Youngman Lotus T5 – could this be Proton’s new SUV?

Ni hao from Beijing! Youngman Lotus took the wraps off this relatively handsome high-rider at the very busy Auto China 2012 earlier today. We’re here covering it live. You’d be forgiven for thinking that this is hardly earth-shattering news, but this vehicle may become the base for Proton’s first SUV in the near future.

Dubbed the T5, the front-wheel-drive pre-production vehicle is based on the Proton Gen-2 platform and therefore shares the same 2,600 mm wheelbase. A four-wheel-drive version is also planned.

It will have two engine choices when it officially goes on sale in China at the end of the year: the Campro CPS and its turbocharged CFE variant, both displacing 1.6 litres. The Campro engines are built under license in China and Proton receive royalties from Youngman in exchange for the usage of their engines.

Proton MD Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin, who was present at the Youngman stand, said that talks are ongoing between Proton and the Chinese-British joint venture, and Proton may adopt the T5 as its first SUV if things pan out – Syed Zainal added that if this comes about, there will be some repackaging involved for the local model.

The T5’s nose shares some similarities with the recently-launched Proton Preve‘s front end, particularly in the visual relationship between headlamp and grille. However, Lotus engineers declined to comment on Proton’s involvement in the project.

Unfortunately, the interior was shut from prying bodies, but a quick peek inside revealed an elegant-looking interior, complete with leather seats – we did manage to get a shot of the gear shift column, if only to hint at how it shapes up.

Prices for the T5 variants have not been confirmed, but are estimated at 115,000 to 130,000 RMB (RM57,500 to RM65,000).

Founded in 2001, China Youngman Automobile Group predominantly produces buses and trucks, but sells the Gen-2 and Persona in China under the Youngman Lotus and Europestar brands.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Obama on Apr 23, 2012 at 8:09 pm

I must admit that their design is much prettier than Preve.

• powershot on Apr 23, 2012 at 8:12 pm

nnice… i want

• joepng on Apr 23, 2012 at 8:14 pm

better than proton.

• this is part of proton venture, so no. better than preve? then yes.

• better than proton…i think this will come here….it has the unibody design which proton is adapting now….

• gunigugu on Apr 23, 2012 at 8:15 pm

I don’t know about you guys..but this looks fantastic! it would definitely be the best looking proton hands down!

• kennytkl on Apr 23, 2012 at 8:17 pm

estimated at 115,000 to 130,000 RMB (RM57,500 to RM65,000)?? when it comes back to our shore wit a badge of Proton, would it b this cheap?? hmm…wondering…

• government tax ma…

• autojohndoe on Apr 24, 2012 at 11:49 am

if the price maintain for RM, you multiply the price with 85% tax (sales tax + Duti Excise)

so, you have to pay RM 120,250…

• indomee on Apr 24, 2012 at 12:19 pm

120k for this? LOL. sorry….i dun mind paying it for sub 80k. Anything above 80k i would rather hunt a 2nd hand other more reputable SUV.

• fluidic space on Apr 24, 2012 at 3:24 pm

seriously ? RM120k ? wow… that is expensive for a locally made car…

• No should be 1500-1799cc 65% (mpv, van) sales tax 10% = ([docket price x 65%]+docket price x 10%)… i think it should be around exora bold-inspira price range. Maybe around sub RM90k

• Whynot on Apr 25, 2012 at 11:30 pm

I really wonder why can’t our design engineer do it better here. We always said boleh and where is P1 ‘boleh’ now?

• mamat on Apr 23, 2012 at 8:17 pm

y this china company can come out different model so easily???n heredifferent things happened….

• 1malaysia2020 on Apr 23, 2012 at 8:19 pm

Pretty much confused with the arrangement. Youngman pays Proton for the engine, then if Proton want to use the SUV, they have to pay Youngman???

• Just wanna on Apr 23, 2012 at 8:57 pm

pusing2 duit la. . .
      Nobody untung. . Nobody rugi. . .hahaha

• Loneranger on Apr 23, 2012 at 9:34 pm

Proton owns Lotus…Lotus venture with Youngman…Proton have roght to take the design lorrr……..

• why in china so cheap????????????

