Proton Preve is the official name for the P3-21A!

Click the image above for an enlarged view of the slide

Proton has officially announced that the P3-21A’s name is the Proton Preve. According to Proton, the word Preve is pronounced ‘prae-veh’, which means “to prove ” (a point).

According to Proton Holdings Berhad group managing director Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin, the name is in line with Proton’s vision to prove the car is a global car with global standards. Now we can all stop calling it the P3-21A!

The Proton Preve name was previously leaked onto online forums and blog comments, and we began to suspect that the name was in fact Preve when we noticed protonpreve.com and protonpreve.com.my had been registered by Proton’s web agency Tribal DDB.

Then what appeared to be art for marketing leaflets and etc started to appear on the internet with the name Proton Preve on it, and we even saw the listing of an iOS app with augmented reality features appear with the name Proton Preve on it. Finally, photos of a red Proton Preve test drive car were leaked online.

Follow all our Preve coverage at our Proton Preve category index.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hway de Cruz on Apr 04, 2012 at 3:56 pm

let’s see the official launch n chk out the specs… no comments on the car as yet, until the test drive taken. for the name, personally i dun like it, not dynamic enuf

• RON97 on Apr 04, 2012 at 5:34 pm

yeahh….still wonder what kind people buy proton cars
      engine – zero
      drivetrain – zero
      technology – zero
      accessories/gadget – zero
      interior – zero

• autojohndoe on Apr 04, 2012 at 5:47 pm

surely you dont read previous post of P3-21A topic…

it is your knowledge about this model that is – ZERO…

• kimi_ on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:35 am

It is better if it named as Proton Pathetic …..

• Proton on Apr 05, 2012 at 9:20 am

People buy proton because they can’t afford any other cars, that’s a truth, it’s the cheapest car available in Malaysia although it’s still farking expensive. Stop bashing the car, if you can afford some better cars then go ahead, there are people who need a car in Malaysia (because public transport sucks) and the only car manufacturer that’s available within their budget is a proton.

• atnamwolley on Apr 05, 2012 at 11:26 am

Not bashing the car but have you wondered why Proton is ‘the cheapest car available in Malaysia although still farking expensive’? And why is it ‘the only car manufacturer that’s available within their budget’? go figure…..

• if u can afford this car you can afford alot of other makes, no?

• cucukmata on Apr 05, 2012 at 1:04 pm

what a sad poor malaysian story…but being poor still can get a cheaper 2nd hand vios/city/forte/civic/mazda2/etc… why new expensive proton?

• aiyo what a noob, memang lah still can afford cheaper 2nd vios/city/forte..but thats is only the car maa…what happen if the gearbox got prob?your bearing bising2? maintenance still expensive than p1/p2 oi. waranty pun sudah habis..how2? i’m not sayin proton is the best choice or anything , but for a “budget” car, proton is quite decent.

• @awan, remember the new gen2 that had no drive coz the gearbox walaupun baru dah rosak?!
            servicing price i think is comparable between toyota and p2. no need to say but if you can afford to buy car then you must be able to afford the maintenance and insurance, if not after 3 month better let the car kena tarik by the repo man.

• lalok_stylo on Apr 04, 2012 at 6:28 pm

i think u have ZERO brain…….

• awg1031 on Apr 04, 2012 at 6:34 pm

people which is not as “stupid” as you perhaps?

• hater!

• MoFaz on Apr 04, 2012 at 7:19 pm

bad mood ka bang? because RON97 increase 10 sen tonight, right?

• preyah on Apr 04, 2012 at 7:52 pm

Zero people lah. Still don’t know ah?

• Elvis Valentine on Jun 30, 2012 at 2:38 pm

Proton is improving, let’s give them a chance…

• Wahhh Proton haters coming d…
      Spew venom in the toilet bowl la..
      Offer constructive criticism..
      Don’t show ur Jinjang liwat kambing mentality here..
      Why waste time typing Proton Sucks, Proton Pervert, Proton Pundek, Proton Lanjio etc.

Enuf with the I was a Proton owner yakede yak yak then got fed up and bought a new/used Jap car.
      My new/used Jap car is better than Proton. In fact its better than my wife in driving terms just fill up petrol no need to buy fancy gifts just to get a head n some action. Who da fak wants to hear ur boring story mate?

We need to love brand Malaysia more.
      Whether Proton haters fancy it or not this is our National pride.
      Proton belongs to each & all Malaysians for God’s sake.
      If u don’t like Proton don’t tour the globe shouting at others to hate it as well u treasonous snake !

• preyah on Apr 04, 2012 at 7:59 pm

Proton is made in malaysia, yes, but now it is owned by a private citizen, just like you and me. So drop this NATIONALISM bullshit. Any prick from anywhere can take over the company by taking over proton shares or drbhicom shares in the klse.

• Lim Kopi on Apr 05, 2012 at 1:19 am

Agreed, any profitability of Pro-toon goes to all its shareholders, whom happens to be the Malaysian Elite group …. and doesn’t even contribute to the wellbeing of the country, the industry or the rakyat ….

So drop this NATIONALISM bullshit…

And Stop Supporting Pro-toon, they have been a BURDEN FOR 30 FREAKIN YEARS …

• autojohndoe on Apr 05, 2012 at 9:50 am

eh… proton 30 years?

i thought they start at 1985… that is… 27 years…

• Gooogle on Apr 06, 2012 at 5:20 pm

please research 1st or at least use something called ‘google’ before saying or typing something… Proton founded around 1983 & 1st car produced around 1985. So almost 29 year to be exactly.
            p/s: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proton_%28automobile%29

• If the money goes to all the shareholder’s, then why there are still people working with proton? Are they working for free?

• felda on Apr 05, 2012 at 3:03 pm

kau kerja kedai mamak cuci pinggan….”.kedai mamak” tu “kau” punya ke , “mamak” punya?

