Proton Prevé convoy brings the showroom to the people

Proton’s Prevé is a crowd puller all right – not only did it push this website’s April 17 pageviews to over 1.6 million hits, Proton showrooms were full of people wanting to touch, feel and drive Proton’s global car. For those who haven’t yet seen the car, Proton will be bringing the showroom to the people, so to speak.

The Prevé nationwide motorcade was flagged off from Sri Pentas in Bandar Utama two days ago. The convoy consists of eight Prevés, four Inspiras, and one unit each of the Persona and Exora.

The first stop was Proton’s Platinum Showroom in nearby Mutiara Damansara, where Group MD Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin presented keys to the Prevé’s first few owners. Next stop was the EON showroom in Jalan Chan Sow Lin, KL. The motorcade then proceeded to make two more stopovers – Menara Maybank on Jalan Pudu, and at the Ambank HQ on Jalan Yap Kwan Seng.

After the city tour, the convoy headed south to Senawang and Melaka before stopping for the night in JB. Yesterday saw the fleet travel 560 km covering Yong Peng, Segamat, Bahau, Temerloh, Mentakab and Kuantan.

A 450 km journey awaits them today, where the Prevé will visit East Coast towns Kemaman, Dungun, Kuala Terengganu, Jerteh, Bachok and Kota Bahru, followed by the towns of Tanah Merah, Jeli, Baling, Sik, Alor Setar, Sungai Petani and Penang. The final day of the five-day tour will see stopovers in Juru, Ipoh and finally at Jalan Ampang, where Syed Zainal will launch a new Proton showroom.

We have covered the Prevé extensively. Click here for the main launch report, here for some videos and here to view the Sapphire concept. We’ve also driven the car, read the report here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Preve, come to my hometown! I’ve been waiting for you so long!

• wow 1.6 mil hits, how bout the booking so far??? in ntv7 dsz said less than 2k booking,
      how many bookings so far? any1 know?

• The blue one Preve looks hot :)

• Jacky on Apr 20, 2012 at 12:03 pm

how about Sarawak???

• Lucky for those who got the ride of Proton Preve..i’m envious!

• Annihilated on Apr 20, 2012 at 12:15 pm

I went to the Proton Platinum in Damansara yesterday after lunch.

Overall it is quite a good car based on look alone.
    The plastics are mostly soft touch.
    The design is clever yet I’d love to see the center console blend with the dashboard in more continuous line / way.

The fit and fittings are improved although I can see the gap between the ‘wood-like’ trim and the lower dashboard.
    Also when you open the door, you can see in the inside part of the door near the window, there is small welding job which i think should not be visible for the car in this price range.
    The small box on the right to the steering is a bit hard to open.
    The button feels tactile but Proton is not there yet.
    But those are just my eyes and personal opinions.

I have not had a chance to test drive Preve yet. I bet it will be a positive ride and experience.
    This car should be competetive in our local market.
    But Proton must improve their showrooms and service centers a lot.
    For global market, a little bit of improvements are needed to make it a hit.
    This is a step closer to become a ‘grown-up’ manufacturer.

• takNakP1 on Apr 20, 2012 at 1:08 pm

did you check the power window? is it working?

at this price range and the label “global market” it doesn’t sound a generous offer to the majority m’sian to get decent car for comfort ride. why?? with the new BNM ruling P2 already drop 2 digit sales.

• shawal on Apr 20, 2012 at 2:52 pm

theres 100+ countries in the world, and we are among the very few that produce our own cars, so.be proud fer once, its a big world out there for proton to penetrate the local markets

• Gabla on Apr 20, 2012 at 11:30 pm

Who cares if we produce our own car if others can build better cars belonging to someone else. E.g. Innova by Indonesian, Vios by Thailand.

• bongek on Apr 21, 2012 at 3:48 am

those indo and thai ‘design’ it right? they are not just ‘pasang’ it right? u give us really good comparison

• kerambit laut on Apr 21, 2012 at 6:42 am

Many Malaysians care, because it gives Malaysians opportunity to get high skill jobs eg. the designers, engineers, technologist. We have a complete package of car manufacturer, jobs in design studio, in wind tunnel, in test facility, in engineering workshop, in assembly plants. Whereas those Indons and Thais are limited to car assembly where there are only jobs in assembly plants, and most of the jobs are low skill, low payment jobs, and thats the reason the manufacturer set up the plant in those countries.