• depends on government tax

• Whynot on Apr 25, 2012 at 11:42 pm

Seriously, tax is not necessary high in here if the Govt can tax more of those really rich guys and give it back to the poor. I don’t really see that in Malaysia. If you force the majority to pay a high sum for a local car. Then this is called Millions ‘Spoon feeding’ a few of P1 and P2 guys only. Like it or not, where are those high taxes went. I can see only still a few that is multimillionaire and few even more billionaires. But Millions others are still poor and the millions of baby boom time are getting aged and retiring and we are loosing wealth to neighboring countries even we might have big oil reserve and biodiversity as wealthy as Brunei or Saudi Arabia. What really went wrong here?

• Rakyat didahulukan maa…..

• autojohndoe on Apr 24, 2012 at 11:51 am

1 billion ppl…

tax structure pun tak sama…

• Just wanna on Apr 24, 2012 at 4:51 pm

Depend’s on country la. . .
      Minyak murah. . Kereta mahal. .
      Minyak mahal. . .Kereta murah. . .
      Get it??
      Refer to hwt comment below.

• wendy on Apr 24, 2012 at 4:54 pm

otherwise the china people will come out with a fake one maa..haha!

• mystvearn on Apr 23, 2012 at 8:21 pm

Front reminds me of the range rover evoque

• Infront looks like some exisiting car huh:)

• Just replace the YoungMan’s logo with Proton’s.. Kaboommm.. now its Proton already :P

• pacifictuna on Apr 23, 2012 at 8:30 pm

there’s proton DNA in its look. not just the platform and powerplant….. but wonder if a proton SUV will sell well here.

• MoFaz on Apr 24, 2012 at 6:16 pm

that’s why SUV has never been Proton’s “core” model. SUV market size is very small, even smaller than D segment cars. the best selling, CRV couldn’t achieve 5,000 unit last year…
      to develop SUV and sell it in Malaysia will be very costly and Proton will not be able to break-even in short time. Youngman asked Proton/Lotus to develop this SUV, so the development cost is paid by Youngman and Proton has the option to rebadge it as Proton to be sold in Malaysia later. I think this is the cheapest way for Proton to produce and introduce SUV into their model line-ups.
      why not rebadge SUV from Mitsu? well, Proton will have to abide with donor’s terms and conditions and thus will not be as ‘free’ as now. pretty much similar to Inspira case.
      MPV was a very niche market before Exora introduced. previously, only large families adopting MPV but you can see now even families with 1 or 2 small kids are buying Exora. many young exec now changing their ride to SUV especially with the introduction of the new modern-looking Sportage and Tucson. so i think it should be no prob for Proton if they could put this model within Exora or Inspira price range.

• Manic on Apr 23, 2012 at 8:30 pm

Proton Sentier. Sentier means trail in French.

• Bob Vettel on Apr 23, 2012 at 8:30 pm

It will never be 65K with Proton badge. Why? Tax, what else?

• ayyam on Apr 23, 2012 at 8:31 pm

too plasticky body?

• An Hua on Apr 24, 2012 at 3:19 pm

too plasticky body??? what kind of comment that are u throw off???

I don’t get it…Which part are u mention just now??? is it door look plastic? roof look plastic? hud? trunk? windscreen? side windows? Pillar A,B,C? or its it bumper look plastics? (of course its polyurethane plastic or Thermoplastic Olefins material..daa??)

again, do not just type and press enter key. Pls. used your brain while typing and then press enter key. GET IT DUDE??

• luffykewl on Apr 23, 2012 at 8:33 pm

goshh.. looks so tempting.. =)

• no way

• People will start saying that it look like Kia Sportage. Brace yourself, koreans fanboys are coming to bash this car.

• Black on Apr 23, 2012 at 8:44 pm

lawo…..

• burung on Apr 23, 2012 at 8:50 pm

And now Proton’s Campro is even used by Youngman-Lotus.

Will this keep Malaysians mouths shut?

I don’t think so.

ps: Proton, please don’t sell this SUV to Malaysians. They don’t appreciate a sh*t of it.

• Chow 1 on Apr 23, 2012 at 10:52 pm

I wonder why the Campro engine in Persona sounds so loud and high rev even when the first press on pedal. Seems it’s struggling for power. Please correct me if I am wrong about this feeling when I test drive it before Preve launching.