• fadlee on Apr 05, 2012 at 11:11 am

You really need every reason to bring proton down isnt it? last time someone said gov must sell proton, now it was sold.. these basher now kept twisting the story as if it would benefits crony or whoever the elites might be.. nationalism or not, the importance is it was made by malaysian.. why wouldnt we support malaysian made brand?

FYI the gov wont even abolish tax on imported cars even after proton or perodua is gone.. seriously people? this is reality..

• Love Malaysia but not Proton on Apr 04, 2012 at 10:55 pm

Proton is a private company (most likely own by politicians) now. Now if u buy proton, u are only paying for one of the rims of the many foreign cars (BMW,MERC,AUDI) that the owner of Proton is driving… I dun hate proton but I hate the mechanism that was put in place to protect it and yet now it is own by “someone” instead of the Rakyat. All these years we have been made to believe that buying Proton is Nationalism. Wake guys, your hard earn money is now going directly into somebody’s pocket man.. Protecting Proton ain’t going to benefit the Rakyat anymore. It is only going to fatten ONE man’s piggy bank; the owner. So cut the crap about nationalism.

• felda on Apr 05, 2012 at 10:50 am

In fact they must dismantle this so called” protective taxes’ that they are imposing on any other car. Protect proton for what? Proton is owned by syed mokhtar, a billionaire. It is you and me who need protecting……not the billionaire.
          What right has the goverment got to charge 220k for a BMW 318 when everybody else in the world pays only 75k. Why , we malaysian so bangsat ka? so third class ka we all? Babi punya rules and regulations, I am voting for Pakatan this time.

• Car Driver on Apr 05, 2012 at 11:49 am

Stop saying Proton belongs to each and all Malaysians. This is not true at all. I do not own Proton at all. It is only owned by a certain individuals still controlling the company.
        Proton is now getting more expensive. It is like a DICTATOR in the car industry. Used to Monopolize the 30K to 50K car market by force.
        But now found that this is no longer lucrative and proftable anymore and now want to monoplize the 70K to 90K market by force.
        This is not good for the general Malaysian consumer at all as New Cars in Malaysia are getting more expensive and we are not getting our money’s worth and the quality we want.
        The Malaysian new car prices are increasing just like the price of oil.

• nazgul on Apr 04, 2012 at 4:04 pm

PUTRAJAYA 4 April – Model baru kereta nasional, Proton Preve berenjin 1.6 liter akan ditawarkan dalam tiga varian berharga antara RM62,000 dan RM75,000 mulai 16 April ini.

Pengarah Urusan Proton, Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Syed Mohd. Tahir berkata, nama Proton Preve dipilih adalah dari perkataan Inggeris “proof” (bukti) dan “to prove” (untuk membuktikan).

Katanya, Preve yang disebut “prey-vey” adalah seiring dengan hasrat Proton untuk mencapai pasaran global dengan nama antarabangsa tersebut.

Menurutnya, tiga varian itu terdiri daripada model menggunakan transmisi manual lima kelajuan dan automatik tujuh kelajuan.

“Proton Preve akan dilancarkan pada 16 April ini oleh Perdana Menteri, Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak,” katanya kepada pemberita pada acara pandu-uji kereta tersebut, di sini hari ini. – UTUSAN

12 days to go…

• Frodo on Apr 04, 2012 at 4:17 pm

what are you trying to “Prove”

• alldisc on Apr 05, 2012 at 11:56 am

they want to prove their commitment…. ah! i also just know.

i tot they want to show their capabilities… that one everybody know already.

• nazgul on Apr 04, 2012 at 4:28 pm

paul…did u get the test drive invitation now at maritime centre putrajaya?…if yes, how fast can we expect the test drive review…

• DahTakProton on Apr 04, 2012 at 5:12 pm

Free weh… eh!..mana free, mahal ni…

• felda on Apr 04, 2012 at 8:04 pm

32 ribu sudah lah. Rakyat tengah susah ni.

• Since the PM likes the 1 Malaysia so much, might as well name this Proton 1 Malaysia. We already have Gas tong 1 Malaysia, why not Proton 1 Malaysia? Make everything 1 Malaysia la…

• sosahhh nak sebot..

• Kamu taip perkataan “susah” pun salah. Kalau sebut lagilah salah. (Gurau jer)

• Setiapaduka on Apr 04, 2012 at 4:08 pm

Sounds like ‘Prebet’ (Private) sapu..illegal taxi..Go Proton.

• fadhli on Apr 04, 2012 at 4:17 pm

hah…told ya its prea-veh not pree-vee or else…

• OMG….Pls lah P1 MD…no need explain the meaning of this “Preve” …it just can be prove by “QUALITY”….1 to become Global car not just depend on name only lah….Name the car as easy to pronounce and remember. OK.

• mizzuddin945 on Apr 04, 2012 at 4:17 pm

wonder how well it will fare

• hampeh on Apr 04, 2012 at 4:23 pm

BRAVO, PROTON! JUST WANT TO GO GLOBAL. THERE ARE NO MORE MALAYSIAN NAMES FOR NATIONAL CARS!

• theanswer on Apr 04, 2012 at 5:17 pm

too bad actually. proton dont have any histroy for their car..except for saga and satria. they should follow corolla,civic or golf. the model keep changing and improving..but the name is still the same.

• have to start somewhere man…

• PERVEEEEEE on Apr 04, 2012 at 6:06 pm

Proton started 29 years ago, you still wann them to start somewhere !!!!

• proton just need to change their name..change their brand name..like darkie to darlie

• The Enthusiast on Apr 04, 2012 at 5:37 pm

Agree. They can use the current cars with their names, i.e., Satria, Saga, Wira, Persona, all of which have decent names. They just need to improve on those, make them better. Give their cars identity and heritage and that will make a strong brand. Proton has nothing to prove, not unless they themselves have no confidence with their own brand.

• compare on Apr 05, 2012 at 9:36 am

Nissan also always changes the names of their products

• alldisc on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:17 pm

Unlikely, the Sunny to Malaysia was known as Sentra later and Latio now but it has been the same for the past 25 years that Sunny is Sentra and also is Pulsar (and Latio). The name is Sunny is still used in some markets.

why not preve called wira neo? he he its a sign that even though same name but totally new model.

