Nissan Sylphy gets new engine and updated CVT

Nissan has released the new iteration of its Sylphy, the compact sedan which pitches against the Toyota Corolla and Honda Civic, and you saw it here first at Auto China 2012.

Apart from the addition of daytime-running LEDs, new headlamps and a new grille, it isn’t exactly worlds apart from the previous-gen model when you look at it from the outside. Interior amenities include dual-zone air con and keyless ignition.

However, the real changes are underneath. A new 1.8 litre MR engine is offered with Nissan’s Twin C-VTC technology. Like Toyota’s Dual VVT-i, the system continually alters the opening of both inlet and exhaust valves to suit driving conditions. The result is better fuel efficiency and more power.

The valve lifters are also now coated with a hydrogen-free, diamond-like carbon (DLC) to reduce friction. There is a change to the transmission too – the Xtronic CVT’s gear ratios are now wider, and the gearbox is lighter and smaller.

Built under license in Guangzhou by Dongfeng Nissan, the Sylphy will hit Chinese showrooms later in the year, and will be available in 120 countries around the world by 2014. It’s safe to say Malaysia will be among them.

UPDATE: More live gallery photos added, after the jump.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• “the compact sedan which pitches against the Toyota Corolla and Honda Accord”

Huh!? Honda Accord?

BTW, no 1 will get this in Msia in 2013 thanks to TanChong. :)

• Chris Ng (Member) on Apr 24, 2012 at 8:10 pm

Yeah. Swapped the Accord for the Civic. :)

• Cadet on Apr 24, 2012 at 11:24 pm

Haha… tan chong famous for bring in dated models!

• Great exterior, great interior ,great performance ,great brand and the price is still don’t yet :) however pls bring this beautiful car to M’sia ! look so much better than the new T & H !!!

• nice car, better than current model

• OMG…very nice and updated looks…Pls come to Malaysia as soon as possible.

• jerry tan on Apr 24, 2012 at 7:39 pm

nice…. does it come with rear disc brake? the current 2.0 is with out

• gtmaniac on Apr 24, 2012 at 8:35 pm

Hahahaha.. i knew somebody will bring out this question.

Although it is nothing really wrong with a good set-up of disc/drum, paying rm100k over for a new passenger car without rear disc brake is kinda had to justify in this age.

Hopefully this time they will select the specs carefully.

• Digir on Apr 25, 2012 at 10:54 am

The rear comes with twin air-cond blower.

This will set a new standard for new C-segment car.

• xshiro on Apr 24, 2012 at 7:42 pm

i wish they sell this slyphy here..nice styling compared to malaysian version

• letstorque on Apr 24, 2012 at 7:53 pm

I though Sylphy is in C-segment, which compete with Corolla and Civic, not Accord.

• Jaybond on Apr 24, 2012 at 7:58 pm

This one looks a hundred times better than the current Sylphy.

• 4g63tdsm on Apr 24, 2012 at 10:14 pm

Can’t agree more.

But the interior of the current one is a really nice place to be in. Someone has really given it some thought.

The nice comfy seats, big centre cubby, the matte finish plastic wood …perfect ladies car. Wife loves it to bits.

The new interior just looks like a toyota….sad.

Since TC’s current sentra would likely live on forever…maybe infiniti can bring this here as the new G20. It looks half the part already.

• Wallstreet on Apr 24, 2012 at 10:54 pm

Yeah can’t think of many car that can be worst than the present Sylphy. But I can’t understand why many car like to jump in and have a LED daytime running light. In my opinion only Audi and of course BMW angel eyes look great. Others like Sportage, K5 really looks like after market Ah Beng’s work. This new Sylphy will looks much better WITHOUT the DRL LED.

• I think you should do lots of reading on why DRL is a mandatory is the Europe, esp in the Scandinavian countries. It is not about styling in the first place, though Audi managed to innovate it and used LED instead, and that is one brilliant innovation. DRL is a safety feature. It has proven to reduce head-on collisions by 10% (details on the internet). It is similar to turning on the headlamp when you are riding a motorcycle.

• Wallstreet on Apr 25, 2012 at 11:00 am

I read long before about DRL and its been on study closed to 40 years. Its very important in European countries especially as you mentioned Scandinavian. I ask you back why in that particular countries? Even in England Manchester, weather are always cloudy and moody all day. Scandinavian countries have a long night too and sky turns dark in the afternoon. So, enter DRL. Now in Malaysia, I think the LED DRL is more of a distraction then to reduce head on collisions. Its a completely different continent..