• Just to share my experience .. I have test drive proton preve yesterday: the good things (1) handling – to me superb (2) interior design – good (still subjective) (3) gear change: better than civic , so smooth. Next,The bad things (1) noise : not happy – heard some kind of wistle sound, the SA said most probably the wind out side coming in through window. (2) engine sound: it sound loud when you press a pedal. Yes feeling like you force the engine to move a car. I am not happy with the engine. If you dont trust, just go and try and make up your own conclusion.. Wish you happy driving

• Alifz on Apr 25, 2012 at 2:42 pm

Thw wistle sound came from the turbo la bro..every turbo car sure have wistle sound..

• FYI, a day before I test drive preve, i have test drive passat and passat’s engine is turbo also… And no wistle sound coming out from passat engine. My best friend of mine drive polo.. Also turbo engine.. But i do not hear the wistle sound. May be this only happened in proton engine? I dont know. Actually i love proton, that is why i still use my waja since 2001 until now. 11 years old on the road, no major problem.. Engine still ok since i used fully synthetic engine oil + regular maintenance at proton edar service centre. My second car is civic 1.8 (current model), that why i can compare preve with civic for certain dimensions. And since i also have experience with turbo engine (drove my friend car, the polo + test drive passat) , i think preve engine not that good. I dont know maybe my opinion is wrong, but that what i felt. Thanks

• apala on Apr 24, 2012 at 6:46 am

please sell it here…Campro is good…please sell it worldwide too

• serius smart!

• Nabill on Apr 23, 2012 at 8:59 pm

Looks like cx7 front….who knew gen2 chasis can look so good!

• kia sportage?

• papa rich mama shop on Apr 23, 2012 at 9:03 pm

very nice ;D
    the front got some preve looks

• hikayat on Apr 23, 2012 at 9:04 pm

I hope one day proton will come out with 2.0 engine.. Please..

• driver on Apr 23, 2012 at 9:33 pm

or maybe buy it from Petronas.. remember E01?

• peter_pj on Apr 24, 2012 at 10:00 am

I believe Petronas has already sold it to some Chinese company

• MoFaz on Apr 24, 2012 at 6:27 pm

2.0L engines are mostly producing too much carbon. they are becoming less and less popular in countries with carbon tax system such as UK and Europe. Accord 2.4 is available in US but the last time i checked Honda UK web, only 2.0 is available. you can see even some big european sedans now come with 1.6 NA / turbo / supercharged engines.
        I think it is more ‘cost-effective’ for Proton just to get 2.0 engine from other manufacturer like Mitsu rather than building it from scratch and selling them in limited market.

• 1.6 CFE maybe okey, but 1.6 campro CPS to move this thing?? alamak.

• autojohndoe on Apr 24, 2012 at 11:53 am

exora pun boleh gerak… apa pasal suv ni x boleh?

• MoFaz on Apr 24, 2012 at 6:33 pm

CFE + some other kits and gadgets costs RM10k more than Campro IAFM in Preve. so, CFE for those who could afford, but for those who’re on tighter budget could grab CPS.

• Imeanitwheni on Apr 23, 2012 at 9:08 pm

Owwh, can’t get evoque.. get this pun ok lah, the design is just nice flow front to rear.. hmmph..

• lost hope on preve on Apr 23, 2012 at 9:08 pm

i went to touch preve … see see look look. somehow the built quality is really bad. even saga flx and exora has better built quality. if dont touch the front still ok ok. but the rear light really out. if preve got the T5 design then it would be much more acceptable, afterall gadget wise is ok. btw, i like the front underseat space, can put my foot inside comfortably.

• Ekspresi Ruang on Apr 23, 2012 at 9:11 pm

Wow, the design seemed up to date.
    Glad if Proton really took this design into production by this year.
    Once you drive an SUV, never have an eye on the sedan anymore if you seek comfort and safety.

• William on Apr 23, 2012 at 9:17 pm

the front reminds me Acura SUV….

• Icelaac on Apr 23, 2012 at 9:33 pm

like!

• Rulered on Apr 23, 2012 at 9:49 pm

Could this be Proton’s SUV? I hope not, it has a long overhang infront and too many plastic stick ons. Not practical.

