Toyota 86 price announced – RM243k for manual, RM249k for automatic; taking your orders now

Got RM243,000 for a car? Well, that’s the indicative on-the-road price UMW Toyota Motor has set for the Toyota 86, twin to the Subaru BRZ, which we recently sampled. For an automatic transmission, you have to fork out an extra RM6,000, for a grand total of RM249,000. Yes, from what I can gather in the press release, the ‘GT’ is missing from the name.

Six colours will be available at launch – Satin White Pearl (RM800 premium), Crystal Black Silica, Sterling Silver Black, Lightning Red, Galaxy Blue Silica and Orange Metallic. No other official information on the specs of the car has been announced as yet.

No official launch date has been fixed yet either. But if you want to be the first to own one, Toyota has started taking orders.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Crazydes on Apr 09, 2012 at 6:11 pm

Wah, surprising price… ==”

I tot below RM200K wor..

• I want Malaysian car tax basher/skeptic to calculate percent tax…is it 200%-300% from taxless langkawi?

• alldisc on Apr 09, 2012 at 9:00 pm

200-300% was like 10 years ago for CBU cars.

nowadays it is less.. something like 150-160% for non-asean CBU import. my company is suffering 193% of this tax.

• Malaysian are not stupid on Apr 09, 2012 at 8:24 pm

Wow, RM100,000 extra just for taxes???? That’s crazy! Malaysian are really getting ripped-off by the BN Government with all these absurdly high taxes and duties.

Best part is for those who take a loan, you’re borrowing money from banks and paying interest just to pay the high taxes. Dumbest thing I ever heard of.

• nehnehcherry on Apr 09, 2012 at 9:43 pm

and the money the bank makes goes back another round to gov as taxes ^^

• haiya….Think la. . .

if Tax high. . .oil low. . food low. . .

if Tax Medium…oil low….food medium. . .

if Tax Low. . . oil high. . . food high. . . .

there’s Pros n Cons

• teelim on Apr 09, 2012 at 10:26 pm

Tax high… Food low?

Are you kidding me?

• normal_user on Apr 10, 2012 at 8:15 am

If I was his Economics Professor, I would have slapped him thousand times. hehe.

There’s no such thing as correlation between tax and food prices!

• . . . . . on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:11 am

If u a professor la. . .hahaha. . . but i think a professor will not “smartly” slap people just b’coz of stupid statment. . .

• if he’s an Econ student, i’ll bet the Boxer engine of GT86 that the world is coming to an end…

but then again GT86 is so expensive, i’ll just bet on the receipt of the police bribe i just gave… (wops~)

• Merc=Real Euro on Apr 09, 2012 at 11:48 pm

U are in denial…

• People on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:51 am

You must be a retard. Oil low, food low my ass

• daamz on Apr 10, 2012 at 7:06 am

My opinion is Tax high…study high, food medium, petrol medium, the most important thing is most of people salary still low-medium. haha.. who choose Gov? it was rakyat? So rakyat, don’t complain too much coz u the one choose the gov.. haha

• lee kok leong on Apr 10, 2012 at 8:03 am

Walsvagon gti is batter value 86

speed .hp.is biger 86

• dodohbirdz on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:16 pm

missing the point dude. while ur gti is understeering through the bends, this car will eat it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

• stupid and idiot! googling fresh milk price in uk, convert to MYR, then you will surprise.
          Lot cheaper than malaysia yet higher income than common rakyat.

• milk is definitely cheaper in other countries… we dun have cows anymore, remember? >=)

• _xXx_ on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:38 pm

we do have lotsa cash cows

• well, agree uk/Europe have have lots of dairy cattle. They produce their own milk and sell cheap for their rakyat.

Our country have only around 10% milk produce by local. Other is import from new Zealand, Thailand, AUS.

questions here, why their milk so cheap yet their operation cost much higher than us (salary). Think.

We have auto maker but sold higher than proven brand (if NO TAX) which their quality maybe worse than china maker (by 2-3 years later). Rubbish car, directly for proton.

For me, this is what i call stupid leader politician, do not know how to keep balance for rakyat and country wealth, only care about their own pocket.

see like selangor, before pakatan, state revenue 200Milion
            After pakatan 2 Bilion ! 10 Times! Where 800Milion goes before this?

No wonder their can give free water
            No like tnb (BN), lots of hidden agenda…..

• Daniel on Aug 31, 2012 at 9:00 pm

lol not really == the tax for the cars are mainly because of proton ….Because proton can not survive itself that’s why the people are required to pay so much for a car …

• underskinned on Apr 09, 2012 at 11:11 pm

Or maybe it’s UMW Toyota that sets the price a lot higher in Peninsular than Langkawi / Labuan. They’ could have just price it RM200k, but someone there said “Hey, I bet we can push 50k extra to widen the profit margin!”

• Yup, its probably their idea

• May be.

Looking at how they prices the ‘all new’ Avanza and Innove, and the 4 speed Camry, i guess u’re rite.

• dung Zong on Apr 10, 2012 at 9:44 am

Please members. No money don’t buy the car.

• Malaysians are dumb to pay the taxes but then think again most Malaysian who can afford are only for the rich n politician can enjoy the best life.. If your not elite then drive proton lah.. But vote they want from the poor.. Shit still many fucking stupid Malay n Indians n Chinese sabah n sarawakians still vote for BN.. Really dumb bastards

• Crasher on Apr 09, 2012 at 8:46 pm

Because the car is fully imported

• Expensive ! i rather get a chick car VW EOS ==’

• only people with lot of money will buy sportscars. So, tax him la. Its a simple straightforward tax mechanism. Ordinary people shud live life like ordinary people. Want to live like a rich man. Work hard and be rich first. Then only talk. Not all Japs drive lexus, in fact majority depends on the public transport. Its the govt fault oso, they screw up the public transport service just to encourage people to buy protons. Now people are hooked up with cars, so they demand more. Everybody wants a taste of “Ferrari”. Good for the people oso. ha ha

• alamak on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:53 am

Probably Our malaysia Hard have to be X3 compare other country compare to obtain our dream car.

other county > medium income > medium car price

own country > low income > high car price

• oligopoli on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:39 pm

” Its the govt fault oso, they screw up the public transport service just to encourage people to buy protons.”

i read this statement few time. any source can verify ur accusation other than your opinion?

