VIDEO: The Making, The Launch and The French

We grabbed three videos off the wall last night during the launch of the Proton Prevé. Just in case you have not read our launch report yet, click here.

In the first of three videos, which Proton calls “The Making of Proton Prevé”, shows the work that went into making the national car company’s first global car. The video also features the respective head of departments and their insights into the thought that goes into the different aspects of the car. Then the video moves on to the hopes and dreams that the citizens of Proton have for the Prevé.

The second video is the launch of the Prevé by the Prime Minister. Three colours were on stage – Genetic Silver, Fire Red and Blue Lagoon. Directly after that was the debut of the Prevé’s TV commercial.

Final video shows Jean Alesi at the wheel of the Prevé. He gives us his thoughts on how the Prevé drives – the power, the braking and the handling. Then he moves to the design of the car and how he likes its shape. Also, watch out for French tiger claws.

Thanks for watching.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Chow 1 on Apr 17, 2012 at 3:12 pm

Just came back from showroom. Few findings:
    1) The Preve looks better in real life compare to photo.
    2) Build Quality is not top notch with some noticeable detailed flaws, but overall acceptable.
    3) The rear ain’t that bad in real life, just not photogenic enough.
    4) Comfortable to sit in compare to Persona.
    5) It actually looks better than Inspira.
    6) Quite spacious and easy to get in, especially the rear seat.

• sudonano on Apr 17, 2012 at 3:44 pm

I think the malaysians have arrived. Seriously, it looks quite good. Hopefully they improve the quality, then we will all buy. and so will the world.

• I just knowing that preve tailight is made by australian company called Hella Australia the same company who oso supply parts for toyota, holden and ford Australia..for contract of $40m. And other ausie company MTM Automotive will provide gear shift lock mechanism contract worth $10m

• PROTON-PREVENT on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:20 am

bodo la u.. of coz hella made the tailight..but the design is from protorn..damn ffffugly!! even my grandfather 50 years old ford cortina made by hella.. hella is just manufactured the tailight as what design submitted by protorn(client).

• I don say they design the tailight but i say they supply those part to proton..u have been punk..huhu..read la carefully..who bodo now..haha

• I only want to show that the quality of the part is same as those i mention above..who bodo now. U have been betray by ur own word

• ahbeng on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:46 pm

so it takes over two decades for proton to im-pre-veh their car “quality”.
            LMAO :-D

• Would you date an ugly girl on photo hoping she will be smokin hot in real?

• Chow 1 on Apr 17, 2012 at 7:25 pm

Didn’t say it’s Hot, just said it’s better.

• Wow..nice analogy. I would love to see how U look like in person. Seriously..would u fall for someone for his/her physical appearance or his/her inner beauties? Ever heard of “Don’t judge a book by its cover”? Duhh..

• Ever heard of “Don’t judge a book by its cover”?

Yea. Go drive an excavator as your daily ride. It has 271hp at your disposal.

• Zero cool on Apr 18, 2012 at 9:33 am

Well u should get up from ur couch,go take a look, testdrive n see it for urselve..thats y the tag line is “Drive It To Believe It”

• WOW again. First u talk about ugly girls..then u talk about excavator as a daily ride..in a post about a car. Well done.. I really hope U have achieved more than this in life..

• Zero cool on Apr 18, 2012 at 9:25 am

Well..u should get up from ur couch n go take a look, test drive n see it for urselve..thats y the tag line is “Drive It To Believe It”..

• You actually believe what the tagline says? Did the tagline “Asia’s answer to BMW” really lived up?

• Zero cool on Apr 18, 2012 at 11:53 am

Do u even understand what i mean?GET UP FROM UR COUCH N GO OUT TEST DRIVE THE CAR,THEN DO THE TALKING..i believed many msian ppl alrdy believed in this car as they had tested it..not just sitting on ur couch playing internet!LOL!!!

• Despite all the hypes it still failed to get people to even take the trouble to go to showroom to test drive it.

BTW, testing the car for few minutes won’t help much because things usually fall apart after days / months. (with exception of Gen2 which door handle fell off in the showroom itself).

• Zero cool on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:10 pm

Yup..n thats y im asking u to go there n testdrive..change ur mindset..owh u think u can really get 0 defect from any manufacturing?FYI, last year statistic shows that the most problem car brand is nissan with call back of 2.3million globally..even porche call back 640000 customer..n i once drive my friend’s 7series BMW..originally brand new imported..not recond..5 mnt we testdrive, the engine stopped..have to sent back to BMW n took 3 month to repair due to engine failure..its a BMW,not a PROTON..i once go to perodua promotion at selayang n the display car’s side mirror already fall apart..so what??thats y they provide warranty..theres no such thing as 0 defect in manufacturing..ppl do make mistakes..even if its all robotic,but still we’r the 1 who build the robot..wake up pls..this is real world..we r not living in fantasy..no anime n no cartoon!!!LOL!!!

• yea yea … BMW, BMW and BMW.

How many times we hear BMW in Proton post.
            By mentioning BMW here won’t put you at the same league as BMW.

If you want to sell your car, be humble. Being arrogant don’t help. During your heydays, you were so LCLY don’t allow people test drive. Now want to ask people test drive also so LCLY. You just don’t get the message.

Haha… even BMW not so arrogant. That one you should learn from BMW. BMW wannabe.

• Zero cool on Apr 18, 2012 at 4:10 pm

LOL…u misunderstood my comments,again!..its n opinion from me..not from a salesperson of proton,not as a proton staff,not from any parties,but as a plain msian ppl,just like u..but u’r the 1 being arrogant n cannt accept my opinion?owh pls darl…think positive darl..im not comparing it to BMW,im just stating the fact here..stop blaming ur or ppls’ past exp..do look forward n see it for urself..is it ok honey?? LOL

• We buy things largely based on past experiences be it from other people or self. Opinions plays a minor role, what’s more opinion from the seller.

Learn from other organisation that fake up the hype of their products in blogs that got back fired. Google Vichy.

• pirlo on Apr 19, 2012 at 9:50 am

“Despite all the hypes it still failed to get people to even take the trouble to go to showroom to test drive it.”

amoi, how sure are you that people refuse to go to the showroom?

fyi, last Tuesday, showroom in glenmarie managed to receive close to 50 bookings. only from 1 dealer. bear in mind that it was during weekdays not weekend. in fact, during exora launching, it managed to receive <30 bookings on the next day (exora launching day was on Friday).

• Storm on Apr 18, 2012 at 10:37 pm

Alesi said when you shift the gear you don’t feel it and the engine keeps moving, that sums it up a typical characteristic of a boring CVT.

• maybe you can eat some cosmetic so you can try to be pretty on the inside b***h

• Never went to Potong showroom b4 and only went to Merc ,Volkswagen , Naza and T & H…maybe can see it on the road…

• nazlan on Apr 23, 2012 at 6:36 pm

baru balik from showroom,

a few thing to consider… not suitable for me (6 footer) since my head always bangging upper side door , seat too high or headroom to low…, middle console to tight for me… sometime feel like driving mpv… too many flaw from interior material expecially dashboard compartment (anytime can break). look out for water ralling near rear bonet, easy to rust cos of bad paint job maybe not enough antirust? so many flaw at gap at side or front view.. fiiting factory worker maybe not fully train or malas edy to do it nicely.

• yup, car looks better in real life

• yeah agree with u.. Preve looks better in real life rather than a photo.

• now with closer look i realised the back of it is copycat of K5!?

• Nakal on Apr 17, 2012 at 4:41 pm

tak habis-habis copycat..copycat..copycat

• jahat on Apr 17, 2012 at 5:14 pm

mana ada copycat?? langsung tak sama

• vwfan on Apr 17, 2012 at 9:25 pm

‘COPYCAT’ is a proton trademark from begining..let the world decide,it is true global car or..we all malaysian kena tipu lagi..