• national car with international name… where is rakyat’s car? Proton have no identity at all…

• autojohndoe on Apr 04, 2012 at 5:49 pm

this is not rakyat’s car la… this is meant for GLOBAL car…

if it is RAKYAT car, ppl say still KAMPUNG one…

• lame argument, p1 already manufactured plenty of rakyat’s car, saga for best example. LOL

• nas-T on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:36 pm

what about saga? not “rakyat” enough for you? waiting for proton to produce a RM1000 priced car then you called “rakyat” car?

• punai on Apr 04, 2012 at 6:12 pm

What a good name……Sure Proton target is GLOBAL because Msian like to condemn non stop. Lets outsider buy and evaluate this car. If this car can be accepted by other market then shame Msian. If we change the logo to T or H sure this car will be accepted by Malaysian.

• focus tdci on Apr 04, 2012 at 4:25 pm

so all those who drive this car will henceforth be known perverts! LOL! really this is too much! ROFLMAO!

• crude on Apr 04, 2012 at 5:09 pm

I am amazed at your level of stupidity sir:)

• frodo on Apr 05, 2012 at 9:53 am

why are you so smart enough?to be so amazed on others stupidity?you are dumb too!

• mustafa on Apr 04, 2012 at 6:30 pm

preve and pervert…so different unless u always making typo mist akes type ….

• Malaysian England like their protons, standards are not so high :D Jeremy clarkson is gonna have field day with this one.

• zaidS on Apr 04, 2012 at 4:31 pm

design menarik tp name kureng skit r huhuhu….

• Glee power on Apr 04, 2012 at 4:35 pm

Global name…but global car or not

• Abdul123 on Apr 04, 2012 at 4:45 pm

A pervert of a car.

• Dartz on Apr 04, 2012 at 4:51 pm

So did you test drive it? When the review? no embargo?

• kantoi on Apr 04, 2012 at 4:58 pm

oh no, pervert car on the loose!!!!

• Ajo Haterz on Apr 04, 2012 at 4:58 pm

Sounds like pervert to me.

I still prefer Tuah rather than this onlyGodknowshowtopronounce name

• salambangi on Apr 04, 2012 at 5:17 pm

It’s time that Proton has to prove that it is a true car manufacturer. It’s a daunting task but it has to go all out. There will always be Proton -bashers and it has to accept that fact. These people are congenital bashers of Proton but they are generally good people.

But Proton itself must work hard to prove to Malaysians first that it can produce world class car. Quality should be the main priority for Proton. Public relations would certainly help but only to certain extent only. We Malaysians will buy protons when we know that the products are of quality.

All the best to Proton

• kuriang on Apr 04, 2012 at 5:24 pm

kalau kerete bagus letak nama proton itik ke, golf ke, polo ke, guli ke, sepak takraw ke pun xde hal punya.. kalau nama canggih kereta hancus mmmm…. lu fikir la sendiri.. bukan nak kata kat proton ye, apa2 pengeluar la..

• Preve ->> from the word preveNTION
    Preventing tax freedom for quality imported cars!!!

• mister potato on Apr 04, 2012 at 6:03 pm

yes, and it will ironic to see the demise of a company on it’s best effort. More and more Malaysians with 100+k to spend on cars are becoming more disgusted, prevented from quality imports. Honda Civic 1.8 costs 77k in Langkawi and balloons to 116k in Peninsular. People in Langkawi also get petrol subsidy, get free education, subsidized healthcare and everything else that people paying 116k gets from their 39k donations. Wake up!

• hell yeah… let us all move to langkawi instead…

• Gabla on Apr 04, 2012 at 8:01 pm

Why do you need an expensive car in Langkawi anyway? I bet that you can go around the island in less than 1 hour and hardly reach the highway speed limit anyway. Good for them that they can buy cars at a cheaper price but corrosion will always be an issue for them.

• if branding is not your main criteria. i think paying RM 75, 500 (thk RM 72, 000 in Langkawi) for Proton Preve premium spec is more worth for your money compare to RM 77, 000 Honda Civic 2.0. both car almost in same size but Proton Preve win if you campre luggage capacity, width, height both car. why Proton Preve are winner

1. 1.6 turbo vs 2.0 N/A. perfomance almost same but for roadtax and fuel, Proton Preve worth for your pocket
        2. premium cabin design vs modern cabin design. but the best part is Proton Preve came with soft touch material on dashboard.
        3. 7 speed CVT Protonic (means with manual function and paddle shifter) vs dinasour _ speed
        4. 4 airbag vs 2 airbag. plus ESC, all disc brake, ABS, EBD, BA on Proton Preve
        5. Push start button and keyless entry plus smart key
        6. multilink for rear Proton Preve suspension. Honda Civic i dont know
        7. 1st wifi in car come with double din dvd with GPS
        8. DRL@ day runnling light. OEM DRL not ah beng ya. Honda Civic?
        9. auto rain/ light sensor

and of coz proven Proton good ride and handling. Honda Civic. dah lama dah design tp Proton Preve kereta baru. design masih segar. so i choose of coz la Proton Preve over Honda Civic. I think Proton Preve in VW Jetta territory

• Proton salesman here! Lol

• Nania on Apr 05, 2012 at 8:59 am

Seriously? Prevee over Civic? funny…

• deepz on Apr 05, 2012 at 9:50 am

yes. d new civic sales not very encouragin due to “soccerMom’s car” design.

• Woi where got Honda CIVIC for RM77,000 are you blabbering around and trying to fools us?i think you should study the Honda CIVIC spec once more!please stop your stupid crap!

• a brand’s value is represented by the values that its products project which is why proton sucks because they dare to sell lemons to malaysians and expect us to buy it because of national pride and tax breaks make them cheaper. proton preve at the same level as a jetta?! is this the sequel to mahaleel’s “waja is the asian bmw”? ROFLMFAO!

