Volkswagen teases the Polo Sedan – full details tomorrow!

Click image to enlarge

It’s shaping up to be quite an exciting week for the local auto scene. With everyone in still in Preve hangover mode, Volkswagen has announced that it will launch the Polo Sedan on April 19. That’s tomorrow folks!

No surprise here, we’ve seen the Polo Sedan in Malaysia before, and we actually spotted a trailer full of them last week (our mobile phones cameras couldn’t perform at night, though).

The Polo Sedan is set to be the brand’s most affordable model, so don’t expect TSI and DSG as per the Polo hatchback. A proven 1.6-litre naturally aspirated engine mated to a six-speed automatic is likely to be the chosen drivetrain.

What we can expect however is “German engineered excellence” and “one of the most stylish and practical rides for our time”, according to VW’s thepeoplescar.com.my microsite.

We will be there to bring you the details. For now, take a look at the Indian market Polo Sedan called the Vento. Ours won’t differ by much.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• better with 1.2 TSI

• Obama on Apr 18, 2012 at 11:39 am

What will people say if we put a Proton logo on it…will it better than Preve?

• Yes.

• rally_fan on Apr 18, 2012 at 12:46 pm

its way smaller in size.. so how?

• Prevé on Apr 18, 2012 at 4:27 pm

Definitely!

• bobberry on Apr 18, 2012 at 10:20 pm

price will be much cheaper , with more quality cars.

• Only VW is a Car on Apr 19, 2012 at 8:32 pm

U should say, how if we put VW logo in Preve & increase by RM30k to make it RM100K. Hot cake man!!!
        The same thing if VW Polo to remove their Logo & Paste with Proton Gen 2.5 (2 1/2) & reduce the price by RM50K & see the respond….. hehehehahaha cold respond like Preve, some donkies & monkies view but non smart guy purchased!!!! hahaha only silly guy
        Because the car is cheap & the spare parts is expensive with short life span

• 36k + ?? without DSG and Turbo?! anyway looks ugly and cheap ! Hatchback is so much better plus Hatchback is using the German tech and performance ! rather save some money to get the Jetta !

• Thunder on Apr 19, 2012 at 1:43 am

Frankly, it’s not good-looking and the specification looks poor. For such a small car, don’t think it’s worth more than RM70,000 even though it’s VW.

• underskinned on Apr 18, 2012 at 11:24 am

How much are we talking here – RM90k?

• joe a on Apr 18, 2012 at 11:48 am

I think you are right, should about 90k++
      I say 92k+

If they 60K++ pity the current POLO owners, there goes your trade-in car value , down bottom.and to the drain……

And new polo sedan , probably will be assembled in Tanjung Malim.

• VWsupporter on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:10 pm

current polo owner will not feel pity because they still have DSG and tsi tech whereas polo sedan doesn’t. current owners still getting what they paid(in msia market price la ofcoz)

• encik boss on Apr 18, 2012 at 12:17 pm

dont think it will come with tsi engine

• Nice car, pls come with reasonable price…Pls below 90K….TQ.

• Less than RM40k for a new VW? Is that the reason for the changes at Proton?

• Supa Hiro on Apr 18, 2012 at 11:38 am

Preve will smoke this VW effortlessly. This proves Preve is the best choice now – with precision engineering and value for money. If Jean Alesi says that Preve is good, then rest your case P1 bashers and shut the f*** up!

• Jean Alesi = Lotus’s ambassador = paid by Proton. You certainly don’t bite the hand the feeds you, do you? Get your facts right and leave the judging to those who buys the Preve instead of Jean Alesi.

• Jibam on Apr 18, 2012 at 12:04 pm

You retard. Ask Jean Alesi how much he got? Idiot.

• Lim Kopi on Apr 18, 2012 at 12:18 pm

EAT THIS …. Proton Preve …

If I am on a tight budget, I would still try to squeeze out and buy a VW than a freakin Proton !!

THUMBS UP IF U WOULD AS WELL!!

• Go ahead. Who cares, it’s your money. But with your tight budget, will it be a wise move???

• BeemerFreak on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:29 pm

At least come an accident I know my family will survive.

• zebulun on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:57 pm

how u know? if they all still mati then how?

• '76 Hemi Barracuda on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:57 pm

you want to drive or you want to kill your family???
            slow down dude..even if you a driving military tanker, “malang tidak berbau”…

• kadajawi on Apr 18, 2012 at 6:37 pm

Nonsense, you can’t always prevent accidents from happening. No matter how slow and careful you drive. It’s quite common on the news in Germany to see good, safe, modern cars smash into old crappy cars, the driver of the new car being at fault, but he usually gets out without a scratch while the driver of the old banger dies. Without having done anything wrong.

So you better make sure you drive the safest car you can get for the money.

• BeemerFreak on Apr 18, 2012 at 7:33 pm

So everytime i get into an accident means i speed?? What if someone beats the red light and knock me from the side? Can you foresee that? In the event of speeding i believe a turbocharged Preve will attain faster speed than a NA Polo sedan….but if u guys value safety less than key-less starting, navigation and paddle shift, no one is stopping you, it is a personal choice.

I personally think that the Proton Preve is an amazing car, but its safety standards are still well behind the class leaders.

• kadajawi on Apr 18, 2012 at 11:57 pm

Will the Preve be behind a modern C segment car that you can buy in Western Europe? Yes. Likely. Though maybe not, in Conti spec it may be able to keep up. Almost. In Malaysian spec it won’t be as good. But then again, the Fiesta sedan is pretty much the only sub 100k car in Malaysia that comes with the same specs as in Europe. All other cars are downgraded (Forte in higher spec perhaps not?). So compared to what we can actually get in Malaysia the Preve CFE could very well be the second safest sub 100k car and the safest sub 80k car on the market.

At least it’s Protons aim to be on a continental level of safety, which means it would have easily surpassed pretty much everything we can get.

• Preve wouldn’t survive in a more liberalised car market like Europe or USA.

Jaguh Kampung will always remain Jaguh Kampung. Malaysia Boleh!

• VW, no one is paying attention to what you said. You are only kicking an empty can.

• Only VW is a Car on Apr 19, 2012 at 8:37 pm

Malaysia boleh, Singapore boleh pun, semua orang boleh….. (slogan from Child is Not Stupid)

• MrSunday on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:19 pm

No I won’t. Preve is good enough for me, even if I have a budget like u. I’ll use the rest of the budget for pampering myself and my family. No stress to pay monthly installment. Well, of course it’s juz my 2cents..