• proton saporter on Apr 18, 2012 at 11:46 am

how bout perodua? still make copycat vehicle until now ??just change their back and front.. stupid lorr u! why still called proton copycat when they create gen2, persona, exora and now preve?

• superman on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:53 pm

these guys know nothing. PREVE was designed by Ital-Design in Italy. it is not a copy cat… these days almost all cars looks the same due to design elements and synergy used in the design and having concepts of Pedestrial friendliness and aerodynamic. I can bet if you re badge the PREVE to anything else the all the Huha and wows for the car will jump up. people here are only want to bash PROTON. Pls go and test drive it 1st.

• lexapro on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:23 pm

your last 3 statements pretty much hit the nail on the head. when i read the negative comments about Proton or Preve, many are from hear-say, no first hand experience, a pessimistic attitude, a deep rooted dislike/association for Proton, or unfortunately, poor QC experiences in the past.

instead of making assumptions, do the research yourself and judge the new car on its own merit and entity, and not from past inheritance. if you have test-driven the car, and OBJECTIVELY give your opinion, without any bias and emotional sentiment, then your opinion and review will that much more respected.

• jalan54 on Apr 17, 2012 at 4:46 pm

Just tested out the car, pretty nice car in performance as well as comfort, but if you are looking for extreme comfort car, this car is not for you.

Interior wise, how should I put this… What I can say is that, cheap and premium feel, both mixed together. Premium, soft touch dashboard. Cheap, cheap looking aircon controller and audio control panel.

Well, shall I get one. with such price, really can’t complain much. I have to say, great job proton, finally this is the only car from you guys I feel like buying… :)

• burung on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:19 am

Jalan54, I like your comment. Since u tested the car, so did I.

Err, bro. Regarding the Auto Aircon, I agree with you on that (no digital display, outside temp etc) just 3 dials. (Not that cheapo anyway. But ok laa).

And I wonder, looking at some other cars too, post-2007 they also no longer making that (digital display). Why eh? Not important may be? More circuitry work & cost & headache on VISUAL display of your aircond which has got nuthing to do with the COOLING other than only feel good?

• Ya lorrr…same like Passat…
    in real life, with DRL turn on, it is beautiful…
    in photo, looks biasa-biasa only..

• Vader on Apr 18, 2012 at 7:38 am

its not a DRL, but LED.

• burung on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:00 pm

Iya lah. They’re not DRL. It’s just series of LED. Had to switch on lampu kecik to switch on those LEDs. That how it works on my testdrive car. Forgot to put that in my report.

• catdog on Apr 17, 2012 at 4:50 pm

jus one thing i wanna say… gd luc proton!

• drMpower on Apr 17, 2012 at 5:03 pm

jean alesi is who? he is not someone u ask for opinion
    i need inspector closeau. and ponton.

• thelonely on Apr 17, 2012 at 5:27 pm

dunno who jean alesi is? i guess you were born in the late 90’s

• YOU DON’T KNOW JEAN ALESI? HOW OLD ARE YOU?

• Lim Kopi on Apr 17, 2012 at 11:07 pm

Well …. whatever it is …

HE WAS PAID BY PROTON TO SAY THOSE LINES ….

Obviously he himself won’t buy a Preve in France laa ….

• Storm on Apr 18, 2012 at 8:56 am

Alesi must be thinking ‘I thought I’ve already floored the pedal, how come it’s not moving?’ ‘What kind of shit is this?’ Anyway what the heck, get paid handsomely for this…

• Just me on Apr 18, 2012 at 11:05 am

He won’t buy preve, that is for sure. This guy is just a formal F1 driver, should get Jeremy Clarkson instead.

• optic on Apr 17, 2012 at 7:35 pm

google bro..google..

• drMpower on Apr 17, 2012 at 11:47 pm

jezz. come on
      this is why stand up comedies dont work here

take a break dudes

• Storm on Apr 18, 2012 at 9:16 pm

Pitty you bro, many Malaysians just don’t have a clue. They can’t understand this kind of joke. They thought you are stupid but actual fact without knowing it, they looked stupid..anyway good one. Lol.

• Lol inspector closeau and ponton in Pink Panther. Obviously he is trying to be sarcastic…

• BeemerFreak on Apr 18, 2012 at 11:23 am

Formula 1 driver la bodoh…….Inspect inspect apa la? Inspect your ass la

• ahbeng on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:54 pm

he look a bit like Rambo though……… LMAO :-D

• Abdul123 on Apr 17, 2012 at 5:06 pm

I will bet Proton will sell this car cheaper overseas. Malaysian buyers subsidising
    overseas buyers.
    When Dr M was the PM, he complaint that foreign manufacturer sell cars cheaper
    here. Now he is doing the same thing.

• thelonely on Apr 17, 2012 at 5:26 pm

well as some of us did state that the tax applies even to proton as well. and countries with cheaper prices tend to have astronomical income tax instead. so pick your poison

• RejimKejamGanas on Apr 17, 2012 at 6:34 pm

Malaysia also has high income tax. The only time you pay low income tax here is when your salary is in the bottom 4 figure range.

Countries with high income tax use their tax to provide low cost health care and education to their citizens. It has nothing to do with providing reasonably priced cars.

• Which country? Then preve what u said..that if u forte enough to write

• Hi tax for education n healthcare? Ahh u mean here Msia right.. I thought u mean US or Japan. Duh..

U pay RM1 here u get DR consultation n a bundle of medicine (which cost more than RM20).

• RejimKejamGanas on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:47 am

For RM1, you only get to see a houseman/nurse at a 1Malaysia Clinic. If you feel that low quality healthcare is enough, then maybe you also feel that Malaysian lives are worthless.

With the coming Malaysian 1Care, there won’t be anymore public healthcare. Google it if you don’t believe.

• Why the hell la you go to 1Malaysia Clinic go la hospital….that community clinic…Malaysia not enough to fill doctor in hospital wat do you expect… most doctor run to singapore, im restrain from being rasis here..at least this crook gov give all malaysian if u have money or not to have access health care

• US with cheap car…the medical not free at all…in 2009, 45000 died just bcoz they dont hav insurance policy…so much for low cost health care..that just cruel

• RejimKejamGanas on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:43 am

US is the only developed country that does not provide national health care for it’s citizen. In this matter even Singapore is ahead.

• But still they dont have RM1 health care service n absolutely no free medical..and their car price even worst than malaysia..lol

• Tax are the G’s source of income. and your point is? Via tax, the school is made, via tax, you pay only rm1 to go to G’s hospital or clinic, via tax, our rice, fuel, milk, flour, sugar is cheaper than thailand, via tax the G’s printed text book for your kids. So, they taxed the car a little bit higher to proved a sufficient life for us. You wanna live in luxury? Do your own business. :) just my 2 cents.

• protonnogood on Apr 17, 2012 at 11:06 pm

sekolah also free, get rm100 per child too.

• RejimKejamGanas on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:00 am

You mean the RM100 relief is applicable every year? All children are exempt from school fees? Please share your sources. All along these were assumed as election gimmicks for this year only.

• At least it help to reduce burden rite even only 1 yr…do you expect gov to give every year come on..what u think malaysian don have dignity

• RejimKejamGanas on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:57 am

Low price but low quality as well, please do an equal comparison. For items of good quality you will find the prices here are higher. Also the taxes on cars her are not a ‘little’ bit higher, it is astronomically high.

Maybe you have also been living in another universe, or your parents have been paying for everything? If there wasn’t any rising inflation, there won’t be any KR1M stores selling low quality goods to the poor. In Thailand, the gov does not try to cheat their populace by promoting the sale of low foodstuff as goodwill.

• Anonymous on Apr 18, 2012 at 12:03 pm

Yes, we pay tax to fund the “Cow gate”, PKZF,…….. and yet it is not enough, so the VAT, 1care,…….. will soon coming, WAKE UP!!!!! Malaysian.

