Chery lines up two concepts for Beijing – the next Tiggo?

Auto China 2012 happens in Beijing later this month, and Chery is lining up some concepts for the show. The slinky crossover you see here is called the TX, and it’s said to hint at a new model as well as a fresh design direction for the company’s next batch of vehicles. Looks good, the next Tiggo perhaps?

The small little thing is called Ant Concept, and it’s the typical urban mobility machine designed for congested cities. The Tokyo show is always full of these things, and they never come to life, so we can safely ignore the Ant.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• even Chery’s concept looks better than Proton’s

• dah mule dah….

• If proton sales 300-400k a year…cherry sale 100k a month..they easily get EOS hence more money to design, buy design, copy or anything they want….how much proton can do with 100-200million grant every year they get (which i doubt they get that much)..for preve it took proton at least 3 years to develop…when car maker bring their concept car to auto show they bring drivable concept but proton only bring clay model in their own country car show..how much money they lack..

• Sounds like Volvo. If I am not mistaken, they sold 300K cars per year. Maybe less.

• Vader on Apr 19, 2012 at 9:25 am

that’s an excuse..
        if your statement is true, it only indicate that proton is not capable to be a competitive car manufacturer!

• mfahd_88 on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:08 pm

comparing chery with proton is to mainstream
      u should compare it with toyota and honda, since their design are getting worse

• ezracopters on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:18 pm

what???? can’t you see it.. Lexus + Hyundai design concept all over the body.

• abuabuabuabu on Apr 18, 2012 at 10:21 am

Wow.. chery have done well design-wise! For a startup company with far less priviledges than our very own p-ahem and p-ahem, i’d say their concept rocks! Dasar pandang timur…. kaka!

• hantupensil on Apr 18, 2012 at 10:36 am

DESIGN SO NICE.. BUT QUALITY WORSE THAN PROTON…

• The design looks good , lot of curves like Hyundai sedans ( Sonata and Elantra ) . I hope they don’t change the design when it come to actual production model. It look murano a bit , lots of muscular lines, tough looks. Just make the headlamp larger, then it is perfect.
    For the engine , I suggest it comes with timing chain , variable timing and last but not least if possible 7 speed DSG transmission or Jatco Xtronic CVT. It will be a winner with these specs. Don’t forget to use durable plastic for your interiors ( dashboard and door panel ). Your Tiggo and your MPV have terrible plastic dashboards.

• abu ghaib on Apr 18, 2012 at 10:45 am

impress!much more better than protong!

• MaxOne on Apr 18, 2012 at 11:22 am

look so sharp.. 0.o

• side and back look like Q concept for Sportage Kia….

Let’s see how much of these features can be retained thru the actual production.

• rockapolla on Apr 18, 2012 at 12:53 pm

c-pop after this…

• Black Dog on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:33 pm

China moves at breakneck speed!

Another 1 or 2 model generations, their vehicles will be on par with any in the world!

• matlimmutu on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:59 pm

wow! nice design! they hv lots of money, lots of manpower.. cannot compare with proton. their sales volumes r much much much much more than tiny proton..

• droll on Apr 18, 2012 at 4:52 pm

i like it. not bad. what they don’t have, they throw money at it to fix!

• Pro Alz on Apr 18, 2012 at 8:44 pm

With dis kinda design, i can’t imagine it will come any cheaper around here.. xD

• optimus on Apr 18, 2012 at 10:23 pm

yea, the suv is looks good.

• don’t trust Chinese products…there has been enough issues involving Chinese products already..

• like i predict before, china automakers will smoke out proton next few years.

padan muka proton, always menyusahkan rakyat.

• bukan Proton menyusahkan rakyat.

1. siapa suruh beli proton cars? siapa paksa?
      2. kenapa beli proton jika tak suka proton?
      3. perancang bandar la salah.. bila fkr jika rancang betul2 malaysia ni taklah jam mcm skrg.
      4. jika harga kereta murah. abis tak bergerak la jalan dr depan rumah kah3.
      5. mentaliti rakyat malaysia la yang menyusahkan rakyat malaysia

• Whynot on Apr 20, 2012 at 11:36 pm

Concept or not concept, if Proton wish to make good sales, it need to re-ramp the entire design department and let more futuristic design like this to be market immediately to win back the heart of all Malaysians. They have now improved very well in the engine and interior but still an ugly impressions on the body works! The market demands more towards a better exterior design rather than the interior as most younger generations wanted it that way. No point protecting Proton by taxing imported cars so high. This won’t work for any government of the now and future. We do not want a fading colorful to a white elephant to appear soon!