• Yes I agree that it is a distraction, simply because it is still a new phenomena in malaysia, made worst by street cars wrapped with lots of aftermarket LED bling bling. over the next few years im sure it will become a norm. its proven already with the motorcycle headlights campaign. and now the concept is extended to motorvehicles. you might think that it is unnecessary to have DRL in malaysia because you live in the city, and our weather is mostly is sunny all year round. but try driving in the countryside even in the afternoon, where the roads are situated in between hills and trees giving shades from the sunlight. DRL might be of help to incoming vehicles esp after you negotiate a sharp corner. mind you not all drivers have sharp vision. it is a time-tested thing. for our country, we just have to wait and see.

• Yup! Agree with both of you that DRL helps you being noticed as motorist (riders), but must be use appropriately.

It is meant to be used during foggy day since in climate countries esp during winter and autumn, your vision might be somehow jeopardized ie fronts vehicles difficult to see, both oncoming and forward moving vehicles. So, it is advisable to switch on the front fog lamp (or becoming more popular DRL) during those conditons.

Also, we may notice that most continental cars such as Merc, BMW, VW, Peugeot, also have rear fog light. Japanese and Koreans very rare, or may be none.

Personally, I feel that Malaysian drivers DO NOT KNOW (or being ignorant) when to switch on these fog lamps – both front and rear. They should only be switched on when the day turns foggy to help visibility. In Malaysia, it is rare for us to experience FOGGY night/day…… but we do have very HEAVY rainy days that will similarly degrade your visions. Then, switching your fog lamps (rear and front) is very advisable, if not a must.

Once, while was driving a Peugeot 206 in Sheffield, UK, I had been asked indirectly (by honking, flashing light, body gestures – all in polite manners, not rude ones) by other drivers to switch off my fog light, particularly the rear one, since the glaring light emitted irritated drivers behind you. I did not realised that I had accidentally switched on the fog lamps.

Nowadays, I noticed that more continental cars on the road in Malaysia, and most of the drivers will have their fog lamps switched on regardless of clear or rainy days, night or day…. Although, they successfully make their presence on the road felt but they need to be considerate to other drivers driving behind them especially. I can stand front fog lamps, but NOT the rear ones due to the glaring and intensed light – that is the purpose of having the fog lamp in the first place to be used during limited vision senarios – and bear in mind that you tend to be at the back of the car quite sometimes , not only passing by.

We need to educate our drivers … one of aspects is when to use the fog lamps. Also, is it right to switch on your hazard light while driving thorugh rain?

Please forgive me if my discussion out of context. Go back to the CAR, it is nice and has a modern look way better than the current buldging look.

Thank you

• Wallstreet on Apr 25, 2012 at 8:25 pm

I fully agree with you on fog lights and just switch on our light when needed. There is really no need for a LED DRL running all the time. I once really hit into another car in front of me just because a Q5 zoom pass in front of me and momentarily for few seconds I look at it. For me, most car manufacturers coming out with all those DRL LED after Audi are more on following the trend than having safety in mind.
            Hazard light should not be switched on during rain, only when the car is stationary.

• letstorque on Apr 25, 2012 at 12:56 pm

My cars don’t have DRL.
            But few years back I started a habit of turning headlamp on if driving on B road/trunck road and kampung road.
            Some trees provide shade on the road, and some cars with certain colours blend in with that environment.

I drive a lot in rural area, so it is important to be seen, especially during mid day or afternoon, when normal drivers get sleepy.

Of course, for city driving, it is not that helpfull.

• Yes, good habit. Sometime i think its good while driving on 2 lanes coastal road is to turn on your right signal when an opposite car is heading to your direction while overtaking.

• scooter on Apr 25, 2012 at 2:53 pm

msia ppl has nothing to do with safety concern, what they do is just to show off

• In Malaysia we need sunglasses instead of LED DRL.

• 2014, is it too late?

• this is similar to the new Nissan Altima launched recently in USA.
    http://www.nissanusa.com/all-new-altima/
    I prefer the USA version with cleaner look and classier…..
    Overall, bravo to Nissan with such a new design.
    Toyota and Honda design are outdated now ….. wat a pity!

• 4g63tdsm on Apr 24, 2012 at 10:16 pm

The Altima is a much bigger car. It’s comparable to the accord and Camry.

This slyphy will likely be the basis of the American Sentra

• the new US sentra teaser here.
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G35uHFbLWdw

• BETTER THAN THE CURRENT MODEL AND I THINK ITS BETTER THAN THE NEW 2012 CIVIC

• seancorr on Apr 24, 2012 at 8:39 pm

Now this baby looks so much better than the one we have right now. Hope we do not get the watered down spec Selphy when TC decides to launch it here. With the right price and kit list we could be seeing more of these on the roads

• The new design looks superb! If Tan Chong Motors can get the pricing spot on, they could make great impact in the market.