• A lexus CT200H premium kononnya is duty free cost RM199K, in USA it cost US$31,150. rakyat forever get conned left right centre.

• cureorcurse on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:25 am

How much cost of shipping from USA to Malaysia???? if you minus Gov. Tax.

• Bryan on Apr 05, 2012 at 1:43 pm

Shipping cost does not amount to RM 100,000- for a car… The govt and local distributors are screwing us here, period. The dumb ones at the end of the day are Malaysians, who keep buying them, so we deserve to be screwed….

• squall_shinoda on Apr 04, 2012 at 10:31 pm

Even if we move to Langkawi, we will have to pay those import and excise taxes when we move back to the mainland.

• makeitmine on Apr 04, 2012 at 5:27 pm

Pls don’t put the IAFM+ engine into the car. It will quickly spoil the brand name really fast.

IAFM will EOL soon. As this is a global car, Proton should have considered some variations with either an improved version of CPS engine or MIVEC engine for this car.

• Gabla on Apr 04, 2012 at 8:03 pm

Do you know what is the function of IAFM, CPS and Mivec?

• squall_shinoda on Apr 04, 2012 at 10:39 pm

I agree. If the IAFM+ engine is used in a Saga FLX then it is still considered decent because Saga is a B segment car. Same reason as why it is rational for a Nissan Latio to use a 1.6 engine that can only churn 107 bhp because Latio is a B segment. But not for a C segment car that is obviously heavier than a Persona or Waja. An improved CPS engine should be much better suited for lower-spec model.

• Sigh.... on Apr 04, 2012 at 5:30 pm

You changed the letter of a word because you want to “inject aesthetic element” ?? that’s the funniest shit I have ever heard.

And the original word “prever” means “to predict”, not “to prove”…. said how many times already…. well I guess Proton just doesn’t give a shit.

• moondrops on Apr 04, 2012 at 7:06 pm

go to google translate…. latin to english…. educate yourself….

• moondrops on Apr 04, 2012 at 7:06 pm

go to google translate…. latin to english…. educate yourself….

• Moron on Apr 05, 2012 at 9:15 am

I bet you know nothing about spanish or latin languge, google my ass, go to a bookstore and look at a REAL dictionary! If you said you want to prove something, the word that should be used is “demostrar”. Educate yourself first.

• immalaysian on Apr 04, 2012 at 5:32 pm

Why name national car with foreign name??

Just name it Proton Boleh… since Malaysia also Boleh…

Our DPM is so proud of the malay language that all science and maths MUST be taught in malay but our national GLOBAL car name is not in malay??? Go figure!!!

• samsam on Apr 04, 2012 at 7:42 pm

hey, i just got my new car Proton Boleh, wanna ride? sound so wrong lo..

• Gabla on Apr 04, 2012 at 8:07 pm

Proton advisor isn’t proud with malay language, that’s why he changed that math and science to be taught in english.

• nas-T on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:39 pm

why Toyota or Honda don’t have a car called “bagero” or “sennen goroshi” or “kamehameha”?

• oomph on Apr 04, 2012 at 11:40 pm

because they already have “TOYOTA” and “HONDA” in front.

• nas-T on Apr 05, 2012 at 1:38 pm

you want PROTON to change to MAHATHIR huh? MAHATHIR Preve anyone?

• thelonely on Apr 05, 2012 at 8:03 am

hmm well most cars out there does not use their native language to name their cars, so dont see any problem with it. unless the word they use is profanity of course.

• Phiewiittt

• bmpower on Apr 04, 2012 at 5:35 pm

Sorry…

The name really turn me off… prtfff….
    prtfffvay?
    till now, many of us don’t know how to pronounce it.
    even blind supporter too.

Anyway…. Good luck proton.

• mustafa on Apr 04, 2012 at 6:39 pm

how do you pronounce Kia Sportage….some pronounce it as Sportaj (as in Taj Mahal) and some as Sportej ) as in sausage) …go see review of this Kia on the net….no one is complaining about how to pronounce the name of the car….

• Visitor on Apr 04, 2012 at 7:39 pm

Same like Hyundai Tucson. I initially thought it is pronounced as ‘taksen’ but the correct one is ‘too-sawn’.

• MrDDR on Apr 04, 2012 at 8:41 pm

Some more “HYUNDAI”. Some 14 years ago when I first met this brand HYUNDAI sCOUPE. Some say “heeyundai skopey” “heeyundai skop”. Than come some iklan in TV said “yandei” ermmm so its really “yandei” not “Heeyundai”

• Jufri on Apr 05, 2012 at 8:53 am

its neither Heeyundai nor yandei. its “H-YAWN-DARE”. fyi, i speak Korean and had lived in Korea.

• good car, weird name!
    can’t proton just change it?

• fuelpump on Apr 04, 2012 at 5:50 pm

No more Protong, unless ada 300,000 km warranty for all parts like Hyundai. Untill then, bye2.

• Samad on Apr 04, 2012 at 5:54 pm

i don’t want to tell this but…actually,there is secret message in the name it self..
    Proton want you all to pray..
    so is should be pronounced as.. pray weh!!

• stupid PM…what for waiting for him to launch the car…he ain’t contributing anything towards the sales….unless he’s gonna support by buying 1…
    will he?i don’t think so…

• punai on Apr 04, 2012 at 6:18 pm

Agree…Who proton should dahulukan. Pee Emm or customer. I think DSZ or DRB owner also can launch this car … Delay, delay, delay…..

• squall_shinoda on Apr 04, 2012 at 10:23 pm

Better ask for agong to launch the car instead, just like during the launch of Persona in 2007.

• Agong in Putrajaya; UAI (Ustaz AZhar Idrud) in KT, LGE in Penang, Tgna in KB, Jeremy Clarkson in UK

• oblong on Apr 05, 2012 at 8:21 am

Maybe should ask Ban Ki-Moon or Pascal Lamy to launch the car since they’re SG/DG for ‘global’ association….