The car taxes are not a little big higher, its take a common man 9 years to pay off the loan wheres if the market is open and fair, the same car takes 3~5 years to pay off.

I wish i can save some money and use public transports, BUT ???
            For most people, car is a basic need and tool, we do not have the choice!!!!

Do Malaysian prefer POTONG that create thousands of job and benefit the CRONY most or OPEN the market and be the HUB of auto industries that create 10 of thousands job that benefit common man like u and me? We are losing grounds to Thailand, Indonesia that once we look small of.

Might be one day, we are the country to export cheap labor to our neighbors. Malaysia BOLEH????.
            Decades ago, we are above Taiwan, Korea…..
            Decade ago, Thailand, Indonesia……
            Future, Vietnam? Myanmar? Laos?

We are truly the Champion of Kampong, Malaysia BOLEHAN!!!!!!

• 99ners on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:16 pm

Since when Malaysia placed above Taiwan & Korea? We are still above Thailand and Indonesia. Idon’t see any of my friend going there to work as a cheap labor.. Mostly manager and engineer only..

• Its not just a car…it creates 10,000 workforce which a malaysian like u DUN GIVE A SHIT ABOUT IT EXCEPT BOUT URSELF….dat not included the vendor staff,salesman,salesgirl,engineer,contractor,tulang cuci etc etc etc…unless… U want to hire all of them..

• vendor… u mean BN cronies?

• RejimKejamGanas on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:07 am

DRB and NAZA also assembles cars and hire locals. So what is so special about Proton? Without Proton, there will be other companies and business that will provide jobs. It even recently got sold by Khazanah to DRB for a song. So, I think the govt “DUN GIVE A SHIT ABOUT IT EXCEPT BOUT URSELF”.

Also this is car company, a business not a charity. To even be “vendor staff,salesman,salesgirl,engineer,contractor,tukang cuci” you have to qualified for it. So don’t pretend like it is some charity to society.

• Do you expect if gov disolve excise tax manufacturer will come here? Car manufacturer dont pay the excise tax but you once the car sold to you..if gov want to give 10000% excise tax it wont effect car manufacturer here if they dont sell it in malaysia but it does effect p1 n p2 since almost their sales in malaysia…

• Abdul123 on Apr 18, 2012 at 9:44 am

If the government open up the market more manufacturers will relocate
            here. Even more jobs will be created than a close market.

• oblong on Apr 18, 2012 at 11:20 am

If open market then nobody will move here but move to other ASEAN countries like myanmar/laos/vietnam cos our production cost i.e: labour is not competitive anymore…the only thing foreigner invest here because they get some incentives from G but other G give more incentives lorrr….

• MArka on Apr 17, 2012 at 6:59 pm

I like that…pick your poison!!

• Car Driver on Apr 17, 2012 at 7:39 pm

If car manufacturers sells car cheaper in Malaysia why complain? We rakyat will benefit if car cheaper here in Malaysia.
      Why make cars so expensive untll nobody can afford.

• Abdul123 on Apr 17, 2012 at 8:56 pm

Exactly. Dr M complain because it will make his pet project go bankrupt.

He want to make cars expensive for everybody.

• FYI proton n perodua the one who ask the gov to reduce car tax not other car distributor/maker….during low loan approval..they the one go to bank negara to resolve the prob….it is odd for non tax car maker to ask gov to reduce tax since their car tax free(claim by some people here)..just odd

• unfortunately, many malaysian can afford expensive car ady, not all not most, but many. :)

• RejimKejamGanas on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:14 am

Yeah, with ridiculous 9yr loans to pay mostly the tax on a car, of course it is possible. Unfortunately there are also many Malaysians who eventually can’t afford to pay and go bankrupt. That is why recently BNM had to step in and put in more restrictions for car loans.

• mamamiya on Apr 17, 2012 at 5:13 pm

Now, let invite all the diehard Proton fanboys here to replace your old Protons, especially those poor folks who still can’t let go of their original Sagas.
    Show your support with your money & let’s make this the best selling car Proton ever produced!! Go go gooooo!!! Ape tunggu lagi ;)

• KageSenshi on Apr 17, 2012 at 5:54 pm

nevermind, i love my Neo ..

waiting for someone to crash his Preve and then i wanna steal the 7speed paddleshifter gearbox and perhaps the engine too .. (lol)

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 17, 2012 at 8:32 pm

Booked one already to replace my Saga. So what?

• BeemerFreak on Apr 17, 2012 at 11:49 pm

Agreed, hate those stupid modified old protons with skin diseases that are noisy and go no where….you want power and style, Proton has finally given u one, now change….Proton wants to be a global company, not some kampung old school, so throw away the old image.

• Wang Sempoi on Apr 17, 2012 at 5:20 pm

I just went in a showroom yesterday in Jalan Puchong, was impressed with the car but somehow feel its similar to Kia Forte. But I do feel its one of a finest car of Malaysia….I’m proud!

• If only it can be priced within saga range price… 60k to 70k, too close to other competitiors. could get kia forte, and other similar range car. If ppl can affort to pay up to 70k, i guess ~10k extra wont make any difference since car buyer usually only pay 10pc down payment and 90pc loan for 9 years. Proton being the malaysian car should be way significantly lower for malaysian.

• Jimmy on Apr 17, 2012 at 11:09 pm

Go and buy Korean vehicle as you like, try it and maybe it is really more reliable and tahan lasak than Proton.
      How do you know that car buyers usually pay only 10% down payment and loan the rest for 9 years? So you have done the study.
      If you pay income tax 100% faithfully, you can buy a Merc, or whatsoever including properties, with cash and still sleep well at night.

• Seriously on Apr 17, 2012 at 5:55 pm

Proton will be a Proton:
    http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=2965382338376&set=p.2965382338376&type=1&ref=nf

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10150759747884105&set=p.10150759747884105&type=1&theater

Yeah, sure it’s arguable… but it doesn’t look like a good start for the Preve. Wonder what else is out there already.

• jalan54 on Apr 17, 2012 at 7:40 pm

the second links that you shared was a test drive experience from “Adrian Zmed” right. Well, I think he either lying or simply don’t about the car.

First of all, it is a cvt gearbox that is being used in this car, and you WOULDN’T feel any gear shifting unless you play with the paddle shift.

Second, when you change to “S” which is is sport mode, you will not be able to use the paddle shift anymore, because it is fully automatic, being control by the ecu of the gearbox. What it does is only maintaining a high rpm so that the car can perform well…

You just have to understand the car before commenting.

• Seriously on Apr 18, 2012 at 4:15 pm

Well, for one I do understand that either the SA didnt know how the car worked and didnt tell Adrian properly or the car really has problems. Either way, that’s a shame.

• i’m pretty sure that demo unit got problem.. but then again that guy is a clearly motorhead.he got a bot campro or maybe a gsr on gen2 with 200hp.. of course he feel the preve is underpower (vs 138hp,duhh~)

• The first video shows a large majority of proton employees are Malays, even some Chinese looking ones. Haha.

• white, blue, yellow, brown, red, green.. who cares loh?

if the car is good, go buy it.
      if the car is bad, don’t buy it.

• It doesn’t matter bro, they didn’t built the car for malays, they built the car for us, Malaysians. You should be proud!

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari'sCousin on Apr 17, 2012 at 11:44 pm

well…correcto amondo..they built the car for the WORLD!

• protonnogood on Apr 17, 2012 at 11:03 pm

dont be racist larr.

• niceone on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:35 am

wow, when most people actually are looking at the presentation of the car in the video, you are looking at people’s skin? sir, u are a racist prick.