• EricTan-OnW on Apr 10, 2012 at 7:11 pm

this car is BANG FOR BUCKs man!!! booking one!!!

• waheng on Apr 10, 2012 at 7:22 pm

no matter how, its still a Toyo car.

• Daniel on Aug 31, 2012 at 9:02 pm

Yalor == for that price prefer conti …. hahahax

• Yes, time to cancel the booking of ‘pervy’ and get this.

• how does this compare to a megane rs?

• kington on Apr 09, 2012 at 7:43 pm

The Megane would be faster, much like the manic CTR.. but this one’s all about handling.. adequate power..

The most that i could justify is RM220K. Overpriced.

So our last chance rests on Motor Image bringing in the lower specced BR-Z.

• teelim on Apr 09, 2012 at 10:28 pm

But MI will be focusing on the auto variant only. I would love to see their sales figures if the price is close to what Toyota is offering. LOL

• alldisc on Apr 09, 2012 at 9:02 pm

FF and FR. its your called whether you want heavy understeer or mild oversteer

• 4g63tdsm on Apr 10, 2012 at 8:35 am

Haha. Not driven the new spat of sporty FWD cars lately have you?

If your are under steering a good well sorted front driver, you are not driving it correct. Turbo AWDs also understeers….not stopping them to be so tail happy in rallies eh?

• great price….. malaysian can buy… can buy new camry… GT86 and new elantra….

• from those thumbs,i can conclude that 90% of Malaysian didn’t understand sarcasm

• hi momo…. they really don’t understand sarcasm….. forget them…. i afford to pay… but won’t pay rm250K to get this car…..

• buy buy buy

• pampam on Apr 09, 2012 at 6:24 pm

Better get Megane RS250 Cup.
    stupid overpriced Toyota!

• these guys are crazy pricing car like this, cannot blame all on duties as japan auto imprt duty is zero only excise still staggering 90%, it still should b cheaper than vw…

• almost every car is overpriced here…..

• pampam on Apr 09, 2012 at 9:29 pm

ya, every car is overpriced, but this is just too much. It is supposed to be an entry level sportscar. I wouldn’t mind paying such a sum for an Audi A4 or Megane RS250, but for this entry level 2.0 NA Toyota?

F**K you TOYOTA! (n oso msian gov)

• looking-good on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:49 am

you are rite!

Let alone the tax issue aside, either TOYOTA or TOYOTA Malaysia is damn greedy !

all the while they are !!

see the new Camry, still 4 speed! OMG!
          empty specs, kosong, kosong, kosong!!

• hahaha on Apr 10, 2012 at 8:28 am

we must blame the umw toyota for the overpriced..and the new camry with 4speed also we can blame umw for bring the lower spec yet the price is higher..so it is about umw

• deftones on Apr 09, 2012 at 8:10 pm

no wait..this is rwd…i would love rwd more than fwd..

• teelim on Apr 09, 2012 at 10:32 pm

Only I you plan to bring it to a circuit often

If you use it as an everyday car, the Megane would be a better bet as the power would be more accessible. Futher more, it is more practice too

• laluan sehala on Apr 09, 2012 at 10:38 pm

well, they are toyota and they will over price in malaysia… because there will always be many people who will buy it. see how many vios, corolla and camry running around? they just don’t mind paying higher for something worth less. and that’s why toyota in malaysia will always continue to be over priced… because the buyers fuel the sales.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Apr 09, 2012 at 6:26 pm

whats the spec list? at least they make more sense than subaru, who wants to charge more for a manual.

• Bayang Putih on Apr 09, 2012 at 6:28 pm

what??? i tot below rm200k.

• JeremyNg on Apr 09, 2012 at 6:33 pm

Toyota 86 cost RM243,000.
    Renault Megane RS250 cost RM228,761.
    VW Golf GTI cost RM209,888.
    VW Scirocco cost RM243,888.

Problem??

Why Toyota car always overpriced!!! Thanks the the high demand on this specific manufacturer.

• I would go for F30.

• V-Power Racing on Apr 09, 2012 at 9:51 pm

haih!!! why are you comparing FWD cars with a RWD car? Have you ever driven a RWD car? Do you know the differences in their driving characteristic? Does a Volkswagen Golf GTI handles better than, lets say a BMW 323, even though the Beemer has lower power? Why do you ask question like a secondary school boy?

• teelim on Apr 09, 2012 at 10:45 pm

Somewhat agree with you, but seriously, jus how many would benefit from the supposedly better handling of a RWD than the benefits of a forced induction engine (comparing the 86/BRZ with the Megane, Scirocco etc.) on a daily basis?

Those cars are one of the best FWD cars around at the moment so they are actually better for the “less skilled” drivers (aka the general public)

• pampam on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:35 am

A properly tuned FWD car like RS250 can be just as good, with a cup chassis to boot.
        But Mazda MPS is not properly tuned FWD, that’s why it has got a lot of torque steer.

• looking-good on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:06 am

RWD maybe better handling~
        but hav you forgot the famous 2.0T + DSG combo? proven & well received worldwide~

a German brand, VW isn’t it far more premium than japanese?

Toyota 86 auto price at RM249K, even few thousands higher than the Scirocco 2.0T

what is wrong with TOYOTA? they think they are more premium or betther than VW?????

• lasapka on Apr 10, 2012 at 8:49 am

for a second car, it is fun to have one. for daily drive, i rather take the VW.

• VW-mechanic on Apr 10, 2012 at 7:35 pm

the DSG is very unreliable piece of engineering, u can read up tons of feedback from owners around the world (it’s a proven facts)…I would go for the manual 86 or manual gti or golf R anyday!

• Doppio Corpo Orrizontale on Apr 09, 2012 at 11:25 pm

hey u forgot about MPS

• tokmoh on Apr 09, 2012 at 6:39 pm

Good car
    No good price

Greedy pig UMW. Toyota doesn’t deserve this greedy distributor.

