Great Wall Haval E SUV debuts, scissor doors and all

Greetings from Beijing, where Auto China 2012 kicked off yesterday, with more than can be chewed in terms of displays. My first stop was at the Great Wall Motors stand, where the Haval E hybrid SUV made its debut.

The company proudly says the concept vehicle has been researched and developed independently by it, and as such is very much a showcase of its capabilities and expertise. It’s striking, for sure, with scissor doors being the leading visual design element.

It wears a 242 hp and 490 Nm BSG light-duty hybrid system, which is made up of an electric drive motor offering 94 hp and 270 Nm, partnered with a GW4813 1.3 litre engine, which puts out 148 hp and 220 Nm, the latter mated to a 6DCT transmission.

The 4,390 mm-long vehicle has a kerb weight of 1,600 kg, and performance specs include a 8.0 seconds time for the 0-100 km/h sprint and a 190 km/h maximum top speed.

In pure EV mode the max achievable speed drops to 130 km/h, as does the sprint time, to 10.7 seconds from 0-80 km/h. The Haval E does however manage an operating range of 80 km range running purely in electric mode.

The features list includes a panoramic sunroof as well as an interior kitted out with a multi-functional electroluminescent display matched to a human-machine interface.

The blue theme is played up on – aside from it being found in the instrument and display lighting in the cabin, the headlamps and front grille display a lighter tinge, almost lavender-like even. Oh, but no mistaking that found on the wheels!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• malaysia losing out soon…compared this to our own klims….ours more like naza showroom only….

• anyhow their engine spec seems fake to me….probably no engine inside the car

• yus selidik on Apr 24, 2012 at 8:40 am

…now china and korea aggresively developed their auto industry very fast…from design wise to engine tech…come on sushiland…wake up…

• Just me on Apr 24, 2012 at 9:16 am

Our design is definitely losing out! Malaysia always like to shiok sendiri and living under the tempurung.

• ace ventura on Apr 24, 2012 at 9:47 am

they seem to be way ahead! Beware Korean.

• Japanese have alot more of these design but you ppl always ignore it…..pui!

• I”m amazed at the design..even more so it is a product of CN mainland.. bravo.. Preeve??

• Simon Hoh on Apr 24, 2012 at 2:38 pm

Amazing how far they’ve got in such short years! Wonder if there is a ‘Made in China’ label on the underside of the car…
    Does it come with remote control? We can all be James Bond then :)

• DArkerMarker on Apr 24, 2012 at 7:26 pm

I am scared with China made inferior product….

I scared people will “tersepit” or “terpotong” their head while operating the scissors door.

• SURE, don compare jap, they r nothing to do with us. just straight to P1, don u think the china man move way faster than us? they r profitable but our P1 (even all rakyat pay more to support) still struggling to survive!

• scissor doors on Nov 24, 2012 at 12:58 am

I scared people will “tersepit” or “terpotong” their head while operating the scissors door.