• ko pergi tengok kat kilang vendor proton….ramai cina

• AripSon on Apr 17, 2012 at 6:05 pm

I hope that, upon production of the Preve, the quality is as what is being claimed and shown at ShowRooms…
    Actually, I got fed-up with Proton…
    They treated us like 3rd class citizen, always a better specs built for the ones shipped to overseas!
    Our beloved ex-PM cum father-of-Proton aka TDM, said in 1983 that “Dasar Pandang ke Timur…”
    In Japan, their JDM cars are the best! People actually berebut all the keta-potong from Japan!
    Here, local market, Proton punya power window confirmed akan rosak!

People even make fun of PROTON as an abbreviation: PROTON = Power.window.ku Rosak, Oh Tidak, Oh No…

letih lar jadi Malaysian mcm nih, we are supposed to be proud, because there are proven facts that we should be proud!

I still use Proton bcos it is the cheapest!

• What power window problem? 4 years on d road my Saga’s power window never failed. And Im a smoker so I open n close d power window A LOT. Plus it has lifetime warranty so no complaint.

• I never hear that abbre in my life..most i hear plotong, protongkat, power window, NAP, tin milo, overprice, plastic, copycat, rebadge, drmahathir,khazanah, Afta, no tax..but never those u mention above

• i.Risk on Apr 17, 2012 at 6:13 pm

touch it to believe it the quality of the Preve

• burung on Apr 17, 2012 at 7:59 pm

I did more than touch. I test drove it. 3 times. Was 2 rounds, then asked for the 3rd. Why? Bcoz i’ve placed booking last Sat.

Findings:

1. Car feel hesitate to go at D. Car feel very heavy. Stepped on the gas still hesitate to accelerate.

2. Push gear stick to manual shift. Haaaaaa, only then the omphh came in. Combination of right foot to the floor + left hand on +/- OR right/left fingers at pedal shifters. Feel torque comes in at 4000 rpm even tho paper claims 205Nm starts at 2000 rpm.

3. Road holding very firm. As firm as Golf TSI. Tried taking turn at 100km/h (small jalan, between factory and rumah orang) car felt firm, stable & no over-steer.

4. Brakes ok. Not as sharp as Polo or Golf TSI. May be Golf/Polo brake discs are soo big. Not as sharp, but 80% precise.

5. ENGINE NOISE VERY VERY LOUD IN THE CABIN!! DSZ, please ask your boys to tampal more insulating foam in my car.

6. Totally different with Forte in many areas. Acceleration/pick-up, no need to talk about it. CFE wins easy.

7. Seating in the car, hold steering wheel at 10 & 2 o’clock posn, it feels 75% Golf TSI. (price half of Golf… what to complaint).

8. Tyres didn’t make any sound. Unlike Inspira & Prius, tyres were noisy protruding into cabin. (testdrive car, when new). To be cont’d.

• selene on Apr 17, 2012 at 10:23 pm

why u compare it with golf???…it is out of the class…

• SweeJ on Apr 17, 2012 at 11:17 pm

i suppose, he wasn’t directly comparing it to the VW per se. perhaps he/she has driven the Polo/Golf many times, and is able to give credible reference what performance you may expect from our locally made rm75k car versus the Polo/Golf which is 1.5-2 times the selling price.

so i presume what he/she is trying to say is, for the price you are paying for the Preve, you will get plenty for your money, and from his review, subjectively, 70-80% of what you would get from a great car like the VW Polo/Golf.

while i agree with you the Polo/Golf is out of the Preve’s class, generally, in the automobile industry, you pay for what you get, and i think among its competitors in that segment, you do get a lot from a rm75k ride.

for most Malaysians, who do not have the luxury to make monthly repayments to own cars like the VW, the chance for them to experience and own that 70-80% driving experience is fantastic for them. and if the preliminary reviews from others, like him and PaulTan, come up with the same consensus, in my humble opinion, Proton has successful delivered Malaysia’s own VW version of “The People’s Car”. :-)

• Why Proton on Apr 18, 2012 at 9:45 am

Many good gadgets can be bought and installed readily.
            Assembling a good quality gadgets and turn them into nice looking car need some skills but nothing much to proud of(eg-Thailand).
            To create an all new car from scratch with brand new engine is an honor, what is more important to the key elements of succeed in car industry are the supporting staff.
            You can build/assemble a car with no one knows how to fix it when problems arise-that is the causative factor when buyers are cursing certain brand.
            For example(no offense to any brand that mentioned below,all quoted is from facts data-try google search):
            Prince engine from Peu/Cit well known to have issue,DSG-7sp also causing hoo-ha at global scale,even the native engineers have yet to resolve the gear box/engine/mechatronic issues.
            If i were to extrapolate this figure and make assumption to preve:
            what is your bet on our local technician from proton,how good are they to handle after sale problems related to”high tech engine”.
            Probably not to judge them unfairly as their pays are like?what 2-3k/month.
            With this type of salary,if you do possess the required skill to troubleshoot high tech-complex problems happening in gear-box/engine,will you stay back in proton and not move on to bigger/better company?
            Proton,proton-be realistic and come back to real word-you pay peanut you get monkeys!
            so why proton.

• burung on Apr 17, 2012 at 11:53 pm

What class? Based on what? Price? If price & brand name are factors which u based on, That’s what u don’t understand abt this car. I’m not a Proton fan, that I wanna make u clear. But try to compare these:
          Bose speakers (iPhone/iPod dock) priced RM4,999
          Sony priced RM2,199 and Heran (Taiwan) RM999.
          Generally, bass, mid & treble clarity are almost top-end, at each range. But for sure, Bose will produce the best bass & treble. But it’s expensive. At a less give & take, at half price of Bose, i can enjoy a GOOD bass from Sony. At half of Sony price, yes, i can enjoy Beethoven & Queens Bohemian Rhapsody. But it may not resemble the precise quality as ACCEPTABLE as mid price Sony.
          That is 73k CFE. And i was test driving Golf 3 times, Polo TSI 4x, Polo GTi got no chance since there’s no car to be driven, Prius, Jazz Hybrid, 8 yo E46, 4yo E90, Forte & Sylphy since last Nov. I know I can comment.

• Gangga Negara on Apr 18, 2012 at 8:39 am

nice.. so Burung, point 1, 2 & 5.. got any advice .. i didn’t test it yet but right now your the only one who said the power kick in @ 4krpm..maybe something wrong with that car..

and some said sound insulation already pretty neat.. i don’t know..but i’m pretty concern on ur point one.. really??? which mean there is indeed a lag still even CFE engine?? Proton, i belief this is a matter to concern here!!

• BeemerFreak on Apr 18, 2012 at 10:54 am

turbo lag is unavoidable, even in my scirocco 2.0 with dsg still there is a small amount of lag, no cause for concern. U want instant, have to by supercharged cars…….

• BeemerFreak on Apr 18, 2012 at 9:12 am

Why so agitated, the class he might be refering to might be the Preve is a sedan but the Polo/Golf are hatchbacks, handling characteristics are rather different, just like the comparing Golf and Jetta both also from VW, but both different class also, hence the Golf handles sweeter than the Jetta. Further more since u claim to know so much about cars, u should know that the Preve falls under category/class C vehicles( mid-size family sedan) together with Civic, Forte, Altis and Sylphy…….while hatch are class A vehicles together with Myvi, Fiesta, Mazda 2 and so on……..so hence classes are different.

No one should compare based on price and brand name, cause this is indeed a very impressive product from proton and comparing them is call status, not class

• burung on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:14 pm

Bro BeemerFreak, if I were to compare between same cat/class C, rivals Forte, Civic, Altis, Sylphy – look, interior & spec aside – concentrating on handling & engine power – this car easily sits No. 1. Not just 1, but far from them.

That’s why I DID NOT use words “COMPARE” nor “COMPARED TO” nor “COMPARISON” to VW Golf & Polo.

That is why those points I commented “Road holding very firm. As firm as Golf TSI” and “Brakes OK. Not as sharp as Polo or Golf TSI”.