• droll on Apr 09, 2012 at 6:43 pm

prices aside, this is one car that is totally un-toyota – i mean toyotas are meant to be boring, reliable, and point-a to point-b cars. umw dare to bring this into m’sia. … and summore at that price??? i’m more interested to see what the spec list is for 243k/249k that a potential customer pays. it’s going to be a hard sell vs the competition. umw got very little experience selling this kind of car and in that kind of price bracket lah.

• Chris on Apr 09, 2012 at 9:14 pm

You must be too young…. I grow up with toyotas from the 70’s and 80’s roaming the street, and I love them.

To me, (old) Toyota are meant to be simple, reliable, and having spare parts compatible with many of the models so it’s easy to find stuff in chop shop last time.

As I grow older, more stress and responsibility from job, and less time to mess about with the cars. I thought of the new 86 as a replacement for me old rwd toyota. Just want it to be light, RWD, and a LSD… maybe under 180k.

But nooooo they’re making it a premium model with all the bells and whistles that is not needed… I’m not even sure if it’s a successor to the ae86 or not…

Maybe I should start looking at a Polo GTI or something instead…. sigh…

• droll on Apr 09, 2012 at 10:01 pm

far from that my friend. i drove a KE30 for the better part of my college life and into my first and second job. so i am very familiar with toyota’s legendary reliability. that car had less rattles than my second car (a wira 1.6xli).

my point is that UMW does not know how to position this car in the market. and i’m convinced they don’t know how to sell such a model.

in japan, the younger generation are going green, and a number of automakers there realize this and they want to bring back the excitement of driving and owning a car back to the young ones. that’s why the BRZ and CRZ were born.

oh well.

• Chris on Apr 09, 2012 at 10:58 pm

Then I must take back my statement from earlier, I do not mean to offend.

I’ll just saved up for now and who knows there’s something interesting by the time I have enough money…

I really do wish they make more fun, affordable cars that I can use to commute to work daily as well. An all-rounded car. Maybe I’m asking for too much.

• the only hope we have for affordability is for perodua to redo some older toyota or daihatsu sporty (notice i did not say sports) cars.

cars like the soon-to-be discontinued daihatsu copen, the old scion tc, or even the old toyota paseo etc. only Perodua can do it. but a key question is, will these models make business sense to them?

• mosar on Apr 09, 2012 at 6:44 pm

Should this suppose to be the “affordable sportcars”? UMW sure had totally defeats the purpose of this car..realistically, 180k-200k would the acceptable price…and please cut the crap about marketing this as a “premium product”..if people looking to buy a premium car, at 250k, they ain’t gonna buy a Toyota..

• rather get vw or renault……unless you jaoanese street race fans

• Well done to our government. RM100k for taxes. I’m so impressed with the price!

• Sadly… the GT-86 wasn’t turbocharged..

• Hmm..a great car..but rm 240++..same over price as scirocco..:( i thought japanese car should be at lower price, so that we can afford to own it..now keep dreaming :(

• alldisc on Apr 09, 2012 at 9:05 pm

blame in on the marketing dept. umw should sack them all.

• Monday on Apr 09, 2012 at 10:43 pm

it’s the board that approves the price. they can veto the marketing department’s recommended price. fact is, they are all greedy simply because they can afford to, due to people always wanting to pay more for their cars.

perhaps the grey importers will bring in cheaper versions.

• alldisc on Apr 10, 2012 at 9:06 am

this is one fact – UMW staff (execs, managers and above) got 7-9 months bonus paid end of 2011.

how’s that, huh?

• alldisc on Apr 09, 2012 at 9:14 pm

ooppss.. the blame should be on the planning division (who never reads paultan i think)

• BlackBJQ on Apr 09, 2012 at 10:42 pm

lets wait for another 2-3 years.. We’ll get one from any grey importers. Probably much more reasonable sense.

• blitz on Apr 10, 2012 at 7:34 am

Did a quick check on prices of these 2 cars in the UK, and the Scirocco 2.0 GT is priced almost the same as the GT86.

• gaban on Apr 09, 2012 at 7:16 pm

better buy a house… this car is only for cocks****r…..

• noname on Apr 09, 2012 at 7:17 pm

better get Golf R…

• Gadssen on Apr 09, 2012 at 7:20 pm

This is madness!

• tokmoh on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:52 am

Madness?

THIS. IS. UMW!!!

Now DSZ just resigned, maybe he should open his own Toyota distributor. Bring in all the REAL Toyotas, not the tin kosong overpriced ones brought in by UMW pigs.

• I did not expect the price is overpriced. Taught toyota are doing an entry level budget sports car. Kinda expensive if you ask me. There are plenty of nice cars you can get 2nd hand for that price. Not a very good news for toyota malaysia

• SonnyT on Apr 09, 2012 at 9:42 pm

For that price, you can get a 2nd hand Porsche Boxter!

• Was about to say the same thing! with 240k, we can get a 2nd hand Boxster S or Cayman S, as the Cayman is the benchmark for the development of GT/FT-86, BRZ. Other comparable car would be Lotus Elise or Exige S, only if you are really a sporting driver and wants pure driving experiences, minus those unnecessary things.

• Was about to say the same thing! With 240k, can get a 2nd hand Boxster S or Cayman S. These are the cars that Toyota ans Subaru put as benchmark during the development or GT/FT-86 and BRZ.
        other choice would be Lotus Elise or Exige S, only if you are really a sporting driver, wants pure driving experiences with less luxuries.

• LE_buruk on Apr 10, 2012 at 9:28 am

or a 2nd hand s2000….
        so frust with the price….

• Gavin on Apr 09, 2012 at 7:22 pm

As expected but not Toyota fault

• Malaysian are not stupid on Apr 09, 2012 at 8:27 pm

Not Toyota fault??

Let’s look at the recent launch of the Camry. Locally assembled, old technologies and minor facelift outlook but yet price increase!

Think smart man. Malaysian are not stupid!

• kownek on Apr 10, 2012 at 8:51 am

actually malaysians are stupid……..because they vote back the same politicians who screw them everytime.

