Volkswagen Polo Sedan launched – RM99,888

UPDATE: Studio photos added to the gallery

It’s time to end all speculation you have about the Volkswagen Polo Sedan, because it has been launched, just over an hour ago. The first thing that’s on your mind now is the price, which you will find at the end of this post. Go ahead, scroll down, I’ll wait. Back? Good.

The Polo Sedan is billed to be the affordable Volkswagen, and to an extent, the most affordable German car this corner of the world. It’s made in India, and plans for CKDs will depend on market demand.

On the outside, the car comes with chrome finishing on the front grille and on the front air-dam, trunk and fog light surrounds, and there’s also height adjustable halogen headlights as well as green-tinted heat-absorbing glass. It wears 15-inch alloy wheels and comes in six colours – Candy White, Flash Red, Terra Beige, Shadow Blue, Reflex Silver and Deep Black.

There are also chrome accents on the inside, as the Polo Sedan comes with an interior chrome package (chrome surrounds for light switches, AC vents, steering wheel accent, handbrake level knob and gearshift). As expected, there’s a fair bit of leather about, and that can be found wrapped around the steering wheel, gearshift knob, handbrake lever and gearshift boot.

The seats are wrapped in ‘Metric’ fabric seat upholstery. Completing the salient equipment list are one-touch powered windows for all four windows, multi-function display, music player hooked to four speakers and rear doors with storage pockets.

In terms of safety, the vehicle is outfitted with four airbags (two at the front and two at the sides), electronic Brake Pressure Distribution (EBD) and pinch-guard for all four windows. There’s also an Intelligent Crash Response System, or ICRS, that automatically unlocks your doors and turns on the hazard lights in case of accidents.

At the heart of the Polo Sedan is a 1.6 litre MPI naturally-aspirated engine, which generates 105 PS and 153 Nm of torque. It completes the 0-100 km/h sprint in 12.3 seconds and has a top speed of 183 km/h. As for fuel efficiency, the Polo Sedan does 6.5 l per 100 km. Paired with the engine is a six-speed torque-converter automatic transmission.

The price that Volkswagen is asking for a Polo Sedan is RM99,888, without registration and insurance.

The story does not end here, of course. There will be more to digest in our first-impressions drive of the Polo Sedan, coming soon.

[scribd id=90185405 key=key-k3i0wsj8kso628717lw mode=list]

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Disappointment on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:13 pm

Boring interior……

• David on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:43 pm

interior really sucks ..even happen to POLO or Golf….

• alldisc on Apr 20, 2012 at 9:08 am

i am more than happy to fork out another 6K and get corolla altis 1.6

both cars have 1.6 engine, EFI, 16V,

both cars automatic, even though altis has 4 speeder compare to Polo’s 6 speed auto (not DSG) but both cars still have 1st gear, and overdrive ratio for economy.

polo has 4 airbags but with a wheelbase similar to a vios in B-segment, it is definitely smaller than altis which has the widest cabin in C-class segment.

i must agree though buyers will be spoilt for choices at this price segment. they also have chevy cruze, kia forte and mazda 3 1.6 to compete. or join the mainstream and buy a vios. or a honda city.

or save themselves 25K and buy a preve instead.

in brakes department, both have ABS and EBD but does the polo sedan has rear disc brakes? i am not so sure but the altis does.

VW salesman / fanboys, welcome to thumb down – others thumbs up!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
        • sick&tired on Apr 20, 2012 at 9:28 am

the only thing the altis got going for it its the fact that its bigger! other than that the polo sedan is a much better proposition.

regarding the price, blame our ridiculously high taxes, not Volkswagen .

• err.. what kind or tax? i think better for you to say hello to Toyota’s greedy distributors..

• Seriously on Apr 20, 2012 at 3:26 pm

I’m giving you a thumbs down not because I’m a fan of VW, but because youre a douchebag, to claim/label that the only people that are going to give you a thumbs down is someone who likes VW. And everyone else would/has to give you a thumbs up. Really? Is your head really that small?

Obviously you never driven a German car before.

• alldisc on Apr 21, 2012 at 10:28 am

well, i am not alone. look at the thumbs up at my post.

“Only the UNafforables will buy this in the name of buying CONTINENTALS (Indian-continent) at sub-100k price…”

at least, if the polo sedan has the same 1.2TSI and DSG – that will make it a champion. and yes, i worked at VW before and i drove all VW models even on a 500km trip, i am now with a British luxury make with charged V6 and V8 engines and i do know a lot on continental makes.

you’re just doing an assumption and remember ASS is part of the word assume. youre not an ass right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • Seriously on Apr 22, 2012 at 10:52 pm

I love how you still based yourself on ‘likes’ as though it really matters. Shallower than I thought. Well, whatever makes you happy I guess.

“Only the UNafforables will buy this”. I’m truly amazed about how you can keep making these baseless one-size-fit-all claims as though you got the whole world figured out. As though the ONLY reason people will buy this is because they can’t afford a real German car.

It’s an entry level car dude. So what? You’re saying the same reason applies to why people shouldn’t buy the A-class / 1-series because it’s the entry level Merc/BMW, the same reason why people shouldn’t buy VW at all because it’s an entry level to German makes. All because these damn “unaffordables” want to buy something they cannot actually own. Sounds more like a douchebag ASSumption to me.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not happy with the price too. But hey, still the cheapest Germany car to date. And really, think about it… if they wanted the 1.2tsi to be in, obviously it can be done. But there are a lot more factors beside just consumer’s interest that a brand carries on its shoulders, in simple terms easier said than done.

VW Polo Sedan is still a German car. Really, you think Volkswagen would approve and let India make a car on its own without meticulously going through to them first? Germans are one of the most meticulous people on earth. It’s proven. For a person who has worked in VW, you don’t seem familiar to how Germans work.

Ah, the ‘ass’ in assumption. I remember when I was a naive lil boy using that in highshool. To make an assumption is human, it is also known as thinking or making judgement. We make judgement/assumption everyday like which roads to avoid jams, or whether to take an umbrella because it may rain. And in these assumptions you sometimes are wrong but what happens if the assumption you made was right? Do you still consider yourself an ASS? Go figure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 48
          • alldisc on Apr 24, 2012 at 3:42 pm

no need to figure – i can just look at you.

reading at your comments I know you are just a VW fanboy expecting to know everything better than anyone else. there is no point arguing and waste of time responding to a person at you.

if you find it hard to believe, go find a mirror.

:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • Seriously on Apr 25, 2012 at 9:34 am

All my comments are based on building a neutral discussion (that makes you think) with simply logic and understanding but now all you’re doing is like covering your ears and going “lalalala I dont want to hear what you say because I want to be right!”. Well, you just wanted my time too, but I sure know you’d failed in any debate because the only points that are coming out from you is “Ass” and “VW fanboy”. Haha what a ignorant loser, whatever douchebag.

Also, dont try using sarcasm until you actually know how to… cause you’re bad at doing that.

See you around here! Bye :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • alldisc on Apr 25, 2012 at 1:18 pm

well, i guess u really had a look at the mirror.

so youre good at sarcasm is it? owh, for crying out loud.

we were talking about cars when suddenly you started to do personal attacks on me. you know what? you are really cheap to keep coming back here.

why not talk about cars only, rather sarcasm cause that is so childish. should feel shame four yourself. see you around, but please grow up first.

• Seriously on Apr 26, 2012 at 2:51 am

Well, I guess I’m really worth your time that you had to respond back eventhough you said you didnt want to.

“You are really cheap to keep coming back here” Woah, Pot calling the Cattle black!? Your turn to look at the mirror. Guess we’re on the same boat huh?

I’ll admit, I agreed with whatever you said on your very first post, just the last part when you went labelling people VW fanboys etc, which I felt that was uncalled for… really? labeling people who like/dislike your comment? I felt that was pretty childish on my end. (not because I am or I was related to VW, no I am not). That probably prompt me to reply a certain way which led to this. But if you don’t think so then fine, to each his own.

Apologies on my end for wasting both our time. Cheers.

• Well orang kaya-kaya dont care bout all that….cheap n fuel efficient i dont think they care..just look at ur boss, they only care bout company profit

• atleast more solid than Proton/Toyota dashboard

• Potong Pervert on Apr 20, 2012 at 6:43 pm

Protong and Toyota owners quick quick thumb down on you already, hahaha. Pathetic.

• useurbrainmalaysia on Apr 21, 2012 at 1:20 pm

Hiyo, so many Toyota salesman here, saying silly things! Just admit it la, times getting harder for “recall” Thai Toyota cars!

• focus tdci on Apr 20, 2012 at 12:16 am

similar to preve interior with that centre console.

• superman on Apr 20, 2012 at 9:33 am

Have you seen a PREVE? it is much better looking than this. pls talk real

• This is not a real German car,they never sell this thing in Germany so don’t say it’s the most affordable German car,and then pls lower the price !

• We Say on Apr 20, 2012 at 10:31 am

Damn right they don’t sell this is a Germany. Cars like VW Polo Sedan, Toyota Vios, Honda City are developed mainly for developing third world countries and yet the prices are more expensive than C and D-segment cars elsewhere in the world.

• Why B-segment sedans are classified as C-segment cars in Europe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
      • U got it right..point blank!

• Seriously on Apr 20, 2012 at 4:02 pm

Oh don’t kid yourself. If Proton ever made a car just for another country… don’t tell me the people of Malaysia won’t take claim that it is a pure Malaysian car even if it never touched Malaysia’s roads. Just cause you’re not happy with the price, dont go nagging that it is not a German car.

Germans are by far the most meticulous people I know, and really you think VW HQ will allow india to simply create a car under the VW name without meticulously going through them first? Think about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • Storm on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:12 am

For me the rear really looks like cars from the 80’s.

• Yeah, and 100K excluding insurance for this piece of junk from India? I will get a Mazda 3..

• VW Fan No Longer on Apr 20, 2012 at 10:28 am

VW Malaysia always priced their cars without insurance and other misc to gives the illusion that it is somewhat cheaper but this is not the standard practice for a lot of other car manufacturers and I must admit I do not agree with this questionable business strategy whose sole reason is to deceive potential buyers.

As for the car itself, it’s boring looking inside out, low specification and not to mention small. Just look at the interior picture. With 1.6 NA engine, I seriously don’t see how they can priced this any more than RM70,000 but yet they can. With some discount you can buy the Polo 1.2TSI at the same price. Thumbs down to this car fro me.

• Malaysian are not stupid on Apr 20, 2012 at 10:33 am

Why every car manufacturer in Malaysian is trying to rip us off? Are we that stupid?