• suppaheero on Apr 23, 2012 at 9:51 pm

Now where is theophilis chin? Chop this please..

• 2wheels on Apr 23, 2012 at 9:55 pm

always my dream to have a SUV..and this look quite tempting :D

• tok-kok on Apr 23, 2012 at 10:21 pm

“Prices for the T5 variants have not been confirmed, but are estimated at 115,000 to 130,000 RMB (RM57,500 to RM65,000).”

We want cheaper cars in Malaysia!!! Preve shd cost between RM35K to 45K!!!
    The NAP is killing the rakyat!!!!!

• KageSenshi on Apr 23, 2012 at 11:32 pm

if removed the tax .. Preve CFE is RM38k

• MoFaz on Apr 24, 2012 at 6:38 pm

no way… 38k is Waja (63k after tax). Preve CFE is probably 40-42k. wait until they sell Preve in Arab, then you’ll know the exact tax-free car price :)

• The problem is many Malaysians are fond of fuel subsidy. RON95 is 1.90 MYR per liter in Malaysia. In China, RON90 is 3.60 MYR per liter, diesel 3.70 MYR per liter. The money for the subsidy has to come from somewhere. Based on reports, the annual fuel subsidy seems about the same as the total excise duty and sales tax collected from new car sales in a year. It is unfortunate that some of us who travel 100-200 kilometers a month in our own cars are forced to subsidize the heavy users who drive a couple thousand kilometers. This is not really the fault of the government, as it might not have expected the fuel price to rise to the current level. The ability of us correcting the situation will depend on how willing the users are in paying for what they use, and how well we can accept the adjustment of the prices of other goods.

• MoFaz on Apr 24, 2012 at 6:53 pm

everybody, let’s fill-up our cars with RON97 for 1 year and if everybody could afford it without trouble, let’s sign petition or send memorandum to gov asking for ‘world standard’ tax on cars and “world price” of petrol too.

• Whynot on Apr 25, 2012 at 11:54 pm

We always said, do not let normal glossaries price up! The people might now survive if all goods went up. But what about houses, apartment, bungalows, shops, factories and lands selling in millions. Poor farmers will have to absorbs this cost and only the rich will survive. They can easily buys huge land and get cheap foreign workers to maximize profit leaving this poor Malaysian origins to aged and suffers. And who will benefits most, local or those millions foreign workers promoted by our DR. M time. Teach no kids here to learn that! We are not stupid slaves of Capitalism!

• Wanttoknow on Apr 23, 2012 at 10:30 pm

Paul, Jonathan Tan

Is it true that this is designed by Proton but sold to Youngman?

• yup..this is the product produce by proton but all cost are came from youngman..this is a win2 situation..but proton got more benefit from this..we provide a skill and knowledge and youngman provide money…yes,this is youngman model as they paid the cost but it actually our bolehland product..proton will take the design back after a few years..

• nebula87 on Apr 23, 2012 at 10:40 pm

its a Mazda CX9??

• silver on Apr 23, 2012 at 10:42 pm

good looking car

• Statistician on Apr 23, 2012 at 10:47 pm

My conversation in Taipei with a Taxi driver.

I saw a Gen 2 on the road (using lotus brand) and I asked him

‘ Is this car good ? ‘

‘Nobody buy this model, some south east Asia country product with inferior quality.’

It’s from my country Malaysia.’ I said

He quickly changed the topic

‘Taiwanese government is so stupid, they just approved the bank to allow car buyers to have a maximum of 5 years loan. Can you imagine ? A 5 years loan is allowed to buy a car! Stupid government with stupid policy !

‘in Malaysia we can purchase a car with a 9-year loan’

He stopped talking for the rest of the journey, worrying that he will embarrass me again.

Actually I don’t care, agreeing with him that buying a car with a 5/6/7/8/9 year loan is crazy. But the car in Malaysia is so expensive that the ppl do not have a choice . Sigh !

• car driver on Apr 23, 2012 at 11:27 pm

nah.. you should be more thankful. like the proton supporters are doing. we should be thankful for the gov for the great things that they’ve done to the country. we should all stop comparing with other countries (or other companies), because we’re on different level.