Try to extract something out of it. I’m not a journalist/writer whatsoever.

• karim on Apr 17, 2012 at 10:48 pm

The indon tyres sucks !!

• QUATTRO on Apr 17, 2012 at 11:49 pm

can you confirm it using timin belt or timing chain…tq

• Proton=Global? on Apr 17, 2012 at 6:45 pm

How to be GLOBAL when all is Malaysians? What’s worst, only a certain group of Malaysians sacrificing Malaysians as a genuine pig. You gotta be kidding me claiming to be global.

• Littlebear on Apr 18, 2012 at 9:43 am

They call the Preve’ a global car which means all these while we’ve been tricked into buying substandard cars from PROTON for the past 25 years :(

• mamamiya on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:50 pm

Remember they told us the old Proton Waja is the BMW of Asia LOLOLOLOL…..

• Car Driver on Apr 18, 2012 at 4:57 pm

Agree with you. Not genuine pig should be ‘guinea pig’ unless it is intentional.

• yovann on Apr 17, 2012 at 6:55 pm

impatient to wait for this car launches in Indonesia, good job proton

• Unforgiven on Apr 18, 2012 at 6:59 am

For the same price, Indon should be able to buy VW, Toyota, Kia etc…
      VW Polo supposed to be a very cheap car in Indo/Asian countries…

• rajaiskandarshah on Apr 18, 2012 at 4:24 pm

Appreciate if you please check your facts correctly before posting.

In Indonesia, the price of a Toyota Vios 1.5 E MT is IDR 208,400,000
        http://www.e-hargamobil.com/2011/01/harga-mobil-baru-toyota-vios.html

When converted according to the current exchange rate, the price will be RM 69,397
        http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=12&pg=629

A Kia Picanto 1.2 MT is IDR 125,000,000
        http://www.e-hargamobil.com/2012/01/harga-mobil-baru-kia-motors-2012.html

When converted is RM 41,625.

A VW Polo 1.4 AT is IDR 233,000,000 which translate to RM 77,589, comparatively cheaper than it is in Malaysia, but still not very cheap. Have to ask VW, why is it so expensive in Malaysia ?
        http://my.volkswagen.com/vwcms/master_public/virtualmaster/my/models2/polo_1_2/data_and_facts/technical_data.html

• qwerty on Apr 17, 2012 at 7:20 pm

They did not include Savvy into their line up of Proton cars… as well as Juara…

• French tiger claw on Apr 17, 2012 at 8:11 pm

Really didnt see it coming!!!!!!! LOLOLOL

• Dr Mamak on Apr 17, 2012 at 10:46 pm

Pity me it was so bad i had to undergo a nasal surgery :(

• Proton=Global? on Apr 17, 2012 at 10:47 pm

lol weird…look at the team of praevae

• LMFAO on Apr 17, 2012 at 10:48 pm

Global car with local teams, proton really mindblasting

• Jimmy on Apr 17, 2012 at 10:49 pm

Wah, still 4-speed auto??? If still sell like hotcakes, they will not improve. If response is not good, then 6 months later they will push out the 5-speed one. Haha, the 1st batch buyers will cry then.
    Proton is better, isn’t it?

• er…. in case if u didnt notice…preve auto for exec is 6 speed, the preve auto premium is 7 speed ProTronic… er, have u read about it?

• U must be the owner of suzuki jimmy back in the 90s isnt it??
      And u must have been found out how to use internet isnt it…
      Ever since it is still in skeleton people know its 7 speed grandpa..

• Malcolm Lim on Apr 18, 2012 at 7:36 am

you must be talking about the toyota vios, altis and camry here…the true global car but yet with dinosaur age 4 speed gearbox…ok..its tried and tested but come on, when are they going to give malaysians a better deal for toyota cars? until malaysians stop worshipping toyota, nobody will get a decent toyota car in malaysia…those who bought those cars i’ve mentioned have been severely ripped off.

• BeemerFreak on Apr 18, 2012 at 9:22 am

4 speed Auto is Toyota…..hard headed and never change

• I think this is most stupid comment ever after “1st” thingy that i ever read..gosh he really knows nothing…that y dont read to much political news paper or blog..u will block most other info if dont suit ur political stand

• carazy on Apr 18, 2012 at 11:02 am

this thread is not abt new toyota camry kid, this is new car line up form Proton names Preve or what ever u call it.

• RedLine on Apr 17, 2012 at 11:08 pm

Slightly off topic…does anyone know the name of the song in the second video? The one that was played right after the car was launched?

• superman on Apr 18, 2012 at 5:03 pm

Menawan Dunia by Badri Ibrahim

www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nc8q8-itIDE

• peter on Apr 17, 2012 at 11:32 pm

checked out the car today at pahang. its too cheapo for a car cited to be an international standard. too cheapo..very sad

• silver on Apr 17, 2012 at 11:47 pm

went to see preve today… i could say the interior fells quite nice… the touch .. i could even say that it beats its rivals in some of the materials used. the back is bearable could be better hopefully after the first facelift i guess… overall i fell that this car could actually compete with japanese and european car.
    I mean come on .. i still hear ppl complaining about the power windows its not an issue and more the last i heard. you can’t expect a car to be that great form the get go ..at least they are constantly imporving themself.. look at korean car a few years back… you remember how bad it was.. now i see all this korean fan boys talking about how good the car is now.. its’ a malaysian car have pride in it.. the reason korean cars are so sucessfull is because korean all over the world actually buy their own product even when they use to be inferior with a large market and more capital they menage to improve . NOw look at them
    Proud of U proton…

• Koreans have taken on the world and become world beaters…proton still jaguh kampung, not able to penetrate North America n Europe….just look at the british magazine reviews on Proton cars…they ask u better take a bicycle…and we have been forced to buy proton due to gomen manipulating foreign car prices to protect proton…think la next time before making simple conclusions

• Payez on Apr 17, 2012 at 11:52 pm

Jimmy…preve exec auto is 6speed
    preve premium auto is 7speed..
    ada baca ka sebelum bash?

• I PROUD OF YOU PROTON

• burung on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:10 am

# ATTENTION! ATTENTION #
    # PERHATIAN PERHATIAN #

Regarding Andrian Zmed (link from facebook) and Jalan54’s comment above:

I do personally AGREE that the gear change is (either) not smooth, or rather it felt late to pickup. Please don’t comment on “it is CVT, and that’s how CVT works”.

FYI I’m an owner of a CVT ’04 Jazz, and I’m very experience in how CVT behaves. Since the era people assume that CVT is slow, not pickup, hair-dryer sound and so on, I don’t find CVT is ever annoying. I even tested Sylphy, Murano and T31 X-Trail XCVT but CFE’s CVT is a bit different, so to speak.

Even if there’ll be NO gear shift, that WAS what I meant by “car hesitate to accelerate” in my first comment, on 17/04 7:59pm.

I, personally think, it must’ve been something to do with ‘tuning’, between THE 1.6CFE engine and the Protronic CVT unit. Perhaps something is not really fine-tuned there, or the combination still hasn’t gotten right. Engineers please JANGAN MARAH. This is a feedback. I’m not whatsoever bashing since i’ve booked 1 also.

(2) Potential buyers or testers: Please please please ask your SA to give u chance to drive it at the proper road, a bit of straights, if possible highway. From that Facebook no.2 pic, I can see he may be just test driving it around the shop. Shoplots road? Oh please. Some SA are so kedekut & penakut to allow testdrivers or may be even wanna cut short testdriving time since Q is long. You can’t do that Boss.

(3) That was the reason I went to 1 place (in Selangor) where the crowd wasn’t too bad, and I got chance to drive it 3 rounds, managed to tekan til 130km/h even though it wasn’t a long distance strip. And my personal SA (who’s very very attentive & patient, no rushing) promise me to try on NS Highway tomorrow for real high-speed test.

