up for a gradual cessation with Altis as the new name.

I find it is a smart decision. Those Malay names can’t sell except for Persona and Saga Persona has a bit of edge to it as some people here including me finds the name very suitable. This is business.

• peter_pj on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:04 am

What I understood was that the Corolla name would continue but Toyota introduced the Altis and Axio variants to differentiate between how the products are marketed (think of J, E and G variants) .

The Corolla Altis is supposed to be a high-end Corolla with more features as expected by consumers in the ASEAN market (as we have the Vios for the low-end model) while the Corolla Axio is a basic car for the Japanese market.

• Shahrul on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:36 am

Yes, that is currently true.

• Kampung on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:39 am

Are u suggesting Wira Preve or Waja Preve? Hmm not a bad idea.

• Shahrul on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:08 pm

Yes, you’re absolutely correct. I stand corrected on the Corolla issue.

• alldisc on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:54 pm

Corona name was replaced by Avensis. thats all. the car model still exists, and not replaced by Corolla Altis.

Corolla Altis is a car meant for Asean countries, where the concept is – bigger is better. In Japan, the Corolla cannot grow any bigger in size due to Toyota having so many sedan models in between like Vitz, Premio, Avensis, Camry, Mark X, Atlezza, Aristo, Celsior, Crown….

they will spoil each other’s market.

• zalyana on Apr 03, 2012 at 3:43 pm

Lame.why we should follow others.
      renaming=rebranding

• Catalina on Apr 03, 2012 at 6:35 am

The accent on the last e is pronounced, so it’s preh-vi

• PetrolLeg on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:27 am

Something about the rear that has too many lines!

• nazgul on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:14 am

its the ‘suppose to be cromeline bar’ and the ‘tiny no-function spoiler’ are the culprit…hope the hatchback has cleaner design…

• Visitor on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:35 am

IMO the car looks better in that red colour.

• zachary gibson on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:35 am

Nice design. Can’t say the same about the name though..

• daamz on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:52 am

Very suit and nice color for whole body of the car except the tail lamp is look like overshadowed by the color of the car. Overall this color is still one of the decent choice made by P1. Hope test report is more on positive side. :) ..

• Design language from decades ago, rear is just pure mismatch design…cant even pronounce the name, and even the logo of Preve looks so amaturish….pls pls just hire the best not only certain races

• icecube on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:00 pm

Hi Bob..
      Could you please elaborate more about “….pls pls just hire the best not only certain races” .What did you actually mean by that? Do you really sure that by hiring multiple races with lots of so called “talent” can make everybody (read: you) satisfied…
      And how on earth that you’re so confident that this car are designed by a single race.
      Are you an ex-P1 staff?

C’mon dude….don’t say like that.

• not cool, comment tending to race issue is cheap. we are living in the same country here. I don’t understand this kind of people. wo bu dahng!

• OhBurn on Apr 04, 2012 at 7:53 pm

“Design language from decades ago, rear is just pure mismatch design…cant even pronounce the name, and even the logo of Preve looks so amaturish”

With so many spelling and grammatical errors in so short a sentence (I don’t even know if this can be called a sentence; an unending ramble more like), I’m thankful they didn’t hire you. You think you’re a bit fancy by calling it ‘design language’, are you? What’s your comment about the rear? ‘Mismatch’ design? Wow, insightful. Can’t pronounce the name? No surprise. Logo looks ‘amaturish’? You must be an expert in typography huh?

Can the next PM institute a mandatory intelligence test and deport the dropped-on-their-head-as-a-kid lot?

• beatnik on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:04 am

The fuel lid looks a bit misaligned.. come on proton, pls dont recycle the same lid from persona.. it is very flimsy. The hinge also very char..

• dstar on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:06 am

the grill need to do some mod.. overall is ok

• dstar on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:09 am

the grill need to do some mod..

• dstar on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:10 am

the grill need to do some mod!!

• alldisc on Apr 03, 2012 at 3:00 pm

Brother’s accesories shop will do it, dont worry. and the latest develompent – Racing Boy bike accesories also will produce aftermarket grille for preve.

proton purposedlt design it badly for others to cari makan. he he..

i am just kidding.

• Well, to say its a ugly car, you have to be totally utterly dumb, but to say its a beautiful car…well, not that one either..but it is definitely one of the best looking car among Proton models..and judging from the teasers on youtube, this is going to be an exciting Proton model..well done :)

• billy on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:28 am

spanish lingo for a local car?? is DBP running out of vocabulary?

• boonspot on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:41 am

Man… those Proton Salesman is going to butcher this model name of this car so badly, i tell you. Eventually, it’ll probably be called Proton Prata.

• some peeps hate the rear light.which means they also hate some beemer rear light.rite?

• mister potato on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:43 am

To all that supports this RM80k car when a full spec VW Jetta GLI Autobahn with Navigation costs only USD$26k (RM80k) too, you can do better. Those that already realized, they are not coming back.

• nooo.. i would love the concept car rather than this prep..

• hippo on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:48 am

Some blogs already calling this as Proton Pervert…..haha. Fantastic name though. Design wise, so so only, but better than vios or city.

• fadhli on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:53 am

bro..it pronounce as (pre-vi) laa not (preev) apada..

• kan cheong on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:56 am

i’ve booked for the premium unit. loan is on process.. hopefully no problem.. go for premium spec.. anyone than me?..

u can talk 100days without stop about this car.. give 1001 reason bad or good.. at the end u just a guys who judge the car your keyboard… but for me, own it to know it..

• critic_A on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:12 am

claps! well said!!

