Toyota Camry – UMWT opens order books for the XV50

Toyota’s seventh-generation Camry is set to make its way into the market here sometime in June, as the official UMW Toyota brochure on the car clearly indicates. We already know the variants that’ll be introduced from our earlier story, and these are the two 1AZ-FE-equipped 2.0 litre models, the 2.0G and 2.0E, as well as a 2AR-FE 2.5 litre V-spec version.

UMW has announced that the order books have been opened for the XV50, and has also released an estimated on-the-road pricing for the car. The 2.0E’s indicative pricing is RM152,000, while the 2.0G should be going in the region of RM160,000. Meanwhile, the estimated price for the 2.5V is RM183,000.

Four colours have also been announced for the car, these being Silver Metallic, Medium Silver Metallic, White Pearl CS and a new shade called Attitude Black. All four shades are available across the model range, though going for the White Pearl CS means forking out an additional premium of RM800.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Anti turbo on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:57 am

How come the car is most expensive in Sarawak?? Sabah is even further away??

• sarawak so many rich people maa…

• The Test To See How Stupid. on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:35 am

So stupid to buy a “Malaysian Made” car when you can get a CBU VW Passat for nearly the same price. Warranty also 5 years and not the crappy 2 or 3 years UMW gives. And we all know, VW quality is 100% better than any Japanese out there. This is really the test to see how stupid Malaysians can become. The car is so cheap in Australia and overseas but here, its close to Mat Salleh car prices.

• RON97 on Apr 04, 2012 at 1:43 pm

i can see so much hate in this post similiar to P1 posts. what a joke!!
          But bare in mind that those purchase this car, generally not bother ’bout the price tag.The one who kecoh here, 99% is lower income people (earn 120k. Funny..

No. i’m not the camry owner. only a small B7 Quattro. Cheers

• Toyota Salesman Panic on Apr 05, 2012 at 10:08 am

Toyota salesman also can afford B7 Quattro? Now panic lah all the Toyota salesman, sure they come in the forums to justify the high price.

I would imagine with all the global recalls, Toyota would humble themselves and start with a lower price. After all, with all the Toyota scandals, the least Toyota should do is to lower their price to build confidence again. In any industry, say milk for example, if there is a scandal, that particular milk brand would be sold cheaper than the rest for a couple of years after the scandal.

So much arrogance. People have not forgotten all the product recalls lah.

• prestigious25 on Apr 04, 2012 at 10:17 pm

i’m agreed

• Lim Kopi on Apr 05, 2012 at 1:09 am

Why have I got a funny feeling that every stupid Chinaman in town is going to Toyota showroom now to make a booking (without even test driving it first) ?

Its like they are going to buy new school clothes for their children every new year….

• Sam Loo on Apr 07, 2012 at 6:03 pm

VW Passat engine is only 1.8 litre, so tax and duty much lesser than the 2.5. In other words, the passat is severely ovepriced as it should be about the Corolla 1.8 price at RM125k?

• bijan on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:32 pm

coz the price is BN friendly….same as most of the people there whom are BN friendly…:)

• I tot PR govt likes Camry…?? :)

• well said ahaks

• alldisc on Apr 04, 2012 at 10:24 am

PR like Camry for its reliability and widespread nationwide service network.

No other car makes have dealers at a small town like Alor Gajah, Melaka or Bentong, Pahang – this makes sense as for the travelling incurrence.

and back in 2008 there is hardly any choice other than Camry in D-segment other than Accord. Mazda 6, Cefiro, Passat or Kizashi.

Only Perdana V6, Sonata and Optima as alternatives. which model makes sense the most?

• PR VS BN on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:40 pm

If PR win next GE13, they will replace all govt Perdana to Camry like they did in pakatan state, no matter how much it cost.
            If BN win next GE, Prime Minister, cabinet ministers & govt officer will still using old school Perdana, no matter how much maintenance cost.
            It’s because PR love Camry & BN love Proton.

• Bro, it’s due to less vessel going to Miri compared to Sabah and Labuan…dats y price for s’wak much more expansive because shipment to s’wak is much higher than sabah and labuan…i also got this argument with my supplier previously, but when i ask my freight forwarder, that’s the answer and reason…

• daamz on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:56 pm

Add 20k, go for Passat :) .. Passat motto for old man – “Always feel younger”

• Toyoda on Apr 03, 2012 at 6:37 pm

Passat malam? Camly nicer for uncle ma..

• OMG…horrible…price – bad, engine – outdated, design – bad….bad…bad…

• CKD passat selling at 170K , might as well get a passat instead of the 2.5 liter camry…lower road tax (1.8cc), better fc and more powerful turbo engined for the passat

• Passat laa, no need think already on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:43 pm

What is that Toyota thinking ah? Price go up, 2.0 engine belongs to the dino era, 4 speed gear sumore. Specs like krap also. If you pitch the 2.5V with the Passat, no need to fight already. People outrun you, German quality, cheaper road tax and are so spec-ed up, the Camry looks like it came from the 80’s. This Camry is a JOKE!

• RM 150, 000. better Kia Optime for RM 147, 000. gorgeous look + premium spec at affordable price + truly global D segment car

• Cybermaster98 on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:33 pm

Optima is RM 143,888. Yes a much better option for sure. Top class specs, wow looks, better engine and gearbox, 5 years unlimited mileage warranty.

• no doubt korean cars look very nice nowadays, but 2nd hand value?? very bad wor

• Optima K5 on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:53 pm

Agree..Better go for optima K5..At least it looks more futuristic with loads of powerful stuffs

• Sharvind Varma on Apr 03, 2012 at 3:47 pm

yeap..besides optima has 6 speed gearbox with paddle shift..camry only 4 speed..still same engine since the xv30 and xv40

• william on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:59 pm

why nobody mention about Kizashi 2.4? spec is much better than camry and it is less than RM150K.

• Drift on Apr 03, 2012 at 5:09 pm

Wah, how come so many Kia salesman here….

• Toyota salesman busy going to Kia comments la. That’s why Kia salesman come here. Crowded maaaa…

• Toyoda on Apr 03, 2012 at 6:35 pm

Optima n sonata too modern look. Camry more ngam for uncle ma. 4 speed enuff coz uncle don’t drive fast fast one. Price is no problem for uncle. As long as the name is camly must buy. Somemore camly got wood trim and oozes uncle ness from all angle.

• Twist on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:07 pm

At least I know for sure uncles are much richer than you…

• Uncle on May 22, 2012 at 9:35 am

If you want to comment, at least say in proper English please. You are making a joke of yourself. No matter how bad you think Camry is, it SPELLS C.A.M.R.Y not C.A.M.L.Y . Got it? Get a life man, or perhaps, get a proper education..Peace out!

• ALTIS10 on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:50 pm

kia k5 RM 137.000…only…..

• cybermaster on Apr 04, 2012 at 1:13 pm

I have test driven the K5 more than 10 times I can say its among the best of its class, I’m no Kia salesman but you got to drive it to believe it. The comfort, specs and accessories that come with it is out of this world.

• toyoda on Apr 04, 2012 at 3:31 pm

test drive for more than 10 times ? wow your face is super thick la. kesian the salesman that serves you. so r u going to buy a car which u have tested so many times ? else pls dont waste ppl time.

• Drift on Apr 04, 2012 at 8:56 pm

Who on earth will test drive a car for more than 10 times? Nothing to do arr?

• wah! tested more than 10 times!! how many free gift collected?

• Wow made in Malaysia but with a price increase?? I haven’t seen anything like this anywhere in the world. Do they think all Malaysian are stupid??

• Volkswagen Passat or Ford Mondeo Ecoboost FTW !! Cheaper , fully imported, more fuel efficient, powerful, quieter, HANDLES 10 times better than a floating Camry !!, and the pros just continues, so no reason to choose the T badge

• syntium5000 on Apr 04, 2012 at 2:38 am

as long its TOYOTa…. evrythng feel guud maa…

• Forte on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:13 am

Same like :

As as long its Be End (BN)…. evrythng feel guud maa… (What a Dino Mindset)

• OilChange on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:18 pm

most toyota owner r stupid….

so that is y they comes out with that spec…. they know so many stupid people will buy 1.

• so you know…. as long as toyota can make sales here, bn will also win. only when umw toyota cannot sell, then only bn will lose… when people are no more stupid.

so watch out for toyota sales to predict the coming election result.

• Divider on Apr 30, 2012 at 7:08 pm

Dude. Criticise Toyota all you want, but not all the drivers are stupid. My father test drove several of the top choices on the market before settling on the camry (previous gen facelift). So pleaae don’t generalise; it makes you no better than dumb buyers.

• william on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:01 pm

but still sell very well?????? why ah????

• we can boikot maa! trust me….if malaysian people boikot to buy any new car within 6 month…the sale will be 0 (zero) and surely all car company will drop their car price. use the power of consumer!

• Malaysian are not stupid on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:49 pm

Now you know why Toyota secondhand value so good. Every facelift and model change there’s price increase. So even if the price drop, it only drops from the value of the new car price instead of the initial buying price for your old car.

This way UMW gives the illusion of good secondhand value for their old cars while earning more profits from their new cars.

Don’t get conned Malaysian!!! Malaysian are not stupid!!!

• Statistician on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:41 pm

This is exactly toyato safeguard the value of the used car. Not like BMW, once the new model is out, cheap sales all the old model. Guess whatbwillnhappen tonall the E90 owners now. Price drop like crazy…

• Malaysia Memang Bolehland on Apr 04, 2012 at 11:31 am

U re absolutely rite! UMW will offer higher 2nd hand Toyota trade-in value to convince those uncle or family type customer especially out of KL market, whose is lazy n don bother to calculate n check d market for same range alternative comparison.