• PetrolLeg on Apr 20, 2012 at 4:29 pm

Look at it at a different perspective and question why? why cars are so expensive in Malaysia and yet everybody owns one and in some, they have two. It’s a willing buyer and a willing seller. You think a polo 1.2 TSI is cheap? well to some they are, and obviously by setting this price tag, they are targeting to certain income group and not all. Probably to this income group, it has a VW badge and I like it and I can pay, so why not?

• bobberry on Apr 20, 2012 at 7:44 pm

they are not ripping u off. but the stupid govt policy that protecting national cars are the main causes.. the taxes that apply to non national are still damn high. I guess that the polo cost are not more than 60k only.

• THumbKing on Apr 20, 2012 at 12:37 pm

This VW with DSG and TSi is Bang For BUCKS!!! use ur imagination!!

• scania360 on Apr 20, 2012 at 4:06 pm

Hahaha..’superb’ design by WV..european design.. 100% I’ll choose Proton Preve!! Double-Thumbed DOWN WV.. I don’t ever want to spoil my money to this foreign sucks..

• OMG……uncle car….

• At 100k, it is not as cheap as we though previously. So, this is not a threat to Preve after all.

• Tat’s when import duty and other duties come in, or else who is going to buy Proton for 70k+???

• protonnogood on Apr 20, 2012 at 6:25 pm

proton also got tax …. any car get taxed, any country practice tax. only jungle tribe didn’t have tax.

• PetrolLeg on Apr 20, 2012 at 4:25 pm

Well I think it’s a little unfair to comment such, maybe they really wanted to go down affordable to compete in the middle segment cars such as against the Koreans, Proton?, and such, but as we all know there could be some quorum that dictates how much this car should go in order to put up barriers so in certain brands can sell.

• Nice … rather hv this than the Dugong …

• 99,888 is NOT OTR price

and without TSI + DSG this is a rip off. its not even a true german car

but still a better buy compared to top of the line viso. but need to reconsider againts city, forte or preve

• VWsupporter on Apr 20, 2012 at 1:22 am

the price is not sincere enuf to be affordable for Malaysian buyers. the trick behind is to keep the price below 100k by excluding the otr price items so it still looks a gap between polo tsi. it’s definitely not VW wanted selling price but they have no choice… one who bought it pls don’t compare it with india’s price in RM else you might not be a happy owner.

• It’s a lie if I am not the first

• sagaowner on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:17 pm

saga R with turbocharged cfe surely will smoke its ass!

• Statistician on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:18 pm

I wonder how can Proton Preve compete with all these even with Daddy’s protection !

• taboogen on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:37 am

70k loan approval pun hard to get this to add another 20k….
      so there is no competition here lah… its civic and altis territory

• Chris on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:19 pm

(First!)

I wonder how many people would get this over a Proton Preve? Would you pay roughly RM30K – RM40K more for a car that is one segment lower in size and not as well “equipped”? (The Preve is Jetta-sized).

Quality vs. Spec….hmmm

• Chow 1 on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:41 pm

People pay for the logo, and I do think the overall feel is better when driving a VW, just thinking.

• Savvy88 on Apr 20, 2012 at 7:19 am

So what do you get from the logo..pride? at the end, its just a car that carry you from A to B…. with the spec a little bit better than saga. Proton ride and handling if not better is on par to European standard..no kidding,just fact.

• What’s with thinking that a car function only to carry you from A to B. It’s like saying A semi-D is the same to apartment..no my friend, it is not that simple…it is also about ego, image projection, self satisfaction knowing you can afford it….it is not just about logo…it is also about history, racing history, global recognition, culture, engineering. if a car is just to carry you from A to B…then every body should just buy a 1970 Datsun..why bother to buy a new Saga?

• Savvy88 on Apr 20, 2012 at 2:14 pm

Remember..this Polo sedan is B-segment car. so we focus on the segment. If you want pride, ego etc, better take Jetta or Passat. Polo sedan is not suitable to be an image projection as it is the lowest price VW. Remember, VW is not a luxury car manufacturer, it’s a mass-production car company same as toyota, honda,etc.

Why we cannot buy and drive the 1970 Datsun? only one answer: it is not safe anymore to ride in it. insurance company also never want to cover you..
            Cheers ;)

• saukiu on Apr 20, 2012 at 7:56 pm

to be honest i can afford to buy this car.
            talking about pride, image projection, self satisfaction etc..?
            with this kind of spec and price… i ll look stupid if i buy one.

• mystvearn on Apr 20, 2012 at 12:17 am

When I first saw the price, I thought its witchcraft VW manage to get a car below 100K. It could be a competition with the Inspira not Preve-about similar price.

But after reading car details, looking at the spec, nothing much to shout really. This car suddenly makes the Polo on sale very good value if you really need to have a VW badge.

• Common Sen N Ringgit on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:20 pm

It doesn’t matter where this car is made, the fact that it offers so many tech features for this range, makes it an affordable car, by any means. Well done, VW!

• Shinjun on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:20 pm

=( Without turbo. I thought it’ll be at least using back the same 1.2L turbo.

• thanks volkswagen for the price. UMW how about that haa?? kihkihkih

• gapodios on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:21 pm

Torque converter gbox not DSG ka..huh

• alldisc on Apr 22, 2012 at 4:06 pm

no, it is different.

DSG does not uses torque converter. it is more like a manual gearbox, but automated and controlled by ECUs, sensors and actuators but a reliable one.

• fastd on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:21 pm

Preve rival?

• Justice on Apr 20, 2012 at 7:12 am

Nope,Preve direct rival should be the Golf TSi..

• What ??!! You must be kidding !! You just need to check and compare the door of both cars to judge the quality…. and Tsi DSG engine was once World Engine of the year mind you. Pls check your facts..

• Das Motor on Apr 20, 2012 at 3:19 pm

Preve versus Golf? DSG, twin turbo, 7 airbags etc but what’s most important – QUALITY! Pure, unadultered, made in Germany quality!

• guys…he’s being sacarstic la

• saukiu on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:03 pm

haha yes he is kidding la. you can get 2 preve with 1 golf.
          very obsess with VW cannot even make 1 stupid joke … haha

• Andrew on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:22 pm

Expensive

• seancorr on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:22 pm

The price is not too bad considering this is a CBU unit. If demand is strong then CKD is possible and we get a cheaper price…nice.

Did I spot bluetooth handsfree button on the steering wheel?

• dreams on..passat only differ 15k between cbu & ckd..

• At least 30% cheaper (-import tax)

• Typo mistake 20% cheaper for CKD coz only 10% import tax..Check here if u dont believe for non ASEAN manufacture car….India as far as i know not ASEAN n will not get 0% import tax

http://www.maa.org.my/info_duty.htm

• hmmm does this mark the end of Honda’s Insight domination?

• Gabla on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:23 pm

If you are brand concious, this offers a better value than Vios. 6AT shiftronics and 4 airbags are the extra features. No ESC and the power output is quite low but torque is plenty. Still hard to justify over Prevé considering this is from India.

• Apekgoh on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:16 pm

if this polo weights 13xx kg … then susah even torque is low at 3800rpm but a mere 153Nm … tak cukup.

• slimershine on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:23 pm

old school aircond vent and knob..

• drMpower on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:23 pm

the only reason it is 112RM less than 100k is psychological
    why it has to cost this much?
    no tell me the protection. that reason doesnt fit anymore given the fact KIA selling best seller at below 100k, and Peugeot selling european ride for less than 100k WITH better value

dealers profit?

• rosdi on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:33 am

It is not OTR price lah!.. OTR price is 100K++ … because rarely people buy without insurance.

• theanswer on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:24 pm

direct competitor to honda city and altis 1.6.

• @8250rpm on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:24 pm

High torque low hp….good for city driving n good fuel consumption….
    No stick shift?? Price is expected but not cheap….highest spec vios trd is 92, so it only makes sense its gonna be more than 95k..,with insurance its going to be 103k….breached the century mark…

• Zoechan on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:24 pm

FIRST!!! I like Polo!!!

• Karim on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:25 pm

haha…wooww 99888 without insurance and registration..yess most affordable vw

• review pls… =)

• anti-vios on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:26 pm

polo sedan affordable??? nope!!!

• fatihablack on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:26 pm

pricey….I would prefer preve rather than this car if proton have improved it’s quality..

• Anak jati johor on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:46 am

Ketinggalan zaman laa kau nie…nak improved apa lagi…selama nie aku pakai gent 2 pun tak ada masalah…dr 2006 smpai skrng..setakat kecik2 tu biasa laa…abg aku pakai H pun ada problem…kau guna kereta apa?kalau pakai BMW atau Merz aku surrender…

• Polo is a good buy if u afford to pay. owned ford fiesta mseedan n now like to replace my troublemaker Gen2. Prive looks good but still Pronton lah..aouchh

• Saravanan Sambad on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:26 pm

Looking forward for a test drive review!! :)

• bleed on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:27 pm

baik beli preve
    *flameshield up*

• peYno on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:29 pm

Preve dashboard n interior nicer than POLO..

• alldisc on Apr 20, 2012 at 10:35 am

both bad, but yes.. preve is nicer. jazz hybrid at 85K is 3 times better looking though.

• natalie on Apr 20, 2012 at 3:20 pm

Egads!! Jazz looks like somebody cut off it’s back and sewed it back up again.

• it look like proton saga…

• driver on Apr 20, 2012 at 2:20 am

they’re in the same class anyway.. except the high price of polo.. and 4speed auto of saga.

• Donkey Kong on Apr 20, 2012 at 4:39 am

Saga is no longer using 4-speed auto box, did you get ripped off by your dealer?

• rosdi on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:32 am

Saga CVT lah.. mana ada 4speed lagi… here I copied someone compare Polo vs Saga FLX SE.

Polo Sedan vs Saga FLX SE 1.6:

-6-speed torque-converter vs 6-speed CVT transmission,
        -fabric seat vs leather seat
        -105ps/153nm vs 108ps/150nm
        -4 airbags vs 2 airbags
        -RM 99,888 without insurance vs RM49,990 with insurance
        -German quality vs Malaysian quality?????

• tokey insuran on Apr 20, 2012 at 9:50 am

U miss one more thing:
          -Made in India vs Made in Malaysia

• peter_pj on Apr 20, 2012 at 11:00 am

If you check out the interior layout, almost the same also
          – square air-cond vents vs round air-cond vents
          – chrome package vs no chrome
          – steering wheel, gearshift knob, handbrake lever and gearshift book(?) vs steering wheel (not sure if FLX SE has leather gearshift)

• superman on Apr 20, 2012 at 9:36 am

yes SAGA in 1995

• Hatchback POLO still look better than sedan :)

• VWfan on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:31 pm

I was at the launch, and i thought they said RM98,888, or did i hear wrong?