• kantoi on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:15 am

Yea, and you have not drive it yet as well. At this point, you are just another keyboard warrior, until you really own it and provide your review after clocking 20,000km usage, btw good luck in your loan, hope you can get your loan done, let me guess, 99% loan for 9 years? 90% from bank, 9 % from parents. make sure your pocket money from parents is enough to cover the monthly loan :)

• y u so butthurt? just because u love 100% loan + 9years commitment doesn’t mean other ppl do that too… you think every Malaysian so poor they cannot give 30% downpayment? think again dear 3rd world mentality Malaysian

• kantoi on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:40 pm

LOL, I am not butthurt, I can tell you confidently here that I can get a 90% car loan + 5 years with any bank for an Audi A7 based on my balance sheet and bank record, in fact I can pay off the car within 3 years or pay a downpayment of 40%, I am not being boastful here, just setting some record straight. The fact that this dude were saying that “i’ve booked for the premium unit. loan is on process.. hopefully no problem.. go for premium spec.. anyone than me?..” means that he is counting on hope for a bank loan approval and this shows that he is not too confident of getting it. For just RM70k++ loan, this dude are not confident for approval, this shows a lot of stuff.
          btw, momo, why you feel so butthurt by my statement as well? are you actually the one who are taking 90% loan from bank and 10% from parents for your local car? Did I said anything about every Malaysian are poor? why you change my statement to your preference? dude, look like you are the 3rd world mentality Malaysian :)

• oligopoli on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:43 pm

the like and dislike say it all about your post

• Proton Prevé Owner Club. on Apr 03, 2012 at 5:45 pm

wah.. “kantoi” the rich-man, normally when people afford for Audi A7.. they don’t layan this proton2 cheap car.. not even interested.. they are busy with their work/business.. no time to read the review/comment for cheap2 car..

sure ke you can pay 40% dp for Audi A7? lu jangan kencing sepah2.. nanti “kantoi” bapak lu yang malu dek.. lu keje pon pencacai, cite gebang..

kan cheong is a citizen with mid class income.. he only afford for local car.. lantak dia la nk beli keta apa.. lantak sama dia la nak worried loan approved or not.. lu sakit hati apa hal??…. nak mam dah ke?..

• autojohndoe on Apr 03, 2012 at 5:48 pm

woooooooo…. rich guy speaking…

since you can buy audi a7… why bother to comment on proton car… this car is not for you for sure…

and, even if you can buy the expensive car… not all ppl will talk about your car for the whole day… we’ll see, we’ll impress… and thats all… nothing much…

• i’m not butthurt but i feel so sad coz fellow Malaysian so skeptic about each other and assuming so low about other Malaysian.. if a 1st world or no1 rated people are all behave like you,i rather be 3rd world mentality. fyi, even tho i own a 2nd hand waja, i bought it cash. can’t afford 40% Audi A7 la…

• Gabla on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:49 pm

Wow, there are people who buy a car like A7 with a loan. Normally I would just consider it as a company spending.

• Kantoi on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:21 pm

can buy does not mean I will buy. i don’t believe spending a lot on depreciation stuff such as car and that is why I am considering my options. The reason I am putting A7 on the table is to show Momo that I am well capable of buying this pathetic piece of metal junk in cash. Oh yea, you guys can go ahead trying this out, hope you guys will not cry in regret later

• khylie555 on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:26 pm

wah,you can afford Audi A7 on a loan.Too bad i can only afford to buy a Rolls Royce Phantom with all those 10sen coins found underneath my sofa.I damn jealous you!!!

• kantoi on Apr 04, 2012 at 10:44 am

Khylie555, hmm, looks like you can’t really accept the fact that people can afford cars such as A7, come on guys, A7 is not really that expensive until no one can afford it, I am not talking about Bugatti Veyron, it is just an A7 which is reachable to most businessman like me.

Well, no wonder why a lot of Malaysian can’t be successful, they are just stuck with the mentality, ” I can’t afford that” or “I will never afford that.

• autojohndoe on Apr 04, 2012 at 6:02 pm

Mr Kantoi

then, why you question ppl who apply loan for 9 years? did they ask downpayment money from your account?

there are lots of another rich man that much richer than you (read: buy audi a7 in cash) who is more humble… they are much respected…

• khylie555 on Apr 04, 2012 at 6:18 pm

kantoi,yup i cant afford Audi A7 but i can afford RR phantom,problem?
            BTW,if you keep on thinking you can afford everything but in fact you cant,you will not only become unsuccesful but over ambitious and will broke for overspending what you have.
            If you think you can afford everything,the fact that you won’t be able to afford it.You will be too arrogant to brag about your wealth and thinks that you have it all and also you won’t work hard because you think you can have everything you want.you are the one who are going to fail you life.Not me.And BTW,you name suits you character very much.

• harris murad on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:12 pm

let him la bro, kaki dengki tu for sure!

• aiyoo better invest in ASB la ur d/p money. more worth for money la

• some people already drove the car..maybe he is one of them..

• test drove it..140kmh on proton racetrack in heavy rain..everyone can talk shits..only those who dare enough to buy the experience of owning it has all the credits to criticize..

• autojohndoe on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:35 pm

why bother for other ppl money even if it is from his parent?

they are still heir money… not yours….

• ShowoFF on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:35 pm

my blm oledi go for 140,000km n yet still no major prob, such as power window, engine prob, etc…n btw, aircon still cold n can run for 120kmj, thats oke la…all the bad things of proton juz put it on history channel la…now im believe proton can compete with others…

• i agree with your comment. The old days of Proton during TM is over. Proton has done a lot of improvements since SZ era. U think this Preve is a toy car? We are talking about a car which carry people, we are talking about life of people. I used to have a Waja with car handle problems, but now my Inspira is a problem free car. Service is also cheap. Carries me from point A to B. If you have money to spend on BMW or Camry dont waste your time la bashing Proton here. Go straight to BMW or Toyota showroom and buy one

• russiaguy on Apr 05, 2012 at 11:24 am

Hi Kantoi, I am earning 5 digits monthly and I have a persona with 9-year loan as my working car. Not everyone out there with a 9-year loan is someone who really can’t afford to pay for their installment in a shorter period. You are too egoistic.

• Salute you!

• The name is “Pleh Vi ”

prevé – definitely not ‘preev’ ; I guaranteed ….

• pemerhati on Apr 03, 2012 at 6:50 pm

congratulations! how much the premium unit? rm78500 or rm75000? which bank is the lowest interest rate that u apply? i plan to get Preve later after drive test…

• putra_rider on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:59 am

i dont like the name but like the car

• Honestly i like the clay model more

• driver on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:17 pm

LOL.
      I found your comment is very funny, thus can’t help my self to jot down a bit here. I agree with you, but the clay model will always remain as clay model.. let it go bro.. let it go..
      LOLL..