I really hope new generation car buyer will take more initiative to study details on alternative car choice n let those “THICK FACE ELEPHANT SKIN” UMWian learn some lesson not to blindly think they can con us easily with some smart marketing n advertisement.

MALAYSIAN MESTI BANGUN!!!!!

• Toyoza on Apr 04, 2012 at 7:30 pm

1) Camry body rated up to 3.5 litre engine.
        2) Most mechanics says never see people overhaul Toyota engine.
        3) Non-turbo engine more reliable.
        4) 4 speed transmission still more reliable.
        5) Build quality very good, and this comment from people who own Ferrari, Porsche, Mercedes, Lamborghini. etc…… was quite surprised when I heard this from this group of luxury car owners.

• sick&tired on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:17 pm

4-speed transmission more reliable!!?? what have you been smoking!?

• Toyota thinks they are the BMW of Asia. That’s why price is reaching continental make.

UMW thinks Malaysian are brainless fools. That’s why, even though it’s assembled in Malaysia, selling old engine and technologies to Malaysian, the price can still increase.

• Agree

• _xXx_ on May 18, 2012 at 11:03 am

tats wat u claimed, not Toyota said. But at least Toyota is not as thick-skinned as a maker that claimed tat one of its crappy models is Asia’s answer to BMW….

• Toyota got higher resale value because you pay higher price for their cars.

What can’t people see that??

• CKD should mean at least a RM15,000-RM25,000 reduction in price, not increase almost RM10,000 in price.

Who teach all this jokers? Malaysia Boleh?

• alldisc on Apr 04, 2012 at 10:31 am

actually sourcing from Thailand is a lot cheaper than doing CKD themselves but the reason why UMW dont want anymore from thailand was

1. take it or leave it options, including colour choices not preferable to our market
        2. long waiting queue as Thailand also supplies the Camry to other markets.

• OMG i rather go for Passat over this thing ! he black Passat looks awesome but this thing even with the Ferrari body kit still looks terrible !

• bobdbilder on Apr 05, 2012 at 2:39 pm

You don’t know meh? When Miri had water supply outage, a carton of Mineral water went for RM 40. Teh Tarik costs RM 2.00.

Go to Sarawak you see lah. Many Toyota lovers there. But you can hardly see Avanza. A local saw one and asked me what it was. They only know Hilux or Land Cruiser. Of course if you drive Land Cruiser everybody knows you’re a rich Tokey Balak. Or Tokey Balak son.

Or if you want, there’s always option for you to become gangster. Can become pimp or papa-son. You get to collect protection money. Then you can rub shoulders with politicians and councilors. But you need a tatoo. But if you don’t do job properly, say bye-bye to your hand. Or knee. They you can say ‘I was once an adventurer like you until I got an arrow to the knee’.

Sarawak is happening man!

• Ronnie on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:57 am

I thought the all New Camry is CKD ?? Price so expensive .. and so many comments not in their favour yet still……

• Because it’s a Toyota, “Moving Forward (and ignoring the buyers)”

I bet others can come up with better Toyota motto.. lol

• kington on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:53 pm

Only 2.5 is worth considering, that also it’s quite expensive. Then again the sales will grow as usual for the Camry and Accord.

I wonder if this would make the Mazda 6 more attractive. It’s got better kit count to begin with.

• It has to be said that for slightly higher price, about 190k (against Camry’s 2.5L), you could get a Ford Mondeo Ecobosst with 240PS (238HP), fully imported from Belgium, with 7 airbags, much better handling, 3 year free service and warranty, voice command for radio and aircond, and a whole list of kit….

• With that price, almost everything else in its’ class is more attractive now.

• Terrible English on Apr 03, 2012 at 6:38 pm

I don’t see the reason why you were sent to overseas in the first place when you can’t even type an error free sentence. Shame on you.

• Malaysian Memang Bolehland on Apr 05, 2012 at 8:17 am

We don need an English Teacher here, Paul has create a great auto info platform to allow all races n all level n whether educate or not to share, express n understand more on auto industry.

PLS LAH, if u re so negative n try to drill otter people weakness n no contribution to this community, pls go n join those oxford web community forum for ur so English matter.

I m not perfect too but I love this site n those member who has express their pure auto comment. Cheerio

• Classic case of money wasted.

England too powderful?? Cannot brain?? OMG.

What MNC is this btw? Timbuktu?

• Good Luck on you Sales Toyota.

• ironic on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:25 pm

Toyota vs OTHERS is like BN vs PR…everyone( except uncles/aunties/ahbengs/towkays- mind you, this is where serious money resides) despised them but ends up eating humble pie as the haters are not registered voter}:

• Toyoda on Apr 03, 2012 at 6:42 pm

U wanna talk politics go other site. This page is for us to worship camly ok.

• Alpha on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:58 am

Whoah,the price is reaching conti cars already!!

• Trady on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:02 pm

Looks incredibly boring!

• still using old vvt engine & 4 speed auto gear box?
    no direct-injection engine & duoble clutch/ CVT gear box?
    Toyota already left far behind by other comparetitor.
    for this price range, I better choose VW Passat or Nissan Teena.

• Vader on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:16 pm

same strategic like previous launched so call “all new” Avanza & Innnova,. still using outdated engine, gearbox and technologies..
      toyota, moving backwards!!!

• reezfa on Apr 03, 2012 at 6:41 pm

Its actually all-new skin only.. in the inside its all same old stuff (chasis, engines, electronics, etc). Its like same old people with an all-new clothes put on.

• how true, and how sad after a long wait, I tot i could see a revived Camry with a total update spec..looks like the old smell of camry continues, at least for another 6 more years..
      good luck Camry!

• snaz1 go on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:06 pm

harga naik lagi!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• watchman on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:19 pm

harga naik because the Japanese yen is appreciating against Malaysian Ringgit, among many other currencies. it is now 100yen = RM4. it was 100yen = RM3.6 a few years back when the sixth gen was launched. and the excise duties by our “Proton Mahathir” government only make it worse. and we can also blame Mahathir for our depreciating currencies.

• and the son of M is driving a Veyron!

• glazee on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:27 pm

hmm this Camry is not CBU from japan…

Parts are manufactured at Thailand…

• Gonggok on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:19 pm

Aiyah stop blaming taxes la…umm is just greedy. How is it that the imported sonata, optima and even Mazda represent better value for money?

Look at the price of the imported 1.6 Suzuki sx4 (89k) and compare it to the locally assembled Vito’s Trd. It just makes you wonder how much profit umw is making…

• ntah. bodoh giler mamat nih!!. asyik nak blame mathir jer..

• No highlights on the AWESUM 4 speed AT box on the 2.0 versions?

• Toyoda on Apr 03, 2012 at 6:40 pm

It is awesome right? Staggering 148ps for 2.0 n super 4 speed. Uncle luv this car bery much

• No ESP?
    Only 6 speakers?

Price is up?
    whats wrong with toyota malaysia

• leexiao on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:15 pm

diu, same engine again??

• piere on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:22 pm

buylah!
    Toyota japan make 10k
    Umw Toyota make 50k
    “Najib, rosmah, muhydin dan kuncu-kuncu seperjuangan” make 60k
    Salesman make 1k
    Car actually worth 60k+ in the US
    buylah! ain’t nuthin like cruisin in a camry in kuala lumpur.

• Unforgiven on Apr 04, 2012 at 6:48 am

The 60k for the kuncu-kuncu are part of people’s 5/9 years monthly instalments.

I don’t think Toyota is making more money in KL vs US, right?

• kusochon on Apr 04, 2012 at 11:20 am

Well, they need to catch up with Azmin Ali.

• HT HO on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:24 pm

I better choose Nissan Teana

• Drift on Apr 03, 2012 at 5:14 pm

Teana more AhPek…I will go for Mazda 6 2.5.

• exgrande on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:31 pm

@Drift – did u tried teanna? if not, better take a test drive. so cool man, not like that bloodsucking camry.

• Drift on Apr 05, 2012 at 7:03 am

Teana can have all the specs or ride quality but the design interior or exterior wise really turns me off..

• Toyota is sealing their tomb!

• toyotaFTW on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:27 pm

wow nice car!

• i_swear on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:31 pm

Now I’m confuse whether to think that 2.0 variants is a new model or new facelift?

• lonelyobserve on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:17 pm

The 2.0L variants are pretty face outside, craps under the bonnet.

• UncleCamry on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:32 pm

Yes finally i can place an order now, love the wood grains and the steady look of the car and the best is resale value very good ! Frankly camry is a premium class of its own ppl. Why change something already that good ? Change abit sudah boleh..la like this new camry I cant see any diferrent with the previous model I like it.

• Why change anything when it is alredi good? Then why bother coming out with new model? WTF. Unless u r trying to be cynical.

• UncleCamry on Apr 06, 2012 at 12:21 am

They did change abit..ma this model is new and same like the old one which is very good so ntg wrong with that. They are selling very well the previous model why change for the sake of changing ppl ? 6,7 speeds all marketing hype..la engine good and resale value high very important u know or not ? Conti expensive to take care u know, Korean cars no resale value even looks good for what. The best is still Camry believe it !

• PakAbu on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:54 pm

Yes, old and wise :mrgreen:

• passat 250nm at 1500-4200
    0-100 8.5sec
    camry 230nm at 4100
    0-100 (secrect, shy maybe)

• Jason Suzuki on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:34 pm

walao…..
    better buy the new suzuki kizashi 2.4 la!!!
    push start button
    6 airbag
    8 speaker
    with ESP N TRATION CONTROL
    auto leveling headlamp with HID….
    Otr ONLY RM 158,***…….

• snaz1 go on Apr 03, 2012 at 3:31 pm

what? u bought a suzuki for rm150k?

you bought suzuki hayabusa?

once the world fastest bike?

wait….u bought a suzuki car…..

ok, i must say, this camry is funny, mazda 6 anytime.

