Volkswagen Scirocco R: 255 PS, 330 Nm, RM281k

The Volkswagen Scirocco R is here, the third R car introduced by Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia after last month’s debut of the Golf R and Passat CC R-Line. The R will be the range topping Scirocco, sitting on top of the existing 210 PS and 160 PS versions.

Like the Golf R, the Scirocco R is powered by a 2.0 TSI engine making 255 PS and 330 Nm of torque, the latter is constant from 2,400 to 5,200 rpm.

The direct injection unit is paired to a six-speed DSG gearbox, and the combo delivers 0-100 km/h acceleration in six seconds flat. That’s 0.3 seconds slower than the Golf R, and it’s because of the Golf’s AWD traction advantage. The Scirocco R remains front-wheel driven.

The ‘Roc R comes with a “specially tuned sport chassis” and XDS electronic transverse differential lock on the front axle as standard. The latter refers to a functional extension of the electronic differential lock (EDS) that is integrated in the ESP system and “effectively eliminates any type of traction loss”.

Also included is Adaptive Chassis Control (DCC) and R-specific 19-inch “Talladega” alloys with 235/35 tyres. Like the Golf R, the brakes have been upgraded to handle the extra power. Other standard kit include bi-xenons, a larger rear spoiler and glossy black finish on the diffuser and wing mirrors. The rear lights are “smoked” to match.

Inside, you’ll find leather sports seats, dual-zone Climatronic, RNS 510 navigation system (CD, MP3, USB, AUX-in), a panoramic tilting glass roof, Dynaudio ‘Excite’ 300W eight-speaker sound system and keyless entry/start.

Available in six colours – Candy White, Viper Green, Rising Blue, Reflex Silver, Iridium Grey, Deep Black – the Scirocco R is priced at RM281,060 on the road, excluding insurance.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• billy on Apr 12, 2012 at 4:46 pm

BMW 328i twin turbo or scirocco R?? which one is a better buy- all factors( you know what i mean) considered…you decide.

• S60 T5 pun ok. BMW 328i pun ok. both practical for family use

• Alpha on Apr 12, 2012 at 5:18 pm

Below 30 years of age,get the Roc R.Above 30,get the F30.Above 30 but already have a F30(or other 4-door exec sedan),get the Roc R.

• Poor_malaysian on Apr 12, 2012 at 5:45 pm

Poor man like me would settle for a mazdaspeed MPS instead.

• Poorer man like me can only afford a Honda….EX5

• poorest man like me only can afford a bicycle.

• Simon Ng on Apr 12, 2012 at 7:25 pm

Bro. Nowadays, a good bicycle can cost more than a simple motorbike. That makes you rich.

• Bongcs on Apr 13, 2012 at 1:56 am

I have no car, but my ride is more expensive than a Ferrari and it can load alot of working adults like me. guess what ?

• alldisc on Apr 13, 2012 at 9:12 am

a roller coaster, right?

• kadui on Apr 12, 2012 at 7:09 pm

95% of Malaysians are poor if you not born rich.

• brian on Apr 12, 2012 at 7:52 pm

Mazdaspeed 3 Mps still havent kill off its torque steer…’roc R doesn’t even have torque sterr

• not so bad leh the torque steer..

• alldisc on Apr 13, 2012 at 9:14 am

that is the problem with FWD when the output is too enormous.

• Poor_malaysian on Apr 13, 2012 at 12:51 pm

upgrade with good aftermarket motor mounts and torque steer will almost go away. Cheers!

• i am only 20 and got cash, i think g-tr is better

• Haiz get the Rocco 1.4 then change the bumpers also upgrade the Engine,nobody know it’s fake one lolx anyway why the fwd drive is more expensive than the 4wd Golf R? i rather get the Golf R but this one is more sporty ! pls bring the Polo R line here too :)

• Goodma on Apr 12, 2012 at 11:26 pm

I will opt for F30 328i , like u said considering the “all round factors”

328! fresh on the road, brand name is one step ahead, interior is better all round, enjoy up to date BMW connected Drive (iDrive with navigation, etc) performance won’t lost to scirocco R, and yet can attract more chicks :)

• peynof**k on Apr 14, 2012 at 1:56 am

megane rs or 147 gta for me all the way…

• Go for Sicrocco Type R for sure. Driving pleasure, performance wise VW. it is eye catching every where you go. As for BMW 328i, nothing special. Typical big CC engine with dozen of them everywhere. It is VW world now…lastly VW cost you only RM379/yr roadtax with 5 yrs unlimited mileage warranty VS BMW 328 RM1625 only 3 years warranty. These fact already tell you VW sicrocco R is your choice.