• kadajawi on Apr 18, 2012 at 6:26 pm

I’m a German. I think I’d buy the Preve, if they cost the same (I guess 70k will only get you a very base spec Polo, while the Preve is bigger and likely to be better spec’ed, it could also be a better car).

The Polo is not a bad car. I’ve also been in it’s cousin, the Skoda Fabia (as a wagon), which is a nice car, also quite stable at high speeds (around 180, 190 km/h?). But the Preve offers more space, more power, more modern tech. Probably. Of course VW could totally surprise us.

• Proton on Apr 19, 2012 at 8:51 pm

I am Germanis peoples, I borned at Germeny & I studied at Germeny to. I eat all all Germany food from a boy to a man and also now a old man. I dont like Germeny becoz all Germeny produks no good in all all. I caming to Malaysia, I love Malaysia very-very much lah, bcoz Malaysia beutiful and girls malaysia beauty to. I eat all all foot malaysia becoz very-very nice. I wear many Malaysia dress like batik & sarong, I can see qualiti and i juz loves very-very much.
          I buy many Germeny car in Germanies my country but all no good, I through in dusbing boxes all-all. I try driver Proton, i see all-all many quality is very good. Money also cheat-cheat becoz i pay RM50K i get a good great car, i buying so many proton like wira, iswara, persona, waja, perdana, preve and many-many things car. I feel good i feel great… i drive proton and i love proton so many much. I no like my countries Germeny car like Mersediz, BMW, Volvo, Peugiok, Ferrari, Mazda, Chisvolle, all no good but proton very sweet, beautyfool and i juz falled in loved.

• Loneranger on Apr 19, 2012 at 4:04 pm

people like you that makes BNM put tighter terms for car hire purchase.

• no way.. preve will turn into smoke faster than the polo. FOR SURE

• Storm on Apr 18, 2012 at 12:36 pm

Most likely Jean Alesi never even driven a 1.6 car before let alone commenting it. He was paid you idiot!!

• VWsupporter on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:04 pm

very obvious jean alesi is paid to do it. how could he rated the car so well that he never said a single negative point bout it. don’t tell me that preve is so good in every angle for him?

• kereta_lembu on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:49 pm

Jean Alesi didn’t mention anything bad about the Proton Preve, so I guess the car must be perfect huh? Best car in the world then coz Jean Alesi said so. Let’s wait till Jeremy Clarkson test it out and see if he agrees with Jean Alesi.

I’m not bashing Proton and I feel they are doing ‘better’ but we can do with less shallow comments. If you support Proton and want one, go ahead. Who’s stopping you?

It would be funny if Jean Alesi were to say that the Polo Sedan is good or better than the Preve :)

• Long Dong Zong on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:13 pm

Why wait for Jeremy Clarkson’s comments? He’s a white supremacist . Nothing from Asia would be good enough for him especially those products from China, Korea, Malaysia or India. May be made in India with British traits like Evoque is acceptable.

• BeemerFreak on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:42 pm

Bullshit, top gear loved ols subarus and Mitsubishi and never stop praising the GTR….. They are the benchmark of critics, get their approval, you know the car is good.

• Merc=Real Euro on Apr 18, 2012 at 7:43 pm

yeah like the Ford GT40!!!! ahh pls…

• Wicked Swicket on Apr 19, 2012 at 12:45 am

Benchmark of critics?!?! U’ve gotta b kidding!!! J. Clarkson is a biased old sod ! He’s popular, no doubt, doesnt mean he’s right..

• BeemerFreak on Apr 19, 2012 at 3:26 am

Has he been wrong?

• you watch too much tv..

• All those who are criticized always scream “conspiracy theory” because in their eyes it’s always someone else fault.

• Simon Ng on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:13 pm

I find this discussion on my car will smoke your car, or car A can smoke car B rather amusing. Is this what car passion is all about?

If you really want to talk about “smoke”, my car has been “smoking” on the road the last 26 years. Over the years many cars has “smoked” my car, but my car is still “smoking” away while many has stopped. LOL

• Quattro on Apr 18, 2012 at 11:58 am

What is the price tag?

• Price is RM104888

• VWsupporter on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:08 pm

Arai,

donno where you got this price tag. you must be a proton sales. a car without DSG and TSI sell close to polo 1.2 tsi? VW already said it’s the model that most affordable ever.

• arvind on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:16 pm

got a feeling that rm104888 is the actual price,really making it the most affordable VW,but not affordable for me.dun like the design oso.looks like saga

• a VW salesman sms me the price yesterday…

• burung on Apr 18, 2012 at 5:19 pm

May I know why do you need to “smoke” somebody who has better info than you? If he’s well-informed and got the fact right, any requirement he must be a Proton salesman? Stu.

• arvind on Apr 19, 2012 at 2:03 pm

maybe cuz we sort of burst VWsupporter’s bubble.i bet he was hoping for a VW he could really afford.lol.sorry bro,aint gonna happen,not in this country anyway

• vento on Apr 18, 2012 at 10:14 pm

my sa confirmed the same pricing… That’s sad! Maybe ckd will bring this down to 90k mark.

• oko028 on Apr 18, 2012 at 12:05 pm

its price between 70-80k….

• oko028 on Apr 18, 2012 at 12:05 pm

Bye bye Vios, City & Preve….

• What is “bye bye”. Why talk as if u own the entire car industry. Why not engage in a more factual comments.

• Merc=Real Euro on Apr 18, 2012 at 12:21 pm

No DSG….that is one less problem….

• BeemerFreak on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:27 pm

That has never been a problem………I had mine for 3 years and I don’t see any problem…..

• Major T-roll on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:58 pm

Mate, what does it cost you to service yr DSG gearbox? I heard that VW cars are expensive to service, much higher than a Kia…

• BeemerFreak on Apr 18, 2012 at 4:12 pm

Service….. Top up oil only every 30 000km, mine done once, service interval every 15000km about RM 400 one go…..VW are expensive to service, but on average I only need to service once a year. Good thing u mentioned Kia cause i have a forte for wife too, that cost about RM 230-250 per service but needs to do it once every 10000km or twice a year…so average up it is about the same

• ApaSaJa on Apr 18, 2012 at 4:19 pm

BeemerFreak, you are right! The service cost is the same as for those locally made card and Japanese car cost.