… of stupidity.
      other companies with a few years of history doing better than ours? cannot compare.
      other countries with fewer natural resources than ours doing better? cannot compare.
      we cannot compare with anyone, anybody, or anything else. because we must be thankful. because we’re on a different level…. of stupidity.

kenot compare one. we have our own malaysian way. we must be thankful. lots of people are doing worse. we must be thankful. ptuih

• Obama on Apr 24, 2012 at 9:26 am

Damnit…you just said what in my mind…only this can compare!!

• Ya lor, 1957~2012… keeps winning with blinded and stupefied rakyat. And then soothe them with money (BR1M bla bla bla) whenever they wake up even a bit.

• Once upon a time in Taiwan on Apr 24, 2012 at 10:27 am

Yes. I have the same story too. I was shocked when the taxi driver told me that he owns a Lotus. Wow, taiwanese are so rich till taxi driver also can buy Lotus. Eventually into the chat, I finally realize what he has is a Gen2.

• Just me on Apr 23, 2012 at 10:47 pm

I believe it was not design by malaysia team.

• taboogen on Apr 24, 2012 at 8:18 am

wow… you work for yougman or proton? coz I myself have seen this model long time ago in proton all cover up long long time ago… lotus are more to chasis developement

• MoFaz on Apr 24, 2012 at 7:04 pm

as expected, whenever they did good, you’ll try your best to deny it. perhaps later you go to showroom just to find faults on the car and post about it in blog / FB….
      nobody is perfect. so if you keep looking for the faults or someone’s weakness rather than appreciating his / her strength, you’ll never get married…. or maybe nobody will ever want you also.

• Gopeng Zai on Apr 23, 2012 at 10:48 pm

Kind of acceptable design…….

• Chow 1 on Apr 23, 2012 at 10:49 pm

Hm, sorry , I prefer CRV or Tiguan better, more refined.

• An Hua exjavanese on Apr 24, 2012 at 3:44 pm

What do you mean CRV or Tiguan better, more refined?
      could u pls, explain further in term of what? design? technology? material?

Pls. gives solid and convince comment next time…I am really upset with the comments of incomplete explanation …

• Chow 1 on Apr 24, 2012 at 7:18 pm

Please don’t feel upset. Anyone can have preference, so do you.

• drMpower on Apr 23, 2012 at 10:52 pm

why they are adopting what seems to be theirs in the first place?
    its like adopting your son, which is very weird if u ask me.
    so why not they just do one all new by themselves, proton?
    i can straightaway imagine a crossback Gen2 would just fit the bill, although that may need some serious work underneath

SUV market is something proton may want to join, albeit late

• When someone paying what to be yours and modifiy, and you suddenly realise that you its so good, do you think you will get it for free? of course you have to pay.

• RedBeanBun on Apr 23, 2012 at 10:53 pm

so we are so pity until we need to OEM from China car….

what does the 25 years (counting) we have done but re-badge? i mean, no manufacturer in the world OEM from Protong…

the ridiculous part is, we are proud to rebadge…do we have patriotic heart? this rebadge is purely to EAT own rakyat’s wallet!!! wakeup everyone!!!

• i also has a story, when i chat with limo driver in taipei, 1 lotus l5 passing us, and ask the driver, is that car good? He mentioned, actually, its a good car but people are scared coz their countymen bad about their own product, so, people afraid. Drive the car many times, and its really good.

Then i asked how much money he makes in a month. Just ok, he mentioned, approx 500 cny.

:-)

• zookri on Apr 23, 2012 at 11:16 pm

youngman = rebadge proton in china….

• SparC on Apr 23, 2012 at 11:19 pm

Don’t forget this call is based on Gen-2 platform !!! and the bodyshell are fantastic!

• ezracopters on Apr 23, 2012 at 11:29 pm

fantastic design!!!!

hopefuly by the time they bring/produce this in Malaysia, there’ll be at least 2.0 CFE Campro @ 2.5 CPS ready by proton. @ even better 2.5 diesel engine!!!