• karimselamat on Apr 16, 2012 at 8:43 am

I believed we were talking about the new F30 328i which is having a 2.0L engine. Have you ever heard about it before? 328–>2.0L? no?

• Awesome but with that kinda price would rather take 328i F30 or S60 T-5……………………

• BeemerFreak on Apr 12, 2012 at 7:02 pm

328i yes but not the volvo, that is like a tortoise compared to the roc R and the 328, do not just trust the spec sheet, drive it to know it.

• deftones on Apr 13, 2012 at 12:54 pm

hehe..volvo is not really a tortoise..there’s a secret under the hood..dont be surprise if 328i been left behind..trust me..

it looks nerd..but not all nerds are tame..

• fwd and more expensive..ayo

• nabill on Apr 12, 2012 at 4:59 pm

Actually da 1.4tsi is more than u will evrr need..plus its da cheapest

• ismail saad on Apr 12, 2012 at 5:04 pm

pergh…mmg best lah..xkisah lah f30 atau roc R.. dua2 best.. asal ade duit..boleh bli jaa..

• sulaiman on Apr 12, 2012 at 5:13 pm

i believe that i just saw this car this morning. 2.0TSI stuck in traffic jem at MRR2 ampang. not sure if it is R type.
    nothing different from normal version.

• BeemerFreak on Apr 12, 2012 at 8:06 pm

easy to see, the R has separated tail pipes, the normal ones stick together…. unlikely the R is out there cause the car has just been launched unless it is a SG registered unit

• supertoron on Apr 12, 2012 at 11:51 pm

also comes with R brake calipers, sunroof n bucket seat too..

• OilChange on Apr 12, 2012 at 5:15 pm

i will work harder to buy this car..

now, who want to buy brand new LTD/ESP M10 at RM666? free gig bag!!!!

i need komisyen to buy this monster… hahahahaha

• harimao on Apr 12, 2012 at 5:43 pm

better invest your monies on toyota86.
    “si rokok ah” tak baloi

• BENSON 11 on Apr 12, 2012 at 5:44 pm

Why scirocco must be slower than its little brother golf despite more expensive price tag and come with cheap fwd instead awd or rwd? kinda annoying

• 2dr tax higher than hatchback in malaysia..despite 2.0 tsi is priced cheaper than gti by vw in other markets

• BeemerFreak on Apr 12, 2012 at 7:06 pm

Agreed, just our punitive taxes made by a stupid government cause trouble….

• The Saint on Apr 12, 2012 at 5:48 pm

I have been eargerly waiting for this. VW salesman said supposed to be launched last month. But never mine, just 1 month delay. I’m happy with the price. It’s cheaper than I expect it to be. This is within my financial reach. This will smoke all the cars on the road in Malaysia.

• Just don go play with evo or sti..same performance with mps, oni most mpses in town running above 300hp oredi..

• BeemerFreak on Apr 12, 2012 at 7:04 pm

Wan to play with evo or sti, simple pay less for the Golf R and do an ABT tuning of stage 1 ecu reflash to 330bhp and 500nm torque for Rm20 000, eventually will still outperform the evo and cost less to run

• with 20k i believe those evo/sti can get 500bhp

• So evo goes and flash close to 400bhp..then?

• abt tuning claims only 310hp from base 270hp spec which runs on 98 ron…for msia b less plus its a fixed map and not dyno tunable..most gtis flashed this way have funny sound from the turbos, overspinning seems..

• kadui on Apr 12, 2012 at 7:07 pm

i trust you have the money to buy this car. How fast you can drive here in Malaysia?

• Simon Ng on Apr 12, 2012 at 7:29 pm

Bro. Congrats to your financial achievement. I am sure you will enjoy the ride. While you are busy smoking other cars especially cars like mine. Please be mindful of safety.

• vansgoh on Apr 12, 2012 at 6:13 pm

in this moment, GTI is already very powerful, and it’s very hard to find legal road for this monster in kuching city….