• MycarMylife on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:03 am

Good one P1 , refreshing after a long long time , woke me up actually , after drowning meself in Koreanas and Volks for months!
    Keep on improving pls , and no politics here.

• Apa lagi Proton? Nyanyi la “Hebat Proton, Hebat Proton, Hebat Proton, Hebat Proton” a.k.a lagu Proton Wira.

• harris murad on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:14 pm

i loved that campaign back then, it really rocked my childhood!

• redxdevil on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:09 am

4 ur information…the proton preve lil brother is on his way..under code name of p3-22a…it’s a 4door hatchback version of preve…expected to enter malaysian market on 2013…

• cl_qwertyuiop on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:42 am

Is the information reliable? Any source I can refer to?

• Hilmi on Apr 03, 2012 at 5:49 pm

Yes its reliable…. my source is someone inside Proton.

• driver on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:21 pm

Please tell your ‘someone’ that I need a small, affordable & reliably city car after the p3-22a. Can’t stand the flimsy, overpriced Viva anymore.

Cheers.

• Hilmi on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:23 am

There is 6 new cars already inline in next 1-3 years launch (not sure either including EV/Hybrid variant or not), but didn’t know either small car like viva segment will be reintroduce or not( base on Proton Emas concept ?)

• ninjajackbeta on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:35 pm

No offence I hate your profile picture more than the car’s name

• DewaSemut on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:10 am

Me think to get this one as the third Proton in my stable… But now no leather seat lah pulak… SE variant coming soon with leather seat? :)
    Anyway, as launching date becomes nearer, the car becomes more pleasing for the eyes to see… Certainly the previous spyshots didn’t do much justice to this car… Hehe
    Well done, Proton… Improve and improve further

• firefish on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:17 am

Oit where’s all proton basher gone?
    All cuti ke today?

• Nice to see a lot would-be beta testers here.

• syafeeq on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:27 am

when can Proton have a consistent line up like camry/accord:corrola/civic:vios/city ?
    ikut sedap je product planning

• izhar on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:33 am

the reflector in signal and reverse lamp better using red color rather than silver…if i not mistaken, one of honda stream model have done it…

• Statistician on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:33 am

Prufffff prufffff prufffff Chris I really try very hard to pronounce properly.

But like the car, it’s a lousy name to be given to a new born baby

• Pologise on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:41 am

“Preh-Vay” ~ for the “Proton Gay”!

Sounds good though.

• brian on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:47 am

This car will compete with new 2012 Honda civic and 2012 inokom elantra not Toyota vios, Honda city or new Nissan versa.

• DK BOSS on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:49 am

Proton Australia has http://www.caradvice.com.au/166003/proton-preve-small-sedan-revealed/ both models will get six airbags, electronic stability control and alloy wheels.
    According to the Malaysian specification sheet, the GX will get front fog lamps, USB/iPod/Bluetooth connectivity and steering wheel audio controls, while the GXR will add auto headlights and wipers, leather-wrapped steering wheel, paddle shifters, climate control, cruise control and push-button start.

Local specification and pricing details will be revealed closer to the launch of the Proton Prevé in September. Expect a starting price below $20,000 for the GX manual.
    So for the lowest model of the Proton Preve is below AU 20,000 which works out to RM 63509.96 if you were to convert to Malaysian Ringgit, so the highest specs might be another 10K or more putting it around RM 75K …… Let hope Proton puts the pricing lower or at least well price for our Malaysian specs !!

• MoFaz on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:59 pm

the base price is similar, but tax structure between Malaysia and Australia is different, so you get different price. import duty + GST = 20% in Australia but you pay 75% excise duty + 10% sales tax in Malaysia. do you see how much difference is that?
      adding more features will increase the price. it won’t affect price in Australia so much, ie; add RM1k base price will only cost another RM200 tax in Australia. but in Malaysia, add RM1k in base price will increase another RM850 for tax. that’s why some of the expensive features like 2 additional curtain airbags will only be available as ‘optional’ items in Malaysia.

• pacifictuna on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:31 pm

i’m sorry but 75% excise duty only applicable to imports if i’m not mistaken… proton and perodua only need an extra 10% sales tax.

• MoFaz on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:21 pm

75% excise duty for all cars below 1800cc. I’m not sure whether ‘national cars’ still enjoying 50% rebate for excise duty (pay only 37.5% excise). some people said the rebate was removed already, but if based on open market value and MM2H price, the tax on national cars is around 50% (37.5% excise + 10% sales tax).

• DK BOSS on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:03 am

Check out the comments from the Aussie’s on the Proton Preve to be launch somewhere in September 2012 over there ….some good comments on Proton which was quite surprising

http://www.caradvice.com.au/166003/proton-preve-small-sedan-revealed/

Paul, not trying to divert fans to other sites but it’s pretty good to see comments from foreigners about Proton, might give some new perspective when we comment locally about Proton :)

• It seems like outsiders is more appreciating our product than our own citizen.
      Glad to see those comment in Aussie web site.

• no…most of them better comments are malaysia…mainly from funtasticko blog…you can see the same user name there….

• lockouts on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:35 pm

U right!!!

• kivatt0024 on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:00 pm

only minority commenting on that website….majority of them we the aussies…typical malaysian…still bashing their own product…

• ss427 on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:04 am

When Proton said they’re making the P321 a ‘global’ car, the 1st thing they do is to use a Spanish name… well… oookk… at least that’s ‘global’

But hey, I studied German, French, Koreans and Japanese too. You mean these countries are not global enough? LOL :)

• taboogen on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:43 pm

try pronounce “arep toru” or “ngomber” see if you know the meaning without googling it… since you are “global enogh”… just asked indonesian what “seronok” means over there

this is what I like to call… “tak reti bahasa”.. not all name can be used at every country. it can be offended to them…. like porsche Macan…. what that remind you here in malaysia…. dumb ass

• ninjajackbeta on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:43 pm

I hate French!!! You need to snort and speak at the Same time

• The name is Latin not French or Spanish

• Blow water on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:15 am

I been involved in this car model survey b4 they explored by public , the hatchback version look stunning and sporty . Hope proton will come out that rather than this :)

• kivatt0024 on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:02 pm

p3-22a production is confirmed. coming to our market 2nd Q of 2013….heard there will be 6speed manual box….still can’t confirm that…

• Save the disappointment. Like all proton, good in concept, fugly when implemented.