• un-cirit on Apr 03, 2012 at 3:51 pm

Kizashi,… CBU is it??

• I wouldn’t want to buy a Suzuki car for over 150K. Looks like Mazda 6 will become a popular choice after this Camry is out. Korean car, no thanks.

• Sgt Scoop on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:54 pm

The Camry is such a mammoth in the car industry that they can afford to ‘play’ a bit and still get sales. They are really running themselves down though. Old tech, high price, ‘new’ design more of a facelift. Pushing the price over RM150k will destroy their corporate sales too. The guys at Toyota know much more than I do about selling cars but they seem to have really slipped up here. If Honda can up-spec the Accord and keep the price below RM150k, they’ll own the market in Malaysia for the next few years.

• droll on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:56 pm

sheesh, for RM183k with 2.5, there are better competitors:
    1. mondeo ecoboost
    2. vw passat

lower road tax, better power, DSG / powershift, etc. omg……..mad mad mad pricing from UMW.

• BOYCOTT !!!

• FliNt on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:13 pm

Why toyota just use 4 speed auto gear box?? right now, kia optima k5 had used 6 speed, vw use 7 speed, why toyota, why?? really weird…

• glazee on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:26 pm

Camry CKD with the price above Passat CKD / P508 with less equipments?

3 years warranty vs 5 years unlimited milleage warranty?

Good luck on your sales UMWT! 3 years ago I might choose you, but sorry not for now!

• Nothing to shout and look forward to at all!!! RM152k-RM160k for 2.0l using same old, outdated engine + 4-speed gearbox is really shameful and disgrace! Don’t know what’s wrong with Toyota nowadays, stupid!

• 160k for G is way too much.

• Wise vote on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:38 pm

new altis?

• carnoisseur on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:41 pm

OOOOhhhh, im yawning ……its boringly unclefied !

• Who in their right mind would buy a Camry 2.5 over a Passat, Mondeo, or 508? But I’ve been seeing a lot of Passats on the road lately, so perhaps people are indeed waking up from their deep seating love of Camrys and Accords. Question is, are these Passat owners buying them over a 3 series and C Classes, or Accords and Camrys?

• carazy on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:42 pm

Pakatan Rakyat surely take this car over Perdana:)

• oblong on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:41 am

The ‘new’ government official car if PR win this time…

• alldisc on Apr 04, 2012 at 10:57 am

last time no option… no 508, no mazda 6, no passat, no mondeo, sonata YF and optima k5 not yet in market also.

now so many choices, probably changes in decisions also.

• jerry on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:45 pm

walao…so expensive, still old spec…i think choose nissan teana and kia optima k5.. better than this car..

• kumar on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:48 pm

Its kinda same with current model, NIssan Teana better value for money compared with new Camry.

• Mazda 6 2.5 has even better value. 179K, CBU Japan, Bose sound etc…Need to say more on the design compare to Camry?

• Toyoda on Apr 03, 2012 at 6:31 pm

On looks this new Camry n teana is still uncle-ish. Want a good looking car w good spec? Look at optima or sonata.

• Drift on Apr 04, 2012 at 8:08 am

Optima day light LED located at the front bumper will only create more chances of hit by stones in our Malaysian road or small scratch at parking lot. 6K for one set of this LED DRL…!

• toyoda on Apr 04, 2012 at 10:52 am

gong kia. all new merz also DRL in front of bumper. and more cars will be setup like that. so how ? boh lui eh gong kia.

• Drift on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:02 pm

Halo, Kia is a lower range car for lower budget buyer. For a car around 130K you want to fork out 6K for this? You said it yourself, Merz has it and their buyers already paid so much for the car, will they complaint about expensive parts? Pig brain..

• Japanese auto makers have been resting on their laurels for a tad too long now. Time for a change now loyal fans of Toyota. We consumers have way better choices now and we should buy vehicles based on their true ability and quality and not based on branding!

• My dad is going to ‘yay!’ while is me going to ‘ceh!’

• My dad is going to ‘yay!’ while me is going to ‘ceh!’

• My dad is going to ‘YAY!’ while I am going to ‘ceh!’

• OilChange on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:03 pm

place your booking now and u can join the ‘boring and lame’ toyota owners club….

free annual fees…

• Car Driver on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:07 pm

The Malaysian new cars Prices are getting more expensive and these cars are not much difference than what we are driving now..

Stick to your present car dont buy any new cars for the next few years..Keep your savings for better rainy days..

I am sure later new better engine cars will be sold at a cheaper price …

• leekowchai on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:09 pm

looking at this new Camry, i feel the new Civic is not bad at all.

• These people at UMW are just testing the market response. Later they may just reduce 1-2K which is unsignificant of the total amount.

• Toyota will not care of CBU or CKD, price remain unchange, for sure a lots of “diedhard” fen will continue to support the old technology car, it will not care about the price tag.

• catdog on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:29 pm

Wit this price, one shld really consider conti cars…

• mnazri.tan on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:37 pm

such a boring soulless car

• heckler on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:39 pm

boleh jalan la,
    look at Hilux. also the lowest specs among pickup. can sell
    Wish, lowest specs among MPV, can sell
    Fortuner, lowet specs among SUV, can sell
    Vios and Altis too.

Majority of the buyer wont notice the different la. 6 speeds is just a mkt gimmick.

my 2 cent

• BeemerFreak on Apr 03, 2012 at 5:49 pm

Hilux is strong due to Sabah and Sarawak due to terrain and road conditions.

Vios is strong because it is the cheapest among all japs small sedans, go ask UMW how many vios J they register.

The rest hardly move.

Altis? Beaten by Sylphy, Forte and Civic.
      Yaris? Taken off market d cause cant sell
      Innova? Slowing due to Exora Bold and Grand Livina
      Fortuner? Only Gov Department buys them

Honest to say the only cars worth buying from UMWT are the Prius and Prius C. The rest can just ignore, they are a mkt gimmic.

Honestly Toyota only ever sells 3 models very well, Vios, Camry and Hilux.

• Cybermaster98 on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:41 pm

This is clearly an eye wash by Toyota. They will never try something like this in the US. The 2.0L is NOT a new generation car for sure. That engine is the same engine used in the 2006 Camry while the 4 speed gearbox is much older than that. Which D segment car nowadays has only 4 speed transmissions? Thats really crap! Plus even the top of the line 2.5V does not have Vehicle Stability Control (VSC). Only has the standard ABS, EBD and BA which even Myvi has nowadays. This is totally crap. I say boycott Toyota and let them realise that Malaysians will not be taken for a ride anymore!

• drgn86 on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:44 pm

The 2.0L engine is not from the 2006 Camry but the 2001 Camry, really old la, why didn’t use the Dual-vvti one from current Altis?

• civicEK on Apr 03, 2012 at 2:59 pm

even proton preeve got 6 speed! lol!!

• kamaji on Apr 03, 2012 at 3:00 pm

No need for new engine or tranny, as long as the name ‘Toyota Camry’ stays, the uncles will love & pay for it irrespective of the high price.

• tomyam on Apr 03, 2012 at 3:08 pm

and a lot of people saying that a 2.4 CBU Suzuki Kizashi is overpriced. Well, think again.

• say no to Lynas on Apr 03, 2012 at 3:18 pm

Last quarter of 2011 was the car market transformation started,when Naza brought in Peg 508(CBU) with full specs(europe price near to Merc C-class), then followed by VW with CBU Passat,Jetta etc.
    lots of D segment buyer were opened up their eyes with wider choice of performance specs, and also the same time malaysian driver started to realize how the T/H fooling/insulting us with great profit with compromised cars.
    Ever after that,very few new cars from T/H were seen to run on road, T/H started to panic,they resolved it by importing more hybrid cars with good spec/features-one of the most notable features were number of air-bags,minimum 6.
    Then i started to think,hmm good thing for them to learn-with so much impact from conti competitor,T/H do realize the need to change the altitude and mentality-that is the ultimate law in business-treat your clients like king!
    With the launching of this new camry,some how i think they just sabotage all previous effort,compromising all the valued features for a family car-minimum air bags,VSC, etc.
    You may bet on same group of people will still buy it disregard the features,you could be right till 2011,definitely not after that.
    Any potential buyer as a father to family,i’m sure they will behave like me-first thing to look for is the safety features.
    What so good about resale value if an accident take away your love most because of no air bag protection?
    To me UMW not only greedy but potential killer-be.
    Not to buy Toyota camry is an understatement for me,we should ban this model as it is potential harmful to life-something like lynas?!
    So country folks,if they insist they are right just because they are in power for many years and refused to change,teach them a lesson.
    lets start the tsunami of reformation-you don’t change,you are out!
    You are there to serve us, dont forget that we are your boss!
    We decide your future!
    Do give the due respect dude!
    Let start it today from camry to GE13!

• japfans on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:31 pm

Sound more like a political comment, but you got 100% support from me!

• i hope during demonstration to condemn lynas and ptptn and bn, there also be people carrying banner to condemn umw toyota for fooling the rakyat.

• buduk on Apr 03, 2012 at 3:22 pm

I think Toyota Corp in Japan should ban UMW from being a Toyota dealer and give it to some other companies. -.- even if it’s just with 0 airbags, it still can sell. malaysians malaysians.

• Disappointed on Apr 03, 2012 at 3:39 pm

Paul:

I really hope you guys give them a scathing review when you have the chance to test the 2L version of the Camry. It’s time to tell it like it is. There’s no excuse for using a car engine that was first introduced in the year 2000. What’s worse is that it’s still on 4 speed Automatic Transmission and 2 airbag system when everyone else have moved on to 6 and 7 speed automatics. And what’s up with the omission of ESP and VSC? It’s ridiculous! Please do the right thing and give them the thumbs down.