• Nuffsaid on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:27 pm

We know you couldn’t hear properly. Now we also know you can’t read appropriately.

• VW Polio on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:31 pm

Good job VW Malaysia in bringing in the polo sedan aka vento. However, it should be even cheaper if it is CKD in Pekan. Who wants to buy the first batches for a higher price only to find the lower price version launched later?

• Okay, let me see. In India, they convert cars without boot into sedan. And in china, they convert sedan into mini limo.

• souless_soul on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:32 pm

chris, no need to scroll down….the price is in the topic :)

psst…’alloy’ rims….not allow…..

• Chris Ng for Parliment Speaker on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:32 pm

RM 100 K for such a basic spec ! Aiiiiii, I will just go and find a decent 1.5 or 1.6 litre from a second hand car dealer la ……..

• The rear looks like Saga BLM.. sure many will thumb down mine comment

• Donkey Kong on Apr 20, 2012 at 4:42 am

Not only does the rear look like Saga BLM, even the size is similar to Saga BLM and Vios. The engine output is comparable to Campro 1.6 only.

• hanifhamzah on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:35 pm

the rear part looks quite similar to Saga BLM…

• David D on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:35 pm

Whoa, that’s alot of money to pay for what’s plainly a B-segment car, what more when some C-segment cars can be had for that sort of money.

That aside, well, compared to the usual Vios, maybe it could be justifiable, considering the fact that it’s imported rather than assembled here, and has some extra kit that i feel is important, those side airbags especially.

• look nice..

• WhatTheFuzz on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:37 pm

What?! No TSI? BOO!

• bugger on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:37 pm

-engine lack of punch
    -interior sux
    -design outdated
    -lack modern features

but the good thing…it is nice for uncles & aunties hahaha

• Carmaniac on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:38 pm

Overpriced german saga blm.

• thebugbud on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:38 pm

sad story… the same car in India is selling at RM50k+ and our country slap the tax up to almost RM100k.

Good car but unfortunately…

• Why dont u compare food price….my boss from india said malaysia cheaper. His friend get source of second hand laptop from malaysia coz it cheaper. He said fuel in malaysia way-way cheaper. But i dont like him coz he is backstaber n anoying

• Way overprice. Will never make CKD.

• Sukasuki on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:38 pm

Nice…..price…..wow……

• Rsbter on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:39 pm

Polo vs preve which one you take?

• De Neiro on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:52 pm

If you ask typical Malaysia people they will choose Preve bcoz of the price (even still expensive being a so-called National Car with govn protection) & pretended patriotisme.
      But if you ask cars’s lover & enthusime might as well the Polo as the brand has well proven & established globally while the Preve has yet to be proved

• raven on Apr 20, 2012 at 1:35 am

nope..
        cars’s lover & enthusiast will choose VW Scirocco, Golf GTI or Polo GTI..
        they dont choose this piece of sh*t…!!!

but if u asked them to choose between this car and preve..
        they will definitely take preve! no doubt..

only ‘brand’ lover and car idiot will take this Polo Sedan..
        … and some of GTI-fanz wanabe of course..

• agreed, as a golf owner….will surely choose the preve over this, esp the turbocharged preve

• fraz006 on Apr 20, 2012 at 1:36 am

preve does not suck, people buy coz of the value for money la.

it is obvious, PREVE…

and who says VW reliability does not suck? go to oversea VW forum u ll know what i mean.

stop complaining about tax. u cant do nothing other than vote them out. and preve also taxed quite high.

• rosdi on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:38 am

Given the two choice, car’s lover & enthusiast will choose Preve since the performance is way better than the Polo. Those who choose Polo over Preve is only for the logo.

• raven on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:58 pm

preve…

• Alex259 on Apr 20, 2012 at 1:49 pm

Why don’t you compare this car with 90k Vios or City, and you will find which is better !!

• SGBLM on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:40 pm

On Paul’s previous post bout this car, someone already commented that if you have enuff money to spare, might as well go for Polo Hatch since cheaper road tax and insurance, but comparable torque to a 1.6 NA version …

• Disappointment on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:43 pm

Boring interior…..

• RM100K, but only fabric seats, for a German car originating from India (BTW, India is a low cost manufacturing hub!). I think Malaysians are being ripped off by the various car companies.

• I hate VW Malaysia on Apr 20, 2012 at 3:36 pm

Malaysians are also being ripped off by those big boot sedans (such as ugly Vios, City and Polo sedan and fake 207 sedan)…

• Felix on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:47 pm

First blood, nice~!

• protonowner on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:48 pm

the dash look so boring laaa and about the price of mazda 3 ckd….

• Savvy88 on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:50 pm

Polo Sedan vs Saga FLX SE 1.6:

-6-speed torque-converter vs 6-speed CVT transmission,
    -fabric seat vs leather seat
    -105ps/153nm vs 108ps/150nm
    -4 airbags vs 2 airbags
    -RM 99,888 without insurance vs RM49,990 with insurance
    -German quality vs Malaysian quality?????

• Taguchi, Masayuki on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:53 pm

german.anytime.anyday.

• fraz006 on Apr 20, 2012 at 1:40 am

if ur aim is to reduce as much loss as possible (well, car is liability, of course), take saga.

why?

polo fuel consumption better, service less frequent and whatever2 still cant beat how low you lose money using saga. it is mainly bcoz of polo initial price is like sky high.

people brag about fuel consumption low , 2nd hand percentage value high, but they never calculate total money lost using imports. it surely higher than local. this is one I am really positive about.

• rosdi on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:45 am

Saga service interval is 10,000km, Polo? 15,000km right? Now the service cost for VW is a bit more expensive compared to Proton. Now factor in the also the initial car price, the Polo is more than double the Saga price…

I believe in the long run, including the depreciation value and whatnot, Saga still saves money.

• theanswer on Apr 20, 2012 at 10:54 am

stated in service handbook 10000km..but sc give 5000km oil…hahahah. end up i service my car outside using fully synt.

• exactly. With the extra 50k saved from buying a Polo, that 50k can pay for Ron97 at RM3/litre (i saja2 make it expensive) for about 8 years if i pump in RM500 per month worth of fuel. Or use as down payment for a house. Or go travel to europe. Or open a business. Or buy a superbike. Or bla bla bla

The only extra thing u get from the polo for me is the airbag and better materials for the interior. And maybe a smoother engine. But is it worth 50k for that? Might as well get an Inspira or Forte

• VW is sexy and you know it….

• Vincent Ang on Apr 20, 2012 at 6:24 pm

If the Polo is sexy than a drug addict half twit Mak Nyah with tissue paper tits should also be called sexy.

• erm… german brand but indian quality ?

• not german quality but india quality

• '76 Hemi Barracuda on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:50 am

Man, I want thumbs you UP thousand times! but allow only once…
      You’re great man..don’t care about other typical Malaysian thinker bro….

• PakAbu on Apr 20, 2012 at 10:37 am

Now, that’s a good comparative summary.
      :mrgreen:

• Suhardi Bersih on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:50 pm

The ‘Metric’ fabric seat is kinda turn off for me. And I think my BMW E90 320i is better than this made-in-India product.

• Iylia H on Apr 20, 2012 at 3:59 am

way to go captain obvious.. comparing a car from different segment and different price bracket.

• fraz006 on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:51 pm

i cant… and i don fell want to

• buduk on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:52 pm

I’d choose this over vios.

• Poorly-rated man on Apr 21, 2012 at 5:45 pm

Only Bodohman will buy a VW Polo sedan, a Toyota Vios, a Honda City, a Mazda 2 Sedan, a Peugeot 207 Sedan or a Ford Fiesta Sedan. They are way TOO BIG for a typical B-segment car, and is roughly the size of a C-segment car.

• Don’t need to scroll down to end of post for price – it’s at the top, at the post title.

• Yoyo,

I bet some Proton haters will buy this crap over Preve just bcz of VW badge and the pride of driving a foreign car to proof to the rest of the world you have made in life.
    The 15″ alloy wheels are hideous.
    VW cut a lot of cost to make this car affordable after tax.
    Those intending to buy thinking this particular VW will make you look cool or successful better think twice.
    This aint a VW Scirocco or GTI R32
    It’s a cheap VW Polo made for developing countries like India & Msia.
    If you have RM100K budget best to get a Korean or Japanese car la haters.

• rosdi on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:47 am

Get Preve, and save the extra 30k in unit trust or put downpayment for a house, hehe.

• Unforgiven on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:56 pm

Those cars lover and non crony, will definitely wish the man to go to hell asap, so that we are able to enjoy a fair price. Indirectly creating advantages and sending free money into someone pocket will not work for long, time will tell.

• gtx460 on Apr 19, 2012 at 10:57 pm

plain interior, as expected. nothing to be “huu haa” about. decent looking exterior though, credit to that. addition of drl would make the look more astonishing (in my opinion though, :D ). engine wise 6.5l/100km (combined) is interesting. looking forward on test drive review for other details :D

as proton really start to play things globally, they should and must make this car as benchmark as how well equipped an entry lvl car should have or at least what a car should have.

price wise without tax around 44k. saga without tax? around 23k. imagine what else they can put into saga with the extra 21k (safety, accessories, etc). to be global safety is no longer something you guys can neglect anymore.

25 years is more than enough.

• Chelsea1-0Barca on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:34 pm

Saga without tax 23K???

• raven on Apr 20, 2012 at 1:10 am

actually,
      the basic polo sedan (vento) without tax is around RM41K++
      and the executive FLX (full spec) without tax is around RM28K++

let’s make a comparison:

EXECUTIVE FLX 1.6 ———————- vs –BASIC VW VENTO 1.6 (aka POLO SEDAN)
      RM 28k++ (w/o tax) ————————vs– RM41K++ (w/o tax)
      Steering wheel with audio switches –vs– NO
      Reverse sensor —————————-vs– NO
      Side mirrors with LED turn signal —–vs– NO
      Leather Seats ——————————-vs– NO
      Fog Lights ———————————–vs– NO
      Alloy Wheels (15″) ————————-vs– NO
      Radio CD/ MP3/ USB/ Aux player ——vs– NO (not even a radio)
      Anti-Lock Braking System —————vs– NO
      Dual SRS Airbags ————————-vs– NO
      Seatbelt pre-tensioner ——————–vs– NO
      Electronic brakeforce distribution ——vs– NO
      Full bodykit ———————————–vs– NO
      First aid kit ———————————–vs– NO
      Safety triangle ——————————-vs– NO
      Luggage tray ———————————vs– NO
      Door visor ————————————-vs– NO
      Multipurpose container ——————–vs– NO

wow…
      u decide!