• Same with others, not all concept was have manufacturability…lots of considerations need to be put in before going to be mass produce…

• Meanwhile the Australian spec got more airbags with lower price…it’s proven again locals are treated 3rd class buyer

Solving power window fault with Lifetime Warranty…it’s proven that the problem still unsolved mystery

Ditching local BM name for Spanish lingua france…it’s proven an insult to Dewan bahasa pustaka and BM defenders

CFE suppose to be fuel-efficient but use more fuel than non-CFE…it’s proven efficiency spoof in broad daylight

He he he how nice crony friend Sime Darby put price CKD new Elantra starts above RM80K…it’s proven again that NAP stands for Never Against Protongkat…

Wasting RM500 BR1M money to book it?….it’s proven again the Dilbert theory is true “How do you sell a bad product?” “Sell it to stupid people!”

• Gabla on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:38 am

You mean stupid & uneducated people like you?

1. Warranty period shows the confidence level of a manufacturer, the longer the warranty period, the higher additional cost will be bourned by a manufacturer if the product is unreliable. A manufacturer won’t give a long warranty period if they are not confidence with the reliability of their product.

2. Engine downsizing is a method used to gain the performance of a larger displament engine but at a lower fuel consumption level compared to the larger displacement engine. Surely if you want to extract more performance from a normally aspirated engine the fuel consumption will increase but the nett result is you get a performance of a larger NA engine but at a better fuel efficiency.

Kindly educate yourself before calling others stupid. TQ.

• DAVE79 on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:52 pm

I was in Genting one day and bought a rm50 all-day pass, with which i am supposed to play all for free in the theme park during that particular day. Guess what, i only managed to play pirate ship at the end of the day, not to mention the sunburn i got from the queue under the sun.This, had rendered my all-day pass useless.

Same goes here if proton doesn’t improve their service after sales. Even with lifetime warranty, not many can spare their precious annual leaves to visit SC again and again. It will not make sense if they don’t open up more SC to accomodate for the demands (well, at least in my part of the world the situation is like this).

And before u call me a proton basher, let me tell u i am a proud owner of exora h-line. The abs sensor died on me not once but twice! Due to the scarcity of proton sc in my area, I have to travel 6 hrs to and fro just to service my car and have it repaired, furthermore they don’t entertain complaints on saturdays. How I wish proton can be better in terms of service after sales. 2.5 years down the road, my exora is still in good condition, just that everytime when i think of visiting the sc, i will have headache. that’s it.

Complaints aside, I too am very excited to see the upcoming proton models. DSZ is really the man! At least he listens.

• oligopoli on Apr 03, 2012 at 5:01 pm

The man, he is. i went to KLMS last year, and he explain something about EV in Saga personally. Personally, with those husband, wife and their baby! Salute.

• driver on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:27 pm

Second that. They need to really work on the aftersale services.

• Peyno on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:03 pm

Perodua myvi also selling lower outside compare malaysia market.. Malaysian simply cheated

• alldisc on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:19 pm

waja 1.6 (Impian 1.6) in UK was sold at more or less similar price with Malaysia back in year 03/04 but comes with 4 airbags (twin front, side), auto climate control and traction control.

the equivalent 1.6X sold in year 2002 was priced another RM10,000 more then.

• mat tahir on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:05 pm

the only smart person in malaysia is apa nama, apa nama, apa nama, well you guess it right none other than our beloved mantan perdana menteri, che det

• Savvy88 on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:09 pm

– Power windows problem: Proton already fixed it with new module since Persona. and to convince people, they give a lifetime warranty. Hey, if they not confident with their product, they do not dare to give such long warranty. Its make sense.

-Ditchin local BM: C’mon, it’s a normal practice among carmakers. jz take a look at Perodua, they used Spanish for their Alza/Viva. Kia (Forte), its not a korean name. Honda (Civic), also not a japanese.

-CFE: Fuel efficient not necessarily means fuel-save. If U compare it with none-CFE engine, of course it use more fuel BUT you get more power. Fuel efficient means the ratio between FC and Power is at its best.

• SALT_SUGAR on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:30 pm

Dilbert theory is true if “How do sell a bad book” sell to stupid people like u…who read the stupid book too wakakaka…ur also bad citizen…human and of course bad mentality…
      STOP BUYING BAD BOOK ….STOP READ BAD BOOK…..BUY PROTON PREEVE…NOW!!!!

Follow MY THEORY…. hak haka

• harris murad on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:31 pm

how do you know people are spending the BR1M money to book this car?
      maybe its one of your ‘bloody smart and intelligent siblings’.
      knowing dilbert principle does not give you the right to insult or call people stupid.
      look in the mirror and evaluate yourself laa..
      people worked hard to get the preve whatsoever project kicked off, and many worked hard to be able to afford this baby.
      to simply call these people stupid, that is simply not acceptable.
      ‘lingua france’?
      WTF???

• Faizul on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:49 pm

Ajaw
      -airbags-4 only to justify the price for 75k. maybe in future there will be an SE that comes with 6 airbags and leather seat. off course at a higher price..
      -Power window problem-no worries as proton will replace it bcoz under lifetime warranty.
      -the cfe engine is design for fuel efficient but don’t forget its a supercharge, remember the ‘pay as you go’ tagline. you want fuel efficient is it.go for viva then.
      -sime darby price the new elantra based on our tax structure. if there is no tax structure, the price should be lower then how about those who already own a car. their car value will drop suddenly.. and if government don’t impose tax, how on earth are they going to finance all the subsidies now enjoyed by everyone.

• autojohndoe on Apr 03, 2012 at 3:01 pm

so… what about Hyundai offer 10 years warranty at US?

• Ever heard this rocker named Gary Glitter? Gary Glitter the pop perve that got arrested in Cambodia for xxxxxx with underaged teenage girl.

