Subaru BRZ set for fourth quarter Malaysian launch – first impressions and full gallery from Singapore

Late last year, we told you that the Subaru BRZ will be coming to Malaysia – now, the impending arrival of the sports car has been confirmed by Motor Image (MI), the Subaru distributor for our region. Estimated time of arrival is the fourth quarter of this year, slightly later than the originally mooted Q2/Q3 2012 plan.

Followers of this website would have already known that Motor Image has big plans for Subaru in Malaysia. Our country will host Fuji Heavy’s only CKD project outside of Japan, besides USA. The model chosen for the region is the XV, and MI will take advantage of AFTA rules to export the Segambut-assembled crossover to Thailand and Indonesia.

The XV is scheduled for a December 2012 launch, but before that, the BRZ will be introduced here. The BRZ is a fruit of the collaboration between Toyota and Subaru, and the twin sister of the former’s GT86.

We’re told by Subaru that they were in charge of the engineering, development and production of the GT86/BRZ, while Toyota’s responsibility included styling and product planning. Both brands are selling and marketing their sports cars individually, of course. Minor differences between the two are the shape of the front intake, headlights, DRL design, fog lamp housing and fender garnish. Suspension tuning also varies slightly.

So it’s fair to call the car a Subaru, designed by Toyota. Both cars roll out of Subaru’s Gunma factory in Ota-city, Japan. In fact, the start of production was just announced three weeks ago, and they’re bursting at the seams with orders at the moment, so it’s amazing that MI has managed to secure stock so soon after – the BRZ made its regional debut in Singapore’s Clarke Quay on Wednesday evening.

BRZ stands for Boxer engine, Rear-drive, Zenith. Subaru’s trademark boxer engine and rear-wheel drive are of course the main ingredients. The flat packaging of the horizontally opposed four-cylinder is the reason why the car’s nose is so low – the low-set “FA” engine (made more compact by a shorter intake manifold and shallower oil pan) that’s pushed far back also contributes to the BRZ’s “ultra low” centre of gravity. At 460 mm, it’s lower than a Mazda MX-5.

Also added is Toyota’s D-4S direct injection and port injection technology. The final tally for this 2.0-litre is 200 PS at 7,000 rpm and 205 Nm at 6,400 to 6,600 rpm. Two six speed transmissions are available – manual and automatic, the latter with Sport mode and paddle shifters.

Interestingly, Motor Image will not be pushing the manual gearbox for its markets, although the stick shift can be special ordered if you insist. MI boss Glenn Tan explained that they’re discouraging manual sales to move away from the “boyracer image” the brand has built up over the years. Of the big winged turbo monsters, Tan said: “This is not the kind of image we want to have. We’re doing a completely different thing now, we want to be a premium Japanese brand.”

You see, MI used to sell a sizable number of hot Imprezas in Singapore back when COEs were more affordable, and many of these young hot blooded male buyers got into trouble on the road, so much so that insurance companies were reluctant to insure Subarus. This is what they’re trying to stay away from. Not just MI, but Subaru has also exhibited signs of wanting to be more mainstream, as seen in the current five-door hatch and Forester.

So yes, we sampled the BRZ, but can’t tell you how the manual gearbox feels like. Just a few minutes in the car around a makeshift carpark course in Singapore won’t be enough for a verdict, but the brief encounter was positive nonetheless.

It has been awhile since a proper Japanese coupe emerged, and this one looks right. The low, flat serpent-like nose, the swelled fenders and the muscular rear haunches blend well, and the BRZ-exclusive WR Blue Mica colour (GT86 exclusive colour is orange, six other colours are shared) looks fab in the sun. Nothing I would change, except for the fake vents on the fenders.

Even better is the driving position, which goes very low. Combined with grippy seats and a nice steering that adjusts for reach, I’m aroused even before starting the engine. Not because of the flash (dash design is nothing to shout about) but what lies ahead.

Pressing the start button elicits a growl, and we’re told that there’s a “sound creator” that helps with the soundtrack upwards of 3,000 rpm. Floor it and the lack of a turbo kick is conspicuous – this is a different kind of Subaru all right, one that demands more “work” for the pleasure. I like it like that, and the noise the flat-four makes.