• gtx460 on Apr 20, 2012 at 3:11 am

i was just trying to convey the message of how a basic car should look like, and just putting up the assumption of what extra features can be add if we are to compare the basic price between both cars. Even though i do know what i am saying here wont even be heard by them, well at least if any of Proton people who accidentally read this can convey this to their higher ups.

if really want to compare between those two ( Saga flx vs this Polo sedan) it will be unfair. why? you take top-of-the-notch-model-in-its-league by proton against this polo. how about if we are to take the basic saga 1.3 that is still on sale now?

as i stated before, i am comparing based on entry lvl car. Proton’s entry lvl car? Saga 1.3. VW Malaysia? this Polo. this explain why in my comparison, Saga’s price is 23k, not 28k.

Spec wise? go compare what a 1.3 Saga offer then compare to this Polo :D

all those spec that you listed would be great if even the cheapest variant of saga can also have it, enough with the discrimination of spec between variants especially in term of safety. Accessories not that relevant, i.e. having a gps in your car does not help absorb any impact in case of accident.

i think it is about time we all able to enjoy a true car by proton right? :D

These are just my suggestions….it is wise for proton to start things serious now. after all, they are the one who want to be on par with other global players :D

and yes, i do want to see them succeed in that :D

• raven on Apr 20, 2012 at 10:32 am

i deeply understand u sir..

actually i was hacking yur comment so i can shared some info with u guys..
          thatz all..

sorry 4 that! :-)

• I luv ur info…proton bashers shud hv known all these facts

• Macam nilah….ask yourself…kalau bagi free samada Saga FLX atau Polo sedan ni…put side by side….and you can only choose one only…would you pick Saga?

• UntitleD on Apr 22, 2012 at 3:21 am

If you put it that way, I would still choose saga flx over this particular polo :P

• true bro

• DAFUQ on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:04 pm

TOP SPEED 183KM/H? OUT OF 240KM/H SHOWN ON THE DASHBOARD? DAFAQ…

• Savvy88 on Apr 20, 2012 at 7:12 am

in case if you want to add turbo..haha.. same goes to saga flx se. 240km/h max

• eh why the difference in spelling? Ur nick is dafuq, but ur comment says dafaq? be consistent, BRO!

• thebugbud on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:06 pm

sad story!! India is selling this at RM50k+ and gov put up tax and all up to almost RM100k.

In fact, I’m just back from India and had a ride on a suzuki swift sedan. had 160k mileage and i was tell my friend, hey you know the difference?

No rattling. BTW, India road condition is really bad and you will be lucky to find a smooth piece of road.

Guess what, my wife saga blm in less than 1 year.. everything loose, glove box handle broken, both rear brake pump jam.

I have to say, proton made great cars.. I love the driving dynamics but.. so much of this protection, proton is getting lousy parts from local suppliers.

Free proton and let them have free competition with freedom of suppliers. Do not restrict them and proton will go even further.

• bagileduit on Apr 20, 2012 at 1:35 am

erm, proton is oredi free.. bought over by a multinational/conglomerate.. not sure about protectionism, though.

• Anti turbo on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:12 am

i feel you bro…my SAGA less than 4 years..already half condemn…. the mechanics have no idea how to fix it… PROTON quality..still has a long way to go… don think the mechanics is too keen to learn new skills….

• thats the problem. I dont know why do they keep using the same vendors who are supplying crappy parts. And proton also to be blamed la, why they didnt check the car properly before delivering to customer?

• alberttee on Apr 20, 2012 at 3:21 pm

I totally agree with thebugbud said;any affordable car come to malaysia and always tend to become a unaffordable car .and many malaysian used to compare the high tax car with our local kampong car .quality is a major problem no matter you said the car have many facility just like china local car. wake up pls, government!!

• At least its guaranteed most of the accessories e.g. power windows etc will still work after 3 months.

• Savvy88 on Apr 20, 2012 at 7:29 am

we never can guaranty human-made thing will got no problem after certain period. that’s why there is something called warranty.

• cmon bro, this is getting old. All the proton i have used, power window works until they are being sold. Except for my neo, where the rubber inside the door got hard. And guess what? the SC just spray something like wd40 and voila, works perfectly again. And that is after 3 years.

• BoLiao on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:06 pm

No TSi?DSG? this car is camparable to 1.6 Saga Flx Se la..

• Costwise on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:19 pm

Leveraging on its German marque too far!

• Conti driver on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:27 pm

Most affordable VW but my 207 SV is the most affordable european. Its has more power and torque too.

Maybe should give VW brand to Nasim (minus the sales and aftersales team)

• Sidelli™ on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:29 pm

Look like saga fl..

• Car Driver on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:29 pm

I was in PJ office showroom when it was launched about 8.20pm. Treated well with a door gift and light dinner. There was a ‘live’ of the launch on NTV although only briefly. I found the the interior is not as fancy as some cars but the built quality from India is suprisngly very good.
    The glove compartment beats Preve by ‘a mile’. The doors closes nicely and the doors looks solid. At 2550 wheelbase the back seat leg room is suprisingly much bigger than the Preve (2650) by 2 inches. I guess this has to do with the design of the dashboard and the front seat.
    However not so happy with the sound of car radio. The sound comes out is not good. A lot of noises. Not so sure whether this is cause by poor reception.
    The boot is good at 454 litres with a bigger opening than most cars.
    The plus points are the spare typre is 14″ steel rim tyres is better than some cars with small tyres and some with only ‘repair kit’.
    A lot of viewers are attracted to the round shape engine ‘coolant’ container at the engine bay. Something not common and some say ‘cute’.
    Again the oil filter jutting out from engine and easily accessible makes many commented we can DIY in changing the oil filters.
    The battery attracted me the most as it is covered and protected by some sort of fabric covers. Something I have never seen before. The engine has a lot of room. An indication that there are room for a TSI and DSG.
    There is an absent of a ‘Ink relay’ box but many connectors are join to the I think ‘Positive’ electrode of the battery. Meaning changing the battery is no easy task. Have to be careful.
    I like the Aluminium RiM with the flowery shape nuts that hold it. I think not easy to steal if you do not have the right spanar. The VW logo again impresses with its majestic shape.
    The tyre for the display unit is “APOLLO’ made in India. Again a minus point. I was told wrongly this car is CKD and locally assembled in Pekan and parts are from Russia.
    I met a retiree who wanted to buy this car for her daughter. He was expecting the Price 80+ but would also book if the price is 90k. I was expecting 80k. He left when he heard the price is 100k.
    This is not an affordable car and ‘the peoples’ car at 100k. Wrong marketing and pricing.
    I think for this price this car will only be enjoyed by ‘Wagen’ enthusiast who has strong passion for the VW car.

• ryuki on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:04 am

Not a peoples car.
      Doing it in a resort does not show. a peoples mindset.
      If you want to show sincerity for the people, should have scrapped the ultra luxury place, which the vw bosses are enjoying.
      Take the cost of the money , which costs millions for a 5min show and spread the money out to the first !00 cust. Who booked the polo sedan.
      Now that is for the people….
      VW, m’sian are not stupid and we are not desperate enuf to get a vw.
      My fren bought a sharan for quarter million but it came with the missing key less entry. It was a factory mistake I guess, but was compensated for a mere rm 2,000 which I think the value shud be rm20,000.got shortchanged by vw msia Ricky tay

• adzim on Apr 20, 2012 at 2:19 pm

no you are wrong, people will go for at least the POLO hatchback if they has strong passion for VW car. VW enthusiasist will not even consider to buy this car due to crappy engine + interior.

• De Neiro on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:30 pm

Design: The Korean has outclassed most of the car with their Fluidic Sculture Master-piece
    Quality: Any 5years warranty,300,000km?
    Performance: Let the statistic do the talk
    After Sales: Must be better than H&T center? (Forget about lousy Proton service center)
    Price: Off course la non-local car,govn play the role to make it expensive. Yet still the so-called local car over-price except for import (yela,you jual expensive out-thre sure become another low-segmen taxi)

• protonnogood on Apr 20, 2012 at 7:01 pm

Design: The Korean has outclassed most of the car with their Fluidic Sculture Master-piece where you got the fact chico? some proton SC okay. …why blame gomen. gomen is us. we dont want our money go to korea all the time.

• ryuki on Apr 20, 2012 at 11:12 pm

Fren, the korean design that you are proud of comes from a german guy name Peter Scheyer, he was ex design head of volkswagen… love his work

• Chow 1 on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:38 pm

When can Malaysians escape the nightmare of paying so much for a plain car? Even though is a desirable logo. Earn more money guys! Malaysia boleh!

• chris on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:40 pm

the outlooks look like proton saga. should i call it as ‘Polo Saga’? i stayed at Beijing more than 3 years, everywhere i c is VW. why? because VW is CHEAP CAR brand. only malaysian treat VW as luxury brand, what a great joke!!!

• China people are rich that’s why u can see VW r everywhere !

• ryuki on Apr 20, 2012 at 11:36 pm

If I may correct you… china people are rich,they are just gullible and easily fooled by brand hype. They are trained by the ideology if goverment say buy they buy. They are easily fooled by the granduer and big hype, which is full hot air.
        If you notice those four people on stage are not malaysian. They all come from china. So may be they are applying the same tactic in china? because if they can fool thepeople in china ? for sure they can fool the chinese in malaysia…

• driver on Apr 20, 2012 at 2:24 am

Exactly! their history is to make cheap and affordable car for the people.. and now the spirit is not even close to their name. VW is not the only manufacturer to be blamed, others as in the same boat as well. This is due to Malaysian mentality who really likes to equate outside produce as better, always better regardless.

Sad.

• Nop…malaysian mentality came from local manufacturer it self. They produce bad car/item than how in world that Malaysian not to equate outside product better! Malaysian also learn that good product produced is for export.

• burung on Apr 20, 2012 at 6:51 am

VW Santana eh? :)

• absolutely agree….Proton bashers are mostly katak bawah tempurung

• you know what? on Apr 20, 2012 at 9:29 am

Lots of technical problems happening in VW products were not revealed and received by most car lovers.
      Just do simple calculation:with such fast expanding of business,by bringing in so many models,are you sure you capable of handling all the stocks when problem arises.
      Any QC to show all SC has adequate trained man power?
      We as consumer and end user probably will bear all the consequence-long waiting list for services and repair work.
      worst of all, no proper trouble shooting with real professionalism could be provided-how many types of car could be learn in detail and know in depth for SC service man, in such a short time.
      Mass production for sure compromise quality-not only in car industry,it happens to professional field as well.
      Just see what quality of Doctors,lawyers,pilots we are producing in mass.
      The people will ultimately suffer as end user.
      The same strategy was adopted to siphon money with no bearing on responsibility.
      If you think we malaysian deserve better quality car,better quality medical services,better air traveling experience,we have to do something right for us,for the nation and the next generation.
      Choose wisely from VW to next GE13.

