Honda develops new CVT, available with Step WGN

Whether you are a fan or not, the CVT gearbox is here to stay. Point in case is the new CVT from Honda, which is part of their Earth Dreams Technology, specially developed for mid-sized Honda vehicles.

This new CVT features newly developed high-efficiency electric oil pump, high-strength belt and exclusive CVT oil raise transmission efficiency, which enhances fuel economy. It also features a wide ratio that gives more torque in the lower rpm range that translates to quick acceleration from standstill. In addition, the new CVT is equipped with the G-Design Shift that controls the gearing, throttle and hydraulic control to make the system respond quicker to driver input.

The take back from this new CVT is that it offers five percent better fuel economy than the conventional CVT, and 10 percent better than a traditional 5-speed automatic. The new CVT will not reach us yet. It is still new in Japan and will be first shoehorned into the Step WGN and Step WGN Spada.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Misai on Apr 16, 2012 at 5:49 pm

So far CVT on my Teana works well & did not give any problem :)

• mikey on Sep 07, 2012 at 2:57 am

So far CVTs from Nissan seems to be more reliable that those found in the previous batches of Honda City/Jazz. There was quite a significant number of warranty claims made for the CVT. A high percentage of previous City and Jazz owners had problems with their CVTs. Either entire gearbox needs to be changed or flywheel replaced.

CVT in Toyota’s too new to know.

There are so many Proton Sagas on the road. I wonder if their CVT from a small european company is reliable. If not it will be a big problem for Proton.

• Gitu-gitu on Apr 16, 2012 at 6:02 pm

Honda: power to keep dreaming on..

• Wow, Honda make a come back for CVT gearbox again!
    I thought they will not believe in CVT anymore after 2 generation of City series. There are a lot of CVT gearbox supporter out there. On the pro/con, it debatable.

• oomph on Apr 16, 2012 at 6:59 pm

that’s lonng story bro. even cvt on current civic is pretty reliable.

• Current Civic using CVT?

• squall_shinoda on Apr 16, 2012 at 11:51 pm

Honda Civic Hybrid uses CVT what…

• That I know la,oomph mentioned current civic in his comment,not civic hybrid.u read properly first

• Wisdom on Apr 17, 2012 at 9:21 am

Its a known fact that the Honda SC mistakenly used normal ATF for City CVT box back in 03 and 04. As a result, some of the first gen City have CVT problems.

Later they only knew and change to CVTF.

• Carl Wong on Apr 17, 2012 at 1:04 am

You mean 8th generation Civic Hybrid? CVTs for all current Honda hybrids, and my City (previous generation). Toyota is using E-CVT for their hybrids and Altis, a bit different but I’m not sure how. Very fuel efficient.

• Gearbox is not their problem. The engine is (compare to the more efficient turbo or atkinson).

Don’t get me wrong VTEC fanbois, iVTEC is dated, but it’s not future prove. The hybrid solution still needs more refinement (to at least par it with toyota), which we havent seen yet.

• squall_shinoda on Apr 16, 2012 at 11:55 pm

Atkinson cycle is great for hybrid cars because of its low FC. However, the horsepower generated is low. Look at the Prius, its 1.8L Atkinson cycle engine only generates 98 bhp. Only when combined with electric motor that makes the power output around 134 bhp.

• Why is it under linked under Holden?

• Searcher on Apr 16, 2012 at 6:33 pm

I owned a EK3 2-Door Civic year 97 with a CVT (known as HMM=Honda MultiMatic), brought directly from Japan. I was 2nd owner of the car.

Changed CVT fluid every 30000km. Never got problem with the transmission. Gerik-Jeli Highway always on S-mode (sports mode). Sold the car 2 years back (still in good condition).

Just to share.

• Willie on May 30, 2012 at 3:16 pm

Hi Searcher – Can I check with you if I can replace the HMMF fluid for my gearbox (for my CRZ) with CVT fluid? Or must I strictly use only HMMF fluid?

• Honda LOVER on Apr 16, 2012 at 7:05 pm

wow! Honda is using CVT. Impressive!