• droll on Apr 18, 2012 at 5:56 pm

but one main difference – you don’t need to take extra leave / time off from work to service your car vs the one that needs to service twice a year. :P ok a moot point but still something nevertheless. :)

• Compared to a Kia?u must be kidding !

• shuk rocco on Apr 18, 2012 at 12:30 pm

ak conform beli kalo bawah 50K!….

• Chow 1 on Apr 18, 2012 at 12:42 pm

Will buy this one if it’s 70k – 80k. Don’t think it will be 60k, if it is, then it will kill all local cars and our roads will be pololized.

• BSLee on Apr 18, 2012 at 8:14 pm

Agreed. that ‘s the right bracket for low cost foreign car.
      Don’t expect anything cheaper to avoid disappointment just like Prius C.

• Ryan.C on Apr 18, 2012 at 12:49 pm

Haiz…. It is 6 digits!!!
    if 5 digits then would be good!
    ‘thumb-up’ if u want 5 digits which 0 – 99k.

Bye VW

• mustafa on Apr 18, 2012 at 12:55 pm

if it is to rival the City and Vios than it will be priced close to the City and Vios…if not more that 90K will surely makes T & H s**t in their pants..

• kadajawi on Apr 18, 2012 at 6:33 pm

Not really. Nothing can make them s**t in their pants. Ford Fiesta, same price or cheaper, but better car, better spec’ed, much more modern. Specs more like Polo hatch (which is way more expensive) than Vios and City. Still T&H outsells them by far.

Only way VW can make Toyota s**t in their pants is when they put a Toyota logo on the car.

• Wicked Swicket on Apr 19, 2012 at 12:57 am

Right u are!

I dont get Malaysian car buyers – the Fiesta is a lot better car, by leaps & bounds ; safest in its class, most frugal etc etc & yet ppl still buy Vios, the ugliest of the lot! Crap specs, practically zilch safety features* & doesn’t safe on fuel either! & yet…

* I once asked a Vios sales guy abt its safety features – he said Vios got good brakes!! :-D

• kadajawi on Apr 19, 2012 at 3:28 am

lol @brakes.

To be honest I haven’t ever seen a Ford SC. If I wouldn’t be neighbour with my Renault SC I might be a bit hesitant to drive a Renault too (not that I regret it at all, but it is a somewhat valid point).

I was a passenger in a Yaris and in a Skoda Fabia (low budget version of the Polo). The Fabia was miles ahead of the Yaris in terms of ride, materials, quality, NVH, … and the Polo should be better yet. I’d rather have the Fabia though, it’s so much better looking (even though it looks like a Swift).

• they could have launched this long ago but was forced by the Government to put on hold until Preve is launched. Same case with Elantra.

• MoFaz on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:44 pm

wah.. so clever. Proton also said something similar, they said they want to launch it much earlier already but they’re waiting for some political figures whose schedule are very pack.
      what i heard is, the polo launch will be aired in TV3, NTV7 and 8TV… damn so many stations.. don’t you think they are also waiting for political figures?

• ahbeng on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:30 pm

ajip gor la, who else :-D

• mustafa on Apr 18, 2012 at 5:16 pm

because later this one will CKD in Pekan plant…Ah Jib Gor is MP there….Ah Jib Gor will tell people he bring in VW to Pekan so Pekan folks can have jobs….

• jamal on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:15 pm

there are competing with the preve direcltly if we look at the timing of launch because DRB also got share so they adjust the timing very near to preve launch. forgive my english.

• driver on Apr 18, 2012 at 6:11 pm

bro, cakap melayu pn bole. tak payah nk ‘forgive my english’.

Anyway, you’ve a point. But the more interesting would be the price. Kalo bawah 80K memang hangat la kete ni. Tapi tatau la DRB campur tangan pastu mesti kasik ‘up’ skeet tamo makan market Preve.

Safety would be another thing to look forward on this car.

• zippypolo on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:21 pm

current polo owner will not be effect much cos I m sure this sedan wont come with TSi n DSG. The old beetle engine maybe….and is a gustler for sure. India spec….

• protonfc on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:35 pm

ah…german engineering. love it.
    5 star NCAP hopefully with 6+ airbags

• haha in your dream la bro….
      visit the microsite to know more…

• adzim on Apr 18, 2012 at 4:28 pm

hahhaha. 6 airbags? I think the premium version has only dual airbags at most. go la buy the so-called german tech originally from india

• kadajawi on Apr 18, 2012 at 6:44 pm

You want 5 stars EuroNCAP go buy Ford Fiesta sedan. :) We have to see if the Polo comes with all the kit that actually makes it a 5 star car, but I wouldn’t be surprised if it doesn’t. The Yaris/Vios is also a relatively safe car, but Toyota has removed everything that makes it safe. Same with Jazz/City.

• Haiyaaa…the ad shows 36609 or 36508…perhaps the price should be around this figures….

• cheraspeople on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:02 pm

Disappointed with the price. It is confirmed at RM102,999.00. Confirmed by one of the VW showroom.

• anti-first on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:29 pm

ok, here’s the deal….

the public can choose between Peugeot 207 sold cheaper at roughly 73K and this Polo at roughly 100K.

both using 1.6 engines, lightly specced, and above all, continentals.

aren’t we “spoiled” for choice? :)

• Daniel on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:53 pm

low performance kosong car,below avg performance

if over rm70,000 preve turbo a better buy

from
        proton savvy owner

• Ordinaryguy on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:15 pm

So expensive? Not worth it at all…..why even bother with all the live telecast on NTV7 and TV3 when it is going for that price.. Usually only “national makes” with “low” price tag will be launch through national TV.

• mustafa on Apr 18, 2012 at 5:29 pm

over priced vw again….jetta @145k+…somebody think we malaysia are desperate for german technology…

• To Prevé on Apr 18, 2012 at 11:20 pm

Jetta is overpriced just because of the tax. Polo sedan (Vento) highest spec is selling at Indian rupee 1057000 (RM 62758.94), do you think it the malaysian government will let it sell at this kind of price? Think about it.

• jetta should be priced around altis n civic..not camry n accord!

• kadajawi on Apr 19, 2012 at 3:24 am

IIRC it is spec’ed much better (especially in terms of safety), using better gearbox and engine, right? That’s where the price increase is coming from. And of course the brand name.

Also isn’t the Altis the 3rd world version of the Corolla? In Europe Toyota has the Auris to go against the Golf/Jetta.

• syafeeq on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:16 pm

if you go to the site, the numbers change, so it wouldnt be in the 36k price range

• linear_system on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:20 pm

i hope for that price too..but i think i’ll just be dreaming..