Response is rather sharp and I really like how the controls feel – the brake pedal and steering both provide good sensations. The latter isn’t too heavy, and its sharpness gives the car an agile feel. Not an illusion, the lack of inertia is apparent throughout. Not much roll in the slalom, too. I can imagine the BRZ being a great B-road tool.

We had a go in trying to kick the BRZ’s tail out, but with a tense and strict chaperon beside me and the ESP only half-off, it wasn’t that easy. I managed a small slip, but it didn’t last long. At least we can confirm that the electronic safety net is there, and very effective for the rest of the time when you don’t want to play naughty.

Although we didn’t get to do proper road driving (can’t complain, since there won’t be test drives even for potential owners, as clearly stated in the Singapore ads), we’ve established that this is a sports car that has all the right ingredients to be a great driver’s car. Oh, and those rear seats are usable – much better than the Audi TT’s and slightly better than the Peugeot RCZ’s.

The high-spec car you see here will be the one coming in, but it won’t be cheap – expect a price tag north of RM250k. With the same spec, a manual will be costlier than an auto. That sticker will cause many to look elsewhere, even to its twin with the 86 badge, but that won’t cause sleepless nights within Subaru, especially when they can’t make enough of these to satisfy demand from elsewhere!

A big gallery of the BRZ is after the jump.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• optimus on Apr 06, 2012 at 9:21 am

yea brz coming too. wonder if price similar to ft86?

• I love this car but only 1 reason i don’t like it just becoz no Auto Transmission ! when traffic jam is pretty hard and tired to shift gears !

• There is 6 speed auto transmission. Look at the steering wheel and the gear knob picture in this page. You can see the + and – at the back of steering.

• droll on Apr 06, 2012 at 11:07 am

if you love driving then you would opt for manual instead of auto. :) that’s what this car is focused around .

• jsooz on Apr 06, 2012 at 11:10 am

manual is the only way to go for a sports coupe..nuff said

• kington on Apr 06, 2012 at 12:42 pm

Agreed. Though one can expect the auto sell very well. Manual for me.

• The Enthusiast on Apr 06, 2012 at 12:21 pm

This car was designed not to have practicality in mind. If you find manual gearbox to be troublesome, this sort of car is not for you. I suggest you to look into hybrids or family MPVs :)

• danial on Apr 08, 2012 at 9:52 am

Yes, manual is the way 2 go for this toy. Please opt out if u want an auto for the girlie thing!

• armandd on Apr 06, 2012 at 1:29 pm

real man drives manual…

• LOL..so those driving F1 cars are sissy?…talk like u can drive manual very great like tat..but kereta 98hp je

• F1 does have clutch too

• F1 is not a conventional auto…..

• Geronimo on Apr 07, 2012 at 2:33 pm

F1 gear change happens in milliseconds compared to manual. There’s no way human can achieve that. Unless FIA change the rules, then the drivers skill comes to play.

• armandd on Apr 08, 2012 at 7:27 pm

bro, F1 car tranny is not the same as your ancient 4-speed box ler.. come I teach you heel n toe so that you can be a real gentleman.

• Maybe i’m sissy so i prefer Auto Transmission…BRZ says thank you and now i can see it and it’s the Auto Transmission…

• Not paying enough attention ah u..? Drink chicken essence…

• anti-tax on May 07, 2012 at 3:53 am

lets juz hope the prize is not higher than announced by UMW. they put extra pay after the tax for their pocket

• anti-vios on Apr 06, 2012 at 9:36 am

..kerete untuk orang kaya… sigh~

• Lorat on Apr 06, 2012 at 9:39 am

Will there be snow if I pushed the ‘SNOW’ button?
    /jk

• yeah snow in ur A** :-P

• No, the Malaysian version will have “rain” button..remember to open up your umbrella in the car before u drive ..

• North of rm250k.. ouch!

• alldisc on Apr 06, 2012 at 5:57 pm

i like the short gear shifter, and the instrument meter especially…

but the blue subaru colour doesnt quite match it.

• taboogen on Apr 06, 2012 at 9:48 am

there is 3rd light at the bumper.. is this European spec car?

• alldisc on Apr 06, 2012 at 6:05 pm

pretty strange it is shaped like superman logo though. it can be rear fog lamp, or hazard warning like F1 cars use during wet race.