• I think with the number of thumbs down, these “Malaysian’ admits they are stupid and wants to remain so….??? Duh….

• shawal on Apr 09, 2012 at 7:22 pm

izzit the one with the e-diff or the mechanical one..?
    25k pounds, x5 , x2 ….RM250,000 ….voila…

hurmm…. mebe we shud just wait for a used uk-specced one ,in motor trader, its a toyota , so its built like a tank…

• wow the price makes crz and even rcz feel like great deal!
    or you can go buy almost 4 proton preve. Haha

• myvimania on Apr 09, 2012 at 10:31 pm

no you go buy 5 myvi, 1 kasi bakar, 1 lagi kasi terjun penang bridge, u still got 3 to do other things.Oh yes, satu lagi kasi parking atas track KTM Komuter, and then take video, masuk youtube. That will be the best 250,000 you ever spent.

• niceone on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:27 am

and that will also be the last piece of money that you will ever spend. after that, food clothes etc penjara pay :D

• wow the price makes crz and even rcz feel like great deal!
    or you can go buy 4 proton preve. Haha

• kereta_lembu on Apr 09, 2012 at 7:25 pm

What’s all the hype about? Nothing special if you ask me…oh yeah, maybe the price tag is special.

• IT should be at least at the same price as Type R or golf GTI or even lower !!!!!

• apishz on Apr 09, 2012 at 7:30 pm

atleast dont need to pay cheaper price for recond car.. got warranty from toyota what.. :D

• Malcolm Lim on Apr 09, 2012 at 7:39 pm

Langkawi price is the correct one..damn…100k for taxes? or 50% tax 50% masuk UMW pocket?

• lonelyobserve on Apr 09, 2012 at 10:15 pm

Not particularly. Langkawi’s price I suspect UMW gain more profit-margin that peninsular. Just a trick from government to fool the rakyat.

Cut the crap of the profit marign and duties, Toyata Hachiroku (86) is around RM100K for spec similar to JDM’s GT variant.

• That’s abt right.. it’s supposed to be about $40k in AU, well within the reach of most people who want “an affordable sports car” in Toyota’s own words.

Too bad the Malaysian Govt taxes the poor ppl.. but on the other hand, if ppl willing to pay, then they will tax on….

• Taguchi, Masayuki on Apr 09, 2012 at 7:40 pm

malaysia is a place for ripp off and overpriced cars.pffttt.

• Oh? So Toyota is offering a manual version while Subaru is staying away from the manual transmission because according to them, manual gives out a “boyracer” image. Subaru, you better rethink about your decision. Without manual, it will be very hard for you to compete with Toyota.

• kington on Apr 10, 2012 at 9:11 am

Agreed. How could they possible discriminate against manual boxes??

what more on a car like this.

• At least they are not being as silly as MI as to try to persuade you to buy an auto first.

• tunguuu on Apr 09, 2012 at 7:56 pm

sick, absurd pricing. UMW is just getting so so greedy. u can get so many better cars for that money. 200k can get u a Golf GTI. u want a drifter, get a silvia S15 then!

• Audi Owner on Apr 09, 2012 at 7:56 pm

Have to consider to rare cows.Then can afford to get 1.

• buduk on Apr 09, 2012 at 7:59 pm

the only toyota which is worth buying above RM200k is the landcruiser.

• BalanceD on Apr 09, 2012 at 8:08 pm

Almost 100k difference compared to Duty Free !
    Why are we paying 100k more for? WTF?!!!

• this price so near to evo x and impreza sti.

those car will smoke this toyota upside down.

• armandd on Apr 09, 2012 at 8:22 pm

This is one very good car but spoiled by ridiculous pricing by UMW Toyota. Shame.

• Me Again on Apr 09, 2012 at 8:26 pm

forget it…scirocco anytime….

• this car is designed to have minimum gravity and maximum ride and handling. go test it and compare and feel the difference with the boxter engine.

• BalanceD on Apr 09, 2012 at 8:30 pm

Again, if we do not have to protect Proton, would imported cars be cheaper?

Where does the money goes to from the duty paid?

We borrow money from bank to pay for duty … What a joke …

• If you buy this silly pricing car (I can’t see any reason whatsoever they can’t price it much lower than Gemany-built VW Golf GTI Or Golf R if we take Japan pricetag.

Arrogant stupid. The GT86 crazy price make Golf R a steal!

• Maserati on Apr 09, 2012 at 8:34 pm

All you clowns here . Stop complaining about 100k taxes lah. Even if they sold this at 150k , most of you cant afford also.

So stop dreaming and enjoy your proton preve

• nampak satu bangkai megane terbakar di mex tadi..

• owh its a magane, everyday i passed wondering what car is it lol

• Jerry on Apr 09, 2012 at 8:44 pm

This car is bloody overpriced, stellar driving dynamics notwithstanding!

And oh, if you are chronically rheumatic or has a bad back, this car is not for you. You have been warned.

• Crasher on Apr 09, 2012 at 8:45 pm

For those who complain about the price, the car can’t be a lot cheaper than other sports cars sell in Malaysia. The car is fully imported…

• Iraqi Dinar on Apr 09, 2012 at 8:48 pm

I’ll buy this car with cash money….if RV. Hehe

• Ruckus on Apr 09, 2012 at 8:58 pm

The price is what it is. Why is everyone so surprised about the taxes? Could it be cheaper? Of course it can be but then Toyota knows that demand is limited for Malaysia and if you want the real deal complete with full warranty, then you’ll have to pay RM243k. For everybody else, wait 8-12 months and look for ‘brand new’ year old cars in Motor Trader.

• tricycle on Apr 09, 2012 at 9:10 pm

Don’t buy it, if Toyota sticks to the 243k price. It is overpriced. It should be around 208k.

Basic 2.4 Toyota Camry cost USD 22k in the US and the most expensive Toyota here only cost RM 183k.

Scion 86 cost USD 25k in the US and yet it will cost RM243k here in bolehland.

Using simple mathematic, comparing 22k to 25k the price different is 13% and 183k to 243k the price different is 32%. It is huge.

And remember I was comparing the cheapest Camry in the US to the most expensive Camry in the Bolehland.