• Coz they r rich so you can see VW r everywhere !

• chris on Apr 21, 2012 at 1:10 am

The Chinese consumers who purchase VW are mainly low income or middle class level, as VW labels itself as cheap car manufacturer which is the first automotive manufacturer set up in China mainland, just like its Chinese translated name ‘Da Zhong’, which means general people’s car, thus the price range are mostly accepted by low-income and middle class.

But when VW comes to Malaysia, it turns out another story, only Malaysian who never stays abroad might get cheated. Some even refer VW as premium brand, that’s the greatest joke that i ever heard of. VW mainly served as Taxi at some area in China mainland, due to its cheaper price range. Wake up, Malaysian!!

• Kelvin on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:41 pm

Hows the maintainence and parts? I dont think is affordable

• Actually more affordable than other cars. You only service every 15K mileage.

• Might as well throw in a nearly RM10000 and get the Polo Hatchback 1.2 TSI. Pay an extra RM10k for a better fuel consumption, DSG 7 speed gearbox, TSI engine, lower road tax rate, higher torque and a faster 0-100kmh time. The only drawback that the hatchback has compared to the sedan is the boot space. If boot space does not matter, it is worth it to pay an extra RM10k for all the benefits listed above in my comment.

• If this goes CKD, it is possible to bring down the price to maybe 90k or perhaps lower. Only then it is more worth considering.

• Brahim on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:50 pm

The interior ? walawehh!!! cheap looking everywhere..

• Maybe 10k overpriced (realistically in current market). If priced in the Vios range, could be a real Vios killer.

• fatherq on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:58 pm

thumbs up for elantra with that price =D

• Pororo on Apr 19, 2012 at 11:58 pm

Interior, lg2 part air cond controller, cup holder sebijik macam Saga FL….

• engine spec only 105 HP NA

No DSG

No cruise control

No Ipod Dock

No USB Port

No Bluetooth

No GPS

No push to start button

And it cost you RM 99,888

now tell me who is better at rippin off. only hardcore VW fan will consider this

• burung on Apr 20, 2012 at 6:43 am

Hardcore won’t buy this. Only the UNafforables will buy this in the name of buying CONTINENTALS (Indian-continent) at sub-100k price…

• burung on Apr 20, 2012 at 6:46 am

Hardcore won’t buy this. Only the UNafforables will buy this in the name of buying CONTINENTALS (Indian-continent) at sub-100k price…

(and will proudly write in paultan.org “I’ve a VW under my porch”)

• ryuki on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:14 am

agree.
      They actually misrepresent the polo sedan calling it a german quality.
      Daylight robbery to those who cannot see beyond the brand and look at the real value it gives.
      Basically to strecth your ringgit for the best value regardless of brand

• syntium5000 on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:27 am

one more thing bro…
      i dun have the ESC……

and ya.. its a VW…no body will complaint bout it

• jab fierce strong! on Apr 20, 2012 at 12:06 am

hmm, the Polo Sport Hatchback is a better buy IMO. TSI & DSG rocks! :D

• Black on Apr 20, 2012 at 12:11 am

lg bagus preve’……………

• labah2man on Apr 20, 2012 at 12:16 am

It’s Rm112 less to 100K abd stilk say is affortable? What a joke!
    It’s really disppointed. It’s totally UNAFFORTABLE for the avegare income Malaysian. The same old story. While the people in India and even Thailand can easily affort this car, we the good Malaysia citizen have to pay extra for this. How long do we have to suffer??

• raven on Apr 20, 2012 at 2:05 am

sir
      of course la this one is expensive, bcoz it’s CBU!!!!
      if CKD, a little bit cheaper lor.. maybe RM85,888..

if local sourcing parts (80%) maybe it can be roll at RM65,888..
      if slap on NAZA batch maybe can sell at RM55,888.. hehee..

1 thing u need to know, even national cars also got to pay local taxes (75% excise duty + 10% sales duty)..

• i_swear on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:17 am

85K, 65K, 55K? In your dreams lar, In Malaysia, if you slap Inokom badge also not that cheap. If you slap Volkswagen, the price will rise so high.

You expect CKD will cheaper 10K as like Passat lor

• Faizul on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:35 am

don’t be so dissapointed larr. at this price why not go for toyota vios j type if you want affordability. but if you want litlle extra at more or less vios j type price.go for preve. still can’t afford then go for saga.. at 48k u can get 1.6 engine with cvt and two airbags and leather seat…but if you choose german engineering and built quality.then this is the price they are asking for.

• german engineering and built quality? this car don’t even exist in germany. its meant for 3rd world countries

and here its a ‘premium’ car

• dasvolks on Apr 20, 2012 at 12:25 am

RM99888 without registration and insurance??
    Clearly, das auto is NOT a people’s car.

• Savvy88 on Apr 20, 2012 at 7:35 am

If not a people’s car, so what car instead…Alien car?

honestly i’m not agree “people’ term is referred to the low-middle incomers. why? is it the rich man in malaysia is not considered as people (rakyat) also?

• i_swear on Apr 20, 2012 at 11:06 am

Yes but somehow you misunderstood his meaning and since when he meant aliens car.

“A people is a plurality of persons considered as a whole, as in an ethnic group or nation”

So for that price you only can target those certain group as you mentioned called “rich people”.

So what dasvolks meant is Not a people’s car but RICH PEOPLE’S CAR.

• Wish it had the 1.2tsi and price not so steep. Maybe around rm89,999

• silver on Apr 20, 2012 at 12:33 am

this is what i call bare minimum design.. but from car that is design as a hatch it looks quite nice in sedan form cant say so for most of its competitor. pricing wise its abit on the high side. around 89k would be nice

• The Enthusiast on Apr 20, 2012 at 12:40 am

At least VGM was not lying. It is the cheapest VW in their offering. But for the specs and the looks, you’re better off spending RM100k on other cars or better off buying a Polo instead. In fact, Fiesta and Forte are closely-equipped to Polo sedan yet cost much lesser than this.

Obviously this car is not to compete against Preve or Saga but instead against other non-national cars. You want Proton, buy a Preve. You don’t want a Proton, I seriously suggest to look at other cars besides this overpriced car.

• fortminor on Apr 20, 2012 at 12:44 am

Hmm.

Polo sedan- VW badge, so-so exterior looks, spartan interior, N/A engine, made in India.
    I think Prius C would make a better choice at this price. same class, better FC, minus the boot. Any counter arguments?

What about other options:

Forte- Cheaper, roomier,same or higher engine displacement, better interior and exterior design. So-so resale value

Inspira- Cheaper, roomier, higher engine displacement, better interior and exterior design. It’s a Proton

Honda city- Good resale value

Toyota vios- Ditto Honda city.

Bottomline, whatever rocks your boat man :)

• Alex259 on Apr 20, 2012 at 1:46 pm

Quality is the most important reason you should consider when buying a car!! Do you think city,vios,prius c, the lousiest quality should compete with VW?? No way!!

• BeemerFreak on Apr 20, 2012 at 12:53 am

The 308 turbo is not far away……Pug anytime

• The real VW is the Golf. In UK I think polo is a cheap runabout. Pug 308 is better.

• gaduwe on Apr 20, 2012 at 1:03 am

i thought it going to to compete with city or vios as they said on tv..on term of price i think i doesnt..it it 100k but vios you can get as low as 72 k and city 85k. that only can be competing with civic or altis but this is 1.6 compare with those car 1.8 and 2.0..but this car is way to good that lowsy vios and city

• JeremyNg on Apr 20, 2012 at 1:10 am

Are you kidding me VW ??!! you call it the most affordable VW ever ??

It don’t even has a TSI and DSG

just get de small little cute 1.2TSI POLO or 308VTI or other car with better spec

• Ash Menon on Apr 20, 2012 at 1:12 am

Das Ripoff.

• gee… y pay more for conti with NA engine … ford fiesta anytime, same 1.6L, 6 spd dualclutch, good handling and cheapr…. |||-_-

• intermilan on Apr 20, 2012 at 1:25 am

Comparing it against another ‘european’ b-segment sedan, which by the way, both of them isn’t exactly european… the peugeot 207.

both looks ok, but the 207 rear-end proportion does look worse.
    equipment-level is pretty much similar but with the polo sedan having 2 more airbags, auto transmission with extra 2 gears, slightly better torque (but lower bhp), steering wheel with telescopic adjustment, height-adjustable front passenger seat, an alarm system, bigger fuel tank capacity (by 5L), front and rear centre armrest, remote opening of boot lid with remote key and; remote opening and closing of windows with key remote.

the 207 meanwhile offer these advantages over polo sedan: auto headlights, auto wipers, Bluetooth, USB & AUX connectivity for the radio, 2 ISOFIX at rear seats and 2 more speakers (tweeters), which i find it hard to believe if Polo sedan don’t have.

That’s all i could find with the time that i had at this late hours.

The catch phrase is, you guess it… the 207 nett selling price (NSP) is RM70,239.00 while the VW Polo Sedan NSP is RM99,888.00. NSP is price of the car only, without insurance, not on the road.

The difference is a HUGE RM29,649.
    That’s RM30,000… RM30K !
    Unbelievable..

207 is CKD while Polo is CBU from India, but I dont think future CKD Polo sedan is going to be cheaper by that difference. At most VW gonna lower the price by RM10K.

Exterior-wise, Polo sedan does look like any current (more expensive) VW, which is a plus point. the 207 looks rather aged and less coherent.

I guess they simply want to market position the Polo sedan as ‘better’ than the rest of B-segment sedan by giving it the highest price (surely among the highest).

Conclusion: This B-segment sedan VW is just too pricey.
    Perhaps that why its gonna sell well.
    Which don’t make proper sense.
    Hope it will not sell very well. Or VW will never going to ever learn.

• bagileduit on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:47 am

207 is actually 206, which is 14 years old.

• Henry Ford the XII on Apr 20, 2012 at 4:04 pm

Signore Intermilan,

You forgot to make comparison with another European B-segment sedan, Ford Fiesta. Ford might be American but both Focus and Fiesta are European breeds..

Just have a look at the specs and price:

http://www.ford.net.my/fiesta/index.asp

• polo1.2TSI on Apr 20, 2012 at 1:32 am

I am polo tsi owner n im not sold with this sedan version of it.. why?