Hey Toyota! SEA countries are not a dumping ground for your excess old inventory!

• Hope they do it for the truth. Cut it clean and clear. I know your site needs ad money from Toyota, but for the sake of the readers that follows your site…

• fedorov on Apr 03, 2012 at 3:42 pm

so uncle/untie look .. wood trimming some more …
    but as usual … malaysian still buy one, for sure ..

• albag on Apr 03, 2012 at 3:52 pm

i know toyofags and uncles will still love this car… uncles, get ready your bank accounts or wallets!!!

• lithium on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:36 pm

erm no need to use such language …… people that buy toyotas have their point of view but dun think we should degrade other people for their choices. some of them don’t even understand abs, airbag etc………. all they see is big car with lots of bling, wood, leather and toyota branding.

for me this new camry is a real disappointment. the G spec should be getting the V spec equipment level and drop the price to current pricing. oh well we will have to see if malaysian car buyer accept this or umw reverse their strategy. if the camry sale is a disaster then i hope toyota punish umw kaw kaw.

• Better to go conti. This is this year’s biggest rip off so far! Incredible! Car sales are down but protecting the margins by squeezing down the specs! Pretty clever I’d say but doesn’t inspire much brand loyalty. Owned a Toyota for 6 years, put up with crap service from the SC. Vowed never a Toyota again! Heh heh

• OilChange on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:17 pm

honda is a better buy….

still crap in many aspects, but way better than toyota…

i’m glad u r vow not to own 1 again in the future.

be brave… and live a happier life… gud luck brother!!!!

• Nasi Lemak 3.0 on Apr 03, 2012 at 3:54 pm

Well….whatever we said here…UMW Toyota being UMW Toyota…they simply don’t care… huh…damn arrogant. Consumer voices are just nothing to them.

Trust me…this crappy ‘All New (gimmick) Camry’ will still sell and dominate the D Segment..Reality sucks..

• JeremyNg on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:21 pm

Bcs still many Malaysians think that Toyota is the best car in the world what …………. they know ntg about other manufacturer except toyota and honda =(

• krs189 on Apr 03, 2012 at 3:56 pm

I dunno what to say anymore

Suzuki Kizashi is a better car with better value than this.

• Spring on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:07 pm

Taiwan got their CKD Camry Hybrid 2012, around MYR 110k for basic spec..
    will UMW bring it to us..?

• Buy! Buy! Buy, car ‘unsavvy’ uncles and aunties. Pls dont jump over to optima or sonata or u might hike up the price of my dream car. Stay with T/H pls!!

• Caruser on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:05 pm

Who gives you the silly idea that uncles and aunties will blindly buy a car with boring looks and which is overpriced? I guess at my age you can call me uncle but tell you what, I am seriously looking at conti makes like VW Paasat , Merc or a Beemer. If I want to have a bigger retirement fund, then I would go for a decently priced and reliable car with good looks! You and the other small boys can keep your Korean cars. Btw the Korean cars are already hiked up in case you haven’t noticed

• Why so ‘perasan’ uncle? Admitting you are one of those car ‘unsavvy’ uncles? Anyway, were you serious when you said bemmer and merc are decently priced cars? Or are you here to boast of your purchasing power against a ‘small boy’ to hide your insecurity?

• JeremyNg on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:19 pm

Still old engine + 4 speed auto with higher selling price ………….. They sell it tat expensive bcs they can sell it !!! Thanks to some of the malaysian bcs they think that Toyota is the best car of the world …………

You must be an idiot to buy 2.0G for RM160k

• azrai on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:23 pm

So our Malaysian Camry will come out from UMW Shah Alam plant right?

• Kok Chi on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:26 pm

Who would even consider this crap Japanese car for that dumb price when you could buy a VW Passat which is essentially a German car with so much more value?

• The basic version of Toyota Camry in Australia sold for $34K driveaway. Equivalent to RM108,800 (With AUD $1 = RM 3.2). The specs are the same as the one with the Malaysian 2.5V version. But the only difference is the safety pack option which is standard for even the most basic spec for Australia market (Which is the Toyota Camry Altise 2.5 Auto).

The safety pack options are as follows:
    Anti-Skid Brakes (ABS) – All wheels Standard
    Electronic Brake Distribution (EBD) Standard
    Brake Assist (BA) Standard
    Traction Control (TRC) Standard
    Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) Standard
    Front airbag – driver Standard
    Front airbag – passenger Standard
    Side airbag – front seats Standard
    Side curtain airbag – front and rear Standard
    Knee airbag – driver’s side Standard

Even if you minus the away with the Langkawi’s taxless price (RM119090-RM108800= RM10290). RM10290 = Cost of implementing safety pack of VSC, TRC, and all the side air-bags?

So, what I can say is that Toyota Malaysia is making more money by providing lower specs Camrys to Malaysian people. You can always do comparison with the ones in the Australia market.

http://www.toyota.com.au/camry/specifications/altise-auto

Please don’t flame me. It’s just my 2 cents worth of opinion. Cheers.

• lithium on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:27 pm

agree. the Camry is not that bad of a car ……best seller in most country. its just in Malaysia umw Toyota trip the car beyond basic and up the price. seriously hope all local review sites and magazines whack this move. but then how independent the magazines are in their review we all know la.

• Typical UMW & Toyota pricing. Arrogant…

• Seriously on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:39 pm

The japs are loosing their appeal of cars… really fast.

• Wow, the design looks like ‘potato’, even KIA and Hyundai’s design is much much more better than this…

• lchan on Apr 03, 2012 at 5:06 pm

my..my…this toyota camry is priced quite ridiculously high!

• twinhope on Apr 03, 2012 at 5:14 pm

the next two generations of Camry will be same price as the current (2012) BMW 325, while the Rakyat pay will only increase slightly. this is how Bee End works.

• moron on Apr 03, 2012 at 5:30 pm

wow wow.. eager to see their sales report card after 1Q of launch…
    but hor… many uncle uncle auntie auntie so outdated that buy the car blindly…

• Tracks on Apr 03, 2012 at 5:38 pm

In other markets, the Camry is better spec. Similar case to Hilux & Fortuner. But the typical Malaysian see “T” as the better brand and therefore UMW sees no real need to provide the higher spec. We have been conned for years and still will continue to be conned. Most buyer won’t read blog like this as they don’t give a hoot about the spec but rather concern on the resale value and apparent realibility. They would choose to ignore safety, design and comfort.

• alpha999 on Apr 03, 2012 at 5:50 pm

say ‘TAK NAK’ to UMW Toyota

• Muhammad Habibul Ghulam Nabil on Apr 03, 2012 at 5:55 pm

i personality likes this camry. it looks very beutiful and so higher class in the same ligue with BMW and Benz but in Japanese terms. Toyota is a trend-setting for car builders. Whilst Toyota created others will following. The disign also very good and full of aereodynamits.. good to less oil drinking and the time the wordl gas prices going high and less confirm.. moving up and down and up again now every days.

I sure will reserved this car as the price is in my budget.. good car and good after sales value.. good job toyota.. loved it.

• Muhammad Habibul Ghulam Nabil aka Toyota Salesman, since when Toyota is a trend setter? Also since when their cars are known for good design? 4-Speed Gearbox with 12 years engine is good for fuel consumption? I don’t know whether you’re an idiot or just retarded

• Mohammad Tak Suka Toyota on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:05 pm

Hi toyota salesman.

how’s ur day?

• Proud to be non-malay on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:12 pm

Muhammad Habibul Ghulam Nabil DUDE,

Are you a BN trooper cum Toyota salesman? Did you realise that you’re the ONLY person in favour of the new camry in this ENTIRE comment section???

Do you know that your comments make no sense?

If Toyota wants to compete with the likes of the continental makers, first they need to design the whole car, not facelift here and there and botox here and there and plastic surgery here and there. The “new” exterior essentially looks 95% like the old model.

How is the car going to “less oil drinking” (in your own words) if the engine is of old technology? Even my grandmother knows that a 5 or even 6 speed G/B is much more efficient than a 4 speeder. -.-”

Lastly make sure you walk the talk by going ahead to buy the new model! Don’t bs here

• dreaming of maserati on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:27 pm

seriously only retarded ppl “in terms of car knowledge” will buy this kosong overpriced fugly junk!!

• BeemerFreak on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:17 pm

EH YOUR ENGLISH SUCKS balik sekolah dulu, then later on only try to buy toyota camry. With your level of english even the salesmen dont understand what you want.

• Crabmeat on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:00 pm

Muhammad forgot to mention these.

Toyota Camry also did a good job in maintaining its engine model which no one can do.

Toyota Camry also impresses me in not having 6 speed AT. Good job.

• Mr Hukaka on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:56 pm

Toyota sales man talking.

• carcoon on Apr 04, 2012 at 3:02 am

“The disign also very good and full of aereodynamits..”

Hey bro, no offense but wrong spelling there. Should be “…full of aerodynamites up your @$$”.

• yl yeoh on Apr 03, 2012 at 5:57 pm

why for a local assemble camry, umw price it so high to match with voxwagon!!!!!!!!!!

• Syazwan007 on Apr 03, 2012 at 6:02 pm

Lets get a bentley!!!!

• Korok Kering on Apr 03, 2012 at 6:12 pm

Sorry! I’m still young to buy this car…kah3!!

• Crasher on Apr 03, 2012 at 6:37 pm

UMW: “Let’s put the old tech back into the new Camry, uncle/aunty don’t care a single bit! We will still sell!”

• remiy on Apr 03, 2012 at 6:38 pm

stupid price….

