New Dodge SRT Viper – 8.4L V10, 640 hp, 814 Nm, crazy!

The Viper is back, and looking meaner than ever. The fifth-generation all-new 2013 SRT Viper was unveiled at the recent New York show, and America’s take on the supercar has “evolved to incorporate superior craftsmanship, a host of new technologies and ergonomic improvements while respecting its visceral legacy of outright performance,” Dodge says.

The Viper’s heart is a hand-assembled 8.4L all-aluminum V10 engine with 640 hp and 814 Nm of torque, the latter is the highest among naturally aspirated engines.

Improvements include an “ultra-high flow” and lightweight composite intake manifold, high-strength forged pistons, sodium-filled exhaust valves, new catalysts to reduce back pressure and an aluminum flywheel that reduces reciprocating losses. 13 kg has been shaved from the engine alone.

The Tremec TR6060 six-speed manual gearbox has been improved with a shorter throw shifter, closer gear ratios and a final drive ratio that has been shortened to 3.55 from 3.07. 2013 Viper models are claimed to be more engaging to drive and top speed is now achieved through sixth gear with redline at 6,200 rpm.

It was revealed that a Ferrari or Maserati platform was considered for the new Viper, but they couldn’t agree on the right proportions and instead reworked the old car’s high strength steel platform.

The structure is 50% stiffer than before, and there’s a new aluminum “X” brace under the hood that ties the suspension pickup points to the magnesium cowl super casting. A new aluminum impact beam at the front of the car contributes to overall mass savings and improved weight distribution.

At the rear, the suspension has been re engineered with the toe link moved forward of the axle for better tow control and dynamic stability. A new, driver selectable two-mode suspension system, featuring Bilstein DampTronic Select shock absorbers with both street and track settings, is standard on GTS models.

Four-piston Brembo brakes with fixed-aluminum calipers, and vented rotors with a diameter of 355 mm by 32 mm, are used at all four corners. Brake calipers are forged and weight optimised by fully machining all surfaces. They are among the stiffest available with distortion from heat nearly eliminated. The available SRT Track Package features lightweight and slotted two-piece rotors from StopTech.

2013 Vipers ride on standard Pirelli P Zero, Z-rated tyres with improved overall performance. The optional SRT Track Package features Pirelli P Zero Corsa, “soft”-tuned, “racing-type” compound tyres that improve handling and precision further.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• MNazri.tan on Apr 16, 2012 at 2:36 pm

hot but 8.4L is bloody stupid la…
    even f1 goes with turbocharge soon….8.4 liter???

• they dont need stupid buyer like u..hahaha

• Such a big powerful Engine but too much CO2 Emissions and fuel ! they should make the small Engine but powerful… GTR 35 is a good example ! European and Japanese cars r still the best performance and tech ever…

• batteryGUy on Apr 17, 2012 at 3:24 pm

u mean german n japan from world war two? LOL

• How do you know the CO2 emissions and fuel is too much? Just because it’s NA doesn’t make it so. A 500 hp engine regardless of turbo or NA will produce comparatively similar levels of CO2, generally speaking.. and with other factors equal. A turbo engine is only pumping fuel/air at a higher rate through its smaller displacement but what comes out the other end is the same in both engines.. generally speaking. The main advantage of a smaller turbo engine is the smaller frictional losses.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Apr 16, 2012 at 2:47 pm

Hand Grip for passenger as well :-)

• Roadtax alone MYR25630.00 p/year.. Nice..

• junaidi on Apr 16, 2012 at 5:30 pm

huhuhu, if you are a certain person, you wont need to pay the road tax ler.

• junaidi on Apr 16, 2012 at 2:54 pm

I’m still waiting to see one in Malaysia.

• Issit me or the previous viper looks meaner (with fangs).. this 1 looks plain ferrari/maserati dna.

• Kumar san on Apr 16, 2012 at 3:10 pm

The original Dodge Viper Coupe GTS 1992 (non SRT model) engine was lifted straight off the biggest Dodge Ram pickup,the Ram V-10,it displaced 8 liters (488ci) and put out 400bhp (SAE with full ancillories) and made 450lb-ft of torque.

The truck engine shared little in the production version of the V-10 namely due to different low profile cross ram intakes,the manifolds itself,oil pan,heads,and acessory drive.The compression ratio was raised and each piston weights in grams was reduced considerably.Maximum engine speed governer was increased to 5600 rpm if i’m not mistaken.The valves were huge and crank with rods was super strengthened.

In the end,little was shared with the truck engine on which it was based on.Styling was led by Mr.Tom Gale who was responsible for it’s voluptous shape.I was part of the original development team and was working directly under legendary Chrysler engine designer Mr.Willem Weertman.I was privileged enough to serve for Chrysler for a substancial amount of time.The Viper was a beast,it was unrefined and crude but it kicked many a Porsche and Ferrari asses(the look on the drivers faces was priceless) during development testing at which i was piloting the mules most of the time.

Lovely to have big beast back!

Cheers.

• hway de Cruz on Apr 16, 2012 at 3:35 pm

would b nice to see mr.tony stark drive his audi r8 to race this monster…. guess tony stark will abandon his car, jump into his iron suit n get airborne to race this beast. and iran man decide to go mach 8

• xavier lert on Apr 16, 2012 at 3:42 pm

viper has been my dream car for 2 decade .. and it still is..

• Aston looks but an American Heart…. Torque is crazy…

• Go NA!!!!!

• To put this massive truck engine into a car is really crazy and foolish.…Porshe, Nissan GTR, Ferrari and Mercedes can come out similar power output only from 3.8 liter engine.
    Come on Dodge….wake up…..You are going backward to the “Stone Age’ era.