1) Polo TSI can reach max power at 1500 rpm n Sedan needs 3800rpm!
    2) For 100k (10k diff with hatchback TSI), u get a longer car but do you get a feel of a real VW? trust me, with TSI 0-100 for a small car u can get below 10sec!
    3) the boot space for polo is not as small as u tink it is.. the sedan has a ‘longer’ capacity but if u opted to get a VW, why on blue earth u compromise on so many power loss just to get more booth space?? if that’s the case, buy a grand livina which has ample boot-space n seatings..
    4) not to be too judgemental but India like China does not have the sufficient automotive know-hows in comparison to Korea or even Thailand! my friend in the automative industry even thinks India/China is not a place u wanna build cars!

my two-cents worth of tots..

Bug_Lover

• China is currently the world’s largest car manufacturer. India too is a major automotive hub, one among the top five. most electronics (phones, computers, DVD players, toys) are either made in China or in Taiwan. Indian products are robust and durable. Times are changing. China and India are the place where you manufacture and keep your costs low. Move with the times, or be left behind.

• Johnny on Apr 20, 2012 at 10:45 am

The reason why China and India are becoming large car manufacturers is because they are CHEAP! From that, you gotta think quality wise as well.

• BeemerFreak on Apr 20, 2012 at 9:45 am

Agreed that this Polo Sedan is a rip off………

However do not forget Jaguar Land Rover is an indian company and LR actually has a plant in indian with jaguar coming soon, does that mean they still dont have enough know how….even if they build the prestigeous Range Rovers and Freelanders?

And China has been building cars long long time before malaysia, and cars they build there and then in the 60s were VWs and Audis while we were still building bicycles. Wake up it is Malaysia that is very far behind china and india, thailand is still no where near in terms of the 2 giants.

• For those who getting excited, let me remind u, vw is a very high maintainance car. Normal service ( oil change filter labour ) can cost up to rm700. They charge rm68 per liter for engine oil & u need 5 liter per change. Labour is around 180 plus govt tax. This is just the basics. Major service can be up to 2.5k or more. Nothing can be repair everything need to be change with new even the slightest thing. Really not recomended to anyone with take home pay less than 5 figure.

Btw i drive a golf gti n the only thing that i proud off is the performance everything else is just mehh

• meteor on Apr 20, 2012 at 9:21 am

This is what I hpe for when i read comments from PaulTan. I hope commentor in Paul Tan can give comments like what you did. Thumbs up

• bagileduit on Apr 20, 2012 at 1:43 am

total ripoff. Small, slow, plain. Six figure OTR price! Doesn’t even have the standard European kits. Originates from a country where quality control is more questionable than Bolehland. Reminds me of when NAZA/Nasim tried to cheat us with the 206 sedan… how many sold? Come on, Malaysians are smarter now der…

• Audi Owner on Apr 20, 2012 at 1:49 am

With this car spec. is meant for 3rd or 4th world country.But selling it here at this price is a real rip off.How Sad.

• techman on Apr 20, 2012 at 1:54 am

The rear looks like saga… Not the typical VW… Hatchback costs slightly more…

• jalan54 on Apr 20, 2012 at 2:11 am

You know what I think , when I see the title “Volkswagen Polo Sedan launched – RM99,888”. Oh, with this price tag, there must be a turbo direct injection with dsg, but then when I keep reading through the blog, it says 1.6 normal aspirated mpi engine with a 6 speed torque converter gearbox, I couldn’t believe my eyes and I thought that I’ll ready again, but after reading 3 times and I finally confirm that it’s true.

Suddenly this is what I was shouting in my mind. WTF!!! RM100k for an outdated engine and gearbox and some more a B segment car??? I only have 1 thought now, good luck with your sales, VW!

• If all manufacturers are at a level playing field then
    we’ll see the real picture on who is the real champion.
    No use taking pot shots at other manufacturers when
    you are still hiding behind the govt sarong.
    P1 if your think Preve is god’s gift to the world then
    take up this challenge. No more tongkat and see
    if you can sell a million cars a year.
    Don’t be too arrogant and start counting the chics b4 they are hatched
    To over promise and under deliver will bring doom instead of boom to P1.

• u high? on Apr 20, 2012 at 9:08 am

eh bro u high ke? suddenly talk about preve? u got no other point tak bash proton ke? someone already posted both saga flx n polo sedan price n spec before tax. Go figure. With extra 20k, the saga can even put a cfe engine inside if proton wants to do it.

• F Fiesta on Apr 20, 2012 at 2:31 am

Volkswagen sucks this time..For sedan can get Forte abit spacious but with boring driving pleasure and looks.

For this kind of price Ford Fiesta definitely the best of the best.

• I thought it would go head to head with Preve price wise. That would have been interesting. Now it is clearly handicapped. Would be interesting to see if it’ll take to our roads in large numbers as it is priced out of comfort level of most malaysians!

• bongek on Apr 20, 2012 at 2:57 am

ish,,teruknye spec,,,,,kasi spec mahal,taruk 150k lagi bagus aa…

• rmaynk on Apr 20, 2012 at 4:11 am

with the price announced, with the price comparison, with the spec comparison, Preve won over this polo sedan…

You compare against Torque, you compare against Max Speed, Size, Preve won..

With the price approx RM20K++ different, its worth for Preve (unless u feel local car is not pride for u)….

• Business for cronies. 50k car selling at 99k. Wtf
    Vw can produce quality car at 50k. Why cant proton do it?
    Stop the NEP. Nep for lazy pigs.

• Mohd Hafiz on Apr 20, 2012 at 7:04 am

no dsg… still that expensive. come one la

• orange on Apr 20, 2012 at 7:12 am

it not even a real german car !..why some of you are worshiping it !

• yay volkswagen saga finally launched…oh wait at 99k i cant afford it.shit

• If you want to match the RM99888 to buy the TSI+DSG tech can…just drop by VW showroom and ask the SA whether got discount for Polo TSI or not..normally they will give around 4-8k depending on the dealer & you can topup RM10K then you can enjoy the power of Das Auto..it just my 2cent.

• helmi on Apr 20, 2012 at 7:53 am

Pathetic, another 3rd world product for Malaysian, like so many foreigner from 3rd world country around us.

• inderaloka on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:16 am

Proton pun mahal apatah lagi Volkswagen.

• go-all-the-way on Apr 20, 2012 at 1:47 pm

Can’t compare proton with VW; one is people’s car, the other is people’s liability. back to topic – the polo sedan, cheap skate setup. thumb-down from me.

• inderaloka on Apr 20, 2012 at 6:21 pm

Dear friend, I think you have misunderstood. I’m not compare Proton with Volkswagen. I’m talking about Malaysia’s car price which doesn’t make sense. If 100% locally built car is already overpriced, therefore a price for CBU or CKD unit will be much higher.

• arvind on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:22 am

if i m not mistaken 1.2 TSI is equivalent to a 1.6 engine rite?and a NA engine does not require a dual clutch gearbox since the torque is significantly lower.so i guess its not too bad,just that VW Malaysia screwed up the price.well for those who feel its expensive(including me) can just buy a second hand 1 or 2 years later,since got 5 years warranty.

• wilson on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:23 am

External and interior design aren’t impressive or outstanding at all. The only charm I find in VW is TSI and its DSG gearbox. Without them I don’t see anything else that’s attractive.

• _xXx_ on Apr 20, 2012 at 10:26 am

Google “DSG FAILURE” b4 u say it’s attractive. Im a diehard MT supporter coz it never fail….

• /ngeTaRD on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:33 am

the only sane reason people buy this polo sedan is they want to contribute to the government (tax) and banks (interest). this will directly increase nation income toward world powerhouse!!!

• wow can rival wifey’s saga flx se ;P

• Proton Prevé Owner Club. on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:44 am

no build in gps?.. no turbocharger?… weird rear lamp? thanks vw.. u make PREVE more worth then u..

• OVERPRICED.I keep my money in my pocket and banks in their vault…

• Looks like Proton Saga. Interior is boring and plain. Engine is normal NA. Nothing special about this car. Price is ridiculously expensive. I wonder who will buy this car. Totally disappointed. Even the SA also say the same thing.

• Kam-II on Apr 20, 2012 at 9:03 am

Loongking at the interior and the price given….I would rather buy Mazda-3 …

• Polo Saga on Apr 20, 2012 at 9:29 am

100k? i can simply goto Mazda 3, Honda Insight, Honda Jazz, Hyundai Elantra, Kia Forte 2.0, Chevolet Cruze, etc., simply pick anyone above is much more worthy than this overpriced ‘Polo Saga’.

dun get conned, malaysian.

• superman on Apr 20, 2012 at 9:30 am

PREVE is much better spec than this. interior A/C switches are 100% 80’s style.

• BSLEE on Apr 20, 2012 at 9:32 am

if you just want to buy a car for the brand only than go ahead..but if you are a bit more intelligent , more ‘calculative’ & cool headed then Preve or any H,T,N car should be the choice.

• Anand on Apr 20, 2012 at 9:37 am

Vw polo sedan in india only 50K equipped with more spec (Highline) and its a lot on the road like saga here…Our malaysian VW tried to reduce so much of spec here and raised the price until 100K…wht a shame!! these can b reasons because a lot of continental cars driving by indians increasing there like Audi, VW, BMW, FIAT, PORSHE, MERC, FORD,SKODA compare to our m’sian road with full of JAPENESE cars.FRM my recent visit to india i gt shock with this scenario (Our GOVT TAX ON CARS)..

• World Car of The Year (wcoty.com)

• pologise on Apr 20, 2012 at 9:43 am

Hi Malaysian,

Let me say a few words about my first glance. Bought my VW Polo TSi back in year 2010 since it is first launched in MYland. With the price of RM108, 888, i got the exactly interior, accessories, but less safety features.

Do you think the TSi+DSG worth pay for the extra 10k? Perhaps the hothatch looks abit sportier/nicer? …

Thanks.

• The hatchback is definitely looks better than the sedan. The hatchback is what the car originally design for. The boot just look like an attachment to the hatchback. This car is created specifically for space concious Asian consumers.

As for the tech, TSI plus DSG is at the forefront of automotive technology. IMHO, TSI and DSG alone worth RM20k more!

• I hate VW Malaysia on Apr 20, 2012 at 3:43 pm

Hatchbacks are what the car originally designed for. The boot is designed for those space concious Asian buyers or h***h-hating American buyers. Chevy Cruze is the only exception. The Chevy Cruze is originally a sedan but spawned a hatch and a wagon for Europeans who hate small sedans.

• Get us TSI with same price then we can talk about this car

• tegap on Apr 20, 2012 at 9:50 am

Say what ever you like. In simple words, a car is not only what you put into it. If you have lot of gadget that doesn’t mean the overall value up. The good car need a good formula for combination. Yes, Proton Preve has number of gadgets, but the reliability, functionality and others count.