• anti-taib on Apr 03, 2012 at 6:43 pm

sarawak is the priciest
    why?
    simple reason
    because that white hair taib include his personal tax through his admin and companies
    cheers for sarawak for choosing him as chief minister

• Derrick C on Apr 03, 2012 at 6:44 pm

Overall, it’s a disappointment to me… A so-called “All New Camry” but equipped with an OLD engine.

Just like what UMW did when it first introduced the “All New Altis” back in 2008.. Sorry for those who have bought the earlier batch where after 1 year, UMW only brought in the “facelifted” model, but with the NEW engine pulak!!

So, I suggest we wait for 1 year then… :P

• john f kennedy on Apr 03, 2012 at 6:51 pm

add 10-20k and go get the c-lass recond.settle lah hehe plus current merc pun fuel consumption very nice maaa

• plus the merc 1.8cc CGI (turbo) engined lower road tax is a plus too

• shawal on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:04 pm

what is the justification of paying RM16,000 more for the camry 2.0G over Kia Optima K5 ?

• Statistician on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:44 pm

Let’s wait and see how the market response , that’s the best justification

• glazee on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:47 pm

“I own a Toyota Camry”
      vs
      “I own a Kia Optima”

repeat 10 times, most of them got their answer….thats the justification…(without looking at the car and specs)

• OPPRESSED MALAYSIAN on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:19 pm

PLEASE THUMBS UP THIS MESSAGE & LET THE EVER ARROGANT UMW TOYOTA KNOCK SOME COMMON SENSE INTO THEIR GREEDY BRAINS!

Made in Thailand Camry 2.0 Selling Price THB 1,299,000 x 0.107 = RM 138,993
    Made in Malaysia Camry 2.0 Selling Price estimated RM160,000
    Extra Profit RM 21,007

Made in Thailand Camry 2.5V Selling Price THB 1,499,000 x 0.107 = RM 160,393
    Made in Malaysia Camry 2.0 Selling Price estimated RM183,000
    Extra Profit RM 22,607

WHY?? Some assumptions or can you think or other reasons?

1) Mark up more because UMW needs to feed greedy brains.
    2) Because cost of assembling a SAME spec Camry is more than our Thais. UMW could claim that they do not have economies of scale. One plastic handle part cost more because it passes so many hands before it reaches UMW supply chain.

Why UMW needs to assemble when they can buy CBU from Thailand? VW Passat CBU vs CKD RM 14,000 cheaper? Rather fair for VW car buyers! WHY more expensive for UMW?

Visit here http://www.toyota.com/camry/features.html look for the base model Camry L specs Selling Price USD 21,955 only. But USA base model with extra traction control, VSC, Smart Stop, 10 airbags etc. Meaning Toyota USA already makeup their profit it this price.

Assuming UMW import CBU from Toyota USA.
    USD 21,955 x 3.05 – Import Duty 30% + Excise 90% + Sales tax 10% = RM 162,048.

UMW should make profit of RM 183,000 – 162,048 = RM 20,952.
    Profit should be more cause cheaper spec version for Malaysia. I believe US labour, material cost should be extremely high but they can manufacture Camry with RM 66,963 (Note: Other costs like importation, shipping etc has been ignored).

Problem is WE have to adapt to Left Hand Drive Camry. HAHAHA!

• piere on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:43 pm

That is why the auto business in Malaysia is better than the drug business. Only way to beat them is to overthrow the whole government………other efforts will not work because the money is too good for the few players.

• observer on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:06 pm

dont be silly and blame the governement everything for ur miserable life. So far RON 95 has maintained at RM 1.90 per liter BUT local food price has risen. WHY ? WHY ? I ask the unscrupulous food sellers, hey, minyak ada naik lagi meh ? They just smile. WTF ? cant come up with anymore excuse. from that moement, i no longer eat those stalls

• piere on Apr 04, 2012 at 3:42 pm

WTF! Where’s your brain. You pay 3 times what others pay , and you are satisfied? Observer, keep on observing and stop making idiotic comments as people will realise how stupid you are. Miserable life it seems. Born loser, get screwed inside out and still smiling…..pure faggot!

• Toyota puzzles me on Apr 05, 2012 at 3:01 pm

Actually, the government is not to be fully blamed for this. Compare the Prius in the US and the Prius here. This is the fairest comparison cuz the government only tax 10% here. The US Prius is USD24k meaning around RM75k. Let’s say we add another 10% tax, the car would be RM82k. And also let’s say we have a higher spec model cuz US usually have lousy specs, we add another RM15k for that. All in all, the Prius should only be RM97k, max. So why is it RM140k? Nobody can answer this except UMW Toyota.

It’s not the government, it’s the car dealers!

• jo jarjis on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:20 pm

With all due respect, IMHO, we will have wait how’s the Market react to this..

• Fed Up of Stupid Statements from Observers that cannot afford and spend too much time on the internet on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:07 pm

That’s not an opinion worth writing.

• tricycle on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:27 pm

What is wrong with toyota in this region. The US version much better looking.

Good value for money, I would go for Passat CKD, Sonata, or the new Optima.

The Passat and Optima got GPS.

The Optima also got seat setting memorization.

Even the new Peougeot 508 also is better for money.

Toyota strongest point would be realiability.

And what is with the TOO MUCH chrome finishing at the back and front!

• tok-kok on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:56 pm

why is it so fricking hard to own a decent car in Malaysia?

The basic specs Camry only cost USD25K over at US.

We have to pay for AP, Sales tax, excise duty, etc etc… that adds up to RM160K for a Camry.

I cannot afford to change my car to the new Camry but I can vote for new Gomen lah.

• someone on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:02 pm

I sympathize with all UMW Toyota Sales Adviser…….they might want to reconsider moving elsewhere as one need to put the food on the table……very pathetic case….

• rubbish on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:12 pm

Rubbish,don’t buy

• It’s time for a passat. this car look like Chinese made car. with that price also can get a hybrid lexus. let’s not forget about nissan teana also. Toyota brand is not that desirable.

• TurboMan!!! on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:25 pm

I wonder where is maserati and de la junk and their jap supremacy attitude?

Hmmm.

• labix7 on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:41 pm

new camry !!!!… but looks alike an old lexus gs design …especially from the front.
    so, the camry is a budget version of lexus ???

• silver on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:44 pm

i don’t tihnk its toyota’s fault.. all this is just UMW fault, its just simply awefull.. UMW just want to earn more and expect consumer are stupid. look at the camry they sell in thailand UMW’s can’t even comapre. they even have hybrid .. thats just sad

• Joker The Great on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:04 pm

Toyota Zambry……………. kekekekeke

• RedBeanBun on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:14 pm

wait for the next gen of Camry….this car virtually has no different from current car…buying this kind of old spec car will be waste..

• In this age and time where information from around the world is at our fingertips. Smart consumers would have made the necessary research and comparisons before placing down a deposit for a new car.
    If that is the true scenario in Malaysia, then I would suggest that consumers go look else where for their new cars and stay away from the Toyota showrooms. Consumer power is still the most effective tool to tell these greedy and uninmaginative car manufacturer(Toyota) that their vehicles will soon be deemed irrelevant to consumers with all the other offerings out there which are more worthy of our attention and time.
    If Toyota choose to go down the ranks in the car manufacturing industry, then so be it! But consumers should not follow them down this path and downgrade by buying their undermining vehicles. But instead we should be supporting those car makers who are giving us products that are worth our hard earned cash. Come on Malaysians, stand your ground and make yourself heard!

• toyot on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:24 pm

WOW!!…another plastic car from toyota…awesome!!

• Sexy Back on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:45 pm

160k i rather but C class recond.

• I have been waiting to buy this new camry since last year, but after this crazy price tag, I will consider others car like, this car is overpriced for me. so disappointed.

• william on Apr 03, 2012 at 9:48 pm

I think Toyota is getting crazier, just because having good sales, they mark up so high. OMG! even more expensive than VW Passat.

• I love to see VW reaction to this scenario: introduce cheaper 1.4tsi Passat at RM149,888 or cheaper; offer hybrid Passat when the hybrid ready (to cull cocky UMWT); Naza Peugeot has 508 with RM149,888 inclusive 5 year warranty or HDI diesel 508, Sonata/Optima/i40 with potent 1.7 turbodiesel.

Inexpensive car is essential while more mileage per litre should be the variable to determine tax bracket.

Boycott Camry from Camry fan.

• All-New Camry Price
    Old Camry Tech

Call this Major-Facelifted Camry better

• 4-speed auto for the 2.0 is a big time turn off! Shocking really for a new model…

• ShowBear on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:49 pm

I remember back in 2001 when my mum had the ACV30. The 2.4L has ABS, VSC+Traction Control and 2 front airbags. That car was awesome!
    Fast forward to 2012, the new car you get from UMW is basically re-skin of ACV40. No effort has been made to improve the not-so-rigid chassis nor replace the lousy 1AZ-FE engine. I said so because the AZ engine has a tendency to fail due to the VVTi oil leakage and the metallurgical mismatch of aluminium block+steel engine head cover.
    For me, the Aisin gearbox is one of the best. It has smooth gear-change and coast at ease with the super ECT. But, this 4 speeder is too outdated for a large car. For example, consider a 2012 Toyota Yaris in Australia, many people commented on the 4 speed auto because every other car has at least 5 speed auto. Besides, the 2.0E has no cruise control unlike the previous and previous previous generation.
    Therefore, the only wise choice is the 2.5L AR engine. It is dual VVTi with 6 speed auto but it is not a new engine because in USA, it was used since the previous facelift. In Malaysia, it costs a bomb at RM183K. You have to be rich and dumb to follow the crowd and spend your 183K for a Toyota membership. Stripped away those ugly wood and chrome appliques, all the new Camry don’t have the MOST BOG-STANDARD safety requirement in the developed countries. No ABS, No VSC+Traction Control, No Side+Curtain Airbags and No ISOFIX.
    Well clearly, UMW is saving cost at the risk of your life! Like my parents, they don’t know anything about VSC or ABS. To them, big car=safe car.
    Globally, Toyota sells quality cars, but in Malaysia, things just get worse!