Go figure!

USD 21,955 = MYR 183,000 (Camry)

USD 24,930 = MYR 243,000 (86)

http://www.autoblog.com/2012/03/22/2013-scion-fr-s-priced-from-24-930/

• if possible just buy a simple car …. buying car in malaysia is too expensive…. almost every car that selling here is overpriced….. unless…. unless… u really got extra extra $$$$….. malaysia just like to show off….

• Furione on Apr 14, 2012 at 2:42 pm

I think you got the exchange rate completely wrong about USD to RM there mate.
      if it’s USD21,995 in the US holly shit it’s only RM67,227 for a CAMRY 2.4!!!!
      And Camry here is RM175,000 for a highest spec 2.4!! That’s a whole RM106,000 more than the US!! Jesus Christ!

• if got $$$, just pergi beli lah………. rm250k buy this car?? …. buy buy buy

• JeremyNg on Apr 09, 2012 at 9:28 pm

White colour extra RM800 ??!! WTF +1

• Maserati on Apr 09, 2012 at 9:29 pm

All the reviews in UK have mentioned that this is one of the best drivers car in decades.. Better than many german sports cars .. I guess,what u pay is what u get

• Opps better than many German sports cars?! but 1 thing for sure it’s just a Toyota so what’s a big deal? Porsche or Mercedes don even bother this thing is better than them or not?!

• Haiyaaa….buy PREVE’ only lah….
    You buy faster-faster car, you cannot drive fast maa…..
    110 km/h only maa…
    you drive fast, got saman…Najib and co. become richer maa…haiyaaa.

• SonnyT on Apr 09, 2012 at 9:39 pm

Superbly overpriced.
    I expected it to be sub 200K, between RM160K-180K..
    This is way above my expectation for a “affordable sport coupe”

I thought this was supposed to be targeted to the young who can’t afford an expensive car? Oooops… That’s in Japan..
    In Malaysia, it’s for the “water-fish”

• can we do something in malaysia?? unless the p company close shop…. in here, if we drive vios, we actually paid camry price… very sad lah …. if we really pay rm250k for this car….. walaueh…… toyota got great margin ler…… and for those who buy really stupid……

• Actually 2 dr cars pay higher duties

• optimus on Apr 09, 2012 at 9:46 pm

hang on…few post earlier was about new audi a4 facelifted. even that is cheaper than this gt86 ^^

hope motor image will do CKD on BRZ

• Matthew on Apr 09, 2012 at 9:46 pm

Everyone is crying foul about the pricing. But truth be told, if Toyota announce it at RM200k, you will still whine and expect it to be RM150k. You think Toyota built this to please everyone? Many can’t afford it, but there will be some who can. And that’s all Toyota is looking for.

• Espresso! Quick! on Apr 09, 2012 at 10:34 pm

was supposed to be built to be an affordable sports car… perhaps affordable is relative to where you live but i think yes, they tried to build it so that many can buy. unfortunately, it is not the case here.

• tok-kok on Apr 09, 2012 at 10:09 pm

Even at Langkawi no tax also RM143K ??
    Are we paying RM30K for AP?

• hahaa…either Langkawi or labuan it is still not 100% free tax…i bought my accord in Labuan cost me 106k….when i want to declare to bring in Peninsular…from the custom clearance form the car just cost 52k…so what is the extra 54k for..? it is impossible dealer markup at 100% margin? beside misc cost eg freight and etc.

• Dr Mamak on Apr 09, 2012 at 10:17 pm

An overweight fat cat riding on the legacy of hachiroku. No go for me.

• teelim on Apr 09, 2012 at 10:19 pm

Now I’m just gonna sit back and laugh at Glen Tan’s mistake for focusing on the auto transmission.

Even if Toyota were to sell only the auto variant, I am 100% sure it will still sell more units that the Subaru equivalent. The 86 badge alone is enough to make the enthusiast choose the T badge over the S badge.

The joke’s on you Glen.

• teelim on Apr 09, 2012 at 10:39 pm

Over priced is the best word to describe the car (and also the BRZ)

It would only benefit those who plan to take it to the circuit often (or probably those who must have the 86 successor because they are an Initial D nut)

For everyday usability and practicality, the Megane RS Cup, VW Scirroco and the Mini Cooper S would probably be a better bet as you get I use it’s power more, without having to rev the engine to something like 6000-7000rpm

• in us 26k dollar only http://www.subaru.com/brz/2013/index.html

• GTI man~~

• BN=barang naik on Apr 09, 2012 at 11:07 pm

middle finger to UMW for the xtra rm800 on white color!!

• ae101 on Apr 09, 2012 at 11:17 pm

price tag isn’t important because this car will sell well globally due to its legacy. why toyota want to bother about the complaint here? if i have 200k for a sport car, i rather get those oldies supra, nsx, s2000 or skyline.

• BeemerFreak on Apr 10, 2012 at 9:10 am

With 200k, you can get neither….all those oldies are legends and will cost you a bomb. Maybe a nissan S15 silvia would do good.

• Seriously on Apr 09, 2012 at 11:43 pm

Seriously Toyota?

• Merc=Real Euro on Apr 09, 2012 at 11:47 pm

not sure what u guys complaining about….all cars are overpriced in malaysia…
    YOU WANNA MAKE A DIFFERENCE….GO AN EDUCATED THE PEOPLE AROUND YOU STOP BUYING NEW CARS TO SHOW WHO IS THE BOSS ONLY THEN YOU WILL SEE CHANGE….OTHERWISE YOU ARE JUST ANOTHER KEYBOARD WARRIOR

• Hachiroku on Apr 09, 2012 at 11:55 pm

Screw the G for making me pay more to get this car, i only sell tofu you know?

• Screw proton for making the perverted looking ‘pervy’, the G should apply 100% or 200% tax to it instead of this if they have the balls.

• BRShooter on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:03 am

86 GT “limited” Higher Spec and price in japan!! Malaysia low spec and dutie free price is RM 145,840.00!!

3,056,300?