He will buy this Preve for sure…the first buyer in UK soon…Gary Glitter and PREVE…made for each other…

So expect to hear Jeremy Clarkson’s new joke at Top Gear…

“Hey I think this car PREVE suits well for Gary Glitter the pop perve to lurking around Cambodian town”

• Faisal on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:28 am

Okay, its a step forward for proton. But to me, if it was released 5 years ago, the design would be ‘in trend’. but nowadays, it just doesnt fit right. There is a lot to catch up in the automotive industry. Thing is, this car has to meet the 56-60k price range. Then its competetive since its important for it to compete with the dugong. At 80++k price, competing with City, its gonna be a tough battle. I say, its due time that Proton learns and competes with european cars. This car should be (design, spec etc) level of a DS4, A3, ford mondeo.

• farghmee on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:56 pm

looking at this car, i believe it has plenty of exterior facelift possibility.

pls take a look at the front&back, focusing on the bumper&fender/shoulder region.
      imo various different façades can be manipulated here, since the boundary is made of “flexible” (made of non-steel) material..(i’m saying that may be one day it will become like saga blm & the other day is saga flx).

i would say it is nicely done exterior. emas design & simply stylish.

we’ll wait for the launch 1st ek.

• john f kennedy on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:37 am

kamon proton.after all these while brainstorming,u guys came out with preve’?hehe

• Major T-roll on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:43 am

I speak English and it is pronounced “DIFFICULT”.

• Sgt Scoop on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:02 am

I’m not here to bash Proton but they take so long from when they release the spyshots to the actual launch that I’m already bored of whatever car they are launching. Good luck with the Perve though. Hopefully it will be the car to set a new standard for Proton.

• The front design is still ok but the rear lamp looks dated and messy, couldn’t they use some trendy design like the current mazda 3 or even forte? Or it’s still limited by the cost saving and cheap spare part even so its claimed that it is designed for global market.

• Relax lah bro, if not interested just keep quiet or turn away…. Be Positive everything will be ok~ The spec this model offered is not bad….

• well, arguably a good design from Proton but i dont see the OMPHH effect considering similar car design with Forte. Would it be, again, that the best selling point is the lower retail price than competitors? hmm…

• Why don’t name it “PROTON MEMBUKTIKAN”?
    Cintai bahasa kita.

Conversation …

1. walau eh .. that Membuktikan is damn fast
    2. I had just bought Proton Membuktikan.
    3. My Membuktikan got power window problem.

• Peyno on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:25 pm

Dont push so hard.. Ur peeewit myvi still got buyer.. Ah soo, college girl n ladyboy.. Prrfthhhh

• oligopoli on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:52 pm

u really make my day. nonsense in the comment, but good joke nonetheless

• alock on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:02 pm

The last proton fleet like iswara, wira, satria came with lot of problems such as power window, flimsy fittings and whatnot. Hence proton lost its market share and left bad impression and reputation among Malaysians who actually have bought the these fleet.

I am one of many who thinks like that. But anyway i just bought an Exora Bold, 2 months ago and all my previous prejudice about protons cars suddenly fades away. It is a good car, I must admit. It is better in many ways as compared to the 1.6 altis which i sold to buy the Bold. Value for Money.

Dont talk about tax structure and whatnot cause there’s nothing i could do about it. When the gomen changes and the tax structure is different THEN ONLY we think of the best option when purchasing cars. For now let us discuss and think of the options that we have in our hands. Shall we?

Im really thinking of selling my other toyota car i.e. avanza to buy this preve or pervert or anything you guys called it. I dont give a damn about the name. All i want is a good car, with sound safety features, good engine performance, driving comfort, latest technology and most of all at reasonable price. Taking my experience with bold as a basis, as soon as i test drive the perve, I am going to book for one. 80K on the bold and 75K on the perve is 155k. Why should i buy a camry when i could buy 2 good cars as describe above. Apart from the GAYA and NAMA laaa. Bukan mau laju mana pun…my bold could easily hit 200km…cukup la tu..

• you don’t seem to like this car that much…you are calling it…err…..perve….

• alock on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:54 pm

bro, what i like and what is practical is 2 different thing.

• hard to type wrong bro…only if your brain is thinking of the joke name….for me i don’t find it any near to perve**….

• harris murad on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:37 pm

one of the most ‘stylish’ comments i ever read!
      nice one bro!
      yeahh its quite true, some actually go for the name and gaya only.
      i know several people earning 5digit salaries/big bucks but drive exora, persona, perdana, and bought myvis for their kids; and they are okay with them!
      these are the people who got me thinking, if they are okay with it; why shouldn’t i – a small fry earning small bucks..

but of course, my dream machine has always been a 3series.
      any one of them.
      its not about the brand or style.
      just pure passion.
      :)

• bapakaka on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:22 pm

Legend!!well said bro

• Tengokje.. on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:25 pm

Drive it, test it and you’ll believe it…Hope P1 will produced more quality and affordable cars in their next line up.

Salam…

• camry only for 5 for rm150k
      preve for 5 + bold for 7 = 12 people can ferry in both cars

• Proton Prevé Owner Club. on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:05 pm

To ALL Prevé fans, Please add Proton Prevé to your FB friends..

• kantoi on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:44 pm

To all Pervert fans, please add Pervert as Your FB Friends. We can be BFF.

• loveit on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:06 pm

I know it’s not a big issue and the maker have it right…but WHY has to name it Preve? it’s a foreign to most malaysian and even people debate on how to pronounce it….what’s wrong with naming it like Wira or Waja or Persona…

• taboogen on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:47 pm

its like when your mom and dan naming you ah chong.. does anyone complaint?

• junaidi on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:16 pm

aiyah, dont need la. Savvy, Gen2, Persona, inspira, exora saga none of these are malay names. haha.

• junaidi on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:17 pm

Like it or not, but manufacturers hardly use their own language to name their car models. Just ask the germans.

• Samad on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:39 pm

Difficult to handle in system maa..mapping here..mapping there…that’s y produa also suppress kancil,rusa,kembara..

• Airwind on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:46 pm

or just the expected Proton Tuah~ :( i could live with that..

• zalyana on Apr 03, 2012 at 3:51 pm

to change sometimes is a good thing.
      why should stick with the same name, when we have trillions of other names to choose from.