• PERVEEEEEE on Apr 04, 2012 at 5:57 pm

Proton Preve (pronounced ‘prae-veh’) derived from the English word preve which means ‘prove’ or ‘to prove’ (a point).

“The name is in line with our vision to prove that the car is a global car with global standards,”

We shall see if the car has really global standards and global quality, only after the car has clocked some considerable mileage can we really see what problems will arise…… with all the high tech spec mention like ABD with EBD (Already got lots of other models like Gen2, Persona, Exora and even Inspira report numerous problems), BA and Traction Control (Possible failure/problem rate very high looking at historical Proton models introducing new tech ), ESC again really can it really have global standards for the Perve ???, what R&D was done, nothing much mention on the Perve other than it has ESC !!! Paddle Shifters (scary for a car maker like Proton to introduce not knowing what problems will arise and how they going to tackle them), Push Start button (gosh, one can only wonder if this fails and car cannot start even with the key as it might interfere with the alarm system & immobiliser, going to see a lot of stranded people with their perve unable to start is something goes wrong !!!)

All this tech from other car makers was gradually introduce into their cars being upgraded within different models over time to get this whole package, so a lot of R&D was put into it by other car makers, in order for them to call their vehicles, global standards, wonder how Proton did their R&D for this Perve specs above but good luck Proton.

If the Perve truly meets global standards with global quality in it, then Proton has progressed and we might see a lot more of exciting new models from them if not doom on you Proton for rushing to chunk out a car like this !!!!

Proton better price it right as well, GOOD LUCK again PROTON !!!!

• huiyoo on Apr 05, 2012 at 8:40 am

if u dont want a high tech car cos afraid of failure, just buy viva la..

• F Fiesta on Apr 04, 2012 at 6:00 pm

The name of the car sucks at max surely the car Proton Preve also sucks.

I wonder how this car could compete with beloved Ford Fiesta that hold the best car of 2010 and the most famous car in USA. B)

• Akina on Apr 04, 2012 at 7:41 pm

fiesta la sangattttttt…hahaha

• So “Fiesta” is cool to you huh? hahaha…lame
      Go and google image “fiesta”..nothing cool is associated with it..in fact its sucks!

• Oldgreenluck on Apr 04, 2012 at 6:33 pm

The name doesn’t mean a thing if quality and durability is not there. Had already sent my Persona for service 3 times because the door (front passenger seat) cannot be opened. The service guy say I shouldn’t bang the door too hard because it might loosen the bush etc… what a bullshit!! So I think the new car should be name LOUSY… Easier to pronounce and the name carry the brand so well I believe… And sorry to say, I did support Proton for a while…

• nas-T on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:42 pm

it your fault don’t know how to take care a car. don’t blame Proton. blame yourself first.

• jerry tan on Apr 04, 2012 at 6:45 pm

name Proton Preve = nice
    specs = nice also
    design = no so nice.

probably Proton keep on going changing new model it is because they can’t developed newer or bigger engine.
    e.g 1970’s tiny size Civic & corolla come with 1.3cc & Accord with 1.6cc. when time passing by, body & engine were upgrade to bigger sizes to 1.6,1.8,2.0, 2.4 etc….
    you cant make a bigger size Proton Waja, Wira with the size of the new Civic with same humble 1.6 engine…..under power

• err…do you know what is turbocharged?

• Turbocharged model only for high spec model. Lower spec models won’t have the power.

• squall_shinoda on Apr 04, 2012 at 10:28 pm

The top spec is more than decently powered as it uses the CFE engine. But it is the lower-spec that is a major letdown for having an engine that loses three horses than the older IAFM engine to haul a car that is heavier than a Persona or Waja.

• jerry tan on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:13 am

no. not really. maybe you could give me a complete details on how Turbo-charged works. if can, i also want to know about Super-charged too…. can i?

• Are you really need bigger engine . we are looking on fuel consumption right now but in the same time can create more power equal to 2.0 engine

• Jerry Tan on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:55 pm

I m not saying this car need a bigger capacity engine. I’m saying a bigger engine for bigger size body car.

• spyshotX on Apr 05, 2012 at 2:12 pm

actually your argument will only valid if your talking about engine capacity (cc wise).. technically i dont see the advantage of having to use a bigger (size wise) engine.. it will just increase weight and definitely cost.. in engineering it’s not about the size that matters.. it’s whether the engine can provide the performance or not as intended by the design target..

however i do agree that the iafm+ fitted in the lower variant may not do justice to the car’s weight.. have to wait for the official test drive review by paul and the gang 1st before i rest my case on this..

• linear_system on Apr 05, 2012 at 2:13 pm

u mean with same capacity but the engine size bigger??for what??turbo is one of the method to improve engine performance without needed to larger the size capacity..do u know that big volvo car also using 1.6l engine??big mpv like citroen also using 1.6l engine?

• De Neiro on Apr 04, 2012 at 6:49 pm

Prove? How many time you want to prove??? After 29years and too many wastages! Better give name Pretend

• peYno on Apr 04, 2012 at 7:06 pm

prove to global ppl la.. malaysian kampung bolehland like u jgn syok sendiri

prrrtfhhhhh

• unnon on Apr 04, 2012 at 7:28 pm

if they put the car name proton pretend.. ko pun xnak beli bro.. ko plak ckp nama x global.. xde class.. doesn’t matter la about that name.. if it’s good.. it’s good la.. n ppl will use it.. that’s what matters the most… quality!! n performance.

i just hope that this preve will prove something.. it has been said that the features are all global car features. hope it will have the quality of the global car too.

• A4paper on Apr 04, 2012 at 7:35 pm

If i am in the market for another car, i would seriously consider this model. Maybe later this year if it performs! Apa ada pada nama daa…

• Most Malaysians will pronounce it as PEE- Weeeeeeeeeee.

• burung on Apr 04, 2012 at 11:03 pm

May I ask you 1 thing? Who are you to represent ‘Most Malaysians’? Who are you to represent me? I don’t even know you. And your standard & my standard of education may not be the same.