This SUV looks too good to had a heart of that small, Campro is not TSI, so make it bigger.. and it’s shouldn’t even be considered as FWD, it fact 4wd as standard & all wheel drive on premium spec suit it better.

p/s : bit over i guess, but kinda remind me Evoque a little.. how i wish u’ll be mine ish ish.. btw, r there any engineer here.. was it that hard to make a bigger version of the same engine?? i don’t understand why it is so hard for Proton to make one..hmmmm

• KageSenshi on Apr 23, 2012 at 11:54 pm

i’m not a mechanical .. but car companies worldwide are trying to reduce engine displacement due to emissions regulation introduced by many governments making it really difficult for cars with big engine to survive in the market ..

either they become expensive or they get banned in the country .

• if they make it come with 1.6CFE and 2.0 CFE (if any) will be good enough. 1.6NA its a no no. it paints shame on SUV. and yes, dual-clutch pleasee… im worried if belt used for heavy-duty purposes.

• zebulun69 on Apr 23, 2012 at 11:40 pm

omg..look at the exhaust.. not buying china piece of shaitttt

• Ash Menon on Apr 23, 2012 at 11:44 pm

There’s a lot of Mazda inside there, but for some reason that busy front fascia reminds me of the Vauxhall Ampera.

• Jamestown on Apr 23, 2012 at 11:59 pm

Fantastic new models by Proton. Suddenly we see
    a resurgence and the launching of exciting products.
    Only downside is its TIMING .
    With the world economy sliding from Europe US to China
    to our local BNM loan restrictions has made owning a car difficult
    and our economy would definately feel the ripple effect
    Good luck Proton hope you have the staying power to ride
    this slowdown which would see lower sales & a tough and competitive environment.

• AhBeng on Apr 24, 2012 at 12:08 am

i think is pretty good looking if without the badges…

• 123GO on Apr 24, 2012 at 12:46 am

Look like Lexus RX ~~~~~~
    i am sure ~~~

• udasalleh on Apr 24, 2012 at 1:21 am

if it comes to our shores… with the Preve build quality inside n out… with the latest Preve drive type… i would buy it.

• Danny on Apr 24, 2012 at 1:43 am

i wonder how this one fares against the divider..

• malaysian on Apr 24, 2012 at 1:51 am

the design r good. Proton can use that design

• gerak khas on Apr 24, 2012 at 2:28 am

Proton should offer an equity stake to Youngman
    which may quicken the restructuring of Lotus.
    Its a win-win situation.
    This free Proton the burden of financing Lotus and
    concentrate on its own branding.

• driver on Apr 24, 2012 at 4:41 am

To be frank, I don’t like the design. It looks cheesy, and everything looks awkward..

• An Hua exjavanese on Apr 24, 2012 at 4:24 pm

for me, to be honesty…this look solid and matured design with edgy crisps shoulder profile will make it unique plus the frontal facades gives me fresh look if we bench-marking on Land Rover evoke, mazda CX7 or ford explorer design and put it side by side, trust me..i will difficult choices for me ..

but at the end of the day… we are all have different tastes and design observation…so, no harm..huhu

• Abuya on Apr 24, 2012 at 9:08 am

Kenapa boobs model tu cam jatuh sgt je? This car is good but this amoi ruined

• MoFaz on Apr 24, 2012 at 7:12 pm

i never know you buy a car based on how the female model looks… you think she come with the car?

• The Enthusiast on Apr 24, 2012 at 9:27 am

So Proton in China is rebadged as Youngman Lotus. Why the name Lotus though? Is it because Proton owns Lotus? But it’s primetime that Proton come up with an SUV. Demand for SUV is really good. And so are hatchbacks. Proton should update Satria Neo too.

• aminlife on Apr 24, 2012 at 10:00 am

Proton should produce SUV (This) next year 2013 with all gadgetry and all new technology. price 78k-88k OTR would be perfect :P

• krs189 on Apr 24, 2012 at 10:03 am

It’s Proton Lekiu Concept.

Door Handle Carry Over exora. Exora Platform

Put CFE engine here an sell 95k. Sure sell.

better put HiCOM badge….

• like the looks but hate the logo.. better put proton logo than this youngman logo

• MY GOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I willing to work 24/7 for this one hahahahaa

• Hyundai De La Junk on Apr 24, 2012 at 11:00 am

Bring this in & spell dead for Tucson & Sportage !

