Dacia Lodgy – seven-seater touts space on the cheap

Renault subsidiary Dacia has announced the arrival of the Lodgy, a seven-seater MPV that slots into the fold touting space and affordability as its trump cards. The people carrier, the seventh model in the company’s lineup, is also destined for shores beyond Europe and the EuroMed region – it’s slated for introduction in markets across the globe where the Renault group’s Entry/M0 range is sold.

The 4.5 metre-long vehicle – which will be made in Tangiers, Morocco – can be specified with either five or seven seats. The seven-seat variant comes with a removable third-row 60/40-split bench seat for two passengers, with the rearmost space offering best-in-class knee room (144mm) and head room (866mm).

Volume-wise, with five seats in place, the boot volume is 827 litres, extending to 2,617 litres with the rear bench seat removed, pretty cavernous. Going the seven-seat route brings the cargo space down to 207 litres with all the seats deployed, and 634 litres with the rear bench – which weighs in at only 18 kg – stored in a folded position.

At point of launch, two engines are available for the Lodgy, a petrol 1.6 MPI 85 and a diesel 1.5 dCi, the latter in a choice of two power outputs (90 or 110 hp) The new turbocharged 1.2 TCe 115, first seen under the bonnet of Renault Mégane and Scénic, is set to be added to the list. The engines will be mated to a five-speed manual transmission, with the 1.5 dCi 110 set to get a six-speed manual.

Despite the tip towards the entry-level scheme of things, the Lodgy will be relatively well equipped – kit includes an in-dash multimedia system with touchscreen display, speed limiter, rear parking sensors as well as AC/heater unit air channels to every row of seats.

There’s also ABS, EBD and BA as standard, with ESC available as an option, and the Lodgy comes with equipped with four airbags, these being front and lateral head/thorax units. French buyers will get to take their pick of the new ‘un from four equipment level specifications, with prices starting from 9,900 euros (RM39,900).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• mustafa on Apr 13, 2012 at 7:45 pm

grand livina??

• By Stander on Apr 13, 2012 at 7:56 pm

myvi headlights spotted!!

• Proton national car or Syed Mokhtar's? on Apr 13, 2012 at 8:10 pm

RM39,000? Cheaper than our most expensive Viva!

• viper on Apr 13, 2012 at 11:58 pm

Come to our shore, they’ll re-tag it at RM139,900-00.

• Mahindra Scorpio on Apr 14, 2012 at 7:54 am

Atleast RM90k and above, so to give more breathing space for Proton Exora.

• MoFaz on Apr 14, 2012 at 9:12 pm

Avanza is between RM65-80k, well within Exora price range. but Exora sold more than 21,000 unit last year compared to Avanza just 7,000

• kadajawi on Apr 15, 2012 at 6:01 pm

I’m surprised it even sold 7000… it’s not because it is a good car or even better than the Exora.

• Unforgiven on Apr 15, 2012 at 6:38 pm

Why are we talking about Avanza/Exora? Those are the unfair/protected segment… please be good/fair/honest, for the future generation in M’sia…

• Whynot on Apr 14, 2012 at 4:12 pm

Make a change to the tax system! You have been short changed! Or change the people that you had voted that taxed you ridiculously. I says again – make a change – next GE!

• MoFaz on Apr 14, 2012 at 9:33 pm

I don’t think so, even PR never brought out this matter in case they won the next election right ? did PR even promised to reduce the car tax? no!
        but they had suggested that AP to be changed to bidding system like COE in Singapore, which means that AP price could be higher than current price of RM10k. it all depends on the ‘market force’. if more people want to buy imported cars, the price of AP will increase. price of COE in singapore now is well over SG$50k or RM120k. that’s just the price for permit!
        BN has already suggested to abolish current AP system, franchise AP to be changed to open AP where anyone could import any brand / model. which means Toyota cars will no longer exclusive to UMW-Toyota but any company can import it. guess who is against the idea?
        as of Nov 2011, the plan to abolish the AP system by 2015 is still not changed.