• Bananas on Apr 12, 2012 at 6:36 pm

Why don’t you tell us straight away how much this thing costs in america. That way we’ll know beforehand how much najib is making, how much is syed moktar making and ….we know how much the salesman makes.
    Very soon somebody going to tell us that it is selling cheaper than a proton perver in america

• autojohndoe on Apr 13, 2012 at 3:09 pm

ahhh…. a boring argument…

why dont you go to US, get a job, live there and stay there

• Too expensive! but kinna interested to read, the review of Roc R, Megane RS, MPS, Impreza.

• renault on Apr 12, 2012 at 6:41 pm

i’ll take the megane rs250 with manual stick over this anytime

• I pick this one over a french fries Megane coz that’s very bad resale value !

• carazy on Apr 13, 2012 at 12:03 pm

typical Malaysian, willing to sacrifice the joy of driving for the sake of “resale-value”.. poor man!!

• k_man on Apr 13, 2012 at 2:06 pm

and suddenly u are able to predict the resale value when there are none yet in market.

• BeemerFreak on Apr 12, 2012 at 7:22 pm

Hi danny, any news on when the facelifted CC will be launched?

• DArkerMarker on Apr 12, 2012 at 7:25 pm

I oredi bought this car.

Scale 1:43 only

• I’d like this but with Renault Megane RS250 dynamics and price! The Renault still better value but its all down to personal preference. I like the Rocco’s looks

• Just me on Apr 12, 2012 at 10:09 pm

Megene out perform Roc R in 5th gear testing, Despite higher horse for Roc R, Megene has better handling

• carazy on Apr 12, 2012 at 7:46 pm

but still it’s FWD not to mention auto stick…not worth for that money for me:) better find true sport car that act like sport car..

• Medic on Apr 13, 2012 at 10:17 am

So u mean to say that GTR,Ferrari 458,Gallardo 560-4,MP4-12C,Evo 10 are not sport car as they don’t have manual stick.Use your brain &don’t just shoot from your arse.

• carazy on Apr 13, 2012 at 11:58 am

dual-clutch gearbox is really different with fully auto box sir. 458, Aventador or even “Fax-machine” Mclaren can override to fully manual (if u dare), instead of it can also do a fully auto mode sir. and they all are RWD sir. TQ

• anyone knows why the tax for 2 door cars is higher than 4 doors??

• The Enthusiast on Apr 12, 2012 at 8:12 pm

It’s finally here! But 255 PS is quite an undercut. The new Megane (Rocco’s contender) has 265 PS and also the current record holder of the Nurburgring for front wheel drive.

• toyota 86 lagi cun

• LOL the Roc R will eat the puny 86 for breakfast and still feel hungry.

• Merc=Real Euro on Apr 13, 2012 at 9:24 am

Then again both are overpriced anyway……Buy a good 2nd hand STI v10.
        281K for this is a ripp off ….worse still this car has no motorsport credential unlike STI and Evo…. This is good car for Auto drivers…..

• Triga on Apr 13, 2012 at 10:46 am

Overpriced compare to what? Tell me which imported car here is not overpriced?

As someone used to tell me, it’s not that things in Malaysia is expensive, it’s just that you are not earning enough money.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Apr 12, 2012 at 9:34 pm

toyota 86 vs this. pure raw enjoyment to drive vs daily comfort. still seriously guys please take a long hard consideration for the megane 250, evo x or impreza sti before buying this car.

• Renault only issue is reliability in the long term plus dat ol skool f4rt engine which same basis as the waja 1.8engine..(can google if no bilip)..vw better car but bit overpriced, mps only less 100 units with that special price..both has dir inj tbo which is really economical with really high output..

• I waited for this car for soooo long, in the end, i gave up waiting and got a recond 335i last year, NO REGRETS.

Nowadays, u can get a unreg 335i for under 230k, 3.0l twin turbo, i can assure you that driving the 335i is more rewarding experience then the Roc R

• this car suit for me….young, single and rich…hahaha

• the all new toyota camry 4 speeder surely will tapau this car

• berryhitam on Apr 12, 2012 at 11:18 pm

good lookin’ definitely win many heart…Golf R even better got AWD..but no mater how hard…hot hatch nurburging and others world top racing circuit..still own by da Frech..the RS250….it’s true with AWD (Golf R) and Top Notch Scirocco R faster in straight lane due to higher HP & etc..but RS250 won eventually…hey race isn’t all about raceline..

