Lambo Urus concept SUV makes world debut in Beijing

Here’s the Beijing show stealer, and with good reason. The Lamborghini Urus, a four-seater super SUV, was presented to the world as a concept today amidst much fanfare.

For a start, Lambo aims to make it the most powerful production SUV you can buy. Their target? 600 hp, although they are as yet unclear on what kind of engine they will use to reach that big number.

Before you say V10 or V12, consider this: they also want to make it the least polluting in terms of carbon dioxide emissions, without using a diesel engine. However they plan to employ advanced carbon fibre technologies to keep it as lightweight as possible. To that end, much of the Urus is made of carbon fibre, including the seats, winglets and rear diffuser.

It also has permanent all-wheel-drive and adaptive aerodynamics. The latter involves adjustable front and rear spoilers and rear deflector, to alter the amount of downforce according to driving conditions.

The first thing that strikes you upon seeing it in the flesh (apart from its menacing Aventador-derived angular design language) is its huge wheels, shod in low-profile Pirelli Scorpion Zero tyres. 305/35 ZR24, to be exact. The wheels are made of matte-finish aluminium which we think suit the car nicely. In other measurements, the Urus is nearly 5 metres long and 2 metres wide, and at 1.66 metres tall it is about the same height as a Range Rover Evoque.

Other notable features include rear-facing cameras mounted where you’d expect to find wing mirrors, and quad hexagonal exhausts. It certainly hints at things to come from the Italian supercar manufacturer, who want to bring out a proper production SUV by 2015.

A far cry indeed from the LM002 of the 1980s!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• kadajawi on Apr 24, 2012 at 1:33 am

Observe and learn, Porsche. This is how you do it.

• Ekspresi Ruang on Apr 24, 2012 at 7:42 am

hahah that’s right.
      this is how a powerful SUV should look like.
      a bull…
      not a frog looked.

• Lim Kopi on Apr 24, 2012 at 1:03 pm

THIS IS THE MOST RADICAL SUV SINCE THE BMW X6 …

FREAKIN AWESOME !!!

LAMBO WILL ALWAYS BE UP THERE.

• 1fmdj on Apr 24, 2012 at 1:04 pm

nah..this reminds me of the pussy X6…

• Alpha on Apr 24, 2012 at 1:39 am

305/35 ZR24 tyres??DAMNNNNNNN!!!!

• olala on Apr 24, 2012 at 1:44 am

how i wish the preve hatchback rear design like this lol ;D

• can…but so many high end designer here complaning last time…

• PakAbu on Apr 24, 2012 at 10:11 am

Well… they have International Degree In Outstanding Design…

Don’t play play….

:mrgreen:

• enough la with quotes wish preve design like this and that..this lambo man..not protong

• driver on Apr 24, 2012 at 4:35 am

Now that’s “the thing”. Boo for Audi Q3, or Porsche Cayenne GTS… or the Lotus T5!

Another interesting thing would be the stability of this monster at high speed, if it’ll ever be produced.

• Love it. But with 600hp, how do you keep this monster on the ground? Isn’t the COG is higher compares to its predecessors? And I don’t see any spoiler?

• thebosssedangbercakap on Apr 24, 2012 at 8:15 am

Shame on proton for coming out with such name as preve, lambo also can get away with URUS, sounds like Malay word too and maserati Kubang. BOO proton. be gone.

• taboogen on Apr 24, 2012 at 8:33 am

since its a lambo people would wow.. nice… for me… the design is too messy.. just look at the roof line… its a SUV that can fit 2 person…. but hey its a lambo… just admire it lah k

• carazy on Apr 24, 2012 at 8:38 am

Porsche for Macan (or Makan), Lambo choose Urus and Maserati likes ber-Kubang. What next, Mandi :) … Love to see other manufacture try to penetrate Cayenne domination of lux SUV

• The Enthusiast on Apr 24, 2012 at 9:20 am

Porsche did luxury super SUV first, then other luxury marquees up their ante; Audi, BMW, Mercedes, Range Rover. Then other super car makers joined along. Maserati with the Kubang, then the horribly looking Bentley, and now this spectacular Lambo SUV. Now the real question is, when will Aston Martin make an SUV?

• Well historically Lambo did the first luxury SUV even before the word SUV was invented. Don’t forget the LM002 with V12 engine.

• The Enthusiast on Apr 24, 2012 at 9:29 am

Being a Lambo, I’d say it’s a V10. It’ll be supercharged of course to reduce carbon emission but Lambo never compromise on engine performance and never smaller than a V10.

• Diablo on Apr 24, 2012 at 12:07 pm

If it wants to be true to the Lambo DNA, it should be a V12, like the LM002. Lambo’s identity is its V12, the heart of the car. Goes back to the very first Lambo 350GT in the 60s. This is the brand’s DNA. They’ve done V8 Jalpa in the 70s/80s but the lineage has always been dominated with V12. The current V10 is just the German’s spin on things and to differentiate it from the larger brethren.

• orange on Apr 24, 2012 at 10:28 am

design look so not SUV….SUV should look bulky with muscle here and there…this look too pussy..

• Paint on Apr 24, 2012 at 11:23 am

Probably SUV is not the right direction for Lambo. But the Lambo Estoque 4 door? That sure is a good concept.

• WICKED!!! lol it will eat those Cayenne, Range Rovers, and Q7 anytime lol…

• silver on Apr 24, 2012 at 2:02 pm

from the pic it seems small.. like the back… not sure about the front though… about comments regarding cayenne being ugly and this being pretty not sure if i agree about it though… got to see it in real life to judge… its side profile has some similarity with the evoque which is a good thing.. this car will probably cost twice the amount of a new cayenne

• I wonder how will Ferrari react to this?

• DArkerMarker on Apr 24, 2012 at 7:30 pm

the rear lamp hole suits malaysian style – for stuffing rubbish and teh tarik empty plastic bags, puntung rokok, empty coke can….

• nebula87 on Apr 24, 2012 at 10:09 pm

since when they know Malay language…xD

• Bennett on Apr 26, 2012 at 1:43 am

Only one word in my mind after seen this LAMBO, Ultimate SUV is born! Do you guys agree with me?

• Bahasa on Jun 10, 2012 at 9:32 pm

Look at this:
    http://on.fb.me/KISTHI