• sure the power window got prob!its a curse or jinx for P1…so anyhow they will fix it since its life time warranty!

• Prismo on Apr 20, 2012 at 6:28 pm

clearly u r one of PERODUA’s salesman… envy eh Prevé got soooooooo much publicity? and oso afraid that RM59,990 Prevé will affect Maivy (Myvi) sales eh??

• Prismo on Apr 20, 2012 at 6:29 pm

clearly u r one of PERODUA’s salesman… envy eh Prevé got soooooooo much publicity and attentions??? and oso afraid that RM59,990 Prevé will affect Maivy (Myvi) sales eh??

• punai on Apr 20, 2012 at 6:36 pm

Produa potential buyers are from lower income groups who seek a new car with low price as well as new young people to work with a less stable income. Of the students who use the income support from their parents. Compared to proton potential buyers are from stable income and middle age groups. Not surprisingly, the guidelines issued by BNM failed followed by them. that contribute produa sales plummeted.

• 1 leh kickin on Apr 23, 2012 at 12:29 pm

The perodua buyers not are mainly from the segment that you said…a 50-60k car is not for 1st time buyers bro…get it right….y are they so many tin kosong here!

• asahiyakuza on Apr 20, 2012 at 7:55 pm

Power window joke for P1 is really seriously extravagantly incredibly lame and stupid already… please google or watch russel peter for new line of joke please… aihhh seriously… tired already… IT’S LAME!

• Chow 1 on Apr 20, 2012 at 6:23 pm

Saw a comparison of Honda Civic 2012 & Proton Preve, they are almost identical, coincidence?

• kerambit laut on Apr 21, 2012 at 6:46 am

Most of the cars in this world are indetical. There will be doors, boots, trunks, seats, steering, wheels, engines, mirror, bla, bla, bla…

• johnny on Apr 22, 2012 at 1:04 pm

not civic lah. they copied volks jetta, not everywhere of course.

• Suhardi Bersih on Apr 20, 2012 at 12:16 pm

I think you can see why I am so envious. I only own a BMW E90 320i.

• Vader on Apr 20, 2012 at 2:20 pm

who cares?

• When I was in the UK a few years ago, my mat salleh’s friends told me the 320i are for the pretenders. 330i are more like it for the successful yuppies.

So, tak payah nak berlagak la kot.

• Evoque on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:27 pm

That’s right.. My Boss always remind me to get BMW 6 cylinder aspirated engine as what BMW are good at.

• F Fiesta on Apr 20, 2012 at 12:51 pm

I was reading about Preve problems. The welding at door side is not clean, The button at airbags indicator easily wore off. Vios and City also got alot of problems so,

I suggest for RM73k and above please buy FORD FIESTA! The Best in it Class!!!

• carazy on Apr 20, 2012 at 1:16 pm

ford salesman go away, this is all abt proton la weii!!

• mystvearn on Apr 20, 2012 at 2:04 pm

People who need a big boot often will go for the preve. Balik kampung is a lot easier with the preve.

• Fiesta just for women … Haha design not suit for man.. Go and find women.. But pity to you i found that more women go for polo… Haha pity ford

• sagablmsekid on Apr 20, 2012 at 2:57 pm

oo.. airbags indicator easily wore off. Itchy finger la you.. who ask you press so hard..

• Guess owners will have to be extra gentle with the Preve for obvious reasons…

• Prismo on Apr 20, 2012 at 6:33 pm

i want to add.. with EPS, ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING, clearly the car was suitable for girl… ahakz…

• Chow 1 on Apr 20, 2012 at 6:58 pm

Honestly, I would prefer to own a Ford Focus 2012 rather than a Preve. Sorry, not Ford Fiesta though.

• kerambit laut on Apr 21, 2012 at 6:58 am

You people with a lot of money don’t bother writing in this proton page. This page is about enthuasism of our national manufacturer. We talked about the design, the quality, the achievement and comparison with the same class. Ford Fiesta, Toyota Vios and Honda City is not the same class as Preve. They are classified as B-segment small cars whereas Preve is C-segment medium cars along with Ford Focus. Google for car classification please.

