BNM guidelines hurting Perodua, first quarter sales down

Perodua released a statement yesterday announcing sales figures for the first quarter of the year. Unusually for the market leader, it wasn’t another record breaking quarter, but a drop in sales.

Sales fell 11% in March to 16,000 vehicles sold, compared with 18,000 vehicles sold in the same month last year. In a quarter-to-quarter comparison, Perodua’s sales eased 2.2% to 44,700 vehicles for the first three months of this year, from 45,700 units recorded in Q1 2011.

The company attributes this drop in sales to the new guidelines on responsible financing introduced by Bank Negara Malaysia in January, which tightened the criteria for hire purchase loans.

“Based on the data we have compiled, the Viva is the worst hit with a 19% drop in sales in the first quarter of this year to 13,000 units from 16,000 units registered in the first three months of 2011,” Perodua MD Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh said, adding that the current loan approval rate by banks were significantly lower than usual. He also said that BNM’s move is delaying loan approvals, while some loans were approved at a much reduced amount.

“Due to this delay it takes an average of 20 days to know the outcome of a loan application instead of three days previously, and this is having a huge impact to not just the manufacturers but also to the entire automotive eco-system,” Aminar added.

Combined, all these have resulted in high inventory levels at Perodua’s stockyards, which in turn has increased cost for the independent dealers, it was revealed. “We are currently compiling the data on the effects of the new guidelines to share with the relevant stakeholders and are still hopeful that a solution could be found and that the loan application process could be brought back to normal soon,” the Perodua boss said.

Another vocal opponent of BNM’s new guidelines is the Proton Edar Dealers Association Malaysia (PEDA). Read their list of grouses here. Media reports have quoted the Malaysian Automotive Association as saying that the total industry volume (TIV) for Q1 2012 shrank 12.6% to 138,544 vehicles year-on-year.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kuriang on Apr 19, 2012 at 9:41 am

BNM hurting P2? I tought Preve..

• Nakal on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:58 am

proton is no longer a GLC. not sure perodua is GLC or not

• sirimusa on Apr 19, 2012 at 3:05 pm

This is what happens when you depend on ONE market P1 and P2. You had over TWO decades to expand your international operations and since you didn’t do it because you were to busy making big money conning Malaysians, now you suffer along with the country.
      What goes around comes around.

Time for P1 and P2 to adapt to REAL markete prices, improve product and cost. Whatever their issues are (volume, cost, quality) is non of the customers’ business.

I congratulate BNM for being responsible in saving the country from a credit crisis. I also think Malaysians are now more responsible people. So if P1 and P2 have to crash, then be it. They’ve had it too easy for too long. Time to face the music guys!

• alldisc on Apr 19, 2012 at 3:59 pm

try reduce loan period from 9 years to 6 years and P1/P2 will come down on its knees and the G will wake up and realise car prices are too much more expensive that the average joe salary.

what BNM did is right, and it is never too late after many and many youngsters became blacklisted and/or bankrupt after failure to structure expenses and earnings accordingly.

• GTR 2.0 on Apr 19, 2012 at 9:59 pm

Good effort from BNM. Its long overdue. P1 & P2 shouldn’t complained the sales drop becoz of BNM’s rules. One way to increase the sales is to drop the price of their cars. But what they doing now was put the blame on the rules. Funny rite? Like a kid crying and blaming others for the mishap…

• Annihilated on Apr 20, 2012 at 10:46 am

I thought they were.. Building Cars, People First? No?

I thought Perodua earned lots of profits. Where has the money been?
          to product development? maybe.. a little or not at all.
          to employee bonuses? i heard they got lots of bonus pays.
          to their Japanese master? they wouldnt be here if it’s not for the money, right?

I assume the high inventory in P2 stockyard is good for the consumer as it should improve their car delivery lead time. Their service centers are quite OK compare to P1.

Wake up P2! It’s time to do Building Cars, People First not Rebadging Cars, Bonus First!

• Sales is down, but the rate of banks repossessing cars will also come down. Both Perodua and Proton dealers should also analyse the number of cars that have been repossessed for auctions because the buyers just could not service their loans….