• Unforgiven on Apr 15, 2012 at 6:43 pm

Is the current really doing a fair stuff? Are you being treated nicely? Do you think the rest are enjoying the benefits?

Any things that you do/done, that are indirectly/unintentionally treated others unfairly, do you think that’s good?

Let’s pray in the morning, for something that’s genuinely good.

If we see something wrong with the current, why can’t we try out the other options?

• viper on Apr 13, 2012 at 9:09 pm

What. RM39,900? Bring it here, they`ll re-tag with RM139,900

• albag on Apr 13, 2012 at 9:19 pm

only if renault rebadge the car and sell it here in malaysia in “cheap” price… let’s say around RM80k -RM90k despite the RM40k price tag… i believe it could be selling like hot cakes for typical malaysians here…

• kadajawi on Apr 14, 2012 at 12:14 am

AFAIK the tax should be around 75% if it is CKD. Take away the ?17% (?) VAT and you arrive at RM33117. Add 75% and it would be RM57955. If it is CBU I think it should be around 85% tax? RM61266.

However don’t expect the 9900 Euro version to come with anything. Usually their base line model has 2 airbags and no aircon. So around 70-80k could be reasonable for a not too naked car.

• comrade on Apr 14, 2012 at 7:54 am

yeah… the base line don’t hv power window as well, no ICE…. see a Beemer like that in UK..

• kadajawi on Apr 14, 2012 at 9:40 pm

In the past Beemers have been that naked. Nowadays they at least come with a reasonable amount of kit, although they are usually not as well equipped as in Malaysia (comparing the cheapest one you can get) and you can really push up the price a lot when you start to click the options.

• Jonathan Lee on Apr 15, 2012 at 5:01 am

Thank you for being one of the few not making mindless comments about the price and understanding that a) the import tax structure isn’t THAT ridiculous and b) you’re not gonna get the car in the picture at that price.

For 9,900 euros you get a weedy 85bhp 1.6 petrol engine, four airbags, ABS and…that’s about it.

Not only do you not get alloys, body-coloured handles or wing mirrors, you don’t even get air conditioning. No central locking, radio or electric windows either — that’s stuff you get even on the most basic Saga.

A top-spec Lodgy 1.5 dCi Laureate — air con, all-round ‘leccy windows, Bluetooth- and USB-enabled stereo, the lot — runs up nearer 15,000 euros in Europe (about RM60,000).

• kadajawi on Apr 15, 2012 at 6:36 pm

I think alloys are not important if you want a basic car that gets you and your family to where you want to get, with reasonable safety and a low price. Same with body coloured parts. Air conditioning is of course necessary, so that adds to the price. You can always install your own radio and speakers, add alloys etc. once you have the money to.

The 4 airbags is just like the new Toyota Camry 2.5. I think in Malaysia they’d be leaving away the airbags though and put in alloy wheels and all that nonsense that is not important.

Of course in Malaysia looks and image is very important to many, which makes it hard for a no-nonsense and down to earth car (Dacia is pretty successful in Germany, which I think has to do with a different mindset, and people have to save money so they rather get the most value for money over good looks and many functions).

• kadajawi on Apr 14, 2012 at 12:20 am

Not really. Brand. Should they rebadge it as Nissan? Datsun? Then ok. But it would compete against the Grand Livina. Avanza is cheaper, but of course not as good. Exora is a pretty decent car and in that price region. Alza too. And those have more SC, better image, …

Still, hopefully Dacia will make it to Malaysia, okay’ish and very affordable cars. Maybe they are going to be rebranded as Datsun in some markets?

• Julian Lee on Apr 13, 2012 at 9:37 pm

X5 better

• Jonathan Lee on Apr 15, 2012 at 5:05 am

That’s a bit like saying Gordon Ramsay can cook better food than your average McDonald’s.

• james may must be exited abt this!