• Wisdom on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:24 pm

Based on the attached Aussie page, lets quote some of the FOREIGNERS comment on Proton cars:

“Love the name for the transmission “Protronic” …. It’s just ooozing with originality!”

“And just to add: Hi-5’s all around to Proton, they’ve finally got a decent car in their lineup”

“Even Proton is now better than Toyota, Turbo charge engine with high low end torque and 7-speed automatic!!”

“Indeed. Better than Mazda 3, Commodore, Falcon and most of the other best-selling cars too. Won’t be long ’til Proton beats Nissan to number one spot for top full line importer…”

Compared to our LOCAL hero comment on our own product:

“i almost blurt out my filet o fish when first saw the word SEVEN speedprotronic whatever. because as far as i know proton dont say much about gearbox thing. so this is not seven speed gearbox, m i correct? or if not i will vomit the next bite filet o fish.”

“Top Gear with 300 million viewers…and 300 million laughters viewing PREVE jokes by Jeremy Clarkson…biggest simultaneous laugh in the world…boleh masuk buku record Guiness lah HAH HAHAHA”

“Shame on you still stuck in feudalistic mentality whorshipping shitty car like reincarnation of white blood princess.”

**Thats why we have to think before comment. Such disgusting comment, from our own countrymen, showing how stupid some of us are. And all, from the whole world are reading

• easy, for local product like proton cars, foreigners will comment , if it’s good , they will say it’s good, if bad, they will say it’s bad

malaysians, if it’s good, they will it’s BAD , if bad, they will say it BAD too.

what is good for them then? only jap/conti cars?

• piere on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:28 pm

ugly design, fit to be a taxi.in fact should have dressed it up in yellow and white like K.L. taxi and put burly indian driver with thick moustache for finishing.

how much ah….41k ?

• cktan on Apr 04, 2012 at 11:52 am

I dont understand why indian driver is mentioned… Comment on the car.. not on the race.
      This is how shallow you are in commenting on National Product. Be proud!

• autojohndoe on Apr 04, 2012 at 4:32 pm

if you go to Korea (i just did)…

The k5 is also a taxi la…

You need to go outside la… know the world… better if, you stay outside..

• A good car it seems but part of the experience is also derive from the “soft” side ie
    service & support. A product no doubt how good the quality is will fail at some point, it is the 3S that determine the perception on customer satisfaction.

the tidak apa, lousy service and technical in-expereince of the proton service center will kill even a good quality product / brandname,

• Wondering whether all proton staff able to pronounce it correctly… Otherwise it will be big shame of proton..

• civicEK on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:37 pm

saw dis version of preve, kinda like it! :D

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/685/prevefuntasticko.jpg/

• roadrunner on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:54 pm

emmm, macam mana nak taip huruf e tu ada tanda koma kat atas? hehe

• Mr Jimbits on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:30 pm

If you do a bit of random research, the name given have double meaning.

1. Prevé stands for = PRoton EVolution Experience. (PR+EV+E)

2. And it coincidentally got a meaning as ‘to proof'(to the skeptics), Catalan ‘prevent’ (of old problems), Spanish ‘to provide’ (for rakyat and globally) and Portuguese ‘foresees’ (as the turning point of future of Proton).

• Stupid name on a dated car

• ask me on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:58 pm

If he is still the PM, Dr.M would have given this launch a priority. but anyways, Najib is not Dr.M.

• ong chin aun on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:33 pm

Well, There is nothing wrong with the Name,Preve’. Please for goodness sake do not argue or comment on it further.
    No deny, it is nice and stylist looking car with all the required specifications. However, there is still room for improvement. 1.6 L. Basic manual with engine IAFM . Why not use CPS Engine ? and with 6-speed manual ?
    CFS is turborcharged quite powerful with 1.6L as in EXORA BOLD ,good MPV. Is quite noisy outside.
    waiting to test drive soon, and hope meet my requirement. Then i will get one.

• oligopoli on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:45 pm

CFS, u mean CFE. read ur comment 3 times before can get it ;-)

• squawk on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:50 pm

Still can’t get over the name. Did they do a focus group? Who was in that focus group – the target customers or stakeholders of the company who’ll never buy the car?

• Wisdom on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:56 pm

Again, FOREIGNERS comment:

“Indeed. Better than Mazda 3, Commodore, Falcon and most of the other best-selling cars too. Won’t be long ’til Proton beats Nissan to number one spot for top full line importer…”

And MALAYSIAN comment here:
    “Wasting RM500 BR1M money to book it?….it’s proven again the Dilbert theory is true “How do you sell a bad product?” “Sell it to stupid people!””

*shame on having such arrogant countrymen.

• better than Mazda 3, ha3 what a comment….why not better than BMW???

• Lauyiachia on Apr 03, 2012 at 3:31 pm

Pronunciation (Manglish) :

1. Play What ? (chinese)
    2. Poh Dah Dey (indian)
    3. Pree (Free) Ware (malay)

• Visitor on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:07 pm

The way Malaysians comment on things in cyberworld (esp. at paultan.org) never ceases to amaze me!

• fazzurri on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:00 pm

Dang… I thought this new proton car called proton Rosmah hehehehe

• protonsucks on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:30 pm

Ugly!!!

• protonsucks on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:31 pm

Ugly!!!!

• JeremyNg on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:39 pm

I not anti-proton but somehow the new Proton don’t have the Proton DNA ….. what i try to said is like peugeot , all their range of model will look abit the same (the xtremely huge mouth) so that people will recognize it immediately when they saw it !!!

Another example is the current BMW range model , all of it shared the same DNA too !!

it just my own POV

• farghmee on Apr 04, 2012 at 8:59 am

ok. pls see the bumper, near the front fender. does it look like proton emas?

• Ajaw says:
    3/4/2012 at 10:26 am

“Hey I think this car PREVE suits well for Gary Glitter the pop perve to lurking around Cambodian town”

I think you are the most suitable person to live in Cambodia.