• droll on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:47 am

when a proton / perodua is repossessed, it doesn’t go back to the seller. the banks possess it and have to lelong it off.

the fella who took a loan to buy it in the first place will be blacklisted. marked as bankrupt? unlikely though not impossible.

who suffers? bank suffers, the buyer suffers. the one who walks away unscathed is proton / perodua.

btw, proton / perodua can be replaced with any other manufacturer. so i think what BNM is doing is the right move. do not OVERINFLATE statistics and the market by giving people false hope they can afford something beyond their means.

• too much cheap credit, used to be you went to the bank to beg for a loan nowadays they call you up and offer you a preapproved loan! so if the person defaults on their car loans or whatever, the banks have no one else to blame for this.
        the roots of the US subprime crisis lie in this slack risk management by banks.
        credit to BNM for trying to prevent a credit crisis.
        credit to those malaysians who try and live within their means despite all the temptations.
        i only wish i could say the same our “spend it like it’s their money” federal govt.

• ridger on Apr 19, 2012 at 9:53 am

This is why i hate capitalism…

P2 please be more responsible when making a statement. Are those in high on the golden pedestal don’t mind naive people get bankrupt & living above their mean as long as u can make more and more profits?

The system introduced by BNM is to combats naive & ignorant Malaysian who like to live life more than they can afford… If BNM does not taking this preventive measure – who else would? P2 definitely won’t. All they care is for the customer to sign on the dotted line, regardless the customers can maintain the car & the installment or not.

• agreed! sales dropped of course, sales people must explain, so they come out with all sorts of stupid remarks.
      p1 and p2 are truly capitalis as they do not operate in a free market, they operate in a market protected for their benefit and the prices reflect this. in an oligopoly, they can set whatever price they choose as they have little or no competition.
      what is the alternative? communism or a command economy that is not responsive to the needs of the market. then it may be you will waiting 10 years for your car to arrive.

• what other car company that want the customer to be really2 can afford the whole thing then only they allow the customer to sign?

• Naza Kia shares the same guidelines yet sales increase by 25%. Its easy to blame BNM for your poor sales. BTW viva has always been an overpriced con.

• asahiyakuza on Apr 19, 2012 at 12:29 pm

Agreed… Perodua cars are overpriced especially the puny Viva. Malaysian general concept… e.g; why buy a small compact car (Viva) when you can buy bigger sedan (Saga) for the same price…

• alldisc on Apr 19, 2012 at 4:01 pm

hello. perodua was doing like 100,000000 units sales annually. naza was doing a mere 6-7,000 units a year. 25% increase is though big in percentage but actually small in naza numbers.

• Well the buyer of kia/hyundai is not same buyer as perodua/proton..their buyer are from lower mid income earner to low earner…kia/hyundai upper mid income earner to higher earner…..only to blame is excise tax

• It's Obvious on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:07 am

Scrap the parasitic AP system and car prices will normalize and everyone will be able to afford a car that hasn’t had its price artificially inflated.

• _xXx_ on Apr 19, 2012 at 1:50 pm

SUPRISINGLY YOU STILL RECEIVE 3 THUMB-DOWNS FOR TELLING FACT

• thumbs down comes from those who live on the AP system. ie parasites. cancerous ones.

• Eyesore on Apr 19, 2012 at 4:54 pm

Because it wasn’t a fact… it was a HOPE… when in fact.. even if the AP system is abolished the price of imported cars will not go down, instead it will increase due to increase cost of the dealers to bring in cars (for sure they wanna keep their profit margin). If u care to read, those Toyota / Honda etc does not really have import tax due to the AFTA… especially those manufactured IN MALAYSIA… but u see… the prices of the cars still high…. one of the causes is the eksais duty.. which also applies to P1 and P2 at the same rate with other manufacturer (depending on class of the vehicle)…

• Fact is its not hurting other car maker…but p2/p1

• alldisc on Apr 19, 2012 at 4:02 pm

thumbs down were from AP holders lah!

• What BNM doing now is right. If a person cannot afford a car, they just cannot afford.

• RON97 on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:20 am

poor perodua. the customer mainly from low income people just like proton. with new ruling, this group of peolpe has no chance getting new car. just go buy 2nd hand, less headache with cash.

• So when someone bought a Proton, they came from the so called “low income people” group is it? well..oh c’mon this is 2012..change your mind set lah..there are many Proton driver nowadays who can easily afford japanese, korean and conti cars but yet they choose Proton..