• wahh RM250k with only 200PS better buy Golf R with 255PS

• Or the incoming new Mondeo, 240PS below 200k…

• Honda Power on Apr 06, 2012 at 12:38 pm

With RM250K, it’s better to buy: (a). one new Honda CR-V and one new facelifted Honda City or (b). One new Honda Civic 1.8L and one new facelifted Honda City or (c). One new Honda Jazz hybrid and one new Honda Insight hybrid or (d). One new Honda CR-Z and one new Honda Insight hybrid. Choose from (a), (b), (c) or (d) and you still have a few thousand ringgit left after buying the combo package of Honda cars. Seriously, paying more than RM250K for Subaru BRZ is not worth it at all!

• But Honda is not everybody r interested…but thx for recommend ! not worth it but rich ppl like it coz it’s can show their standard of living ~

• Mazda freak on Apr 06, 2012 at 6:42 pm

If one has 250k for a sports car, they will not bother to get Honda mate ! If I need to split 250k to make efficient use of cash in getting 2 ride, I will get Toyota Camry and a vios or a Mazda 6 and a 2. Either going for comfort or get driver’s car experience. Honda is neither here nor there :p

• To be frank, it is definitely not worth it to pay RM250k for this BRZ but the same goes for the CRV, Civic and City too since they are overpriced compared to their original price. Because of the taxing at here, all of us have to pay around double the original price of these imported cars. Sad… Currently I’m still a student and I’ve always wanted to own a sports car in the future when I start working but with this sort of taxing system, it’s going to be tough for me to achieve my goal. Maybe I’ll just have to wait for a recon BRZ or GT86 when I start working. I hope that some day, the tax for imported cars can be reduced in the future.

• you’re still young and have many options, if you want to have a good life – I suggest that you seriously consider migration =)

• kington on Apr 07, 2012 at 1:44 am

You really think Honda cars are that good?

I used to worship Hondas. But now, i see no reason to buy one at all.

• optimus on Apr 06, 2012 at 1:39 pm

or megane 250 cup

• or Preve…

• Just me on Apr 06, 2012 at 9:54 am

Funny meter cluster, the center big meter is the rpm istead of speed. Anyway still much better than Yes broadband meter in protong

• BlackBJQ on Apr 06, 2012 at 11:05 am

that’s what ‘true driver’ car’ is all about. Dont care bout speed. Rev is more important.

• I’d think knowing your revs will be more important because it determines when is a good time for you to shift. Speed just becomes an after-thought. Besides, you can also roughly estimate your speed based on your gear and RPM.

Note, the 911 features a huge RPM meter in the middle too.

• Agreed, most driver-focused cars has RPM meter in the centre console. E.g: Porsche GT3/ Gt3 RS, Cayman, Subaru Impreza, Ferrari 458 Italia.

• Orang kampung…

• BERAPA???

• samsam on Apr 06, 2012 at 10:27 am

whats the point getting a sport car in auto trans.., middle finger to sky

• altec on Apr 06, 2012 at 12:55 pm

Just shows how people selling these cars aren’t passionate about driving at all.. they just want to sell more cars. Kinda sad really.

• blackbox on Apr 06, 2012 at 2:06 pm

for those without left foot. So can try to park into handicap parking space.

• ohmyimportaxs on Apr 06, 2012 at 11:06 am

250k trolololol
    might as well get megan RS, rocco 2.0, golf gti/r, fd2r, 320d or heck passat cc

• tandoooooori_itik on Apr 06, 2012 at 2:35 pm

The BRZ is a RWD sportcar, in a different league for sure…the 320d is rwd fair eough but for grocery days only hehe…engineered by subaru, tat’s is more than just a toyota then. bang for buck!!

• TurboMan!!! on Apr 06, 2012 at 11:58 pm

320d for grocery days only?

I guess u have never met and raced with one before.

• But this car is RWD. More fun compared to already-fun-in-its-way Megane RS and Scirocco R.

• JeremyNg on Apr 06, 2012 at 11:08 am

Am i the only one feel that the interior design of the car look ugly ?? center console don look nice too ……… overall too plastic !!