Conclusion: That CFE CVT has not been given chance to demonstrate to its full or half-full potential thus testdrivers comment it as being very sluggish (compared to other CVTs which are silky smooth).

ps: may be the CVT itself is faulty? I don’t know.

• it’s the tuning….maintaining at gear 2-3 for lower speed……..this g/box is like that la…..normal…what so fuss about it?

• I wonder if it has to do with new parts breaking in.. since it has just been launch anyway..

But from your comment, it seems like CVT and the CFE doesn’t really match up due to the torque from the CFE that could potentially destroy the CVT (or cut it’s lifespan). Oh well, still to seen until it’s out to the lab rats hands (sorry la for the harsh word.. it’s a new car with no proven record yet)..

• ss427 on Apr 18, 2012 at 12:28 pm

woo hoo, problems and sloppy driving experience already starting to show up in the Preve…

People pls DO NOT patronize yourself by saying the Preve is still very new and the mechancials have not run in blah blah blah…

Tell me, which REAL car out there you’ve driven requires the driver to ‘forgive’ its sluggish behaviour because it is ‘new’? And my some miracle the engine wll suddenly put out ‘extra’ 25-50hp after it is run in? LOL :)

Mind you, a factory fresh engine usually offer poorer fuel economy due to the un-conditioned parts, but that’s about it. Power o/p shouldn’t be affected… at least not noticably. If you have to kid yourself into believing the Preve will suddenly go really fast after the engine has run in, you’re obviously living in self denial mode and ignoring the basic physics of mechanical engineering.

You don’t see Koreans, Japs and Euro engines behaving like this….. :D:D

• What the poster meant was that the acceleration was not smooth. And he definitely wasn’t talking about the engine. :p

The run in theory is something that’s very plausible, I bash proton for my own joy but I do want to see how this Preve will fare in a fair term. They said they have something to prove, I am open to see. Judging by a test drive by a single person is somewhat silly.

• Typical sg ppl…what they say always correct what malaysia do always wrong this guy here is a typical kfag who can only afford the forte 1.6 price range car

• Gangga Negara on Apr 18, 2012 at 8:45 am

so u gonna test drive it again today? don’t forget to update you view here okay.

p/s : are there any engineer here, esp. Proton’s eng.

• constructive criticism no prob bro

• burung on Apr 18, 2012 at 12:12 pm

Thank u momo. That’s the spirit.
        Name: break-in period, may be.
        Gangga Negara: i’ll try my best.
        BeemerFreak: turbolag, noted. But there’s no LAG at “S” or manual shift. Where the lag goes?

• _xXx_ on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:39 am

Jean Alesi said it’s a potongkar lolxxx. 2:28

• Unforgiven on Apr 18, 2012 at 6:53 am

Proton is ready

Let’s try to reduce the price for City, Fiesta, Vios, etc. We need to show that this is a Global car to compete in the B-segment now. If the price for B-segment high spec is more expensive than this C-segment high spec, than that’s something wrong.

After 3 months, like in July, let’s reduce the price for Civic, Focus, Lancer, etc. This is a Global car to flight like a man in C-segment. Maybe the price for low spec Civic is the same for high spec this. The price for all new Civic should start from RM75k in July 2012.

Proton is ready.

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 19, 2012 at 12:06 pm

In my opinion it would be even more advantageous to Proton that way. Let say excise duty is reduced from the current 75% to 25%, it would mean a reduction of 29% in car prices, including Proton. That would also mean the cheapest Preve would be around 43K only.

• encikyokoyoko on Apr 18, 2012 at 7:57 am

No reverse camera….

• majavaz on Apr 18, 2012 at 8:50 am

will it blend?

• You're beating... on Apr 18, 2012 at 11:47 am

If the blender is big enough, I’m sure it will.

:mrgreen:

• ppl always complaint price is to expensive, please try to think why & how to make it cheaper??? Easy to blame P1 only. To make car we need to buy machine, mould, die & material but most of the machine & die come frm overseas maker not made in M’sia. In Japan they can produce/design their own machine/material to make their own car but how about M’sia………we still need to purchase frm them.
    Wake up MALAYSIAN & try compare it with property, almost all come frm local accept the worker but price still increasing!!!!
    But sadly only DSZ left P1 & sejarah kembali berulang…..Macam S’pura di langgar todak, itulah org *7^%$#…………

• Ahgong on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:49 pm

Well…i have an idea how to enjoy cheaper car, Malaysia should stop making car and lower the taxes and free market will take care of the prices !

• Loneranger on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:20 pm

how sure u r that when Msia stop making cars and imported car price will drop?

• Well singapore is not producing cars…but still its expensive

• Ahgong on Apr 19, 2012 at 1:04 pm

well singapore have many taxes ! Think before make stupid comment !

• Littlebear on Apr 18, 2012 at 9:25 am

PROTON can call the Preve’ a global car but whether it will “SELL” as a global car is another story. All these talk kok sing song kind of thing is what PROTON do best. Syiok sendiri to the max.

• senna on Apr 18, 2012 at 9:44 am

I think even Proton bosses also wont or might notdrive or owned proton cars?any one have any evidence?if not stop persuading fellow citizens to buy!

• PakAbu on Apr 18, 2012 at 12:04 pm

Senna,

You’re the one who came out with the allegation, yet you asked for evidence from others?

:roll:

• oldsxool on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:18 pm

well syed zainal drove/ride in his waja executive..try to visit proton in glenmarie instead of making your own assumptions..if dun have any idea bout others, better u shaddap la senna..

• LogicBuyer on Apr 18, 2012 at 10:03 am

I think Proton has done a good job with this car. But 73K for a local car is too expensive. In many countries a sedan car cost not more than 25k which will translate for a better purchasing power among the people. Normally people there only spent more than 70k for higher end car or sports car. Putting a higher tax on other brands so yours look cheaper is not a smart move. This has been going on for more than 20 years. If you already own a car hold to it. Don’t waste your money changing one cause its to expensive here!

• Please get your facts right, Even Local Cars including Proton is being taxed

Look at it yourself
      http://www.maa.org.my/info_duty.htm

• LNick on Apr 18, 2012 at 11:58 pm

Proton is still taxed much less than others. If Im not mistaken they only are taxed 10% sales tax.
        Compare Langkawi price and you will know how much other cars are taxed.

The thing non-local cars do not have a fair competition here.

• LagiBest! on Apr 18, 2012 at 11:03 am

P1 and P2 as usual ripping off the rakyat with their over price craps! This car is no way worth Rm70k !

• Gear control too ugly.

• norismazaini on Apr 18, 2012 at 12:10 pm

Nak kena beli satu nih.

• Suhairi on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:02 pm

I just came back from the showroom in TTDI… and first impression of the car is very nice! Its a new design from Proton and it looks great, front and back… from afar….however I was expecting the same for the interior but honestly I was very disappointed it, mainly the plastics. The Plastics all around the car still feels kinda cheap and hollow when knocked. The handbrake is also very bad. Its the same as my Perodua Alza but my Inspira is so much better.

I am just not happy with it build quality of the interior thats all. I will get one but will wait for the Sapphire. Other than that, Proton please freaking BUCK UP UR AFTER SALES SERVICE!! Kalo tak paham, aku translate, TOLONG MEMPERBAIKIKAN SERVIS ANDA!!!!!! KO INGAT DUIT AKO BAPAK KO PUNYE KE….

• The Enthusiast on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:17 pm

Saw a dislay unit yesterday. The multimedia buttons are spoiled. In fact, interior build is not solid. I think that Proton is too concerned about how the car looks and didn’t bother about the interior. If that is the case, I bet you the NVH level is not as good as well. And I seriously doubt the handling is as good as Proton tries to promote. I’m sorry, as much as I try to be positive about this new Proton but the disappointing first-hand view is enough to tell me that Proton is not doing enough.