• Kam-II on Apr 19, 2012 at 12:08 pm

What ron97 said is valid lah, like it or not the main buyers for perodua and proton is those in between lower or perhaps middle income group.

Even an average of RM3000-5000 monthly salary (and i’m talking about GROSS) do you really think most of these people particularly those live in KL can effort japanese, korean or conti cars?

BNM now taking consideration the NET salary, no more GROSS. Look at ourselves then, after deducting our housing, credit card, car, bills, etc…how much left?

Malaysian Household debt is among the highest in Asia. This is exactly similar to pepatah Melayu “Biar Papa Asal Bergaya”…….pathetic!

• bro, i know lots of them who are earning more than 10k are commuting wt their scooters/kapchai to work (save time due to the jam)…..they don’t even drove a P1 or P2 to work….don’t look down on those scoot/kapchai riders

• Bongcs on Apr 19, 2012 at 4:23 pm

i drive protoonnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn, im so pooooooooooorrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr laaaaaaaaaaaaaa

• Musalmah Endut on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:22 am

Padanmuka perodua. haha..

• drivenmycar on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:23 am

I’m confused… last year twice I’ve applied loan, both rejected.. this year try again, approved by two banks…..and the amount was higher that what I’ve applied last year.. hmmm..

• alpha999 on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:29 am

BNM guidelines to curb huge debts among Malaysians.

• alldisc on Apr 19, 2012 at 4:33 pm

what BNM doing was right, what govt chief auditor mentioned in his report also right.

the inbalance has not been kept checked.

• Haneef on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:30 am

They should have reduce the price of the car instead.. Not whining about the strict/necessary updated guidelines…

• Clutch Basah on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:36 am

Good, less young uneducated souls facing unnecessarily bankruptcy. Malaysian have to learn to live within their means.

• _xXx_ on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:37 am

“Due to this delay it takes an average of 20 days to know the outcome of a loan application instead of three days previously, and this is having a huge impact to not just the manufacturers but also to the entire automotive eco-system,” Aminar added.
    Combined, all these have resulted in high inventory levels at Perodua’s stockyards”

Sales ngan planners semua tidur ke ape?

• At least this could minimise young people from getting loans easily and ended up in defaults on their loans because they spent more than what they had earned and couldn’t repay the loans and interest repayment.

• just-reach-malaysia on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:40 am

the yellow car in the pic, very sporty like lambogini !! what car is that?

• Dear Sir,
    It’s primitive to blame BNM.
    Check at your margin, we believe that there are a lot of effort that you can do.
    Your cars are overpriced.

• Patriot on Apr 19, 2012 at 12:20 pm

This is good news for society as a whole. Shame on you Perodua. Thank you BNM.

• Putra heights on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:55 am

Heard that perodua SA can make 15 k a month. How to apply job as a Perodua SA ?

• Salahkan BNM? Wahai Perodua, sedar lah harga kereta awak tu mahal. Dasar BNM untuk menyedarkan rakyat agar sedar diri nak beli kereta ikut kemampuan. Sila turunkan harga kereta. Baru rakyat boleh beli.

• _xXx_ on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:50 am

Blamed the wrong guy again. Wahai tuan2 dan puan2 skalian, tahukah ape yg dimaksudkan “Govt approved selling price”????

• Eyesore on Apr 19, 2012 at 4:57 pm

of coz…. but then again if the manufacturer is HEBAT at MENGGORENG about the cost of a car.. for sure a higher selling price would be approved… -.-

• goott on Apr 19, 2012 at 9:49 pm

pencacai pembangkang dont know anything about cars.. thats y they talk bulsshit and blaming the gov

• dreaming of maserati on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:36 am

BNM is just helping the poor people that do not know how to think for themselves to stay away from overpriced p2 cars. since they cannot afford it anyway.

pity these poor guys that like to live above their means…they never use their brains. no wonder p2 can price tiny viva at 45k n myvi at 63k. the gullible fools will rush in and buy anyway.

padan muka p2! now how about u quit whinning and do what you are supposed to do. reduce all your overpriced crap cars by 20% then maybe these ppl may qualify for the loans.

• Henry on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:39 am

This goes to prove that the target customers, in reality, could not afford such cars. It tells the story of a mismanaged and distorted economy where there is a huge disparity between real income and affordability of goods and services. It will get worse.

Such customers may complain now because their loan applications got rejected. But several months down the line they’ll be happy that it was. They have just avoided a huge financial millstone around their necks.