• does this come with turbocharged engine like in preve?
    if not then still generations behind, too bad

• Preve is still a proton car, lots of function but cannot tahan lama. Just like china make pirated iphone, lots of function only can use for few months

• yuoung on Apr 17, 2012 at 1:50 pm

wow how can you say it cannot tahan, it’s been launched lol

• Proton is still proton, lots of function but cannot last long. Just like china make pirated iphone, function banyak tapi tak tahan lama

• Proton is still a proton, lots of function but cannot last long. After few months lots of problem coming out. Pls dun compare with Honda.
      Proton is just like china pirated Iphone, used less than 1 year.

• Digir on Apr 17, 2012 at 11:11 am

If i’m not wrong, Preve’s CVT is sourced from Jatco.
      I think should be reliable.

• sub_zero on Apr 17, 2012 at 2:33 pm

from what proton says, their CVT are sources from Punch auto Engineering

• Muddy on Apr 16, 2012 at 8:44 pm

Btw, STEPWGN is a very practical midsize MPV. Have all the gadgets but less bulky than Alphards.

My problem with Honda is always with its disc brakes.. (sorry off topic)

• so they are using WET CLUTCH too……

• IDSI owner on Apr 16, 2012 at 9:05 pm

So Honda City IDSI owners don’t have to worry right?

• Carl Wong on Apr 16, 2012 at 9:24 pm

I love CVTs and I’m still learning hyper-miling. New CVT possibly for new Accord and Accord hybrid??

My City VTEC went 9XXXXkm and it’s still efficient and smooth and responsive as usual :]. I get 500km per tank (city driving).

• Wilfred on Apr 17, 2012 at 4:23 pm

Keep it up…my last tank just clocked 17.1km/l, now heading 125000km

• Carl Wong on Apr 17, 2012 at 6:27 pm

That’s great man, a lot of highways? VTEC version? I think it’s possible to go around 700km per tank for long distance. I got 18km/L + if it’s mainly highways/expressways, no speeding of course. 36psi (hot pressure) for all tyres.

The i-DSI version is even more efficient, but sadly I was too young and didn’t know about the difference when my family got the car lol……………..

• Nick.C on Apr 19, 2012 at 1:24 am

I drive a iDSI City, last service was 120K. I get about 450km per tank strictly city only. Not even MRR2 or other cross town highways. One time I had to do 2 airport runs on the same tank, I got about 550KM out of the tank (Each round trip is about 160KM, using MEX then PLUS). Go figure. :P

• Carl Wong on Apr 22, 2012 at 1:05 pm

Nice, I get around 12-14km/L for city driving. In terms of performance and fuel efficiency, I think our car is still one of the best for a B segment sedan. CO2 emissions of around 150g/km, low enough for normal cars..

I rarely even use the semi automatic 7 speed more or S mode, only when I desperately need the acceleration for tight situations or overtaking, for just less than 10 seconds lol…..

I think they should keep the CVT for the new City, fuel efficiency would be even better. How about using it again for the next generation or even making it a hybrid version…??

• i owned city vtec 04, changed cvt GB after 98k km by honda malaysia (free), now after another 100k km, same problem coming back again. (my car is service under honda till todays.) sad story…..

• Carl Wong on Apr 22, 2012 at 2:15 pm

I think you were quite unlucky. You had to replace it 2 times? But why? The 1st time was free with warranty? What is the cost as for today??

• Fukuoka on Apr 16, 2012 at 10:52 pm

On the bigger picture, this new development is actually Honda’s new weapon on the war of fuel efficient 2.0cc MPV here in Japan. The three-cornered fight among Stepwgn, Nissan Serena and Toyota Voxy / Toyota Noah is currently on-going, for the sake of the consumer.

The chronology of the MPV’s fuel consumption, measured according to 10.15 Standard is as follows:
    2005 12.6 km/L Stepwgn
    2005 13.2 km/L Serena C25
    2007 14.4 km/L Voxy / Noah
    2009 14.2 km/L Stepwgn
    2010 15.4 km/L Serena C26
    2012 16.0 km/L Stepwgn

In terms of sales, Toyota is currently leading with Nissan in 2nd place.

Sadly, the same war is not happening in Malaysia. Toyota Innova is still using a fuel guzzling ancient engine and Serena C24 is the best Nissan could offer.