This is not the time when old ah pek & uncles say Bobo for Volvo, Pijot for Peugeot, may be still “Wacha” for Waja and “Inspila” for Inspira due to mother tongue.

But Prevé is undeniably weird. Hard to swallow. If Proton really wanna prove something, (suggestion) what about… err…. Proton Evidence? Sounds majestic right?

• preyah on Apr 04, 2012 at 7:49 pm

One whole press conference just to explain the name!

Plenty more press conferences for this arab in the near future. Among issues he got to explain, lousy design, high price, lousy performance ,2nd hand value like no value at all , cars being lost at the factory compound , staff stealing car fabric to use at home etc etc etc etc………

• busybody on Apr 04, 2012 at 8:08 pm

Preve, .. the “r” pronunciation is hard for someone
    overall ok at 70k range

• K Tan on Apr 04, 2012 at 8:13 pm

It can either “proof”

1. that the detractors were right all these time and Proton is still sub-standard

or

2. that Proton is working hard towards a world standard car.

Which one will it be?

• takNakP1 on Apr 04, 2012 at 11:30 pm

No.1 because none of the poster here can type the name right. even TheStar also got it wrong.
      Is Preve instead of Prevé and I have to copy & paste.

see??? how complicated???

I wonder how consistent will the salesman pronounce this word.

thumb down are welcome :P

• Why on earth Proton should wait for PM? If prospect buyers boring and feel that buying Preve mean support PM/BN it will backfire the car sale. Ask Cristiano Ronaldo, Siti, Yuna, or any popular celebrity for that matter.

Marketing ma

• Edward Roti Canai on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:06 pm

This car is for champions not for bashing losers. I noticed the P1 bashers in this blog most of the time speak out from their ass with 3rd country mentality. Let’s try to appreciate this car. None of your Jamban Jappo and Ketiak Koreak car has the spec as this car has and moreover it’s turbo. Will smoke your Forte, Civic and Vios Dugong anytime. Shame on you assh***s.

• Don’t think it will smoke the other c segment cars. No one knows yet anyway..

• Statistician on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:23 pm

Wow sounds philosophical ! Apa ini cakap falsafah sedangkan perut masih lapar !

Proton survive based on rakyat Malaysia punya subsidies. YOU SHOW ME RESULTS IN YOUR INTERNATIONAL SALES. PROTON IS NOT A CHARITY ORGANISATION. GIVE US NUMBERS !

• SGBLM on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:42 pm

Nak beli, beli je lah, taknak beli, sudah lah, takda sesiapa pun yang nak paksa kau sampai tahap acu pistol kat kepala untuk beli pun kereta ni wahai Proton bashers … kau orang nak kutuk sampai tahap tak ingat dunia akhirat pun tak guna jugak, bukannya kau dapat duit pun kutuk Proton kaw kaw …

• takNakP1 on Apr 04, 2012 at 11:38 pm

pasal proton kita kena beli tin milo
      pasal proton kita kena bayar pinjaman selama 7-9 tahun untuk beli tin milo
      pasal proton pengangkutan awam tidak diberiperhatian sepenuhnya.

• puterakupang84 on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:54 pm

I saw this car at Putrajaya this evening..already see the interior of this car.. what I can say..this is the best car ever produced by PROTON..looking forward 2 book this car..

• Just me on Apr 04, 2012 at 10:47 pm

I’m wondering how many star this car can get in the what car review. Neo just get 1 star, what a shame!!

• 1 star car but won many rally championship
      that reviewer is very stupid and blind

• the rally car and the road car only have the door handles in common like all rally versions of road cars, please read up then speak. you want a s2000 neo rally car to drive to work? no AC, 2 seats, roll cage and plastic windows? great right, no power windows.

• lol there many categories , don’t be blind, some use almost same cars with road version one, including neo, what say you?

• i was refering to s2000 cars and i have never heard of any road going neo winning in any other classes. rally prepared is rally prepared.
            i say neo drivers tumpang glamour with s2000 rally cars.

• oblong on Apr 05, 2012 at 8:38 am

WHAT CAR? rating on Lexus CT200H only 2 star…Lexus (Toyota premium subsidiary) only got 2 star….what a shame! Is it reliable rating by WHAT CAR?…?

• BodohSogua on Apr 04, 2012 at 11:07 pm

WTH! presentation to teach english??!!! Atuk, u better back to kindergarten!
    Proton? good brand! (within BolehLand~)
    Me? No thank you!

• takNakP1 on Apr 04, 2012 at 11:19 pm

one don’t just buy the car as it is.
    one shud also consider after sales and service.
    everyone knows the history how good is proton car, so as the service.
    “this sound ah… is like this one lah… nothing wrong lah.. is proton mah “.

RM62K-RM75K – extremely expensive for a local brand.
    for the same price one might want to consider to trade off with size and feature from better imported brand and service.

don’t forget MANY are DENIED the right to enjoy a good car ride by the existence of PROTON.

Will this post get >100 thumbs down? :D

• ProtonLover on Apr 04, 2012 at 11:40 pm

I think “Proton Prevail” is a better name

• shawal on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:43 am

why is my power windows are not working!?

• tak sabar nak tengok proton preve ni secara realiti…. banyak betul pengkritik kereta proton…tak salah mengkritik tapi biarlah kritikan membina supaya proton lebih berdaya saing masa depan…agak pelik proton je kena kritik…bila brand lain dalam post…senyap je….semua kereta ada masalah bila datang waktunya…

• Jaybond on Apr 05, 2012 at 8:26 am

Frankly speaking, and as a Proton staff, I’m not sure if Proton Preve is a good choice (other than it’s kind of strange name). I agree with some that Proton could have chose some of the names from the past , and continue using them,e.g the current Saga & Satria. I think it’s better to carry on with the tradition of using Wira or Persona name. Look at most car of high volume manufacturers, they were still using the same name for their car models, at least for a few generations or so; e.g Honda Accord, BMW 3 series, VW Passat, Ford Mondeo, Mitsubishi Lancer to name a few. It’s better for the brand reputation.

