Volkswagen Scirocco gets minor upgrades and a price cut

Click to enlarge.

The Volkswagen Scirocco, in the UK at least, is getting a refreshing splash to the exterior as well as the interior.

All models in the range now comes with RNS 315 touch screen sat-nav, multi-function steering wheel and 17” ‘Long Beach’ alloys while the Adaptive Chassis Control (ACC) now becomes optional. The entry-level ‘Roc, which enjoys the upgrades, also will have its price cut between £420 and £600, depending on the engine.

The Scirocco in GT trim will be decked out Nappa leather upholstery and heated front seats. Now standard with the GT trim are the ACC, 2-zone climate control, front fog lights, heat-insulating tinted glass from the B-pillars back and 18” ‘Interlagos’ alloy wheels.

A step up from the GT is the R Line, which gets a new bodykit and 19” ‘Lugano’ alloys. Inside, the car comes with Nappa leather R Line sport seats and chrome pedal covers.

There are no changes to the engine and transmission. But hey, if it isn’t broken, why fix it?

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• RadzLee on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:12 am

cehhh… i thot this one happens here in malaysia… the title kinda gave ppl false hope =/

• Lolx agree and i think VW M’sia should bring the cheapest version of VW Scirocco 1.4 122PS to M’sia and remove the 160ps version so some ppl can afford it and will increase the sell of VW ! VW why not ?

• You have to understand, our Chris Ng here is an Ad man, he knows how to grab people’s attention. Now I am just one of those viewers being tricked into thinking that VW msia slashed price for scirocco :( oh well

• In msia the price is close to the golf r, in uk its cheaper than a gti..hw does vw set their pricing?

• yknow on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:02 pm

Demand and supply.

• It’s more expensive in Malaysia because the government charges more tax on certain 2-door hatchbacks.

That’s why I believe it doesn’t make sense to buy a Scirocco in this country – it’s sexy, but you’re really just paying at least RM30,000 more for something that should be cheaper.

• downsys on Apr 03, 2012 at 6:12 pm

But somehow this didn’t happen for the Polo Gti, where the 2 door version is slightly cheaper. Weird is what it is.

• in the UK,the loans have very high interest rate,7.9% n above n the insurance is quite expensive too.u don’t see many people drive a scirocco there though,even in germany i hardly see one.

• nabill on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:00 pm

stil the best looking hatch

• confused on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:44 pm

Still no DRL?

• nusantara on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:23 pm

What about it? Will U buy it if it has DRL?

• confused on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:35 pm

It’s not about wanna buy or not. Since all new VW comes with DRL, so this FL should come with la.. Should look nicer with DRL like the new Golf, new Polo, new Passat etc…Aiyoo… Ape punye kolot pemikiran daa…

• scirocco always have DRL laa,it’s just not LED DRL,if u see the headlights( bi-xenon) are the ones on the left while the DRL is on the right. DRL is a standard in europe,all cars must be equip

• fadzilkpopcars on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:11 pm

if this happen in malaysia, the head of marketing will get his head chopped off and squash off into many pieces, this is not we learn in school of business???!!! upgrade accessories means accrued cost, but why in the F@*#kin hell do they go the opposite and sell it cheaper?? where do they got these people? from the streets? are these british people are dumb F@*#k????

• Go ask the Britons themselves. Why bark here?

• Just Another Dude.. on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:46 pm

true. you only learn such a simpleton logic in malaysian business school. real businessmen know, price cut + add accessories = add more value = increase market competitiveness.. as long as they’re not sold at a loss.

they can be sold at a loss, it is called loss leader, but that topic is for another class session! *roll_eyes*

• Obviously you have no idea about the car business.

• mat saleh always get the best deal :(

• fuel car prices on Apr 03, 2012 at 4:26 pm

it’s sad, to survive automakers have to slash prices. By contrast, oil makers ironically stress themselves where to store their 6-months bonus money cause fuel price keep on increasing and increasing and increasing (apart from Msia lah, fuel prices subsidised). Is there a logic to this?

• Jack Leong on Apr 03, 2012 at 5:49 pm

Reminds me of this song by Nelly:

I was thinking about her
    Thinking bout me
    Thinkin bout us (us)
    What we gonna be?
    Open my eyes, (Yeah)
    it was only just a dream…

• Keyboard Warrior on Apr 03, 2012 at 5:57 pm

A car that Rocs..
    ROCCO

• Joe80 on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:18 pm

I’m hoping for Opel Malaysia to bring in Opel Astra Opc.. Superb car!

• driver on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:54 pm

Chris last question: “if it isn’t broken, why fix it?”
    I’d say: “There’s always room for improvement..”

cheers.

• can anyone tell me is Scirocco and Megane are really sports car or just hot hatch???

• Stock Scirocco is definitely not a sports car. The 210ps one qualifies as a hot hatch, the 160ps one is just a normal hatch that performs better than most – just like the Golf TSI.

• limlaupeh on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:15 pm

from this news…straight away all the smart people will go to the VW showroom and ask ‘when is the facelifted Scirocco going to be launched in Msia’…
    never mind this is a piece of UK news for UK market only.

Right??

• i am interested in the VW Scirroco but roads in Sabah is quite bad. VW have only 1 showroom in Sabah……may be I should buy Tiguan instead……