• oasis on Dec 16, 2012 at 12:08 am

250k for a new super car actually very cheap but interior was too simple and out fashion.
      About the spec it’s not so attractive.
      2litres engine produce 200hp too low.
      Prefer 4WD and FWD easier to handle high HP.
      Prefer DSG , MT and CVT outdated.
      Outlook quite nice. Can be consider.

• underskinn on Apr 06, 2012 at 11:16 am

I just can’t with the interior. For a car with such specifications and pricing it should come with a LCD panel / navigation system.

• awg1031 on Apr 06, 2012 at 11:22 am

“We’re doing a completely different thing now, we want to be a premium Japanese brand.”..than do it on another Subaru car la..i thought this was supposed to be a sport car? no?

• blackbox on Apr 06, 2012 at 2:10 pm

He can’t tell the media that they are targeting the potential customer without left foot.

• hahaha on Apr 06, 2012 at 11:24 am

if proton rebadge it,for sure the cylinder head that contain ‘toyota’ and ‘subaru’ name will be replace with ‘proton’..hahahaha

• Gavin on Apr 06, 2012 at 11:27 am

250k puts it so far below in the value for money section, it’s laughable

• Espresso! Quick! on Apr 06, 2012 at 11:48 am

Paul,

How much does this car cost in Singapore vs the RCZ in Singapore? Is it more expensive?

• mazda3 mps can tapau this anytime!..and its cheaper!

• Mazda 3 MPS is a different category car altogether. Mazda 3 MPS is a turbocharged FF layout car while this BRZ is a normally aspirated FR layout car. Mazda 3 MPS is more of a sports sedan while the BRZ is a sports car. Besides, I don’t really think that Mazda 3 MPS can really defeat the BRZ in terms of handling and responsiveness. Don’t forget, Mazda 3 MPS is a turbocharged car that might suffer from turbo lag whereas the BRZ does not face this problem at all.

• Dipak on Apr 06, 2012 at 12:08 pm

What is the logic in abandoning a sector that the brand has historically done so well in? Toyota screwed up the Celica/MR2 by taking a similar approach. Very few car brands can pull off the ‘less is more’ approach. Lotus can, toyota/subaru cannot. It didn’t work then, it won’t work now, boys.

• MrDDR on Apr 06, 2012 at 12:31 pm

“205 Nm at 6,400 to 6,600 rpm”
    Better buy Preve you can get same 205Nm but at lower 2k-4k rpm. Some more you can save up to Rm175k. hahhaha

• altec on Apr 06, 2012 at 12:51 pm

I don’t know about the RM250k price tag, is that official? There are rumors about the sg price which is around SGD 170k for the brz.

megane in sg is around SGD 180k. (roughly rm230k here)
    camry in sg is around SGD 170k (roughly rm170k here)
    civic in sg is around SGD 120k (roughly RM120k here)

No matter how i look at it, Rm250k doesn’t seem like a plausible number for this car….

• alldisc on Apr 06, 2012 at 6:03 pm

already the civic FD type R (now no more) and Golf GTI selling at 200-230K. when you your chicken rice is slighly more special than the other one at the end of the road, you are most likely to sell it slightly more expensive.

• heeman on Apr 06, 2012 at 1:15 pm

Ungrateful bast**ds. Without boy racers support, where would you be?

• ToyotaPJ on Apr 06, 2012 at 2:17 pm

hi ppl, wait for toyota to launch the GT86..la Subaru many boleh fight with toyota, service centre and image toyota is better ! Subaru copy toyota only, on the road how many subaru you see in Msia ? Toyota is the brand you can trust I am sure you all agree rite. And dont forget the new exciting Camry ppl come and check it out !

• alldisc on Apr 06, 2012 at 6:09 pm

its subaru’s knowledge and expertise use in the boxer engine, all subarus are using flat engines. toyota utilises in-line or Vee engines only.

it is likely a JV between those 2 companies.

• aku kaya on Apr 06, 2012 at 11:04 pm

ha..ha..ha..even the toyota 86 is built by subaru.

• Shawn on Jan 17, 2013 at 1:13 am

Are you daft? You and that honda guy are definitely sales rep. Buy a toyota buy a honda. I’m sorry but Subaru has the pedigree in motorsports. Yes this is overpriced and no I will not buy it. I rather get a reconned cayman or top up for a reconned 911.

