Daihatsu Copen says farewell, after a decade-long run

Daihatsu is set to end production of its Copen in August, bringing a 10-year run to a close. The Copen, which made its debut in 2002 and won a Good Design Award that same year, is currently the only convertible minicar in the Japanese market; the likes of Honda and Suzuki ended production of their own mini convertibles years ago.

In its current guise, specs for the 660 cc roadster include output figures of 64 PS at 6,000 rpm and 110 Nm at 3,200 rpm, with five-speed manual and four-speed auto transmission options available.

According to reports, the company said it was pulling the plug on the open-top offering because of poor sales in recent times. Sales in Japan hit a peak in 2003, with 11,000 cars sold, but the car never really caught on. By 2011, only 2,000 vehicles were shifted, and total production volume has only been around 56,000 units.

The company is saying goodbye to the Copen with a 10th-anniversary special edition version later this year, of which it aims to sell 500 units of – the variant is set to feature commemorative scuff plates and leather seats, among other kit.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Alexandra.Usodinov on Apr 04, 2012 at 12:18 pm

very nice design. jus need a more powerful engine to attract more buyers. maybe the s2000 engine.

• Alpha on Apr 04, 2012 at 6:05 pm

This car is not in the same category as an S2000.The old competitor for this car would be the Honda Beat.It’s for city driving mostly.And it’s also considered a K-car.

• linear_system on Apr 05, 2012 at 2:03 pm

Why no one complaint of the name copen is not japanese??

• snaz1 go on Apr 04, 2012 at 12:33 pm

perodua can rebadge this …..rm50k, instant win

• laluan sehala on Apr 04, 2012 at 1:09 pm

Yup. Then add in a 1.3 turbo like they have for their limited edition. The engine is from the YRV turbo I think. Even at RM60k, it could be a strong seller!

• goodbye on Apr 04, 2012 at 12:41 pm

Perodua pls rebadge this…add in the ‘lagi best 1.5 engine’ at least(malaysian style of driving especially girls…keep stepping the throttle even though the car couldn’t cope with the aggresiveness) …will be good for normal city driving….since perodua is very good in restyling….this car is quite practical too since having a big boot space with only 2 seats(most of the ppl in malaysia drive their car alone…wasting the 4-5 seating capacity…and malaysian aren’t those who go for performance….they just like to step on the pedal that’s all…can say 80% and above go for the look…then practicality
    Make more beautiful car cruising on malaysia street than filing it with old dirty cars…

• MoFaz on Apr 04, 2012 at 1:44 pm

big boot space you say? no, the space will be occupied by the roof when you drive top-down…

• goodbye on Apr 04, 2012 at 3:25 pm

no….the roof space takes only 1/3 of the boot space…i once opened it’s boot while i was in japan daihatsu showroom and the boot is still big after the roof being drop-in.

• ThePolygon on Apr 05, 2012 at 10:02 pm

I think we better get the hardtop if ever rebadge in M’sia. You know how the rain comes suddenly and how the exhaust from the local bus is.

• Glee power on Apr 04, 2012 at 12:50 pm

Goodbye…the world just lost something unique

• kuncisudu on Apr 04, 2012 at 12:52 pm

revive this as myvi, overprice it, malaysian will buy=profit.

• farghmee on Apr 04, 2012 at 1:07 pm

perodua bawak masuk ini model.
    reskin kasi nmpk cm audi tt.
    mesti laku punya :)

• nice car. hope they make a replacement of perhaps 1.0 or 1.3 with turbo. again, the emphasis should be affordability.

• bmpower on Apr 04, 2012 at 1:23 pm

I wish they can sell it in malaysia..

I mean, they should sell it at malaysia.. everything Daihatsu (and toyota) will sell well in here even not sell well in Japan. :D

Believe me!

• Johnson baby powder on Apr 04, 2012 at 2:24 pm

This car sure attract more attentions when parked beside a F430 lol. Recond now how much? hell of a collector item!

• Shahrul on Apr 04, 2012 at 2:48 pm

The end of a budget convertible :P

• OilChange on Apr 04, 2012 at 2:50 pm

nobody cares…. most people never heard of this model….

• interested on Apr 04, 2012 at 3:18 pm

perodua have to rebadge this model to bring new spice to their models

• dogbert on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:17 pm

Perodua … 50K and you have my deposit instantly.

• cutester on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:42 am

Didn’t see this car in Malaysia and now suddenly says farewell. Miss you cutie Copen. sob…sob….

• likehondanotsomuch on Apr 05, 2012 at 1:42 am

thats a good design car,,,only that the power makes people running away.

• Leonardo on Apr 05, 2012 at 8:19 am

Now Perodua can bring the molds and dies to Malaysia and make it locally at half the cost! They can call it Propen (Perodua Open) ala Copen, or ProCar (Perodua Cabrio). Anyone from Perodua management listening? The current line of Perodua cars in Malaysia is BORING!

• confused on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:36 pm

If P2 rebadge this, people will go banana saying:
    “WTFFFF old model also wanna rebadge!!”
    “Shame on P2, only got leftover and backdated design/tech from unker Toybota!!!”
    “Shitty car for mesia.. Meh..”

If P2 doesn’t have plan to rebadge this:
    “Plzz P2, rebadge this. You confirm rebadge I’ll pay deposit NOW”
    “This is going to be the best P2 yet!! Yehuu..!”
    “Common P2! I dare you to rebadge this!”

Fak’ed up people is fak’ed up…