• The main reason is simple, our local car is to expensive, not talking about foreign car. with the crap automotive policy we burden by the long period of debt just to own that liability .. remember we produce national car and assemble it here , locally. in U.S u can get new car as low as USD17K , and guess what its a Chevr , their national car,

• u only compare car prices. Why dont u compare healthcare, insurance, education, property, etc?

• Henry on Apr 19, 2012 at 1:35 pm

Because we are talking cars here. Faham?

• viper on Apr 19, 2012 at 1:49 pm

I second u Henry. This is car blog. Not healthcare, education and property forum.

• Medusa on Apr 19, 2012 at 4:15 pm

So moron. If you want to buy a car, u must check your overall affordability first. Eventhough the car is cheap, every other thing is expensive e.g. healthcare, insurance, travelling, gas etc. Where else in this world you can get a good deal of healthcare e.g. just pay RM1 in this world, other than Malaysia?

• I think you are moron. Why leave out salary?

• every nation have their own way of charging tax on their people. yes this is a car forum, but we can’t compare car price with other country blindly. just my 2cent

• xibc2000 on Apr 19, 2012 at 4:52 pm

I’m sure that what wat says is right too. Comparing only on car prices in 2 different countries without taking into consideration of other aspects are irrelevant. All those aspects could in a way be related and have an effect on the car pricings.

Just my 2 cents…

• rosdi on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:40 am

Ah blame BNM konon… that is the effect of Preve lah!.. nothing to do with BNM.

• Preve? hahah, come on, give us a break…. the last time when you launch that turbo MPV, they hype it like its the best thing happen in life. But in actual how many mpv they sold a month?

• rally_fan on Apr 19, 2012 at 4:51 pm

different price range.. that vehicle cost rm60k upwards.. usually people who buy at that price.. have less problems with loans, and are also less of them around.

• not everyone can change to new car every year or after few years.
    day by day, cost of living is getting higher.
    it is better to maintain the fully paid car rather than starting all over again.
    moreover, cars are getting more expensive.
    many had their car repossessed not due to un-affordability, since no back up were being plan ahead for emergency purpose. it is just one of those unexpected days where money is needed for emergency proposed. this will probably screw up their other payments. once screwed, that is where headache comes.
    some have overspend beyond their limit due to lifestyle.
    it is better to save up for rainy season. a car is just a car that take you from a to z.
    if one can really afford, go ahead!

• Tommy yeoh on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:54 am

What bnm is doing is the right thing in ensuring people with the right income is able to pay and service the loan monthly .

What perodua is interested is just sales sales sales they don’t care whether the owner can service the loan or not.

BNM please continue with this policy don’t wait for another US subprime to hit our country

If perodua unable to sell their cars it’s their own internal problem don’t blame BNM.

Why don’t perodua become the loan giver to all these people with insufficient income.

• mujahid on Apr 19, 2012 at 2:11 pm

i like ur comment, Why don’t perodua become the loan giver
      They also gonna think twice b4 giving loan to cukup-cukup makan punya org…

• Leseid Obrut on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:59 am

it’s called the straw-man tactic…come on datuk aminar…stop embarrassing yourself and put your team under the microscope…

• P2….please lower down your price….please remember why you are born to be.
    You are meant to cater the lower income group. To improve their way of life. To get a taste of what the middle and higher income groups. Now your car is far more expensive than P1…how come…

• i dont care bout the new policy on cars. What i want now, is for the gov or BNM or whatever to control the prices of property, and the salary of malaysians. The hell i studied engineering for 6 years just to get paid 2.1k ?

Might as well take loan become a pilot in 2 years, and still got around 5k to spend every month after deducting the amount to pay the loan.

Ok im way off topic haha. Peace yo

• Abuya on Apr 19, 2012 at 6:56 pm

Bengong ko ni. Dah dpt gaji 2k and above dah kira ok utk fresh graduate.

Belajar sket prinsip ekonomi. Meh aku ajar. When demand same and supply increase, it push salary down. Tu sebab degree pun gaji cam spm.

When demand decrease, supply increase, lagilah gile2 harga keta jatuh. Tu fasal viva 850 tahun 2010 (baru) diskaun sampai 4k!