• Suddenly i feel that opting for Optima will gives more value for my money in comparison to the new camry…

• gracke on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:21 pm

Everybody hang on……..! Better take Suzuki Kizashi, it’s more money save with such price if still prefer ‘wasabi’ brand.

Either go for the fabulous Ford Mondeo 2.0 Ecoooboooost, best in handling and performance and even chassis suspension, top notch quality, or the Volkswagen PASSAT which is also very tough and solid car and it’s famous turbocharge engine with it’s fastest transmission in the planet, DSG gearbox!!!

last but not least…….be patient drivers…wait for the Volvo V40 too. Oooooh…favorite!!!

• Bongcs on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:23 pm

“Pandai-pandai tupai melompat, akhirnya jatuh ke tanah juga”
    Nothing last forever, and no one will be the champion forever.

• I think shouldn’t be any problem for vw become world no. 1 in 2018, VW can easily grab over Toyota market share if Toyota still keep old technology engine in their new model car.. However, Toyota will get BMW engine in year 2014, meaning to say don’t buy Toyota until they use new engine in their new car as current engines in this model was the same old engine used 10 years ago.. Think twice before you buy..

• FatBear on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:40 pm

2.5 lit, moving into Lexus territory…..not bad….except like many earlier comments….4 spd etc…..great corporate look.

• rally_fan on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:06 am

engine size has nothing to do with segments nowadays.. there has always been a 3.0 litre camry on offer in overseas markets for many many many years, but it does not compete with lexus.

• Leong on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:09 am

I will choose Kia Optima K5, immediate I can save RM20k compared to Camry 2.0G Spec. Optima K5 spec confirm much much better than Camry 2.0G and much much stylish + 5 years warranty. Quality issue wise? I think every brand will have quality issue. Buying new car sometime need a bit of luck as well.

Reselling value? after 3 years maybe my K5 will left only 100K, and maybe compared to Camry 2.0G still have 120K. Dont forget I bought K5 at RM140K and Camry 2.0G and 160K

Means K5 I lose 140K-100K = 40K
      and Camry 2.0G lose 160K-120K = 40K

From the calculation K5 lose 40% after 3 years and Camry 2.0G lose 25% after 3 years. But eventually the total lose amount is almost the same. Am I correct?

So any expert in maths can corret me if i make any mistake in the calculation and assumption.

• vincent on Apr 04, 2012 at 10:14 am

Not to mention you need to factor in the interest, as most of us don’t buy a car with cash.

• Statistician on Apr 04, 2012 at 10:40 am

The is a piece of shitty crap calculation,
        140k to 100 k is equal to a 40% depreciation?! Siapa Lu punya matematik guru?
        Lu tipu gua tak pernah makan durian ah ?

That why lots stupid fools choose Korean products !

• Actuarist on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:13 am

Hey Mr Statistician,

Didn’t your statistics background teaches you that the confidence interval of 95% should represent the +-5% standard deviation using gamma distribution (With the errors calculated at 0.063% using white’s test for heteroskedasticity) that korean cars have better quality in the recent years in accordance to which distribution tables you are using. Judging from your comment you are using the sample of 10 years circa 1990’s and that is what your mind is portraying now, Old Men ! =) And i bet that you have not sampled (Sorry, what i meant is test drive just in case you are a fake statistician) these cars before commenting. You did not prove empirically before judging one’s sample.. Faker! Sapa lu punya guru tadika matematik?

Leong just wanna show a simple yet plausible trending and you brag yourself as a statistician looking down on people. He is just trying to show “Children” like you to understand the logic of “What If”. It makes me wonder sometime , what an “Anomaly”you are being a young fella with the mind set of an old Men

Just my 24.746587878 cents generated via Monte Carlo Method =)

• Nerd

• Khusyairi on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:29 pm

Assumption K5 lose 140K-100K = 40K
            and Camry 2.0G lose 160K-120K = 40K
            in 3 years.

If Camry lose 40K from 160K= 25% depreciation
            then K5 lose 40K from 140K, it should be 28.57% of depreciation, not 40%.

• DArkerMarker on Apr 04, 2012 at 12:00 am

unker and anties juuuuuuuuust love Camry……..

• Mr Hukaka on Apr 04, 2012 at 12:06 am

too expensive,
    i will go for Hyundai or KIA .nowadays the Korean car maker it’s the world 3rd
    largest so it has been proven many people buying Korean cars.
    so see when will change to worlds no 1,but Toyota this move i believe it will coming SOON.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Apr 04, 2012 at 10:19 am

Again my theory proven driving or dreaming a Korean Junk Car make you become “STUPID” Hyundai 3rd largest car maker :-) :-) :-)

Check you fact first lah “IDIOT”

You Junk is still at 5th spot, guess what South Korea Auto Market is shrinking, as they are going into economies difficuties. ;-)

• Rulered on Apr 04, 2012 at 6:49 am

There will probably be a facelifted Camry about 7-12 months down the road with ‘virtual’ 7 speeder and slight price increase. Possibly with the TRD version (depending on sales) as well. Oh ya, and complimentary cheap looking side stickers is also going to be offered.

• Malaysia advertising regulation must amend to reinforce and emphasize on fair trade. In Camry ad should have mandatorily THE COSMETIC CHANGES, old engine and fewer amenities.”

The pricing that made TOYOTA SA embarrassed

• ahmadfaris93 on Apr 04, 2012 at 8:38 am

FAT price for a FAT car for the 2.5V . I prefer the Passat , Sonata , Optima and 508. The Camry will always look like an uncle car to me.

• My feel on this new coming camry 2.0 :

The history may be repeating ie the pre facelift owner may be regretting when Toyota introduce the faceilft model 2-3 years later.

Just think back about the current Altis when it was launched in year 2008 with old VVTi engined and mated with 4 speed gearbox. With the lousy sales and after so call clearing the left over engine, Toyota finally do a big change by launching the facelift Altis with dual VVTi engines and CVT gearbox.

Just see what would happen 2-3 years later …… Got few freinds who own pre-facelift Altis fely cheated after UMW launched the facelift model …….

• What’s the point of having Lexus inspired design of interior n exterior n having toyota technology …Toyota is cater for ppl’s car n Lexus is for upscale market …If u mix them , the car goes imbalance ..It’s like Toyota convincing Malaysian to judge the book by it’s cover. . The cheapest US version Toyota Camry L got at least 6 speed gearbox (2.5 L) n 10 airbags!!!…Dont tell me u cant put at least 5 speed gearbox on a 2.0 L engine …Altis has 7 speed CVT on a 1.8 L engine!!!!!…..number of speed in gearbox does play a part in reducing fuel consumption….check out the new 5 series & 3 series Beemer , they hve 8 speed..why? they wanna reduce fuel consumption ..is that simple…

• WHK9988 on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:17 am

I suggest you all wait for A6 Hybrid or A8 Hybrid which will be duties free

• Car Expert on Apr 04, 2012 at 2:38 pm

Yes you are absolutely right Audi far better than Toyota and you can enjoy duties exemption for Audi A6 hybrid or A8 hybrid because both are below 2000cc

• Camry Crap... on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:41 am

Look like some China made car….. the current model is far most the best….

• Don’t blame Toyota Motor Corporation and Camry.
    Blame the idiot UMW to bring in a car with such an awful spec.
    Current Camry owners might enjoy a better resale value because of these new lousy look and specs Camry.

• DArkerMarker on Apr 04, 2012 at 11:23 am

Not just blaming UMW, but should also blame the buyers for their ill foresight, not knowing they have been (willingly) cheated….

When the no. of buyers reduced, UMW will surely package the Camry better, with more competitive pricing….

Buyers can only blame themselves……for supporting Toyota, and their skyhigh prices of the cars…

• Jaybond on Apr 04, 2012 at 11:32 am

Exterior & Interior – OUTDATED, and nothing much to offer either in terms of car specs. Although the VW Passat looks quite conventional ,at least some of its technologies are at the forefront of the D segment. Indeed, we are going to see an increasing trend of car buyers, shifting to the European & Korean brands!

• Whatever on Apr 04, 2012 at 12:09 pm

Langkawi 90+k ? Well done BN. Pui

• Edwin on Apr 04, 2012 at 12:47 pm

If the buyer dont know any better, this new model will be so extremely good for them. Oohh c’mon UMW, this is just a joke, anyone with that budget can get far more better car from VW, Kia or Suzuki.The last gen Camry was already quite horrible, this is not even a car that you can call new. Dafuq is this shite. People should stop buying Toyota.Well at least people that comes to this site on a hourly basis will know you wont get to screw with their hard earned $$.

• ToyotaPJ on Apr 04, 2012 at 1:01 pm

Hello ppl, you have to see the car in person to appreciate the Quality and Reliabilty of the new Camry. The car is solid and reliable with that price you have no worries about the car at all. Smooth and premium looks what else can you ask for ppl ? I know the price increase abit, but the strong Yen is out of our control..ma so have to increase abit hope the comsumer can understand, the negative views i read so far is a bit over the top..la maybe from competitiors i dont know..la, anyway, you can come to our show room to test for your self to enjoy the Toyota Quality and service ! Thks.

• glazee on Apr 04, 2012 at 2:31 pm

You mentioned 2 points here, quality and reliability.

1) Quality
      With the price of 183k, we can compare with Passat (cheaper), P508(much cheaper) and Ford Mondeo. I don’t think Camry quality is able to match with the contis.