• ahmadjohnson on Apr 03, 2012 at 5:43 pm

PROTON PREVE
    MAX SPEED :
    campro IAFM (5MT) : 180 km/h
    campro IAFM (cvt) : 170 km/h
    campro CFE (cvt) : 190 km/h

ACCELERATION 0-100 km/h
    campro IAFM (5MT) : 12 sec
    campro IAFM (cvt) : 12.5 sec
    campro CFE (cvt) : 9.6 sec

Should have manual transmission for CFE too as you can see the performance for manual are much better for IAFM. By the way, keep it up Proton.

• Orang Timur on Apr 03, 2012 at 5:49 pm

From Google Translate (Spanish to English):
    Prevé (uppercase P) – it provides
    prevé (lowercase p) – expected

• treblecase on Apr 03, 2012 at 5:49 pm

Pardon me but the front looks like the Savvy, no one noticed?

• Keyboard Warrior on Apr 03, 2012 at 5:56 pm

Proton still number one in Malaysian heart (1 Malaysia) ..
    Cant argue with the fact; every where.. and any where u see all sorts/types of Proton cars on the road..
    Also best sales each month; cant argue that; cross check with MAA…

Willing seller and Willing buyer..

• driver on Apr 04, 2012 at 1:24 am

No offense bro, this is my honest comment. I wanted to like your comment, but then I saw the “1 Malaysia” thingy and it turned me off.

Maybe u should drop all the possible explicit linkages to political views, then u’ll have more ‘like’s. I know, it’s not that it bothers you to have many or few “like” right, maybe it’s just me after all..

• YeapyEvo on Apr 03, 2012 at 6:33 pm

Whatever name Proton give doesn’t matter, if it is really good with a “Pervert” name, then sell it in overseas with respectable numbers and show it back to us. No need so much hoo haa advertisement, it won’t work, number tells many words.

• jerry tan on Apr 03, 2012 at 6:54 pm

Chekai !

• peYno on Apr 03, 2012 at 6:58 pm

at least proton put spainish name for their global car

perodua put spain name VIVA dan ALZA but only for kampung malaysia bolehland market

prrrtfhhh

• Bolehland market? lol. You just woke up from your comma? Proton exported cars to many countries already. Y u no read?

• harris murad on Apr 04, 2012 at 2:28 am

Hahahah let him bro.
        ‘Spainish’?
        That shows his intellectual level hahhaha kesian

• farghmee on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:01 am

akir, pls re-read..carefully.

• piere on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:48 pm

Car look like Citroen Xantia of the 90’s, Kalau mau beli tunggu tahun depan lepas semua problem mula muncul,……masa tu separuh harga!

• Pee'ed on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:09 pm

Proton Pee’ed sounds good also

• cruel on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:33 pm

nice one. would trade my a4 b6 for this. time for proton…

• Blitz3r on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:31 pm

Next up… new gen Satria with CFE…. Dream coming through… *i hope….
    Going the right way Proton…

• Haron on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:35 pm

Why dont proton put the name as Proton Aaron..i m sure that many girls will love it…

• Haron on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:38 pm

Love the design

• kantoi says:
    3/4/2012 at 12:40 pm
    LOL, I am not butthurt, I can tell you confidently here that I can get a 90% car loan + 5 years with any bank for an Audi A7 based on my balance sheet and bank record, in fact I can pay off the car within 3 years or pay a downpayment of 40%, I am not being boastful here, just setting some record straight. The fact that this dude were saying that “i’ve booked for the premium unit. loan is on process.. hopefully no problem.. go for premium spec.. anyone than me?..” means that he is counting on hope for a bank loan approval and this shows that he is not too confident of getting it. For just RM70k++ loan, this dude are not confident for approval, this shows a lot of stuff.
    btw, momo, why you feel so butthurt by my statement as well? are you actually the one who are taking 90% loan from bank and 10% from parents for your local car? Did I said anything about every Malaysian are poor? why you change my statement to your preference? dude, look like you are the 3rd world mentality Malaysian …

THIS GUY 5th GRADE MENTALITY. KESIAN HIM. ORANG KAYA NORMALLY DONT TALK LIKE THAT. THAT’S ONLY ORANG YG BERLAGAK MCM BYK DUIT.XTUALLY APA PUN X ADA.TIN KOSONG. DO U KNOW THAT 98% FERRARI OWNER BUY CASH. ALSO X CKP BYK.INI BARU BELI A7 RECOND PUN BERLAGAK…MALU WEIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII

• noeyesee on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:25 pm

The front look ok. The side profile (thanks Lord) is not like Tuah. The really bad place is the rear!! Why so much lines????? Those lines have spoilt the futuristic look of the car…..
    Luckily some of the lines are on the rear bumper…..Hopefully they will update it in the next makeover !!

• Bongcs on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:29 pm

Hey, Malaysians’ is time to support your own mainland.

• Kantoi on Apr 04, 2012 at 1:23 am

even it suck?

• bonbon on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:50 am

which part it suck for preve? share with us please…

• bom-u on Apr 04, 2012 at 7:35 pm

even merce , bmw or honda … ade jgk yg lampu belakang nyala sebelah je . so … its minor problem je la … Q lbih kureng je . klau kilang proton pasang merce pun … tetap akan jd merce , takkan jd juara meh …

• sp3d2 on Apr 04, 2012 at 7:31 pm

if it is good then for sure im supporting it. but if it sucks, i will never care whether its from our mainland or not.

my money is not something i get for free.

• Bongcs on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:42 pm

Its just like you see a girl, beautiful means beautiful, ugly means ugly

• DArkerMarker on Apr 04, 2012 at 12:05 am

aiyo……..why kerete tempatan malaysia pun sudah mahal??

Installment sure lebih 7 tahun baru settle……to general malayaians

So, are general malaysians LUCKY to have their own national car? or UNLUCKY that they have to pay so much until so many years….

• i think this is will be a good p1 car
    too bad bought a car last year…haih… :/

• treblecase on Apr 04, 2012 at 12:45 am

All of you supporters or non-supporters are basing your arguments based on what? Whatever it may be, it’s just your reason to justify buying or not buying this car. Of course, one must be proud when your own country are able to produce a national car. But we are all aware of how this started and more or less what goes on behind the scene so no need to pretend like it never happened. The fact is Proton or Perodua will never ever produce a car with character or soul. Same thing can be said of 75% of all car manufacturers. It will forever be a car with 4 tyres. You will never ever have a Proton that would be classified as a classic car come the next 20 or 30 years. So shut up already and enjoy this mass produced piece of metal (& much plastics).