• “Haiyaaa…the ad shows 36609 or 36508…perhaps the price should be around this figures…”

Or

80563 and 90663???

• AGreed with you labu, maybe it will be around 80k-90k, 90k most likely. Less than that is impossible, need to protect Preve market mah.

• normal_user on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:51 pm

Please sell it between RM75K to RM85K. Although I doubt it since its close to Preve’s price which DRB Hicom also have stake in. But if VW wants to stay true to its words, then the “People’s Car” should be priced within that range.

If its priced that way, then the only way that Vios can go is inside the graveyard.

• droll on Apr 18, 2012 at 5:57 pm

i doubt the government would allow this car to compete in the same price bracket as proton models (in the same segment).

• kadajawi on Apr 19, 2012 at 3:47 am

The Polo sedan is B segment though, the Preve C segment. The Polo would have to be priced against the Saga… which I don’t think is possible.

• anti-first on Apr 18, 2012 at 6:31 pm

Do you really think VW care hoots about being the People’s Car here?

The concept of being the People’s Car only applies in Germany, anywhere else are simply profit-driven business decisions.

In short, we’re subsidizing the Germans through jacked up prices here and other locations VW are selling their cars so that Germans can purchase inexpensive cars for themselves and voila…the People’s Car!

• kadajawi on Apr 19, 2012 at 3:45 am

Are you kidding me? I am a German. VWs are EXPENSIVE there. Germans can easily get a comparable Ford or Opel for less, a comparable Peugeot, Renault, Citroen, Hyundai or Kia for much less. Only BMW, Audi, Mercedes, Volvo are more expensive (if you go second hand you may even get them for less! Especially Volvos).

In America VWs are quite a bit cheaper than in Germany. I have seen people order Audis from the UK (with the left hand drive option) because it’s cheaper from the UK than from Germany. Only 19% of all Audis sold in Germany are bought by a normal person, the rest are bought as a company car. Reimports are IIRC also popular with VWs, because in other European countries they cost less. You’ll save a thousand or two (perhaps even more for higher specs) by importing your Golf from some other European country.

VW is very successful in Germany, but they enjoy a Toyota-like reputation, and they are usually considered the best in class (especially in the C segment, usually called Golf class in Germany. Imagine the C segment being called Vios segment in Malaysia. Until maybe 8 years ago the Golf was basically THE car people would learn driving on, like in Malaysia the Kancil. I learned on a Golf IV 1.9 TDI).

• anti-first on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:00 am

if you say that VWs are expensive there, then it must be of a similar business model to what Proton is doing to Malaysians: selling them expensive in the homeland and cheap elsewhere.

it’s good to have a German input into the already convoluted mess of our local car industry!

• kadajawi on Apr 19, 2012 at 5:32 pm

I think they just try to keep up with the competition. They can’t charge much more than their competition, but a bit, yes. In the US they do not list the price including taxes (as far as I know) because the tax varies from town to town. So the price you see there isn’t the final price (and taxes aren’t so high).

In Malaysia even Proton has very high taxes (should be around 65%, CKD would be around 10% more), much higher than in pretty much any other country in the world. I do think they make a bit of profit, but the majority goes to the government.

• jflee169 on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:53 pm

The ad says “The most affordable Volkswagen Car Ever”, not the most affordable car in M’sia. Generally, the “affordable” element is either come with cost cutting items or providing old technology (but not the case for Toyota Camry). Old technology, for this case, non-TSI and DSG does “reasonable” to me and most important is that the engine and gearbox is proven less problem. If the specs given are good, i.e. more air-bags and safety feature. I think it will draw some group of buyer attention.

As for pricing, it should be at the range of RM 89k before insurance. Then, may be there will be a sport specs price which RM 5k to 6k more from the standard specs. With such price, some ppl may refer and compare the 308 Vti too.

Other than pricing, consumers are more concern on reliability and maintenance cost of the car, plus after sales service of the car maker.

• Matukri on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:55 pm

the ad shows 36609 or 36508. Use the price then x 2 will be the actual price.

• JeremyNg on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:11 pm

1.6 NA engine ??!! I dono VW have a 1.6 NA engine ……….

• John Lim on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:18 pm

I hope the price will be in the range of RM33k-37k

• sagablmsekid on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:18 pm

hey guys.. wow.. i so excited with the launch of this car tomorrow. Really hope the price is 80k-90k.. and i wanna ask u guys here.. if i just started working with 2k salary or 1.5k.. can i purchase 80k-90k car? :(.. i have my saga blm as a downpayment of rm25k..

• ahbeng on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:41 pm

wah with that kind of salary, u can buy falalee. no need to buy local car…….
      LMAO :-D

• sagablmsekid on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:26 pm

thanks for your LMAO comment

• burung on Apr 18, 2012 at 5:41 pm

What’s wrong with u ahbeng? People ask nicely cannot answer nicely ah? What’s wrong wt his question? What ‘that kind of salary’? Cannot read properly ah? That’s why. Next time don’t read blog/internet with your cheap Samsung android. Go buy iPad.

So sagablmsekid, presumably your saga blm has been fully paid, so your d/payment will be at 25k. Just 65k loan you need to take, therefore at 3%,
          9 yrs = RM764
          7 yrs = RM936
          5 yrs = RM1,245.

However, since Jan 2012 Bank Negara is stricting car loan approval especially in 4k & < salary bracket.

• Supa Hiro on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:46 pm

Saga – my expert opinion is for you to buy Preve. You could go for the IAFM or even CFE since you can trade of your Saga for the RM25K downpayment. This VW would not be the right fit for you now. It will definitely cost more than RM100K. Preve is a global car – meaning global reliability. You will have less maintenance cost compared to VW. VW maintenance and spare part cost is expensive.

Don’t get taken away by the negative comments you see here posted by P1 bashers. Most of these bashers know how to give negative comments only. I bet you most of them can’t afford a car and most of them only have a kapcai. They try to hide their inferiority by posting negative comments.

Just Drive the Preve to Believe It! If Jean Alesi believed it, why not you?

Shalom!!

• dafuq did i just read?

• Statistician on Apr 18, 2012 at 11:40 pm

Sick and desperate Proton SA. Gila betul orang ini demi wang macam macam suggestion tak releven pun berani cakap. Gila Wang !

