Audi A4 facelift arrives in Malaysia – from RM235k

A4110028

Euromobil has announced the arrival of the facelifted B8 Audi A4, with the 2012 car available in two variant forms, the 1.8 TFSI and the 2.0 TFSI quattro – bookings for the car open from today.

Both turbocharged, direct injection mills come with start-stop system and the recuperation system as standard. The new 1.8 litre unit increases the output for the A4 from the previous 160 hp to 170 hp at 3,800 to 6,200 rpm and an even more significant torque hike from 250 Nm to 320 Nm, available from 1,400-3,700 rpm.

As for the 2.0 litre job, that offers 211 hp at 4,300-6,000 rpm and 350 Nm at 1,500-4,200 rpm for numbers. Drivetrain partners are a eight-speed multitronic CVT gearbox for the 1.8 TFSI, while the 2.0 version gets a seven-speed S tronic tranny.

A4110030

Exterior cosmetic changes include a reworked bumper, which features new look angled air inlets and fog lights, restyled headlamps as well as a redesigned grille and bonnet, fringed by updated LED daytime running lights. At the back, the tail lamps reflect the shape of the headlights and the bumper, and the diffuser insert has also been redesigned.

For wheels, the 1.8 TFSI is equipped with 17-inch alloys in a 10-spoke star design, wrapped with 245/45 series rubbers, while the 2.0 TFSI comes wearing 18-inch, five-twin spoke alloys, and these are clad with 245/40 profile tyres. Optional 19-inch wheels are available, if you like them bigger.

Inside, revisions to the refined interior include new choices of trim material and colour schemes. New steering wheel designs find their way on to the car, while the optional MMI navigation plus system now features four instead of eight buttons, with a script function integrated in the volume control dial.

A4Q110011

Other improvements concern operation of the automatic transmission, the air conditioning system, Audi drive select and the multi-function steering wheel, while the seat heating and air conditioning are now directly operated by respective buttons.

Elswhere, the 1.8 is fitted with an Audi Symphony radio and 10-speaker sound system, while the 2.0’s Symphony unit is partnered to a 14-speaker, 505-watt Bang and Olufsen Sound System. And, optional Fine Nappa leather upholstery replaces the Valcona leather of old; also on the options list are inlays in Aluminium Trigon, walnut dark brown, fine grain ash natural brown and Beaufort oak.

A selection of 15 exterior paint finishes, including four new tones, are available for the revised A4, and as far as pricing goes, that for the 1.8 TFSI starts from RM235,000, while the 2.0 TFSI quattro’s is RM309,800. Euromobil also has the optional S line exterior package to dress things up, and that’s an additional RM25,000.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• TRT Malaysia on Apr 09, 2012 at 1:02 pm

Nice!! I’ll happily settle with the 1.8 TFSI..

• kivatt0024 on Apr 09, 2012 at 1:21 pm

even audi also using a CVT gearbox (1.8 ver)…why preve can’t…??

• Hammerclaw69 on Apr 09, 2012 at 2:26 pm

Then what are Preve using? both IAFM+ and CFE are using CVT la

• kivatt0024 on Apr 09, 2012 at 4:58 pm

some people think that turbocharged engine were not suitable using CVT….if u check on the post about preve…there are some people come out with this arguments….im not blaming proton to use it…that’s my post was about to ask these peoples…..even audi using CVT gearbox…why preve can’t…??

• V-Power Racing on Apr 09, 2012 at 9:35 pm

To be fair, Audi’s CVT is reserved for their low-end product where economy is primary. All high performance Audi uses DSG/Tiptronic.

• underskinned on Apr 09, 2012 at 4:36 pm

EPIC FAIL. LOL.

• pampam on Apr 09, 2012 at 6:31 pm

I think people misunderstood his statement la..

he meant that proton bashers say CVT no good, but Audi also use CVT ma.. how to answer la bashers?

• Hello on Apr 24, 2012 at 1:55 pm

Please do some research, Proton Preve CVT maximum torque input is 215NM, and the engine itself is already producing 205nm of torque.

And Audi’s latest CVT can withstand up to 400NM of torque with its upgraded CVT gearbox. 1.8tfsi is producing 320NM of torque, there is plenty room for upgrading or mod.

it is totally different technology.

• CVT? I thought European cars don’t usually use those. Btw, is the 1.8 an FWD ?
    Nevertheless good price for both though.