• Eyesore on Apr 05, 2012 at 2:40 pm

Yes it might me good to carry over a name… But we have to realise.. previous model, like Gen2, Waja, Wira or even Satria was associated with so many quality problem… big fuss was made and some how when ppl hear the name.. thoose problem will be associated with it and might fright some ppl from buying the new model…. So to avoid these, new name was given… however i do hope once they get everything right… they should carry over the names… especially the Satria Neo… It has good reputation in Rally world now…

• Still trying to prove Protongkat isn’t crappy again and again? Still not enough what rakyat wasted/donated/amal jariah to Protongkat after RM Billions and 30 years later? Madness lah!

Remember what Einstein said:
    “Insanity – Doing the same thing repeatedly and expect different results!”

Anyway, Bravo to Saudi Arabia Protongkat…they can buy PREVE at RM35,211.18 with more airbags too! Bravo! Even Australia PREVE RM15K cheaper…Bravo!

Global car but selective pricing…Pathetic Sucker! Bravo!

• Protongkat really kidding themselves lah…

We know what they are…no need to prove anything…

Better use the name Pura-Pura (or pretending in English)

That’s what Protongkat really about – Pretend to be something else they can only imagine to be eg.global car

This is pantun PREVE/Pura-Pura:
    Drive it to believe it,
    Pura-Pura jadi global car,
    Power window better fix it,
    Dont solve it with Lifetime warranty lar!

• Just me on Apr 05, 2012 at 1:54 pm

Hahaha, very funny. One thing for sure only malaysian are shiok sendiri with this new model. Globally, no one care to know what the hack it is.

• Another pantun PREVE/Pura-Pura:

Oh PREVE the great pretender,
    Pura-Pura jadi global car konon,
    But Saudi Arabia price far cheaper,
    Wait til become joke by Jeremy Clarkson!

• Yet another pantun PREVE/Pura-Pura:

Protongkat trying to prove again,
    That new PREVE ain’t crappy,
    Jangan kelentong jangan main,
    We buyer aren’t that foolhardy!

• Chilavert on Apr 05, 2012 at 9:06 am

based on the spec list available now, the car looks promising.
    i will not comment more until i test drive this car.

but the name is stupid. the name of the model is very important for marketing n branding. yet they choose a name that is very difficult to pronounce n it sound very funny and stupid as well. instead of using prae-vae, they can just use preve (as in preev). its more simple and easy to use (pronounce)

• campor on Apr 05, 2012 at 10:02 am

Even Myvi, Jeremy Clarkson (the Englishman) cannot pronounce it correctly.

• suppa-heero on Apr 05, 2012 at 9:27 am

while we are very excite to comment this, let clearly understand the definition of a ‘global car’..not to get confused or garu kepala and blaming this and that..

i agree that proton should retain good names such as wira/ persona, satria/neo, saga..

apart from this huha, what i’m interested to know from Proton is how much have they progressed in their work, how detailed have they gone to, in making their product more attractive..how good are they at improving their engine performance.. Forget about the advertisment, it’s already there, the real proton is when you touch, feel, hear engine and drive the car, that’s the bottom line and that speaks the brand..

So is that what is in Preve?

• Proton is lousy on Apr 05, 2012 at 9:36 am

I think he meant “to prove that Proton is lousy”. He also meant “to prove Proton is continuing fleecing Malaysians”.

• not a car enthusiast on Apr 05, 2012 at 9:38 am

Should have name this car as what it is – The All New Waja.

Malaysians will have hard time pronouncing “preve” than Spaniards (or other foreigners in general) prouncing “Waja” Don’t you think so?

• SS 316 on Apr 05, 2012 at 9:44 am

Proton, you don’t need a syncadellic names…. But marvel After Sales Service. My Inspira has been with me for 14 month and Dear Proton Edar still haven’t got my 2 Years Free Service and Maintenance account settle………. Plus stii could not solve my driving light.. Yes my little 2 pieces of Driving light Malfunction……. For almost. Year now……

• roadrunner on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:30 pm

Just give your plate number and which service centre u sent..for sure Proton people will call you…just give a try…no harm done..

• A Proton is a Proton no matter what name. Quality is just as bad, no point in proving it.

• Armain on Apr 05, 2012 at 10:10 am

Whats wrong with local malay name to penerate gobal market? Porche takes Indonesian macan or tiger for its new model Porche Macan while Maserati Kubang sounds Malaysian although the meaning might probably different? I think it is more pleasing to the ears of foreigners if we use exotic names which can be commonly found in our flora and fauna rather than English sounding names which are common and can be misleading likes preve.

• “Preveh is an English word meaning to proove”. Firstly proton, it is not an english word n is never in the dictionary, secondly, its a foreign word ur trying to interpret similarly to our korean counterpart, forte, sonata etc. but why go for a global name that is hard to pronounce to most people worldwide, and it has no rythm.

Hear this: CIVIC, SONATA, FORTE, ELANTRA. Those have great rythm and it surely fits the car, although i am proud for malaysia and proton to conceive a car up to standards, but many are not happy with how you name it. It should be a malaysian thing and should represent malaysia, not latin or spanish.

Just like how we are proud of the twin towers, but sadly it wasnt designed by a malaysian. We want malaysian quality up to standards and show the world about malaysia.

• edwin__ on Apr 05, 2012 at 10:27 am

great….now when non media average citizen like me can test drive this baby ? cz it will be the best sub 70k +- new car in the market once it is release….if it is that good i am ready to part with my $$……

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Apr 05, 2012 at 11:08 am

HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA! Did the busybody ex-PM choose this name? Which crony has the contract to supply the emblem?

• Buat apa la nak buat nama yang nak sebut pun susah

• DKBOSS on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:15 pm

They should have name it Proton Pasat (less one “s” compared to Volkswagen Passat …that would have given a run for Proton …. hehe !!

