Great Wall C20 EV – an electric compact crossover

Sharing centre stage with the Haval E in Beijing is the C20 EV, which is an electric version of the company’s C20R compact crossover.

The five-seater EV runs with a permanent magnet synchronous motor offering a rated power of 42 hp (32 kW) and peak power of 80 hp (60 kW), with nominal torque being 88 Nm and at peak, 180 Nm.

The 19.2 kWh-rated lithium-ion battery on this one is good enough to give the car a range of more than 100 km on a NEDC cycle run, and around 160 km at a constant 60 km/h pace. Charge time to capacity is eight hours, via a household power outlet.

No definite numbers shouted, performance-wise, but GWM says the maximum speed is better than 130 km/h and the 0-100 km/h time is less than 15 seconds. There’s also mention of a five-year or 100,000 km warranty with this one – guess that should cover the battery as well.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• alldisc on Apr 24, 2012 at 8:54 am

suzuki sx4 at a glance.

• aralez on Apr 24, 2012 at 8:55 am

Hey looks like Suzuki SX4?

• freakbeat on Apr 24, 2012 at 8:59 am

first impression…suzuki sx4 + mazda 2
    create your own design lah…

• BeemerFreak on Apr 24, 2012 at 9:16 am

An exact copy of the suzuki SX-4?

• yup. but a bad one.
      typical chinese car manufacture company.
      does they not learn anything?

• Polo Saga on Apr 24, 2012 at 9:33 am

chinese in mainland are good in plagiarism.

• Yuzdi on Apr 24, 2012 at 9:48 am

Suzuki SX4 / Fiat Sedici?

• quottro on Apr 24, 2012 at 9:50 am

yeah it’s weird that cars from china always look freakishly like cars of other makes, or worse when it’s like a hybrid of a few makes…oh man~

Not discrimination, but if they are serious about making cars, they should at least, come up with their own designs

• ong chin aun on Apr 24, 2012 at 10:01 am

Well done, fully electric Vehicle ! This is the future EV . China done a very good job.
    Which country or Company not get other`s idea ? Japan once copy from Bristish or America and improve the techonoly. Likewise, IN Malaysia a few decade ago, you would hear, what Japanese good !! lousy , German make , Wah !! Best.
    Also, get the idea and innovate and improve it.
    Suzuki SK 4 so far as i know not produce fully EV. OF THIS TYPE

• butthurt?
      face the fact bro.

• Diesel monster on Apr 24, 2012 at 1:03 pm

as you mention..
      Japanese good !! lousy , German make , Wah !! Best….

Mr. A.. i’m looking a part that for 4A-GE engine
      sparepart tauke : take the sample come here….

Mr. ong chin aun: i want find lambo’s engine gasket…
      sparepart tauke : eehhh..you better go back lambo service center, which in germany…

sure BEST !

• The Enthusiast on Apr 24, 2012 at 1:35 pm

I have trouble understanding your comment bro.

P/s: Electric cars are not the future. Hydrogen-powered cars are.

• mamat on Apr 24, 2012 at 10:06 am

worse design i ever seen…..suzuki SX4 became their design!!!!!*&^$#@!^%

• Josh Ling on Apr 24, 2012 at 10:07 am

SX4 wannabe……hopefully we won’t see many more other “copy-cars” in Beijing Auto Show this year……

• mamat on Apr 24, 2012 at 4:19 pm

one day the china company will do the human clone human…why these is no action on them???

• OMG….is it T.Yaris….!!!

• xshiro on Apr 24, 2012 at 5:54 pm

this reminds of subaru xv too..hahaha..mini xv

• funmny thing is we so proud of your so call world car, but others is running so much ahead at future car…

• noname on Apr 25, 2012 at 2:57 am

its toyota yaris with sx4 style? dafuq?