• Abdul123 on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:16 am

Volkswagen dual clutch is better

• Ash Menon on Apr 17, 2012 at 1:37 am

I had assumed they wrote off CVTs after reliability issues with the previous-gen City. Good on them to keep trying.

• Fukuoka on Apr 17, 2012 at 4:52 pm

Please don’t get confused. Honda NEVER write off CVT. Here in Japan, they started using CVT in the first gen Insight back in 1999 and never look back. Please check the following line-up of CVT user:

Insight 1999 – current
      Fit 2001 – current
      Fit Aria 2002 – 2009
      Odyssey 2003 – current
      Airwave 2005 – 2010
      Freed 2008 – current
      Stepwgn 2009 – current
      CRZ 2010 – current
      Fit Shuttle 2011 – current

The Honda story in Malaysia is a different story. If you notice, we are getting a non-CVT Jazz and Freed unlike Japan. Fit Aria is the model known as the “previous gen Honda City with CVT” in Malaysia. The current Honda City not even good enough to be sold in Japan. It is meant only for third world countries like ASEAN whose emission and fc awareness is low.

Honda CVT reliability issues? Nonsense.

• Searcher on Apr 17, 2012 at 6:57 pm

Actually Honda started using the CVT from 1995, for 7th generation Honda Civic. Here in Malaysia known as Dolphin (for hatchback version). The one i owned was 1997 Civic Ri (hatchback 1500cc, E-EK3, non-VTEC).

In Japan, they use cvt fluid called HMMF Ultra (Honda Multi-Matic Fluid Ultra). I did search for the same fluid in Malaysia, but only manage to get Honda CVTF. Can’t get the HMMF.

My first experience changing CVT oil at workshop in Penang (Honda specialized), their workers refused to replace the oil with CVTF, stating that my car using ATF. Luckily the workshop owner came and realize my car. Straightaway changed my CVT oil.

Another experience, I quite struggled to buy and replace my spark plugs (which is BKR5E, in case of NGK). But the auto shop keep telling me that Civic using BKR6E. Lastly manage to get the plug, but only after visiting several shops, and after ignoring the shop assistant.

Sorry for the long writing. Just missed that car. The car I’d used to dating my girlfriend back then (but now dah jadi my wife oledi).. peace

• Kan MS on Jun 08, 2012 at 8:45 pm

Fukuoka-san, you seem very well-versed with this Honda CVT. Can you enlighten me on:
        1. Does the belt need changing at all and at what minimum interval?
        2. Can only the belt be changed at Honda service centres? Many City-users were complaining about the very high cost for a complete change of gearbox.

• Anyone knows whether this new CVT gearbox would be incorporated in the 2013 Accord / Inspire (JDM) ?

• hippo on Apr 17, 2012 at 11:58 am

Just curious is this CVT better than toyota CVT gearbox on the new altis dual vvti? Which one more durable?

• driver on Apr 18, 2012 at 6:02 pm

I used to drive 2008 City VTEC, but sold it later. That is my first car using automatic transmission, previously was using 1995 Neon 2.0l stick drive.

The CVT transmission was fine, but when I kicked in the pedal, there’s a delay of getting the acceleration. So whenever I needed to overtake, I had to take into account the delay. Instead of waiting the incoming car completely passed by, I had to kicked it earlier, so that once the car passed by, the power arrived at the wheel just in time for the overtaking. I think this is normal for CVT. The delay is caused by the movement of the belt need from a position to another.

But if this new CVT could reduce the lag, that would be great.

• Nick.C on Apr 19, 2012 at 1:32 am

If you need to do that kind of overtake, you switch it into 7 speed mode, then make your move. :) The normal CVT mode is optimised for fuel economy, 7 speed mode makes it behave like an SMG.

• htuah on Jul 03, 2012 at 2:33 pm

The CVT in the previous Honda City is unreliable and problematic once mileage reaches 100k.

• Louharng on Nov 06, 2012 at 2:51 am

My 2006 iDSI city was serviced at Honda throughout. It started jerking and jumping gear ratios. I quickly sold it off. No more cvt or honda for me.

• ashraf on Dec 07, 2012 at 5:57 am

i have Honda civic hybrid model 2006 i wanted to know that witch gear oil to put in to change it CVT or ATF plzz tel me i love my Honda
    since 1 week i put in my car valvoline oil for Transmission this good our what ????