You can go ahead and diss my comment but I’m just giving my honest first-hand opinion of the car. I’m just telling you that you’re better off spending RM70-80k on other reliable cars.

• tok-kok on Apr 18, 2012 at 9:42 pm

This global car can only sell well in Boleh-Land lah…

I don’t think it can sell in other countries, which is a fair fight market.

• rendang on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:25 pm

Honestly, there are some improvement in design but Proton have to do more. Proton is too far behind to the global auto manufacturer. Just look at the interior, the design is not too bad but the material choose and the finishing/ manufacturing of the partss are too rough. Proton should push the suppliers to do much more better. In many case for the same price you can get much better result if you put a little bit more effort in development. It looks quite “plastic” in interior (tips: a bit chrom-like coating, it will make it look much better). The high roughness of the surface reflects that the manucturing tool of the injection mould is not well finished. In short, there are a lot of improvement to be done so that Proton can play a role in global market.

• ss427 on Apr 18, 2012 at 4:36 pm

Told you guys the high res flash photography from Anthony Lim is enough for me, this Sillyporean, to conclude that the Preve is more hot air than a genuiue effort from Proton to make a truely better car.

Persistent use of existing parts from the existing parts bin is going to kill off whatever ‘great’ designs the designers initially had.

Rem Proton, this is year 2012, there are tons of FAR BETTER alternative choices worldwide that offers far better performance, looks, packaging, and most importanlly, build quality for similar if not lesser money.

Global player? See if you can even make any appreciable mark in your neighboring countries 1st la… See if the Thais will buy the Preve over their locally built Japs and Korean cars…

In SG, I want to see how many buyers here willing to fork out Elantra, Focus, Altis or even Jetta $$ to buy the Preve. Rem, the Gen2 costs more than the Forte 1.6SX here, the Preve will surely crash into the above category…

• burung on Apr 18, 2012 at 6:07 pm

Proton,

Since so many questioning about GLOBAL, what about you DON’T SELL any to locals? Or just make them limited, ie. only 100 units the most 300 units for Msian, the rest sell to Australia, Indonesia, Thai, China and Eastern Europe.

How?

• fraz006 on Apr 18, 2012 at 9:47 pm

singapore different a bit right?

i mean in OZ proton is dirt cheap compared to Korean Japs Contis.

UK also proton is dirt cheap.

• zaidS on Apr 18, 2012 at 5:45 pm

standard 138 hp..hmm..kasi up sikit hp tu..tuka intercooler, turbin pakai TD04 pastu pasang fuel regulator…maw ‘up’ die nyer hp nie hihihi..ape2 pn aku da booking preve..
    1st project dulu savvy convert 4e-fte, so far ok n xde mslh. pastu neo convert mivec hihihi..kalo preve nie kasi convert ringan2 dulu ler kot hihihi…

• Highwaystar82 on Apr 19, 2012 at 2:21 pm

Can ah bro?

Preve drives on CVT which is controlled by its ECU. Is it possible? just curious.

• rickyll on Apr 18, 2012 at 6:39 pm

Credits must be given where they’re due. Syabas! Diucapkan. Without doubt, it’s by far the best Proton model ever produced. I may reconsider my “No more Proton for me” notion after the Waja experience. About the pricing, If you compare the on the road price of RM60K for Waja manual back in 2001 then you’ll find the Prev e’ is really value for money.

• burung on Apr 18, 2012 at 6:58 pm

Ok. It’s burung here again. Just came back from 5th-round test-drive! Brought my friend who owns 400hp car.

New encounters:

(1) Car doesn’t feel as sluggish as yesterday. May be because I’m equipped with the information that the sluggishness / hesitant WAS caused by turbolag. That’s why “surge” felt late to come in. That’s suggested by 1 Scirocco owner above & agreed by my buddy just now.

(2) Somebody mentioned about “break-in” period, I THINK that played a role too. Yesterday, the very same car odo only 124km, today already 562km. Crazy! (car felt easier, not tight).

(3) ENGINE SOUND STILL GROWLING LOUD. Agreed by SA.

(4) Ride & Handling memang superb. Berani cakap better than E46 325i standard. R&H dept no need further comment.

(5) LED not DRL. Have to switch on lampu kecik only LED on. 1 point down.

(6) Doors don’t have lock/unlock switch. All controlled by 1 switch at dashboard centre panel. And that switch feel as ‘soft’ as iPhone “Home” switch. Status of doors lock/unlock not indicated by its light, don’t really understand it yet. May be 1st press, for driver’s door only, (light still on), 2nd press (lights off) for all, I think.

(7) Gear change in manual don’t feel jerk at all, even for downshift.

(8) Tekan minyak so hard, in manual mode, CVT ECU knows how to save gearbox. From 1 jumped to 3. Good.

(9) Friend asked SA, if he can install ‘boost meter’, SA was “err… arr… err…” Ok ok ok. Don’t la ask that kind of question. Ask engineer la. Haha. So, my side, I’ll carry on with the purchase. Cancel the cancellation.

(10) Ops. Somebody asked me to observe NVH. Answer: Windnoise, no. Engine vib, no. Rattling, no. Seats/boards/parts imperfection, no. (unlike Inspira). Tyre noise, no. Engine ROAR = YES! VERY LOUD! Proton saja ke buat macam tu? Trademark may be?

• bro it’s not the turbo lag…this gbox using is like that…best for FC tuning…..mainly maintain around 1-3 gear for city driving….cut off those turbo lag stuff by some ‘expert’ la duh….
      other mentioned above i agreed.the engine sound is loud.
      and ofcoz your friend can install boost meter…owning a 400hp car yet dunno bout this?aiyo

• jalan54 on Apr 19, 2012 at 3:39 am

You can simply unlock the door by simply pulling the door handle once just like conti cars. Didn’t your sales rep tell you that?

• Littlebear on Apr 19, 2012 at 8:19 am

The Campro engine is known to be a loud engine. As long as PROTON still uses the CAMPRO, we can’t expect a silent cabin inside the car.

• anon-guest on Apr 18, 2012 at 6:59 pm

i’ll only believe the proton will reach a respectable reputation only when the proton’s higher management’s teams and malaysia’s own ministers choose and drive proton instead of foreign cars.. until then, proton thinking it had been standing on par with other international brand is only syok sendiri.. i’ll be waiting proudly for that moment, hoping our younger generation step up and take control of proton, i know the younger gen have lots of sophisticated and marvelous idea/design, need to give them a chance..

• I haven’t seen it in real, nice interior but exterior could have been better. I notice that preve has got a 5 star rating from myvap..which only came into existence about 5 months ago..probably to make this car safety rating looks global, however the testings done were none destructive..can u belive it?

• ibnuasad on Apr 19, 2012 at 1:33 am

I thought they were gonna reveal the ANCAP video at the launch. But they revealed the local MyVAP rating instead which I doubt is on par with ANCAP.

• i too test driven the car ..it has a little delay before the acceleration kicks in … however overall i find it quite good and acceptable.Nothing much to really complain about except one.. suspension and NVH ( on par with the korean and japs) is also quite good.. steering is quick and responsive .. overall i find the car not too bad. However, there is one thing that really put me off, the sound of the engine at around 2000rpm was really noisy and unacceptable.I was only driving casually and occasionally it hits 2000rpm to when accelerating, the sound is heard throughout inside the car while road and vehicles are barely audible.

Interior quality can be judged thru the test of time.. cant really tell. However the center dashboard look is a bit outdated and cruise control,signal dials feel plasticky and weak(like easily broken if harsh usage)

Noted also i only managed to drive around 60-80 kmph and i didnt really push the car real hard on coastal highway.

Just my 2 cents.
    I have driven all good cars. new bmw 3 series ( NVH is really really bad), c class, volvo s40, passat , golf and etc.