• xavier lert on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:13 pm

u joking u its true story? if u already have cars, keep it kids. and yae who pay for that car? ur parent? 2000 is the gross salary while ur net will deducted by 11% of epf n some other thing. that will left u about 1700.

i’ll say if u have already a car better buy a house. oh yae forgat to say to get ur car loan aprove the installment must be 1/3 of your net salary..and juging by that the only car that you can afford ………. saga : )

• sagablmsekid on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:30 pm

Nope.. not my parents paying.. is a full paid car..

• sleepwalkerz on Apr 18, 2012 at 4:09 pm

waaa…so good…working also still depend on parents..survive with your saga first until you have enough money to buy a new car…be independent!

• sagablmsekid on Apr 18, 2012 at 4:41 pm

ya thanks..my salary will raise 3k next year. so by that time i can buy! hahaha

• Red Bull on Apr 18, 2012 at 4:59 pm

Good luck for u in the future. U are good man. Please buy Preve. U must support national car. We? We support German car :-)

• Bro, IMO, monthly car instalment should never be more than 25% of salary.

• 3k oso tough la.. invest the money. You can use whatever gains from the investment to buy your dream car then.

• driver on Apr 18, 2012 at 6:19 pm

Bro, I would not spend too much on new car. Take of the Saga, and it’ll take of you as well (ini usaha).

If I’m in your position, I’ll focus on getting a house first, set-up a business and get married. If you then have more than 3 children, then you could consider an MPV since the Saga only has 3 rear seatbelt.

If you have more than 5 kids, then get a bus. LOL!!

Cheers, take care bro~

• Haiz..... on Apr 19, 2012 at 8:55 am

house??? Do u know how many down paymeny & Lawyer fees u need to paid???wi with 25k down payment? enough??? Dream on…. some area not sure is controlled by developer or goverment? only Double storey terrance or Semi-di available, all startrting Rm400k & above how to buy with 2k salary????

• driver on Apr 19, 2012 at 7:46 pm

Bro, aku nye gaji pn ciput gak lebih kurang 2k cmtu gk aa.. Kalau bebetul cari ada jk rumah yg boleh dapt.

Kalo xmampu rumah baru, second hand pn jadi laa mula2 ni.. kalo xmampu rumah atas tanah, rumah atas langit pn ok jk. Dari dok sewa, baik duit tu guna buat bayar rumah sendiri. Kalo agak2 dah selesa kang, jual rumah tu, beli la yg baru.

Jgn aa memilih sgt mula2 ni.. dok kawasan ceruk2 sikit pn ok pe.. tenang. yg penting hati mau senang, perut mau kenyang, awek mauk goncang! hahaha..

• jalan54 on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:15 pm

Honestly speaking, if your salary is only 1.5k to 2k, you should keep driving your saga. I’m not try to look down on you here, but with such salary of yours, you are putting too much burden to yourself.

Also, you should instead think of your future instead of what you see now, there will always be a better car from time to time. So what you should do now is to learn how to save what you earn now and try invest those money to make more money.

You can set this as your goal and work hard to achieve it.

• sagablmsekid on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:27 pm

thank you bro..

• kelvin on Apr 18, 2012 at 5:51 pm

Don’t be sad saga, I have work for 10 years, I am still driving Wira.

• Helangmerah on Apr 20, 2012 at 2:29 pm

SagaBLM kid, agreed with all the comments here. Plan for your future properly. I bought my MYVI when my salary was just RM3k. Now with RM8k++ salary still haven’t changed my car. But along the way, others in my life changed, from no kids to two lovely kids, from RM200k house now going to move to RM1m house soon. Ukur baju kat badan sendiri, ya!

• Wah budaksaga, untung la kat sini ade yg boleh bg nasihat yg brguna. Tak sangka ramai yg bg nasihat. Betul la kata diorg, jgn terburu-buru nk amik keta baru. Untung la dah ade keta yg dah habis bayar. Drpd bayar kasar guna keta baru, kan bagus duit spare tu leh buat spare duit utk maintenance keta supaya sentiasa tip top dan berguna bila ade major problem. Masa tgh muda ni n bujang ni leh spend gak duit gi jalan2 ker kan best tu. Invest utk beli rumah pun bagus gak, kat rumah sentiasa meningkat. Rilek dulu pk sket utk perancangan masa depan. :-)

• PakAbu on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:35 pm

The rule of thumb is you only should spend 20% of your salary for a car. With RM1.5 k salary, you should only pay RM300 per month for a car.

Keep 20% as long term savings.
      Keep 20% for your short term savings.
      Spend 20% for food
      Spend 20% for clothes + extras.

• What About Housing? on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:12 am

What about housing? Dont have to keep XX% for housing?

• Be wise, keep your Saga BLM.

• Simon Ng on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:57 pm

You only started working. Getting a car that is reliable, economical, safety and able ferry you from A to B is a priority. The brand and model is not important. Keeping spare cash in your wallet is a more fun compared to driving a nice car while your wallet is light.

Nonetheless, you should still aim for a dream car. Any car, the car price wil be your target. Then you will know what you need to do or how hard have to work to reach there. Good luck.

• kalo gaji 1.5k/2k baik sambung belajar sampai dapat degree/master bro.. nanti dah ada degree/master baru bole pikir nak beli kete.peace.

• Heskey on Apr 18, 2012 at 8:20 pm

When i started working 9 yrs ago with salary of 2k i drove a used proton tiara. Now with salary of 12k i drive a lowly toyota vios 1.5G which is cheaper than the polo. Serves me wrll for the past 3 yrs and not planning to change nxt 2-3 yrs. it depends on your priorities. If car is your priority im sure u can afford it

• ben yap on Apr 19, 2012 at 1:38 am

Wah! Increment more than RM1K per year for the last 9 years? Which company? I also want to work.

• saving your money for house or saving in ASB or something like that. Since you already have a car. If you still want a new car, take 2nd. And, do not buy new proton. Proton only menyusahkan rakyat.

Cukai dikenakan untuk melindungi Proton?

atau

Adanya proton boleh kenakan cukai?

which one?

• putra_rider on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:25 pm

i think they will rename it Polo Pekan…

• India mari punya …..

• xavier lert on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:06 pm

its gonna be very very very basic… believe me.. its like searching for Tag Heuer with a price of RM3000 with basic dial and quartz movement. and with that price if u go to tissot, u’ll get superbly hi tech T Touch with altimeter,chrono and compass

• CKD from pekan?