• Critique on Apr 16, 2012 at 4:54 pm

IMHO, to fully understand the rationale behind this car, you’ve gotta first understand Americans and America!

Cheers :)

• khairulx19a on Apr 16, 2012 at 9:34 pm

thats what make this car special…its not following other car just following its own pace….

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 18, 2012 at 8:41 am

You sir are missing the point.

A potential Viper owner is not having the words “sensible, fuel consumption, and turbochargers” in the same paragraph.

Its about showboating, being mad and enjoying every second of it.

The Viper is a living legend designed and built by true petrol heads.

• To put this massive truck engine into a car is really crazy and foolish.…Porsche, Nissan GTR, Ferrari and Mercedes can come out similar power output only from 3.8 liter engine.
    Come on Dodge….wake up…..You are going backward to the “Stone Age’ era.

• carazy on Apr 16, 2012 at 4:11 pm

if money is not an object for me.. surely this is my favorite rides

• Musalman on Apr 16, 2012 at 4:11 pm

8.4 liter!! wow..

• amonrei on Apr 16, 2012 at 4:18 pm

Totally doing it the American way.

• lady gagau on Apr 16, 2012 at 9:21 pm

create war and invade oil rich country, then get the oil foc.
      next viper gonna have 15k litre engine.

• seancorr on Apr 16, 2012 at 4:32 pm

I started loving this car back when the Viper TV series was shown on TV. Boy did it looked good back then and it still does! Remember when this car did not have traction control?!

This is the only car I’ve yet to see on Malaysian roads.

• ahmir on Apr 16, 2012 at 4:45 pm

Think by urself.only the rich will buy,so they dont bother
    Bout the 8.4 cc laaaaa….if u want just buy and replaced with a
    Daihatsu Mira 660 cc avanzato …..hahahaha

• This goes to show how bonkers American can be in making cars. 8.4 liters!!!

I mean even the Brits used a “mere” 7.3 liters for their flagship Aston Martin One-77
    The Germans also think a 8.0 liter engine is way more than enough before fitting on 4 turbochargers.

8.4 liters on an American muscle supercar is just too over-the top! I bet it will drink fuel like we drink water!

Nothing wrong with that though. :D

• I don’t think the Americans are OTT. You want OTT think French-German. 8L with 4 turbos and 16 cylinders producing well in excess of 1000bhp.. and for how much??? :)

• Long Dong Zong on Apr 16, 2012 at 5:08 pm

The Viper is a classic example of American excesses. But I have to say it looks nice and and so curvaceous albeit too muscular.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Apr 16, 2012 at 5:27 pm

sometimes, it’s just really nice to have something like this in the market. some interesting and fun. but to own one in malaysia you’d really got to pay your lungs out.

• Car Driver on Apr 16, 2012 at 5:45 pm

This car really gulping petrol 8.4L. Not to mention the “SAMAN” for overspeeding .

• drMpower on Apr 16, 2012 at 6:06 pm

they didnt get the memo dont they?
    the one posted from greenpeace

• Diablo on Apr 16, 2012 at 6:15 pm

Nice!. I’m just not too impressed with the interior finish.

I wonder if they offer the MDS cylinder shutdown feature as in the Chrysler HEMI V8. Really helps to meet the ever tightening greener emission standards.

I’ve sampled the HEMI V8 and the Torque is simply delicious. It’s also very efficient. Therefore I can appreciate this 8.4L V10. You won’t here silly small cc high power output complaints from me. They’re apples and oranges – different power deliveries for different applications. Only those who have tasted American muscle V8s know what I mean.

The Viper did relatively well in racing (ALMS etc) about 10 years ago or so. Hope to see it’s return and steal the limelight from Corvette’s race campaign.

• gavin on Apr 16, 2012 at 6:16 pm

the steering wheel doesn’t actually work right, you can turn it as much as you like as long it’s straight

• hellomaliq on Apr 16, 2012 at 7:07 pm

I dont know why, but i think the previous model look more “garang” than this one. but the torque is awesome and i bet people who drive it go sideways all the time

• lady gagau on Apr 16, 2012 at 9:16 pm

obviously this one no fang.
      means that this viper is old already.. all teeth falling out

• nebula87 on Apr 16, 2012 at 7:39 pm

not saying they wan 2 quit manufacture viper liao meh?? =.=

• asian on Apr 16, 2012 at 7:44 pm

american f*** yeah!!!

• paparadzi on Apr 16, 2012 at 8:28 pm

While the Americans have to worry about rising gasoline price, they don’t have to think about a c.c.-based road tax.

Nice to use this for the weekend, and a Prius for the daily commute.

• amcars on Apr 16, 2012 at 8:53 pm

somehow, american cars dont look too good in pictures, but when u see them in real life, they just look so wide and mean and magnificent. Agree?

• lady gagau on Apr 16, 2012 at 9:14 pm

i was just wondering, why cant bmw m5 f10 have a stick shift too?

• Nuffsaid on Apr 16, 2012 at 11:07 pm

Nice rims!

• longjaafar on Apr 17, 2012 at 9:33 am

Easy way out by just enlarging the engine. The way NOT to go!!

• Now that’s a worthy contender with Ferrari 458 Italia from the Americans. Granted it is not a fair apple to apple comparison engine spec wise, but damn, this car’s styling sure is.

• in the near future..most Malaysian on the southern state could frequently can see this car..bcz there is a possibility TMJ love this car. Currently, His Highnest lastest Dodge collection is Viper SRT10 and Challenger SRT8…

• this is good example car art

• WRXFan on Apr 19, 2012 at 1:06 am

OMG, this machine is a beast! I got smoked by this beauty on the freeway last night! I love you and I wish I can afford you! : (

• creft leow on Apr 24, 2016 at 10:11 pm

The face looks good but the body and the back light is bad