Some more…now on the road u can see even makcik can drove GTi / Scrirocco R….wanna go for more exclusive one…RS250…is only for the legend…

p/s: by the time posted it;s heard that RenaultSports boys has come out with 355HP RS250…lol

• Bla bla bla like I care? I like the RS250 , Golf R and Rocco R. Gimme anyone of them and I be happy.

• Jolly_idiot on Apr 13, 2012 at 12:32 am

Proton preve can come close? Both has a turbo engine. Haha!

• jsooz on Apr 13, 2012 at 12:41 am

someone should remove the ‘meh’ button…=.=

• Bongcs on Apr 13, 2012 at 1:59 am

The new Gen-Y car.

• Sarbath on Apr 13, 2012 at 2:23 am

Hahaha, RS250 vs Rocco R ?? Eh come onla how often did you guys go to track slamming down your car ?? At last we all used the car to go to work, balik kampung and do all the life activity.. RS250 win on the track only but on straight line the rocco r wins hands down not even mention the golf r with 4wd :-) .. Jujur la eh, bila atas highway ada megane rs cucuk belakang kereta kau dan pada mase yg same ko bawak rocco r :-) , agak2 korang lah kan atas highway tu cornering die mcm track ke ?? :-) .. Highway has only simple cornering and a lot of straight line, so no matter how legend the rs250 on the track is but when it comes to highway the rs250 will loose in shame :-) .. Aku bukan suruh korang berlumba atas highway, tapi jujur je lah xkan korang xpernah bawak keta atas highway more than 200km/h kalau guna kereta conti ni :-) ..

p/s : Kalau nak main track lagi best aku modified type r/ integra dc5 :-) .. Thats 100% used for track, and this car can used for go to work, balik kampung and yet still tapau rs250 on the highway :-)

• BeemerFreak on Apr 13, 2012 at 9:02 am

Wow finally someone wise. For track actually, it is good to get a Caterham, smalll fast and powerful, not to metion go-kart like handling, real fun

• _xXx_ on Apr 13, 2012 at 5:39 am

ahem…DSG…I scared scared ler…

• Truth on Apr 13, 2012 at 6:58 am

Damn! I googled it and its legit.
    Waja 1.8 uses the same engine as Renault Megane RS (2007~)
    Woah !

• Merc=Real Euro on Apr 13, 2012 at 9:34 am

Still a FWD and Auto…so not really a true sports cars…it is a wanabe…

• coolcar on Apr 13, 2012 at 10:03 am

FWD !!! better get a Satria Neo or Vios TRD and save the extra money for clubbing.

• Go away if u dont appreciate VW.

• dreaming of maserati on Apr 13, 2012 at 12:31 pm

my vios TRD 4 speed still can smoke this car!!

• That Vios TRD and Neo ? lolx better bought this car and then go to the clubbing ! at least easy to get those chicks phone numbers and pick up them even thought it’s not a super car but at least it’s better than ur cars that u recommended !

• coolcar on Apr 13, 2012 at 10:18 pm

This car can pick up chicks? are you a dreamer? or a delusionist?

• not dreamer…but it’s true ROLF anyway both of them can do the same thing maybe can but only fat :)

• Personally I think this car is being priced competitively. As 2.0tsi Rocco is expensive than GTI. Well, for those keep bashing this car and saying evo can smoke it or sti or whatever. Some ppl dont drive it to smoke others. Its more on a personal preferences. And, its cheap at least its well below rm 300k. If it were to be priced at above rm300k, im sure more ppl whine, 20k shy of rm300k. Im sure VW fans are happy to hear this news, for those who cant afford, just work hard tats all. Mayb u guys can buy it from Langkawi with G1m plates. trust me, tax is lower.

• Zaido on Apr 13, 2012 at 10:58 am

This is a cult car, designed and packaged for specific hardcore followers. Thank you VW Malaysia for treating Malaysia’s market equally. This car is not only about performance, its also about style and comfort. Very rare we got to know cars equipped with Dynaudio, a very expensive handmade speakers. As far as i appreciate the exterior, i even appreciate the interior more and the accesories that came together with the car. A well thought package. If money is not an issue, I will grab the Golf R instead of the Rocco R since the Rocco may be too individualistic for me. Just my sincere thought. Good job VW.