• MoFaz on Apr 04, 2012 at 1:48 pm

u forgot about Bufori? you pay more than 500k for that car with soul…

• I drove a 1992 Saga for 13 years – only had some problems with the air-con. I’ve been driving a Wira Aeroback since 2002 – no problems. I bought a persona 6 months ago – so far no problems. I’m confident the new Preve’ will be alright.
    If you don’t like Proton, just buy some other make.

• harris murad on Apr 04, 2012 at 1:02 pm

respect!

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari'sCousin on Apr 04, 2012 at 3:31 pm

my 1-year old persona also no problem. already clocked 47k km. I just follow the schduled maintenance. so for those yg kondems kaw2 tuh…ermmm…

• diam lah on Apr 04, 2012 at 1:38 am

tengok diam-diam sudah lah, bising aje kutuk2! korang nak buat roti toaster pun tak reti, pandai nak cakap aje macam terer sgt dah biasa design, pre-pro, manufacture jet-roket!
    anyway, spoiler kat belakang tu ada function ke saje-saje aje?

• bestYet on Apr 04, 2012 at 8:01 am

like it..will test it to believed it.

• will be waitin for few months. then surely perve will come out wit new grill plus rear lamp dsign…

• Quattro on Apr 04, 2012 at 11:09 am

Hope this proton preve masih sempat modified pasang timing chain> 200k km mind free!!!!

• concepts on Apr 04, 2012 at 8:56 am

when they launched exora..they also showcase the Exora Bold & Prime Concepts…cant wait what they have in store for the souped up Preve Concepts during launch…

• matlimmutu on Apr 04, 2012 at 11:37 am

for me this car looks like proton’s best car. i think Malaysians must support Malaysian’s product. price for me is ok looking at the spec of the car n i hope this car will clear up proton’s bad impression. SYABAS PROTON.

• harris murad on Apr 04, 2012 at 2:24 pm

okay, it seems that the name is final…
    http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2012/4/4/nation/20120404132129&sec=nation
    ‘prey-vey’ it is!:D

• confirm already!

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2012/4/4/nation/20120404132129&sec=nation

• Hmm… dunno la what to say.. first thing is the look – ugly… and now come the name – preve… what laaaa….
    why dont Proton name it Malaysian style – Proton Jering or Proton Cengkih…. or wateva la yg related dgn Malaysia….

p/s: Proton Pussy sounds better….

• good job PROTON…

• wow…this is awesome…this car spec …very tempting….

• guyver on Apr 04, 2012 at 10:20 pm

i personally think that the car’s design look very outdated especially the front grill….kinda like the name though.

• Proton Salesman on Apr 04, 2012 at 11:02 pm

Looks like my sale is going up, this PROVES something about Malaysian. He, he…

• Proton Salesman on Apr 05, 2012 at 2:03 pm

This car proves that proton makes their car look affordable by inflating the price of other cars. Proton sheep will still buy this in doves even it is low quality compared to other cars in the same segment. If their quality is truly international standard, they have no need to hide behind AP, no need to prove anything. This only preves that they are a coward. Proton will continue to produce this so called ‘cheap’ products since there are buyers. As they say, willing buyer, willing seller. If the G really cares, they will know that adding 100% or 200% tax to cars does not reduce the burden of the rakyat, certainlynot 1Malaysia spirit, rakyat didahulukan, but duit didahulukan. Wake up, people! The G is only interested in your votes and monies.

• Last time they say Persona will change the perception of Malaysian towards Proton. But, same typical problem repeated itself….. (center-lock issues, power window, fuel-meter…..), it’s enough to show that their not true to their words….. Now, they try to retune Malaysians’ mindset by using word PREVE, to make us believe the similar mistakes aren’t repeated……. hmmm, come on Proton…… be honest to millions of Malaysian who had given you support all the years……

• Score on Apr 05, 2012 at 4:56 pm

LOlz!!! Some people Cakap saja pandai, kebanyakkan sini pun pakai proton juga. Masih hutang lagi tu. support imported cars, Jangan buat lawak la bro!!!! :P

• Ferris on Apr 05, 2012 at 8:49 pm

Hey guys, dont yall think that the rear looks like Volvo Naughty (S60)??

• proton is just C-R-A-P… try selling same segment with same price as the rest of the segment in the market and proton will see how they are truly rated by the public… i believe whoever is supporting them are from the low income and not affordable group of ppl.. i don’t see our Tan Sri’s, Tun’s, YB’s or any of our royalty driving this model..

• Lady In the Car on Apr 18, 2012 at 11:50 am

Emm….to early to give my own feedback on this Preve…i rather wait next year maybe to see the real problem what Preve will have…
    well..basically i owned Proton ISwara aeroback back then.. 8years of using proton…not that bad..its juz the service does not compatible on what you expected..but so far once i changed the air cond compressor after 7+ years of using..well…going forward..now im using Vios…far better than Proton…the service at the service dealer…satisfied me so far..no turning back to Proton i gues…hehe..:P

• Jailoga on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:59 pm

My God….These cars still use timing belt !. In my opinion I think it is ok for the IAFM engine but very unwise for the CFE Turbo engine. Turbo engine usually can get really hot and I don’t think the belting can hold long enough (~maybe 40K km). If you are unlucky the belt will snap earlier then expected and will cost ya a lot to fix…….Why don’t you PROTON just put the timing chain instead..low maintenance and peace of mine to the user or you guies in PROTON have other Agendas.

• azhar on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:45 pm

Love Proton very much.. my national car. Last time i drove Saga Megavalve, very good and tough car with no problem with the engine even it’s age almost 20 years old. For that, i gave 4 out of 5 stars. Now I’m driving Perdana V6 which is very comfortable and stylish car even the V6 production stopped already… Preve look awesome to me… Good Luck Proton.

p/s: hehehe.. like watching youtube, where Proton Putra tapau Honda Civic in the highway….