• JasonSky on Apr 20, 2012 at 12:56 pm

You won’t be so envious once you see and feel the quality. Proton only improving on their marketing gimmicks. Looks nice only on pictures and paper apart from that its just another Proton. Pity those who pre-booked.

• Prismo on Apr 20, 2012 at 6:36 pm

Clearly with a loud speech DSZA said the car was a PROTON… yes it is another NEW PROTON… Booooring comment.. NEXT!!!

• David BillA on Apr 20, 2012 at 1:01 pm

I was just trying the Proton Prevé reconfigure site (http://www.protonpreve.com/reconfigure.php), which allows us to modified Proton Prevé according to our taste…. I have manage to configure, yet due to low internet speed, I could not render my design, yet it’s another step for Proton to improve their quality and also sales…..Committed to be Better.!

• sagablmsekid on Apr 20, 2012 at 1:13 pm

hey.. the key of this preve is like can flip like those volks key?

• mystvearn on Apr 20, 2012 at 2:06 pm

Hopefully proton will have a Preve version with adjustable seatbelt height. There are all kinds of stature driving this car..

• Black Dog on Apr 20, 2012 at 2:17 pm

If DSZ resign, his next job will surely be a politician, judging by the way he goes around the country doing Ceramah!

• Seeing in the flesh. He butt of this car is ugly. But the front is nice. Mismatch. Even on most media page or preve ad. They mostly show the front only.

Those that complain bad quality, hey there is no stopping u from buying other brand.

• PreveyOwnerClub on Apr 20, 2012 at 2:33 pm

Kelab Prevey Malaysia Forum anyone? I would like to register! :)

• Mou Mou Ren on Apr 20, 2012 at 2:37 pm

How about Sabah????

• kerelbort on Apr 20, 2012 at 2:39 pm

i just wonder.. where the keyless entry go? is it still there? or DRB-HICOM already took that away?

coz nobody mentioning it nowadays…

• BeemerFreak on Apr 20, 2012 at 3:04 pm

Really hope that Proton can come out with a range of turbo charged engines, say a higher tune cfe to 160bhp and 240nm torque and a 1.3 turbo with around 110bhp, with that we can kiss the stupid Japanese cars to hell,

Really dont get it why people buy japanese cars when they are over priced junks, the preve is better than any japanese car under RM 150k and technologically more advanced

• ultra racing on Apr 20, 2012 at 4:00 pm

proton cant drift dawg. need some coupe with rwd. to replace old school KE70. drift for life~

• sagablmsekid on Apr 20, 2012 at 4:11 pm

True that bro!

People buy Japanese car caused of brand (vios) not city
      VIos is a entry level car at japan. Here is a considered luxury.

Preve is better in terms of safety and equipment.. Reliability i duno.. my proton blm se now 2years so far no problem.. just small headlight bulb burn once.. Malaysia pride i will choose preve.. i stay here!

• scania360 on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:35 pm

me too..BLM has proven already that Proton has changed!
        my saga blm..(1st batch)..working so good..even has passed the service many thousands..every day traveling 40kms..so what more to prove Proton quality?
        hopefully Preve will be mine..soon..hehe..

• talking about proton quality.. hmmm.. i still see P1 around town alive and still moving and still looking good…and the owner say masih power dohh…

• Carl Wong on Apr 20, 2012 at 3:26 pm

I saw a red test drive car on the road just now :).

• mum180 on Apr 20, 2012 at 4:06 pm

I think they will definitely improve the rear end design when they launch preve FL..

• Supa Hiro on Apr 20, 2012 at 4:34 pm

Hope DSZ could come back again to the Mutiara Damansara Proton showroom to handover my car as well – since I bought my Preve in cash. Not many buyer could afford to pay in cash.

• Julian Lee on Apr 20, 2012 at 5:04 pm

I prefer BMW convoy, more got class…

• Prismo on Apr 20, 2012 at 6:41 pm

oh boy… the convoy was cancelled!! Son want to borrow their papa’s BMW but papa refused…

• scania360 on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:31 pm

go lah..who ask you to join..arrogant class guy..