• Seriously on Apr 13, 2012 at 11:43 am

Anything other than that joke Toyota 86.

• if the buyer can stomach the small price difference, the roc makes a slightly better argument than the 86.

• I bought a VW Golf TSI 1.4 on Feb 2011 from Amcorp Auto, Jalan Ipoh VW showroom and I’ve been having strings of problem with the car. Two months into buying the car the radiator cracked and I have to drive from Ipoh to KL with 8 litres of water and made endless stops. They fixed it under warranty but yet charged me for the coolant. I tolerated. Then it had gear slips and the engine vibrates at lower gears. They acknowledge it as standard problem with the edition, till to date yet to resolve. Why do they sell car that they know they have issues with? Three weeks ago all indicators icons displays and failure messages including breaks servos, ESP, TCS and ABS surfaced on the system and they apparently solved it with relay change.

Two days later the same issue cropped up only worsen with added with power steering completely losing its power and air-condition cuts-off (all this happening while drive at high speed with whole family in the car). Today it’s nearly two weeks since the car towed away and Service Centre yet to give me neither official diagnosis nor timeline as to when the car will be ready. Their Customer Service gave me what looks like automated message, promised to come back to me and till today no news. They are not picking up my phone either. Do you think I deserve this for trusting this Volkswagen with my RM160K? Do you’ll agree that we need Lemon Law in Malaysia?

• Korean Fan on Apr 13, 2012 at 5:17 pm

A good lesson for those who like to bash Camry 4 speed and also proton.

• Sri says

U r unlucky and hope they can solve ur problems…i bought my Polo 1.2TSI on November 2010,Jalan Ipoh and no problems at all…i really enjoying my car and VW is really fun to drive but the little problem is their parts is a little bit expensive ! overall the car is awesome ! i’ll buy another VW in the future and my target is the Jetta GLI 2012 :)

• do you think Jetta GLi will be on our market? i am also waiting..compares passat ckd..not worth waiting as d different only 15k..huh

• Hmm i’m not sure but i think VW M’sia will bring it with the Beetle 2012…no matter what i’ll trade my car b4 4 years so i never care about the after sales service ! bought the car just like u bought the phone…my friend and me r using the same Iphone but his phone has problems but mine is ok…just by luck !

• Truth on Apr 14, 2012 at 5:16 am

Sri,

This is no small issue !
    I think the reason many car buyers get screwed by the Auto companies is because of the lack of publicity of unsatisfied buyers.

I’m sure your case is not the first time VW had such issues.
    Its just that by the time people who purchase a VW realise all the problems, its too late, they’ve been screwed!

If all the bad shit is made more public, this would affect their sales, and then the auto companies will be forced to be on their toes and ensure quality.

And just because your VW is defect free, don’t be too happy. Just look at the crappy after sales service Sri got. That could happen to you someday!

In the unfortunate event of a defect, ensuring proper after sales service is the least you can do, as a responsible auto company.

• bomba_man on Apr 14, 2012 at 10:02 am

that’s why i think VW should marry to Proton years ago, ter r the perfect match!!

• True, it’s just not the defects but the after service and attention to the complaints. Last Friday I even wrote to the After Sales Director Mr. Jing Zhang but till now no reply from them. No timelines, everytime the answer is “next week”, “no parts in Singapore”. I agree the car “was” good and “was” a good ride. But then again, it’s all abou how the brand make you feel. It has changed ever since. I think so for someone who just set-up a assembly plant and has all the big plan to penetrate Malaysian market, they could do better job at their customer service.

• Zaido on Apr 21, 2012 at 6:08 pm

VW has appointed dealers in Malaysia. As a reputable german car maker, of all the people, VW is strict interms of QC and after sales service. I just wondering whether this issue is at the dealer’s level and has it been escalated to VW Malaysia. What i know the main reason why our German friend started office in Malaysia was to solve numerous quality issues and customer service complaints towards earlier independent distributors/exporters who were more interested to sell the car and not to preserve the goodwill of the VW brand at local front.

• Offroad on Apr 02, 2013 at 6:52 pm

My Ford Ranger Wild Trak will tapao this car, bmw 328i, Rs 250, and cost around 100K

tapao OFFROAD… lolx