I bet you don’t even know hat’s FF FR MR AW etc etc. Stop trying to defame other brands without enough knowledge and no like I said I’m not a fan of the price but I acknowledge and have been following Subaru ever since I fell inlove with the V4

• teelim on Apr 06, 2012 at 2:24 pm

I stopped reading the article after reading this statement

MI boss Glenn Tan explained that they’re discouraging manual sales to move away from the “boyracer image” the brand has built up over the years. Of the big winged turbo monsters, Tan said: “This is not the kind of image we want to have.

I was like WTF?!?!?!! To me, Subarus have all the while been about cars that are fun to drive and only the enthusiast can fully appreciate it. And now, they are abandoning their image and leaving the enthusiast with nothing? If they are really trying to not have the boyracer image, then go make SUVs and MPVs. Don’t make sporty cars and come up with this kind of reasoning

Also, auto gearbox =/= driving slow. There are equal amounts of boyracers out there who cannot drive a manual, but they still are boyracers. Glenn Tan, your argument is invalid!

• alldisc on Apr 06, 2012 at 6:10 pm

at least make auto optional, but should have focus on manual. unless the auto is dual clutch manual gearbox – pretty acceptable.

• incognito on Apr 06, 2012 at 7:10 pm

Guess that thought came into his mind after he took an arrow to the knee after someone stole his sweetroll.

• There is a quote above that the manual transmission version can be ordered through special order… But I think the waiting time for the manual transmission BRZ to arrive would be longer since it is a special order. This is like the RX-8 case in here. Mazda only brings in the automatic transmission RX-8 and the manual transmission is ignored. What a pity… I don’t see any problems with offering 2 different transmission for the customer’s own choice. Anyway, if the boyracers really wanted to cause problems around the road, they still can do so with the automatic BRZ. So, it makes not much of a difference whether it is manual or automatic.

• suka_bola)besar(,,) on Apr 06, 2012 at 2:45 pm

why the spare tire placement like tat? raised in the middle just like tat??? no cover? premium sportcar?

• sean ZX10 on Apr 06, 2012 at 3:07 pm

DAMN UGLY!!

• Ordinary Joe on Apr 06, 2012 at 3:21 pm

I’m sure its a nicely engineered car, BUT it does not look like a RM250K car… at all!!

• Najib Bin Rojak Binti CD Chua Rosmah on Apr 06, 2012 at 4:40 pm

is expensive because of malaysia gomen! cannot blame others or the looks…..!!

• “Premium”?! That’s a laugh, that was. There’s nothing “premium”-looking in the interior.

And look at how they store the spare tyre! Premium, my a$$.

I thought the original purpose for the car was a cheap, fun, RWD? Now it’s just a confused premium coupe wanna-be.

Sad day for Subaru enthusiast.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Apr 06, 2012 at 4:42 pm

it makes no sense. why will the manual be costlier than an auto? and 250k is seriously bad pricing. considering it has a lower or equivalent price to a gti throughout the world.

• BMW used car on Apr 06, 2012 at 6:17 pm

a lot of youngster now can’t handle manual well.

• This is meant to be a budget sports car and i seriously expect it to cost around 180k or below. But at 250k, the price really defeats the MAIN purpose of this car. Which is to bring sports car affordability to the masses.

Honestly, just look at the competitors’ prices.

VW Golf GTi – around RM210k
    Pug RCZ – around RM 220k
    Magane RS250 – around RM230k
    VW Golf R – around RM270k

The rivals above are some pretty darn good performance cars and are mostly more powerful & drives great. Of course I believe the BRZ is a great car too & there’s nothing wrong buying one. But the price is just not worth it.

In conclusion, Malaysia car tax is un-rationally ridiculous. The end.

• our taxes are ridiculous true, from japan car are free from import duties and only subjected to 90% excise…should b around 180k, anything more then its dealers whom are greedy.

• 4g63tdsm on Apr 06, 2012 at 7:12 pm

250k?!

Madness. Perhaps if they throw in 2 extra turbochargers and a proper 6 speed manual.