• rodimus on Apr 24, 2012 at 9:09 pm

The US version dashboard look better then this one. Overall this car design is way better then the current model. Keep it up Nissan!!!

• THIS SYLPHY VERY COOL!!!!

• jolly_idiot on Apr 24, 2012 at 9:35 pm

macam toyota design

• Desmond on Apr 24, 2012 at 10:20 pm

The meters should have tunnels..this is nice but a little bit flat looking

• underskinned on Apr 24, 2012 at 10:23 pm

This one looks good. Current generation looks very pakcik. Not 40s pakcik, but 50s pakcik.

• What we know is the current sylphy just underwent a facelift which means the new model will be coming in a year or two. this should give T and H a bit of a wake up call.

Also, the rear lights look like merc e-class huh..with led summore..nice

• vincent on Apr 24, 2012 at 11:48 pm

Gives me 6 airbags and ESP, then I will consider next time.

• Sylphy as it name denotes ‘sylph’ which is a slender graceful woman is targeted at a women’s market in Japan. Even its advert are slanted for a women audience. Somehow here in Malaysia, i see a lot of macho guys driving it & aggressively might I add. My niece drives one & love it to bits too! Hope they drop the name for something less gender bias!

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Apr 25, 2012 at 1:13 am

handsome looking car

• shawal on Apr 25, 2012 at 2:23 am

overall its a better car than the 1 it replaces, new engines n tech wise, if tc price it competitively , itl sell well, design wise , it looks better than the latest civic

• lalaman on Apr 25, 2012 at 5:35 am

comment pun kinda buang masa. ETCM bukan kisah pun… sad

• sylphy finally grown up on Apr 25, 2012 at 6:27 am

hey can see the rear disc brake in the first photo. actually i hold off to purchase just because the current does’nt have it. now it is complete can consider again.

• not a car enthusiast on Apr 25, 2012 at 8:17 am

This new sylphy reverts back to hand-operated-brake. The current generation uses foot brake – a feature I like because it frees the space there. To have a free space close by the driver is very useful and practical. You can even grab and put things there while keeping your eyes on the road.

• klguy on Apr 25, 2012 at 9:13 am

knowing ETCM, i guess this one will reach here in 2014

• carnoisseur on Apr 25, 2012 at 9:21 am

If Tan Chong wants NISSAN to shed its “uncle ” image , they should just launch this NOW !

• Then uncle will be very sad lor…..uncle will say, haiya why now Nissan car not nice already? Why look like that ugly Mazda arrr?

• ss427 on Apr 25, 2012 at 9:48 am

Better than the OMG Gen9 Civic? Yup… but better than the Elantra.. not by a long shot la..

This nee Sylphy looks like a major facelift than a totally new model. Everything from the A to C pillars remains the same…

Yes it does look better than the current oddball version… but I won’t call it sleek… and knowing Nissan current engineering preference, this car will hardly be sporty.. in fact it will prob be as soft and wobbly as the current version…

Looks like its a desperate attempt to injection some excitment back into Nissan’s nameplate… but its is still not there yet

• cantik …
    steering yg kemas warna yg menarik..
    warna dalaman pon menarik , tidak seperti Teana warna yg pengotor..
    ETCM jangan sekali kali down grade spec ini…. tolong ya… kalau pon nak habiskan stock drum break atau apa apa part please leburkan saja…..

• Michael on Apr 25, 2012 at 10:00 am

It’s a nice car! Can consider to buy!

• Kenny Tan on Apr 25, 2012 at 10:06 am

Mini Teana!

• g-mey on Apr 25, 2012 at 6:14 pm

Nissan will launch a new car on 5th and 6th May…which i believe it is a Nissan Leaf base on the email i received…

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Apr 25, 2012 at 11:47 am

Looks better than the boring VW Jetta, big as well, almost like a D-seg.

• Mohd.Khairul on Apr 25, 2012 at 12:53 pm

It looks like nissan maxima…

• Waah…Very nice…Preve already looks outdated :)

• g-mey on Apr 25, 2012 at 6:15 pm

ETCM I mean..

• Dasibosangkang on Apr 26, 2012 at 12:19 am

A car that I am wiiling to wait. Thanks Nissan for taking over such a good job of responsibility from T and H by keeping us continuing to have new hope in Japanese car. This is your turn to rock now Nissan. Is time to let T going down by its unreasonable direction. Let’s move on to be a smarter consumer by temporarily putting the T brand hope of technology aside and think wisely.

• samsudds on Jun 12, 2012 at 4:11 pm

luv the new look of this sylphy…and hope it would avail in Pearl White color.

which version have the sunroof which saw in the photo (white color)?

• Sylphy on Jul 04, 2012 at 4:24 pm

msia ppl has nothing to do with safety concern, what they do is just to show off