• F Fiesta on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:14 pm

Polo Sedan could be neck and neck for Vios and City. For me the better choice is Ford Fiesta especially the hatchback with 6 speeds with generous number of airbags. Both City and Vios could be the last choice of all 4 choices.

• you know what? on Apr 19, 2012 at 4:51 pm

5 star EuroNCAP must have 7 air bags in-situ.
      After the test,most company took out the 7th air bag(the knee protector) and still claim 5 star-which is no more valid.
      So car lovers beware and interpret carefully what was displayed on brochure.

• wow if selling at 30-50k region proton will go bankrupt and mahathir will r.i.p of heart attack lol

• ApaSaJa on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:19 pm

Import car prices are controlled by the Government to protect their interest of certain parties. There will be no import car should be cheaper than those local produced. So, don’t expect cheap imports =)

1.6 Comfortline Tiptronic (top of the line spec) line is selling around RM83K in South Africa.

• Bumi tulin betul betul kaw on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:47 pm

Drbhicom playing balls with us…..as usual.

• Common Sen N Ringgit on Apr 18, 2012 at 3:58 pm

If it is below RM90K, I think everyone would rather buy this than T&H or anything else. It doesn’t matter if it is assembled in South Africa, India or even Timbuktu.

If it uses German engines, people will still buy it. It is the technology that matters and we all know how good Germans technology is – even compared to Japanese, Korean, French etc.

• Please come out with two oil burners.. Petrol and diesel version.

• ApaSaJa on Apr 18, 2012 at 4:17 pm

No hope for diesel unless we are using EURO2. The current diesel does not work with the new diesel engine as it contains too much sulfur. I would definitely get a diesel car if the government move the diesel quality to EURO2

• If your diesel its crappy why the BMW is so braved to bring in F30 320d ? I think the quality is not a main issue but the acceptance perception of diesel from malaysian which think diesel is dirty fuel and with black soot.. I think when the people start and gain more confidence to buy a diesel cars, the gov will not hesitate to introduce more quality and low sulfur diesel soon…

• ApaSaJa on Apr 18, 2012 at 5:07 pm

What I meant is the years down the road with EURO4 diesel. There will be times when you see diesel cars with smoke coming out from their exhaust. You wont get the effect from the EURO4 diesel immediately

• mustafa on Apr 18, 2012 at 5:24 pm

chicken and egg…

• vinnan on Apr 18, 2012 at 10:21 pm

It is erroneous to think that just because an engine is designed to rub on Euro 5 diesel making that engine run on Euro 2 diesel would wreck the engine. Euro 1, 2, 2, 4, 5 refers to European legal specification on diesel engine exhaust emissions.and the fuel which goes into the diesel engine. There may be some loss in engine performance and fuel efficiency. However, the MB and BMW diesels runs fine on Euro2 diesel albeit with a slightly higher noise level and more smoke coming out of the exhaust. Big secret. All Japanese common rail diesel engines in Malaysia sold since 10 years ago are at least Euro 3 complaint.

• Highwaystar82 on Apr 18, 2012 at 4:58 pm

Isnt it EURO2 already?

• pathfinder on Apr 18, 2012 at 5:23 pm

aiyo…our current diesel is euro2 maaaaa….we are fighting for euro4 now…are you sure you in the year of 2012?

• tunguuu on Apr 18, 2012 at 4:39 pm

its a 1.6, 6 speed tiptronic…4 airbags…15,000km service interval…with 5 years unlimited mileage warranty…but harga dunno…

• Brahim on Apr 18, 2012 at 4:48 pm

“one of the most stylish…” ? hahhaaha..ketawa pecah perutt!!!

• Engine is probably NA 1.6 without FSI or TSI, Not sure if it got VVT or Variable intake,
    Indian highline version comes with 4 airbags and digital aircond, not sure about Malaysian version

• Does the price of vehicles in Malaysia does at one time or another affected by the politicians or some individuals who gained something out of something and to protect the interest of a few?

• Nikolai Makarov on Apr 18, 2012 at 5:32 pm

Why don’t you all just buy whatever it is that makes you happy?

• An F430 makes me happy, but I’m part of the 99% suffering poor folks. So, meh..

• Jimmy on Apr 18, 2012 at 5:54 pm

Baca dari belakang?

• kadajawi on Apr 18, 2012 at 6:18 pm

I expect 70-80k, perhaps 90k. Just like all the competitors. The question is if it will be well spec’ed. Basically will you get a Vios or a Fiesta for the money.

I wouldn’t be too surprised if it is better spec’ed than the Vios, but not much. So similar engine, but 4 airbags. Base spec maybe 2 and manual gearbox (oh no, not the feedback free VW clutch. But at least the stick is usually good in a VW, short and precise). Basic aircon. No ESP, at least for the base spec. VW has really weak engines for the Polo if you don’t want to spend much (in Europe), so maybe one of those in the cheap version? 60 hp 1.2. 0-100 in 16.1s.

Anyway… most affordable VW? What about Fox? up! ? Not launched here though (thank God in the case of the Fox). But they could bring in the up!…

• J2 vw staff on Apr 18, 2012 at 6:22 pm

to be honest, too sad to see so many of us thinking about the range below 90k…it would not happen anytime soon, atleast for a CBU vw.

its going to be 104k, most affordable vw compared to polo HB 108,888.

• kadajawi on Apr 19, 2012 at 12:11 am

I disagree. The sedan should be spec’ed much worse than the Polo TSI. Weaker, older engine with higher FC, no DSG, fewer airbags, … you cut down 4k and no one would ever buy it. Top up 4k to get a much, much, much better car. What would you say if the Camry 2.5 costs 4k more than the 2.0?

• CrazyCar on Apr 18, 2012 at 7:02 pm

Is the engine come with DOHC? Hopefully price is in 70-75k range..haha!

• thebugbud on Apr 18, 2012 at 7:07 pm

Saw quite a few in India. The car looks good and conservative. The price is around RM50k. The catch, interest rate is 14%, petrol is RM5+ and disel is RM3+.

• Loneranger on Apr 19, 2012 at 3:59 pm

conclusion : car price affordable but high cost on other things.

• Merc=Real Euro on Apr 18, 2012 at 7:32 pm

Keep feeding those who bite you…..All cars are overpriced in Malaysia…

No point you rant here cos the prices will continue to rise if you keep on buying.

It doesnt matter if 60k or 90K or 102K… all are daylight robbery…

Imagine you need to take 9 YEAR LOAN on the TAX while the “G” gets the money upfront from the bank. Sounds like a fair deal????