Bersepah kawan aku degree holder gaji still below 2k wpun dah keja lebih 2thn. Bersyukurlah sket…

• autojohndoe on Apr 19, 2012 at 7:41 pm

you in the wrong field la brader…

• Produa should slash the profit margin by 5-10k per car, its not BNM’s fault. Mark-up sikit2 sudahlah..

• _xXx_ on Apr 19, 2012 at 12:33 pm

why interest rate for p2 cars is always higher than others?

• carazy on Apr 19, 2012 at 12:51 pm

now a days, ppl tend to buy a car because of status not necessities. especially the young generation. BNM move is the good to these ppl. if u afford to buy proton jz stick with it, dont buy a honda.

• new order on Apr 19, 2012 at 1:02 pm

Blame Idris Jala and PM @ Pemandu who promised
    the nation that Msia will to be a high income society come 2020.
    Just waiting for P1 sales figures to be released cos their range
    is way overpriced too aka global prices.
    BNM should also enforce shorter loan repayment to max 5 years
    cos in reality 50% of cars will be junk by 9 years.
    NAP is due for a major revamp and AP holders should also stop
    whining about bumi rights.

• MoFaz on Apr 19, 2012 at 2:00 pm

let’s say we become high income nation by 2020, but malaysians don’t know how to save money, just spend spend and spend… balance in account just enough for expenditures of few days before new salary in. what’s good about it?
      the new guideline is for banks, so that they will be more ‘responsible’ when giving out loans. if they think the customer can’t afford, then they should not give the loan. this is because the banks always complaining about defaulters and they increased interest rate for local cars due to high NPL rates, but they failed to see it is them who approved the loan in the first place…

• I like KFC on Apr 19, 2012 at 2:28 pm

lol, dun lump all the Malaysians into the same categories, most of my friends and relatives have no problem and have good balance in the accounts, in fact, we can last for a year or so without working based on our balance.

Anyway, I do agree some Malaysians have problem with saving and loans, they do go overboard and this lead to bankruptcy but again I need to stress, no all malaysians have this problem

• taboogen on Apr 19, 2012 at 2:30 pm

high income but with low brain power oso no use…

ps: still waiting the gov right to get you to high income.. why not pick up ur arse and work hard…

malaysian ppl… memang cakap lebih…

• Supa Hiro on Apr 19, 2012 at 2:52 pm

P2 sales will be hit further with the recent Preve launch. I’m sure car buyer will opt to Preve as to Myvi. There’s no point whinning P2. Your cars are overpriced.

This is the turning point that Preve has created. I won’t be surprised if soon Japs and Korean sales drop rock bottom and they come out will petty complains as well. Looks like the T, H, H, K are going to get screwed!

• All foreign car maker r not effected since their target market is different

• the thing is that the price of the alone is high. even with p1/p2 our average income is low. the price is expensive mostly due to the TAX. if they selling the car cheap, then the people will not take so much loan, and the people able to pay with their hard earn income.

• not a car enthusiast on Apr 19, 2012 at 3:04 pm

A right move by BNM. The next step is to reduce max loan period from 9 to 7 years. 9 years is ridiculously long to pay for a depreciating asset.

• Bring down the prices lar..@#%&&*

• Ah Kam on Apr 19, 2012 at 3:18 pm

Don’t blame BNM because your product is over price! Wondering how Proton is selling their Prevent, RM73 is way over price!

• Just wanna on Apr 19, 2012 at 3:30 pm

Wasn’t the car made by Perodua were to be Rakyat 2nd Option of buying car instead of Proton???
    b’coz on the early concept Perodua was created was to make a car that affordable by Rakyat to buy beside Proton. . . .but now things are different. . .Proton is the 2nd Option buying car. . .for example. . .Price of a Saga FLX are 40k not far from Viva 1.0 38K. . .Same goes between Persona and Myvi. . . i know it’s a totally different segment of car. .but Perodua check ur car pricing before blaming BNM. . . Perodua Viva for near 40k?? Myvi for almost 60k?? or Perodua scared of Proton already. . . hehehe

• Merc=Real Euro on Apr 19, 2012 at 3:45 pm

same old story….I fully support BNM……Pls can you cap the loan tenure to 5 years pls.
    This will protect you and the rakyat from parasite.

• P2 MD has to whine about the BNM new policy while DZS do no give the slightest amount of caca about the this, only focusing on the new product. Maybe if P2 is not so out of touch with reality, stop being greedy and price their car right then we do not hear any word from them.