GT “limited” = 3 056 300? = 115 324.459 ringgit

GT = 2 870 000? = 108 294.735 ringgit

G = 2,480,000? = 93 578.7256 ringgit

RC = 1,990,000? = 75 089.3806 ringgit

Malaysia 86 spec rank is only G

• That prices with consumption tax; if you minus it and other expense in the business channel definitely the prices going further south. We’re victim of high tax economy as a consequences inefficiency

• It’s still a Toyota.

• AhLeng on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:24 am

Why is the price for sarawak a lil bit higher than sabah? ekekek between sarawak & sabah….. sabah is further up than sarawak (google map la bro)…. weird la this umw toyota pricing :P double standard ahaha :P

• KL fella on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:55 am

someone has earlier posted in another post that there are fewer forwarders / freighters to sarawak / miri port.. therefore shipping charges to sarawak is higher than to sabah..

• Truth on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:32 am

Everyone’s focused on the price. Well on the up side it is cheaper than a 370Z.
    Which I’m probably gonna get called some unkindly name for comparing an orange to an apple.

What about the car itself, is it a star or a dud?

• lonelyobserve on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:53 am

Nissan Fairlady Z 370 (a.k.a. 370Z) has 3.7L NA engine whereas Toyota 86 has 2.0L NA engine.

• As I know, the GT 86 naming is only used for US/Europe countries, while in Asia it will be known as 86 only. But I wonder if UMW will bring in the basic spec version which comes without any A/C and unpainted bumpers.

• beatnik on Apr 10, 2012 at 8:31 am

No they won’t.. coz UMW want to milk rich daddies to buy for their college kiddies.. so aircond is a must. LOL

• pl4y3r122 on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:52 am

UK – Toyota 86 – 6 speed priced at – 24995 pounds. Bolehland RM243k.

UK – Volkswagen golf gti – same spec as Bolehland – 30845 pounds. Bolehland RM210k

Is UMW ripping us off.. de profit margin is so high. people should stop buyin from UMW

de new camry was ripoff now gt86… come on people open ur eyes..

is it true UMW is owned by khazanah who is owned by our gov???

• Dude, its because our country’s tax on cars that is high..not the company’s fault. You should compare UK prices with labuan or langkawi.

Are you angry at UMW for no reason?

• KL fella on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:58 am

i believe cars that considered as sports car (86) have higher tax than a normal car (in this case, the GTI is considered a hot hatch, not really a sports car). that’s why the selling price difference between GTI and the 86…

• would rather get a recond STI AWD for this piece of shit UMW Product.

• Grandpa Trucker on Apr 10, 2012 at 6:33 am

Who dare to drift this car with this price?

• Unforgiven on Apr 10, 2012 at 7:23 am

Are we able to pay off the car instalment in max 3 years?

Let’s vote for Unchanged and see how many years more it’ll takes… for everyone to buy any cars with a fair/good price… else please do the necessary…

• Jerry on Apr 10, 2012 at 7:26 am

Same story in the Singaporean market: Subaru BRZ is only S$30K shy of the asking price of the all-new 2012 Porsche Boxster! What the world is going on…?

• these company can sell cheaper but THE GOVERMENT will not let it, same goes to toyata vios and city…can sell cheaper the THE GOVERMENT did not like it…so it stays high.

• lee kok leong on Apr 10, 2012 at 8:10 am

ght text is so bad pakai proton saga saja. Hight implrt text bukahn kerjaan salah.ini ada lah pilihan rakyat sendiri
    cukai dende

• Let’s hope for Subaru BRZ CKD for best deals.
    BRZ looks much nicer especially the headlights & expecting better performance tunning from Subaru

• Maserati on Apr 10, 2012 at 8:27 am

U want a cheap lousy sports car wannabe that looks fast but drives like a snail, get urself the forte koup lah..

• haha…. for that kind of price we (not the hardcore/rich) really hv to wait slow slow!

• beatnik on Apr 10, 2012 at 8:41 am

some ppl hate APs.. but with this kind of price, you can get a better bargain from the grey importers.. LOL

the GT86/BRZ don’t deserve this kind of price. it is supposed to be an affordable sports coupe. to justify the pricetag, the car needs at least brembo brakes, recaro seats and other bits and pieces to make the car ‘special’.

• 4g63tdsm on Apr 10, 2012 at 8:47 am

I wonder if Hyundai is ever bringing in its genesis coupe. Drove the 2.0 turbo previously and it was brilliant.

Stupid overpriced Toyota.

• bmpower on Apr 10, 2012 at 8:47 am

I’ll go for scirocco then.
    it specs is 3X better than this stupid overpriced GT86.
    UMW bloodsucking

• lasapka on Apr 10, 2012 at 8:52 am

for a same price rank, what happen when this 86 meets VW on street?

• ridiculously overpriced by UMW. Just compare the Megane RS with this, RM230k and 250 bhp, cheaper and more powerful.

• lasapka on Apr 10, 2012 at 8:54 am

for same price rank, what happen when this 86 meets VW on street?

• The production model will be called the Toyota GT 86 (Toyota 86 in Japan). The base price will be US$24,200 with a 6-speed manual transmission when the car hits the United States market……. from wikipedia

24,200.00 USD = 74,129.29 MYR

1 USD = 3.06319 MYR
    1 MYR = 0.326457 USD

Thanks bloody tax malaysia gov and greedy local toyota dealer.

See u at GE and i hoping UMNO-BN will lose.

Better for automotive and rakyat.

• nighttrain on Apr 10, 2012 at 9:14 am

If you cant afford to pay your installments whithin three years, you cant afford it. At this price, only 40 year olds with middle age crisis whose wives wont allow them to marry the hot 24yo secretary will buy… sad innit? The other group will be a bunch of obese anak datuks who knows nothing about rear wheel drive and front wheel drive dynamics…

• meteoraniac on Apr 10, 2012 at 9:20 am

Thank you toyota for pricing at such ridiculous price that even my grandma would crawl out from her grave to give you a right bashing, seems like its Scirocco for me then…

• DAFAQ?!?! That’s like $80,000 here…I can buy 1 86 and 1 BRZ here zzzZZZ

• average cars sold a year = 300,000

smooth-average tax per car = 50,000 (this figure is tapered down)

Goverment collection = 300,000 * 50,000

15 billion a year. 15 freaking billion a year (minimum)

Mercedes E-class E250 is 150k
    Tax is 180k
    AP is 10k
    Dealer takes 40k for your warranty (dealer needs to pay for imports and insurance)

• buying japanese chassis worth rm250K……wtf?