• kington on Apr 09, 2012 at 1:55 pm

The CVT has been used in Audi A4s for quite sometime now, since the B6. Even the model before the B6 had CVTs in certain markets.

It’s a FWD car. Audi only has FWD and 4WD The R8 too is 4wd but with more drive to the rear wheels, much like most supercars out there.

Anthony, is the S-tronic a DSG or a conventional torque converter?

• Chris Lim on Apr 09, 2012 at 1:26 pm

Is it me or is the Audi taking on the shapes of VW? No surprises given the background buy WHY???? Shouldnt it be the other way round?

• mister potato on Apr 09, 2012 at 1:59 pm

Audi A4 Sedan 2.0 TFSI® Prestige quattro with eight-speed Tiptronic® transmission is about USD45k (RM140k). In Malaysia they charge RM303k. Probably cost around 140k in Langkawi too, and people in Langkawi also get subsidized petrol, school, hospitals, etc. It’s hard to be excited when something that you can actually buy is artificially jacked up to an obscene price, with the price difference going to disgusting places. Wake up!

• deftones on Apr 09, 2012 at 3:38 pm

most of us here already know..maybe u alone still sleeping..
      pointless to argue with this anymore..coz they are not going to change the plan..
      if u think these kind of cars are over taxed, then too bad u get to support malaysian cars..
      rich people wont wait for G to reduce the tax..they just buy and enjoy..

• tiadaid on Apr 09, 2012 at 5:35 pm

Yes Langkawi people enjoy all those things – but where are they going to drive those cars so fast? You can go around the island in a mere few hours so what’s the point?

Honestly, I don’t understand why Langkawi & Labuan gets low tax cars – which idiot came up with that idea?

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Apr 09, 2012 at 6:29 pm

shhh.dont make so much noise first…later i in langkawai also cannot buy the nice cars

• V-Power Racing on Apr 09, 2012 at 9:39 pm

duhhh… the tax free status is not just to buy cars la wei!

• affey on Apr 11, 2012 at 6:31 pm

Ya lorr why aa, double standard are the people there paying more tax?

• Simon Ng on Apr 09, 2012 at 6:11 pm

I am sorry. But this is getting a little bit old. Every time when we see a new car release on this site. Remarks similar like this would surface. Is always about high tax, stupid government, overseas car cheaper, P1 is being protected etc.

Well, that is the reality! There are only four solutions to this problem.

1. Suck it up and take it like a man.
      2. Vote for a new government. Can they deliver what we want? I do not know.
      3. Move to overseas. Cars may be cheaper, but other things like petrol will be expensive.
      4. Work harder. Working harder does not guarantee success. At least you try.

I wish I am more optimistic. That’s the reality. Bringing it up on this forum does not help much. Good luck.

• Why so angry? Do those comments make you feel stupid because they reveal the real value.
        A whole lot of people feel deprived because it don’t make sense to buy at such high prices even if you had the money. The people who buy these things normally charge it to their companies as expenses so that they don’t get taxed too much. I know guys who buy 1 above 300k car almost every year. It’s not for normal people.
        Anything that is 3 times the price is NOT sustainable. You watch and see, something will happen to make the price crash….they always do, let it be stocks , property or even governments . But the pre-cursor of the crash is always a simmering discontent or uneasiness, just like how you are reacting ….where everybody knows they are buying high.
        If the price crashes, I’ll buy 1 unit,…..I am praying hard , please pray with me.

• V-Power Racing on Apr 09, 2012 at 9:25 pm

Are we supposed to symphatised to someone who whines because he cant get an Audi? If you can afford the Audi you can afford the tax. If not, move on. Nobody likes a whining smart-ass.

• The insurance premium for an Audi A4 is £4000 (RM19408.43) per year in the UK if you’re a new driver…

• dRwh0 on Apr 10, 2012 at 8:54 pm

If u think the price is too expensive..work harder and buy it later..If u think the govt tax structure not justified, change the govt and u may afford to buy it at lower price..If u think it is overprice in malaysia..migrate to those so called better country and buy the car..life is simple..stop complaining..do the right thing if u think u r right..cheers

• Audifan on Apr 09, 2012 at 2:06 pm

why the dash picture is DIESEL model???…duhhh

• ben yap on Apr 09, 2012 at 2:12 pm

T&H should learn from Audi. whenever there is a facelift, they add in some cool stuffs with additional power output. don’t just facelift by changing bumpers and grills and re-facelift it over and over again just for the sake of extending the product life cycle.