• Merc=Real Euro on Apr 19, 2012 at 4:01 pm

There is alot of malaysian drive fancy car all you have to ask them how long loan they took…and the answer will be 9 years loan… Now comes the acid test. If only 5 years loan available would they be driving the same car. I afraid not. The will be driving proton and perodua… From Hero to Zero… So technically those who bash Proton or perodua and have 9 year loan on a more expensive car cannot really afford those car rite!!!!

So we cant really say ppl drive proton & perodua are low income group. They may have taken 5 year loan thus paying exactly the same monthly as someone driving for example a VW on 9 year loan.

• Why blame BNM? Malaysian have been living outside their means for too long. See how high is our recent household debt? How many are really honest about their net incomes when applying loan? If you need to work around your incomes when applying for loan, that means you simply can’t afford the car. Get a cheaper mean of transportation. Car is not something we could not live without. I fully support BNM move to tighten the rules on RESPONSIBLE financing.

• Bongcs on Apr 19, 2012 at 4:24 pm

just tick the 9 years column.

• underskinned on Apr 19, 2012 at 4:31 pm

Most of the times the general public can’t think on their own, so I applaud BNM moves to curb overspending. ‘If you can’t do it yourself, let me do it for you’ kind of thing.

However I think BNM could have been introducing separate rulings for different types of loan (HP / housing / personal / credit card), instead of one blanket ruling for all because certain loans are more critical than others. A modest house is more important than an expensive car, so perhaps we could let loose on the housing loan and tighten the HP guidelines.

• Bongcs on Apr 19, 2012 at 4:32 pm

“Either you save your FACE, or you save your own BANK ACCOUNT”

• Simon Ng on Apr 19, 2012 at 4:33 pm

This is a typical corporate leadership mentality.

When sales are down. The management should blame the following EXCEPT:

a. Whole world
    b.Themselves

You do not need an MBA to know which one to choose.

• UMW – untung making wang.. no wonder perodua ripped us off with higher car prices..

• siazshuakme on Apr 19, 2012 at 4:41 pm

haha..what a joke p2
    r u blaming someone else for ur mistake?
    im on bnm side,what they did is for our own good,especially to save young man to become bankrupt/blacklisted.
    u better recheck ur price, mmg cekik darah.
    i dont mind if it a bit overprice bcoz it is nature of every biz called PROFIT..but u r already cross the line.

• Puki punya Datuk Aminar ! Kat luar orang jual Passat 2.5 pada Rm65k. Sini jual myvi pada 60k.
    Biar kau mampus!

• xibc2000 on Apr 19, 2012 at 5:50 pm

Kalau ye pun sopan lah sikit bahasa tu.

• burung on Apr 19, 2012 at 9:30 pm

Bunyi macam bukan orang Semenanjung je. Orang Melayu Malaya tak cakap macam tu. Anyway, ada ke Passat 2.5? *wonder*

And bro, 1 nasihat… work harder please.

• ae101 on Apr 19, 2012 at 5:29 pm

this is the joke of the day. anyway, good reason for perodua marketing director to give a very simple reason without scratch own head to major share holders during board meeting.

• Loneranger on Apr 19, 2012 at 6:50 pm

What am suggesting is solely my personal opinion.

Maybe BNM should do tier system for car loan just like house loan.

1st car – 10% dpymt and max 9 years tenure and have limit on car price. ie : not more than 100k.

2nd car – 20% dpymnt and max 7 years tenure. (min car price rm100k max car price 199k)

3rd car – 30% dpymnt and. max 5 years tenure (min car price 200k max 299k)

4th car – 40% dpymnt and max 4 years tenure (min 300k max 399k)

at least this is fair for those who just started working and by putting car price limit (for 1st car), it can educate Msian not to overspend. and the tier to ensure only Msian who can really afford to have more than 1 car to have it.

• JeremyNg on Apr 19, 2012 at 7:02 pm

Perodua, before you point your finger at others , please point at yourself. The latest Myvi crazily overpriced and the build quality not good enough too ~~~~

• P2. Turun la Harga keta tu mangkuk….Baru ler org dapat beli…Untung mau banyak…hakk tuii……….

• Dr Mamak on Apr 19, 2012 at 7:27 pm

Good move by BNM to weed out those bad apples.

