JPJ to open bid for personalised number plates next year

Don’t see the big deal in ‘WWW’ number plates? Reports emerged earlier this week saying that vehicle owners will be allowed to bid for personalised vehicle registration numbers (NPP) from 2013. Cars, bikes, lorries and buses are eligible, but not taxis. There’s clearly a demand for such things, so it makes sense for JPJ to increase their revenue.

“The NPP is one of the new initiatives by the JPJ to members of the public. We will be able to introduce it once our computer system is upgraded and new security features are incorporated,” said JPJ director-general Datuk Solah Mat Hassan. JPJ was allocated RM282 million to upgrade its system as part of the Government Transformation Programme.

Solah explained that the bidding exercise will be divided into two categories, namely exclusive and non-exclusive. A non-exclusive NPP can belong to more than one individual while an exclusive one is the property of one person. The non-exclusive NPPs will be cheaper and offered via a tender exercise. For exclusive NPPs, JPJ will determine the cost to the bidder.

“The bidder will then have the right for the NPP from numbers 1 to 9999,” he said, adding that the JPJ had yet to finalise the cost for the NPPs. Also not yet finalised is the the number of characters that would be allowed for such registration plates.

Current vehicle owners can bid too, but they will need to buy a new vehicle to place their existing number on. Finally, our cars can wear their names with pride. In my dreams, I have a cili padi called Megan. What’s yours?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• new income for jpj

• drMpower on Apr 13, 2012 at 11:19 am

u know what this is right?
    they are turning what suppose to be a normal number plate allocation practice into a WAR
    in a world where personalized plate is not encourage and at some places banned altogether, JPJ think this is a great move

economically yes a very great move
    i reckoned revenues for JPJ gonna shot off the roof in no time
    but it us they are turning into fighting zombies

imagine got 50 applications for MEGAN
    nevermind, because there are people who likes to be MEGAN for whatever reason couldnt care less
    but problem comes if among those 50 MEGANs, 30 want MEGAN 10.
    and the bidding war starts

1st MEGAN vs everyone until the 10th MEGAN. JPJ will be the one sitting on the chair readying their bank account. we might get lucky to see catfights (i want to believe MEGAN is a girl, although theres real possibility MEGAN is a bloke like dress crossing and fake tites and love the girl hanging out sessions)

this is farce.

• dafuq did i just read?,,,,,,,

• wuttaheck on Apr 13, 2012 at 4:40 pm

kahkahkah…9gag much?hahaha

• sfssd on Apr 14, 2012 at 2:05 pm

the figure of speech started way back from 9GAG or 4chan for that matter, they are just there for people to waste their time on..

• bobby on Apr 13, 2012 at 11:49 am

I don’t know wtfuq you are trying to say.. I don’t give a monkey who won those war.. They get into the war voluntarily, no one forcing them.

It is a great move by JPJ.

• I got a mindf*ck reading this. JPJ belum announce the controls and procedures and now somebody is jumping up and down assuming stuff.

• junaidi on Apr 13, 2012 at 12:03 pm

pilih MEGAT aje lah

• Black Dog on Apr 13, 2012 at 1:33 pm

drM is already senile & with twisted mind. Biar aje!

• love it when some1 jumps in like a monkey and start making assumptions on human behavior… i love Fridays~ =D

• momocultus on Apr 13, 2012 at 5:16 pm

dude what have you been smoking ? whatave that sh*t! is is not good bro .. u sound like a idiot !

• huh.. stupid. bazir masa aku jer baca.

• Lim Kopi on Jun 05, 2012 at 11:50 am

“JPJ allocated RM282 million to upgrade its system”

I wonder what the hell are they doing with so much of taxpayers money ???

• Maybe have to pay for study tour to Milan to study traffic operations over there. First class tix, of course. And have to study the busy traffic at the outlet malls with Prada and Hermes

• civil war u mean ?

• Most retarded reply

• tiadaid on Apr 13, 2012 at 11:20 am

My ideal plate number would be Boeing 7478 – but my current plate no. is close enough to that.

