Bufori to showcase YTL’s Geneva in China, also plans to open showrooms in Beijing, Chengdu and Shenzhen

China, which is flush with new money and extravagant tastes, is fertile ground for Bufori, which makes unique bespoke machines like no other – and that’s where the Malaysian-based carmaker is heading.

Bufori announced that it will showcase its Geneva model at the Beijing auto show later this month. Launched at Geneva 2010, the Geneva will make its first Asian appearance at the Chinese show. We were there at the car’s unveiling in Switzerland – click here and here for more on the Geneva.

“Since the launch in 2010 we have refined and added more features and technologies to the car. For the show, we are very proud to showcase Tan Sri Yeoh Tiong Lay’s personal car, which we were commissioned by his family to specially build for his 80th birthday. Tan Sri Yeoh, founder of YTL Corporation, is a Bufori supporter and a connoisseur of the finest things in life and it is our honour to be able to create this masterpiece to add to his collection of cars,” said Gerry Khouri, MD and co-founder of Bufori.

This is not the start of Bufori’s Chinese journey, though. Last month, the company opened its flagship showroom in the fashionable Xintiandi district in Shanghai. The 300 sqm showroom provides space for three handmade Bufori cars, a coffee bar and a customisation studio. The opening was attended by customers, media, VIP guests and celebrities such as Olympic gold medalist Hu Jia and movie star Gao ShuGuang.

Bufori is planning to set-up additional dealerships throughout China, with showrooms to be established in Beijing, Chengdu and Shenzhen.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• khylie555 on Apr 09, 2012 at 3:26 pm

For those who thinks that a national car at RM70k is expensive,what about this?Made in Malaysia too.

• Bufori need to rework its front lamp..other than that..nice :D

• aizat63 on Apr 09, 2012 at 3:59 pm

Tony Fernandes should have a look at this company before buying a foreign brand Caterham. Just imagine Bufori F1!!

• nas-T on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:55 pm

Bufori F1? yuks…Bufori has much smaller customer compared to Caterham. Tak berbaloi.

• NONICKNAME on Apr 09, 2012 at 5:04 pm

No matter it’s ugly or not, u still cant afford this

• philip lim on Apr 09, 2012 at 6:13 pm

i personally think it needs a lot or work with the exterior ( that’s all I see)

• ugly sells!! a ha ha

• Cabon-kevlar composite, Hemi V8 power!

• The car hood looked like a chinese casket. Sorry i’ll pass on this one

• zaide on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:26 am

Bat mobile

• Superman on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:35 am

can’t sell in Malaysia and other countries so they try to spoil china customers and sell it to them… let us see what they do and how they go…. i can see the results soon.. haha

• supergirl on Apr 10, 2012 at 5:39 pm

I don’t think Malaysia is their main market. They are serving the world market. I’ve been on a tour of their factory. They build to order and they cannot build enough cars to meet demand. They don’t advertise because they don’t have to. Their cars are TUV certified and homologated to world markets.

There is nothing for ‘us to see what they do and how they go’. They’ve been building cars since 1987 and the last 18 years from Malaysia. This is not a start up company. If its good enough for Tan Sri YTL and the who’s who of Malaysia and the world then it must be good for the market.

These are serious modern machines with all modern gadgetry. You have to visit their factory to be amazed at what they do. No one else in teh industry use make carbon-kevlar parts, air suspension, monster V8 etc..

Just because you don’t know anything doesn’t mean its crap. I’m proud to see the workmanship they put into their cars and I wish all Malaysians see how advanced the sort of work that they do there. It puts our so called auto industry to shame.

• Superman on Apr 10, 2012 at 9:57 pm

R u working for them? I know who they r. What demand? Pls wake up to reality.

• supergirl on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:09 pm

Learn to read. I’ve toured their factory and have talked to them and others who know them well. So I know of them. You don’t know them (although you claim you do).. because what you say makes no sense to what they and others with current info are saying about them.

‘What demand?’ you say. Do YOU work for them? You claim to know their ‘market performance’.

They cannot produce enough to meet demand for their Bufori Geneva. Pls wake up to actual facts!

• Superman on Apr 13, 2012 at 10:56 am

i have no time for a debate… not worth it. we see how the results, if successful we are happy if not you cry

• supergirl on Apr 14, 2012 at 2:10 pm

In other words… you are too lazy to actually understand what you are talking about.

There is nothing ‘to see’. As I have generously tried to bring to your attention, they have MORE ORDERS THAN THEY CAN DELIVER!

Why do you stubbornly think that Bufori is a new venture and that the Geneva is only introduced now??

‘If successful’ you’re not going to buy one anyway and Bufori will continue to run as usual. They’ve been around for over 20 years!

No crying needed.

• nas-T on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:02 pm

Why Bufori making car with 1930-1940 style? Why can’t they follow other luxury car concept such as Bentley, Roll-Royce, Maybach. Their design still look nice and modern compared to Bufori.

• ko malu saje... on Apr 11, 2012 at 2:34 pm

Go read up on Morgan cars.

• nas-T on Apr 12, 2012 at 9:59 pm

ah yes… Morgan car. small British car company with the ugly Aero 8. very uncompetitive in Le Mans 2002 and 2004 and GT racing. Yes I know about them. why?

• Superman on Apr 13, 2012 at 10:51 am

Pls stop comparing Morgans to bufori. Morgans are far more superior…

• supergirl on Apr 14, 2012 at 2:04 pm

‘Morgans are far more superior..’

You must be absolutely joking. It is obvious you have no experience with any Morgan except maybe Morgan Fairchild :)