• SuchHypocrites on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:20 pm

Seriously, most of you all are a bunch of hypocrites.
    bashing on our National car bcoz its a Malaysian product? such typical lame attitude.
    at least they try. elevate from the past.
    you should be proud (eventho you dont own Proton – fyi, im not a proton owner as well) as we Malaysians do have 2 cars manufacturer (Proton/Perodua).

saying Jap car is better la this la that la.
    but hey, you complain so much bout Proton.. on the same time you are even complaining about your Jap car monthly maintenance service or when you accident. expensive la this la that la – cut the crap, i know you will whine someway some how.

everyone have their own prefix and not everyone can afford Jap/euro car.
    with hypocrite and narrow minded like you bunch of wankers, how can we improve and go global? dont tell me you guys still want to be “katak bawah tempurung” – oh wait, with ur mindset, you are 1 of the kataks.

be open, support our products. if you want to bash, bash it with constructive comments.
    dont just be another lalabengs kiasu. joining the bashing band wagon as its fun.

Grow up “kids”, just Grow up.

• sensible man on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:21 pm

This is a national car.

A national car should have its own national identity.

Saga, Wira, Waja, Satria etc are names that people around the world will associate with Malaysian car.

Using English or Spanish word to make it sound globally simply imply lack of self confidence and low esteem of own national identity.

Please have some pride with your own country and its culture.

• benci pada manusia kolot on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:33 pm

kalau nak ikutkan nafsu manusia semua tak puas.. dahlah tak sedar diri ramai.. kalau dah tak mampu nak pakai jangan duk komen bukan-bukan.. guna aje la apa yg mampu.. kalu dah rasa kaya.. jangan duk sibuk-sibuk bagi pandangan negatif juga.. pergi la beli apa yang rasa terbaik.. disebabkan keluaran proton semua nampak tak elok.. beginilah manusia kalau dah iri hati… rasanya kalau mercedes atau bmw yang keluarkan model begini bukan main sanjung… nampak sgt realiti manusia sekarang.. berfikiran sempit dan tidak cerdik pun… apa pun proton sentiasa meningkatkan kualiti.. teruskan usaha.. ramai lagi yang menyokong

• wajaowner on Apr 06, 2012 at 3:33 pm

a full spec hyundai elantra is selling at Brunei Dollar 26000 = MYR 65000

With MYR 65000 it is the same price with Preve without turbo and manual

Lets hope the quality of Preve match the price offered.

• Wazzup on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:38 pm

another “headache” making its debut….

• You need to hold a press conference to announce the name? What else? A pc for the announce the brand of tyre used? A pc to see the first customer entering the car? A pc for install the first steering?

Apala …the novelty is wearing off even for Proton supporters.

• penyu on Apr 05, 2012 at 1:35 pm

macamana lah orang kampung nak sebut… PROTON PREBET SATU!

• why le,lot of malaysian talk badly about this car, kereta ni belum pun dilancarkan ,test drive pun x lagi …sadis sungguh ..sedangkan rakyat Aus kasi komen yg +ve ttg proton …

http://www.caradvice.com.au/166003/proton-preve-small-sedan-revealed/

• wajaowner on Apr 05, 2012 at 2:28 pm

i am just wondering, with this new model and all the specs that beat other brands and highest specification includes turbo…..Will it still announce ‘Dengan ini dimaklumkan bahawa proton mencatatkan kerugian sebelum cukai sebanyak…???Juta ‘

Proton sold about 60K over units of saga last year and if you take average 35k per car you get MYR 2.1 bil in sales from saga alone. Bear in mind that saga platform is the same with Savvy.

yet with other models selling persona , exora , inspira they still make losses…..

• zalyana on Apr 05, 2012 at 3:24 pm

dumb comment.

35k is car price. cost xkira ke?
      xsekolah betul.

• yala …
        what about the salaries paid to maintain the troopers trying to create the feel good atmosphere to their cars. Also, losses sustained from excessive warranty claims due to incompetency of the staffs.

• briluc on Apr 05, 2012 at 3:20 pm

Actually.. the design looks ok. The problem is the proton logo.. it is so ugly… maybe if they changed the logo as well….

• meet_the_zonan on Apr 05, 2012 at 4:18 pm

I think this will follow GEN-2 (hantu)

• Puzzled on Apr 05, 2012 at 5:01 pm

Malaysia may have had 2 automakers in Perodua and Proton. In this context I use “may” because those 2 companies belong to private owners.

Back to the point of the article, a name is just a name like any other. Wait for the test drives to evaluate the car for what it really is or is not.

• Proton gen3 (3rd generation)
    Proton nuGen (new generation)
    Proton Menteri
    Proton Sutera
    Proton 360i, 360L, 360S (i-intelligent drive base models, L-luxury package, S-sport)
    All new Proton Persona i,L,S
    Proton Vera (which is simple to pronouce, striking and it means faith)
    Proton Adamo (means to fall in love with)
    Proton Versus (pronounced ver-suus means verse, also ‘different’.

• soundsfishy on Apr 06, 2012 at 12:21 pm

can i have a copy of the slide in case somebody ask me what is preve?

• yoyo ….malaysian why so havoc here…..come on give them a chance to proof maa….if u value ur money so much just go buy those car u fancy….use car for ease not for ego hehe

• says says on Apr 07, 2012 at 7:44 pm

Spanish eh?

Yeah right, even the Spanish SEAT dont use Spanish words for their cars..

Way to go Proton PREBET (as my army friend called it)!

• whatever on Apr 16, 2012 at 11:12 pm

can’t read all the comments here..no matter what name is given not everyone will satisfy..even me..if possible i would like proton to make a custom made car especially for me with my name on it..i think if it proven a really good car the name will be a legend no matter what name is given as long as it is a decent name unless they name it “pervert, lousy, pura2” or whatever name that surely will make you laugh..even a sexy and beautiful amoi name “cipap” will make your “burung” naik..just my 0 cent view lah.