• People who keep pressing the Airbag button, just want to tell you that’s not a button just an indicator. You use your car keys to deactivate the front passenger airbag through the glove compartment.
    Stop pressing the “button” and you wont have scratches on it.

As for the windows, I tested the Preve during launch at Taman Sea showroom. There were problems with the drivers side power windows. this time its electronic. window doesnt wind up and keeps rolling back to the center position. was abit of an embarrassment for awhile.

• for ur information, the Preve power window is anti-trap. if there’s something stuck in between when the window is going up, it will go to down to its initial position.

• Dr Mamak on Apr 20, 2012 at 5:14 pm

So desparate for sales meh

• Supa Hiro on Apr 20, 2012 at 5:38 pm

Hope DSZ could come back to Proton showroom in Mutiara Damansara to handover my Preve. I bought mine in cash, unlike like others.

• Abuya on Apr 20, 2012 at 6:16 pm

The blue flag…. Ingatkan bendera dacing. Warna dah sama dah… Hehehe…

Preve is almost similar Waja price that launch on year 2000. So tak murah lagi ker?

To basher, if emblem is T&H, its ok although kambing pakai skrit. That is level of Malaysian stupid whose so called celik IT dan boleh berbahasa inggeris

• I must say the quality of the interior is much better than previous proton models. The head unit screen is a bit small though and looks cheap. Otherwise its on par with the average Japan car.

• DArkerMarker on Apr 20, 2012 at 7:06 pm

What’s all the hype???

Sooner or later, this Preve will be littered in the whole country….
    I bet kedAI ABANG will have tonnes of assesories for Mat protons, Ah Beng, etc…

• Joe Isabella on Apr 20, 2012 at 7:23 pm

“DRIVE IT TO BELIEVE IT” .. now I believe it !

Link of the image: http://i.pictr.com/tfij4tfq3t.jpg

Photo courtesy of “maniack” from Lowyat.Net whom spotted this today (20th April 2011) on the way home from work

• Rimaz on Apr 20, 2012 at 7:24 pm

I just saw one picture showing a Proton Preve rosak tengah jalan.. the drive shaft or joint tecabut..? what happen Proton..? a Global CAR..?

search it on google..

• orang biasa on Apr 20, 2012 at 7:25 pm

Why talk n comment so much?? Car was already launched… just go to any nearest showroom, ask for test drive… drive to believe… after you drive, and still not satisfied, just go and buy whatever car you want…. – or those who talk much not even afford to buy saga or viva??

• Zubair Bin Adil on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:29 pm

the most beautiful Proton i have ever seen,Love it

• scania360 on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:39 pm

Proton is a ‘hybrid’ DNA..mixtures of Japanese, Malaysian and European..
    Mitsu+Proton+Lotus.. haha we own all..hehe..joking..kawin campor..

• Bad looking car…not nice at all…only people without taste will choose this ugly machine…70’s Nissan Sunny much nicer than this crap

• nissan sunny? on Apr 20, 2012 at 10:06 pm

awak naik keta apa skrg?? nissan sunny, toyota corolla dx or datsun 120 y? wah!!! so advance lah u ni. :)

• Pls forgive grandpa…he just wake up from coma since 1978…

• 40 people unlike my statement…and they don’t have taste at all…cheap product frm Proton but u still support them..ayoo…3rd world mentality…wake upppp….

• Ultrameng on Dec 20, 2012 at 10:14 am

Forgive this guy, he doesnt age very well… peace!! \m/

• Already test drive it this afternoon. The powerful in its class and fun to drive car from Proton.

• Most powerful with 138 bhp?

• Savvy88 on Apr 23, 2012 at 12:07 am

powerful doesn’t mean for the horsepower alone. included max torque (205nm), ride and handling,century speed etc..

• Fun to drive car from proton.

• hit-man on Jul 10, 2012 at 7:23 pm

lol,more fun to drive a car from Toyota,Nissan,Honda,Volkswagen,BMW,Mercedes,Hyundai,Kia,Mitsubitshi,Lexus,Hummer,Land Rover,Audi and more.