• make this as proton suv and sell it for RM90k…will be a hit! kamon, its about time for proton to start selling suv…demand is high. acceptable design, on par quality and affordable price range…this suv cud be a hit in malaysia. that time u can say bye2 to other overpriced suv

• sufyan on Apr 24, 2012 at 11:16 am

LOTUS own by proton… please do something good for the people of malaysia (for the first and last time before the knot break off)…bring this suv in and sell it here..please please please…i need an suv thats affordable.. maybe below rm100k??

• myname on Apr 24, 2012 at 2:28 pm

then you should go for exora…thats all proton have bro…sorry!

• kerelbort on Apr 24, 2012 at 11:52 am

If it is up to me.

Lotus-Youngman SUV – Cheap entry level SUV
    Lotus SUV- Luxury Sport SUV, make it vrooomm
    Proton SUV – middle entry SUV.

but. who need SUV in this time? Malaysia won’t sell.. Overseas also wont sell. China might sell. if its a true Lotus SUV.

hint – urus

• Rebadge Youngman T5 SUV into Proton logo and some minor changes:
    http://oi41.tinypic.com/6iwfu9.jpg

Another rebadge new Savvy Mirage:
    http://oi41.tinypic.com/182j5f.jpg

PREVE facelift looks better?
    http://oi41.tinypic.com/23kosh5.jpg

New Satria PREVE 3-door hatch?
    http://oi43.tinypic.com/rhiakj.jpg

• great on Oct 08, 2012 at 3:37 pm

that Youngman still looks good with the minor changes (hopefully that pic is not photoshopped)..

i hope this design stays.. unlike Preve.. the Tuah concept looks great, but Preve fails.. :p

• Bay MH on Apr 24, 2012 at 3:33 pm

Some real street shot:

[http://www.chinacartimes.com/2012/04/22/youngmanlotus-suv-arrives-beijing/]

• ojaykb on Apr 24, 2012 at 4:58 pm

yang ni baru lah betoi design kereta..preve tak nampak mcm kereta 2012 pon…

• Faizal Y on Apr 24, 2012 at 6:05 pm

The YMCA song (chorus part) keeps playing in my head while reading this article. LOL

• SGBLM on Apr 24, 2012 at 6:58 pm

If this is being rebadged under Proton, i don’t mind considering buying this since it was developed by Lotus anyways, but under the right price tag. If it costs more than RM80K for a Campro CFE variant, then i think it will be too expensive.

• MoFaz on Apr 25, 2012 at 12:42 am

what la.. Exora CFE is RM80k.. still plenty of people buying it. compare it with ’empty’ Avanza, sure Exora worth a lot more for the same amount of money.

• Kucing on Apr 24, 2012 at 7:02 pm

i believe

• What a rip off for Malaysian. China dealer can sell cheaper. Why proton want to take profit from own people and scare to profit from others

• fendy on Apr 25, 2012 at 9:46 am

i thnik i have seen this car test on cyberjaya along with inspira before the inspira launch try to kejar damn so fast.. not sure whether proton car or youngman.. hmm

• fendy on Apr 25, 2012 at 10:06 am

i seen they test this car together with inspira before inspira launch so damn laju..cant catch..

• moha774 on Apr 25, 2012 at 1:33 pm

…DSZ once said that, this SUV project was initially done by PROTON for Youngman..but along the way, Proton starts to like what they have done and will eventually rebadging it as Proton in near future with Youngman’s consent…since its R&D cost were bourne by them…

• rezza on Apr 27, 2012 at 2:01 am

i think proton can produce beautiful, high quality, powerful and cheap car, but they were forced not to. just imagine what will happen to toyota, honda, kia, merc, bmw and also the taukeh2 AP. someone told me that petronas used to develop engine for proton using F1 technology when they took over proton last time, but it was not capitalized. and now the technology has been sold to China Automotive company

• orang itam on Jul 28, 2012 at 3:49 am

design lampu belakang macam toyota caldina lah…
    n mcm design toyota harrier pon ade gak..

• hahaha..... on May 16, 2014 at 8:15 pm

i see ass of harrrier (top bit) mid&front of crv

the rear spoiler not that nice but orverall looks not bad