Premium my ass. This Glen Tan is way off the beat. Do sell more SUVs. It’s the “boy racers” that are keeping the brand alive.

• alldisc on Apr 08, 2012 at 7:27 am

subaru will sell at 259K. umw will sell cheaper. all these while Motor Image was selling Imprezas at sky high prices – reason of their own failure especially when competing with the grey importers like naza

• Apalalu on Apr 06, 2012 at 7:12 pm

For that price I would choose F30 328i and smoke this car anytime in style n elegance.

• Outdated ICE, no MP3 and only can play with WMA…haha…maybe because they want you to enjoy the engine sound rather than music…=P

• seancorr on Apr 06, 2012 at 9:03 pm

With that kind of price, we wun be seeing this on the road often. Honestly was expecting it to be around the RM200k mark to rival the likes of the RCZ but Subaru blew all chances to be competitive in this segment.

Like the others pointed out – the kit in this car is marginal comparing to other cars so the asking price of RM250k+ is mind blowing.

• For now, we might not be seeing much of these around the road. But after around 3 to 4 more years later, expect to see a lot of recon units running around here. This is just like the case of RX-8 and 350Z. Both of them are quite heavily priced at here due to the tax. That’s why there are so many recon RX-8 and 350Z going around the road. If the recon BRZ/GT86 is placed for under RM150k, I can predict that there will be many of them going around the road after 3 to 4 more years later.

• noname on Apr 06, 2012 at 11:33 pm

At 250K, you better buy VW Golf R (270K)…
    Higher hp and torque….
    and 4WD too…..

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Apr 07, 2012 at 7:35 pm

Glenn Tan explained that they’re discouraging manual sales to move away from the “boyracer image” the brand has built up over the years. Of the big winged turbo monsters, Tan said: “This is not the kind of image we want to have. We’re doing a completely different thing now, we want to be a premium Japanese brand.” – you want be premium ah, when subaru makes a nice interior then only say this statement la k?

• armandd on Apr 08, 2012 at 7:34 pm

Shame on you subaru malaysia boss for not offering the manual as standard. You should sell toyota or honda ler, not subaru..

• yanes on Jun 11, 2012 at 9:42 pm

Ill get this over the 86. Mainly due to the boxer engine. With big hope that it’ll be ckd. Haha.

• Hahaha on May 19, 2013 at 12:45 pm

Halo. 86 n BRZ are twin sisters with same Subaru Boxer engine laaa. Where have u been? Alaska?? Dunno how to read ahh

• nonono on Jun 13, 2012 at 12:35 pm

250K only becoz of the 86 name.. i cant see any new techy stuff in this car.. overpriced!

• my350Z on Jul 15, 2012 at 7:12 pm

$250k for 200hp m/c which could not even beat S2000 which is way older lol

• glennstan TaiLor glanstan on Aug 23, 2012 at 2:24 pm

Who will buy this with auto trans? Maybe some 90ers who can”t drive but want some sport car?

• oasis on Dec 16, 2012 at 12:13 am

250k for a new super car actually very cheap but interior was too simple and out fashion.
    About the spec it’s not so attractive.
    2litres engine produce 200hp too low.
    Prefer 4WD and FWD easier to handle high HP.
    Prefer DSG , MT and CVT outdated.
    Outlook quite nice. Can be consider.

• marcus on Jan 12, 2013 at 5:44 pm

if the BRZ is priced at the disastrous price as 86 here (which is priced even higher than GTI VW, everywhere else in the world its priced lower)…then they might as well don’t bring it in.

If 86 or BRZ were to be priced correctly here, around 180k then it would be a huge success

• marcus on Jan 12, 2013 at 5:48 pm

someone commented about F30 smoking these cars….well its true. For 250k , u might as well buy the F30 both diesel and petrol would smoke 86. BRZ, impreza, evo to oblivion and yet remain in elegance.

• PauKaya on Feb 06, 2013 at 8:27 pm

already 2013, no news yet? tanchong/motorimage/fatboy glenn tan

• Hahaha on May 19, 2013 at 12:49 pm

When will this car open for booking at MI? I think it’s time for me to switch to manual tranny. Boxer engine with great chassis n LSD? Couldn’t ask for more. Who cares about turbocharging n hp when one can have fun with manual n NA engine!