• To P1, prove it on level ground with pricing without the protection.
    Commonlah, Walk the talk. Prove it .! 29 yrs already, time grow up

It’s a huge car for the company, as its managing director Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin stated at the launch. “The Prevé is a very important milestone for Proton in many ways. It represents a new and higher level of standard for Proton cars in all aspects encompassing safety, performance, comfort, build quality, technology, overall design and convenience,” he said.
    “More significantly, it reflects on Proton’s maturity, technical knowledge and technological capability as a car manufacturer and to evolve from a domestic and regional player into a global car company,”

Except for price..
    Then please compete without tax protection. Got the guts or not ?
    talk so loud. To prove… sigh.. : (

• Im sure that most of those who are full of praise for this car and eventually if they become owners, will be cursing Proton after several months of ownership. It’s apparent that Proton still has a long way to go and little things like visible welding points on the door says a lot about the way the car is built. I’ve heard from some who went to test drive the car..that the test car actually had problems with the power window, one also had an engine check warning.

• Malunya proton, test drive car dua hari guna saja dah patah kaki sebelah, masih panggil “Global Car” kah? Nanti jadi sampah kat “fifth gear” lagi Ooo.

• Aussiel on Apr 21, 2012 at 6:48 am

I bet that those who constantly criticize proton are bunch of numbskull who will never grown up and never once a car owner.

• Aseng Peace on Apr 21, 2012 at 11:34 am

Proton preve is better than other international car,,,,,,,go go proton malaysia boleh ahaha

• Again level playing field. Then we get proper safety features and same fitment at same price. Then only we talk about going global. Malaysians in general will support proton, why won’t we support our national car ? But proton must live up to expectations and deliver. Surely that is not too much too ask after 29 years….

• Today 21 APR saturday I and my brother go to Proton Edar Nibong Tebal S.P.S for test drive Preve. Its big dissapointted when :
    1) no any Sales person come to assist, on that time got 3 sales person chating each other at main counter.
    2) I asked 1 guy sales person, for test drive, he said ok…….than after we waiting for 5min, that salesman just walk away to coffee shop without saying anything. Than after we wait 15min, i asked to 2 sales girl at counter again want to test drive…..than 1 of sales girl mention no test drive available because no number plate for test drive car.
    3) This situation sure will not happen if we go to Toyota, Honda or Korean Car showroom. …
    4) For new car like this on first week of lanched sure they must have a test drive…..no point to Proton just advertised in Newspaper, TV & internet ask people for test drive…..but got showroom like this just give a accused.

• kerambitlaut on Apr 22, 2012 at 6:09 am

People will still buy cars from those salesperson. This is proton, meaning that customers will come to the showroom without being invited and buy the car. The salesperson just have to sit back and relax and the customers will find them to buy a car. By contrast, other salesperson especially high end car salesperson will have to find customers out of the showroom to market their cars. Just sharing my experience as car salesman…

• Better get the real people’s car, vw with better fc and quality.

• Kambing Kampung on Apr 22, 2012 at 1:21 am

Haizz, know how to jaguh kampung only.

• Kambing Kampung on Apr 22, 2012 at 1:30 am

Sure di Malaysia boleh, but elsewhere boleh tak?

• Kambing Kampung on Apr 22, 2012 at 1:35 am

Haizz, know how to jaguh kampung only

• Went to proton show room today. Had sat myself in the car but no test drive. The overall quality interior and exterior is quite bad and disappointed except engine as i have not test drive it yet. First the cushion is bad in quality is not up to standard. 2nd there is no quality all on button on the car, look.cheap and small. There is once i press the button below the gps player and it got stuck there and i was wat?!!! Moreover the steering buttons not nice also. 3th the gps screen is way to small. 4th the weilding is not smooth on the doors making it looks like a joint rather then 1 piece. 4th the sound when closing the door is terrible. I think is better to opt for inspira and you wont regret it. From interior to exterior if make comparison to preve, inspira is way way better. Bfr test drive also.give bad impression….pictures and speechs is way diff from the origine.

• darlieGuy on Apr 23, 2012 at 11:11 am

Yea agree one hundred percent, if it has to be a proton, be it a inspira, i.e.mitsu. no brainer decision!