Some of the real problems may be surfaced after few years, not because of shape, design, or accident but for example quality of the materials used. It may look and function similar initially. Even Japanese automaker like Toyota salute the reliability of German cars (part) so I personnaly feel that it is not for Proton. That what I heard from them, in person not word of mouth.

The country that make and produce car or parts doesn’t matter as theya have very stringent production control. Jus to share, most of our local parts manufacture fail under WV assessment audit!

You may have you preference in design but again it only cosmetic.

I have no comments on price since some portion of it from number of tax and margin. In general, yes Malaysian pay more, unnecessarily. TQ

• akash on Apr 20, 2012 at 9:50 am

Mid-market rates: 2012-04-20 01:48 UTC

844,564.00 INR = 49,767.75 MYR
    Indian Rupee Malaysian Ringgit
    1 INR = 0.0589271 MYR 1 MYR = 16.9701 INR

that junk just cost about RM50k in india….n they call this affordable…preve is a much better option u nuts..

• Masked Ryder on Apr 20, 2012 at 6:13 pm

Hello, 1.6 AT VW Vento aka Polo Sedan is at 955,000 INR approx 56,145 MYR.

India Top line only c/w 2 air bags, Malaysia model c/w 4 airbags.

49K is for 1.6 MT base model only.

VW Malaysia should consider CKD Diesel Variance here & sell for 90K while Petrol version sell for 85K.

• flybry on Apr 20, 2012 at 9:51 am

Because is it a VW, Das Auto, crappy interior people will still buy one

• libralcl on Apr 20, 2012 at 9:51 am

Perhaps pay little extra to get the Polo Hatchback will be a better deal. Which we gets TSI and DSG.

• Abdul123 on Apr 20, 2012 at 9:55 am

The selling price has to be approve by the government. If it is low
    it will not be approve.

The government just does not want us to have cheaper cars so it can protect
    Proton.

When the price of everything is going up, This is one item the rakyat can save
    money, the government says no.

• WOW!!.. is that right?!! where did that fact came from?

• protonnogood on Apr 20, 2012 at 6:31 pm

logic ka, if that no body want to make business in Malaysia. You must quote where you get the fact. Malaysia already follow AFTA.

• i rather take mazda 3 1.6L over this polo sedan.

• Johnny on Apr 20, 2012 at 10:07 am

Preve > “Affordable” Polo

• soon.c.h on Apr 20, 2012 at 10:10 am

if rm99k+, in india who want to buy and who can buy?…..this car only about rm35k to be sell in Malaysia.

• Azlan Baha on Apr 20, 2012 at 10:17 am

Ayoyo… I just have to post this link .. guys just for Friday laughs.. no offence to Indian made stuff as I believe this is a top quality product

http://youtu.be/ErIXZsNx9TI

• Lee Swee Sake on Apr 20, 2012 at 10:28 am

weird rear design similar to Suzuki Swift Sedan. And, the price is not reasonable at all… expensive.

• rally_fan on Apr 20, 2012 at 10:28 am

many of you look only at the physical features.. looks etc.

many of the reasons why this car will sell well IMHO, like the more expensive polo hatch (also low on features except for DSG) is the intangible benefits.

perceived higher value comes from the fact that its a german car, its a VW, safer, etc. etc. which is why it can sell at a higher price.

to a certain extent.. toyota is the same.. we b*tch and moan about toyota.. high prices, old tech..etc. etc. but the intagibles like perceived better quality, reliability, 2nd hand prices..etc.. and their cars sell incredibly well.

end of the day, we can talk and talk and talk all we want.. but the people who will put money down for it, and i’m pretty sure there will be quite a lot of them, wont be many of them participating on this blog.

likewise with the polo… i always thought its overpriced and underspecced.. but its still selling very well.

• teelim on Apr 20, 2012 at 12:33 pm

VW did not market the Polo hatchback as a cheap car. Infact, they increased the price by RM5k and offer bigger wheels (I think that really made it look more attractive, visually).

For the Polo sedan, it is obvious that they try to market it as a cheap car. Spec wise, it is definitely there (as a cheap car). But price wise, RM100k is not cheap, and if you look around, there are lots of better alternatives out there you can get for less than RM100k.

If one in on a budget but still MUST have a VW, then yes, this IS the cheapest VW. But definitely NOT the best way to spend RM100k on a car. Might I suggest an Insight, Jazz Hybrid, Prius C, Forte, Inspira, Preve…

Also, maybe its just me but “Made in India” just makes the RM100k for the Polo sedan sound a bit more expensive than say, if it was “Made in Germany” or “Made in Japan”… just saying…

• jalan54 on Apr 20, 2012 at 12:48 pm

for 1.2tsi polo, you still at least get a turbo charged direct injection engine with dsg gearbox, what do you get in this polo sedan?

I don’t see any selling point and most importantly, it is just a b segment car with old engine and gearbox with some good material for the interior and that is all, nothing much.

Oh yeah, maybe they are partnering with sime darby hyundai secretly, this car simply makes elantra sell better… lol

• _xXx_ on Apr 20, 2012 at 10:32 am

is this car timing/chain belted? hope it’s not timing-belt-inside like the apename breve

• The features that this car carry doesnt worth that price… Not worth buying at all

• H4dRi on Apr 20, 2012 at 11:17 am

there’s no better way to say “i want to own a VW sedan but i CAN’T afford it” than buying this polo sedan as first car

• Glee power on Apr 20, 2012 at 11:46 am

India made? I rather have malaysian or thai made.

• India only sell RM 47k for this vehicle, but m’sia price is double of it…. aiks….

• autojohndoe on Apr 20, 2012 at 2:50 pm

bcause it is made in india…

so, it follows india tax…

• idaho on Apr 20, 2012 at 12:00 pm

Well…..this will end up the same fate as Jetta and Cross Touran… hard to sell…

• I hate VW Malaysia on Apr 20, 2012 at 3:27 pm

And, the Polo Sedan, Jetta and Passat (and even CC) will never come into Indonesia… Even there’s a CKD Golf and a CBU Polo hatch available there… Ugly sedans!!! Thumbs down for Polo Sedan, Jetta, Passat and CC!!!

• Nabill on Apr 20, 2012 at 12:17 pm

I tink dis gona turn out to be like vios at da begining…everybody condemn it for being ugly…plastiky.nt good quality n all dat,bt now u see thm more dan wira on our roads…fact of matter is…brand n badge sells no matter wat da competition offers….one more thing…..ive noticed whenever a car nears launch date n ppl speculate da price….take ur worst guess (highest anticipated price) n add 30% …..n u still be lower than da retail price!

• wan forte on Apr 20, 2012 at 2:57 pm

sungguh cerdik ….encik nabiil …membandingkan toyota vios dan proton wira ..sungguh bijak…wira sudah lama berhenti pengeluaran…dan wira pertama yang dikeluarkan ialah hampir 19 tahun yang lalu
      wow…

• teelim on Apr 20, 2012 at 12:24 pm

If I want a cheap car, I will get a cheap car.

Why would I want to pay RM100k for a “cheap car”?

• Jawabandar on Apr 20, 2012 at 12:53 pm

Dull and boring design.Interior not up to date.

• ong chin aun on Apr 20, 2012 at 1:15 pm

Affordable ww polo sedan ? Haha, I`m considering of buying a new car 1.6 Litre ., and hoping real German- make ww offfer affordable price as advertised. Is A 100K Price car affordable to most Malaysian ??.

1, Kia Forte Rm 85k
    2. Hyundai Elentra Rm 86k
    3. Proton Preve RM 73K
    So, which of the three is worth considering ?

• Seriously on Apr 20, 2012 at 3:14 pm

None. Cause none of them are German.

• Das Motor on Apr 20, 2012 at 3:27 pm

I guess everyone has advantages and disadvantages but one thing the 3 models above lack is quality. How long do you think the LED lights in the Preve will last before it burns out?

• add saga flx 1.6 in the list and cut another 23K. Can go fast oso what

• Potong Pervert on Apr 20, 2012 at 6:47 pm

None of them :)

• adzim on Apr 20, 2012 at 2:12 pm

oh god. this junk should be priced cheaper than the saga. Price without insurance 99K already. price OTR 100K++. people who buy this must be buying it because of the VW badge. but remember this is made in India, there are a lot of differences! you might find saga is much better car than this. think before you buy.

• yes, you are correct.

Many people said this car made in india, nobody dares to buy

• Bongcs on Apr 20, 2012 at 2:40 pm

Roti Telur with BOMBAY ONIONS any1 ? lolz !!

• Expensive on Apr 20, 2012 at 2:59 pm

For the same price, Peugeot 308 VTi is a much better buy!!

• Das Motor on Apr 20, 2012 at 3:07 pm

Supposed to be the City/Vios killer BUT somehow this is just like whipping them with a rotan only. Most specced up car in its category BUT not convincing enough in terms of the engine and price. Not to offend, but customers in this category are very price elastic and definitely a Vios J buyer will not fork out that extra 25k for a Polo Sedan. The only people VW can lure over are the Vios G and top range City buyers BUT they might worry about resale value (unlike the GTi / Passat people).

The Passat can finish off the Accord/Camry in a breeze, the Golf has created its own premium hatch niche BUT this Polo Sedan… just too many BUTs. Anyhow, good luck VW, the future of quality motoring in Malaysia is in your hands.

• Merc=Real Euro on Apr 20, 2012 at 3:21 pm

RM 99,888 ….another RM112 will be RM100,000 .. what a con job…who are u kidding .with registration and insurance the price will be 103K….. Keeo buying boys…and the prices will continue to rise at the expense of the rakyat… Like I said before… the winners are

1) VW cos they probably wanted to sell at 60K but miti says no u must sell at 99K
    The difference ….BIG FAT profit to VW pockets. You think VW is complaining
    2) G since price high the can get more tax.

The losers are
    1) Rakyat cos need to take 9 yr loan on the tax which paid to G upfront.
    2) BNM …worried cos the trend is there is alot of ppl cannot afford but still take the plunge.

• too expensive alredi!

• Frank on Apr 20, 2012 at 3:48 pm

without TSi, DSG.. Boring design inside out.. selling at almost $100k !!!
    Definitely not worth the money even though VW BADGE..

The base price should have been in the range of $70+k to $80k for the specs given..

then you can really say its an affordable VW CAR in malaysia boleh.

• VW – now well know as a ‘JUST ANOTHER CAR’… nothing special especially design wise..interior & exterior!!