• Abdul123 on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:09 am

All of us should vote for the opposition to get cheaper car price.

• Dato Seri on Apr 10, 2012 at 5:54 pm

How did you know by voting the opposition will guaranteed to get cheaper car price? So far the opposition is famous for empty promises. The opposition also need a source of income from ‘somewhere’ to run the country.

• -So far the opposition is famous for empty promises-

You watch alot TV3 and read Utusan.

I give u a good example. I heard this statement from i was children around 13 year old. Like read newspapers everyday. (Now 30 something).

“Undilah kami (BN), kami akan buat jalan raya, bekalkan air bersih, jambatan baru, bla…bla..bla…”

Bila menang,

“Wang rakyat/hasil negara digunakan pembangunan sekolah – sekolah, jalan raya, kemudahan – kemudahan untuk rakyat…..”

same script every year. even now.
        You hv gone to sabah/sarawak?
        You know how terrible in there?

What you feel if you are one of student in sarawak/sabah , reading such promises last 20 years ago?

• Megane and GTi will eat the 86 for breakfast. i rather pay a bit more and get the Golf-R.

• IF i can afford that price, i’d rather buy myself a BMW.

I’m a huge fan of 86 because it promised to offer affordability and FR-fun in a practical coupe-style package. The perfect promised (and achievable) dream…

180k is what most people can afford, much like buying a Camry or a Honda Accord. But at this price, i’m very saddened and shattered that i cannot live in this promised dream, for an average-living car nut like me. It’s like denying a child’s promise to me.

I hope UMW will reconsider the pricing and fulfill the promise made by toyota, for it to be more affordable than a premium priced vehicle.

• Dato Seri on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:42 am

This 86 car will be smoke anytime by even F30 328!
    Unreliable boxer engine and expensive parts! Based on experience the boxer engine is not as reliable as others.
    Eventhough i can afford to buy one, i rather buy a conti car with this kind of price!

• tommy chooi on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:44 am

this price is crazy ! when i’m in toyota showroom @ odaiba … if not wrong i saw it only selling for 3M YEN that is RM 120K and it have paddle shift

• RCZ and this 86..which one is your choice…?

• dreaming of maserati on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:46 am

UMW makes at least 50k pure profit from each of these cars. same as the prius.
    UMW is becoming arrogant and think they can price their cars like BMW.
    So long for the affordable sports car.

• maybe they don’t have enough allocation for Malaysia so they price high. why not make a bit more money per car as the stocks could be limited anyway. that way, they can control or lessen the demand to match the number of allocation that they have.

• guyver on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:51 am

man….i really love the design of this babe

• That price can get you a Benz C200cgi. What are the “hidden” cost we are not seeing??? Better just get the “ori” AE86. Good investment and the price keeps picking up, because of the status as “classic” and no crap. What we want is a light weight, rwd, bomb proof reliability and a smacking hell of fun!!!! Toyota, u can do better than that. Nowadays, the price of new Camry, u can afford euro cars. I.e VW , Peugeot

• Hey folks…do you know that a kg of Rambutan in London is GBP20…?? He He He it’s crazy rite when you throw it useless fruit here

As crazy as the RM100K car taxes duties for silly coupe…also it’s double-tax when that RM100K duties factored in car loans…so you pay triple in total repayments…pay crap taxes for nothing…

But craziest of all is that still many crazy fools that just keep on voting BN…

• fadzilkpopcars on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:09 pm

haiya….Think la. . .
    if Tax high. . .oil low. . food low. . .
    if Tax Medium…oil low….food medium. . .
    if Tax Low. . . oil high. . . food high. . . .
    there’s Pros n Cons

this is probably the “best” correlation ever made by any genius in paultan forum
    FYI in malaysia the only thing that is low is the SALARY!!!!fffffffffffttttttttggghh

• It is this type of thinking that makes Malaysia still a 3rd world country.

• ToyotaPJ on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:14 pm

Yes! Finally out in the open ppl ! Nice sexy car from toyota again, better than the Subaru..la anytime toyota has the quality and reliability. This is a special car ppl, mostly tech from toyota with subaru inputs. Again come see for yourself once in the showroom, and check out the new Camry too.

• pls define “better than Subaru”…

die-die-hardcore-toyota-salesperson…. *sigh

• TO ALL THE CONSUMER…USE OUR PEOPLE’S POWER….STOP!! BUYING NEW CAR FOR 6 MONTH….JUST FOR 6 MONTH..GUYS……TEACH THEM SOME LESSON….

IF WE SUCCEED WILL SEE THE IMMEDIATE IMPACT…..

• Merc=Real Euro on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:28 pm

Bro…..6 mths is more than enough…..guarantee the price will come done….
      This is the only solution… Pls go out and educate the ppl around you to stop buying new cars!!!!!…Especially the high volume….myvi, alza, vios, saga, This will have the biggest impact.

• Truth on Apr 11, 2012 at 6:15 am

Agreed !

What are the practical ways to execute this?
        Buy only second hand?

• Mamaksan on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:20 pm

Wake up guys. This is Malaysia+UMW. U guys should stop complaining about the price. If not later UMW will send in the infamous comment like “kalau u tak suka toyota pricing, u boleh beli kereta lain” :)

• Merc=Real Euro on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:23 pm

Guys…get the facts right…Miti sets the price not UMW…. UMW just enjoyes the high profit set by Miti…. Hey wait a minute so is all the cars in Malaysia…. Take a stand boikot new cars….especially high volume Myvi, Alza, Vios,, then you see the govt will have no choice to relook at the NAP…,

• Aiyo you all ah. This car is neither expensive or inexpensive. It’s priced fairly in comparison with it’s competition in Malaysia and by competition, I mean by price.