If 30% tax I am not complaining but more than100% tax on price fixed by Miti.
    That is double blow. Manufacturer are not complaining cos miti sets prices higher
    than what they want to sell.

• abdul hadi on Apr 18, 2012 at 7:38 pm

just check in the internet, this car which is base indian market 7 lakh (refer to paul link here http://paultan.org/2010/06/06/volkswagen-polo-sedan-renamed-vento-for-india/) convert to myr is around 41620.77..price after gomen taxes..maybe around 83k..

• Merc=Real Euro on Apr 18, 2012 at 7:40 pm

How about another scary thought…… If the bank pull the plug on extended loan i.e 9 yr
    and revert back to 5 yrs…….then even proton & perodua will not be affordable.

This is how bad the situation is. It has been masked for last 10 years with longer loans.
    If we continue this way….car prices will continue to rise with even longer loan like 15 years
    end of the day the people are the losers…

Think about it………

• Bumi tulin on Apr 18, 2012 at 7:44 pm

The indian Vento is about RM41,000.
    But since we are Malaysians , we will be paying 2-3 times the price Indians pay.
    The Americans pay RM46,500 for the 2litre version.

• exciting on Apr 18, 2012 at 8:06 pm

boring sedan

• Caruser on Apr 18, 2012 at 8:19 pm

I believe this is a very basic Polo. Has anyone test driven this car? Performance and reliability ok or not?

Even if its priced between 80k to 90k, the Preve would still look like a better choice?

• honestly speaking, as an owner of Polo TSI, i hate to see Preve. It is equipped with so many goodies….makes me hate VW for barely equipping the Polo…esp the so simple radio….front wise, i prefer Vento…but I think Vento rear is not as good as Preve…the only thing that keeps me smiling is that my Polo comes with a nice VW logo, and it saves fuel…performance wise…damn, Preve 0-100 kph is faster..damn it….reliability…I think VW lebih kurang Proton je….hon dah rosak…power window switch dah kopak….wiper tak leh simply angkat…enjin kekadang mati kat traffic light….air cond tiba2 panas….so…kinda makes me think no wonder in USA they said VW has superb build quality but bad reliability….just my honest opinion….I just can’t believe German can make a car with so many issues…or maybe because it is my first German car…I also own a CRV..5 years..never gimme a single headache…but it is still a Japanese car…

• Merc=Real Euro on Apr 19, 2012 at 12:04 am

Bro…. that is German engineering …..reliability is secondary…

• blackgalaxy on Apr 19, 2012 at 12:58 am

if we compare the interior design of saga flx with vento i would say its on par, maybe the vento ave a nicer steering design but the overall saga flx dashboard looks better n sportier to me.

VW are smart with their line up, for me just half of it really sits in the premium n good level of design n trim but the rest is the same as any japanese and to make it worse its plastic finishing is just in any china car for me. myvi the old or the new one have better plastic finishing.

*if only proton can put an engine alike vw have and the dsg or other tranny..lol…

• ben yap on Apr 19, 2012 at 1:43 am

So bad quality? are u sure u bought a polo or is it a proton stick a logo of VW?

• kadajawi on Apr 19, 2012 at 3:22 am

Heard/seen many problems with a CBU Cross Touran too. But they try hard to fix it, are friendly and professional, and as long as they do and it’s nothing crucial and the car itself is very good, I’d be willing to live with it.

• But my 2010 Polo has no problems at all :) actually our Polos r South Africa made ! Golf,Passat CC…r German made !

• golf for life on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:56 am

nothing new bro…my golf 1.4 tsi also got reliability issues; service center very rude, try speak to the service manager even.. then had to wait for my turn to repair, then had to keep my car at the dealer for 5 days… unnecessary for a brand new 4 month old car…!!? still want to buy a vw …?! even when I complaint to vw hq they never bother to take action…

• you know what? on Apr 19, 2012 at 5:06 pm

For all car-lovers who wish to have VW as their next car,kindly check around for the DSG gear-box issues.
        5yrs warranty is good, but the root most problems are that, too many DSG 7sp cars in trouble until the workshops(still limited number for now)couldn’t cope and have you had the appointment list kept for weeks.spending so much money for this type of treatment,you better think twice.
        For the similar reason,i gave up VW(after detailed research on VW on global scale for no less than 6months.)trust me i spend more time reading vw related articles than my own medical specialty text books-hard earn money man!)
        My 2cents data based opinion.

• kadajawi on Apr 19, 2012 at 5:22 pm

Hm. I have escorted my cousin with the Touran to the SC, and they were very friendly and it seemed like half the employees there came to check the car. Probably differs from SC to SC? As long as they are like this and fix the car I don’t mind a few quality problems.

• Not every VW service center r rude lah…but they served me very well :) u check around the DSG issues,then u must google Volvo,Honda,Peugeot,BMW…about the gearbox issues…all of them r the same ! ppl r like that when u bought this car but has problems,then u say no good and don’t buy it ! bought another car but has problems too,and then u say that’s not good too lolx Human can get sick ! cars why not?

• Statistician on Apr 18, 2012 at 8:26 pm

Preve is better :

Turbocharged
    Big cabin space
    GT tyres from nusantara Indonesia
    Beautiful interior
    VSC
    Nice fabric
    Proud Proton global brand

Polo mana Ada ?

• VW brand tell u all,they are better coz the VW brand is a winner :) Durian is still an Durian ……

• To Prevé on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:54 am

Lift the tax discrimination agains other car manufacturer, you’ll have your Nusantara, aka dream world for proton

• Though with so many reliability issue…I am still a proud owner of VW Polo Tsi…maybe because of the badge….Preve….it might be fast but look at the gross weight….definitely a fuel guzzler…though the name is fuel efficiency and what not…it is fuel efficient compared to 2.2 liter, but not to Polo Tsi….don’t trust what Proton says about its fuel economy…trust me…I was a Proton Powertrain engineer before…I know their numbers..still VW is VW and Proton is Proton…but Proton is getting there…slowly…but vento rearlight is ugly

• lampu depan copy SAGA :)

• Unforgiven on Apr 18, 2012 at 9:31 pm

Is this car going to be much cheaper than Preve in Indonesia?

Is this something like RM50k car elsewhere, or much cheaper?

Since TunM is also the owner for DRB, is him able to price this car at RM50k?

• nocomputer on Apr 18, 2012 at 10:10 pm

I would say.. the price they gonna announce tomorrow is RM108,888.