• kerelbort on Apr 13, 2012 at 11:40 am

I do not know what is the scheme for this but here goes…

MYC4R
    S0WH47
    G04W4Y
    7R4CK3R
    B0R7

• michael on Apr 13, 2012 at 11:47 am

I dont think this is right. Even the existing practice of giving out licence plates such as

X OIC XXIXX 2468
    G1M 2342
    BAMbee 2342

etc.

because of the literacy rate in Malaysia. There are still people who have a basic knowledge of alphabets and numbers. How are they going to remember a number like XOICXXIXI 2345?

To make things worse, there are those who use clearly illegal fonts on the number plates which are so tiny that reading it would be difficult, what more remembering the unusually long funny looking numbers? Try reading xoicxxixi 2345.

• GreenFuel on Apr 14, 2012 at 10:37 pm

Strongly support it. The purpose of plat number is to let other people identify the vehicle. If the plat number is so long and so hard to remember, it will be very hard to identify the vehicle. Let say there is a car with plat number M3G4N3 hit and run, how do you expect the victim to remember the car plat number?

• CHERAS 1 can ah?

• Dr Mamak on Apr 13, 2012 at 11:54 am

BABEE 69

• Gavin on Apr 13, 2012 at 11:55 am

Mine will be KRONI99

• swoosh3553 on Apr 13, 2012 at 11:58 am

Please lar…. Put the money to better use than to bid for some stupid numbers and plates. There are those of needy and suffering (from natural causes/disasters). Have your face published in the media with a mock-up cheque is better than parading around on a car bearing plate number… “W4NK3R”, which is most probably won by bidding up to RM5K (from british expatriates here).

• Would like BULUBULU

• alephit on Apr 13, 2012 at 12:06 pm

Wow just like in Hong Kong!

• junaidi on Apr 13, 2012 at 12:07 pm

If I’m not mistaken, some countries overseas will process whichever number that was applied first.
    So if a person chose ROSMAH first, that person will get it. The next person will have to choose R0SMAH or ROSM4H.

So there is no bidding per se.

• Pm car might have “ROSMAH 24” ..hehe just joking =p

• great news to those who want it…but it’s not important to me…so i’ll just stick with the current system…

• josiah on Apr 13, 2012 at 12:31 pm

I want RON95 and RON97 for my ride. yeay baby

• danedz on Apr 13, 2012 at 12:37 pm

How about change also the background plate colour to yellow or blue,etc…it will looks awesome…

• TH1S1SMYPR0PERTY 8

• Danny’s got a Megane dream, does he ? :)
    Good name, Megan 3 .. Shouldn’t have told so early, though. now everyone can copy !

• Danny Tan (Member) on Apr 13, 2012 at 1:09 pm

Doesn’t matter la, won’t be able to afford it anyway :) Remember, you saw it here first!

• JasonKiD on Apr 13, 2012 at 1:06 pm

RM282 Million to upgrade such system? How much % of the amount kena makan again?

• kerelbort on Apr 13, 2012 at 2:17 pm

with crazy people paying such money just to personalized their plate number, this will be paid by its own.

• downsys on Apr 13, 2012 at 1:12 pm

It’s not JPJ that will earn the most, but opportunists. They will buy top names, put them on motorcycles, and start the bidding war themselves. Unless they implement rules to overcome this (but how?)

• kerelbort on Apr 13, 2012 at 2:19 pm

there’s no perfect system can stop those opportunist.

• downsys on Apr 13, 2012 at 7:02 pm

True. No perfect solution. But that are ways to reduce it. By making it harder to get (for example, only one per individual). Sure they can employ ppl to use their names, but it won’t be as easy. Create barriers to entry, badically.

• Black Dog on Apr 13, 2012 at 1:31 pm

I can imagine when the first day they open, thousands will put in their bid. It’s not easy to decide which is exclusive and which is not.

Names like WONG, LIM, MANIUM, MELAKA, EUROPE, USJ, JOHN, etc will most likely be non-exclusive.

But what about SZETOH, SMITH, GOLDEN, DIAMOND, POSH, BEETLE, TIGER, KANSAS, and thousands more less common but still popular names?

And is there any copyright for names like BATMAN, STAR TREK, TITANIC, BARBIE?

I’ll be there for sure when they open to put in my bid for YOUNG, my surname yet not sure whether it’s exclusive or not!