• scania360 on Apr 20, 2012 at 4:24 pm

Hopefully DRB wouldn’t KILL PROTON after they acquired. DRB mentality of management they will do anything to get as many profits..but they wouldn’t care what is PROTON meant to us, same what they did to MODENAS!! DSZ may become the last person that have a ‘soul’ to PROTON.. bye2 PROTON..hehe

• scania360 on Apr 20, 2012 at 4:24 pm

Hopefully DRB wouldn’t KILL PROTON after they acquired. DRB mentality of management they will do anything to get as many profits..but they wouldn’t care what is PROTON meant to us, same what they did to MODENAS!! DSZ may become the last CEO that have that ‘soul’ to PROTON.. bye2 PROTON..hehe

• scania360 on Apr 20, 2012 at 4:27 pm

Are they joking with that kind of interior WV??? like my old Kancil..!! they try to ask us make a 100K ‘charity’ to this foreign giant company…hahaha..

• Hyundai De La Junk on Apr 20, 2012 at 5:10 pm

This car should be compare with Ford Fiesta Sedan which have more Air Bags (7 vs 4 air bags), higher HP (122ps vs 105ps), lighter in weight, 6 Speed DSG, TCS, more advance ICE & cost 10K less.

That the same dash board since 10 years ago, this India made Polo Sedan should worth RM 75-80K max, 103K is a total ripped off.

• scania360 on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:22 pm

Nope..I think OTR should be 60K only..not more than…they gives nothing..old day design, basic tech, 12.3 sec??? my old ISWARA can performed better after modified..haha..India WV has no professor how to teach them sniff the global taste?? ayyooyoo..

• I don;t like the interior & exterior of this car. But don’t blame VW for the price. If you convert VW Polo sedan price frm Indian Rupee to Malaysia RM, it’s around 47K-60K only.

• Vincent Ang on Apr 20, 2012 at 6:08 pm

Buy a Proton Preve. For RM100,00 OTR the Polo IS NOT value for money. At least Proton gives you a turbo. Spend a few thousand to wrap the Preve seats in good leather and you will get a decent sedan for <RM80,000. 0 To !00 in 12.3seconds is a bad joke.

• saukiu on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:12 pm

with this kind of spec and price… i ll look stupid if i buy one.

• scania360 on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:27 pm

European guys want to make us fool..asian.. hahaa… but we i’ll see may ‘idiots’ will drive this on our road.. because malaysian so admired by europe company..even sell us plastic car…hahahaa…

dashboard proton wira 1.3gl lagi lawa laah!

• I’ll have a VW over Proton anytime of the day, dun care if i need to pay extra 24k to achieve that.

German Engineering pawns Malaysian production FTW

• ko malu saje... on Apr 20, 2012 at 9:13 pm

More Chinese will buy if it’s RM 888,99

• go-every-where on Apr 20, 2012 at 11:01 pm

VW- Das not auto (the polo sedan)

• Oh wait they forgot to tell u the engine is from the golf1 sohc 8 valves. Bet u the platform is also from the golf mk1.

• Sarbath on Apr 21, 2012 at 1:56 am

Mmg xdinafikan interior VW memang a bit boring, dull habis, golf gti pon mcm tu interior die tapi boleh je golf gti tu dengan dull interior die menang bnyk award for the best premium hot hatch car :-D .. Power + Comfort + Fuel Consumption is everything bro !

p/s : Tapi betol lah guys this car got nothing la even power pon ek eleh.. Sebelum nak beli tu pk pk kan secara mendalam la dlu..

• Rakyat biasa on Apr 21, 2012 at 2:20 am

Aduii
    Interior is so dull, I dare to say radio console is even worse than wira 1.3 1996

Only thing the gear console looks sound and steering look ok

Door opening not as good as Myvi

105ps ?? Confirm get cucuk anytime by anyone

• ahmadfaris93 on Apr 21, 2012 at 12:42 pm

Proton Preve is a better buy at this point !

• matlimmutu on Apr 21, 2012 at 1:41 pm

exterior design looks like proton saga blm. interior so boring, 80s design. engine also boring. with that price??? crazy.

• rosli on Apr 21, 2012 at 1:46 pm

Proton preve ade turbo….w

• ericg on Apr 21, 2012 at 3:51 pm

Hi Chris, are there any news about Amarok coming to Malaysia? Thanks!

• Hyundai Fan on Apr 21, 2012 at 6:00 pm

The external & interior looks are worse than Preve. With the same price range and same engine capacity as Elantra 1.6, might as well by Elantra which has much better look.

• Cars Fans on Apr 21, 2012 at 11:10 pm

The designed looks common and no continental feeling at all.
    The price is over value for this B segment and come with common spec.
    As one of our member said, with ~99K we may consider other better option e.g. cruze, Forte or M3 or hyundai… in fact now day many people are using it meantime with good comment instead of negative comment.
    I have tried few models of VW e.g. polo, jetta, golf and passat where i really surprised while you driving on the un level road surface you can hear some irritated sound from bottom of steering. This was not i myself realized/observe but other user of VW….
    VW really disappointed me…

• Yusri on Apr 22, 2012 at 2:25 am

huh.. got my friends comment saying this car was a way better looking then preve… I’m not gonna say much.. but it was not inthe same price segment.. and hence i’ve already seen both car picture.. and with my 4 eyes i could say preve was still a better looking car overall.. interior and exterior.. don’t mention the CFE yet as it’s still new..

• altis_owner on Apr 22, 2012 at 12:12 pm

what an ugly car, both exterior and interior
    i feel really proud to own a altis if compared to this crap with closed priced tag

• Tiger on Apr 22, 2012 at 4:23 pm

I test drive vw passat, CC,Golf,Golf GTI, Polo, really money worth. because compare passat to A4 its 90% same. but the price 40k++diffent. Who experiece with german car they only knew about german technology and safety.. Now toyota and honda bacame no quality at all… VW 5years warranty and unlimited KM….
    Why japan car dont have…VW the best. now i m driving BMW. July i will book VW passat. I am waiting for book….

• sufyan on Apr 24, 2012 at 11:37 am

so..have u test drive the polo sedan? is it worth the RM100k tag price?? oo wait2..i already know the answer…NOPE! ..we just want a fair price for our hard earn money. we majority malaysian not as rich as u. u work as a salesman?

• KimJongIll on Apr 23, 2012 at 3:33 pm

This car is not worth the money at all, simple and cheapo looking go get the elantra much better than this India VW.

• sufyan on Apr 24, 2012 at 11:33 am

just to own a VW, someone wud buy it at cost rm100k..this car is for those too desperate to own a VW

• zanggief on Apr 24, 2012 at 11:54 am

It seem’s like not a good marketing strategy from vw…perhaps the wana throw in this lower spec to build some market share prior bring in more advance spec, with tsi engine and dsg version…?

• dhoby ghaut on Apr 25, 2012 at 6:37 pm

so many frustrated cannot afford to buy this car..before launching those up there dreaming driving this car..dreaming buying a deutch car..when heard the price 100K..semua keluar..junk..crap..cheap car..blm better than polo s..pathetic comments..LOL..

• Ppl who buy this must be out of their mind. Design is 10-20yrs behind!

• sticky on May 07, 2012 at 10:38 pm

aiyaa.. why many bothers on the dash look? the interior and exterior concept is minimalis. same also with the golf tsi, gti. you want sports kind of dash and exterior, this is not for you guys. go civic lah or CRZ. not all drivers like futuristic sports dash look. VW can design a much more sports dash look for many drivers but NO, they have the concept and they know it sells. successful car makers have legacies in their product range.

This is not a story of GEN-2, stretched the boot and name it PERSONA. I was expecting a SEDAN GEN2 back then! Where is WAJA, TIARA, JUARA, SAVVY successor? They are all scattered, like coming out of elsewhere unknown car maker. Don’t judge me yet. I am not a p1 basher. A basher won’t express concern like this. I hope with the birth of Preve, P1 will grow better and better.

BTW about this VW, if they sell at RM80K price tag OTR, it is a trouble for other car models in same/close segment even though all other model’s price are drop accordingly and got extra2 features. again with that RM80K, with the brand has it’s distinctive powerful attraction, then how much would you want to price TNH cars?

• Flipflop on May 27, 2012 at 2:03 am

What a stupid comparison, polo sedan n proton saga? U guys just don’t hv money to buy the polo sedan… Ok fine… Just go n buy saga la… Haha… I’m sure a lot of people will buy this… Vw has good quality control… They will not jeopardize their brand to sell stupid car…. 5 years warranty… What more want? Don’t hv money, don’t talk…

• Good one. Like a fox with a grape. Tak dapat grape just say bad/sour grape. He he.

• Money on Oct 28, 2012 at 2:25 pm

You are absolutely right! Just buy Proton if tak cukup wang….simple as that.

• Someone on Jul 04, 2012 at 5:27 pm

I realise there are some people who doesn’t like this car. criticise this and that, but yet keep looping back this page for Polo sedan and comments. If do not like this car just go to check out others car page. no point back here and give your “thoughtful” comments. who cares your comments..

• atz1999 on Jul 15, 2012 at 12:50 am

vw polo sedan parts made in india….
    exterior like proton saga BLM…
    interior oldies like vios first generation…
    cover seat likes proton iswara
    engine 1.6 not TSI…at least give la hybrid
    RM99K is for the VW logo

• cuorekid on Jul 29, 2012 at 9:52 pm

all this is thanks to gov for ridiculous tax VW is a nice car but for this Polo sedan is slightly over price for 99k i got alot of option … but still is CBU from india when CKD will be much cheaper … depends what u like, if this POLO sedan come with 1.2 TSI , than the price will be above 100k u will buy it ..

• i think my opinion its better choice hyundai elantra, fuel is economy, 130ps and design also..

• Why bother on Aug 10, 2015 at 7:30 pm

Dearest All,
    Let’ stop all these whimpering lah….let’s put some sense into the discourse. Everybody have their own preference and choice…if you like the car, then just buy it…but if you don’t, just find some other better alternatives. There is no point biting other people’s neck just because they do not like what you like, vice-versa. I own a beetle for more than 35 yeras and everythig is smooth sailing, so far. Many rediculed me for driving one…but I don’t care because I love it so much (for its reliability and technology). I am sure the polo sedan will live up to the tradition of being a people’s car…just wait and see. It will be brilliant if the pricing is lowered slightly so that many Malaysians could afford it. The best bonus point is that the sedan is not water cooled (very much like my classic beetle…). I am not surprised if one day this sedan could turn out to be another classic car…..tak percaya, tengok lah nanti..cheers

• Why bother on Aug 10, 2015 at 7:33 pm

Alamak, i’ve just realized that these conversations are already outdated… (2013 punya ni)…my bad! Appun, i hope that my comment os valid lah..