Look at the Scirocco which has a similar price to the Toyota in the UK which is around GBP25k. What you all forget is that there is an extra tax on cars with 2 doors in Malaysia, hence why the Mini, Scirocco and the Megane are more expensive here (FYI the Golf GTI is more expensive in the UK compared to the Scirocco).

What UMW have to really consider is whether people are willing to pay those prices for a Toyota? I believe what they should have done is re-badge this car as a Lexus. I bet Malaysians will snap this car up super fast because Malaysians love Lexus’ don’t they?

• Legend on Apr 10, 2012 at 7:53 pm

Should NEVER reBadged as Lexus due to the legendary blood of AE86 in the new 86, it MUST BE a TOYOTA!!! It Has to Be one!!

• 1) RX8 owner here and if the car give me better feeling than RX8 then will consider
    2) if buy at Langkawi then good looo ! agree, but how is the arrangement ? :)

• albag on Apr 10, 2012 at 5:54 pm

so there’s no such things as affordable sports cars… especially in malaysia… *sigh*… damn u government… with this price, it would be better to get the audi a4 on the previous post… vorsprung durch technik!

• LovesCars on Apr 10, 2012 at 6:08 pm

So many of you talk so much here. If it were 200k let’s face it, you still can’t afford it BUT you talk as if your God Given Right to own the Toyota at RM200k was taken away. Malaysians only talk and criticise, if UMW is dumb so what? That is their prerogative. Let them be la … Why talk so much as if you will buy the car at RM200k?

I feel a fair price would be RM210k but I don’t start to hammer as if my right to own it was taken away. Wake up Malaysians!

• U r rite. All these noises they make. Fact is the price is already like that. Barking like a dog also price won’t go down. Cannot afford then buy other car la. lu bising apa? these ppl always complain but what car r they driving? Even if 190k also cannot afford rite? So diam diam n work hard to buy your dream car.

• Yazeedhairi on Apr 10, 2012 at 6:23 pm

Letting go my lancer gt somewhere in july… definitely gonna book for this!

• currently on business trip in US, found out they market it as Scion FR-S. It is selling at ~25k only. Dollar-to-dollar, it is like 10x more expensive in Malaysia. What an “entry level sports car”.

• Official specs is out
    http://toyota.com.my/toyota-86/

• teelim on Apr 11, 2012 at 12:11 am

The price of the 86 in Japan is almost the same as the Civic Type R (when it was still sold in Japan). And the exchange rate (RM vs Yen) then and now is almost the same.

How come the 86 costs 20% more than the Civic Type R?

UMW care to explain?

• camly on Apr 11, 2012 at 10:08 am

y need to explain to u ? who r u ? u boh lui to buy go get a vios la.

• Please do some research on something called the 2-door car tax in Malaysia.

• Joyrider on Apr 12, 2012 at 9:54 am

As far as I know, the Malaysia Government tax vehicle (Excise Duty) based on categorisation of passenger car, Multi-purpose Van (MPV) & 4×4. Within each category, taxes varies based on engine capacity.

There exist no differences in tax categorisation between Toyota 86 and Civic Type R (Both are 2.0Litre Passenger Car).

• teelim on Apr 13, 2012 at 3:32 am

To “Wira”

Why don’t you do some research of your own first

http://www.maa.org.my/info_duty.htm

• RedBeanBun on Apr 11, 2012 at 8:23 am

start selling UMW share if you have any…

I think their days are over…btw, UMW IS GLCs if you not aware.

• lowpro on Apr 11, 2012 at 8:57 am

Just to give you guys a sense of perspective, the original AE86 was sold in Malaysia in 84′ and priced at around RM50k. Back in 84′ the other cars you could buy with that money were these: Alfa Guiletta 2.0 at RM57k (which could equate to today’s 159), the BMW 320i at RM53k, Volvo 240GL at RM47k. Other sports cars at that time (83″ – 86′) were priced at: Starion turbo RM62k, Prelude RM40k, Alfa GTV 2000 RM57k, Ford Sierra XR4Ti 2.8 RM74k.

It was more expensive than any Honda or Mazda at that time. So, looking at the price of the new 86 today, I would say that it is consistent with Toyota’s strategy all along. Needless to say, in 84′ they didn’t sell many of the 86 as people then did not know of the legendary status of the car yet. Today could be different though, but then again, the competitors are a lot stronger today than before.

• camly on Apr 11, 2012 at 10:07 am

u so old liao uncle. better just settle with new camly. this 86 too modern looking for u.

• lowpro on Apr 11, 2012 at 10:29 am

nah, i’m not a camry fan. prefer my manual transmission car to the stuff sold these days. oh by the way, i did start buying mags a long way back using my school pocket money. that’s why i have mags from way back. plus, i still have the mags my dad bought. so, i’m not as old as you assume ;)

regarding modern cars, well, i think personally that less electronics are better as they give a purer driving experience. forces car manufacturers to design and make better cars rather than just relying on electronics to keep a car in control.

• Hybrid is Best on Apr 11, 2012 at 11:20 am

1986, one plate of noodle cost Rm0.80
          now one plate of noodle cost RM6.40 (average)

RM1.50x 5 = RM7.50…

1986, AE86 = RM 50k x 5 = Rm250k..

So it just a matter of inflation…

• DArkerMarker on Apr 11, 2012 at 9:59 am

UMW overpriced this car for wider profit margin…..

Govt (BN) increase tax……

Due to “86” wow factor, add price samor……

Due to some ppl with lots of money and dont mind paying for exclusivity,,,,,add price lagi

LAst-last, the car becoming damn overpriced….

Heck, i think even the old AE86 is overpriced….even its toy is overpriced…

• farizY on Apr 12, 2012 at 11:55 am

Well….if we want it badly, we’ll always have recon shops..LOL

• rabbit-x on Apr 13, 2012 at 5:28 pm

How much was Nissan Silva S15 went it was first available in malaysia? about RM260k right?

• DR who on Aug 02, 2012 at 3:25 am

all comment bout how corrupt the gov is.. do u think if other take over msia then the tax will go down? think again.. that is human behavior. the get greedy when they have power. Period