• 8 speed CVT. Proton Preve’ you dah setaraf Audi la. cuma power je kurang sikit

• hanifhamzah on Apr 09, 2012 at 2:30 pm

i personally prefer the previous front face design

• so, 6 mths waiting period still?

• xavier lert on Apr 09, 2012 at 4:03 pm

maybe..even vw gti when i test drive around last year the sales says to me that i may come next year april (around now) to choose color only…than more wait for the car to come..

• longjaafar on Apr 09, 2012 at 3:13 pm

The BMW 3 series and Mercedes C class have now got a real battle on their hands. With 320nm of torque, it is a formidable foe. Best of all, the price has remained the same as the outgoing model.

• vincent on Apr 09, 2012 at 3:15 pm

235k straight from Germany, sounds like a very good deal for those who can afford a >200k car.

• doraemonKingPopeyeLopez on Apr 09, 2012 at 3:31 pm

The 2.0 with S line exterior package really Bang for Bucks man!!!

• Wisdom on Apr 09, 2012 at 4:04 pm

505W B&O. Nice!

• thunderbolt on Apr 09, 2012 at 4:06 pm

Please do show the top-speed/0-100km ? second / and oil consumption ? Liter/per 100km whenever making any new car introduction.

• mister potato on Apr 09, 2012 at 4:55 pm

http://www.audi.com.my/etc/medialib/ngw/sea/my/products/a4/a4_saloon.Par.0001.File.pdf/audi_a4_1_8_tfsi_.pdf
      0-100 kmh: 8.3 seconds
      fuel consumption: 5.8 liter/100km

• Malaysian on Apr 09, 2012 at 6:42 pm

If you serious about the car, then you’d already be heading out to Euromobil to check it and the specs out. Top speed and 0-100 km/h is important figures, but not everything leh. Not playing Top Trumps lah – “my Veyron top speed tapau your Suzuki Alto” can always be beaten by ‘Starex seats 11, takes your Veyron card’.

• Enson on Apr 09, 2012 at 4:07 pm

Any huge discount for old model? Hehe!

• mister potato on Apr 09, 2012 at 4:56 pm

why settle for an old model? just remove the ridiculous tax and we’ll get the new 2.0 quattro at rm150k.

• Dr Mamak on Apr 09, 2012 at 5:20 pm

Still a fwd and overpriced vw. F30 will eat it for breakfast.

• Tyler Durden on Apr 09, 2012 at 5:51 pm

I agree!

Anthony, the starting price is RM 239k instead of RM 235k.

Cheerios,
      TD

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 09, 2012 at 6:30 pm

TD,

Euromobil lists the starting price from RM235k. Mentioned it three times too at that. So unless someone tells me otherwise via the official channel, it’s that. But thanks for the heads up!

• Vodka on Apr 16, 2012 at 6:34 pm

It’s RM235k without insurance and around RM239k with insurance on the road.

• Tazio on Apr 09, 2012 at 6:18 pm

What is with this childish ‘eat for breakfast’ mentality?. Different ppl of course will have different opinion. Go get a GT-R, surely you can eat anything anywhere anytime.

• why people always say audi = overprice vw? Audi also own Lamborghini. Why not say audi is cheaper Lambo? So now Porsche is also overprice vw?

• Anthony,

this car CBU Germany or Indon?

• coolcar on Apr 09, 2012 at 9:54 pm

FWD for 235k? better get a Camry, bigger and cheaper.

• In Europe VW is a people’s car. like proton in Msia. Audi is a high rated than VW.

• samtho on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:26 pm

nice car..if u dont have money to buy it..dont worry..u can rent it around 100euros in germany for 3days…drive like crazy..

• better than overprice toyota 86. BOYCOTT BUYING NEW CAR FOR 6 MONTH…TEACH THEM SOME LESSON ABOUT THE POWER OF CONSUMER….

• elvin on Apr 13, 2012 at 5:34 pm

Some review mention its pity cos they use a CVT gearbox on 1.8 model.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RKdlsoalhWs&list=UU-MByr5LRnWmVN94Ija4XJg&index=6&feature=plcp (at 3:11)

Is CVT really that bad?

from what i know VW DSG gearbox is good but need to take well care.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kHkXGVZUQZ8 (at 11:53)

can advise on this,cos thinking to get a 1.8TFSI.

• Audi is for high class ..owner..Got Money Anything you can buy, but nothing is perfect even you buy Lamborghini it still has a weeknees.