• Basayev on Apr 13, 2012 at 10:11 pm

Headlamp sebijik macam myvi lagi best. Tiru ka?

• nice looking vehicle although cheap

• anti-first on Apr 14, 2012 at 12:38 am

second that.

specs-wise that put some cars to shame and somewhat easy on the eyes too, i don’t mind buying this cheapo car!

• Samsung on Apr 13, 2012 at 10:22 pm

Wow…the front facia look like Myvi :)

• Unforgiven on Apr 13, 2012 at 11:23 pm

Good price, don’t let the PM our Tun control the unfair price…

• dream on to get around 40k in Malaysia..at least times 2.5 from the given price..

• VOTE AND DEMAND 4 CHEAPER CARS on Apr 14, 2012 at 1:12 am

This car is based on the Nissan Grand Livina, it has got the same 1.6 petrol engine and the 1.5dCi engine from the Renault Kangoo Van Diesel aswell, all for RM40k. I got a feeling they’re going to market the Dacia brand as Datsun in India and Indonesia. Vote BN out on the next Election if you want cheaper cars!

• kadajawi on Apr 14, 2012 at 8:16 am

Do you have any source for it being based on the Grand Livina? They may use parts from the Livina, but based on it… I doubt it.

But yes, Dacia brand rebranded as Datsun could make sense.

• Hadi1975 on Apr 14, 2012 at 9:50 am

How u know if BN lose, car is cheaper??

• Unforgiven on Apr 14, 2012 at 10:50 am

Never try, never know… Give it a try to find out…

• kadajawi on Apr 15, 2012 at 6:37 pm

True, but if they win UMV will quickly run to them and make friends… invite here, invite there, give gifts, … and then the tax structure will stay.

• Unforgiven on Apr 15, 2012 at 11:22 pm

Not necessary if the BN is there to spy every single second…

• ben yap on Apr 14, 2012 at 1:45 am

only RM39K? that’s so cheap for the specs they offer. if it is offered here at that price, the Alza and exora can close shop.

• i like it
    its like it ,its a marriage of german and french design cue

• William on Apr 14, 2012 at 8:40 am

No fair….the car sold so cheap overseas.

• Unforgiven on Apr 14, 2012 at 9:47 am

It’s a very nice rm 40k car, seriously

• Unforgiven on Apr 14, 2012 at 9:53 am

Most countries including Indo, India, Vietnam, Burma should be able to enjoy this car

• Unforgiven on Apr 15, 2012 at 6:47 pm

The current up and coming are the Indo/Viet, the future talked about are the Myanmar/Cambodia…

Not forgetting, those currently unprotected, will still be able to survive in the future, no matter what…

• BSLEE on Apr 14, 2012 at 10:17 am

should be around 80k if ckd near 100k if brought in cbu.

• RM40K? Impossible in Malaysia. Saga and Viva would be blown out from the game if it’s true.

• Is this car about the size of Avanza or bigger?

• msian on Apr 14, 2012 at 3:49 pm

guys trust me…..there is nothing to be enjoyed in a dacia,i’ve been in countless dacias and the built quality and materials used looks and feels like the cheapest you can find!

• Kalun Corp on Apr 14, 2012 at 5:58 pm

No wonder Jeremy Clarkson always skip the news!
      Epic..

• Compare it to Alza and Exora? How?

• msian on Apr 15, 2012 at 2:10 am

i seriously feel the alza and exora are miles ahead in every aspect.trust me on this guys,they are that crappy.

• I kinda misread your post. But what I wanted was a comparison between Dacia Lodgy vs Exora vs Alza. Not Dacia vs Proton vs Perodua. There are always lemons in each company, but we should compare apple to apple now, which in this case, the 3 cars i mention above. Do let me know that if you are comparing the Lodgy against the other 2. Thanks.

• msian on Apr 15, 2012 at 11:39 pm

to be honest,the only dacia’s i’ve driven are the new logan,and sandero.I’ve been in the duster,but have not driven it(was only a passenger)To be fair they aren’t the worst to drive,but arent the best either.when it comes to comfort and built quality,i personally feel all three dacia score very low.the cars felt very “stiff”.