• Peyno on Apr 19, 2012 at 9:04 pm

Peridua thinks ppl buy their car becoz its perodua … U r wrong.. Ppl buy u becoz they tot u r japanese… But now malaysia ppl smart oredi n not simply conned by si called japanese dna.. Since now rakyat tend to go for korean n conti
    Bye bye jepun celup
    Prrfthhhh

• Myvi regrets on Apr 19, 2012 at 9:33 pm

The drop is basically due to the poor quality of cars coming out from the factory.!!!
    I was one of the early buyers. Quality control is bad. Called and wrote to their customer service, they tried to shove the car down my throat. Tried to contact the grand dato ceo aminar. Di mana mana put cannot find him

• bongek on Apr 20, 2012 at 3:02 am

BNM take a good action for our country. So car manufacture industry and marketing should take some action… merger? sold? ask gov to reduce tax? or close shop?

• burung on Apr 20, 2012 at 7:38 am

Something we can learn out of this (BNM action) :

(1) Perceptions among Malaysians toward Brand New Car.
    “Better buy new car than 2nd hand car”. Why? Because perceptions (and some reality) that 2nd hand cars are problematic, faulty and had met accident. “Why they sell their cars? Sure sudah rosak one.”

(2) Where Point No.1 is true, the First Timers, ladies, wives, grads, would prefer to buy brandnew MyVi, Viva, Saga, Vios J at over 50-70k rather than 5-10 years old WELL-KEPT 1st gen City, Jazz, Corolla, Sentra, Waja at 20-40k. What’s wrong with 35k first-gen City?

(3) What’s wrong with 2nd hand cars? “2nd-hand car not cool la. Better new…”
    First owners might sell their cars due to upgrading, ie. From 5-seater to MPV, or just simply change car because they can afford to change (salary increased, more stable take-home income, after 5-10 yrs working) etc. So those cars are still good. Nuthing wrong with the car.

(4) Perception that previous owner of that very car is irresponsible. Cars not taken care of, not serviced well, changed parts to a non-original parts, thus the car is not original anymore. Worst still, cars have met with a fatal accident where people died in that car, then cut & paste a.k.a sambung the car. Come on la. Buruk-buruk Puspakom, they won’t sambung car.

(5) Mentality of “high-mileage / low-mileage”.
    High mileage does not mean bad, low-mileage doesn’t mean good. We’ve to educate consumers that cars which don’t move, started only once a week, is very good? I’ve 1 Modenas Kriss 110 bought in Feb ’09 (3yrs 2m old) just clock only 152km. Anybody want to buy? I hate myself very much to allow the chain & sprocket become rusty coz it’s really really not used!! Is that good?

(6) And to be fair to future car owner, take care of our cars.
    Service it to be as tip-top and “as new” conditions while we’re still owning it, keep all the servicing & parts receipts in a file, be responsible while owning it, so when time comes to sell it, the new owner won’t get rotten apple. And trust me, we can sell our cars at higher price, because I just did it! And the ‘feel good’ that somebody is taking care our beloved car after change hand.

(7) When these cycle continues, less people would need “new cars”. When less demand for new cars, then gradually new cars price will drop.

• ohhh maybe this is why i only kena interest at 2.9% when buying the saga flx comparing to 4% interest when i bought viva 3 years ago.

good move bnm, tightens the regulation but lower the interest.low risk ma…

• I wonder why always when there is a new car launching event, sure we can see politician’s disturbing shadow. As I am seeing one hooligan in the photo. Why cant they leave automobile industry alone and let them have a fair competition. Whenever Merc or BMW launching new cars, I dont see Chancelor Merkel involving also.. I hope politician can keep their politics away from car industries..

• +1 for BNM.

the fact that our country public transportation is very bad and most of the commuters have to use cars, PERODUA are milking that issue by selling overpriced compact cars. Fresh graduates have no choice, either get a car or they are at a disadvantage at getting jobs or arrive on time for work.

not to mention the way the intereset/7/9 years eat away those fresh graduates income, ptptn, ron 95 at 1.90. tolls. credit cards.

so please, stop gawking at that HUGE margin of yours (yes we know) and start reducing those prices if you want to stay competitive.

• Hanif on May 06, 2012 at 12:06 am

Design kali ini lebih menarik dan memenuhi citarasa pelanggan