• Maybe at a glance the price is quite expensive for all of us because its fully imported for 1st batch buyer.. Who know DRB will get the approval from VW to assemble in Pekan after launching, for sure the car price will drop at 80-90k zone…

• NAPBahser on Apr 19, 2012 at 12:30 am

Ahhh… This Polo Sedan called Vento in India.

In Bangalore the OTR price is around Rs 780k+ for Trendline (Baseline kot) to Rs 1180 for Highline (most premium). Convert to MYR is RM 52k for lowest price Vento OTR in India and RM 68k for the most expensive equiped range. So as usual in Bolehland just add 60% to 100% on top and you get about min RM 83k to RM 100k+.

Here you go Malaysian, the pricing of the new Polo Sedan (aka Vento in India)

We must thanks to Proton, Government and NAP for the pricing of all foreign branded cars.

• umpgambang on Apr 19, 2012 at 8:17 am

Why thank Proton? Just thank Government and NAP.

Proton also being tax highly! You are so smart finding info about the Polo Sedan’s oversea price..

Why have you not searched out about how much Proton Cars are being taxed?

• To Prevé on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:47 am

Yeah right bro! Well said

• tok-kok on Apr 19, 2012 at 12:54 am

It will be priced at least RM95K for sure. Our Gomen say cannot sell cheaper than Preve. Else P1 will close shop tomorrow lah.

• albag on Apr 19, 2012 at 8:08 am

when i see the poor welded doors of Preve, instant turn off… German Technology FTW!!! Vorsprung Durch Technik!!!

• Musalman on Apr 19, 2012 at 8:31 am

to be practical about the price..i would say it would not differ much with the current RM113,888.00 pricetag of hatch polo.

• Costwise on Apr 19, 2012 at 9:38 am

Given the CKD prices of Jetta and Passat, the Polo Sedan will be priced in the region of 95-100k. VW knows how to play in the market, not to go head on with the Japanese/Korean, yet make lots of money with its German origin, despite locally assembled. Polo is B segment car with C segment engine, targeting B (those that would pay premium for German brand) and C segment 1.6 (those that want German, but sacrifice on space), the gap which Jetta and Polo hatch could not address.

Car will remain expensive to own in Malaysia…just divide the price by your net salary. The foreign manufacturers know that new car is a status symbol, thus higher the price, higher the status, German is premium over Japanese, and the latter over Korean. Those need transport can buy P1/P2 or second hand car.

My view, do not give in to peer pressure when it comes to buying car…its a liability.

• Statistician on Apr 19, 2012 at 12:31 pm

I like your last statement. Not only cars but everything else. Phones, clothing, properties. The automobile players know what are Malaysian thinking and exploit to the max by incur high pricing on their goods and services.

When a hungry stomach i no more a problem people start to worry about how people perceive them.

• rally_fan on Apr 19, 2012 at 4:59 pm

well said costwise.. many times… people dont realise that pricing is sometimes about perceived value.. its not the price that the company sets, but what the company thinks the consumer is willing to pay for the product. the stronger the brand, the higher premium it can command. and when you have premium pricing in the market.. you exploit it to the max.. which equates to better margins..

Why sell at a lower price, when your customers are willing to pay more?

If you run the company, thats what you will do.

• samsam on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:36 am

whats the price? 63k ?

• Lets start guessing…

Me: 55K-60K

• Low2215 on Apr 19, 2012 at 1:54 pm

the price is 81080 .. i am going to assume that based on what i see in the site

• vw staff on Apr 19, 2012 at 5:25 pm

alright, full spec is on my hand now.

77kW (105ps) MPI

153Nm @ 3800rpm
    top – 183kph
    0-100 12.3s

• greasemonkey on Apr 19, 2012 at 8:16 pm

Wow! Better buy this.

• sagablmsekid on Apr 19, 2012 at 8:30 pm

wow. i just saw this car at tv3… hmm why they didn’t stated the price?

• SGBLM on Apr 19, 2012 at 8:40 pm

The final price is RM99,888. Go to VW site and see for yourself. Almost RM100K to the dot dee … still expensive, but for those where money is not an issue, definitely can buy …

http://thepeoplescar.com.my/

• To Prevé on Apr 19, 2012 at 8:43 pm

It’s RM99888! What the…

• vwfan on Apr 19, 2012 at 8:45 pm

RM99888 OTR. Mahal for just basics

• dunletumnocroniesuntung on Apr 19, 2012 at 9:00 pm

aduihhh…. 100k la… tks BN & TunM… i fed up… i take LRT and bus la…

• fguhv on Apr 19, 2012 at 9:05 pm

So it is priced at 99888? I missef the launch on tv, is it a good buy? Worth the money?

• kadajawi on Apr 19, 2012 at 9:17 pm

It seems so. And no, it is not. It is just as good as the Fiesta sedan (maybe slightly better), however the Fiesta comes with a better engine, better gearbox, 7 instead of 4 airbags. Also a German car. And you pay 80k instead of 100k. Only thing that speaks for the VW is the after sales service (though some complain about that too). Even the Vios looks like better value for money compared to this. And that’s quite a feat!

Very disappointing.

• SGBLM on Apr 19, 2012 at 9:20 pm

Read the specs, visit showroom and test drive it. Then u can conclude whether your RM100K is well spent or not.

• kadajawi on Apr 19, 2012 at 9:23 pm

Ok, so it could be that it has combined side and curtain airbags, so while it has 4 it has the effect of 6. Still, the price is so much higher. Top up a bit and you get the Polo hatch, which offers DSG, is cheaper in terms of tax (1.2 with 105 hp instead of 1.6 with 105 hp), and better equipment overall. The sedan offers too little for too much, better get Fiesta as sedan. Safer, more powerful, better gearbox, significantly cheaper.

• driver on Apr 19, 2012 at 9:40 pm

Danny, with that price range, perhaps it’s a good idea to make a comparison with City, Vios and this car. It’s a Polo-Vios-City comparison.. PVC!

• To Prevé on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:10 pm

Big big disappointment…thanks to the gomen, we can’t even buy a basic VW that are selling less than 70k in India. We are a worse country than india. Developed country my ass.

• BalanceD on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:12 pm

RM 99,888 for W.MY
    RM 102,888 for E.MY

• Quattro on Apr 21, 2012 at 1:25 pm

Vw better put 1.2 tsi n dsg in in> otherwise it is not an affordable car for malaysian people!!!!