• kadajawi on Apr 16, 2012 at 1:27 am

Stiff is very common of Contis… and really, look at the price. What do you expect? Obviously Dacias aren’t going to compete with BMW. They are meant to be very affordable. Think Viva. How does the Logan/Sandero compare with the Viva? Or Saga BLM? Myvi?

• msian on Apr 16, 2012 at 7:20 pm

i’d say the saga and myvi are miles ahead.but as for the viva…well its pretty much in the same league.

• kadajawi on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:23 am

wow, ok. I have only seen the cars, never sat in one. They did look cheap, but not that bad. Not as good as Saga and Myvi though. However in terms of safety they should be on the same level, the Saga gets 3 stars in ANCAP I believe, and the Logan gets 3 stars in EuroNCAP. The Viva should be a driving milo tin though.

• I trust you if you are referring to the Dacias of the olden days. Now their latest offering such as the very affordable yet capable Duster as well as this Lodgy are decently built. Yes they have to obviously use cheap materials no doubt, but they are properly screwed together and they are indeed very cheap to buy. Cheaper than Protons for that matter.

there is nothing to be enjoyed in a dacia? Not true, I would gladly take a Dacia Duster over a any Proton and definitely a Lodgy over the terrible Exora. The Dacias are cheaper than our local cars too.

Dacia is an honest car company which tries to produce affordable yet quality cars to the masses. Unlike Proron which makes cheap cars simply because the government helped get rid of competitors with stupidly high taxes.

Proton thinks that if most Malaysian are forced to buy their cars coz the competitors are so highly taxed, then why bother with making higher quality Protons which will reduce their profits?

All they think is profits and never think about producing better quality cars for the global market which will eventually give our country a good name and even higher sales. I mean just look at the Korean cars now and how much their cars had changed since just 5 years ago! 5 years ago if you asked anyone that a KIA or Hyundai will be better than the Japanese, everybody will just laugh at you.

• kadajawi on Apr 15, 2012 at 6:51 pm

Dacia is most of all a way for Renault to produce cars that are dirt cheap without ruining their reputation. Same as when Nissan is relaunching Datsun.

They know how to do affordable cars, with Dacia they can use old tech (cheaper, reliable and mechanics know how to fix it, like Toyota does it here), cut down on safety (a big theme with Renault is how safe their cars are, I think they were the first company with an all 5 star line up (with stricter regulations that’s not the case anymore, but they can’t do a 3 star car branded Renault)), cut down on design (the Logans were ugly… but that’s probably cheaper to produce).

In the past Dacia has been an independent car manufacturer from Eastern Europe, which has produced the same car for like 30 years (and they didn’t even develop it themselves… think Proton, just way worse than that, and with more protection probably). Renault bought them, modernized their cars and finally introduced new ones that are ok.

• kadajawi on Apr 14, 2012 at 9:37 pm

Which Dacia did you drive? One of their old ones or a Logan, Logan MCV, Sandero or Duster? The older ones were really rubbish from what I know, the newer ones, well, they are really cheap cars, what do you expect? As long as it’s reliable (afaik it is) and practical it’s good enough. They are not exactly safe, but it’s not too bad, and really what do you expect. You’d be glad to get a supermini for the price of a Logan (which is a lot bigger than that… the supermini would be safer though, but way less practical).

Anyway, given the choice between a Logan and a Viva I’d take the Logan any day. And the MCV is said to seat tall adults comfortably… in the 3rd row! And it costs like 9000 Euro or so…?

• azrai on Apr 16, 2012 at 8:22 am

A 7 seater with a Kenari price tag. That’s what you will get in developed countries. Malaysia? Still ‘commited to be better’ when we already can be the best.

• xinan on Apr 16, 2012 at 9:05 am

it is look like a “long version” of new myvi :-)