Secondly, people are coming with minimum of 6 airbags, how about the Camry with only 4? (not to mention about the 2.0L version is even worst)

2) Reliability
      Yes I do agree Camry reliability is good but to retain a 10 year old technology just for it’s reliability purpose is not able to convince your potential buyer. If 10 years ago you earn 5k and it is highest among your friends (competitor), you are great. But after 10 years you are still earning 5k, I can tell you, you seriously failed and your friends are doing better than you now!

You may ignore my comment, but atleast you have lost one customer here. Maybe you don’t mind since you have a lot more potential buyers. It’s up to you to listen or not…just my 2 cents anyway.

• waterman on Apr 05, 2012 at 5:25 pm

he is just a SA, nothing much he can do, he can only “adoi~ how to sell this car?!”
        the toyota management has the problem, will they bother to check the online discussion? no… they just think they are smart, playing golf and drinking wine.

they will only be awake when the sales drop and shout to those pity SA and being force to sell a much less interesting all brand new camry.

the boss will be shock and he think he’ll still making money like before but in fact… you continue it~ LOL

• meteoraniac on Apr 04, 2012 at 1:19 pm

I’m guessing the toyota salesman need not go for another new product briefing since its the same old bloody car!!! they could just tell customers: “u see existing camry on the road, our new car same same, only styling different, sweee boh?”

• Toyota puzzles me on Apr 05, 2012 at 2:52 pm

Yeah, I booked a Camry (yes, I am stupid enough to buy the Camry, but that’s for another day) and I asked what specs etc. All I got is “same lah, same lah”. Salesguy is Eric Chan from UMW Ipoh Jln Kuala Kangsar.

• Jumbo on Apr 04, 2012 at 1:33 pm

Well, having owned a TOYOTA prior to this, I can safely say, I will steer clear of this brand for a while. They surely know how to down-spec their car to maximize their profits. Not to mention, their sales advisors tend to be arrogant since buyers come to them, ready to lay booking. Those were the days. Service centre..fuh..I can say bad service to the core!

Carbuyers nowadays know better than to just blindly put a booking. We shop around for the best deal in town, best spec, best bang for their buck!

4-speed gearbox? Outdated engine? C’mon, we now have 6-speeders and 7-speeders, way more advance tech to contend with. Do you think informed buyers will go anywhere near this Camry? UMWT should really be taught a lesson!

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Apr 04, 2012 at 3:04 pm

If someone just woke up from a coma yesterday and read the comments on this page, one would think that Toyota is in serious problem. However, I hasten a guess that the majority here aren’t Camry owners and won’t be buying a D-seg sedan any time soon. The reality on the ground is a lot different from the sentiments here. Toyota been dishing out really mundane products for the longest of times – Vios, Hilux, Corolla, you name it. Yet there are no lack of buyers, this is the truth, whether you like it or not. Why? Normal folks value reliability, brand image, resale value over exciting features that they never use. As long as the car starts every morning, is comfortable to ride in, gives them a secure feeling and pride in the brand, that’s what matters. Not everyone is an enthusiast.

• Fred Chan on Apr 04, 2012 at 5:07 pm

With the younger generation with exposure to IT and social media, moving into the higher income bracket and replacing the older generation, which have enough means to buy D segment sedan, I can tell you UMW sales will drop steadily. They will still have business, but a drop is confirmed if they continue with these kind stupid specs. I’ve witnessed 2 real life examples where 2 individuals, brought up to believe Toyota for its brand, resale value and reliability, switched to the Sonata and K5, when they moved into the higher income bracket, (management). Why? I asked them. They told me, it’s because the specs are way better, design are way better, and because they’re of the newer generation, they are ok to sacrifice abit on the resale value and take a gamble on the reliability on the cars they really like.

• dreaming of maserati on Apr 04, 2012 at 6:01 pm

i think you need to be corrected here. normal folks are either too busy or lazy to go do research and comparison / multiple test drives before buying cars. hence toyolta can take advantage of that situation.

but the baby boomers are aging and therefore this group is shrinking. new gen-x and gen-y people who are more internet savvy will do some basic research and will opt for either conti if they want prestige or korean if they want value. the japs current line of products are outdated, poor safety, poorly designed and cost-cutting are not favorable to them. it will take some time of the effect to be felt.

• Dr Mamak on Apr 04, 2012 at 4:43 pm

Better buy the current Camry model now before it’s too late!

• Resale value Resale value Resale value…that was the words coming our from the SA from toyota and honda.

claiming their brand have the highest resale value of ALL.
    and also from the used car dealer (Always toyota n honda ESPECIALLY when u wanna buy car from them.

.but when u wanna trade in your car – T&H brand to them..there will be no RESALE VALUE..just..”sekarang ekonomi myk teruk..wa tak bleh angkat lu punya kereta mahal2″..”Ini innova myk kuat myk..org tak mau beli” “Ini corolla spare part mahai..org tak ramai guna”..

ok ok..enough with the ranting..i own A honda integra /proton satria neo/ and family ride a citra…

when i wanna purchase the citra..seems like many fren n relatives will said it will be a very bad decision..resale value will DROP..buy a honda or toyota better…is it?

this is what i got after 4 ++years of owning it. ALL figure can be check at the mudah.my.

Honda stream 2007 – NEW price : rm160 000. (roughly – can check at Mudah.my)
    Current value after 4 years – RM 110 000
    Lost – RM 50K

Citra 2007 – New price : RM 70 000 (that time..i still have the brochure)
    Current value after 4 years – RM46 000 (mudah.my)
    Lost – RM 24K

and the SA still talk about RESALE VALUE RESALE VALUE – i feels like wanna bring this print out at show them to their face when they said RESALE VALUE!..SH!T Resale value!.

Off course the comfort and technology between this car are huge…but what we really wanna understand..what RESALE VALUE their are talking about??

do ur homework guys..i might be wrong..

• B18A – From your illustration, let me elaborate …

160,000 new now market price 110,000 so a loss of RM50,000 or 31.25% depreciation
      70,000 new now market price 46,000 so a loss of RM24,000 or 34.28% depreciation

This is based on what you write which I did not counter check, only highlight the correct comparison in terms of % and not absolute amount. Anyway Honda Stream was 3.03% better off than your Citra ….. but what is the real transaction price for your Citra ?
      Asking price RM46,000 probably can sell at RM42,000 and after waiting for months while Honda Stream can sell for RM108,000 with much ease as people don’t mind 2nd hand or re-cond Honda Stream while Citra is because it is cheap

• oligopoli on Apr 05, 2012 at 2:47 pm

if compare percentage, if course citra lost. i prefer amount, in this case. the way i see it, u buy stream more expensive but u lost more too (though the rate is lower).

• Muhammad Habibul Ghulam Nabil on Apr 04, 2012 at 5:31 pm

From what I reading here, a lot of ppl seems to find the all new Camry as bad car. For me it is easy. I like to it because it suited my budget very well and style of modernity and class. Camry is the type of car that can lust longer and pleasing the eyes of the beholder cause the disign is so up to date and full of modernity and high class. You dont feel driving a low class car like others branded. Trust me cos i know Camry cars.

I have listen to someone with bad eksperence wif Korean car (Hyundei). He buy the car around RM90k and after wearing it for 2 years he want to minus it to the 2nd hand car shop. That car shop only take the car RM50k only cos the car is Korean and after sales value is dropped like crazy. So he decided to keep the car until today. Very not good luck for him.

So that is reasond why i trust Camry. Solid and have good after sales valued. Good choise for ppl like me who looking for car that have modernity concept and high class feeling..

• better go for BMW F30 for high class …got no money?..VW Passat looks more elegant and hi class than this camry…

this camry really looks like cheap china made cars…

• glazee on Apr 04, 2012 at 5:57 pm

U may go to VW/Peugeot/Ford showroom to test drive their D-segment and compare it with Camry and the price/specs.

Then you can differentiate which is so called high class and low class…

• lust longer…hoho

• fizzo on Apr 04, 2012 at 5:41 pm

still prefer K5….more features and cheaper….toyota stingy..

• Muhammad Habibul Ghulam Nabil on Apr 04, 2012 at 5:56 pm

No good say like that. u dont like u dont buy la fren. This county is a free county. No body forced you to buy Camry. U liking K5 you buy quiet quiet la.. no need to say other car facttory stingy or what… piece no wars..

• He’s just wanna sharing his point of view ! what’s is the problem?if this car is doing pretty well i think nobody will bash it ! bash it = improve ! anyway this car is super overpriced even without Tax in Langkawi ! 2.5V for 183k can buy a CKD Passat plus extra 12k money,extra performance,extra safety,extra exterior,extra save fuel,extra power,extra pick up and more extra…!

• JoW Leong on Apr 04, 2012 at 7:12 pm

I hate Toyota, the damm Japs killed many M’sian in WW2, say no to Toyota!!!!
    now they are trying to kill M’sians by taking away Proton sales!!! we should support our own make, proud to be M’sia!!!!! Go Proton…. don’t support Perodua either, that’s Toyota in disguise!!!

Chevrolet can also support, USA! USA! USA! they help us to conquer the damm Japs!!!!

• Drift on Apr 04, 2012 at 8:52 pm

What a stupid statement. So support Proton and don’t support the Japs, what about me buying an Inspira? Halo?

• RedBeanBun on Apr 04, 2012 at 10:08 pm

look at the latest Chevy Impala!!

• lets support hyundai n kia, go to eat kimchi instead of sushi,boycott all the jap goods, ie: car,electric,say no to jap!!!, say YES to korea…

• whitesmileman on Apr 04, 2012 at 10:05 pm

I think toyota cars are still ok. Quite solid. Only problem is the after sales service. A few years back UMW lost a customer’s car – got stolen whilst being serviced. So no Toyota because of “mentality” not because of the T brand.

• Just tested VW passat, much better > current camry 2.4!

Not sure the resales value ie 5 years later…. After warranty?