• DK BOSS on Apr 13, 2012 at 2:39 pm

These would be nice plate names & numbers ;p

G5POT
    VVIP 1
    1FARTED
    IPAD 2
    APPLE 2012
    MU GOAL 1
    AUSSIE 69
    YODA I AM 69
    JEDI MOM 1
    BBAFTT 1
    H4NSOLO
    D VADER 1
    TERMINATOR 101
    GOTMILF 69
    DRIFT KING 101
    BEAST V12
    FLASHME 69
    MYSLUT 2

• blackjkx on Apr 13, 2012 at 2:59 pm

same as during we want to create email address. Type, ahh already used.try another similiar

• _xXx_ on Apr 13, 2012 at 3:10 pm

Naive.
    You think the more u issue the more u gain? Just like share, value will be diluted. Ppl will not place high bid for numbers with ordinary prefix.

• PTPTN 1

hahahaha

• Dato Seri on Apr 13, 2012 at 6:24 pm

How about TITS or NIPPLE 1 or NIPPLE 2 like the yacht belong to the prince of brunei?

• Grandpa Trucker on Apr 13, 2012 at 6:26 pm

RM1BIL is ok for me (“,)

• driver on Apr 13, 2012 at 6:47 pm

mine will be..

BIGBO55

or.. THEBIG 1

or.. AWESOM 3

or.. THE 1

hehe..

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari'sCousin on Apr 13, 2012 at 7:51 pm

Ermmm….i wonder how much SH4KE is gonna cost me?? Better start saving money now…

• d driver on Apr 13, 2012 at 8:42 pm

Will b a likely business dealing nature,willing buyer n willing seller

• Seriously on Apr 13, 2012 at 9:57 pm

Hmm… I’m doubting the level of personalization that owners will be alot. Till there are clearer guidelines (which they definitely will be), everything is is just very vague now.

• berak on Apr 13, 2012 at 10:29 pm

i want my car with the plat ” BERAK JPJ”

• berak on Apr 13, 2012 at 10:31 pm

please put my comment on the top comment!

• _xXx_ on Apr 14, 2012 at 12:55 pm

wat? sick of catching smoky bas kilang, over-loaded lori izzit?

• Annecy on Apr 14, 2012 at 7:18 pm

I’ve seen a picture of a Tesla Roadster (one of those all-electric sports cars) with plate number ‘L0L 0IL’

• Actually the US has done it.

• Jonathan Lee on Apr 15, 2012 at 5:59 am

The JPJ should first revamp the number plates themselves. Besides being all too easy to tamper and forge, they aren’t the most legible out there. Also, the fonts aren’t really standardised, so you end up with a myriad of different plate styles. Ideally, numbers should be stamped on or cast into the plate itself, rather than just stuck on. What about reflective plates, as used on some Singaporean cars? And why did we abandon the extremely legible UK-style font?

• razman on Apr 15, 2012 at 12:10 pm

PEN 15 – penis
    NAJ 15 – najis
    WQN 6 – wong
    ADN 15 – adnis
    WAJ 4 – waja
    RA 58 – rashid

• razman on Apr 15, 2012 at 12:17 pm

MY 8055 – my boss
    TAH 850 – TAHBSO (medical operation)
    DR 6161 – dr gigi
    NAV 3317 – narveen

• i saw persona with “BAMbee” plate at jalan masjid india last week. any info?

• i saw persona with “BAMbee” plate number last week at jln masjid india..any info?

• Ah Long on May 16, 2012 at 12:35 am

If JPJ want collect this as main source income, road tax should be abandoned and we don’t need to pay road tax anymore!!!!

• Hj.Mohd.Anim Sukeiman on Feb 06, 2013 at 12:59 pm

Don’t Blabber around and talk Nonsense ! You want something of Significant Value for your Vehicle Number Plate ? submit the Application , Pay the Fees. Get it Approved & Fix it to your car…Its very simple as that.
    To Implement New Policies /Procedures by Government Departments ( JPJ ) is Not like passing Resolutions in a Company..Parliament Approval is Imperative after being Passed on Few Readings by the Cabinet . It is not done according to One’s Whims & Fancies..4U2C