• Dear Malaysians,

What’s the fuzz here again? Especially to protong perverts and self-masturbator get a real life!

Turbo is an OLD story. As old as as your Grandpa and Grandma. Now people talking about hybrid, battery, green tech…

I don’t see any real product been made here.

It’s just another Tin Milo with turbo.

As usual, my piece of advice, save money, buy import.

• heran on Apr 19, 2012 at 1:38 pm

wrong…..turbo is widely use in other manufacturere…….vw,nissan etc

• burung on Apr 19, 2012 at 8:27 pm

Bro SY0H,

I kesian with u la. Have you ever heard “F30, F10, 1.4 TSI, 1.6 TSI, TFSI, TwinScroll” terms?

I think, u’re still in the era of 145Nm at 4000rpm, if u know what I’m talking about.

The highest technological advances u drive is VVTi Camry?

• It was a better looking Proton car although the rear design is dull and old fashioned, larger car dimensions provide spacious cabin and no feelings of space constrain. A C-segment car come with D-segment facilities & accessories. Perhaps the biggest concern of all the potential Preve buyers is the reliability and not the workability of the car. In my personal opinion, Proton is making a big mistake by equiped the car with the following:
    1) CVT gear box – CVT is not a reliable technology although it provides smooth gear switch and better fuel economy, it has a short lifespan, not repairable & the cost to replace a new gear box is very high. A normal 6-speed gear box shall be a better choice.
    2) Proton should provide CPS engine to the B-line & the M-line model, the normal campro +IAFM could not produce sufficient power to drag a car with 1325kg of kerb weight.
    3) The seat design is not user friendly, it was too hard and not comfortable to sit, especially the rear seat, it was too short, repeating the same mistake done in Persona model.
    4) The design for all the control buttons are too flimsy.
    5) The central gravity is too high.

Good luck Proton

• Funniman on Apr 19, 2012 at 8:51 am

Honda City uses CVT and I had been using this car for 8 years. No problems with it. Unless you had driven a CVT car, you will not appreciate how it is.

If CPS engine is good enough, we do not need to introduce CFE in the first place.

Did you sit on the rear seat at all? I did and I know it is not hard and there’s plenty of legroom. Did you not feel the sinking bucket seat feeling?

Yes, I admit the square buttons for airbag control are a bit flimsy but then again, how often do you press those buttons? Those are touch buttons, not toggle switches.

Again, Preve is made for mass market and taking into considerations of physical builts and demographics in general.

• ss427 on Apr 19, 2012 at 9:42 am

See what I mean? haha :)

Anyway in regards to the turbo lag… oh come on, its already 2012, turbo lag is something REAL automotive engineers have overcome for the past 8 yrs or so… and no you don’t need to buy an exotic car to find out…

Many Euro and even Hyundai/Kia’s own 2L Theta II GDI Turbo DOESN’T suffer from turbo lag anymore. There are a few ways to minimize the lag… the engineers can install an underdrive turbine which in in front of the main turbo turbine.

The trick here is that the 2 turbines are connected by a pressure sensitive clutch. During idle, the small turbine is light enuf to keep on spinning at a reasonable pace. When you apply the throttle, the clutch will lock up and the small turbine, which already got enough momentum from spinning at idle, will pull the main turbine along quickly. From that onwards, the 2 way clutch will disengage the small turbine and the main turbo will operate normally.

When you slow down, the reverse happens. You will need a pressure blow off valve to release the turbo pressure and when the main turbine rpm drops low enough, the PBV will empty out all pressure in the turbo and the cycle repeats itself.

Alternatively, there’s always the twin or bi turbo option, which is similar to the above setup except the small turbine will provide the boost at low rpm while the bigger turbine will take over at high rpm or high load.

And then there’s the good old true and true belt driven supercharger… which is more complicated to incorp into an engine but the overall reliablity is excellent.

Too bad Proton doesn’t avail itself to ANY of these options.

Seems like Proton’s CFE setup is too simple and there’s no provision to overcome turbo lag. :( Also, what is the material used to manufacture the turbine itself? Turbo can run pretty hot and you need tough high heat resistent alloys or ceremic to maintain the life of the turbo.. No ceremic turbines are not that expensive…. Hyundai/Kia are using them en masse :)

Also, is there an intercooler connected to the turbo? Our climate is so damn hot all yr round… A non intercooled turbo will burn itself out very quickly…

An air to water intercooler is best… but the cost is higher…

• Hello…. It’s not the turbo lag duh……it’s the gearbox clutch setting la….you as a sg you should know most malaysian don’t really have the chance to drive alot of cars and thus not having the knowledge in it…..the car and the turbo is totally fine…..it’s the eco setting which sets between 1-3 gear for lower speed driving….once shift to manual mode everything just smooth as non turbo car….aiyo i guess you should go and have a test drive first before believe some ‘expert’ here la…..haih….
        Those cars using same gbox having same driving experience too…..mainly to reduce FC….

• Highwaystar82 on Apr 19, 2012 at 1:38 pm

Agreed… most of them never did research on the VT3 punch drivetrain.. So sad. With the world moving towards lower emissions, these are some of the solutions. Even the hybrid have those stop/start engine at traffic lights.

Please throw away your ancient way of driving and brace the future. learn what you are going to buy and use for the next 5-7 years then proceed with your purchase. its very very important unless you buying cars for you is like buying popcorns.

it is a family sedan and not a sports car. if you need more response and power then just get a car that is designed for that purpose.

But with the whole hua ha abt the car since last year has created ppl with high expectations but there are quite alot of them who are not happy with the interior but for the price, tech and safety i think its okay.

• ss427 on Apr 19, 2012 at 5:19 pm

Guys, what ‘gears’ are you talking about? Its a CVT right? There’s no physical gears to speak of. those 6 ‘gears’ are nothing more than a set of predetermined pulley settings

Yes I do believe the CVT box is reacting too slowly and doesn’t respond accordingly to the turbo lag period and the actual turbo boost in the rpm range.

What I’ve mentioned above are pretty standard tech these days… they may look complicated on paper but modern ECU will be able to control the above operations with ease in real life.

If the CFE has no intercooler, no tough titanium alloy or ceramic coated turbine blades, the turbo will burn itself out very quickly.

I urge new Preve CFE owners to at least install a real blow off valve to keep the turbo temp in check… But with a CVT, I dont know la, the sudden lack of turbo pressure during throttle lift off may just borg the car down.

Alamak, do also die, don’t do also die… Proton ah, you really know how to create problems for your customers. You can try to solve the turbo lag but the CVT gets in the way…

Time to change the gearbox upon new car delivery?

• read read read la…duh…saying no gear means there’s no gear loss….everything is virtual….based on your understanding i shall conclude you don’t know the reason why ppl setting their cvt to 6,7,8 gear mostly….once set there’s a virtual gear to follow you smart….thus in this situation,the 3rd gear will stay until you reach certain speed…understand?i really pity you…trying to act smart but knows nothing…
            why don’t all manufacturer set the virtual gear to 100 gears instead of 6,7,8 gears?use your smart logic la pls….

• fshonda on Apr 19, 2012 at 2:30 pm

why do u want CPS? tell me, with IAFM+ u got same torque at 4000rpm, and CPS could not fulfill/meet Euro 4 emission level, can’t sell to Thailand and other countries…

• Most of the proposal here about the plastic material characteristic and the technology proton should be used seem to downgraded the quality of this Prevé.

• Proton already used higher quality material and up to date technology why still request for chepo material and old outdated technology. Proton has benchmarking activity la people, there are not that stupid.

• jerry tan on Apr 19, 2012 at 8:38 pm

2012 car of the year???

• jerry tan on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:36 pm

i want to take back my words after i saw this photo in FB…..
      i feel ashamed now after what happen to the new Preve…. buat malu je

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10150663386350677&set=o.114016628630809&type=3&theater