PKR said will review import duty & e/duty if take over PutraJaya! Got hope if postpone to buy now?

• prestigious25 on Apr 04, 2012 at 10:28 pm

Design not much different compared to previous one. Toyota’s designer should make it a bit different. Try to compare others brand in design. Surely boost up the sales.
    This time for me, I will mark as ‘unlike’..Honestly, previously model is better.
    I will choose others brand in better design and sporting…like VW passat…price not much different…

Think about it …Toyota teams ..

• eva31s on Apr 04, 2012 at 11:14 pm

UMV suppose to be the smartest in marketing and sales strategy….
    But this time, the sales will surely drop a lot for this “new camry”

• Nuffsaid on Apr 04, 2012 at 11:56 pm

Ok, all potential D-segment new car shoppers with RM150-180k budget, please calm down and stop the bushing. Just look at the bright side for having this coming all new Camry with their hideous specs.

1) At least you now can remove the Camry from your shopping list. One less showroom to go and one less test drive to take.
    2) Whatever brand D-segment new car you will be driving, at least you know your car will have either more gear speed, more airbags, longer warranty, greater power, better saftety aids, free services, better styling, more sophisticated infotainment system and at least a moon roof to enjoy when you drive pass a new Camry.
    3) Theoritically, if you are crusing at the same speed as the new Camry in front of you on the highway, you should reach your destination more economically and probably sooner too since you do not need to stop for gas as frequently.
    4) While previous Camry models traditionally retained higher resale value, it would probably not really that case for this particular model few years later. The reason is there will probably be less of this model in the market and a tremendous increment of other makes like Mondeo, Passat, Mazda 6, K5, Sonata and so on.

We should cheer UMW for making our new D-segment car selection and shopping hell a lot easier!

• former-Camry on Apr 05, 2012 at 7:47 am

Last longer? Even Toyota number plate turns yellow the fastest compared to any other brand on the road. Used to own to current Camry, many parts need to replace after 150,000km of usage. Now changed to 2nd hand Mercedes E. Cheaper than new Camry, much much better built, power and comfort, and i believe it’ll last longer than the Camry. U have to drive a conti in order to understand and appreciate quality.

New Camry buyers should try out conti, such as VW Passat, before they decide since the prices are about the same.

• Ming Siew on Apr 05, 2012 at 11:25 am

I think the car plate quality got nothing to do with toyota since it is actually made by third party.. haha, why so many people are shooting toyota for funny reasons..

but frankly speaking, this new camry looks very ugly..haha

• Regina Shwartz on Apr 05, 2012 at 8:06 am

Wow… seriously, did they let the Alphard team design this Camry? It’s so horrendously ugly =(

• Aztech on Apr 05, 2012 at 11:42 am

Don’t worry, UMW wants to beat SAGA by maintaining the same engine/ powertrain for more than 20 years.. At least SAGA changed from Orion to Magma to Megavalve. For me, I rather buy recond Toyota, at least the technologies are more advance. God work UMW. How about coming up with the “New Corolla KE70 TRD spec”?

• drchan on Apr 05, 2012 at 1:04 pm

I’m sorry Toyota but I will definately advise and educate my uncles and auntie relatives and friends NOT to buy this crappy metal anymore!! And I hope you guys here will do the same!! Like my comment guys!!

• Toyota puzzles me on Apr 05, 2012 at 2:42 pm

1.8TSI 0-100 in 8.5secs
    7-speed DSG
    234/45 R17
    Touch screen audio, 6-disc changer with 8 speakers
    Tyre pressure monitoring system
    Bi-xenon with LED lights
    6 airbags
    Electronic differential lock, electronic stability program and traction control
    All German parts, assembled in Malaysia – RM170,888 before insurance

The person at UMW / Toyota who thought of coming up with the crappy specs in the Camry should be fired. The Camry’s fate is sealed. Seriously.

• ToyotaPj on Apr 06, 2012 at 12:09 am

Hi I think by now everyone have seen the new Camry in the newspaper, wow..everyone must be excited right ! Potential buyers welcome to our showrooms to see the new Camry don’t worry we are pretty sure you wouldn’t regret buying it. I have many buyers waiting to buy already so don’t wait too long if u want fast delivery. The views here are so negative I don’t think they know the real quality this car offers, resale value high, quality high, reliability , very handsome car (chick magnet I will describe it) and higher price I know but with that got face abit u know not some copycat car like china or some korea . Toyota is a big company with massive profits don’t worry we tutup kedai or not spare parts. Save and reliable that u can enjoy buying Toyota ! So don’t wait , ppl are lining up like buying iPhone !

• current Toyota = current Iphone? May be yes or no

Just wish future Toyota not equal to current Nokia

• Toyota puzzles me on Apr 06, 2012 at 11:49 am

Well, if you look at this Camry. Toyota is already the next Nokia!

Nokia Camry!

• chick magnet? i guess ur terms of chicks is – fat aunties whos husband just ran away!

• To those still buying the Toyota sales tactics. Carry on living in your fantasy world of Toyota. And Camry sales like IPhone? Dream on! Chick magnet? Maybe those who wish to attract aunties and ‘Pak Ku Chicks’, will consider buying this uncle design model. As for the rest of us, we have better choices of vehicles out there which are more worthy of our cash and attention. Just don’t get it why are there still consumers out there supporting car makers that short change their customers?????? Emmmmm….. Stubbornness maybe, or just too afraid to make a change. Cheers!

• OPPRESSED MALAYSIAN on Apr 06, 2012 at 5:45 pm

Proton Preve RM 62-75k – WITH ESP TRACTION CONTROL
    Camry 2012 RM 160-183k – NO ESP TRACTION CONTROL.

Cost 100k more, what can you do with this cash

1. If you want to bling bling like Kardashions you can easily buy Husband x 2 Rolexes + Wife x 2 Rolexes. Ya just like Phua Chu Kang – wear on both hands when you are out jalan jalan. Same to your wife. Try to pick your nose with both hands, surely with Rolexes on your wrists! Synchronize this ugly act with your spouse!

2. Buy a few expensive Hermes handbags

3. You can have your very own BR1M (Bantuan Rakyat 1 Malaysia) maybe RM 100 x 1,000 poor fellow rakyat. 1,000 people will be grateful to you for rest of life. Inform the press media. Or hand over to UMW!

4. Buy the latest Ipad RM 1,499 x 66 units. Fix all 5 units on your Preve. One for each pax. Remaining units on your house – one on every toilets, rooms, living rooms, dining, kitchen then invite Chef Wan, Martha Stewart, any chef Anthony Bordain etc. Still with unused IPads, leave them in every restaurants that you frequent. Use them when you are there. In case you forget to bring yours on your dining out.

I know we can’t compare a Proton with Toyota’s highest product range but Toyota specs are so low I have no choice to bring them to Proton.

Read & Chill Without prejudice!

• Y Not Use For My Self on Dec 04, 2012 at 1:47 am

Oppressed M’sian… U are Damn funny but also right!

As for me, instead giving my bloody 100k to UMW(Ular Makan Wang). I’ll bring it to Russia and to bang as many hot chicks as I like.

Giving this $$$$$$ to them is like giving them ogasm. LOL

• no a nice car

• Vios owner on Apr 07, 2012 at 10:33 pm

I owned a 3year old vios…i planned to change to camry since end of last year.But toyota SA advice me to wait for new camry….really dissapointed…..2.0 engine with really basic spec…i regret didnt buy the old model…so now im looking at other brand.maybe VW or mazda… Hm…..

• Vios owner on Apr 07, 2012 at 11:30 pm

Im a 3year old vios owner…Planning to buy new camry since last year by hoping the new model are more sophisticated and canggih…but at the end only 4gear?my vios can tapao 2.0 or not? Em……

CKD but more expensive…very shocking.Atleast maintain old price and spec…now need to look for other car like wolkswagen passat or mazda6…

• unbelievable on new Camry. as if Toyota made a bet with some companies that it can still sell cars without new engine/transmissions or TSC. and the best part is this car will outsell the other more advance cars. Real Shame! all the uncle/aunties/(dumb youngsters) care is the bloody C-A-M-R-Y name! damn it looks like a modified Thailand car! common la a car is just not from point A to B. it needs a soul. this car is a floating ship i can assure you.

Malaysians shd have the courage on trying this other conti cars. it comes in real good specs,reasonable prices,handles way better and its safer too with all this electronic control stuff. SECOND HAND value is not the only reason for choosing a car! BE BRAVE!

• Guys, are you guys aware Samsung has wholly bought over Sony LCD division?

so Japanese trend is going down. Even u do not look at the automotive division, look at the electronic stuff, sony, mitsubishi etc is not as innovative as before. So the Korean trend is coming up.

Same goes to car maker like honda, nissan, and the famouse toyota. the incoming camry is really outdated with its design. overprice unit with old tech, 4 speeder etc.. yet it is CKD already with price hike up but spec remain low. current CBU camry is better i can say.

No wonder UMW earn so much, one of my fren work in UMW get 9 months bonus, can u imagine

• Camry Owner on Apr 20, 2012 at 12:45 am

Menyesal aku beli Camry… harga 160K dapat 2 biji air bag jer… radio takleh pakai dvd..
    baik aku beli kia forte dapat 6 biji air bag

• fraz006 on May 21, 2012 at 12:56 pm

well… boring… why my colleagues all say new camry damn nice looking?

i prefer my black inspira 2.0 exec. more masculinity.

• yugines on Jul 06, 2012 at 3:09 pm

this so nice my father also use camry 2004 year

• yugines on Jul 06, 2012 at 3:12 pm

in kereta saya manye suka semua orang cakap ini kerata manye cantik

• chipsmoregurl shalu II on Jul 14, 2012 at 8:29 pm

this car most beautiful…tiz car oso my future car n my dream car..